Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Adam Winkel

Adam Winkel

Reviews

2017 Les Vignerons de Fontès "Prieuré Saint-Hippolyte" Languedoc Rosé
Review Date: 04-16-2019
So everyone knows that Syrah-dominant rosé needs a little more time in bottle than other varietals to show its best. Okay, not everyone knows that. So even though 2018 rosé is starting to show up, this 70% Syrah from the 2017 harvest is going great right now and will be all summer, no problem. See for yourself for a song.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Santa Cruz Mountain Vineyard "Branciforte Creek" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-11-2019
This is the wine that first got me interested in Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir, and I'm still working on a case of 2007 that is showing great right now. Bearing little resemblance to modern California Pinot, this wine shows deep savor, sappy persistence, and an upright acid spine with very moderate alcohol.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
RP 90 WE 90

Small Hand Foods Passion Fruit Syrup (8.5oz)
Review Date: 02-19-2019
I've made passion fruit syrup from scratch in the past for my Sidewinder's Fang, and it's so much work to extract, boil, and strain all of those little arils. I was stunned by the quality and concentration of this artisanally bottled product. It's tropically fresh and delicious and I can actually fathom the piles of fruit that are generously reduced into this little bottle. It only seems like a splurge until you know what's in it and how much work it took to get it in there. This little bottle goes a long way.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Ferrand Dry Orange Curaçao (750ml)
Review Date: 02-19-2019
Mixing to the highest tiki standards, I picked up a bottle of this to make the classic mai tai and zombie. I had always kept a bottle of Grand Marnier on hand to round out my margaritas, but when I ran out of Grand Marnier I substituted this Ferrand concoction in my margarita instead and I liked it even better... a small measure brings a complex bass note without the candied sweetness. I also don't miss those squat Grand Marnier bottles hogging shelf space in my liquor cabinet so I can pour 3/4oz now and then. They shall not return. Ferrand's dry curacao is my one-stop orange liqueur now.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Jever Pils, Germany (12oz)
Review Date: 01-23-2019
I figured Jever would be similar to the respected European favorites like Pilsner Urquell or flip-top-bottled Grolsch, but it's even better! Jever Pils offers a tastefully Old World idea of what "hoppy" means. Fragrant and pure, the quality of ingredients is on full display and the hop bitterness offers a cleansing cut on the complex and poised finish. It graciously tempts the next sip instead of taunting your taste buds into a "hoppy" roadhouse brawl with an IPA rodeo clown. When pouring into a glass, try pouring at least half of it down the middle of the glass, not down the side. German beers are supposed to be served with a head and a Pilsner responds nicely to the aeration.
Price: $1.99 Add To Cart

2003 Dönnhoff Oberhäuser Brücke Eiswein (375ml)
Review Date: 12-20-2018
I had a bottle of this at the end of 2015 and it was so good I took extensive notes. Rich, precise, and fresh, this is not a typical 2003 Riesling. Brucke is an A+ terroir which is slim and stretched along the river's edge and I'm sure this helped mitigate the heat of the vintage. I share Jancis Robinson's sentiment that this is the best eiswein I've ever tasted (it's not even close). It's tropical with passionfruit and some peach on the nose. The palate so complex and deep as it fans out... almost transcendental as a white wine with a liqueur of blueberry and raspberry. It's amazing to me that Helmut Donnoff even decided to leave the grapes out long enough to make an eiswein in 2003 (few did), but he's one of the two best winemakers in Germany and this is proof positive.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart
WS 96 RP 95

2013 Tenuta Sant'Antonio "Scaia Paradiso" Veneto
Review Date: 12-19-2018
An exotic potpourri of dried fruit and sandalwood outlines a savory profile with suggestions of Amarone character. The texture and length make for a luxurious wine that doesn't lean on new oak but rather the quality of fruit which retains fresh acidity while displaying mature tones that steer clear of rusticity. People say about everything that "this would go well with a roast", but yes, this would go great with a roast. Or pay corkage somewhere for the added entertainment of seeing your waiter's head explode when they see the glass closure. I LOVE those.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99

2017 Wither Hills Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 12-05-2018
A pleasant sipper, this Sauvignon Blanc has the requisite grassy and citric notes with the fun NZ jalapeno zest. But it's not about the sweet, up-front intensity that other NZ bottlings often commonly display. Rather this bottle is a more elegant rendition that shows its quality with a gently lingering persistence.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WS 91

Azteca Azul Blanco Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 06-28-2018
The quality here is quite high with agave purity and fragrance. It's my perfect bottle for making a fruit margarita or fanciful cocktail when the expression of a more expensive bottle would largely be lost, but I still want it to taste like good tequila with earthy and clean agave character. Makes a lot of sense, right? Suddenly I have an urge to boil up some prickly pear syrup.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Gundlach Bundschu "Estate" Sonoma Coast Gewürztraminer (Dry)
Review Date: 05-24-2018
If you're one to partake in weeknight Chinese takeout, it's a dereliction of duty to not keep some dry Gewürz in the house. I can't believe that Gun Bun is able to keep the pricing on this wine so low. It's an all-estate Sonoma Coast bottling that's been a pillar of the varietal in California. It takes 3x this price for me to find a Chard I like as much. Don't pass up a chance to rediscover a fun bottle that satisfies a serious palate and fills an important space in your wine rack. The mood will strike to chill and pop it sooner than later.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g)
Review Date: 01-17-2018
These are totally worth it and this little jar goes a long way. My favorite use is the Three Dots and a Dash tiki drink, but the applications here are far-reaching. Be "nose to tail" and spoon the extra syrup on some ice cream or something. It's amazing. Just *DON'T PUT THE OPEN JAR IN THE FRIDGE*. It will crystalize and get ruined. This stuff is so sweet like molasses it's completely preserved at room temperature, and the label will tell you so as well.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5L)
Review Date: 09-28-2017
This is a beautifully sippable blanco that reminds me why I like tequila so much. There's a lot of character and purity here with sophisticated shades of fruit and soil tones. There's no burn on the entry which invites you to really savor it and appreciate that there's no wood to get in the way of the agave. But the "premium" pedigree here for me is the persistent, bright, sun-shiny length of the finish.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2011 Rhys "Bearwallow Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-19-2017
Although Rhys Pinots often require quite a while to come out of slumber, this bottle is drinking well now and will continue to do so for a number of years. It's a great introduction to the estate's vineyard-designated wines in a lovely, medium-bodied rendition with plenty of energy and aromatic interest.

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-15-2017
This non-vintage Champagne shows excellent equilibrium between minerality, toastiness, and citric fruit with no single characteristic outshining the rest. Certainly a fine bead and excellent texture from a magnum. Complete and very pleasurable.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

1999 Whitehall Lane "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-20-2014
(Popped and poured 03/2014 from magnum) An underrated wine that still delivers a fine value. A savory palate with dusty Napa terroir harmonizes with the tannins that at this stage seem polished and sweet. The overall profile would please someone who likes their Napa Cabs in a classic style, yet the wine is plenty generous. Excellent structure. A 750ml should be right in its drinking window while the large formats could go much longer.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Graham's 10 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
This is a good port to serve with a non-chocolate dessert course. The bombastically nutty and spicy profile complements your dessert course beautifully, when a more delicate style of Tawny would get crushed. Try it with creme brulee or pumpkin pie! An open bottle in the fridge will change very slowly, so pour it when called for... it will last for weeks or even months.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Graham's 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
Like Graham's 10 Year Tawny, the 20 Year is a wine that is great to pair with a dessert course. Excellent with pastry or custards, this big boy does amazing things alongside something as down-home as pumpkin pie or even carrot cake with walnuts and cream cheese frosting. The Graham's 20 also has enough richness to pair with caramel-based desserts. An open bottle will keep in the fridge for weeks or even months, so no rush to finish it.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 93

Ferreira "Duque de Braganca" 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-29-2012
This shows amazing nuance and freshness, and the nuttiness comes in late to create a great overarching, transitory complexity. This would prove versatile with custards or nutty desserts, but it's certainly also one to savor on its own.