Staff Favorites - Adam Winkel

Adam Winkel

Reviews

2011 Peter Nicolay Urziger Goldwingert Riesling Spatlese
Review Date: 10-04-2018
Goldwingert is a small and lesser-known vineyard that is adjacent to Urziger Wurzgarten and actually has an even steeper and rockier slope than this larger and more famous neighbor... Goldwingert is almost as steep as Erdener Pralat (the next one down) which is really just a patchwork of ledges. This wine is quite rich and needs some air but its concentration of fruit and citrus blossom flavors is remarkably generous. It's almost certainly declassified Auslese and is drinking more like a dessert wine right now than a Spatlese table wine. It should be in its prime drinking window some time down the road but is enjoyable now for its generosity. A remarkable value.

Jever Pils, Germany (12oz)
Review Date: 08-09-2018
I figured Jever would be similar to common European favorites like Pilsner Urquell or flip-top-bottled Grolsch, but it's even better! Jever Pils offers a tastefully Old World idea of what "hoppy" means. Fragrant and pure, the quality of ingredients is on full display and the hop bitterness offers a cleansing cut on the complex and poised finish. It graciously tempts the next sip instead of taunting your taste buds into a "hoppy" roadhouse brawl with a New World rodeo clown. When pouring into a glass, try pouring at least half of it down the middle of the glass, not down the side. German beers are supposed to be served with a head and a Pilsner responds nicely to the aeration.
Price: $1.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaines Ott "Château de Selle" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 07-11-2018
I hesitantly splurged on one of these when I was on vacation last month and it was so good I went out and bought another bottle the next day. I actually find the fruit characteristics (and actual status as a rosé) to be quite understated. Its quality is defined by not merely a lingering persistence, but with a near-endless mineral thrust that's as powerful as the finest white wines in the world (likewise, don't over-chill it). This wine also checks a box that unequivocally qualifies it as a fine wine: the ability to develop and even improve in the cellar. The shoe fits. This is a serious bottle and high expression of terroir.

Azteca Azul Blanco Tequila (1L)
Review Date: 06-28-2018
The quality here is quite high with agave purity and fragrance. It's my perfect bottle for making a fruit margarita or fanciful cocktail when the expression of a more expensive bottle would largely be lost, but I still want it to taste like good tequila with earthy and clean agave character. Makes a lot of sense, right? Suddenly I have an urge to boil up some prickly pear syrup.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Gundlach Bundschu "Estate" Sonoma Coast Gewürztraminer (Dry)
Review Date: 05-24-2018
If you're one to partake in weeknight Chinese takeout, it's a dereliction of duty to not keep some dry Gewürz in the house. I can't believe that Gun Bun is able to keep the pricing on this wine so low. It's an all-estate Sonoma Coast bottling that's been a pillar of the varietal in California. It takes 3x this price for me to find a Chard I like as much. Don't pass up a chance to rediscover a fun bottle that satisfies a serious palate and fills an important space in your wine rack. The mood will strike to chill and pop it sooner than later.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Baxter "Langley Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 03-19-2018
This was my pick of the lineup when I stopped into Baxter's Anderson Valley tasting room this past Fall. Red-fruited with earthy tones and floral aromatics, it shows some fine persistence and energy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Ferrand Dry Orange Curacao (750ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2018
Mixing to the highest tiki standards, I picked up a bottle of this to make the classic mai tai and zombie. I've always kept a bottle of Grand Marnier on hand to dribble into margaritas, but when I ran out of Grand Marnier I substituted this Ferrand Curacao in my margarita and I liked it even better... flavorful and characterful and not too sweet. I don't miss those squat Grand Marnier bottles hogging shelf space in my liquor cabinet so I an pour 3/4oz now an then. They shall not return. Ferrand is my one-stop orange liqueur now.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g)
Review Date: 01-17-2018
These are totally worth it and this little jar goes a long way. My favorite use is the Three Dots and a Dash tiki drink, but the applications here are far-reaching. Be "nose to tail" and spoon the extra syrup on some ice cream or something. It's amazing. Just *DON'T PUT THE OPEN JAR IN THE FRIDGE*. It will crystalize and get ruined. This stuff is so sweet like molasses it's completely preserved at room temperature, and the label will tell you so as well.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

Casa Dragones Blanco Tequila (750ml) (ships as a 1.5l)
Review Date: 09-28-2017
This is a beautifully sippable blanco that reminds me why I like tequila so much. There's a lot of character and purity here with sophisticated shades of fruit and soil tones. There's no burn on the entry which invites you to really savor it and appreciate that there's no wood to get in the way of the agave. But the "premium" pedigree here for me is the persistent, bright, sun-shiny length of the finish.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2011 Rhys "Bearwallow Vineyard" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 06-19-2017
Although Rhys Pinots often require quite a while to come out of slumber, this bottle is drinking well now and will continue to do so for a number of years. It's a great introduction to the estate's vineyard-designated wines in a lovely, medium-bodied rendition with plenty of energy and aromatic interest.

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-15-2017
This non-vintage Champagne shows excellent equilibrium between minerality, toastiness, and citric fruit with no single characteristic outshining the rest. Certainly a fine bead and excellent texture from a magnum. Complete and very pleasurable.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

1985 Quinta do Noval Vintage Port
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Really ready to drink, spicy and earthy, sweet but not too much. Great value. 1985 Quinta do Noval Vintage Port. As prices escalate for old and rare wines it becomes difficult for a wine merchant to present customers with mature bottles that offer true value. This begins to explain our excitement over the recent acquisition of this 1985 Quinta do Noval vintage port. So many 85's were able to hide their firm tannins behind what seems like orchards of ripe, heady fruit notes. The wines seemed to drink well in their youth despite being a bit simple. But now, at 22 years of age the richness and over the top sweetness has been honed to an understated complexity, and promises good drinking for many years to come. Enjoy.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Chartreuse "V.E.P." Green (1L)
Review Date: 12-01-2014
The most extraordinary digestif ever made. The most extraordinary anything ever made. My desert island one-and-only.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WE 98

Graham's 10 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
This is a good port to serve with a non-chocolate dessert course. The bombastically nutty and spicy profile complements your dessert course beautifully, when a more delicate style of Tawny would get crushed. Try it with creme brulee or pumpkin pie! An open bottle in the fridge will change very slowly, so pour it when called for... it will last for weeks or even months.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Graham's 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 01-27-2014
Like Graham's 10 Year Tawny, the 20 Year is a wine that is great to pair with a dessert course. Excellent with pastry or custards, this big boy does amazing things alongside something as down-home as pumpkin pie or even carrot cake with walnuts and cream cheese frosting. The Graham's 20 also has enough richness to pair with caramel-based desserts. An open bottle will keep in the fridge for weeks or even months, so no rush to finish it.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 93

Ferreira "Duque de Braganca" 20 Year Old Tawny Port
Review Date: 11-29-2012
This shows amazing nuance and freshness, and the nuttiness comes in late to create a great overarching, transitory complexity. This would prove versatile with custards or nutty desserts, but it's certainly also one to savor on its own.