Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Steve Greer

Steve Greer
Steve Greer  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I think I started down the path into the wine world with my first job, at 16, bussing tables in a Chinese restaurant. Blue Nun Riesling was the big seller (this in 1985, so don't laugh). While the Blue Nun Riesling was not an "epiphany" wine, I drank a lot of it. It was a magnum of Robert Sinskey Claret that I shared with friends while watching the 1994 World Cup that got me started reading about wine (Brazil won). My first "wow" wine was that same year, when a customer gave me a glass of 1982 Haut Brion. It was amazing. Next I found pinot noir, specifically a 1994 Whitcraft Bien Nacido, and I was hooked. I knew I wanted to sell wine so I moved from restaurants to wholesale wine sales, working for Metamora in Ohio and Kentucky. But after continued consolidation of distributors and the realization, that in wholesale you wear blinders, tasting only the wines you sell, I knew I wanted to move to the retail side. I would like to say I moved from Cincinnati just for K&L but I left the "Red" state for Los Angeles (a Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals fan in San Francisco just would not do) and I was very lucky to find the K&L store in Hollywood. The rest is history.


Reviews

Banks 5 Island White Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-24-2014
I love this rum..... this is a great mixing rum with both sweet cane flavors and a bit of pot-still funk giving this a lot more layers than most inexpensive white mixing rums.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Talisker 10 Year Old Isle of Skye Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-24-2014
I am guilty of chasing the golden goose and forgetting about the standards or classics within a certain category be it wine, whiskey, beer etc. I was reminded of this when we went through a line-up of Scotch whiskey and I tried the Talisker 10. This is the balanced side of peated whiskey with pure sea-side air, creosote and just a hint of iodine balanced by the sweet malt. The finish is beautiful with saline and spice and only $50! A standard for everyone's bar.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WA 90

Guillaumette L'Authentique Génépi (375ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
This is a wonderful addition to any bar and a perfect addition for Manhattans. Rosemary, thyme and jasmine with an oily texture a touch of sweetness and a mint finish.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

Cherry Heering Liqueur 48 Proof (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
The bottle itself looks like something that has been sitting on a back bar of a restaurant for 10 years... untouched! But it is easy to fall in love with this drink that has been produced since 1818. Dr. Pepper, ginger, Xmas cake spice and cherry pie! The most well known drink is Singapore Slings.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ferrand Dry Orange Curaçao (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
This is a drier version of Grand Mariner. Tastes like orange marmalade and fresh oranges with dry finish. Excellent!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Tequila Fortaleza Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-23-2014
The Forteleza line-up is fantastic but the Bianco shows the purity of the spirit with tons of depth. Vegetative, roasted herbs, spice, orange peel and coriander shows this is a sipper to be enjoy.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2010 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 12-12-2013
Mint and cocoa, with cassis and spice on the palate and finish.

2010 Haut-Brion, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-05-2013
Closed nose but rich aromatic dark fruit on the palate with a long ripe finish.

Boulevard Brewing Co. "Tank 7" Farmhouse Ale, Missouri 750ml
Review Date: 01-08-2013
This is a maltier Farmhouse ale with plenty of citrus aromas and a nice, spicy, clean, crisp palate.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée 1809" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-01-2012
Like an aged Meursault or a fino sherry this Champagne shows bruised apple, olive brine, salinity and chalky minerality with lots of acidity with a great mouthfeel. Damn.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
BH 92

2009 Léoville-Poyferré, St-Julien
Review Date: 03-01-2012
This was another standout for some customers. The blend is 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 29% Merlot, 6% Petit Verdot and 3% Cabernet Franc. The nose is dominated by toasty oak, coffee and spice. The palate is huge with rich, lush black raspberry and plum, spice and coffee concealing the fine tannins.
Price: $289.99 Add To Cart
JD 100 RP 100

1996 Corbin Michotte, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-06-2011
This small property is located at the Pomerol border with less than 20 acres and production just over 3000 cases. Again please decant. When it was first opened earth and mushroom dominated the nose but after an hour the ripe plum and mineral, and herbaceous aromas stood out. The palate was soft and lush with plenty of roasted herbs, mushroom, plum and spice flavors. The long lovely finish of herbs and delicate red fruit stole the show.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-07-2011
Every year this is one of my favorite Champagnes. Green apple and mineral on the nose and palate and the 3 years on the lees provides a fantastic mouth feel with plenty of acidity keeping it very crisp and clean. 100% Grand Cru fruit for only $34.99. Crazy.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1996 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 05-04-2011
This was one of the hits of the tasting. Expressive now, this showed dried cranberry, cassis and plum. The beautiful palate displayed dried red fruit, a background of cassis, earth, spice and graphite. The tannins are mostly resolved, with some coming through on the long finish of spice and dried fruit.

2007 Doisy-Védrines, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-02-2011
This was a fantastic Doisy with a beautifully aromatic, heady nose of peach, apricot and spice. The rich mouthfeel contains more of the apricot and peach flavors, with bright acidity on the finish. An excellent 2007.

2007 Doisy-Védrines, Sauternes (375ml)
Review Date: 04-02-2011
This was a fantastic Doisy with a beautifully aromatic, heady nose of peach, apricot and spice. The rich mouthfeel contains more of the apricot and peach flavors, with bright acidity on the finish. An excellent 2007.

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-28-2010
This is a perfect New Year's Eve Rose. On the nose bright cherry and strawberry aromas that carry through on the palate. The bright fresh red fruit flavors are surrounded by a more refined mouth feel. The price makes it affordable for a party.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-27-2010
This could be one of the best deals in our Champagne section. If you like Billecart then you will like this as a alternative in price. Nice strawberry and cherry flavors and aromas with a nice rich texture and a long finish of strawberry. Great value and a great Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Sigalas Rabaud, Sauternes
Review Date: 05-26-2010
This is the next great Sauternes vintage behind the 2001.This to me was tightly wound right now but densely packed with honey, apricot jam and citrus. The lengthy finish was more of the rich honey and apricot but also spice. This wine is good now but will show even more in 5 years.

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 07-13-2009
What a beautiful Champagne. The elegant texture with great depth of flavor is what stood out for me. Loads of nuts and fruits (apricots) all wrapped by a great mouthfeel and a toasty finish. This has become my favorite under $30 Champagne.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

More Favorites

Steve Greer is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Steve Greer, click here to join Steve Greer's Personal Sommelier Service.
Tempus Fugit Kina L'Aero D'Or Aperitif Du Quinquina (750ml) ($32.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila (750ml) ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Añejo Tequila (750ml) ($74.99)

The 86 Co. Cana Brava 3 Year Old Panama White Rum (750ml) ($24.99)

St. George "Terroir" Mt. Tam Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

Domaine du Manoir de Montreuil Calvados Pay d'Auge (750ml) ($44.99)

Averna Amaro Siciliano (750ml) ($29.99)

Adrien Camut Réserve de Semainville "Assemblage de 25 ans" Pays d'Auge Calvados (750ml) ($299.99)

El Dorado 15 Year Old Demerara Guyana Rum (750ml) ($49.99)

Russell's Reserve "Small Batch" 6 Year Old Rye 90 Proof (750ml) (3 bottle limit per customer) ($34.99)

Berry Bros & Rudd "No. 3" London Dry Gin (750ml) ($34.99)

Chokaisan Junmai Daiginjo Sake (720ml) ($49.99)