Staff Favorites - John Downing

John Downing

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Cantina Valle Isarco "Aristos" Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 06-11-2018
Pinot Grigio is widely available and often justifiably maligned for lacking complexity and depth but Valle Isarco's "Aristos" is a testament to how exceptional it can be. This special alpine white makes a powerful statement with its aromas and flavors of mineral, apple skin and red fruit notes and its round and layered palate that leaves a lengthy finish and lasting impression. Those hesitant to purchase Pinot Grigio will want to give this one a go.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2014 Pranzegg "Laurenc" Lagrein
Review Date: 06-11-2018
We love Lagrein and Pranzegg is one of the best we've tasted of late. Not only for its nose of black fruit, florals, earth, smoke and herb but also for its mouth-coating and fleshy black fruit. There's not much of this impressive Lagrein available so fans of this varietal will definitely want to pick up a bottle or two while it's in stock.
Price: $38.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alfio Mozzi "Grisone" Sassella
Review Date: 06-11-2018
This alpine Nebbiolo from Italy's Valtellina zone captures a gentler and more subtle side of this noble grape. It highlights scents of earthy cherry and mint and juicy dark red fruit flavors with a great mid-palate presence and finish. Try this one with braised meats, poultry and cheese based dishes.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$27.99

2017 Pra "Morandina" Valpolicella Superiore
Review Date: 06-11-2018
This was an immediate staff favorite at a recent tasting here at the store and it made a number of us rethink Valpolicella. The best Valpolicella fruit goes to making Amarone and because so much of the remaining fruit is used to make Ripasso, its been a challenge to source great Valpolicella of late. Thankfully Pra is back in our market. This enchanting wine is an intoxicating combination of spiced red fruit aromas and a juicy palate of the same with a deceptively long finish. It's medium-bodied and shows best with a slight chill. This makes it and ideal Summer red for sure.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Quintodecimo "Giallo d'Arles" Greco di Tufo
Review Date: 06-11-2018
Professor Luigi Moio and his wife began their winery in 2001 and have taken Campania's red and white winemaking to another level. Moio's painstaking work has resulted in some of the finest wines of the region. We were especially captivated by his 2016 Greco di Tufo. This stunning white combines the classic mineral character of Greco and a layered palate of orchard fruit with a very long finish. It's certainly among the best white wines of Southern Italy.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 06-11-2018
With its combination of late picked fruit and high acidity, Aldo Cifola's "Mirum" is a rare delight. While most of his contemporaries in the Matelica zone produce crisper versions of Verdicchio, Cifola gives his grapes extended hang time prior to harvesting and the result is a richer, weightier and more complex white that pairs well with a wide variety of foods. We drank this wine with heavier pasta dishes and white meats and were pleasantly surprised. Verdicchio at its best.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Pra Soave Classico "Otto"
Review Date: 06-11-2018
Pra has always been one of my favorite Soave producers and since we're currently out of the stellar Le Battistelle wines, I'm glad we can offer their 2017 "Otto". It's rich and round with delicious apple and melon fruit and excellent acidity throughout. We're not surprised that our first drop sold out almost as fast as it arrived but there's more on the way. This is Soave at its best.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Andrea Felici Verdicchio Castelli di Jesi Superiore
Review Date: 05-28-2018
Having had the good fortune to travel through Le Marche on several occasions, I've long had an affection for great Verdicchio. There are a number of excellent ones that certainly stand out and Andrea Felici produces one of them for sure. His latest combines pear, lemon and mineral in a bright racy palate with wonderful texture and crisp acidity. Pair this with vegetable dishes, seafood, lighter pastas and white meats.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 94

2017 Leone de Castris "Five Roses" Rosato
Review Date: 05-28-2018
The "Five Roses" comes to us from one of the best producers in Italy's well known Salento region (Puglia).Although Leone di Castris is best known for their impressive Salice Salentino Riserva, their rose shines as well. This tasty and flavorful Summer delight highlights delicious cherry flavors that cross the palate in a medium-bodied and somewhat textured quaff with mild acidity and lingering fruit on the finish. It's a bit broader and fruitier than the typical Provencal versions and is great on its own or with lighter fare.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Planeta Nero d'Avola "Santa Cecilia"
Review Date: 05-22-2018
"Santa Cecilia" has long been one of the reference points for Nero d'Avola in Sicily. It's a substantial red that is deceptively complex yet immediately drinkable and produced from vineyards planted in the South Eastern corner of Sicily below Syracuse where Nero d'Avola finds its best expression. There's an overall freshness that, like the best Neros, sets it apart from some of its ultra ripe, sun baked contemporaries. We think you'll especially love the impressive spiced red fruit this wine is famous for. Open with heartier foods.
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

2016 Planeta Etna Bianco
Review Date: 05-22-2018
From the slopes of Mt Etna comes this expressive white wine (Carricante)with inviting scents of honeyed citrus, almond and florals and subtle flavors of yellow fruit and prickly pear enveloped in a creamy palate with good acidity and a touch of saline on the finish. It's an intriguing white with a true sense of place that's a refreshing alternative to Chardonnay.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Planeta Nero d'Avola "La Segreta"
Review Date: 05-21-2018
La Segreta Nero d'Avola is Planeta's outstanding versatile and value-priced wine that is always a welcome addition to our Italian section. Their 2016 offers surprising depth and freshness with plenty of concentration and length. Flavors of black cherry and blackberry abound in this ready-to-drink Southern Italian red. Pairs well with a wide variety of foods.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Cuvée Ventabren" Gigondas
Review Date: 05-14-2018
The more recent vintages of "Ventabren" have been outstanding but the 2016 is the best I've tasted to-date from this estate. There's an overall, complexity, depth and finesse that make this special. The house style shows through with its signature peppery black fruit, garrigue and spice. It's immediately lithe and seamless upfront while deceptive tannins fill out the finish and make this a very complete wine. The 2016 Ventabren is a showstopper that is comparable to far pricier and better known Rhone wines.

2013 Castello di Bossi "Berardo" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-14-2018
One thing I greatly appreciate about Castello di Bossi (along with a number of other highly regarded estates)is that their Chianti Riserva is exactly what it should be. Meaning, rather than being more concentrated and obscured by new oak, the fruit from their older vines truly shines. Their 2013 Berardo highlights intoxicating aromas and flavors of blackberry and cherry fruit and ranks among the best of the vintage from Berardegna. And, while ripe tannins add a bit of backbone to the palate, they're hidden under some very impressive primary fruit. Open now and enjoy this one.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Mederfil Lambrusco Reggiano Rosso Dolce
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Thanks to an increase in the number of high quality Lambruscos being imported of late, the demand for this classic frizzante wine has risen substantially. Since we have several outstanding dry versions in stock, we added this delightful off-dry one to our cellar. It's fairly concentrated with sweet blackberry and black cherry flavors and a pleasant effervescence that livens the palate. This is especially good with spicier and saltier dishes or simply on its own.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-07-2018
Felsina's latest Chianti Riserva has finally arrived and since we could barely keep the prior release in stock, we anticipate their impressive 2015 will be met with similar fanfare. Although it's beginning to open a bit from its adolescent slumber, it's certain to fill out and gain stature with ample cellaring. This wonderful 100 percent Sangiovese opens with scents of dark wild berry fruit, minerals and polished leather notes and continues on to a smoothly textured palate of berry fruit, ripe tannins and perfectly integrated oak. Give this one plenty of aeration after opening or let it cellar for a couple of years.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2015 Castello di Bossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-07-2018
The wines of Castello di Bossi have long maintained a great following at K&L and we're expecting a host of positive responses with the release of their outstanding 2015 Chianti Classico. Fragrant aromas of plum, cherry and cedar greet a juicy palate with fully ripe tannins, moderate acidity and a delicious red fruit finish. It's a very pleasant Chianti with no rough edges that's perfect to drink now and over the next few years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Cecchi Villa Cerna "Primocolle" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-07-2018
Villa Cerna satisfies the recent demand for a reasonably priced, daily drinker Chianti. It's medium-bodied, juicy and full of bright strawberry flavors. And, thanks to fully ripe tannins and mild acidity, it's perfect to open now with a wide variety of foods.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2015 Arnaldo Caprai Montefalco Rosso
Review Date: 04-30-2018
Caprai's 2015 Rosso really shows the strength of the vintage and is one of his best in years. It's a classic blend Sangiovese, Merlot and Sagrantino that highlights delicious plum and black fruit flavors with a hint of minerals and fine ripe tannins that add to the wine's overall depth and texture. And, it's priced under $20 which makes it not only one of the best deals in our Italian section currently but also a wonderful alternative to its value priced Tuscan contemporaries.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2015 Paitin di Pasquero "Serra" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 04-30-2018
The Pasquero family produces excellent wine at better than average prices and their 2015 Barbera d'Alba has finally hit our cellar floor. A number of us had the opportunity to taste this impressive wine a few months prior and have been anxiously awaiting the arrival. It's an immanently drinkable Barbera that's dense, smooth in texture and packed with mouthwatering red berry fruit flavors. And, the acidity enlivens the fruit and lengthens the finish. It's ideal with pizza, red sauce pastas, meats, cheeses and burgers.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2014 Elvio Cogno Pre-Phyloxera Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 04-23-2018
Winegrower Valter Fissore learned from one of the best in Barolo, Elvio Cogno. Married to Cogno's daughter Nadia, he has followed in Cogno's footsteps and is, in my opinion, one of the most talented winemakers in the Langhe. His pre-phyloxera Barbera is produced from vines spared from the disease (and from disease resistant American rootstock) that afflicted European winegrowers. This very rare and aromatic wine is dense in texture, rich in flavor, and the essence of Barbera past. We had the pleasure of tasting it recently and can attest that it's worth every penny.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2013 Capezzana Carmignano
Review Date: 04-16-2018
Carmignano is a lesser known yet important subzone (located just northwest of Florence)of Tuscany that has held the long tradition of blending Cabernet with Sangiovese. Capezzana remains the benchmark producer here and their 2013 is a classic. Made from 80% Sangiovese and 20% Cabernet, it's juicy and medium-bodied with red fruit from the Sangiovese taking the lead while the Cabernet fills in the palate with a nice touch of dark chocolate. A fine layer of tannins adds a pleasant touch of structure to this wonderful Tuscan red.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2015 Cascina Ca' Rossa "Vigna Mulassa" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 04-16-2018
Cascina Ca'Rossa is located in Roero, the zone adjacent to Barolo and Barbaresco that is best known for the production of Arneis. Their "Mulassa" Barbera comes from the vineyard of the same name where predominantly sandy soils yield grapes that result in highly aromatic and flavorful wine. It's aged in large Slavonian oak casks which allows it to showcase rich, high toned earthy black cherry and black berry fruit amplified by ample acidity. This is a first class Barbera that is more than worth the price. Great with hot appetizers and substantial pastas.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 04-16-2018
San Venanzio Brut certainly stands out amongst its peers and remains one of the finest quality Proseccos we've come across at this tremendous price. Known for its vibrant fruit, bright florals, minerality and exceptional balance, this creamy, fresh sparkler continues to impress.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Fratelli Barale Barolo
Review Date: 04-16-2018
One of the reasons we cherish our direct import program is that we have the opportunity to offer our customers impressive wines at incredible prices. Barale's first-rate 2013 is one of the steals among our Italian selections currently especially in light of the going rate for Barolo. This medium-bodied gem offers an aromatic array of pretty red fruit, dried florals, earth and cedar and a seamless palate with a bright snap of acidity on the finish. Although it can be enjoyed today after ample aeration, it's certain to improve in the cellar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-16-2018
After just one sip of this wine I was immediately reminded why owner Paolo De Marchi has developed such a sterling reputation and following. His 2015 Chianti Classico is simply sublime. It's a seamless blend of mostly Sangiovese with small amounts of Canaiolo and Syrah that showcases lush cherry and plum flavors with polished tannins and perfectly integrated acidity. This is one of the finer Chiantis I've tasted in some time and I have no doubt many will share my sentiment.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 San Vincenti Chianti Classico
Review Date: 04-16-2018
San Vincenti is one of the more recent and impressive additions to our Italian section that took us a bit by surprise during an LA staff tasting. It's medium-to-full-bodied with earthy layered blackberry and black cherry fruit and a healthy dose of ripe tannnins throughout. While aged in and rounded by small French barrels, the fruit in this wine takes center stage. This substantial Chianti will only improve with a year of cellaring.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cascina Alberta "Giacone" Barbaresco
Review Date: 04-10-2018
The wines of Cascina Alberta are welcome new arrivals to K&L and outstanding values at their respective price points. We're especially taken with their Barbaresco for its classic aromas of cherries, mint, minerals and a hint of licorice as well as its bright, medium-bodied palate. There's just the right balance of fruit and acidity and the wine can be enjoyed today or over the next few of years.
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2016 Tenuta Le Calcinaie Ingredienti Uva (100% Sangiovese)
Review Date: 04-10-2018
Le Calcinaie is a small Tuscan estate close to the town of San Gimignano and one of our favorite in this area. Not only are the wines certified organic but also owner Simone Santini has chosen to produce this wonderful 100% Sangiovese entirely in steel tanks without the use of sulphur. It's texturally plush and round yet pleasantly structured with some youthful tannins and acidity that emerge on the finish. The combination of earthy Tuscan terrior and primary black fruit make this perfect with hearty pastas, meats and firm cheeses.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 04-02-2018
Terlano's "Gries" is among the finest examples of Lagrien in Alto Adige. The grapes are harvested near Bolzano and result in a wonderfully aromatic wine with heady scents of earthy dark plum, dark cherry and blackberry fruit and a velvety palate with rounded tannins. 2015 was a very warm and dry year that yielded small, concentrated grapes. Cantina Terlan managed to harvest at just the right moment making this an especially full-flavored, memorable Lagrien.
Price: $35.99 Add To Cart

2015 Pecchenino Dolcetto Siri D'Jermu
Review Date: 04-02-2018
Pecchenino is one of the top estates in the Dogliani zone where nearly all of the vineyards are planted to Dolcetto. This native grape thrives in this slightly higher altitude area adjacent to Barolo and Barbaresco. "Siri d'Jermu" is a densely packed Dolcetto with dark berry and cherry fruit flavors that envelope big ripe tannins and a fair amount of acidity. Although a few months of aging in large casks has toned the wine and made it somewhat accessible now, it definitely opens with ample aeration and is at its best with food. An impressive Dolcetto.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

2013 Giacomo Ascheri Barolo
Review Date: 03-31-2018
The past several vintages of this impressive and well-priced Barolo have been consistently good and wildly popular with our customers. Matteo Ascheri is a real pro and his 2013 reflects this excellent vintage. It's a classic style Barolo with ample weight, texture and finesse and plenty of delicious spiced red fruit. While the tannins are big, they're not austere and are well integrated. This is an impressive Barolo at the price and will cellar well or drink nicely in the near term.

2015 Yves Cheron "Les Dentelles" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 03-26-2018
This wine is yet another example of why I'm such a fan of Rhone reds. Wines like this certainly over-deliver at the price and this medium-to-full-bodied blend of Grenache and Syrah is packed with earthy, peppery red and black fruit along with pleasant tannins and a touch of rusticity on the finish. Meats and cheeses with this one.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2011 Bocale Sagrantino di Montefalco
Review Date: 03-26-2018
Quite a few customers and even a couple of my esteemed colleagues have been whispering about Bocale for some time now. Well, we not only have their wonderful 2011 Sagrantino in stock, but also are offering it at a terrific price. It's an exuberant, richly flavored red with surprisingly ripe tannins and just the right touch of French oak. Bocale is a pleasant contrast to the also excellent more tannic/rustic versions of Sagrantino and will appeal to those who love powerful, fruit-driven reds.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Saint Cosme Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 03-26-2018
While I tasted this recently I was immediately reminded why the arrival of this wine is always eagerly anticipated. It's a tremendous value and delivers even in lesser vintages. St Cosme's 2016 offers some impressive concentration and surprising assertive tannins that are enveloped by mouth-filling black fruit. This one hundred percent Syrah is the ideal foil for lamb and most certainly shines with meats, firm aged cheeses and heartier fare.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Blason Malvasia Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
Review Date: 03-26-2018
Blason's 2016 Malvasia hits all the right notes in perfect pitch. This wonderfully fresh and aromatic white melds fragrances of rose petals and orchard fruit with a medium-bodied palate of subtle fruit and crisp acidity. It's delicious on its own and pairs nicely with soups, salads, vegetables and white meats.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 02-27-2018
It's never difficult for us to go long on Felsina in any vintage but their 2015 deserves attention. The vintage is already turning heads in Tuscany and the Felsina Chianti Classico is definitely one of the stars. It captures the signature Berardegna berry fruit with subtle highlights of dried florals, cedar and minerals. This medium-bodied gem manages to deliver elegant fruit with perfectly balanced tannins and acidity. A very fine Chianti Classico we highly recommend.

2016 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-26-2018
As much as we love all of Ermacora's wines, their Pinot Bianco always seems to remain the star of the show. It has an extra dimension of complexity and verve that make it stand out. The 2016 is bright and inviting with lifted notes of green apple and citrus that shine throughout. It's perfect with vegetable dishes and soups, risotto and fish. A real gem.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-26-2018
Originally known as Tocai Friulano, this wine is the most popular white consumed in Friuli and known by some as the ambassador of Friulian wines. Ermacora's features the classic scents of almond and white flowers as well as subtle flavors of orchard fruit and spice. This outstanding white pairs wonderfully with prosciutto, fresh cheeses, white meats and fish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2016 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-26-2018
Pinot Grigio is certainly one of the most versatile white wines today and it's also one of the most beloved by consumers. Whether served as an aperitif or at the table it's a great all-around white wine. Our friends at Ermacora craft an especially good one with classic aromas of pear, white peach and florals and delicious flavors of melon, baked apple and hints of tropical fruit. A mid-weight palate with moderate acidity make this perfect to drink today.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-26-2018
This is one of the earlier 2016 Rossos to arrive on our sales floor and if it's any indication of things to come, this vintage shows great promise. Poggiarellino's 2016 is pleasantly aromatic, concentrated and a bit lower in alcohol than most of late. It's definitely an excellent wine to pair with food as it trades a bit more acidity for slightly less forward fruit and offers plenty of length as well. Great to open today with ample aeration yet wil cellar nicely for a couple of years.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fratelli Barale Dolcetto d'Alba "Le Rose"
Review Date: 02-20-2018
Sadly, even as the demand for Dolcetto has greatly increased here in the US, the popularity in Italy has plummeted along with production levels. It's why we're so elated to be able to offer Barale's at a great price and in good quantity. Their 2016 is fresh and aromatic with scents of cherry and berry fruits, rose petals and a pleasant earthy character from the Monforte soils. It's a versatile red that is especially great with pizza, pastas, lighter meats and cheeses.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 02-19-2018
The warmth of the 2015 vintage has seemingly taken this wine to another level. The fruit appears riper and more concentrated than usual yet possesses an underlying structure and freshness of a more typical vintage. This wonderful Crozes opens with aromas of meaty ripe black fruit, earth and licorice that continue on the palate with fine grain imbedded tannins and a long finish. The wines of Remizieres continue to go from strength to strength.

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo
Review Date: 02-19-2018
Castellero is an important Barolo for the Barale's as the vines are grafted from the original old clones of Nebbiolo on their property. The 2013 is especially complex with lots of spice and potpourri on the nose and a layered and structured palate with wonderful density, ample acidity and grippy tannins on the finish. This will certainly gain stature with a bit of time in the cellar yet is quite expressive if opened now. Ideal with roasts, meats and heartier meals.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JS 92

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Since so many of our customers are regularly in search of value-priced Brunellos (and we are as well!) we wanted to make mention of Baccinetti's outstanding 2012. Since tasting it over a year ago, this wine is really showing beautifully. It opens with attractive scents of forest berries, dried florals and spice and offers captivating flavors of black cherries and red fruit with ripe tannins and mild acidity that bring it all together. It's a tremendous value Brunello that we highly recommend.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Although this wine continues to improve and fill out with time in the bottle, currently I'd recommend decanting it or giving it plenty of time to open up. It's packed with loads of spiced red and black fruit, ripe tannins and just the right amount of acidity that adds to its freshness and length. It's a very impressive red and one of the best deals within our Rhone selection. Open with aeration or give it a bit of time to round out in the cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-15-2018
Baccinetti Rosso di Montalcino is very likely to be one of our best values from Tuscany this year. It far exceeds its price and delivers a level of complexity and depth of fruit we don't normally find at $15. Thanks to the 2015 vintage, this wine has all of its usual irresistible features of spiced red fruits, sandalwood and forest floor yet with greater weight and concentration on the palate. It's a real sleeper pick from one of our favorite Montalcino families.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This has been a consistent hit with our customers and Cantele continues to produce high quality wine at very modest price points. Their latest Salice offers up their trademark rich baked red and black fruit with sweet tannins and bright acidity that together make this a wonderful table red. Cantele sets the bar high which is why we sell so much of this wine every vintage.
Price: $8.95 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-15-2018
The 2013 Bersano Barbaresco represents outstanding value with the convergence of a great vintage and an exceptional price. This authentic Nebbiolo highlights classic characteristics of earthy red fruits, licorice, dried florals and a hint of leather. It's light on its feet yet has deceptive tannins and acidity that bring it together. It's perfect for meats, cheeses and pasta dishes.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2013 Brezza "Sarmassa" Barolo
Review Date: 12-26-2017
When last we tasted this, the wine had certainly shut down by comparison to its "Cannubi" counterpart giving the impression it's built for the long haul. Brezza's "Sarmassa" vines are planted primarily in clay which explains why the wine is often more structured than the Cannubi. Ample and expressive aromas of red fruit, licorice and earth belie a concentrated and complex palate that while closed at present, is sure to emerge with proper cellaring. A first class 2013 Barolo.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

Page: 1 2 next