Staff Favorites - John Downing

John Downing

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2016 Fratelli Barale Dolcetto d'Alba "Le Rose"
Review Date: 02-20-2018
Sadly, even as the demand for Dolcetto has greatly increased here in the US, the popularity in Italy has plummeted along with production levels. It's why we're so elated to be able to offer Barale's at a great price and in good quantity. Their 2016 is fresh and aromatic with scents of cherry and berry fruits, rose petals and a pleasant earthy character from the Monforte soils. It's a versatile red that is especially great with pizza, pastas, lighter meats and cheeses.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Christophe" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 02-19-2018
The warmth of the 2015 vintage has seemingly taken this wine to another level. The fruit appears riper and more concentrated than usual yet possesses an underlying structure and freshness of a more typical vintage. This wonderful Crozes opens with aromas of meaty ripe black fruit, earth and licorice that continue on the palate with fine grain imbedded tannins and a long finish. The wines of Remizieres continue to go from strength to strength.

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo
Review Date: 02-19-2018
Castellero is an important Barolo for the Barale's as the vines are grafted from the original old clones of Nebbiolo on their property. The 2013 is especially complex with lots of spice and potpourri on the nose and a layered and structured palate with wonderful density, ample acidity and grippy tannins on the finish. This will certainly gain stature with a bit of time in the cellar yet is quite expressive if opened now. Ideal with roasts, meats and heartier meals.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 02-19-2018
Barale's 2015 Langhe Nebbiolo was one of our most popular Italian red wines this past year and customers and staff alike have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of their 2016. This latest release is both soft and generous with a medium-bodied palate of spiced red fruits backed by mild tannins and bright acidity. More often than not, good Langhe Nebbiolo sells for over $20 per bottle, especially those aged in oak like this one. While this is perfect to open and drink now, the price is irresistible.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Since so many of our customers are regularly in search of value-priced Brunellos (and we are as well!) we wanted to make mention of Baccinetti's outstanding 2012. Since tasting it over a year ago, this wine is really showing beautifully. It opens with attractive scents of forest berries, dried florals and spice and offers captivating flavors of black cherries and red fruit with ripe tannins and mild acidity that bring it all together. It's a tremendous value Brunello that we highly recommend.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Although this wine continues to improve and fill out with time in the bottle, currently I'd recommend decanting it or giving it plenty of time to open up. It's packed with loads of spiced red and black fruit, ripe tannins and just the right amount of acidity that adds to its freshness and length. It's a very impressive red and one of the best deals within our Rhone selection. Open with aeration or give it a bit of time to round out in the cellar.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tenuta di Sesta Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-22-2018
Tenuta di Sesta 2015 Rosso di Montalcino (along with Baccinetti Rosso) is one of the best deals going in our Italian section. It's as pure of an expression of Sangiovese as you're likely to come across at this price and akin to the "gift that keeps on giving." It's already flying off the sales floor so we don't expect the supply to last long. Simply delicious.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 WS 90

2015 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-15-2018
Baccinetti Rosso di Montalcino is very likely to be one of our best values from Tuscany this year. It far exceeds its price and delivers a level of complexity and depth of fruit we don't normally find at $15. Thanks to the 2015 vintage, this wine has all of its usual irresistible features of spiced red fruits, sandalwood and forest floor yet with greater weight and concentration on the palate. It's a real sleeper pick from one of our favorite Montalcino families.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 01-15-2018
This has been a consistent hit with our customers and Cantele continues to produce high quality wine at very modest price points. Their latest Salice offers up their trademark rich baked red and black fruit with sweet tannins and bright acidity that together make this a wonderful table red. Cantele sets the bar high which is why we sell so much of this wine every vintage.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-15-2018
The 2013 Bersano Barbaresco represents outstanding value with the convergence of a great vintage and an exceptional price. This authentic Nebbiolo highlights classic characteristics of earthy red fruits, licorice, dried florals and a hint of leather. It's light on its feet yet has deceptive tannins and acidity that bring it together. It's perfect for meats, cheeses and pasta dishes.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2015 Antinori "Cervaro della Sala" Chardonnay Umbria
Review Date: 01-08-2018
I've long admired the Antinori family's commitment to the preservation of a fair number of significant estates in different locales within Italy. They purchased this particular property, Castello della Sala, in 1940, which is not only beautifully restored but also houses a world class winery and vineyards. Their Cervaro, having been produced since 1985, is a clear reflection of their desire to make a great white Umbrian wine and of their vision of what that should be. This unique blend of Chardonnay and Grechetto has developed a huge following and the 2015 is a stunner. Cervaro weds a richly textured and flavored-packed international style palate with underlying old world terrior, bright acidity and a pleasant kiss of oak on the finish. Although delicious now, it will certainly broaden with time in the cellar.

2013 Brezza "Sarmassa" Barolo
Review Date: 12-26-2017
When last we tasted this, the wine had certainly shut down by comparison to its "Cannubi" counterpart giving the impression it's built for the long haul. Brezza's "Sarmassa" vines are planted primarily in clay which explains why the wine is often more structured than the Cannubi. Ample and expressive aromas of red fruit, licorice and earth belie a concentrated and complex palate that while closed at present, is sure to emerge with proper cellaring. A first class 2013 Barolo.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2015 Villa Russiz Pinot Bianco
Review Date: 12-26-2017
2015 has turned out to be a first rate vintage for Italian white wines so those from top tier producers like Villa Russiz are especially impressive. Their Pinot Bianco combines wonderful aromas of white florals and subtle orchard fruit with a palate of soft apple flavors enveloped by overall richness and density. Although it's medium-to-full-bodied the acidity keeps the wine bright and fresh on the finish.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 12-26-2017
This is one of those occasions when the sum is better than its parts. That's not to say that the single varietal wines were not great on their own, but the blend that comprises 'Pepita' is a real stunner. We normally expect a wine of this depth and quality to hit the floor above $20 so it's no surprise why it comes with our highest recommendation. This is a real super Tuscan.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fiorenzo Nada Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 12-26-2017
Customers seem to love or dislike Dolcetto with few in between. Fortunately, a solid majority of our Italian wine drinkers love it and when we come across one this good at this price, we don't hesitate to place it on our shelves. This esteemed producer has been making very fine wines for decades and this pure expression of Dolcetto attests to that. It's smooth and mouth-filling with delicious berry fruit, mild tannins and just a touch of acidity to round it out. It's great with meats, pastas, pizza and evening meals in general and the price makes it a steal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 12-26-2017
The Super Tuscan category is a great place to look for value these days and Felsina produces one of the finest Sangiovese based wines in the zone. Their 'Fontalloro' is a selection of high and low altitude fruit that weds the best characteristics of Sangiovese. That, coupled with the warmth of the 2011 vintage, make this exceptional to drink now or hold for a few years. It's surprisingly fresh for the vintage and brimming with ripe, flavorful and densly packed fruit. We're glad we went long on this one.

2016 Pala "I Fiori" Cannonau di Sardegna
Review Date: 12-26-2017
Cannonau has gained attention of late due to its cultivation within one of the noted "blue zones" that dot the globe. People who inhabit these places are said to live the longest, healthiest lives and the Cannonau wines of Sardegna are included due to their polyphenolic content. Aside from the said health benefits, Cannonaus like this one are tasty, versatile red wines that our customers love. Pala's is bright and lively with scents of fresh raspberry, prickly pear, white pepper, and a pleasant touch of wild herbs. It's medium-bodied in texture and fills out with a bit of aeration. This is a great everyday red that will pair with a wide variety of mild and spicier foods. A wonderful island red.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Ca de Medici "Terra Calda" Lambrusco
Review Date: 12-26-2017
We've had a thriving Lambrusco business for years but for some reason the wines of Ca De Medici have flown a bit under the radar. We're certainly paying greater attention to this one after just re-tasting it. The winery manages to offer some of the best from the zone and we're especially taken with this one. It's concentrated and flavored-packed from start to finish yet pleasantly dry throughout with loads of black cherry and mild effervescence. Perfect with pastas, burgers and daily meals. (Low alcohol too!)
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Silvano Follador Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-07-2017
During our visit to this winery in 2016, Alberta Follador mentioned that her brother Silvano was a perfectionist. This was hardly a surprise to me as Follador is the finest Prosecco I've come across. While most of the Prosecco hitting the market is made in an Extra Dry (slightly sweet) style, Follador is a Brut (dry) which makes it not only somewhat unique but also in a class all its own. It really is that good.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99

2015 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 11-06-2017
The Banti Carato not only has a huge and well-deserved following but also there's always a collective sigh when a vintage sells out and the wait for the next begins. The 2015 is a stunner and we've been anxious to get it into the hands of our customers. It's richly flavored, concentrated and definitely belies its modest price. We think you'll share our enthusiasm for this outstanding red.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-30-2017
Giampaolo Motta has continued his string of impressive wines with the release of his 2014 La Massa. Although the 2014 is finer in texture and tone than the recent vintages, it offers no shortage of concentration, length and acidity. Excellent to drink now but will hold well for several more years.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 90

2012 La Magia Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2017
This is definitely a big, concentrated style Brunello with moderate tannins and mild acidity, and a more modern expression as well as the wine is aged in medium-sized French barrels. It's packed with rich fruit and a touch of new French oak that adds to its overall appeal. Open this one with a juicy steak.

2012 Cortonesi "Poggiarelli" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2017
This is a bold and vibrant Brunello that will especially appeal to those looking for Sangiovese with ample intensity and length. "Poggiarelli" boasts penetrating red and black fruit flavors that carry on to a lengthy finish thanks to some solid acidity. It's aged in medium-sized French barrels yet the oak is perfectly integrated allowing the fruit to shine.

2012 Armilla Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-30-2017
Armilla has definitely released what we think is their best wine to-date. Their 2012 Brunello exudes elegance and subtle texture enhanced by delicious strawberry flavors and bright acidity. There's no shortage of personality to this wine and it certainly showcases the wonderful red fruit their region of Montalcino is known for.

2013 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 10-09-2017
Felsina Rancia remains one of my top Chianti picks every vintage but the 2013 is truly special. It possesses all the best characteristics of what has been described as a challenging or tricky vintage for many. Happily the Rancia is deep, compelling and brimming with captivating fruit with acidity and tannins in perfect balance. This is one of the best of the 2013s and is certainly a Sangiovese not to be missed.

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-09-2017
My colleagues discovered the wines of this producer several years ago and they have remained customer favorites since. We met up with Gaetano Salvioni in 2016 during our Italian travels and were reminded why. His 2012 Brunello hits all the right notes with wonderful savory red fruit, exotic spices and an overall freshness, depth and length not normally found at this price.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2012 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-02-2017
Sesta di Sopra is one of the jewels of our Italian department and we're ever grateful that they are part of our direct import family. This tiny estate continues their unbroken string of exceptional Brunellos with the release of their 2012. It's a substantial wine that not only expresses its calcerous soils with pleasant earthy nuances but also exudes rich, deep Sangiovese fruit with fine grained tannins and a perfect dose of acidity. It's a full-bodied red with savory dark and red fruit flavors that coat the palate and continue to a long finish. It ranks among the truly great values of the vintage and it's a Sangiovese we think you'll appreciate as much as we do.

2015 La Gerla Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-26-2017
For me the wines of La Gerla always manage to showcase a purity and intensity of fruit in an elegant framework and their 2015 Rosso is certainly one of their best yet. It's a real classic aged in large casks which preserves its aromas of dried florals, sandalwood and red fruits. Additionally, this concentrated, mouthwatering Sangiovese is perfectly balanced and will drink nicely now and for several years to come. Pasta, roast pork or cheeses with this one.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 09-26-2017
After tasting this new arrival I would never have guessed it was a 2014 but rather a 2015. It's bold and intensely concentrated with a surprising amount of acidity that makes it the complete package. Although it's full and round, it's also light on its feet. Rich honey and minerals emerge on the palate and continue on a long finish. It reminded us somewhat of a well made Chenin Blanc with the uniqueness that makes it truly Italian. Seafood, white meats and egg dishes with this one.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2013 Skerk Vitovska Carso
Review Date: 09-25-2017
We receive a lot of requests for orange wines and, in my opinion, Skerk is one of the best producers of this genre. It takes a lot of focus and talent to make orange wines with this level of complexity and freshness and Skerk manages to do just that. His Vitovska sees weeks of skin contact and the tannins in the skins prevent oxidation of the wine. It's quite aromatic with notes of tropical fruit and wet stone and powerful on the palate with impressive structure from both tannins and acidity. Whether you are an orange wine fan or interested in trying one for the first time, look no further.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
I've made a lot of friends over the past few years thanks to the wonderful wines of Franck Millet. They remain one of my very favorite Sancerre producers and their 2016 speaks volumes. It's rounder and more concentrated than the most recent vintages with no shortage of chalky mineral notes, lime, lemongrass and crisp acidity. A Sauvignon Blanc not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Castelgiocondo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-11-2017
This excellent 2012 Brunello from Frescobaldi represents a more modern approach to the category and is one of the best examples of the style. It's bigger shouldered and denser in weight than average, which translates to a concentrated palate that's smooth and polished with loads of delicious black fruit flavors. Aging in newer French oak adds a pleasant touch of well-integrated oak as well.

2012 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 08-29-2017
The "Giorgio" 2012 is a step up from the excellent 2011 and it's so good in fact, that it took us by surprise. It's impeccably balanced with a velvety and luxurious mouthful of chocolaty black fruit and fine ingrained tannins. The depth of fruit, ample structure and overall integration make this an ideal cellar candidate. Otherwise, open and give it a good amount of aeration or decant. Ribeye time for sure.

2012 Abbadia Ardenga "Piaggia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Ardenga may not be well known here in the States but they produce terrific Brunello. Their 2012 captures the best characteristics of the vintage; lush fruit combined with excellent freshness and structure. Ardenga boasts irresistible, concentrated cherry and plum fruit that packs a mid-palate punch and a lengthy finish. Pleasant grippy tannins add another dimension to the overall appeal of this wonderful red from the hills of Montalcino.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 95 JS 93

2014 Jermann Chardonnay Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
Review Date: 08-29-2017
For several decades Jermann has distinguished itself as one of the very top wineries within Italy's Friuli region and their 2014 Chardonnay reminded us why. Regardless of the challenges of a difficult vintage, they managed to craft a very impressive line-up of wines including this one. It's round and creamy with pronounced granny smith apple and pear flavors enlivened by substantial acidity. This is a tremendous Chardonnay value that will enhance a wide range of dishes including fish, poultry, vegetables and soups.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2012 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-28-2017
We've been anxiously awaiting the arrival of this wine ever since our memorable visit to the estate in 2016. Although we loved the 2011 for it's ripe fruit and immediacy, the 2012 delivers more on all fronts. The wine's hallmark Sangiovese aromas of earthy red fruits, sandalwood and dried florals burst from the glass while rich extract of red fruit and plum abound on the palate with smooth tannins and fresh acidity that carry it to a long finish. It possesses just the right balance of ripeness and structure that's impossible to resist.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 93

2015 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-21-2017
This is not only an impressive Rosso but also one of the best 2015s I've tasted. Andrea Cortonesi really captures the vintage with this complex, full-bodied Sangiovese. It's so good, in fact, that it might be mistaken for a great Brunello in a lesser vintage. The Uccelliera Rosso offers concentrated fruit and deftly integrated tannins and acidity. A truly outstanding wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

2015 Domaine du Vieil Orme "Inphini" Sauvignon Touraine Chenonceaux Blanc
Review Date: 08-07-2017
The "Iphini" represents Vieil Orme's "Cru" Touraine. Here there's more weight, concentration and riper fruit flavors than their outstanding regular bottling and the added richness and complexity are worth the slightly higher price. Great on its own or with food.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine du Vieil Orme Sauvignon Touraine Blanc
Review Date: 08-07-2017
While I'm already a fan of good Touraine Blanc, this one raised the bar a bit for me. Zesty lime aromas are upstaged by generous citrus flavors, mouthwatering acidity, impressive mid-palate punch and a lengthy finish. A serious value Sauvignon for sure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 08-07-2017
Demand for Muscadet has definitely been on the rise of late so we've not only answered the call but also exceeded expectations with the arrival of this impressive direct import. It's a traditional style Muscadet that's very floral with additional scents of seashell and pure saline and mineral notes on the palate. Good weight and texture belie great acidity as well. We're expecting a lot of repeat customers when it comes to this one.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2010 Gulfi "Nerosanlorè" Nero d'Avola Sicilia
Review Date: 08-01-2017
My first exposure to the wines of Gulfi was many years ago when I had the pleasure of meeting and tasting with owner Vito Catania and I've been smitten with his Nero d'Avolas ever since. I know of no one with any greater passion for Nero d'Avola and his are among the finest produced. His NeroSanlore is one of several old vines single vineyard wines he produces and is considered the most elegant of them. The 2010 is singing right now offering a stunning expression of Nero d'Avola with intense, sweet extract of baked plum and blackberry fruits carried across the palate by bright acidity. A pleasant saltiness cuts through while mild tannins add a bit of texture to this juicy, full bodied red with a long berry fruit finish. Enjoy this with rich tomato based sauces, Mediterranean style pastas, richer fish and lamb dishes.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 95

2014 Sergio Arcuri "Aris" Ciro Rosso Calabria
Review Date: 07-31-2017
I've had a number of Ciro Rossos over the years but this one was quite a revelation to me. While the others have generally displayed darker fruit, earthy aromas and rustic tannins the Arcuri is more akin to a lighter Nebbiolo. The aromas are those of red berries, minerals, sandalwood and dried herbs while the flavors express slightly salty red fruit, mild tannins and grippy acidity. It could almost be mistaken for a Piemonte red except for the exotic spicing and rustic character. We're happy to offer this outstanding addition to our Southern Italian selections,
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Schiavenza "Serralunga" Barolo
Review Date: 07-31-2017
Luciano Pira, owner and winemaker at Schiavenza, makes some of the most traditional style Barolos in Serralunga. All of his wines are aged in large Slavonian oak casks and he is always one of the last among his peers to release them. His 2012 is truly a snapshot of the vintage as it's fresh, aromatic and approachable as well. Cherry and plum fruits, earthy minerals and hints of licorice are on display on both nose and palate and the wine remains elegant and lively throughout. This is a truly well made Barolo that can be opened now or appreciated over the next few years if cellared properly.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2010 Camerano Barolo "Cannubi"
Review Date: 07-31-2017
Although Camerano is the second oldest wine producer within the commune of Barolo, their wines remain relatively unknown outside the zone as they have, until recently, always sold their wines locally. Thankfully a small number of cases make it to the US and we are grateful to offer their latest Barolo "Cannubi." Their 2010 is pleasantly aromatic with an array of dark cherries, minerals, licorice and rose petals and full and elegant on the palate with supple berry fruit and fine tannins. This is a first-rate, classic expression of Nebbiolo from one of the most prestigious vineyards within the Barolo communes. While it can be enjoyed today, it will certainly improve in the cellar.
Price: $58.99 Add To Cart

2011 Porta del Vento "MaQue" Perricone Sicilia
Review Date: 07-25-2017
Porta del Vento is located at 2,000 feet above Palermo near Camporeale. Here the hillsides are steep and subjected to high winds, extreme temperature shifts and difficult terrain. Owner and winemaker Marco Sferlazzo farms biodynamically and is one of the few to work with the rare red varietal known as Perricone. His is one of the finest made and boasts complex aromas of plum, blue fruits, violets, herbs and minerals. Additionally it's structured yet balanced with a medium-bodied palate of dried blue fruits, fine tannins, juicy acidity and low alcohol as well. This is a rare wine that Italophiles will especially enjoy.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes-du-Rhône Villages Valreas
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Since I'm a Rhone wine fan, I'm always on the lookout for new arrivals in our French section. Recently, I picked up a bottle of this latest arrival and opened it with dinner. Needless to say I was very impressed. For me it's somewhat of an atypical Cotes du Rhone in that it combines 25% Mourvedre with 75% Grenache without the addition of Syrah. The nose is a heady combination of dark berry and plum fruit with hints of licorice and mineral while the palate is full-flavored and concentrated with fruit that is certainly ripe yet maintains its freshness. As much as I love California Rhone blends, I'd have to spend far more to find one of this caliber.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

2016 Sergio Arcuri "Marinetto" Ciro Rosato Calabria
Review Date: 07-24-2017
This really took us by surprise. Maybe it's that since most of the great rose wines we're familiar with hail from Spain, France or California, we don't have the same expectation when it comes to Italy. Regardless, this impressive gem from Calabria delivers earthy bright red fruit aromas and flavors along with juicy acidity and fine tannins that make this ideal with meats and heartier fare. "Marinetto" is made from 100% Gaglioppo and certainly brings intriguing character of Calabria to the table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sarno 1860 Fiano di Avellino
Review Date: 07-24-2017
Fiano is one of the noble white grapes of Southern Italy and Sarno is without doubt one the finest producers of it. Theirs combines richness and structure and the 2015 vintage takes the aromatics and palate to another level. Subtle scents of beeswax, pear and citrus precede a round and seamless palate with a core of vibrant acidity and a chalky mineral finish. This sensational white will age gracefully and will develop more complex notes of honey and hazelnuts as it matures.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Edi Keber Collio Bianco
Review Date: 07-10-2017
The Keber family has resided in Italy's Collio region near the Slovenian border for generations. Today, Edi and his son organically farm the local white grape varietals Friulano, Malvasia Istriana and Ribolla Gialla and blend them together to make a single wine. Their 2015 Bianco is truly impressive. An aromatic array of gooseberry, citrus and herbs is nearly upstaged by a round, spicy and mouthwatering palate with delicious hints of anise and tarragon on the long finish. It's not only a tribute to their talented winemaking but also a shining example in a top vintage.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2015 Porta del Vento Catarratto Sicilia
Review Date: 07-10-2017
Admittedly I like to drink white wines that have a fair amount of acidity and thus I've come across only a handful of Catarattos over the years that I've liked as most have lacked a level of freshness and vibrancy I prefer. That's not to say that many were not high quality, well made wines but rather that I've encountered only a few like Porta del Vento. This wonderful find offers intriguing scents of pear, flint and stone fruit along with great acidity on the palate. One of my colleagues mentioned it lands somewhere between a Chablis and an aged Vouvray Sec and I'd have to agree. A real find from Sicily.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next