Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2012 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-07-2019
This absolutely outstanding 100% Pinot Noir offering from Michel Arnould is one of my new favorite champagnes. A gorgeous nose of cream, apricot, brioche and meringue. On the palate, red fruits (especially cherries!), toasted pinenuts, creme caramel, and generous lemon zest on the long finish. Almost Krug like! This little beauty should also age extremely well, particularly for this vintage. Having had experience with aging it, I can definitely vouch for it. However, it is very, very hard to keep ones hands off of it, once you have it!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-25-2019
The bright red fruit nose has hints of citrus and a bit of cream de cacao. On the palate, more bright red fruits (as others have said, definite currant and cranberry), along with some dry herb notes and fine tannins. It takes a little time to come around on the finish but, with that time, you will be rewarded charming acidity.

Dérot-Delugny "Coiffe Blanche" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
The second offering that we have from Derot Delugny is a 100% Pinot Meunier bottling that is a bit different from other all PM champagnes that we offer. Different in that it is more muted and subtle and that is a good thing! On the nose, white currants, maple and some caramel. The palate is quite different, with nice acidity, dried fruits (golden raisins) and yellow apples. Surprisingly, fresh and almost floral, with generous creamy notes. Should be super versatile with anything from starters to main courses.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
While I have tasted champagnes with Pinot Gris in them (eternal favorite Aspasie Cepages d' Antan), like the other reviewers here, I have not tasted one that is 100% Pinot Gris. Well, if this is the benchmark, please people, make more in this style! A very pretty nose of white flowers, cream and nectarine. On the palate, very clean and zippy, at first, and then, lemon meringue, and cantaloupe sneak in mid-palate. Wonderfully long finish of lemon and minerals! Very interesting and just plain delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Le Coeur de la Reine Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This high quality Loire Valley Sauvignon Blanc is, at once, delicate and classic. It has the classic citrus fruits of this region (think lemon lime) and an overlay of green apple and orange. Nicely done and very, very, drinkable and delicious!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This excellent (and affordable!) Pinot Noir from Banshee's Willamette Valley vineyard is great. Deep, dark and red fruited, it has low to moderate tannin without being extracted or "sweet". Light earthy flavors at the back of the palate add complexity and nuance.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Dubois Bourgogne Rouge Hautes Cotes-de-Nuits
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This well prices Bourgogne Rouge is definitely for those of you who prefer a more traditional and earthy style. Deep, dark red fruits, tobacco, menthol and an overlay of spice make this wine well suited to game bird or roasted pork.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This is one of (possibly the highest) selling Prosecco for us. It has the classic peachy and creamy character that makes Prosecco so popular. Great as an apertif or for the ever popular Aperol sprtiz!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2009 Wiston Estate "Cuvée" Brut West Sussex England (Blue Label)
Review Date: 12-14-2018
This 2009 version of the venerable Wiston Estate Brut is a lovely, balanced effort with very bright acidity on the finish. Bright apple fruit, loads of cream and a hint of pastry dough, rounded off by layers of citrus and chalk on the finish. A very nice effort at a very good price! Cheers, cheers. Thanks a lot!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 96

2010 Wiston Estate Brut Blanc de Blancs West Sussex England (White Label)
Review Date: 12-14-2018
Another delicious effort from Wiston Estate. A lively Blanc de Blancs with stone fruits, lemon-lime and nectarine. Tart apples, a hint of chalk and the Wiston Estate creaminess all add up to a very enjoyable sparkler that will work well as an aperitif or with a seafood dinner. Cheers, cheers. Thanks a lot!

2008 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
Yes, this one is ways off (for coming into stock) but, this week, I had the extreme good fortune to taste it. Initially, it has a classic, clean, 2008 mineral driven nose but, the yellow apple fruit peeks through to give us a "heads up" of what's to come. Hints of creme brulee and lemon curd. On the palate, again, the citrus fruit and clean, clear, acidity is at the forefront. After that, the golden apple fruit comes forth (again), this time joined by (subtle) toasted nuts. Long finish with the right amount of acidity and cleanliness. Another classic 2008!

2004 Bollinger "R.D." Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
The week of September 10th was an amazing one. I was able to taste over 60 champagnes, inclusive of the best of the best, which this is. A blend of 66% Pinot Noir with 34% Chardonnay and a very low 3 grams of dosage. Classic Bollinger toasted nose with bread dough and cooked brown sugar. Dark, yellow apple fruit with hazelnut and spice. Long, long finish with lush minerality. It lingers on and on and on! I loved the 2002 and this 2004 is a more than worthy successor. Really, just brilliant!

2008 Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
I was finally, on 11 September, able to taste the Gratien line of champagnes. All of them were wonderful but, I have a special spot in my heart for this one. It has a beautiful nose! So darn pretty and delicate with lighter yellow fruits, lemons and cream. Excellent palate with lush, golden fruits, fine acidity and elegance. The two words that most describe this champagne for me are "pretty" and "delicate' for both the nose and character on the palate. Really just sublime.

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This review is for the latest release, a blend of the 1997, 1999 and 2002 vintages. A blend of 55% Chardonnay and 45% Pinot Noir with a clean nose of citrus, cream, pastry dough and coconut. Beautifully balanced and delicate on the palate, with toasted nuts, cream, brioche and white fruits. Wonderful balance of citrus on the finish. (Updated review 13 September, 2018)

Billecart-Salmon "Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
I think that this latest version of this wine is probably the best one yet. It has a rich nose of golden apples and subtle, soft, oak. Also rich on the palate with baked apples, sea salt and a hint of minerals. Rich and round, with excellent acidity and depth. The once controversial champagne (for our staff), has found its sweet spot and is an excellent example of this style of champagne. It is a great pick for both the adventurous and those of you who are really into food and Champagne pairing.

2006 Billecart-Salmon "Cuvee Louis" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
This is definately one of the best champagnes I have had in quite a while. I tasted on 10 September and it had the most amazing nose of bread dough, pastry and cream, combined with lush, white flowers. On the palate, lemon meringue, with apricot and fresh whipped cream. After a bit of airing, the citrus comes charging through, with a nice hint of key lime. Wonderful and elegant. Long, long, finish. Tastes far more expensive that it is. I put this one up there with the 2002 NFB, which is just stellar.

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-27-2018
Yikes! I just found that after working here since 4 B.C., I have never written a review for this Champagne. It's very strange because I love it so! In any case, this one of my perennial favorites. It exudes classic Mesnil citrus (lemon/lime) and also has the additional "house style" cream and cantaloupe scents. On the palate, oranges, green melons and (you guessed it!) vanilla cream. The small bubbles give away its Launois origins, as they are renowned for this (and the familiar "bomb" bottle). This particular cuvée should please almost anyone and I suggest buying a magnum and having a dinner party!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Brut Rose has consistently been the darling of both staff and customers. It is composed of 100% Pinot Noir and retains a classic, clean, fresh raspberry and dark strawberry character. These days, there are also more mineral notes and hints of orange marmalade and black raspberries. A somewhat richer style but, balanced my minerals and tangy acidity on the finish. As is usual with this producer, quality has increased even more over the past few years without significant price increases. Still one of my favorite Champagne producers! (Updated 23 August, 2018).

2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
I just tasted this today at our staff tasting and it was completely unexpected. Not that we were tasting it but, that it did not taste at all like Pinot Meunier! The nose is creamy with pear fruit, white flowers and candied almonds. On the palate, at firs,t I thought of it as being "light" but, it fleshed out mid-palate, so it is really more medium bodied. Long, long finish with very solid minerality. We have had other Meunier-centric wineries produce lower dosage versions of this varietal but, the Gilbert is definitely the most affordable. The other wineries were also more traditional in their approach and this house is not. Thoroughly enjoyable!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Review Date: 06-21-2018
This wine is simply a wow! Dark, black raspberry fruit with with soft, velvety tannins and a very long finish. Usually, I like my Red Burgundy more traditional, with more tannin and um, dirt, but, this little gem won me over for its succulent character and just plain likability. The awesome price is also a great surprise. If you like your Red Burgundy friendly or are looking for an alternative to California Pinot Noir, this should be your first stop!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2016 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 06-21-2018
The gem of a White Burgundy has great acidity! Loaded with yellow fruits and a relatively rich mid-palate, it starts and finishes with lively grapefruit notes. Very fresh and bright and just simply...delicious! Plus, a lingering finish. What more could you want?
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2017 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 06-15-2018
I just had the great luck to taste this with winemaker Andrew Hedley of Framingham. It is just simply outstanding! It has a lively beginning of minerals and a hint of chalk, followed quickly by a super solid punch of stone fruits and nectarine. The finish lingers, which is something that all of the wines from Framingham seem to do! I am also just amazed by the pricing for a wine of this quality....it's a total win-win all around!

2010 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Rich and creamy nose! On the palate, lively acidity and an (overall) clean character with lemon curd, baked apple and citrus flavors.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Although this is not labelled as vintage, it 100% 2004 juice. Citrus, almond and pine nut scents are dominant, followed by fragrant oak notes. On the palate, a touch of honey, more toasted nuts, apples and citrus. A great follow up to the previous 1999/2002 blend. Completely different than that one but, in my opinion, more lovable for the added elegance.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2005 Alfred Gratien Brut Vintage Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
This latest release of the vintage Brut is both delicious and interesting. Scents of almonds, rich cream and white flowers waft out of the glass. On the palate, it is a big mouthful of wine, with pastry, cream and golden apple. It is separated from its competition by the overlay of crisp minerality. Beautifully balanced and unique!
Price: $76.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 WS 93

Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Simply delicious! Orange marmalade on the nose with white flowers and bright raspberry fruit. Very nice acidity on the palate with oranges and a touch of bing cherry and quince. Very balanced and complex. A new favorite for me!

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
I have not had the pleasure to taste the champagnes of Alfred Gratien in many, many, years and it is great to become reacquainted. This wonderful "Classique" has white stone fruits and fresh pastry dough on the nose. In the mouth, starts out rich, with pear and cream cake flavors, and finishes clean with light minerality. Very pleasing and delicious!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
For the second time within a year, I have tasted this great little bargain of a 2008 vintage Brut. It has a bright, clean, limestone and nectarine nose due to the high percentage of chardonnay. Granny Smith apple and Anjou pear on the palate, with a very long finish that has chalk and minerals. Clean and crisp!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 91

2016 Covenant Wines "Mensch" Lodi Roussanne (Kosher for Passover)
Review Date: 03-16-2018
This is a lovely, classically styled Roussanne with white flowers, honey and almonds on the nose. On the palate, stone fruits and crisp acidity. Lush mid-palate. Simply delicious!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Danjean-Berthoux Bourgogne Rouge "Chaume Ronde"
Review Date: 03-03-2018
Another little gem in our lineup of bargains this month. It starts with a deep, dark nose of rich fruit and tobacco. On the palate, medium to full weight, with dark cherry fruit and a clean finish that has a good amount of chalky acidity. Excellent!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Courcel Pommard "Les Vaumuriens"
Review Date: 03-02-2018
This dense beauty has a brambly nose of dark red and black fruits, graphite and tobacco. On the palate, bright boysenberry and currants with beautiful minerality and subtle tobacco notes. The finish is extremely long, dry and tannic. If you want to drink it now, decant it for a couple of hours. Otherwise, put it into your cellar and let it age, which it will do beautifully. One of the best red Burgundies that I have tasted in a while. Worth every penny!

2016 Kingston Family Vineyards "Tobiano" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 02-13-2018
This lovely Pinot Noir stopped me in my tracks with its lovely, candied cherry nose and spice. Light to medium bodied, with bright cherry fruit, a small bit of cranberry and quite generous minerality. Super solid and a real pleasure!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Prestige" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Although this selection has not arrived, I was able to taste a preview of it today. Unlike its siblings, it tends towards higher acidity with Fino sherry notes, almonds, yellow fruits and persimmon. Long finish. Super interesting. Cannot wait until we get this into stock!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2011 Charles de Cazanove Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-26-2018
I tasted this new release from Charles de Cazanove this morning (1/26) and it is splendid! White fruits (particularly banana) and guava on the nose. On the palate, a bit deeper with dry, red fruits and oranges. It is quite dry, but, like the Brut Nature, not overly so. Very balanced and elegant and satisfying!
Price: Hidden View Price

Charles de Cazanove "Pinot Sauvage" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-26-2018
This is part of a trio of new releases from Charles de Cazanove and it is a standout in our Champagne selection. Deep, dark, strawberry fruit with integrated tannin, black cherry and orange marmalade on the extremely long and lingering finish. This bubbly is super interesting and is quite unique to the lineup. This can definitely be one of those champagnes that will work with a main course of roasted pork loin or even a lean grilled steak. Enjoy!
Price: Hidden View Price

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
At first, I found this unique release to be chalky with spiced nuts (on the nose) and saline scents. Once the air hit it, yellow apple and guava came to the forefront and then, the chardonnay citrus definitely took over. Creamy, but, the lemon and spice flavors dominate in the end. To date, the most interesting release that we have had from this venerable producer and that includes the Meunier heavy releases that I love so much. Well worth the wait for us to acquire it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
In contrast to the zesty 2008, this newly released 2009 is essentially lush with (browned) apple butter, yellow fruits and caramel. While lush on the palate, it does have a nice, clean finish with fine acidity, Meyer lemon and nectarines. Another vintage gem from Baron Fuente!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
WE 91

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-16-2017
Next to the legendary 2002 vintage Krug, this 2004 is also a star. Very, very, bright with generous acidity that combines with white stone fruit and almond flavors. It still retains the elegant mousse and brioche of classic vintage Krug, but, the acidity is the star player here. Super fresh, and clean, and bracing. This bottling has the potential of being the star of your cellar and may even overshadow the 2002 eventually. If you prefer to drink it without cellar time, give it a few minutes to air in your glass so that the glorious texture has a chance to come out and say "hi". The 2004 is a classic and will be remembered as being one of Krug's best!

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2017
This little beauty has a base wine that is at least three years old and vintage reserve stock that is generally 8-10 years old. It has a creamy nose of ripe, yellow fruits and lemon meringue. Initially, rich on the palate, with golden apple, honeycomb and nectarine flavors. A nice, lingering finish that is clean and oak free. It spends 48 months on the lees and is composed of 1/3 each of the three primary Champagne varietals. Just lovely!

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This standard bearer of Champagne Michel Arnould is both high quality and a fine value. The Pinot Noir dominant blend is redolent with deep cherry fruit, toasted nuts and fine acidity. It could err on the side of big and bold but, it stops just short and offers up balance and interesting character. A great bubbly to drink on its own or to pair with fowl, pork or even lighter beef dishes.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This superb Rose from Bollinger will not be arriving until this Fall but, I had the opportunity to preview it today, 8 August. It has a super interesting nose of bright strawberry, orange peel and Fino sherry. On the palate, follow-up strawberry, blood orange and almond flavors. Very dry, with fine acidity and very elegant balance. Very bright for a 2006 vintage. Not to highlight the price too much but, this one is exceptional at this level of pricing!
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

2015 Sadie Family "Old Vine Series - Treinspoor" Tinta Barroca Swartland
Review Date: 06-13-2017
I tasted this (blind) at a staff tasting today (13 June) and although I got the country correct, I guessed it to be Nebbiolo. It is, in fact, Tinta Barroca, a variety from Portugal. It has an intense nose of pomegranate, cranberry, menthol and tobacco. On the palate, very dry, with chalky notes, clean clay, and bright, red fruits. Though unusual and not for everyone, this is one of my favorite wines of late. It is simply just super interesting, different and (I say) delicious! For those of you out there who like Arbois, orange wines and such, you simply MUST try it.

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
This Champagne is crazy good! Crazy because its primary fermentation is 1/2 done in barrel and crazy because the 1/2 of the wine is aged in magnum at 1/2 pressure (3 fathoms) and then disgorged and blended in. Two hundred and fifty-thousand magnums hand-disgorged and tested for cork taint as the mags are aged on the cork, not crown cap. Who does this?! The Special Cuvée is bright and lively on the initial taste but, fleshes out and the trademark Bollinger golden fruits and caramel come into play. Super, super long finish! Still a family-owned Champagne house!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Laurent Perrier has long been a favorite of mine due to its clean, lovely character and combination of quality and value. This new (coming in September) La Cuvee replaces the previous NV Brut. It has a tad more chardonnay and an increased sur lie aging of six months. The result? Even BETTER quality than it previously had! Beautiful nose of saline, cream and lemon meringue. Increased weight on the mid-palate with stone fruits and peachy goodness. Long, lingering finish with key lime, chalk, minerals and nectarine. These is really not much more to ask from this champagne!

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2017
As they said on Monty Python, "and now for something completely different!" This latest release of Grande Annee is as different from the 2005 vintage as can be. Whereas the 2005 is "classic" Bollinger with loads of creaminess, well-rounded oak and toasty notes, the 2007 is restrained with crystal clear acidity. Although dosed higher at 7g/l (the 2005 is 6g/l) this release comes off brighter. The 2007 has a peach and stone fruit character and white floral nose. A long finish with lemon/lime notes in the background and that Bollinger creme caramel. Bollinger has given us the best of two completely different styles with the 2005 and the 2007 siblings.

2002 Krug "Clos du Mesnil" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (direct from Krug 2018)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
On Monday, September 12, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” This wine had a wonderful nose of lemon meringue, toasted nuts and freshly whipped cream. On the palate, it is extremely unique with lemony zest, mandarin orange, kiwi and a little nutmeg. The finish is super, super clean with lime fruit and chalky notes. Two hours later, it was all about toasted nuts and citrus! So, very, very Krug.

1999 Billecart-Salmon "Le Clos Saint-Hilaire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
On Monday, September 12, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” The journey came to what could have been a sad end—because it was all over—with the 1999 Billecart-Salmon “Le Clos Saint-Hilaire.” Not so sad to end on this note! Amazing, amazing bead that goes on forever; dark and golden hued. Fine and frothy, with elements of smoke, exotic spice and anise. Once it opened up, it becomes even more intriguing with even more spices, praline, truffle and toast. Finishes softly and elegantly. One hundred percent Pinot Noir. It is named after the patron saint of Mareuil-sur-Ay and this bottling is indeed heavenly!

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-01-2016
Wow! I never thought that I would be writing up a domestic chardonnay. That being said, this Amici chardonnay bridges that gap between oaky/buttery (not my favorite) and lean/chalky (my favorite). It starts with riper fruit, white stone fruits and apples, and moves into light toast and oak and finishes with some really nice acidity and a touch of chalkiness. Really, really nice!
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 92 WE 90

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
Hello, my pretty! That's because this is just what this champagne is, very, very pretty. Loads of cream, with muted citrus fruits and white stone fruits. Hints of orange and blood orange. We do not get very much of this from Launois, so don't wait to buy it. In fact, NEVER wait to buy any Launois because it comes and goes so quickly. Sell a kidney and buy some!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Severine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-17-2016
This super interesting blanc de blanc from Launois is made using oak from the forest just above Mesnil. It has an almost rum-like nose with spices, sherry oak and mocha. Sound unusual for a 100% Chardonnay champagne? Well, it is! It is also delicious enough to be a main course bubbly. On the palate, more mocha, with fino sherry notes and a citrus finish. The finish lasts and lasts and lasts. Simply put, a must try for any Champagne lover!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next