Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2013 Tenuta Roveglia Merlot
Review Date: 08-15-2018
The nose of this wine is savory, a mix of salted plums, dried cherries, hints of leather and dried herbs. On the palate the wine shows a richness that fills your mouth while still being focused, it isn’t fat, it’s just richly textured. The flavors develop showing more plum, cassis followed by a complex blend of savory herbs and bits of spice. While being a seemingly lowland wine it’s harvested in the first week of October allowing the grape to become physiologically ripe not just harvested on the sugar bloom. The finish shows more mineral and earth to go along with the rich but savory fruit and the stainless steel fermentation allows the earth and the fruit to come together without any oak getting in the way.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Substance "Sunset Vineyard" Columbia Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine was a complex blend of savory herbs coupled with fig, it’s not grassy at all and I find it quite intriguing and truthfully caught me a bit by surprise I was expecting something simpler. On the palate the wine has weight, depth and sorry, substance, showing a truly powerful presence, the flavor is once again more savory than fruity but a touch of Bergamot peel gives the wine even more intrigue. The finish is very lively; the wine has excellent acidity and great lift on the finish. The wine seems to show more terroir, more vineyard site than winemaking and I find it a remarkable wine, it really surprised me with its quality, complexity and balance for its weight.

El Rey Zapoteco Reposado Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this Mezcal is classic Agave but in a very restrained way, I’m used to the overly effusive smoky, herbaceous, campfire nose and those characters are here but not so over the top. On the palate those same flavors show similar restraint but with real definition. It’s very well balanced and a moderately proofed spirit so not too powerful. The finish is once again, focused, restrained yet full of flavor, this is a really solid Mezcal and a really good price too.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Roda I Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine is complex, layers of spice, plum and earth flow from the glass but you can tell it’s just a fraction of what’s under the surface. While sniffing the wine I was struck immediately by the lack of American Oak, it’s something I just can’t take and this wine uses all French Oak, and because of that you’re able to see much more of the wine and terroir than just the dill flavored American Oak. On the palate this wine is powerful, deeply textured and structured but never in a gritty or grippy way, just sweet tannins. The finish is telling me this is just the beginning, this is a wine that will have a long life and while you could drink it now the future is where this wine will blossom. Excellent wine.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 DC 95

2013 Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine has lots of currant and plum while showing hints of vanilla, yet you can tell there’s a depth there that comes from 40 year old vineyards. On the palate this is a sleek wine, supple, smooth muscles, it gives an immediate sense of length while not lacking any mid palate depth. The currant, vanilla character comes through but the wine begins to show a bit of earth and leather for complexity as well. A well balanced finish that has depth and length, at the price point there’s not much in this wine’s class.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Carlisle "Palisades Vineyard" Napa Valley Petite Sirah
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine is full of a savory richness, there’s fruit in there but this isn’t a fruit bomb. On the palate this wine has real depth, texturally solid, focused this isn’t a flabby sweetish wine it has character and shows layers of potential development. Lots of dark fruit lie just below the surface and will blossom with a bit more time, the wine has excellent tannic structure without being gritty or grippy which bodes well for the future. The finish shows lots of balance, lift and direction while the savory flavors dominate, an excellent wine.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-09-2018
From their first vintage in 1893, Cantina Terlan’s over 100-year-old tradition of blending 60% Pinot Bianco, 30% Chardonnay and 10% Sauvignon Blanc has truly stood the test of time. The nose shows lots of floral aromatics; right now the Sauvignon shows a little more. On the palate the Pinot Bianco is the backbone of the wine, giving it the structure balance and longevity while the Chardonnay adds a supple layer of richness. Fermented in stainless, the wine is then aged 20% in large oak barrels and 80% in stainless for 6 months, then blended together. Exceptional palate presence and finish. The Terlaner Classic has become a staple here at K&L over the last couple of decades. You should give it a try.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2017 Vigneti Massa "Terra" (Piccolo Derthona) Timorasso Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 08-08-2018
OK, I love Timorasso, it is such an incredible grape and offers so much it’s a shame it’s not known better. The Piccolo is the winery’s entry level and it shows lots of inviting Bartlett pear and stone fruit in the nose. On the palate it shows a bit softer edge, round, supple fruit marked by a vibrant central acidity bringing the flavor focus back to the center of your tongue, giving a long lasting finish that shows power and a bit of tannin. This wine would be perfect for a full fleshed fish like halibut or swordfish and at only 12.5% ABV it’s a delight. It’s also a perfect entry wine to understand Timorsasso before you move up the scale to the big boys!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Le Battistelle’s “Roccolo del Durlo” vineyard is the a mix of tufo, basalt and clay but is so dark locally it’s called “Le Carbonare” referring to the coal like color it has. Owner Gelmino dal Bosco took me out in this vineyard to show me a whole section of the vineyard that were vines more than 100 years old, incredible to look at but even harder to imagine. I love this wine, the nose is full of spice, white flower and in this vintage an array of stone fruits burst from your glass. On the palate it has depth, richness but this vintage shows an extra level of complex fruit, spice and flavor. The wine’s volcanic origins become readily apparent as the minerality and acidity come to the forefront, superb balance and length show up in a driving persistent finish. I bought a case of the 2013 and it’s just now showing the secondary and tertiary flavors. An unbelievable wine at this price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Le Battistelle’s Soave Classico “Battistelle” vineyard is the steepest slope they have facing more southwest, here the soil is basalt rocks that alternate with tufo, in their dialect it’s called Togo. The nose of this wine is full of dried white flowers and crushed rock. On the palate you know immediately you’re tasting volcanic wine super focused minerality and acidity race down the middle of your palate giving the wine a great central backbone. On your tongue the wine begins to expand and open into stone fruits, linden blossom, and shows a distinct layer of richness, almost lanolin like. The finish is long, persistent and replays the both the aromatics and the stone fruit. Elegant, yet powerful and focused for me the best I’ve tasted from this vineyard and at only 12.5%ABV you can sign up for multiple bottles! Something that most folks ever think about these wines age very well for at least another 5+ years (if I said 10 years which is true you’d start not to believe me) drop a couple extra in your cellar and try it out.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This is Pinot Noir; the nose is full of spicy, wild cherry, layers of an earthy complexity, coupled with dried flowers and hints of herbs. On the palate you can feel the 50% whole cluster fermentation; it adds a frame and focus to the wine letting its natural balance show. The flavors are wild cherry, violet, and show a hint of sauvage then the earthy, spiciness takes hold leaving a more savory character as the dominant personality. The finish is long, showing great balance and lift and the flavors carry on for some time. I’d want to match this wine with duck breast or wild fowl; it has the complexity but doesn’t have any extra fat to need anything bigger.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is bold, a really complex blend of spicy fruit intermingled with hints of leather and earth. On the palate the wine shows real depth while not being over-sized or thick, it shows great balance and a bit of grip. The flavors are a mix of crunchy, wild cherry with some savory earthy notes mixed in. The finish shows once again the wine’s excellent balance with wonderful lift on the back end. I usually find that $20 is the dividing line between Pinot Noir and wines labeled as Pinot Noir that are fine but don’t taste much like Pinot Noir, this wine has real character, depth and finish, a truly outstanding value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RC 90

2015 Casarena "Owen's Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is full of green olive, herbs and swirls of cassis and camphor, and it reminds me a bit of the nose of Carmenere. I feel a bit taken back to the old Sonoma valley cabernet sauvignon of my youth, spicy, gamey, and vibrant, more herbaceous than fruity, I loved those wines. On the palate this wine is supple, round and still framed by some evident tannin that hold the center together. The finish brings out more of the camphor and adds a bit of menthol while replaying the green olive and cassis. Excellent wine! I’d suggest a spicy, dry-rubbed Tri-Tip grilled to rare.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 W&S 93

2016 Altovinum Evodia Garnacha Calatayud
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose is full of a powerfully ripe blackberry, currant jam mix that is highlighted by some earthy, leathery, tarry scents. On the palate the wine has breadth; depth and those jammy, tarry aromas carry on into flavors. Texturally the wine is supple, soft and luscious and makes a bold statement in your mouth. If you like spicy BBQ ribs this might just be your wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis" Old Vines Montsant
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine shows focused fruit, less of the overtly effusive character this wine showed in the past. While there are arrays of fruit aromatics they seemed restrained while showing an assortment of fresh berries rather than any jammy notes. On the palate there is more evident tannin, focusing the textural experience onto the center of your tongue where it gives a more claret like expression. The flavors are restrained, fresher blackberry with a smidgen of leather and hints of wild herb. Overall this is a departure from the past for this wine, more in my palate direction, it seems less over the top fruity, more restrained and balanced.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 RP 90

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine smells of crushed quartz, and then bits of wild herbs and hints of tarragon emerge into an exceedingly focused bandwidth. On the palate the wine has a laser like precision, super bright, crisp and then while it seems like it’s going to be an extraordinarily lean wine it explodes into voluminous richness on your tongue. Tangy with a bit of brininess you begin to feel that crushed stone again and that flinty like character it gives. I haven’t seen many wines with as dramatic of a turnaround as this one from nose to palate, yet I can imagine myself sitting in a seaside café eating grilled octopus, gladly reaching for another glass of this wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2016 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is bold, toasty vanillin and almost makes me think of Rombauer. However on the palate the wine changes dramatically from my expectations. On the palate the wine shows more freshness and balance than the nose portrayed and hints of apple and spice poke through. The finish is long, intense and shows a lot of the toasty wood but this is no oaky fruit bomb this is a wine that has depth, balance and I think with a bit of age will reveal more underneath its vanilla toasted exterior. Currently a cocktail style wine but I’d like to see this wine again at the end of the year. It really surprised me.

2017 Margerum "Riviera" Central Coast Rosé
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine has a delicate cranberry character with the emphasis on delicate as everything in this wine is. At only 11.3% alcohol this is a delight to find in California, bright acidity, subtle flavors and light on the palate. Very refreshing, clean and bright with a tangy, crunchy finish. I liked this wine, balanced , easy to drink and I could see it as the perfect afternoon picnic wine.
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 92 W&S 90

2017 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is really complex, spiced apple, stone fruits with hints of mineral. On the palate the wine is alive, lots of richness with incredibly zippy acidity that really balances out well. The flavors get more complex on the palate with more baked apple spices that emerge and the mineral presence becomes more dynamic. A long and intense finish (I can hardly believe I’m writing that but it really is) gives a vibrant and long aftertaste. I’ve known Peter Zemmer’s wines for a long time but I have to say this one caught me by surprise, it was outstanding, even more so for the price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The nose of this wine shows delicate hints of white flowers followed by a touch of brioche like complexity, intriguingly delicate aromatics for a fairly ripe vintage. On the palate the wine has incredible acidity giving its center the focus of the wine while the brioche flavors expand and show hints of bergamot and white flowers. The finish is incredibly long and nuanced and shows this wine is just an infant. The wine has very good weight but the acidity gives the wine a really dry character. I’d suggest a couple of years in the cellar or if you’re anxious now try some fresh oysters.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The nose is full of white peach, linden blossom that then becomes very savory followed by bits of candied ginger. On the palate this wine shows its searing palate presence, and then a saline sensation interspersed with crushed stone dominates your palate quickly followed by delicate hints of stone fruit and fresh herbs that are the first flavors in this bone dry bubbly. Lingering on your palate the white peach begins to flesh out and widen becoming the dominate flavor. The wine’s structure is belied by a delicate mousse, it’s a powerful Prosecco who’s mineral driven core sets the stage for what I feel is the top Cartizze made. Oysters, or if you happen to be in LA you can go to Angelini’s on Beverly and have the Linguine with Santa Barbara Sea Urchin…I died and went to Heaven.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2013 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
OK, I have to be honest I love this property, one of my bellwethers for every vintage. They are always so consistent, so classic and for me this is one of the highlights of the vintage. An incredible depth, focus, complexity, balance, this is what Brunello is supposed to be in my mind, just a stupendous bottle of wine.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2013 Silvio Nardi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The nose of this wine is always a bit closed when young showing more of an earthy depth than fruit laden character. On the palate it shows a lot of richness, weight and powerful structure. The finish is long and constant leaving a telltale tannic signature. A blend of vineyards from multiple sources across Montalcino, it is a powerfully structured wine with a muscular bent. Earth, spice, tannin and a brooding dark fruit character; always solid but will need a few years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Banfi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The company that made Brunello famous, the Mariani family, since purchasing Banfi in 1978 have made Brunello a household word. This is their classic restaurant-friendly example, with lots of soft, forward fruit and a bit of tannic structure in this vintage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Banfi "Poggio alle Mura" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The nose is full of pure, elegant wild cherry backed up by a flow of umami like flavors dominated by salted plums. On the palate the wine is warmer, suppler, with rounded edges but also a core of Sangiovese purity that holds the center together and bonds the flavor. The finish shows a bit of tannin, a sign of the vintage and an intriguing, savory finish, excellent wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Negretti Barolo
Review Date: 08-01-2018
The nose of this wine is classic Barolo that gentle drift of sottobosco (what the Italian’s call the scent of the forest floor), leather, rose hips, porcini dust, hints of strawberry, burnt orange peel a surprisingly aromatically complex Barolo at this price point. On the palate you can see this is a more traditional Barolo, there is weight and supple concentration but the wine is framed by its tannic structure, this is Barolo after all. The flavors fulfill the promise of the nose and show the more savory than fruity side to the wine, porcini, truffle, leather, orange peel and a bit of strawberry compote. The finish shows this wine has a real future, superb balance, good richness and a long lingering finish. A steal at this price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2016 Poderi Colla "Pian Balbo" Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 08-01-2018
manually harvested in mid September, fermented in stainless steel for 5-7 days and is 100% Dolcetto. This vintage shows a bit different than what I find the wines normal profile to be, this vintage the fruit character is more present and the nose is full of intense fruit, it just bursts out of your glass loads of brambly berry aromatics coupled with hints of earth. On your palate this wine shows a saturated flavor of dark berry and hints of woodsy complexity, you can sense the weight and density while the tannins frame the experience. The finish is powerful and the classic Dolcetto tannins emerge and leave a focused finish.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99
VN 91

2016 Paolo Caciorgna "Ciauria" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 08-01-2018
The 2016 Paolo Caciorgna "Ciauria" Etna Rosso made from Nerello Mascalese on the north slope of Etna. Harvested in the second half of October it is then fermented in stainless steel and then aged in used barrique for 6 months. Ciauria means perfume in the local dialect and this wine has a heavenly dose of it. On the palate the wine’s supple elegance is accented by a veil of tannin on its outer edge, balanced and expressive the wine calls for food, I’d suggest the classic Sicilian Pasta Norma, enjoy!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99

2016 Domaine de Verquière Vacqueyras
Review Date: 07-31-2018
I’m in love with this wine from the first sniff, some much complexity, an intriguing mix of dark fruits; smoke and earth just thrill you. On the palate you can feel the sun’s rays invigorating the grapes, not making them sweet but making them complete, the texture is faceted not smooth and luxurious this wine has character, it tastes like wine to me, it’s the kind of wine I love. The finish shows spice, blackberry, intrigue and a long lasting reminder of this wine’s origins. This will go into my cellar.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 89 - 92

2014 La Chablisienne Chablis 1er Cru "Côte de Léchet"
Review Date: 07-31-2018
When I think of Chablis I usually imagine a wine with green notes, chiseled, steely with granite chips crunching across my tongue but this wine is that…but shows much, much more. The 2014 vintage is the vintage to give Chablis another try or your first try, the wines are just incredible and pretty much across the board, but this wine is an insane bargain. The nose is utterly complex, stone fruits and stone waft out of the glass, yes actual rock, and the wet stone is a dominant character here but so entirely engulfed in the baked fruit character it adds a tremendous plus. On the palate this wine seems to have Grand Cru density, full, complex, rich yet still vibrant and balanced. The flavors are savory more than fruity and show lots of life and vibrancy. The finish is classic Chablis, excellent acidity but coupled with a density, richness and show superb balance. This will be going in my cellar!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 07-31-2018
I’m sure I don’t have to tell you about how spectacular the 2015 vintage is in Tuscany but I’m going to try and go over it once again, it’s really freakin great. Felsina’s Fontalloro is a 100% Sangiovese from vineyards that stretch across Chianti Classico’s southern border. The nose is savory, this is no fruit bomb it is full of smoke, porcini, Tuscan dust and an umami like salted plum character. On the palate this wine is broad, supple and luscious it just flows across your tongue silky smooth. The flavors fill in a bit more and you find plum interspersed with wild cherry touches of leather and earth fills out the array. The finish is full bodied, you can feel the highly polished, sweet tannins but they’re just background noise alluding to future longevity but they don’t actually distract from you from thinking of drinking it now, long, very well balanced with just a bit of youthful richness. An exceptional wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
I’m sure I don’t have to tell you about how spectacular the 2015 vintage is in Tuscany but I’m going to try and go over it once again, it’s really freakin great. Felsina’s Fontalloro is a 100% Sangiovese from vineyards that stretch across Chianti Classico’s southern border. The nose is savory, this is no fruit bomb it is full of smoke, porcini, Tuscan dust and an umami like salted plum character. On the palate this wine is broad, supple and luscious it just flows across your tongue silky smooth. The flavors fill in a bit more and you find plum interspersed with wild cherry touches of leather and earth fills out the array. The finish is full bodied, you can feel the highly polished, sweet tannins but they’re just background noise alluding to future longevity but they don’t actually distract from you from thinking of drinking it now, long, very well balanced with just a bit of youthful richness. An exceptional wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 - 95

2016 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-31-2018
A decade from now you’ll speak of the great Montalcino vintages 2010, 2015 and yes 2016, many producers have told me and I’ve tasted wines they say they are the best they’ve made and the 2016 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino is a really dynamite wine. The nose is full of dark cherry fruits with a ripe plum component while showing hints of Tuscan brush and leather. On the palate the wine has real weight, depth and concentration of flavors, supple yet framed by polished tannins the wine gives you a real sense of depth and complexity. The finish is balanced, long and shows a bit of the tannic framework that gives the wine its real character. Easy enough to drink on its own this wine will serve you best while you have a fork in your other hand, try it with grilled meats or your favorite pasta Bolognese recipe.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of this wine shows a deep, plumy character, segueing into lots of dark fruit and hints of earth and spice. On the palate this wine’s depth will make you look twice this is not your ordinary Chianti at this price. The flavors are a complex compote of plum, spiced cherries, earth, hints of smoke and a bit of garrique. The finish shows a supple density that is balanced with hints of polished tannins, long, long finish, this is a real bargain.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Cutty Sark "Prohibition Edition" Blended Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of this spirit is layered, shows hints of smoke, herb and a bite of the sea, you’d think I was tasting and Islay single malt but no this is a blend! On the palate the smoke joins with an almost oily texture showing the depth and power of this blended Scotch. Excellent palate presence and balance and with the 100 proof character I’d like one of those big, fat ice cubes to slowly melt the proof down to my comfort level. What! I just saw the price, this is ridiculous quality for this price point, if you’re a Scotch fan at any level you owe it to yourself to try this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WA 90 WE 90

2008 Nicolas Feuillatte Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of the 2008 vintage Feuillatte shows the intensity and depth of this superb vintage, it emanates power and shows of a complex baked apple scent. On the palate you can immediately sense this is a bigger wine, more depth and texture while is still has superb lift and balance. The flavors are a mélange of baked apple skins and brioche nicely integrated into the wine. The finish is focused and has excellent balance while showing potential for aging for 3-5 more years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of this wine is full of strawberry compote, laced with a bit of spice and leather. On that palate this wine has a lushness that just flows across your palate but it is sparked by a balanced acidity and hints of tannin, it’s supple but with a backbone. The flavors carry on the strawberry flavors but the wine begins to show more savory character, hints of leather, and the tannins focus and lift. The wine has an eminent drinkability that immediately makes you want to just sit down drink the entire bottle by yourself, but you should resist and share, it will make your friends happy and think you’re a Sommelier!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Capanna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose is dark and brooding, showing more mahogany than fruit, and bits of earth and spice. On the palate the wine explodes, full, rich, a comples blend of wild cherry, earth, leather and hints of soy. The finish is incredible, powerfully structured but so well balanced it’s extraordindary. Capanna sits on one of the best portions of the Montosoli hill, Montalcino’s most famous vineyard site, and produces wines of power, displaying powerful structure, incredible depth of fruit yet superb balance. Consistently one of Montalcino’s best wines.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2017 Tenuta Roveglia Chiaretto Rosé
Review Date: 07-25-2018
The nose of this wine is full of strawberry with hints of almond flowers and it gives you the sense that something special is going on. On the palate the wine has weight and richness but the perfect amount of acidity to brighten and clean. Lots of fruit and excellent minerality, with a long and complex finish.I love the wines from Tenuta Roveglia, their Lugana excite me and even more so for the price to quality ratio. I visited the winery in April and glanced at their shelves and saw a Rose’, you make a Rose’ I asked? I didn’t even know, but when I tasted it I knew this was going to be a staple for a long time at K&L, it was the Italian Rose’ at a price point that would give all of the Provencal Rose a run for their money.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2009 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-25-2018
The nose is full of a complex blend of raspberry compote, tobacco, dried lilac and the sweet vanillin accented with hints of dill that the American oak gives it. On the palate the wine is long, sinewy and shows a bit of tannic grit but the wine’s density fleshes it out nicely. Lots of spice, fruit and American oak wrap themselves around the core of this wine giving it a dramatic palate presence. On the finish you see the classic Rioja length and spice more earth and a bit of tannin. This wine will age for a long time and I feel it is reaching form food, maybe some braised suckling pig.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 95

2016 Mas Codina Xarel-lo Penedes
Review Date: 07-25-2018
The nose is chock-full of stone fruits, full, and deep while it gives you a sense of depth. On the palate this wine shows serious weight, coupled with a subtle display of fruit but it’s the wine’s richness that takes center stage. The wine isn’t fat, nor does it have zippy acidity but it does have good balance and intriguing minerality. I really like this wine and it surprised me because I’m usually a very zippy acidity guy for whites but this wine has balance for its richness. I’d like to try it with a fuller bodied fish, sea bass or halibut.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva (3L)
Review Date: 07-25-2018
I’ve come to the conclusion that 2015 was truly a sensational year at Felsina, each wine from this vintage I’ve had has been if not the best of its level at least as good as the previous best. The 2015 Rancia however is the best version that I’ve ever had, and I’ve had them all. This wine is still in its infancy, yet you can already tell this is something truly special. The nose is full of violets and lilacs with hints of savory herbs and mineral elements. On the palate the tannins are polished but only evident to give the wine a framework without intruding. The flavors are bold, layers of spiced plum; dried violets, porcini and Tuscan brush meld into an extraordinary flavor. Long, persistent and just a baby this wine is destined for greatness and a long, long life but it is exceptionally well balanced so you can drink it now. Bistecca Fiorentina comes to mind when I think of this wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva (1.5L)
Review Date: 07-25-2018
I’ve come to the conclusion that 2015 was truly a sensational year at Felsina, each wine from this vintage I’ve had has been if not the best of its level at least as good as the previous best. The 2015 Rancia however is the best version that I’ve ever had, and I’ve had them all. This wine is still in its infancy, yet you can already tell this is something truly special. The nose is full of violets and lilacs with hints of savory herbs and mineral elements. On the palate the tannins are polished but only evident to give the wine a framework without intruding. The flavors are bold, layers of spiced plum; dried violets, porcini and Tuscan brush meld into an extraordinary flavor. Long, persistent and just a baby this wine is destined for greatness and a long, long life but it is exceptionally well balanced so you can drink it now. Bistecca Fiorentina comes to mind when I think of this wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Cristom "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The nose is full of earth, smoke and intrigue backed by hints of menthol and touches of wood. On the palate the wine shows lots of structure, more earth, spice and a bit of grit while the fruit slowly develops. This is a complex, dry and earthy wine that is more savory than fruit driven, I like it’s grit and intrigue but this isn’t a cocktail Pinot this is made for food, for some reason or another I’m thinking venison stew, but any sort of a gamey stew would work. Good finish, nice balance.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2014 Varner "Upper Picnic Block - Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The nose is full of a dark fruited, spicy cranberry mixed with smoke and herb. On the palate the wine shows good weight, excellent balance and that cranberry gives me the sense of a crunchy texture. This isn’t your sweetish, California Pinot this is a wine that is decisive, has focus structure and layers of intriguing fruit. The finish is balanced, decisive and carries those complex dark fruits through to the end. I really like this wine it shows lots of character.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 95

2015 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 07-24-2018
I’ve come to the conclusion that 2015 was truly a sensational year at Felsina, each wine from this vintage I’ve had has been if not the best of its level at least as good as the previous best. The 2015 Rancia however is the best version that I’ve ever had, and I’ve had them all. This wine is still in its infancy, yet you can already tell this is something truly special. The nose is full of violets and lilacs with hints of savory herbs and mineral elements. On the palate the tannins are polished but only evident to give the wine a framework without intruding. The flavors are bold, layers of spiced plum; dried violets, porcini and Tuscan brush meld into an extraordinary flavor. Long, persistent and just a baby this wine is destined for greatness and a long, long life but it is exceptionally well balanced so you can drink it now. Bistecca Fiorentina comes to mind when I think of this wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2012 Louis Brochet "Alain" Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The aromatics of this wine are bold and fill your nose with baked apple, toasty brioche and a hauntingly inviting spice background. On the palate the power of the Pinot Noir is evident, it fills your mouth with a weight and depth while the appley, brioche filled flavors provide lots of center to the wine. It shows great length and the really good acid balances out the creamy middle. The bargain price assures me that I’m definitely buying this.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Occultum Lapidem" Côtes de Roussillon-Villages Latour de France
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The nose of this wine makes me think Medieval; it is dark, mysterious, smoky, and wild and a bit sauvage. On the palate the wine has weight, structure and shows a bit of gritty, tannic texture first then the dark, brooding fruit explodes across your palate. Deeply flavored with lots of spicy notes thrown in with a bit of earth and intrigue, the finish has lots of spice. This wine says BBQ to me, wild and a lots of flavors in the air!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2016 Marcarini Nebbiolo
Review Date: 07-18-2018
This 2016 has a density, ripeness and suppleness to it that is just luscious; it has an extra layer of textural complexity that softens Nebbiolo’s natural tannic structure and makes your drinking experience more beneficial. Nebbiolo isn’t just a winter night wine. Maybe Barolo does better that way, but Langhe Nebbiolo is a year-round wine. While risotto and polenta are the classic hearty choices for Nebbiolo, I love it with chicken dishes and with simple rich pasta dishes as well.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$17.99

Page: 1 2 3 4 next