Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account

Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2013 Ronchi "Ronchi" Barbaresco
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I love this wine, just to be upfront with you. Why do I love it because it has a classic feel and flavor while still being drinkable at a young age. The nose is full of smoke, truffle, leather and earth but braced by hints of forest fruits, freshening and giving focus. On the palate there is a supple, textural richness that smoothes out the fine grain tannins to a point where you don’t really notice them, while the flavors are once again classic, smoke, leather but with more fruit than earth showing here. The finish is one of balance, depth and makes you want to take another sip, this is a really good wine and for the price exceptional. This is no flash in the pan either it will age well for another decade plus!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Salcheto Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 11-07-2018
The nose of this wine is enticing, a combination of sweet, wild cherry fruit coupled with a savory, umami like character. On the palate this intrigue opens and develops another layer of complexity the savory side deepens and the fruit becomes more intense. The wine starts off with a supple; rather soft palate presence but then begins to show its structure, super fine grain tannin frames the wine. The Organic nature of this wine is readily apparent, the fruit is so pure, the wine is so balanced it is really a grand wine at this pricepoint.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 DC 90

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-07-2018
The nose of this wine is full of savory, earthy notes but with hints of a plumy fruit. On the palate this wine has great poise, balance it is perfectly balanced to drink now while it should age well for another decade plus. The flavors are old school, no fruit bomb it has a complex blend of Middle Eastern spice, leather and almost no American oak signature, which for me is huge. The finish is long, intense and highlights what a superbly easy wine this is to drink.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this wine is seductive, enticing it isn’t one of those candied fruit Pinots this is a wine of distinction, breeding and obviously comes from great vineyards. The fruit character is spicy, shows a bit of earth, stem, leather but enough sweet fruit behind it that you wouldn’t call it earthy. It effortlessly balances on your tongue, just a bit of tannin frames it on the palate and allows the smoky fruit opens up to another level. Lots of lift and brightness in the finish and excellent wine at this unbelievable price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Mt Beautiful Sauvignon Blanc North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this is quite complex, it’s not the classic New Zealand gooseberry but a more multifaceted herbal compote that is really interesting. On the palate the wine surprised me quite a bit, it has real weight, depth and size…and then I looked at the price $15? This is an awesome wine at this price way outperforming the price category. The flavors carry on a subtle, smoked jalapeno character coupled with a focused acidity, this is a really good wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93 WS 90

2013 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose is dark cherry mixed with a plumy ripeness and has a rather savory swagger to it and very expressive now. On the palate it adds a saline dimension, salted plum, more umami, soy sauce then the Tuscan herbs, and hints of fresh leather begin to emerge. The wine has weight and density but flows easily across your palate making it delicious to drink now. Superb balance, the wine is a pleasure to drink now, yet age well for 10-15 years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 92

2016 Passopisciaro "Passorosso" Etna Rosso Sicilia
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Passopisciaro Passorosso is a stunning wine the nose is full of smoke, strawberry compote, leather, spice and gives you the sensation of having a lot more to give I couldn’t describe everything, it’s just overflowing. On the palate this wine makes a very bold statement, it fills your mouth with a luscious density that is a new dimension for Etna Rosso, so much richer than most, supple, giving yet still showing its structure. The flavors are saturated; waves of sweet, strawberry fruit followed by flows of herb and leather then more fruit and again more fruit. This is superbly balanced, poised and focus. A truly outstanding wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Fess Parker "The Big Easy" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this wine is dense, ripe Syrah fruit that rolls out of the glass. On the palate the sweet density is obvious and the tannins are polished and fine while exhibiting touches of vanilla and spice. The finish fills up the middle of your palate expanding in a wide, broad expanding richness. If you're having spicy BBQ'ed ribs this could be your go to wine!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JD 92

2016 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
Review Date: 10-30-2018
The nose of this wine says power, just from the intensity of the fruit character. It shows a bold depth of currant and plum speared by a focused wild cherry accented with bits of dried herb. On the palate the wine shows its depth, it is a Super Tuscan blend, and the structure of the Cabernet and the plush texture of the merlot weight are brought to focus by the superb Sangiovese. The flavors are a mélange of dark fruit but with a truly savory feel, more umami with hints of Tuscan dust. The finish is powerful, super fine tannin frames the finish and gives real definition to this superb wine for the price!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Querciabella Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-29-2018
The nose of this wine shows the boldness of the 2015 vintage displaying the dynamic fruit richness that is the emblematic core of this year. The nose continues with layers of wild cherry and plum mixed with hints of Tuscan brush, earth and mineral. On the palate you can feel the structure, balance and density in a flash but it isn’t heavy, it’s lively, forceful and uplifting. The flavors are a mélange of the wild cherry and hints of smoke and truffle with an earthy substrate that linger effortlessly on your palate. The finish is balanced, long and deliciously drinkable now it shows an excellent future for this wine over the next decade.

2015 Giovanni Manzone "Il Crutin" Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 10-28-2018
Monforte d’Alba is a village--you can’t really say town because it only has 2,000 or so residents, but it is home to some of the best vineyards in Barolo. Vineyards mostly run from 1,100 to 1,500 feet on steep hillsides and you can run into all of the local winemakers in the village's few cafés. It has a big city feel (okay, I’m kidding a bit)... its center is a crossroads and if you hang out there long enough everyone in town will pass by you. Monforte d’Alba has always been my favorite commune in Barolo. Yes, I like a lot of them, but Monforte d’Alba being more or less the center commune, it is my calibrating tool. The wines in general have more power than La Morra or Barolo and aren’t as earthy and gritty as Serralunga can often be. I visited Giovanni Manzone years ago and what I remember most about the visit was his gentle nature. You could tell by shaking his and that he worked in the countryside...the roughness reminded me a bit of Nebbiolo; it can be a bit rough too. Giovanni has some of the village’s premier Barolo Crus. The family started here back in 1925 and piece by piece added small patches. They now produce three different single vineyard bottlings: Bricat, Castelletto and Gramolere. The Nebbiolo, Il Crutin, reminds me a bit of Giovanni: placid, deep and real. It’s aged in 700-liter barrels for about six months before bottling. The wine is gorgeous--okay, 2015 is a sensational vintage, but this wine almost always thrills me with its aromatics. Did I mention 2015 is a sensational vintage? Okay, you’re going to love this wine’s supple character without giving up any Nebbiolo-ness. I’d drink it with Agnolotti dal Plin.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99

2012 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 10-02-2018
The nose of this wine is full of ripe fruit with just a delicate nuance of oak, I’m really not a fan of the heavily American oaked Rioja but this isn’t like that at all. On the palate it has a certain density, while being lustrous, silky and has a polished feel to it, the flavors are dark fruit but lots of savory character as well. It has a fair amount of tannic structure but the polished nature makes it easier to drink.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 92

2015 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-02-2018
Year after year as these vines get older Giampaolo Motta’s vineyard work begins to stand out as the truly dynamic portion of this wine. The wine is a delicious blend of 60% Sangiovese, which gives the wine a structural backbone, 25% Merlot, which adds some meat, density and richness, with Cabernet Sauvignon lending authority and direction even at this small amount, while Alicante Bouschet adds some personality, spice and a little bit of nastiness—it kind of reminds me of Giampaolo—and it all seamlessly blends together. On top of this the 2015 vintage is truly stunning, the wine is dynamic, structured and drinking deliciously now.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-02-2018
I first tasted this wine last April at Vinitaly and was sold immediately just by the nose. It is full of crunchy cranberry, savory, smoky, black pepper, fresh herbs, layer after layer it just seems to go on and on. Yet this is a 12.5% abv wine, there’s no big, muscular density it just seems to float while still being vibrantly flavorful. On your palate the wine is supple, yet has a bit of tannin just to frame the flavors but oh is this wine gorgeous, just flavor after flavor of savory, spicy while still being elegant. Great lift in the finish the wine is fresh and easy, ready to be drunk now but you should drink it cellar temperature with a plate of speck or prosciutto!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Blason Bruma Bianco Friuli
Review Date: 10-02-2018
The nose has a custardy, vanilla aromatic I find often in white Bordeaux while being different grape varietals it’s the barrel fermentation that you pick up. On the palate the wine is lush, with a supple yet powerful structure and surprisingly good acidity for a wine of this weight. The finish opens beyond the vanilla flavors and shows more mineral and white flower and for some reason I just want to say it’s juicy. Depth, balance and lots of barrel spice for those of you who like California chardonnay this might be an interesting alternative.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2017 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo del Friuli
Review Date: 10-02-2018
The nose is full of quince and elderflower, delicate yet vibrant and draws you in with hints of more depth. On the palate the wine has more acidity and minerality than in previous vintages while not having lost any of the textural richness. The finish really displays the minerality and focus and there’s a lot of lift in the finish. For me having tasted every vintage of Blason Pinot Grigio since 2002 this is without a doubt the best version they have produced.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-19-2018
I think that the 2015 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino got a lot of attention last year because of a 95 point score in Decanter; I wondered why it took so long for wine writers to catch up, because it’s been that tremendous for some time. This vintage I think is maybe even better than the 2015, its nose always smells of sweet earth to me, savory, spicy a bit wild but never rambunctious always focused yet subtle. On the palate it isn’t a “big” wine yet it lacks nothing, supple, sinewy, long and surprisingly muscular while the wine smoothly flows across your tongue. The flavors are full of wild cherry, violet and lilac, hints of Tuscan brush all subtly blended into one flowing flavor. So well balanced an elegant, a wine that never pushes it just glides, I had a bottle of the 2002 last November (2002 was a terrible vintage) and I thought I’d made an error by leaving it so long, but it turned out to be incredible it was Brunello not Rosso (Baricci made Brunello in 2002 as well so it wasn’t declassified). This wine is just superb, I’m going to bury a case or two in my cellar, you should too, we just don’t get that much.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine says refined from the beginning, layers of mineral, sweet dark cherry, swirls of vanilla bound from the glass. On the palate you find this is a powerful wine, sweet, polished tannins roll across your tongue blossoming into lustrous rich fruit. I’m not a fan of American oak but this is all French oak and it really gives the wine a polish and elegance without becoming the dominant flavor. Full bodied and focused this wine gives you the best of Tempranillo while adding hints of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. I really liked this wine’s polish, focus and elegant flavors.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Domaine Belle "Cuvée Louis Belle" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-19-2018
You can sense the power in this wine the moment you put your nose in the glass, deep, concentrated black fruits inter-spiced with black pepper and hints of vanilla. On the palate the wine has real depth; you can feel the weight, concentration, the tannin that encloses the wine but the fruit bursts through showing an array of complexity. The finish, is detailed, very fine tannins, hints of vanilla layers of spicy black fruit that all flow easily across your palate. A truly superb wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Emmanuel Darnaud "Les Trois Chenes" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine is powerful, dense yet aromatically open and fresher than I usually get for 100% Syrah based wines. On the palate the wine has power yet it isn’t clumsy or overly tannic it is remarkably balanced and open for a wine of this size and it shows a lot of secondary fruit complexity, earth, spice, pepper. Superb balance while showing a bit of tannin it is just a framework not obtrusive at all. I really liked this wine and will buy some for my cellar, I know… that’s a shocker, me and Syrah but this is sensational wine for the price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2017 Bodega Chacra "Cincuenta y Cinco" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose is not what I expected from a South American Pinot Noir, I thought I was going to get a fruity, wood driven weak legged wannabe…man was I wrong. The nose on this wine is complex from the get go, full of savory, earthy, and then a bit of subtle fruit with a real feeling you’re getting something with real depth. On the palate the wine shows a bit of tannic grip that gives the wine dimension and frames it for your palate while the center of the wine unwinds slowly giving more Pinot character. It doesn’t hurt to have a vineyard that was planted in 1955 to give you depth of complexity and structure and this wine has it all. This doesn’t taste like Burgundy, but it is not supposed to, it’s really good Pinot Noir from old vines that just happen to be in South America, it reminds me a bit of Santa Cruz Mountain Pinot Noir, it’s an excellent wine…from the makers of Sassicaia.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 97

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine is more masculine than its non rosé counterpart, deeper, more complex, more savory flavors and there seems to be muscle lying underneath. On the palate the flavors broaden, show a bit of grip and depth while the more savory Pinot flavors come out. The finish is bold, a real rosé statement of power and flavor and shows a lifted finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose on this wine is brilliant, clean and full of white flowers it is inviting, I was hooked from the get go. On the palate I’m always interested first in the balance and this wine’s balance is stunning, (I still can’t believe the price/quality) vibrant, long and remarkably persistent. The flavors pick up a bit of brioche to add to a focused, floral center. Long and complex finish this is a stunningly good bottle of wine for the price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Tenuta Roveglia Merlot
Review Date: 08-15-2018
The nose of this wine is savory, a mix of salted plums, dried cherries, hints of leather and dried herbs. On the palate the wine shows a richness that fills your mouth while still being focused, it isn’t fat, it’s just richly textured. The flavors develop showing more plum, cassis followed by a complex blend of savory herbs and bits of spice. While being a seemingly lowland wine it’s harvested in the first week of October allowing the grape to become physiologically ripe not just harvested on the sugar bloom. The finish shows more mineral and earth to go along with the rich but savory fruit and the stainless steel fermentation allows the earth and the fruit to come together without any oak getting in the way.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

2016 Substance "Sunset Vineyard" Columbia Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine was a complex blend of savory herbs coupled with fig, it’s not grassy at all and I find it quite intriguing and truthfully caught me a bit by surprise I was expecting something simpler. On the palate the wine has weight, depth and sorry, substance, showing a truly powerful presence, the flavor is once again more savory than fruity but a touch of Bergamot peel gives the wine even more intrigue. The finish is very lively; the wine has excellent acidity and great lift on the finish. The wine seems to show more terroir, more vineyard site than winemaking and I find it a remarkable wine, it really surprised me with its quality, complexity and balance for its weight.

El Rey Zapoteco Reposado Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this Mezcal is classic Agave but in a very restrained way, I’m used to the overly effusive smoky, herbaceous, campfire nose and those characters are here but not so over the top. On the palate those same flavors show similar restraint but with real definition. It’s very well balanced and a moderately proofed spirit so not too powerful. The finish is once again, focused, restrained yet full of flavor, this is a really solid Mezcal and a really good price too.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2011 Roda I Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine is complex, layers of spice, plum and earth flow from the glass but you can tell it’s just a fraction of what’s under the surface. While sniffing the wine I was struck immediately by the lack of American Oak, it’s something I just can’t take and this wine uses all French Oak, and because of that you’re able to see much more of the wine and terroir than just the dill flavored American Oak. On the palate this wine is powerful, deeply textured and structured but never in a gritty or grippy way, just sweet tannins. The finish is telling me this is just the beginning, this is a wine that will have a long life and while you could drink it now the future is where this wine will blossom. Excellent wine.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 DC 95

2013 Chateau Ste. Michelle "Cold Creek Vineyard" Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine has lots of currant and plum while showing hints of vanilla, yet you can tell there’s a depth there that comes from 40 year old vineyards. On the palate this is a sleek wine, supple, smooth muscles, it gives an immediate sense of length while not lacking any mid palate depth. The currant, vanilla character comes through but the wine begins to show a bit of earth and leather for complexity as well. A well balanced finish that has depth and length, at the price point there’s not much in this wine’s class.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Carlisle "Palisades Vineyard" Napa Valley Petite Sirah
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine is full of a savory richness, there’s fruit in there but this isn’t a fruit bomb. On the palate this wine has real depth, texturally solid, focused this isn’t a flabby sweetish wine it has character and shows layers of potential development. Lots of dark fruit lie just below the surface and will blossom with a bit more time, the wine has excellent tannic structure without being gritty or grippy which bodes well for the future. The finish shows lots of balance, lift and direction while the savory flavors dominate, an excellent wine.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-09-2018
From their first vintage in 1893, Cantina Terlan’s over 100-year-old tradition of blending 60% Pinot Bianco, 30% Chardonnay and 10% Sauvignon Blanc has truly stood the test of time. The nose shows lots of floral aromatics; right now the Sauvignon shows a little more. On the palate the Pinot Bianco is the backbone of the wine, giving it the structure balance and longevity while the Chardonnay adds a supple layer of richness. Fermented in stainless, the wine is then aged 20% in large oak barrels and 80% in stainless for 6 months, then blended together. Exceptional palate presence and finish. The Terlaner Classic has become a staple here at K&L over the last couple of decades. You should give it a try.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 Vigneti Massa "Terra" (Piccolo Derthona) Timorasso Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 08-08-2018
OK, I love Timorasso, it is such an incredible grape and offers so much it’s a shame it’s not known better. The Piccolo is the winery’s entry level and it shows lots of inviting Bartlett pear and stone fruit in the nose. On the palate it shows a bit softer edge, round, supple fruit marked by a vibrant central acidity bringing the flavor focus back to the center of your tongue, giving a long lasting finish that shows power and a bit of tannin. This wine would be perfect for a full fleshed fish like halibut or swordfish and at only 12.5% ABV it’s a delight. It’s also a perfect entry wine to understand Timorsasso before you move up the scale to the big boys!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Le Battistelle’s “Roccolo del Durlo” vineyard is the a mix of tufo, basalt and clay but is so dark locally it’s called “Le Carbonare” referring to the coal like color it has. Owner Gelmino dal Bosco took me out in this vineyard to show me a whole section of the vineyard that were vines more than 100 years old, incredible to look at but even harder to imagine. I love this wine, the nose is full of spice, white flower and in this vintage an array of stone fruits burst from your glass. On the palate it has depth, richness but this vintage shows an extra level of complex fruit, spice and flavor. The wine’s volcanic origins become readily apparent as the minerality and acidity come to the forefront, superb balance and length show up in a driving persistent finish. I bought a case of the 2013 and it’s just now showing the secondary and tertiary flavors. An unbelievable wine at this price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Le Battistelle’s Soave Classico “Battistelle” vineyard is the steepest slope they have facing more southwest, here the soil is basalt rocks that alternate with tufo, in their dialect it’s called Togo. The nose of this wine is full of dried white flowers and crushed rock. On the palate you know immediately you’re tasting volcanic wine super focused minerality and acidity race down the middle of your palate giving the wine a great central backbone. On your tongue the wine begins to expand and open into stone fruits, linden blossom, and shows a distinct layer of richness, almost lanolin like. The finish is long, persistent and replays the both the aromatics and the stone fruit. Elegant, yet powerful and focused for me the best I’ve tasted from this vineyard and at only 12.5%ABV you can sign up for multiple bottles! Something that most folks ever think about these wines age very well for at least another 5+ years (if I said 10 years which is true you’d start not to believe me) drop a couple extra in your cellar and try it out.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This is Pinot Noir; the nose is full of spicy, wild cherry, layers of an earthy complexity, coupled with dried flowers and hints of herbs. On the palate you can feel the 50% whole cluster fermentation; it adds a frame and focus to the wine letting its natural balance show. The flavors are wild cherry, violet, and show a hint of sauvage then the earthy, spiciness takes hold leaving a more savory character as the dominant personality. The finish is long, showing great balance and lift and the flavors carry on for some time. I’d want to match this wine with duck breast or wild fowl; it has the complexity but doesn’t have any extra fat to need anything bigger.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is bold, a really complex blend of spicy fruit intermingled with hints of leather and earth. On the palate the wine shows real depth while not being over-sized or thick, it shows great balance and a bit of grip. The flavors are a mix of crunchy, wild cherry with some savory earthy notes mixed in. The finish shows once again the wine’s excellent balance with wonderful lift on the back end. I usually find that $20 is the dividing line between Pinot Noir and wines labeled as Pinot Noir that are fine but don’t taste much like Pinot Noir, this wine has real character, depth and finish, a truly outstanding value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Casarena "Owen's Vineyard" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is full of green olive, herbs and swirls of cassis and camphor, and it reminds me a bit of the nose of Carmenere. I feel a bit taken back to the old Sonoma valley cabernet sauvignon of my youth, spicy, gamey, and vibrant, more herbaceous than fruity, I loved those wines. On the palate this wine is supple, round and still framed by some evident tannin that hold the center together. The finish brings out more of the camphor and adds a bit of menthol while replaying the green olive and cassis. Excellent wine! I’d suggest a spicy, dry-rubbed Tri-Tip grilled to rare.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 W&S 93

2016 Altovinum Evodia Garnacha Calatayud
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose is full of a powerfully ripe blackberry, currant jam mix that is highlighted by some earthy, leathery, tarry scents. On the palate the wine has breadth; depth and those jammy, tarry aromas carry on into flavors. Texturally the wine is supple, soft and luscious and makes a bold statement in your mouth. If you like spicy BBQ ribs this might just be your wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis" Old Vines Montsant
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine shows focused fruit, less of the overtly effusive character this wine showed in the past. While there are arrays of fruit aromatics they seemed restrained while showing an assortment of fresh berries rather than any jammy notes. On the palate there is more evident tannin, focusing the textural experience onto the center of your tongue where it gives a more claret like expression. The flavors are restrained, fresher blackberry with a smidgen of leather and hints of wild herb. Overall this is a departure from the past for this wine, more in my palate direction, it seems less over the top fruity, more restrained and balanced.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 RP 90

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine smells of crushed quartz, and then bits of wild herbs and hints of tarragon emerge into an exceedingly focused bandwidth. On the palate the wine has a laser like precision, super bright, crisp and then while it seems like it’s going to be an extraordinarily lean wine it explodes into voluminous richness on your tongue. Tangy with a bit of brininess you begin to feel that crushed stone again and that flinty like character it gives. I haven’t seen many wines with as dramatic of a turnaround as this one from nose to palate, yet I can imagine myself sitting in a seaside café eating grilled octopus, gladly reaching for another glass of this wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2016 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is bold, toasty vanillin and almost makes me think of Rombauer. However on the palate the wine changes dramatically from my expectations. On the palate the wine shows more freshness and balance than the nose portrayed and hints of apple and spice poke through. The finish is long, intense and shows a lot of the toasty wood but this is no oaky fruit bomb this is a wine that has depth, balance and I think with a bit of age will reveal more underneath its vanilla toasted exterior. Currently a cocktail style wine but I’d like to see this wine again at the end of the year. It really surprised me.

2017 Margerum "Riviera" Central Coast Rosé
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine has a delicate cranberry character with the emphasis on delicate as everything in this wine is. At only 11.3% alcohol this is a delight to find in California, bright acidity, subtle flavors and light on the palate. Very refreshing, clean and bright with a tangy, crunchy finish. I liked this wine, balanced , easy to drink and I could see it as the perfect afternoon picnic wine.
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 92 W&S 90

2017 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is really complex, spiced apple, stone fruits with hints of mineral. On the palate the wine is alive, lots of richness with incredibly zippy acidity that really balances out well. The flavors get more complex on the palate with more baked apple spices that emerge and the mineral presence becomes more dynamic. A long and intense finish (I can hardly believe I’m writing that but it really is) gives a vibrant and long aftertaste. I’ve known Peter Zemmer’s wines for a long time but I have to say this one caught me by surprise, it was outstanding, even more so for the price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The nose of this wine shows delicate hints of white flowers followed by a touch of brioche like complexity, intriguingly delicate aromatics for a fairly ripe vintage. On the palate the wine has incredible acidity giving its center the focus of the wine while the brioche flavors expand and show hints of bergamot and white flowers. The finish is incredibly long and nuanced and shows this wine is just an infant. The wine has very good weight but the acidity gives the wine a really dry character. I’d suggest a couple of years in the cellar or if you’re anxious now try some fresh oysters.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The nose is full of white peach, linden blossom that then becomes very savory followed by bits of candied ginger. On the palate this wine shows its searing palate presence, and then a saline sensation interspersed with crushed stone dominates your palate quickly followed by delicate hints of stone fruit and fresh herbs that are the first flavors in this bone dry bubbly. Lingering on your palate the white peach begins to flesh out and widen becoming the dominate flavor. The wine’s structure is belied by a delicate mousse, it’s a powerful Prosecco who’s mineral driven core sets the stage for what I feel is the top Cartizze made. Oysters, or if you happen to be in LA you can go to Angelini’s on Beverly and have the Linguine with Santa Barbara Sea Urchin…I died and went to Heaven.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2013 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
OK, I have to be honest I love this property, one of my bellwethers for every vintage. They are always so consistent, so classic and for me this is one of the highlights of the vintage. An incredible depth, focus, complexity, balance, this is what Brunello is supposed to be in my mind, just a stupendous bottle of wine.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2013 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
I’m so in love with this wine. I love the complex earthiness, which has a sort of cherry tobacco, sweet earth, plum mixture that graces the elegant and lithe body. On the palate the wine has power, yet is supple and easily balanced showing layers of spice, earth and fruit The Buffi brothers, following in the footsteps of their grandfather, Nello Baricci, and uncle, Graziano, have upped the game at this winery and it is now garnering super high scores every vintage. An outstanding wine: savory, sweet earth, supple yet powerful; so elegant, a real winner.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Banfi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The company that made Brunello famous, the Mariani family, since purchasing Banfi in 1978 have made Brunello a household word. This is their classic restaurant-friendly example, with lots of soft, forward fruit and a bit of tannic structure in this vintage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Banfi "Poggio alle Mura" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The nose is full of pure, elegant wild cherry backed up by a flow of umami like flavors dominated by salted plums. On the palate the wine is warmer, suppler, with rounded edges but also a core of Sangiovese purity that holds the center together and bonds the flavor. The finish shows a bit of tannin, a sign of the vintage and an intriguing, savory finish, excellent wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Negretti Barolo
Review Date: 08-01-2018
The nose of this wine is classic Barolo that gentle drift of sottobosco (what the Italian’s call the scent of the forest floor), leather, rose hips, porcini dust, hints of strawberry, burnt orange peel a surprisingly aromatically complex Barolo at this price point. On the palate you can see this is a more traditional Barolo, there is weight and supple concentration but the wine is framed by its tannic structure, this is Barolo after all. The flavors fulfill the promise of the nose and show the more savory than fruity side to the wine, porcini, truffle, leather, orange peel and a bit of strawberry compote. The finish shows this wine has a real future, superb balance, good richness and a long lingering finish. A steal at this price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Page: 1 2 3 4 next

More Favorites

Greg St. Clair is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Greg St. Clair, click here to join Greg St. Clair's Personal Sommelier Service.
Pierre Paillard "Les Terres Roses" Grand Cru Extra Brut Rosé Champagne ($57.99)