Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2017 BOLD Wine Co. Monterey County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-27-2019
The nose of this wine is fresh, bright with an earthy, stemmy aromatic that serves as complexity. On the palate this wine shows medium plus body, lots of richness and lives up to the label in Boldness. This isn’t a sweet, fruit filled Pinot, this wine is for those who are looking for more savory, earthy character and with that it delivers beyond its’ price point. Good tannins, power, and lots of intrigue if you want to get out of the sweetish California Pinot Parade, this is your wine.
Price: $18.95 Add To Cart
WE 93

2015 Peake Ranch Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-27-2019
The nose of this wine greets you with a big, toasty, brioche filled aromatic that harkens back to a more distant era. On the palate the wine has a medium plus body that just exudes creaminess, supple, soft, smooth carrying on that toasted brioche flavor. The finish shows some lift and balance in the end for a broad, smooth ending.
Price: Hidden View Price
JD 94

2017 Quivira "Alder Grove" Dry Creek Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 08-27-2019
The nose of this wine shows more herbaceous notes than I’ve seen in a California SVB in some time, I look on that as a positive. Lots of white flower mixed with herbal hints accent the medium full palate that shows lots of texture but is brightened by a good acidity. The finish accents the herbaceous notes again but then segues into a bit of figgy richness. A good balance and freshness a very good wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 08-23-2019
If you’re looking for that Tuesday night introduction to this property, just something to drink with your mac and cheese, then the 2018 Sesta di Sopra Sangiovese is your wine. This wine comes from the younger vines on this tiny estate. It’s got crunchy, cranberry-like flavors, shows hints of leather, earth, and dried herbs, and has a luscious, supple texture—perfect even for Wednesdays.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Sesta di Sopra Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-23-2019
If you don’t want to pop for the Brunello right off the top, you should try the Rosso di Montalcino. All Sangiovese, and from one of the region’s best vintages of all time, it is stunningly good. The nose of Sesta di Sopra’s Rosso just jumps out at you. Spicy, complex, with wild cherry fruit, salted plums, and hints of sage and leather, it’s intriguing, seductive, and inviting. On the palate the wine is broad, full-bodied, and rich, yet not heavy. It has an elegance, is supple yet forceful, and it is savory, not fruity. It tastes like you should be having it with a meal, like veal shank or just a big hunk of Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-23-2019
This has the classic Sesta di Sopra nose of earth, sage, and leather, with hints of complex earth, stone, and plum notes. It is a supple, aromatic, pretty wine, lively on the palate, that has weight and persistence. If you’re in Montalcino, it’d be a perfect match for your lunch or dinner, which undoubtedly would include wild boar.

2018 Antonelli "Trebium" Trebbiano Spoletino
Review Date: 08-23-2019
Trebbiano is an odd grape. I’m sure you’ve all had some less than inspiring versions, but it actually isn’t a grape at all—it’s a family of similarly named grapes that are all very different. I know, it’s Italy—it’s confusing. There is no confusion with this wine, however. The Trebbiano Spoletino is sensational, with a nose full of spice, and on the palate, power, weight, definition, tremendous focus, and great acidity. This is a must try!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2018 Tenuta Roveglia Chiaretto Rosé
Review Date: 08-23-2019
When you think rosé, does French rosé come to mind first? But that’s not the only wine in the game! If you haven’t had an Italian rosé, this is a good time to start. Tenuta Roveglia comes from the shores of Lake Garda, where pink wine, Chiaretto in this region, has been around for over 200 years. On the palate the wine is dry and crisp, with lots of fruit and excellent minerality, and a long and complex finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Guy Farge "Terroir de Granit" Saint-Joseph Rouge
Review Date: 08-21-2019
The nose of this wine is deep, and it shows a bit of earthy character and some spice. On the palate the wine has a crunchy tannin, but not bitter, it’s just crunchy but followed up with a very polished, supple mouthfeel, and long. While there is a background of fruit, this wine doesn’t show overt fruit, it’s not a blackberry, raspberry vehicle it is more subdued. The finish is supple, tannins couched appropriately, long and it does have a bit more soil character, some edgy mineral character. Overall I like this wine, drinkable now but in 3-5 years much more interesting.

2018 Domaine Vincent Carême "Spring" Vouvray Sec
Review Date: 08-20-2019
The nose on this wine really captivated me, wild, saline intrigue followed by lemon meringue…OK that doesn’t show up in most tasting notes but it really is appropriate here. On the palate the wine has vibrant acidity with a full body to accompany it, long, supple and vibrant with great lift in the finish. I really like this wine, I had sort of lost interest in Vouvray over the last few years with wines that seemed a bit too gamey, this one is buttoned up tight and is really good.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 08-20-2019
Let me be up front, I’ve never been a fan of most Argentinian under $20 Malbec, just not my thing, however this wine seemed to break out of that mold for me. The nose has broad, I can’t seem to get out of the music analogy, this wine has a lot of bass notes. On the palate is where I usually get put off by a sweetish, fruit character but this wine doesn’t have that overt sweetness it actually has very good balance. The finish tries to stay more Bordeaux like than new world and mostly succeeds. A good value for the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2016 Alpha Estate "Hedgehog Vineyard" Xinomavro Amyndeon Greece
Review Date: 08-20-2019
I’ll be honest I am still trying to figure out Xinomavro, I’ve got the pronunciation down, but it is a wine I haven’t been able to categorize in my mind. On the nose it shows lots of leather, spice, grit and hints of fruit compote while on the palate it shows a bit of grippy tannins with a replay of the nose. The finish seems to accent the tannins, they’re not big and powerful but evident. This is a wine that you need some rich, heavy, textural food to have this with, while obviously Moussaka seems the choice I think you’re better served with a good’ol American lasagna.

2016 Domaine Durieu "Lucile Avril" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 08-20-2019
The nose of this wine is deep, brooding and layered with asphalt, rosemary and wild berries. On the palate the wine has an extra layer of fruit richness, but it is framed by focused tannins. The finish softens the tannins and extends them down the tongue where it seems to go on for some time. Drinkable now with a little aeration and a hearty bowl of cassoulet! Or drop some in the cellar for another 5-7 years.

2016 Xavier Vignon "Cuvée Vieilles Vignes" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 08-20-2019
I like the 2016 vintage a lot, I liked 2015 as well but 2016 has just a little more focus and verve for my palate, it shows in the nose of this wine while showing lots of fruit aromatics it’s the garrigue that gets me, that’s that earthy, spicy smells like wild brush aromatic. On the palate breadth and balance come to mind immediately a little more of the rich fruit character comes through but balanced with good acidity and accented with that spice and wild brush. If you can buy a case and hang on for 3-4 years you will really see the greatness of this vintage.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 90

2015 Kir-Yianni "Ramnista" Naoussa Greece
Review Date: 08-07-2019
The nose on this wine is full of Mediterranean scrub brush, mixed with dried fruits and some campfire aromatics as well. On the palate one sees that this is not the wine for someone looking for California Pinot Noir, this is a wine with and edge, personality, a bit gruff and curmudgeonly yet with some inherent intrigue behind it. This is a wine that definitely needs a food accompaniment whether it be a spicy Pork souvlaki grilled over Mesquite or a heavy, dense Moussaka!

2015 Massolino Barolo
Review Date: 08-07-2019
One of the real Hallmarks of the 2015 vintage is drinkability and wineries such as Massolino whose Serralunga roots usually predict an undrinkable period, long cellaring and then glorious results have produced a wine that can do both. The nose is ultra-inviting with warm, open fruit, layers of cherries intermingled with smoke, earth and umami depth. On the palate is where the real shock is, this Barolo is supple, round and smooth, a drinkable Barolo from Massolino at this stage is almost unthinkable, yet this wine delivers. There might be comparisons to the very approachable 2000 vintage but 2015 is a much more structured vintage with real holding power. The wine has a tannic border, but those tannins are sweet and act as a frame rather than a cage holding the wine in. The finish is long, balanced and shows lots of expressive fruit now, but I do envision a period of Adolescence for this wine while it develops. An extraordinary deal for one of Barolo’s great producers.

2015 Elio Grasso "Ginestra Casa Matè" Barolo
Review Date: 08-07-2019
Having just tasted this wine I think most of the reviewers got this wine in a juvenile, closed phase because this wine is singing! The delight of the 2015 vintage is the rich, sweet fruit that comes with the ripeness but there’s no hint of over ripeness, this wine is perfectly balanced. I do find it is always hard to taste these wines together because one always feels the need to say this one is better than that one, they really are both amazing but in really different ways. The nose of this wine is so inviting, it’s not a typical closed in Barolo behemoth it is enticing, full of dried figs, smoke, porcini…I could go on. The really enticing portion of this wine was on the palate, you might have had experience drinking Barolo where that first palate presence is shocking and makes your cheeks want to turn inside out, but not this wine OMG it is amazing. Supple, sweet tannins frame the outside of this wine allowing waves of flavors, a savory, umami rich roll starts it, then more forest floor, then smoke and truffle and back to the dried figs, I can’t think of another flavor for that than dried figs. Super balanced, exceedingly long, and incredible finish, yet all the talk of balance, supple and drinkable might make you think this wine is a short term wine but Oh No, this is a Barolo’s Barolo, long term, it is really special and is going to last a long, long time.

2015 Elio Grasso "Gavarini Chiniera" Barolo
Review Date: 08-06-2019
If you haven’t read the glowing review I wrote about Elio Grasso’s glorious 2015 Barolo Ginestra “Casa Maté,” you should. Yet with as many magnificent things that I wrote about it, and rightfully so, it was sooo obvious that, given all of the power, depth and longevity in the Ginestra, it is not quite as much as in the Gavarini. This wine just reeks of Barolo. It has a similar aromatic profile to the Ginestra, but every portion of it is saturated, deeper, with an added layer of complexity at every turn, yet it has more of the tar and roses character to it, the traditional Barolo profile. On the palate you can feel more intensity and structure but it still doesn’t come across as rigid or grippy; the tannins are still sweet, yet they’ve intensified. The same is true of the flavors. Everything here is just intensified, there’s just more there there. Buy one and drink it now and drop a bunch in the cellar--this wine is stunningly good.

2016 Cantina Terlano "Vorberg" Pinot Bianco Riserva Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-06-2019
The nose of this wine is divine: swirling aromatics full of white flowers, hints of bergamot, a saline breeze, spice, and depth immediately. On the palate the wine shows incredible size and richness, a powerful statement of the vintage. Then ripe pear emerges to blend with stone fruits and salted plum; just a wide variety of flavors. The finish once again shows the size, density, and weight of this vintage stretched over a spectacular frame. I love Vorberg and this is one of the best vintages I can remember. These wines will last a long, long time. I’ve had versions out of the 1950s that have been wonderful at 50 years old. This is a vintage to stock up on. I am doing so.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 95

2015 Leeuwin Estate "Prelude" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 08-06-2019
The nose of this wine is very complex, full of menthol, camphor, eucalyptus and green olive coupled with a bit of earth and spice. On the palate the wine is medium bodied yet very balanced, those same aromatics are slightly muted while more earth and hints of cassis emerge. The finish is very balanced, long and I finally understand these Margaret River wines, they have more of a Bordeaux bent than a new world angle, they don’t have the sweet fruit of Napa but they do have that supple, smooth body, a delight to drink if you’re doing up a spicy flank steak on Friday nights.

2018 Skouras Moscofilero Péloponnèse Greece
Review Date: 08-06-2019
The nose of this is wildly aromatic, but not in a fruity sense, it is more white flower, quince compote, with more savory leanings, I love it. On the palate a true saline character is the initial bracing then a medium body with lively acidity takes over with more stone fruit character. A solid, weighty feel gives the wine a supple roundness, but it’s still pierced by lively, refreshing acidity. I really like this wine and can see it being an excellent aperitif or for vegetable dishes or even linguini with clams, you should try it.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92 RP 90

2018 Papagiannakos Assyrtiko Attica Greece
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The nose of this wine is crushed sea salt, hints of green apple but it lets you know it’s a Volcanic island wine. On the palate the wine shows good weight, but it is offset by the racy mineral laden acidity which lifts and lengthens the wine while accenting the brightness. Really an excellent example of the varietal for my palate, food is a must.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2016 Xanadu Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The nose of this wine is aromatic, not fruity, it’s far more complex it reminds me of the old Sonoma style Cabernet Sauvignon, more green olive, leather and spice mixed with a lot of complex violet and lavender and a touch of cassis in the finish. On the palate the wine is balanced, shows excellent length and is supple, with smooth tannins, easy to drink wine. Less Napa, more savory perfect match for food, and for those who are Anti Fruit-Bomb!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The nose of this wine is focused, layered and shows lots of complex herb, wild brush, leather and rosemary but behind that is a core of intense fruit. On the palate the wine shows structure, balance and excellent length. The hallmark of the 2016 vintage is a concentrated center and it is readily evident here adding a real depth and intensity. The flavors show a savory aspect more than a fruit forward character adding in that umami like soy, mushroom and salty tang while the fruit comes up in the back. While this wine sounds like it’s big and bold it is exceptionally well balanced and while it does have size it is so in harmony that you can drink it now or age it for another 7-10 years. This is the best La Massa that I’ve had, powerful, supple, smooth tannins, very complex this is one to stock up on. Bravo Gianpaolo!

2016 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-24-2019
2016 has turned out to be one of the greatest vintages in Montalcino history. This is a fitting final Rosso for this talented man. The 2016 Rosso is of course 100% Sangiovese. It is aged in large barrels and stainless steel for a year, always looking to preserve the wine’s freshness. If you were in Montalcino you’d have this with the thick, hand rolled “Pinci” pasta with a cinghiale (wild boar) ragu. If you want to make a ragu here, pork would be great! Or to salute Pablo who was a vegetarian, you could use “caccio pepe” version! Miss you Pablo.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
WS 91

2015 Santoleri "Vignaladra" Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 07-24-2019
When you hear that a winery started their switch to organic agriculture in 1981, their vineyards lie above 1100 feet and were planted in 1968 and 1972, in a calcareous soil with a south, southeasterly exposure and only 13.5% abv, you might well sit up a bit and take notice. The problem is always: Oh…it’s a Montepulciano. But it shouldn’t be this way because Montepulciano is really a great varietal and can produce wines of great depth, complexity and structure. Well, the stats I listed above are for the Santoleri “Vignaladra” Montepulciano d’Abruzzo. You should love this wine. The Vignaladra has a savory intrigue full of smoke, porcini dust and sweet earth that adds to the vibrant dark cherry and plump berry aromatics. It doesn’t hurt that it’s from the superb 2015 vintage as well. Try it with grilled meats or a hearty pasta.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2014 Jonata "Todos" Ballard Canyon Santa Ynez Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 07-23-2019
Todos is right! I have to admit that I didn’t know what to expect from this wine, but what I got wouldn’t have been a guess for me to begin with. The nose of this wine is far more savory than fruity. It doesn’t seem like your normal California “red blend,” as it’s a lot more precise. While "Todos" has real density and richness, it doesn’t resort to fat and squalor, it has good acidity without sacrificing richness, and the flavors are all over the board, very hard to categorize, because there’s not really anything else like this wine! Having said that you won’t be able to categorize it, doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy it. Tt’s delicious, balanced with a hint of tannin, long finish, and a perfect accompaniment to rustic, grilled meats.

2018 Massican "Annia" Napa Valley White Blend
Review Date: 07-23-2019
If I told you I thought this wine smelled and tasted like Tocai Friulano and Ribolla Gialla…that probably wouldn’t be much help for most of you, but I will anyway. As the Italian buyer for the company I was impressed with the varietal correctness. The nose was classic white flower and on the palate the wine showed the richness Tocai Friulano can give a wine and it was coupled with the riveting acidity that Ribolla Gialla can give. Excellent balance, no oak flavors. This is a really good bottle of wine.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WE 97

2014 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-23-2019
This is a fascinating wine. The nose was wildly aromatic, full of tar, spice, igneous intrigue with wild brush and some deep, brooding, unspecified, dark fruit. I know that sounds a bit mysterious, and maybe even hard to understand, but it was really fascinating--maybe just not what you might be expecting from a Cabernet. On the palate the wine was supple and perhaps a little less mysterious, it showed good weight and savory components, definitely not a fruit bomb. The finish was long, buoyant and had submerged tannins creeping in on the end. A really fascinating wine you should try.

2018 Villa Maria "Taylor's Pass" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-23-2019
The nose of this wine caught my attention immediately. I was expecting more of the classic jalapeno-laden, kiwi character that one finds regularly in New Zealand. This wine was a revelation--the nose was so much deeper, more complex, savory, and saline, and couldn't be pigeon-holed, as new aromatics emerged with every swirl. On the palate the wine shows decisive richness, supple power that gave one the sense of Chardonnay weight, but with a complex array of Loire-like flavors. It reminded me of Francois Cotat Sancerre, it had that kind of allure. The finish was long, persistent, and very complex. I'm going to buy this myself.

2016 Château de L'Ou "Secret de Schistes" Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 07-23-2019
The nose is full of ripe aromatics, sweetish with just a hint of wood. However this wine has no sweetness to it, there’s just a mouthful of richness, broad, powerful and a kaleidoscope of flavors. I generally am not a Syrah fan but this wine doesn’t have the negative portions of Syrah I don’t like. This wine is pure, balanced shows real power without any flab; this isn’t a "secret" anymore, this wine is sensational.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JD 95 RP 91

2017 Château de L'Ou "Compartir" Cotes du Roussillon Villages Rouge
Review Date: 07-23-2019
The nose of this wine is full of baking spices, crushed flowers, a dark berry compote, just wildly aromatic. On the palate the wine is very well balanced but feels ultra-plush, it’s a texture that says cold winter nights but here in San Francisco that could be a summer afternoon. I really want to use the word "hedonistic" for this wine, but I don’t want it to get mixed up with the Robert Parker meaning for the word--this wine is clean, focused and really vibrant….it’s just wearing a fur coat.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2016 Cantina Terlan "Porphyr" Lagrein Riserva
Review Date: 07-23-2019
Many of you might not be familiar with Lagrein as a varietal, and I always get asked: is it more like Cabernet or Pinot Noir? Well it’s really more like Lagrein, it has its own identity. More often than not, I find Syrah-like characteristics, yet not enough to say this is like Syrah. The wine’s aromatics are a smoldering mix of smoke, meat, brandied cherries, tobacco and … well you get the picture--it's not like anything else. Cantina Terlan’s Porphyr is one of the region’s best illustrations of this varietal, and in this vintage perhaps one of its best examples. On the palate the wine is soft, supple, seductive, filled with complex, fruit, earth, spice, and truthfully a category I label as “exotic aromatics” because I’m not really sure what they are, but they are captivating. I remember having a previous vintage of this wine with gnocchi with a wild boar ragu--simply a thrilling match, but every time I’m in the Alto Adige I surrender to goulash, that paprika kick just bonds with Lagrein in a way that takes my breath away every time. If you like wine you owe it to yourself to try this; it is an experience you won’t regret.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 96 RP 93

2016 Azelia Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 07-23-2019
The nose is classic Langhe, all earth, mushroom and leather with just a hint of sweet fruit in the background. It has a lively acidity to go with the crunchy tannin and says I need a Risotto! On the palate this wine shows a bit of gritty focus, this is the Anti-Fruit Bomb and it reminds me of Nebbiolo during the 1970’s but has exceptional balance. The finish is long, driving and remains with a classic, leather, tar and earth. Definitely a food wine but with a bit of decanting it’s classic.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 07-23-2019
The nose is full of marasca cherry, hints of truffle, earth, bits of leather, spice, it is really complex. On the palate the wine has richness, structure, balance and shows lots of complexity. The wine really shows the character of the 2016 vintage, depth, structure and a truly savory character, this is no simple, fruity Chianti this is a driven, powerful wine. The tannins are well framed and give a perimeter to the wine but just barely hold in the well-balanced richness and supple middle. This vintage is 88% Sangiovese, 8% Canaiolo and 4% Colorino, it’s aged for 1 year in 55 hectoliter French oak (Allier) barrels, if you’re not up on hectoliter conversion that would fit almost 25 barriques, it’s a BIG barrel, and the wine is Certified Organic. I love this vintage and will be stocking up!

Westward "Single Barrel #B-236-11" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Single Barrel American Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-16-2019
The nose is full of caramel and orange rind, and some stone fruit in the background. On the palate for me...ok I had to add some water to this 131 proof was a bit too powerful for my delicate palate, but then a lot more intrigue, more honeyed than caramel character came forward with some elder-flower. Powerful, decisive spirit with real depth and persistence.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Lafage "Fundacio" Cotes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 07-16-2019
The nose is full of intrigue, a combination of savory, salty, spicy but not the overtly fruity character I had been expecting. On the palate the wine is broad, richly textured and the flavor spectrum shows a bit more ripe fruit, but a bit is the highlight there this is a savory wine. Lots of black pepper, green olive and savory herbs end up in the finish that are framed by elegant tannins. A very good wine that I would love to drink.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2016 Alexana "Terroir Series" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-16-2019
The nose is a swirling amalgam of earth, mushroom coupled with a wild fruit compote with hints of cinnamon and sage, pretty unique. On the palate the wine has a broad, rich and fleshy feel to it yet has a very central focus to the acidity that lifts the wine in the finish. Easy to drink but better suited for veal or roasted chicken meals.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WS 94 WE 91

2016 DeLille "Chaleur Blanc" Columbia Valley White Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 07-16-2019
The nose is delicate and doesn't come across too herbal for the 68% Sauvignon Blanc and 32% Semillon blend. On the palate the wine shows restraint in a classic White Bordeaux style however with less obvious wood. A medium bodied, very clean example of this category, my guess is that it will actually be better in a couple of years but a very solid wine.

2016 Craggy Range "Te Kahu" Bordeaux Blend Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-09-2019
The nose of this wine bends towards Bordeaux with a savory, pencil lead, cedar box aromatic. On the palate the wine shows lots of weight, supple and round without being heavy, only 13.5%abv. and a bit of soft tannins. Lots of barrel spice to go with the earthy character and the wine finishes with a bit of grip, definitely a grilled meat wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 97 JS 93

2017 Domaine du Somail "Vin de Plume" Minervois
Review Date: 07-09-2019
The nose is fresh, bold, berry like fruit yet no sweetish aromatics and is intriguing for that. On the palate the 80% Mouvedre drives the wine, depth, weight but not flabby, it’s focused and shows lift and a little tannin from the 20% Syrah. The flavors are dark berry but once again not sweet at all, I find it surprising but more interesting than the sweet version. Fairly full bodied but fresh and balanced more lift than I would have expected. I like this wine a lot to drink now over the next couple of years with a rich pasta like lasagna or a butter basted filet mignon.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

2015 Rodney Strong "Reserve" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-04-2019
A bold, expressive nose full of toast and smoke greets you from the glass. On the palate the wine has lots of barrel spice and a fair amount of tannin, for an elegant wine. This wine shows more of the Alexander Valley elegance and size than power, yet it finishes with a sturdy grip.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
DC 97

2015 Beaulieu Vineyard Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 07-02-2019
The nose on this wine is broad, bold showing sweet earth and cassis aromatics. On the palate it shows a medium plus body, balanced, restrained but very flavorful. That sweet earth cassis aromatic turns into the same flavors on the palate and adds a bit of green olive. The finish is balanced, fresh and replays lots of the same flavors, all in all I was far more impressed by this wine than I thought I would be, well made and focused.

2017 Seabold Cellars "Olson Vineyard" Monterey Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-02-2019
The nose of this wine is full of spicy barrel toast, refreshingly not overwrought while on the palate the flavors show freshly baked apple, with a judicious amount of sweet toasty flavors. There's very crisp acidity in this wine and the body is actually fairly elegant, no extra weight or fat. Very bright finish with a refreshing lift.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2014 Paolo Caciorgna "N'Anticchia" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 06-23-2019
One of the best wines I’ve ever tasted from Mount Etna. The nose is sublime, redolent of a compote of wild cherry and wild raspberries. Just heavenly, yet this is no fruit bomb— this is Etna, and the smoky minerality of the wine comes through on the nose. Etna Rosso on the palate always shows earth, leather, and Middle Eastern spice. Texturally, it seems more like Barolo, with a veil of tannin cupping the middle fruit. This is a sensational wine—you must try it.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2016 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 06-23-2019
Valle dell’Acate’s Frappato is just a joy to drink—it’s fresh, so full of fruit. It puts a smile on your face. Make sure you drink it at cellar temperature—it makes a lot of difference!

2014 Valle dell'Acate Cerasuolo di Vittoria
Review Date: 06-23-2019
I have always liked the wines from Vittoria. The southeastern corner of Sicily offers wine with more open fruit, deeper body, and a richer palate presence. But one wine in particular has always caught my attention: the Cerasuolo di Vittoria. OK, it’s a mouthful for many folks, but let’s try it: Chair-uh-swolo. See, not that hard. The DOCG requires the blending of two grapes, Nero d’Avola and Frappato. The Nero d’Avola can get fairly full-bodied sometimes, but its weight and density is offset by the vibrant freshness of the Frappato. Frappato is the same grape that in Tuscany they call Ciliegiolo, which takes its name from the Italian word for cherry. And for me, that fruit character is what gives the balance and center to this wine. The 2014 Valle dell’Acate Cerasuolo di Vittoria is a superb wine. The subtle richness on the palate coupled with the aromatic lift make it a sensational wine to drink.

2017 Raul Perez "Ultreia St-Jacques" Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 05-28-2019
My previous experiences with Mencia Bierzo had always been filled with over-ripe and sweetish wines...I really was not looking forward to tasting this, but WOW was I surprised. The nose of this wine is filled with complex fruit, earth and spices not enough to list separately but as one they are wonderful. This wine shows incredible depth, spine and layers of character. You're getting I think this wine is really good? Well developed palate presence, long, long finish…this is a superb wine for the price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 93

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 05-28-2019
While the critic's notes of ripe and chocolaty might make you think this wine is fat...it's not. The nose is complex, for me there's more herbal, spice and leather than sweet fruit. On the palate I first thought this is one of those ultra-polished winemaker wines but then the acidity popped up with a bit of tannin and I was quite surprised by the verve and lift in this wine. The flavors, while showing some complex berry character, mostly replayed the aromatics, lots of earth, spice, leather and carried into the finish. The finish was surprisingly long, I have to admit I didn't expect a lot out of this wine but it had exceptional balance and a intriguing flavors
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 05-21-2019
The nose of this spirit is full of a chocolaty, caramel aromatic that is very inviting. On the palate you see right away this is a cask strength but it doesn't seem hot at all, the caramel gets tinged with a bits of brine and smoke as it expands across your tongue. This malt has a real lushness that seems to moderate the alcohol, a super drinking spirit.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next