Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2015 Petra Zingari Toscana
Review Date: 12-10-2018
The nose of this wine was captivating from the get go, I had expected a innocuous flow of overripe fruit but this wine has an incredible nose full of vibrant, focused fruit character, you can smell the Sangiovese’s cherry like brilliance, the warm cassis of the Merlot and Petit Verdot and the spice from the Syrah. On the palate I was once again a surprised, excellent balance with a lifting acidity that freshens and focuses the fruit array. The flavors are bold yet restrained and the wine has a supple feel across your tongue. The finish is long and persistent, it really holds the flavors for a long time, an excellent wine at a steal of a price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

Thierry Thibault Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-27-2018
This is classic Champagne, the nose is tight, clean focused with an apply tartness softened with a bit of brioche while remaining super clean it's a delight. On the palate the wine is very dry, really tart and shows levels of complexity you generally don’t find in Champagne in this price range. It’s really long, focused and that acidity holds your interest as the complex apple and brioche emerges and gently softens. The finish is remarkably long, direct and boldly lets you know there is no hint of sweetness while spotlighting the complex apple character. Line up your Oysters, this is the wine for them!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Tenuta di Sesta "Duelecci Ovest" Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 11-23-2018
This is the first vintage for this wine labeled with a vineyard designate, which translates to “Two Oaks West,” and it was planted in 2001. The nose of this Riserva is layered with subtle bits of leather, iron-rich earth, rosemary and wild strawberry. On the palate the wine shows an understated power, a smooth, regal flow full of spice, earth and wild fruits but it is presented with a particular verve and a lifted finish. Aged for almost three years in 20-hectoliter Slavonian oak, this wine is beautiful now but will age incredibly well for another 15 to 20 years. Only 3,000 bottles made.

2013 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-23-2018
I find that Tenuta di Sesta’s wines are always overlooked upon release. They are never the loudest, tallest or heaviest; they just seem to be pleasant. Yet after years of tasting their wines I find they are just slower to develop and end up morphing into silky, elegant masterpieces. In the 2013 vintage their Brunello shows the pure Sangiovese aromatics of wild cherry and plum cut in behind hints of smoke and earthy elements along with hints of dried roses and freshly cut leather. On the palate the wine is graceful, seemingly plump, while the tannins are a bit more present in the finish than is usual for them.

2016 Tenuta di Sesta Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-23-2018
Tenuta di Sesta is our most elegant Rosso. It is subtle and has a more feminine grace, but underneath that obvious restraint lies a wine full of complexity and savory intrigue…it just takes a bit of time to open up (I’d decant for an hour if you have the chance—also, they will age easily and wonderfully for another 4–5 years). In this vintage (if you haven’t heard, 2016 is an outstanding vintage in Montalcino), of the more than 100 Rosso I tasted, this wine was my number-one choice. The depth of this wine’s flavor is unreal—even its color is more pronounced than usual. It is a sensational wine.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2013 Ronchi "Ronchi" Barbaresco
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I love this wine, just to be upfront with you. Why do I love it because it has a classic feel and flavor while still being drinkable at a young age. The nose is full of smoke, truffle, leather and earth but braced by hints of forest fruits, freshening and giving focus. On the palate there is a supple, textural richness that smoothes out the fine grain tannins to a point where you don’t really notice them, while the flavors are once again classic, smoke, leather but with more fruit than earth showing here. The finish is one of balance, depth and makes you want to take another sip, this is a really good wine and for the price exceptional. This is no flash in the pan either it will age well for another decade plus!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 93

2015 Salcheto Vino Nobile di Montepulciano
Review Date: 11-07-2018
The nose of this wine is enticing, a combination of sweet, wild cherry fruit coupled with a savory, umami like character. On the palate this intrigue opens and develops another layer of complexity the savory side deepens and the fruit becomes more intense. The wine starts off with a supple; rather soft palate presence but then begins to show its structure, super fine grain tannin frames the wine. The Organic nature of this wine is readily apparent, the fruit is so pure, the wine is so balanced it is really a grand wine at this pricepoint.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WS 94 DC 90

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-07-2018
The nose of this wine is full of savory, earthy notes but with hints of a plumy fruit. On the palate this wine has great poise, balance it is perfectly balanced to drink now while it should age well for another decade plus. The flavors are old school, no fruit bomb it has a complex blend of Middle Eastern spice, leather and almost no American oak signature, which for me is huge. The finish is long, intense and highlights what a superbly easy wine this is to drink.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this wine is seductive, enticing it isn’t one of those candied fruit Pinots this is a wine of distinction, breeding and obviously comes from great vineyards. The fruit character is spicy, shows a bit of earth, stem, leather but enough sweet fruit behind it that you wouldn’t call it earthy. It effortlessly balances on your tongue, just a bit of tannin frames it on the palate and allows the smoky fruit opens up to another level. Lots of lift and brightness in the finish and excellent wine at this unbelievable price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Mt Beautiful Sauvignon Blanc North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this is quite complex, it’s not the classic New Zealand gooseberry but a more multifaceted herbal compote that is really interesting. On the palate the wine surprised me quite a bit, it has real weight, depth and size…and then I looked at the price $15? This is an awesome wine at this price way outperforming the price category. The flavors carry on a subtle, smoked jalapeno character coupled with a focused acidity, this is a really good wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93 WS 90

2013 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose is dark cherry mixed with a plumy ripeness and has a rather savory swagger to it and very expressive now. On the palate it adds a saline dimension, salted plum, more umami, soy sauce then the Tuscan herbs, and hints of fresh leather begin to emerge. The wine has weight and density but flows easily across your palate making it delicious to drink now. Superb balance, the wine is a pleasure to drink now, yet age well for 10-15 years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 92

2016 Passopisciaro "Passorosso" Etna Rosso Sicilia
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Passopisciaro Passorosso is a stunning wine the nose is full of smoke, strawberry compote, leather, spice and gives you the sensation of having a lot more to give I couldn’t describe everything, it’s just overflowing. On the palate this wine makes a very bold statement, it fills your mouth with a luscious density that is a new dimension for Etna Rosso, so much richer than most, supple, giving yet still showing its structure. The flavors are saturated; waves of sweet, strawberry fruit followed by flows of herb and leather then more fruit and again more fruit. This is superbly balanced, poised and focus. A truly outstanding wine!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WE 91

2016 Fess Parker "The Big Easy" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 11-06-2018
The nose of this wine is dense, ripe Syrah fruit that rolls out of the glass. On the palate the sweet density is obvious and the tannins are polished and fine while exhibiting touches of vanilla and spice. The finish fills up the middle of your palate expanding in a wide, broad expanding richness. If you're having spicy BBQ'ed ribs this could be your go to wine!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JD 92

2016 Farnetella Lucilla Toscano Rosso
Review Date: 10-30-2018
The nose of this wine says power, just from the intensity of the fruit character. It shows a bold depth of currant and plum speared by a focused wild cherry accented with bits of dried herb. On the palate the wine shows its depth, it is a Super Tuscan blend, and the structure of the Cabernet and the plush texture of the merlot weight are brought to focus by the superb Sangiovese. The flavors are a mélange of dark fruit but with a truly savory feel, more umami with hints of Tuscan dust. The finish is powerful, super fine tannin frames the finish and gives real definition to this superb wine for the price!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2015 Giovanni Manzone "Il Crutin" Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 10-28-2018
Monforte d’Alba is a village--you can’t really say town because it only has 2,000 or so residents, but it is home to some of the best vineyards in Barolo. Vineyards mostly run from 1,100 to 1,500 feet on steep hillsides and you can run into all of the local winemakers in the village's few cafés. It has a big city feel (okay, I’m kidding a bit)... its center is a crossroads and if you hang out there long enough everyone in town will pass by you. Monforte d’Alba has always been my favorite commune in Barolo. Yes, I like a lot of them, but Monforte d’Alba being more or less the center commune, it is my calibrating tool. The wines in general have more power than La Morra or Barolo and aren’t as earthy and gritty as Serralunga can often be. I visited Giovanni Manzone years ago and what I remember most about the visit was his gentle nature. You could tell by shaking his and that he worked in the countryside...the roughness reminded me a bit of Nebbiolo; it can be a bit rough too. Giovanni has some of the village’s premier Barolo Crus. The family started here back in 1925 and piece by piece added small patches. They now produce three different single vineyard bottlings: Bricat, Castelletto and Gramolere. The Nebbiolo, Il Crutin, reminds me a bit of Giovanni: placid, deep and real. It’s aged in 700-liter barrels for about six months before bottling. The wine is gorgeous--okay, 2015 is a sensational vintage, but this wine almost always thrills me with its aromatics. Did I mention 2015 is a sensational vintage? Okay, you’re going to love this wine’s supple character without giving up any Nebbiolo-ness. I’d drink it with Agnolotti dal Plin.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99

2012 Bodegas Muga "Selección Especial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 10-02-2018
The nose of this wine is full of ripe fruit with just a delicate nuance of oak, I’m really not a fan of the heavily American oaked Rioja but this isn’t like that at all. On the palate it has a certain density, while being lustrous, silky and has a polished feel to it, the flavors are dark fruit but lots of savory character as well. It has a fair amount of tannic structure but the polished nature makes it easier to drink.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 92

2015 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 10-02-2018
Year after year as these vines get older Giampaolo Motta’s vineyard work begins to stand out as the truly dynamic portion of this wine. The wine is a delicious blend of 60% Sangiovese, which gives the wine a structural backbone, 25% Merlot, which adds some meat, density and richness, with Cabernet Sauvignon lending authority and direction even at this small amount, while Alicante Bouschet adds some personality, spice and a little bit of nastiness—it kind of reminds me of Giampaolo—and it all seamlessly blends together. On top of this the 2015 vintage is truly stunning, the wine is dynamic, structured and drinking deliciously now.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-02-2018
I first tasted this wine last April at Vinitaly and was sold immediately just by the nose. It is full of crunchy cranberry, savory, smoky, black pepper, fresh herbs, layer after layer it just seems to go on and on. Yet this is a 12.5% abv wine, there’s no big, muscular density it just seems to float while still being vibrantly flavorful. On your palate the wine is supple, yet has a bit of tannin just to frame the flavors but oh is this wine gorgeous, just flavor after flavor of savory, spicy while still being elegant. Great lift in the finish the wine is fresh and easy, ready to be drunk now but you should drink it cellar temperature with a plate of speck or prosciutto!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo del Friuli
Review Date: 10-02-2018
The nose is full of quince and elderflower, delicate yet vibrant and draws you in with hints of more depth. On the palate the wine has more acidity and minerality than in previous vintages while not having lost any of the textural richness. The finish really displays the minerality and focus and there’s a lot of lift in the finish. For me having tasted every vintage of Blason Pinot Grigio since 2002 this is without a doubt the best version they have produced.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-19-2018
I think that the 2015 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino got a lot of attention last year because of a 95 point score in Decanter; I wondered why it took so long for wine writers to catch up, because it’s been that tremendous for some time. This vintage I think is maybe even better than the 2015, its nose always smells of sweet earth to me, savory, spicy a bit wild but never rambunctious always focused yet subtle. On the palate it isn’t a “big” wine yet it lacks nothing, supple, sinewy, long and surprisingly muscular while the wine smoothly flows across your tongue. The flavors are full of wild cherry, violet and lilac, hints of Tuscan brush all subtly blended into one flowing flavor. So well balanced an elegant, a wine that never pushes it just glides, I had a bottle of the 2002 last November (2002 was a terrible vintage) and I thought I’d made an error by leaving it so long, but it turned out to be incredible it was Brunello not Rosso (Baricci made Brunello in 2002 as well so it wasn’t declassified). This wine is just superb, I’m going to bury a case or two in my cellar, you should too, we just don’t get that much.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Hacienda Monasterio Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine says refined from the beginning, layers of mineral, sweet dark cherry, swirls of vanilla bound from the glass. On the palate you find this is a powerful wine, sweet, polished tannins roll across your tongue blossoming into lustrous rich fruit. I’m not a fan of American oak but this is all French oak and it really gives the wine a polish and elegance without becoming the dominant flavor. Full bodied and focused this wine gives you the best of Tempranillo while adding hints of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. I really liked this wine’s polish, focus and elegant flavors.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Emmanuel Darnaud "Les Trois Chenes" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine is powerful, dense yet aromatically open and fresher than I usually get for 100% Syrah based wines. On the palate the wine has power yet it isn’t clumsy or overly tannic it is remarkably balanced and open for a wine of this size and it shows a lot of secondary fruit complexity, earth, spice, pepper. Superb balance while showing a bit of tannin it is just a framework not obtrusive at all. I really liked this wine and will buy some for my cellar, I know… that’s a shocker, me and Syrah but this is sensational wine for the price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 VN 92

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose of this wine is more masculine than its non rosé counterpart, deeper, more complex, more savory flavors and there seems to be muscle lying underneath. On the palate the flavors broaden, show a bit of grip and depth while the more savory Pinot flavors come out. The finish is bold, a real rosé statement of power and flavor and shows a lifted finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
The nose on this wine is brilliant, clean and full of white flowers it is inviting, I was hooked from the get go. On the palate I’m always interested first in the balance and this wine’s balance is stunning, (I still can’t believe the price/quality) vibrant, long and remarkably persistent. The flavors pick up a bit of brioche to add to a focused, floral center. Long and complex finish this is a stunningly good bottle of wine for the price.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 Tenuta Roveglia Merlot
Review Date: 08-15-2018
The nose of this wine is savory, a mix of salted plums, dried cherries, hints of leather and dried herbs. On the palate the wine shows a richness that fills your mouth while still being focused, it isn’t fat, it’s just richly textured. The flavors develop showing more plum, cassis followed by a complex blend of savory herbs and bits of spice. While being a seemingly lowland wine it’s harvested in the first week of October allowing the grape to become physiologically ripe not just harvested on the sugar bloom. The finish shows more mineral and earth to go along with the rich but savory fruit and the stainless steel fermentation allows the earth and the fruit to come together without any oak getting in the way.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

2016 Substance "Sunset Vineyard" Columbia Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine was a complex blend of savory herbs coupled with fig, it’s not grassy at all and I find it quite intriguing and truthfully caught me a bit by surprise I was expecting something simpler. On the palate the wine has weight, depth and sorry, substance, showing a truly powerful presence, the flavor is once again more savory than fruity but a touch of Bergamot peel gives the wine even more intrigue. The finish is very lively; the wine has excellent acidity and great lift on the finish. The wine seems to show more terroir, more vineyard site than winemaking and I find it a remarkable wine, it really surprised me with its quality, complexity and balance for its weight.

El Rey Zapoteco Reposado Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this Mezcal is classic Agave but in a very restrained way, I’m used to the overly effusive smoky, herbaceous, campfire nose and those characters are here but not so over the top. On the palate those same flavors show similar restraint but with real definition. It’s very well balanced and a moderately proofed spirit so not too powerful. The finish is once again, focused, restrained yet full of flavor, this is a really solid Mezcal and a really good price too.
Price: Hidden View Price

2011 Roda I Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The nose of this wine is complex, layers of spice, plum and earth flow from the glass but you can tell it’s just a fraction of what’s under the surface. While sniffing the wine I was struck immediately by the lack of American Oak, it’s something I just can’t take and this wine uses all French Oak, and because of that you’re able to see much more of the wine and terroir than just the dill flavored American Oak. On the palate this wine is powerful, deeply textured and structured but never in a gritty or grippy way, just sweet tannins. The finish is telling me this is just the beginning, this is a wine that will have a long life and while you could drink it now the future is where this wine will blossom. Excellent wine.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
JS 98 DC 95

2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-09-2018
From their first vintage in 1893, Cantina Terlan’s over 100-year-old tradition of blending 60% Pinot Bianco, 30% Chardonnay and 10% Sauvignon Blanc has truly stood the test of time. The nose shows lots of floral aromatics; right now the Sauvignon shows a little more. On the palate the Pinot Bianco is the backbone of the wine, giving it the structure balance and longevity while the Chardonnay adds a supple layer of richness. Fermented in stainless, the wine is then aged 20% in large oak barrels and 80% in stainless for 6 months, then blended together. Exceptional palate presence and finish. The Terlaner Classic has become a staple here at K&L over the last couple of decades. You should give it a try.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 Vigneti Massa "Terra" (Piccolo Derthona) Timorasso Colli Tortonesi
Review Date: 08-08-2018
OK, I love Timorasso, it is such an incredible grape and offers so much it’s a shame it’s not known better. The Piccolo is the winery’s entry level and it shows lots of inviting Bartlett pear and stone fruit in the nose. On the palate it shows a bit softer edge, round, supple fruit marked by a vibrant central acidity bringing the flavor focus back to the center of your tongue, giving a long lasting finish that shows power and a bit of tannin. This wine would be perfect for a full fleshed fish like halibut or swordfish and at only 12.5% ABV it’s a delight. It’s also a perfect entry wine to understand Timorsasso before you move up the scale to the big boys!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 08-08-2018
Le Battistelle’s “Roccolo del Durlo” vineyard is the a mix of tufo, basalt and clay but is so dark locally it’s called “Le Carbonare” referring to the coal like color it has. Owner Gelmino dal Bosco took me out in this vineyard to show me a whole section of the vineyard that were vines more than 100 years old, incredible to look at but even harder to imagine. I love this wine, the nose is full of spice, white flower and in this vintage an array of stone fruits burst from your glass. On the palate it has depth, richness but this vintage shows an extra level of complex fruit, spice and flavor. The wine’s volcanic origins become readily apparent as the minerality and acidity come to the forefront, superb balance and length show up in a driving persistent finish. I bought a case of the 2013 and it’s just now showing the secondary and tertiary flavors. An unbelievable wine at this price point.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-08-2018
This is Pinot Noir; the nose is full of spicy, wild cherry, layers of an earthy complexity, coupled with dried flowers and hints of herbs. On the palate you can feel the 50% whole cluster fermentation; it adds a frame and focus to the wine letting its natural balance show. The flavors are wild cherry, violet, and show a hint of sauvage then the earthy, spiciness takes hold leaving a more savory character as the dominant personality. The finish is long, showing great balance and lift and the flavors carry on for some time. I’d want to match this wine with duck breast or wild fowl; it has the complexity but doesn’t have any extra fat to need anything bigger.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is bold, a really complex blend of spicy fruit intermingled with hints of leather and earth. On the palate the wine shows real depth while not being over-sized or thick, it shows great balance and a bit of grip. The flavors are a mix of crunchy, wild cherry with some savory earthy notes mixed in. The finish shows once again the wine’s excellent balance with wonderful lift on the back end. I usually find that $20 is the dividing line between Pinot Noir and wines labeled as Pinot Noir that are fine but don’t taste much like Pinot Noir, this wine has real character, depth and finish, a truly outstanding value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Altovinum Evodia Garnacha Calatayud
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose is full of a powerfully ripe blackberry, currant jam mix that is highlighted by some earthy, leathery, tarry scents. On the palate the wine has breadth; depth and those jammy, tarry aromas carry on into flavors. Texturally the wine is supple, soft and luscious and makes a bold statement in your mouth. If you like spicy BBQ ribs this might just be your wine.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis" Old Vines Montsant
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine shows focused fruit, less of the overtly effusive character this wine showed in the past. While there are arrays of fruit aromatics they seemed restrained while showing an assortment of fresh berries rather than any jammy notes. On the palate there is more evident tannin, focusing the textural experience onto the center of your tongue where it gives a more claret like expression. The flavors are restrained, fresher blackberry with a smidgen of leather and hints of wild herb. Overall this is a departure from the past for this wine, more in my palate direction, it seems less over the top fruity, more restrained and balanced.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 92 RP 90

2016 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is bold, toasty vanillin and almost makes me think of Rombauer. However on the palate the wine changes dramatically from my expectations. On the palate the wine shows more freshness and balance than the nose portrayed and hints of apple and spice poke through. The finish is long, intense and shows a lot of the toasty wood but this is no oaky fruit bomb this is a wine that has depth, balance and I think with a bit of age will reveal more underneath its vanilla toasted exterior. Currently a cocktail style wine but I’d like to see this wine again at the end of the year. It really surprised me.

2017 Margerum "Riviera" Central Coast Rosé
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine has a delicate cranberry character with the emphasis on delicate as everything in this wine is. At only 11.3% alcohol this is a delight to find in California, bright acidity, subtle flavors and light on the palate. Very refreshing, clean and bright with a tangy, crunchy finish. I liked this wine, balanced , easy to drink and I could see it as the perfect afternoon picnic wine.
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 92 W&S 90

2017 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 08-08-2018
The nose of this wine is really complex, spiced apple, stone fruits with hints of mineral. On the palate the wine is alive, lots of richness with incredibly zippy acidity that really balances out well. The flavors get more complex on the palate with more baked apple spices that emerge and the mineral presence becomes more dynamic. A long and intense finish (I can hardly believe I’m writing that but it really is) gives a vibrant and long aftertaste. I’ve known Peter Zemmer’s wines for a long time but I have to say this one caught me by surprise, it was outstanding, even more so for the price.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The nose of this wine shows delicate hints of white flowers followed by a touch of brioche like complexity, intriguingly delicate aromatics for a fairly ripe vintage. On the palate the wine has incredible acidity giving its center the focus of the wine while the brioche flavors expand and show hints of bergamot and white flowers. The finish is incredibly long and nuanced and shows this wine is just an infant. The wine has very good weight but the acidity gives the wine a really dry character. I’d suggest a couple of years in the cellar or if you’re anxious now try some fresh oysters.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The nose is full of white peach, linden blossom that then becomes very savory followed by bits of candied ginger. On the palate this wine shows its searing palate presence, and then a saline sensation interspersed with crushed stone dominates your palate quickly followed by delicate hints of stone fruit and fresh herbs that are the first flavors in this bone dry bubbly. Lingering on your palate the white peach begins to flesh out and widen becoming the dominate flavor. The wine’s structure is belied by a delicate mousse, it’s a powerful Prosecco who’s mineral driven core sets the stage for what I feel is the top Cartizze made. Oysters, or if you happen to be in LA you can go to Angelini’s on Beverly and have the Linguine with Santa Barbara Sea Urchin…I died and went to Heaven.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2013 Banfi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The company that made Brunello famous, the Mariani family, since purchasing Banfi in 1978 have made Brunello a household word. This is their classic restaurant-friendly example, with lots of soft, forward fruit and a bit of tannic structure in this vintage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Banfi "Poggio alle Mura" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The nose is full of pure, elegant wild cherry backed up by a flow of umami like flavors dominated by salted plums. On the palate the wine is warmer, suppler, with rounded edges but also a core of Sangiovese purity that holds the center together and bonds the flavor. The finish shows a bit of tannin, a sign of the vintage and an intriguing, savory finish, excellent wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 91

2016 Poderi Colla "Pian Balbo" Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 08-01-2018
manually harvested in mid September, fermented in stainless steel for 5-7 days and is 100% Dolcetto. This vintage shows a bit different than what I find the wines normal profile to be, this vintage the fruit character is more present and the nose is full of intense fruit, it just bursts out of your glass loads of brambly berry aromatics coupled with hints of earth. On your palate this wine shows a saturated flavor of dark berry and hints of woodsy complexity, you can sense the weight and density while the tannins frame the experience. The finish is powerful and the classic Dolcetto tannins emerge and leave a focused finish.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99
VN 91

2016 Domaine de Verquière Vacqueyras
Review Date: 07-31-2018
I’m in love with this wine from the first sniff, some much complexity, an intriguing mix of dark fruits; smoke and earth just thrill you. On the palate you can feel the sun’s rays invigorating the grapes, not making them sweet but making them complete, the texture is faceted not smooth and luxurious this wine has character, it tastes like wine to me, it’s the kind of wine I love. The finish shows spice, blackberry, intrigue and a long lasting reminder of this wine’s origins. This will go into my cellar.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 89 - 92

2016 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-31-2018
A decade from now you’ll speak of the great Montalcino vintages 2010, 2015 and yes 2016, many producers have told me and I’ve tasted wines they say they are the best they’ve made and the 2016 Villa Poggio Salvi Rosso di Montalcino is a really dynamite wine. The nose is full of dark cherry fruits with a ripe plum component while showing hints of Tuscan brush and leather. On the palate the wine has real weight, depth and concentration of flavors, supple yet framed by polished tannins the wine gives you a real sense of depth and complexity. The finish is balanced, long and shows a bit of the tannic framework that gives the wine its real character. Easy enough to drink on its own this wine will serve you best while you have a fork in your other hand, try it with grilled meats or your favorite pasta Bolognese recipe.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Villa Poggio Salvi "Caspagnolo" Chianti Colli Senesi
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of this wine shows a deep, plumy character, segueing into lots of dark fruit and hints of earth and spice. On the palate this wine’s depth will make you look twice this is not your ordinary Chianti at this price. The flavors are a complex compote of plum, spiced cherries, earth, hints of smoke and a bit of garrique. The finish shows a supple density that is balanced with hints of polished tannins, long, long finish, this is a real bargain.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 90 WS 90

Cutty Sark "Prohibition Edition" Blended Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of this spirit is layered, shows hints of smoke, herb and a bite of the sea, you’d think I was tasting and Islay single malt but no this is a blend! On the palate the smoke joins with an almost oily texture showing the depth and power of this blended Scotch. Excellent palate presence and balance and with the 100 proof character I’d like one of those big, fat ice cubes to slowly melt the proof down to my comfort level. What! I just saw the price, this is ridiculous quality for this price point, if you’re a Scotch fan at any level you owe it to yourself to try this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WA 90 WE 90

2008 Nicolas Feuillatte Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose of the 2008 vintage Feuillatte shows the intensity and depth of this superb vintage, it emanates power and shows of a complex baked apple scent. On the palate you can immediately sense this is a bigger wine, more depth and texture while is still has superb lift and balance. The flavors are a mélange of baked apple skins and brioche nicely integrated into the wine. The finish is focused and has excellent balance while showing potential for aging for 3-5 more years.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2013 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The nose is full with layers of wild cherry and dense dark fruit while porcini, saddle leather adds to the complexity. On the palate this wine is a blockbuster, powerful, structured yet the fruit richness is still the dominant character as once again the wild cherry and porcini emerge. A long, powerful finish, balance and structured gives this wine a superb life ahead. Tiny Poggiarellino is one of Montalcino’s best-kept secrets, we discovered them in the 2000 vintage and ever since they’ve been a dominant presence at K&L..
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$29.99
WE 93

Page: 1 2 3 next