Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2018 Markus Prackwieser Gump Hof "Mediaevum" Vernatsch Südtirol Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-08-2020
One of my favorite varietals (thank you, Kirk Walker) is Schiava (aka Vernatsch). The 2018 Prackwieser Gump Hof “Mediaevum” is full of crunchy cranberry, savory, smoky, black pepper, and fresh herbs. Layer after layer, it just seems to go on and on. On your palate, the wine is supple, yet has a bit of tannin just to frame it, followed by a savory, spicy, black pepper-filled palate. Drink it cellar temperature with some prosciutto, and you’ll love it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Markus Prackwieser Gump Hof "Praesulis" Weissburgunder Südtirol Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-08-2020
When I ask most Italian producers what their best wine is, where they make both Chardonnay and Pinot Bianco, they almost always say Pinot Bianco—it really produces spectacular, un-oaked wines. An excellent example, this 2018 Prackwieser shows elderflower and bergamot aromatics in a powerful and creamy complexity.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cantina Valle Isarco "Aristos" Kerner
Review Date: 08-08-2020
A long time ago, one of my colleagues expressed dismay that we didn’t carry any Kerner. Most I had tried at that time were flabby, or sweet, and German, but he suggested I try one from this winery. And we’ve had it ever since. The nose on the 2018 Cantina Valle Isarco Aristos is striking, almost tropical. There is a haunting, inviting richness that beckons you to try it. On the palate, the wine has incredible weight, yet it’s buoyed by exceptional acidity. Perfect for spicier dishes, or, if you are looking for the weight and texture of Chardonnay (without the wood), this Kerner is for you!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-08-2020
Last September, I visited with Peter Zemmer and tried his entire portfolio of wines. The tasting was an eye-opener, and we’ve had an array of his wines ever since. But for a shelter-in-place everyday white wine, the 2018 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio is hard to beat. I’m not a huge fan of Pinot Grigio in general (probably because I taste an ocean of over-cropped and simplistic versions) but this wine is superb. It has the characteristic fuller body of good Pinot Grigio, but also seams of ripe pear and elderflower in the nose, and an excellent acidic balance.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Barale Fratelli Barolo
Review Date: 08-08-2020
This wine is the textbook definition for Barolo. The nose shows hints of smoke and dried rose aromatics, followed by hints of wild cherry. On your palate, the wine has weight and depth, while darker fruits come forward—but this 2016 vintage adds another dimension of power. It’s still supple and graceful, but you know you are in the presence of power.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale Langhe Nebbiolo
Review Date: 08-08-2020
The nose of this Nebbiolo says earth, smoke, and leather, with bits of sweet, dark fruit, all swirling toward you out of the glass. On the palate, the wine is supple and broad, with a bit of tannic structure that enlivens your mouth. The flavors are earthy, with hints of leather, but also vibrant, with hints of the classic tar and roses signature of Nebbiolo. Try it with a wild mushroom pappardelle!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale "Castlé" Barbera d'Alba Superiore
Review Date: 08-08-2020
The aromatics of this wine are tremendous: so pure, tight; just dark cherry fruit spiraling out of the glass. On the palate, it has weight and a flowing lushness, but it’s classic Barbera, having that archetypal acidity that lengthens as well as freshens the wine. The finish is vibrant, lifting, and extremely focused A perfect accompaniment to rich pasta dishes or roast pork dishes.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale "Le Rose" Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 08-08-2020
I am in love with the wines from Barale. It is not just the classic label or the outstanding pricing, it’s the purity of the wines, a classic statement of place over winemaking. You could say the Barale wines are simple, and you would be correct. They do not try to be anything other than what they are: a reflection of their soil and the vintage. Simply classic.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 I Cacciagalli "Phos" Aglianico Roccamonfina
Review Date: 08-08-2020
In the shadow of the extinct Roccamonfina volcano, the 2017 I Cacciagalli “Phos” was something new for me. I am not usually a big fan of the tannins in Aglianico, but this wine is different. It’s made in amphorae, with wild yeasts, and a prolonged skin contact. The winemakers have tamed the powerful tannins (they are still there) while getting power and depth in a very drinkable Aglianico, which shows incredibly complex flavors without any wood aging. It really is intriguing.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Marisa Cuomo "Furore Bianco" Costa d'Amalfi
Review Date: 08-08-2020
Many of you might be familiar with Marisa’s other 60% Falanghina and 40% Biancolella blend from the village of Ravello. This Furore version is from a few miles west. All stainless-steel fermented, grown at 600–1,800 feet, and harvested in the beginning of October, it shows more richness than the Ravello, yet still has exquisite balance, and shows off waves of flavor full of ripe pear, herbal tea, and lemon verbena, all in a complex, savory swirl.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuligni Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 08-08-2020
If you would like to taste the wines of Fuligni without spending top dollar, their Rosso di Montalcino is an ideal place to start. But for the other side of the story, try this 2013 Brunello di Montalcino Riserva, a truly majestic wine. It’s a little less obviously muscled, and a bit more coy, yet has the same flavor profile. The wine is lilting on the palate, supple, and complex. I love this one, too.

2017 Fuligni "Ginestreto" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-08-2020
If you would like to taste the wines of Fuligni without spending top dollar, their Rosso di Montalcino is an ideal place to start. Here are the same inviting aromatics of wild cherry, with a bit more freshness, and it’s ready to drink.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fuligni Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-08-2020
In this stupendous vintage, the 2015 Fuligni Brunello is amazing. The nose of this wine is warm and inviting, with waves of rose petal, wild cherry, and ripe plum. On the palate, there is a supple warmth that envelops your attention; and while the fruit is ever-present, a savory, umami-like complexity fills your mouth, followed by hints of leather, Tuscan brush, and porcini. The finish is powerful—the wine seems to bulk up, almost like it’s flexing its muscles, yet it still has lift on the back palate. An amazing wine with a long life ahead of it.

2018 Marotti Campi "Luzano" Verdicchio Castelli di Jesi Superiore
Review Date: 08-08-2020
One whiff of the nose of this wine and you will be hooked. It’s so inviting, full of ripe pears, lemon verbena, and hints of pistachio. On the palate, this wine has weight and density that gives it size and determination, filling your mouth with richness, accented by a vibrant acidity that cleans and lifts off your palate. The finish is superb, and beckons you back for sip after sip. I simply love this wine.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Argiano "Solengo" Toscana
Review Date: 08-08-2020
A Super Tuscan from Montalcino’s western slope, this blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Petit Verdot, Merlot, and Sangiovese is aged in barrique. For you lovers of big, rich California red blends, this is your wine—powerful yet supple, and immediately drinkable, it just flows across your palate, creating a sensual delight. The finish shows hints of Argiano’s terroir of warm sun and wild brush, but the density is buoyed by a chocolaty lushness, and freshness.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2018 Marchesi di Gresy Barbera d'Asti
Review Date: 08-08-2020
I had this wine last September at the winery, and was so blown away by the archetypal character of this Barbera, I had to convince the California importer to bring it in for us. The nose is incredibly pure: violet, plums, and hints of Middle Eastern spices. On the palate, Barbera’s classic acidity freshens and lifts the wine, and while it still has weight and depth, it is classically fresh and elegant.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona "Pianrosso" Brunello di Montalcino 6-Pack
Review Date: 07-18-2020
The nose of this wine is warm, broad and flows from the glass with ease, it is filled with ripe plum, wild cherry hints of smoke, porcini mushrooms and is like a warm, gentle breeze. On the palate once again the plum and wild cherry rise to the front but deepen their power making them more intense and delineated. This wine carries powerful structure beneath the surface it is just sheathed in a supple richness that makes it a pleasure to drink now but it has a long life ahead.

2015 Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona "Pianrosso" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-18-2020
The nose of this wine is warm, broad and flows from the glass with ease, it is filled with ripe plum, wild cherry hints of smoke, porcini mushrooms and is like a warm, gentle breeze. On the palate once again the plum and wild cherry rise to the front but deepen their power making them more intense and delineated. This wine carries powerful structure beneath the surface it is just sheathed in a supple richness that makes it a pleasure to drink now but it has a long life ahead.

2017 Farnetella "Lucilla" Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 07-17-2020
The nose of this wine is complex it is loaded with ripe plum accented with wild cherry and then followed by leather, porcini and Tuscan brush. On the palate you can sense this is a wine of weight and density, it has structure and will have an ability to age. I tasted this wine over the course of three days and it seemed to get better daily, the fruit expanding and the earthy notes becoming more background. The wine also showed real length, with a lively finish. If you're looking at the price of this wine you might be a bit fooled, yes this is rather inexpensive for the more expensive description I have written but this is the one you want to buy several cases of, it is a steal, and absolute steal at this price. Enjoy...
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-16-2020
The nose of this wine is intense: it speaks of the land, the savory complexity of Tuscan brush, the mineral soil, and wild cherries and salted plums. On the palate, the wine shows structure, balance, and length, while enticing you to take another sip—and another. It is just delicious: waves of earthy complexity, followed by wild fruit, umami intrigue, and bits of leather in the finish. The finish is long, superbly balanced, with one of the most lifting finishes I’ve had in a while. This is the best Castiglion del Bosco Brunello I have ever had. It’s sensational, and I would rather have this wine than the single vineyard expression. It is just delicious.

2015 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-12-2020
Whenever I am in Montalcino I make a stop at Costanti, as I use their wines as a guide to the vintage for all of Montalcino. The Consorzio even monitors one of their vineyards for the same reason—I’ll have to keep better secrets. Andrea Costanti is a purist, and I find that his wines are some of the most classically styled and flavored in Montalcino. When I tasted Andrea’s 2015 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino, I was blown away. I tasted the Riserva as well, and these wines are absolutely amazing. Just to be clear, they are over 15% abv—I only mention this because he just got 98 points from Wine Enthusiast, whose critic mentioned this was a problem in the vintage. Well, I guess it can’t be too much of a problem—or maybe it kept him from getting 100 points! Andrea’s wines are usually destined for the cellar upon release, but this vintage is so good you can drink it now. (Greg St. Clair, K&L Italian wine buyer)
Price: $94.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castelli Martinozzi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-08-2020
This is beautiful,the nose was full of dark Marasca cherry with hints of Tuscan brush (garrigue in French) and middle eastern spice, it has a long, linear feel to it, very supple, round and smooth, the same dark cherry character leads the way on the tongue with a sultry, savory character. The wine shows excellent balance, a long and an elegant finish that goes on and on. This is a super value wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Lazzeretti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-22-2020
The nose of this wine is deeply scented with ripe plums, chocolate and accented with dried Mediterranean herbs. On the palate there is an explosion of fruit flavors that just jump off your tongue. Wave after wave of dense, dark flavors flow through the mouth in a supple, fleshy richness that shows lots of weight and density. The finish, for such a supple, smooth, rich wine is surprisingly long and balanced that seems to keep stretching out the finish after every sip. This is the best Lazzeretti Brunello I’ve ever tasted they are on Montalcino’s east side and not far from La Fortuna.

2015 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-18-2020
The nose of this wine is bold, saturated, bursting with savory wild cherry, salted plums, mushroom, leather that seem to say power incarnate but in a restrained, country gentleman manner. On the palate the density of the 2015 vintage takes over it is discreet power; it is full yet never heavy it just shows a subtle energy. The flavors show Poggiarellino’s trademark Marasca cherry that emerge from a pool of plumy depth. Hints of cola, leather, wild herbs segue across your tongue while the wines central backbone is always apparent gentle hints of tannin only emerge in the end. The finish replays lots of the Marasca cherry, with subtle earthy spice lingering on for some time. A long life ahead for this wine that will really begin to open in 2025 but is delicious now.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fattoria dei Barbi "Vigna del Fiore" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-14-2020
The nose of this wine envelops you in a wave of deep, plum aromatics that are spiced with Marasca cherry and hints of sandalwood and sage. On the palate the density of this vintage is truly present, and while you could use the word "rich," for me, that conjures more of an amorphous, thick sweetness, none of which are present in this wine. This wine stands up on your palate, is focused, with great length, and has great lift in the finish. This is the best Vigna del Fiore that I have had to date, and it’s destined for a long life if you have the patience to wait! The first winery I ever visited in Montalcino was Fattoria dei Barbi, so I've always had a fond spot in my heart for them — not just for the nostalgia, but because they were one of Montalcino’s oldest wineries and carried that classic flavor and structure as their style. That was in 1982. A lot has happened since then, like better agricultural practices, and some slight changes in the winemaking, but all in all, Fattoria dei Barbi still stands for me as one of the classics in Montalcino — especially in this vintage.

2016 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 05-31-2020
The nose of this wine is truly classic, waves of rose, truffle, smoke and earth effortlessly drift from your glass. On the palate it immediately shows you why 2016 is such a standout vintage, the focus, depth of flavors, body and lift all say WOW this is really something. The flavors echo bits of the nose but show a plumy richness as the texture spreads across your mouth, then once again the classic tar and rose flavors develop with a deepening intensity. The finish shows balance, tannin, fruit, spice and an excellent lift. The tannins are present (this is Barolo) but so well balanced you can drink this wine now but it will age for another 10-15 years easily.

2015 Castello di Banfi Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-27-2020
The nose of this wine full of rich plumy fruit spiced with wild strawberry, slight vanilla toast and hints of Tuscan brush. On the palate this wine is immediately accessible, the texture draws you in and then expands across your tongue in a series of fruits and then savory flavors. The plumy, strawberry character drifts to the back and more earth, spices, orange peel and then tar. The overall presence on your palate is pleasing, no aggressive tannins or high acidity just easy drinking balance. The weight or density in this wine shows off the vintage yet at the same can be elegant and even lifting on the back palate. A well-priced example from one of Montalcino’s most important producers.

2015 Castello di Banfi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-27-2020
The nose of this wine full of rich plumy fruit spiced with wild strawberry, slight vanilla toast and hints of Tuscan brush. On the palate this wine is immediately accessible, the texture draws you in and then expands across your tongue in a series of fruits and then savory flavors. The plumy, strawberry character drifts to the back and more earth, spices, orange peel and then tar. The overall presence on your palate is pleasing, no aggressive tannins or high acidity just easy drinking balance. The weight or density in this wine shows off the vintage yet at the same can be elegant and even lifting on the back palate. A well-priced example from one of Montalcino’s most important producers.

Canard-Duchêne Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2020
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Rich, complex, with great central focus, a hint of biscuity aromatic, broad and supple on the palate this wine really gives you a sense of weight and concentration while still being light on its feet! At this price an outrageous steal!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 San Polino "Helichrysum" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-17-2020
I tasted this wine in February at the estate and I must say I was simply blown away; this is the best San Polino Helichrysum to date. The nose of this wine is penetrating, layers of wild cherry, forest strawberries, salted plums with hints of wild herbs. On the palate the wine shows the richness of this vintage a supple sweetness of flavor (I struggle writing that word because the wine has no hint of sweetness) that gives richness without fat, it is just another layer of density. The wine is extraordinarily well balanced is seems just effortlessly floating on your tongue. Yet that would infer some delicate wine and this wine is powerful, really powerful, it just has a depth and a long future. I personally bought six bottles I was sooo impressed by this wine, it’s sensational.

2017 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 05-14-2020
I love Verdicchio (Lugana it turns out is made from the same grape and yes, I love those as well), and I especially love the Matelica zone for Verdicchio. This lifted Appenine valley transforms the grape into something extraordinary. The long hang time, with late October harvesting, really allows this grape to reach its full phenolic potential. Often we think of ripeness as a sugar level, especially here in California. That’s just the alcohol potential; the flavor component comes from the phenolic ripeness and as a wine ages it’s that portion that begins to show the depth it can attain. Not too long ago I brought in a few bottles of my 2012 to taste side by side with this 2017 to show everyone what this wine could do. To see the expressions on their faces was priceless. They wouldn’t have believed me without tasting it. Trust me on this one and stock up!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Altesino "Montosoli" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-11-2020
This is the finest Montosoli Brunello I have ever tasted from Altesino, the nose is full of wild cherry, spice and a touch of Tuscan brush. On the palate the wine shows weight, richness but with a vertical acidic structure that stretches it out over your tongue. Outstanding balance, focus and a super long finish, if you've ever been a fan before this is the vintage to buy!

2016 Querciabella "Mongrana" Toscana
Review Date: 03-26-2020
The nose of this wine is floral, aromatic with an underlying sauvage layer. On the palate it shows extraordinary balance, depth and a structural elegance that a wine for this price you just don’t see. The flavors expand across your tongue showing wild cherry, plum, hints of cassis accented with wild herbs and lilacs. Supple, polished, sleek with a weight and a certain regal nature about it, this is an excellent wine and the product of the truly special 2016 vintage.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 02-11-2020
The nose of this wine is so inviting, it is filled with an aromatic that combines stone fruit, lavender with seemingly a textural component in the nose. It fills the air around you not with a floral component but a heady, musky almost humid richness. On the palate you see the wine is full immediately, all stainless steel but there’s a richness that gives creaminess to the wine that is ultra-pleasing to the palate. The acidic balance of this wine is perfect along with hints of minerality to lift it on the end of the palate. The flavors are a bit of peach, nectarine and pear subtle, but substantive highlighted with dried white flowers. The finish is long lasting and replays the wine’s richness, complex stone fruits all lifted to an excellent finish in a word irresistible.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2016 Casino di Sala "Rosso dei Tatanni" Toscano
Review Date: 01-28-2020
The nose of this wine says power, it’s dense, full of cedar, graphite and spice. On the palate this wine shows great length, balance and a real depth of flavor, it has good tannin structure, but the tannins lay against the acidic structure lengthening those into supple, powerful, support. The center palate shows a sweet, rich center that is full of wild cherry compote laced with cedar, middle eastern spice and earth. The finish is long, driving and replaying the same flavors but all coiled together into a wine showing long-term potential. Awesome price to value ratio. 100% Sangiovese from Panzano, made by La Massa for their Neapolitan neighbors.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Bullnose" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine was scintillating…and I don’t use that word for New World Syrah wines very often, in fact I think never. Waves of coffee, chocolate, cassis and combine with the subtlest of sweet oak (and I’m very sensitive to oak) while still showing hints of spice and earth. On the palate the wine is so well balanced, rich, polished and ultrafine tannins to give it an extraordinarily smooth presence. The wine has so many different flavors but seem to combine into one, so it is its own flavor rather than a combination and it is delicious. Long, lifting finish, richly textured so supple and easy yet a certain tensile strength to it…it is really wonderful.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Bonneveau" Saint-Joseph
Review Date: 01-21-2020
There's so much elegance in this nose, it just says balance from the get go, it's got an overall savory character, more umami than outright fruit. On the palate once again it's balance, elegance and then what I really appreciate in Syrah based wines is lift, that buoyant character that makes the wine stand-up and standout. It's almost as if you can feel the sunlight, the purity of the flavors more flavor facets than roundness that add to the complexity. Certainly my favorite of the Ferraton's I tried, I look forward to drinking this in the coming years.

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Les Picheres" Crozes-Hermitage Rouge
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine tells you it is Syrah, but it's whispered until it hits your palate, then you know it's Syrah. On the palate there's a bit of grip and grit, slightly rough and tumble. There's lots of wine lurking in the background for the patient.

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu-Dit Patou" Cornas
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine gives me the sense of darkness, it's brooding bass notes, a cauldron of boiling tar accented with hints of spice. On the palate this wine shows lots of structure, and a bit of grit. The finish boils up the dense tar and repeats the spicy notes and the tannins let you know this is a wine for your cellar...but it will reward your aging.

2018 Cantina Terlano Terlaner Cuvée Alto Adige
Review Date: 12-03-2019
From their first vintage in 1893, Cantina Terlan’s over 100-year-old tradition of blending 60% Pinot Bianco, 30% Chardonnay and 10% Sauvignon Blanc has truly stood the test of time. The nose shows lots of floral aromatics; right now the Sauvignon shows a little more. On the palate the Pinot Bianco is the backbone of the wine, giving it the structure balance and longevity while the Chardonnay adds a supple layer of richness. Fermented in stainless, the wine is then aged 20% in large oak barrels and 80% in stainless for 6 months, then blended together. Exceptional palate presence and finish. The Terlaner Classic has become a staple here at K&L over the last couple of decades. You should give it a try.

2017 Nor'Wester by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-03-2019
.The nose of this wine shows some serious quality fruit, bright while still showing depth. On the palate this wine shows weight and a bit of stemmy grip to give the wine some structure and resonance. The finish is a bit condensed but still shows lots of character for a wine of this price-point carrying through a lot of fruit and earth

Alvear "1927" Pedro Ximenez Solera Montilla-Moriles (375ml)
Review Date: 10-01-2019
I have to admit I generally am not a fan of Pedro Ximenez the molasses like syrupy nature is just not for me, yet I was incredibly surprised by this wine, it is sensational. The nose if full of hazelnuts and honey it shows extraordinarily well balanced just from that. On the palate the wine has real weight but it’s not like a couple of 40lb. dumbbells on your tongue it’s got focus a center that is wrapped in a luscious texture, this isn’t a “lean” wine it is bold and rich. The flavors for me are what really separate this wine instead of the prune like molasses character I’ve been used to this is toasted hazelnuts, so perfectly balanced with the sweetness I can’t stop wanting to drink this wine. Give this a try, it is a really great dessert wine.

2016 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 10-01-2019
Matelica is my favorite DOC for Verdicchio, the inland Apennine valley full of marine sediments that has a true continental climate and always gives wines with verve, bright burst and...richness. The nose of 2016 Monacesca Riserva Mirum is full of spice and ripe stone fruit, layered and flowing. On the palate the richness of the vintage is obvious, but the balance of this wine is what is so evident, focused brightness encased in a supple, texture filled body. What makes this wine so unique is that it isn’t harvested until the third week of October this allows the grapes to achieve total physiological ripeness of flavor without losing balance. That leads to the deeper aromatics, that show more complete flavors, less green and more complex fruit on the palate. A very long and vibrant finish continues and on. The amazing thing is that even with the ripeness this wine has great acidity and real aging ability. Superb drinking now, I love this wine with Halibut or Sea Bass.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-23-2019
This has the classic Sesta di Sopra nose of earth, sage, and leather, with hints of complex earth, stone, and plum notes. It is a supple, aromatic, pretty wine, lively on the palate, that has weight and persistence. If you’re in Montalcino, it’d be a perfect match for your lunch or dinner, which undoubtedly would include wild boar.

2016 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 07-30-2019
The nose of this wine is focused, layered and shows lots of complex herb, wild brush, leather and rosemary but behind that is a core of intense fruit. On the palate the wine shows structure, balance and excellent length. The hallmark of the 2016 vintage is a concentrated center and it is readily evident here adding a real depth and intensity. The flavors show a savory aspect more than a fruit forward character adding in that umami like soy, mushroom and salty tang while the fruit comes up in the back. While this wine sounds like it’s big and bold it is exceptionally well balanced and while it does have size it is so in harmony that you can drink it now or age it for another 7-10 years. This is the best La Massa that I’ve had, powerful, supple, smooth tannins, very complex this is one to stock up on. Bravo Gianpaolo!

2014 Leeuwin "Art Series" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-23-2019
This is a fascinating wine. The nose was wildly aromatic, full of tar, spice, igneous intrigue with wild brush and some deep, brooding, unspecified, dark fruit. I know that sounds a bit mysterious, and maybe even hard to understand, but it was really fascinating--maybe just not what you might be expecting from a Cabernet. On the palate the wine was supple and perhaps a little less mysterious, it showed good weight and savory components, definitely not a fruit bomb. The finish was long, buoyant and had submerged tannins creeping in on the end. A really fascinating wine you should try.

2017 Seabold Cellars "Olson Vineyard" Monterey Chardonnay
Review Date: 07-02-2019
The nose of this wine is full of spicy barrel toast, refreshingly not overwrought while on the palate the flavors show freshly baked apple, with a judicious amount of sweet toasty flavors. There's very crisp acidity in this wine and the body is actually fairly elegant, no extra weight or fat. Very bright finish with a refreshing lift.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-19-2019
The nose if full of wet stone, earth and stem with hints of spicy fruit coming in behind. On the palate the wine shows a medium structure and is a bit tart, but eventually opens and shows some weight. A long coiled finish shows lots of savory flavors.

San Venanzio Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-17-2018
The nose is full of ripe, melony fruit with more behind it than simple fruit, it has complexity there’s depth to the aromatics. On the palate the wine is broad, supple and for fans of rich California Chardonnay you’ll be thrilled, but for folks like me who want more balance and freshness the wine has that as well, it’s really well done and there’s no obvious remaining oak signature. The Viognier, Roussane and Grenache Blanc is not your everyday blend and for me and I had trouble at first categorizing the wine so that I could professionally think about it. The key to this wine is not to think about it, it will come to you after a while and it is just a real pleasure to drink. Easy enough to cocktail or if you have a fish dish that has a spicy vegetable medley to go with it this is your wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Greg St. Clair is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Greg St. Clair, click here to join Greg St. Clair's Personal Sommelier Service.
2005 La Gerla Brunello di Montalcino ($59.99)