Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: << prev 3 4 5 6 next
Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-15-2014
This rich, layered whisky shows just how good young craft malt can be. I am not a believer in paying a high price for young stuff just because it comes from a small hands-on distillery. It has to be in the bottle, and the Cut Spike has the stuffing to justify the price. It is rich and textural without being over the top, and has layers of complexity that caught me by surprise. If you are interested in seeing how good a new distiller can be, check it out!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1994 Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-04-2014
Cinnamon and I enjoyed this claret last night with a ribeye steak and potatoes. Cinnamon decided to be avant-garde on this occasion, and instead of peas or green beans served pan seared padron peppers. We put a touch of truffle salt on the steaks after cooking them, and the meal turned out very nicely. How did the Gruaud work? It was predictably great with the food. This 1994 has the poise and power of a great vintage at 20 years old, and seems to just be hitting its stride. It has a huge amount of pure, dark cassis fruit, integrated but very present tannins, and lots of electricity on the long, mineral laden finish. It took discipline for me not to hog the bottle, but it was too good not to share fairly with Cinnamon!
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2005 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 07-23-2014
I love it when a producer does the aging for me! This 2005 Baron Louis from Chateau De Montfaucon has a lovely, developed bouquet of cool black fruit and seamless texture that only comes with the passage of time. The wine still has plenty of size and life, and would be great with your next tri-tip grill up!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Lot 40 Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
Great rye whiskey is not easy to come by at any price and great Canadian rye is even harder to find. This Lot 40 is clearly the best rye in the store and one of the best that I have tasted in a decade. With a wonderful bouquet of Christmas spice and a complex array of flavors, this Canadian will please the pickiest of whiskey fans. The fact that it still comes across as easy going and moreish even with the wild rye flavor and layers of complexity made a big impression on me. I will make room in my cabinet!
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

2011 Graham's Vintage Port (375ml)
Review Date: 01-08-2014
What a classic! This great vintage port is a must for anyone who has an anniversary or child born in 2011. It not only has the classic black fruit sweetness of Graham, but layers of Spanish root complexity. I found this 2011 to have both the richness of the vintage and the great vinous character of the very best of wines. This will be a great one for the future, with grip, acidity and length for the ages!

Glenmorangie 18 year old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2013
If you are a fan of single malt, this whisky should not be overlooked. We tasted this blind at our staff spirits tasting and it impressed me with its sweet and savory nuttiness, rich oily texture and long, polished finish. This is top notch unpeated whisky that will please the connoisseur without alienating the initiated.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Michel Arnould Verzenay Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-09-2013
Last night, Cinnamon and I had such a great experinece with our sushi and Chamapgne that I had to write about it. The Arnould started off on the austere side before the first bite of food, but with the sushi it was magic. It did particularly well with the ultra rich Akasaka roll, providing a clean foil to the deep fried tempura shrimp, eel and avocado bonanza. The fish brought out the hazelnut character that makes Champagne from this north facing cru so special and the completely dry finish refreshed the palate with every sip. This is going to be a repeat bottle with sushi for sure!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve "Small Batch" 10 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2013
My Bourbon of choice for sipping after dinner, the 10 Year Old Small Batch from Jimmy Russell is one of the great values in our extensive collection. The high toned savory rye flavors balance the sweetness of the corn to make this one of the most grown up, focused Bourbon's that we have at any price. I am never without a bottle in my liquor cabinet!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Wild Turkey 101 Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2013
The best value in Bourbon might be the best value in any spirit! If you haven't had this in a while, you owe it to yourself to pick up a bottle, you will not be disappointed. This spicy whiskey has plenty of sweet corn bread aromatics and flavors and a full rich texture. This is my go-to Bourbon for all of my drinks, and great neat as well. Don't count out the kick'n chicken!
Top Value!
Price: $20.99 Add To Cart

1995 Joël Taluau "Vieilles Vignes" Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 09-27-2013
This is a lovely, mature bottle of wine that still has plenty of vivacious refreshment left in it! Cinnamon and I had it last night with French onion soup, and this light bodied, aromatic red was perfect for the bistro fare. The 1995 Joel Taluau is classic St Nicolas De Bourgueil with plenty of green olive and herbs on the nose and great almost carnation-like earthiness in the mouth. The tannin is completely resolved, and the wine finishes fresh!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Vilmart "Cuvée Grand Cellier" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-03-2013
This barrel fermented Champagne always satisfies me when I want Champagne that is rich and complex. I love the grand scale of the Grand Cellier, a trait that Vilmart always delivers. I need to drink more of this!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WS 93 BH 92

Laurent-Perrier Ultra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-17-2013
The ultimate sushi Champagne! The Laurent Perrier Ultra Brut is quite austere Champagne, even though it was aged for over 10 years on the lees, but it comes alive when paired with raw fish. The precision of this wine will thrill you with everything from toro to unagi. Try it out, you won't be disappointed.

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Reserve Speciale #20 Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2013
If you love great Cognac and don't need a famous name on the label, the Reserve Speciale 20 from Ragnaud Sabourin is one of the most compelling deals in the store. Worthy of the most special occasions, this has depth of fruit, lovely French vanilla and spice as well as an ease of drinking and balance usually only found at double the price.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

Chateau de Pellehaut "K&L Exclusive - L'Age de Glace" Ténarèze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2013
This brand new bottling from Chateau De Pellehaut is guaranteed to get the creative juices flowing of all of our cocktail loving customers. The l'Age Des Glace is a light bodied, very well balanced brandy that I can't wait to get home and use for a French 75. I found it very enjoyable and laid back without it losing its uniquely Armagnac personality. Now I need to make more room in the liquor cabinet!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-20-2013
I drank this fantastic Champagne on my birthday on Tomales bay - eating oysters’ right out of the beds where they grew, and I drank it out of magnum with caviar on New Years Eve 2008/2009. This wine is very worthy of the most special occasions despite its reasonable price; it is silky yet bracing, complex yet gulpable - it really has it all. It is a truly affordable luxury!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-19-2013
One of the top wines tasted on my April trip was the 2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne which is a new disgorgement. This current batch has four more years on the lees than the first bottles that we sold, and the dosage has been dropped to 5.6 grams per liter. This wine is so creamy and perfect texturally that it is easy to get carried away with. The honeyed pastry nose has a little hint of vanilla from the barrel vinification, but the chalky drive balances it perfectly. The pineapple like, subtle fruit of this great Champagne remind me so much of Meursault but the mineral finish could only be Champagne. Don’t miss this one.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2013
This Gran Reserva Rioja is great wine, and an unbelievable value for the quality. Cinnamon and I had this Bodegas Casa Juan Senor De Lesmos last night with thick cut pork chops and Spanish rice and were blown away by its class and intensity. This Rioja was one of the most concentrated and intense old school wines I have ever had. Rather than being blown away by oak, we were treated to intense savory red fruit and a laser finish that flattered the meal to no end. It held up to the spice in the rice with no problem and is on my list to buy today!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

La Cigarrera Manzanilla Sanlucar de Barrameda (375ml)
Review Date: 03-07-2013
Manzanilla Sherry delivers so much pleasure for so little money... With the La Cigarrera Manzanilla Sanlucar De Barrameda it might be too much! Cinnamon and I cracked this little half bottle last night for the aperitif and enjoyed some Marcona almonds with rosemary with it. Before we knew it, that half bottle was in the recycling bin! This bone dry, electric Manzanilla has a nose of marzipan and sea air that took my mind back to Andalusia. This light, delicate bottle was way too easy to drink!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Laphroaig "Triple Wood" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-28-2013
This is a big dram of whisky! The Laphroaig Triple Wood has a deep golden color and a very rich doughnut house nose with bass note peat. On the palate this single malt is oily and textural with lots of glycerol sweetness, but the bright, briny peat elements bring it into balance. This is manly Islay to drink by the fire on a cold night!
Price: $52.99 Add To Cart
WA 94

Gonzalez Byass "Matusalem" Oloroso VORS (375ml)
Review Date: 02-26-2013
Cinnamon and I drank this last night with an English cheese course of Stilton, Cotswold and cheddar, reliving our first trip to London together. On that trip, we had made a pilgrimage to Neal's Yard Dairy in the old city and bought a similar cheese course to pair with the very first bottle of Gonzalez Byass Matusalem that we had ever tried. Since then, we have been lucky enough to drink it on many occasions, but last night was one of the best. This sherry has a dark mahogany color and the perfume of a wine of a great age. The rich figgy flavors are countered by cheddar like piquancy that made the pairing perfect. The finish is very focused and driven, with rancio notes as well as pure chalky minerality. This wine is plenty sweet, but I will never tire of it, it is dangerously refreshing!

2002 Lanson "Gold Label" Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2013
This is serious vintage Champagne from one of historic houses in Reims. Lanson never allows their wines to go through malolactic fermentation, and this exceptionally young and fresh wine shows what a good call that can be when you have the patience to cellar your Champagne. The nose is full of high quality candied cherry from the top notch Pinot Noir that makes up half the blend and palate is full of Meyer lemon zing from the top notch Chardonnay that makes up the other. The finish is very long and chalky- I can't recommend this highly enough!
Drink from 2013 to 2013

Jever Pils, Germany (12oz)
Review Date: 02-16-2013
I love this refreshing, light, bracing brew after a long day of tasting oversized red wines! At 4.8% it is gentle on the system, and the balance is such that one could never tire of it. Jever Pils is from the most northern part of Germany, very near the Dutch border. It is made with Friesian spring water and Germany's noble Hallertau hops and as with any beer from this great country, it follows the beer purity laws of Biergesetz, the modern incarnation of Reinheitsgebot. That means no funny ingredients, and only barley and yeast to go with the hops and water mentioned above!
Top Value!
Price: $1.69 Add To Cart

Fever Tree Tonic Water (6.8oz 4-pk)
Review Date: 02-16-2013
This tonic is expensive, but it is worth it if you love your gin. I find it to be less sweet and have a high quality quinine flavor than the other tonics available. I have had it with Anchor Junipero, Hendrick's, Royal Dock Navy Strength Gin, Faultline, St. George Terroir Mt. Tam Gin and many others, but my favorite with the Fever Tree is the Cadenhead's Old Raj Gin. This combination, with a nice slice of lime and a couple of giant ice cubes is the most elegant gin and tonic that I have ever had!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano Rosa (750ml)
Review Date: 02-13-2013
If you are a fan of bitter aperitivo's, the Cocchi Americano Rosa can't be missed. This bottle was open in the K&L tasting bar at the same that I was doing the staff Champagne seminar, and between groups I could not resist making a little Champagne cocktail with it. It was spectacular mixed with half good quality blanc de blancs, and also quite tasty on its own. I am going to buy a bottle today and try it at home in a black (or shall I say Rosa?) Manhattan with Elmer T. Lee Single Barrel Bourbon and a Luxardo Maraschino Cherry!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2008 Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-09-2013
This was the most controversial (and also one of the best selling) Champagnes at our recent pre-Valentine's day tasting. One taster described it as tasting like shoe leather, and many others described it as savory and the best of the day. It might be my favorite rose Champagne in our stock and pairs perfectly with cedar plank salmon and no more than one other person... Unless you have extra bottles! Deep, intense and very red wine like in flavor you need to be ready for it before opening it!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Small Hand Foods Grenadine (8.5oz)
Review Date: 02-09-2013
This is not your mothers Grenadine! This spectacular mixer is a must for any household interested in classic cocktails. At home Cinnamon and I use it to make a version of the Star Daisy from Charles Neal's excellent book Calvados, the Norman Spirit. We use a teaspoon of Grenadine, one ounce of Domaine du Manoir de Montreuil Calvados Pay d'Auge, one ounce of Anchor Junipero Gin, and one ounce of Meyer lemon juice from our tree. Shake it in cocktail shaker and serve it up... Yum!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 02-01-2013
This tasty wine is almost full Champagne pressure at 5 atmospheres. It is produced from 37-year-old vines at about 900 feet. This spumatne is perfect for wine lovers looking for something a little bit drier, more bubbly and fuller bodied than Moscato d’Asti. I found it to have lots of exotic aroma, a nice mousse and a sweet but clean finish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
GR 2

Cocchi Vermouth di Torino (375ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2013
Cocchi makes my favorite red vermouth. I use it for Manhattan’s, in a Negroni, or in my favorite Champagne cocktail, the Negroni Sbagliato. If you are interested in seeing the recipe, search "Negroni Sbagliato" on the blog (blog.klwines.com) to find it, complete with video. If you don’t mind waiting, you can also send me an email with the button above, and I’ll send you the link.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Cocchi Vermouth di Torino (750ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2013
Cocchi makes my favorite red vermouth. I use it for Manhattan’s, in a Negroni, or in my favorite Champagne cocktail, the Negroni Sbagliato. If you are interested in seeing the recipe, search "Negroni Sbagliato" on the blog (blog.klwines.com) to find it, complete with video. If you don’t mind waiting, you can also send me an email with the button above, and I’ll send you the link.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
Review Date: 01-25-2013
This excellent tool revolutionized opening old wine for me. It used to be that I planned on the corks disintegrating into a crumbly mess and I would have a tea strainer on hand to aid in the decanting of the wine. Now, I can even get bottles of port from the sixties open without breaking the cork! Be warned, this is not an all purpose corkscrew, and the same support that it brings to an old cork will jam a young cork in the bottle. If you have occasion to open great old wines, you should definitely own the Durand Corkscrew!
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

Riedel "O" Riesling/S. Blanc/Zin/Sangiovese Wine Tumbler 414/15 (226053)
Review Date: 01-25-2013
Every wine fan should own a pair of these great tumblers. They are just as good for drinking out of as the Vinum Zinfandel/ Chianti which says a lot, since that glass is the most flexible instrument I have ever enjoyed wine from. Since they have no stem, they fit in cupboards that would not fit regular glasses and you can't break the stem off of them, which is the most common way glasses break. The best thing is, that if you keep the two glass box they come in, you can take them anywhere with you. No more Dixie cups for your wine on picnics, no more awful thick, rolled hotel room glasses ruining your carefully chosen vacation wine!
Price: $12.49 Add To Cart

Riedel Vinum Cuvee Prestige Champagne Glass 6416/48 (317179)
Review Date: 01-25-2013
This is a great design for drinking Champagne. While I prefer to taste our of a regular wine glass for the larger bowl that allows more aroma to develop and a wider pour of liquid over my tongue at work, this is a great shape when you have more time to spend with the Champagne. The tulip shape allows the bubbles to cascade up and makes the wine a lot more enjoyable to look at than a regular wine glass. It also has a wide enough opening at the top to allow one to smell the Champagne and pours widely enough across the tongue to taste properly. Straight sided flutes are very hard on Champagne- if you are still using them, you should audition a pair of these Riedels!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Riedel Cabernet Decanter 750ml 1440/13 (87047)
Review Date: 01-25-2013
Cinnamon and I collect decanters, and use them almost every night we are home drinking still wine. At last count we had 30 of the things, taking up a lot of the surfaces in the house- on top of the liquor cabinet, on top of the record racks and on the kitchen counters. This is the one that we use most, and for good reason. It takes up the least amount of space on the table, pours the best, cleans up easily, and inverts nicely for drying. If you are only going to have one decanter, this should be it! If you buy a second, take a look at another shape, otherwise you will forget which wine is in which carafe at dinner parties!
Price: $49.95 Add To Cart

Riedel Sommeliers Burgundy 4400/16 (Can't Ship) (55061)
Review Date: 01-25-2013
Are these glasses fragile, expensive and to large to store easily? Do they put a magnifying focus on any flaw in an average Pinot? Yes- guilty as charged! I don't recommend them to everyone, but for the right home there is simply no better glass. Cinnamon and I have owned six of these for more than a decade, used them at least once a week, and never broken one. If you love Burgundy and elegant Pinot Noir from other parts of the world, and are willing to invest the time to hand wash these incomparable glasses and the money to purchase them, you will not be disappointed!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-18-2013
From my top 10 Champagnes of 2012: I opened this magnum as business petered off on Christmas eve for the staff here in the Redwood City store, and it made me a popular man at K&L. Carrying a magnum around to the various work stations put a smile on many faces here, and the wine inside the bottle kept those smiles. This wine is single vineyard, from the very steep Gouttes d’Or site in Brouillet, and has a very different style than the Chardonnay from the Cotes de Blancs. This is creamy, decadent wine, and great on its own in the final moments of the retail rush…or just about any time! I need to buy this for my cellar.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Stiegl Brauerei "Goldbräu Premium" Lager, Austria (16oz Cans)
Review Date: 01-18-2013
I wonder how much of the Stiegl that we buy for our stock at K&L is sold to the staff. If I were to guess, I would say over 50%. These tall boys are perfect after a long day, and do an exceptional job of washing away the tannin after tasting to many overblown red wines. The style is Germanic; clean, lively, refreshing and the execution precise. If you love a good lager, and like having 4 oz. left after 12 have been enjoyed, this is the beer for you!
Price: $2.49 Add To Cart

Bruno Michel "Rebelle" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2013
From my top 10 Champagnes of 2012: Cinnamon was staying up in the city with her friend Jenna on a Friday night, and I grabbed some sushi to go and headed home to dine with our cat, the Morsel. While she helped with the sushi, she did not have a single sip of the Champagne. I believe in the saying that one should be moderate in all things, so I got carried away and drank the whole bottle. Drinking Champagne by yourself is a great thing- if you never have done it there is no better treat, and no better place than the home for having an extra glass or two. From my personal tasting diary: “This wine was a lot richer than I remember and I suspect the base must be from the extroverted 2006 harvest. The balance was so perfect it hardly seemed “Extra” Brut like, rather just vibrant, nervy, electrically mineral sud-Eprenay stuff. It went best with the Akasaka Roll which has eel and avocado on the outside and tempura shrimp on the inside- and very well with everything else. I got carried away by its ample charm and finished the bottle. I woke refreshed and ready for a busy December Saturday- and it turned out to be one of my best days at work all year. I guess there is something to be said for drinking organic after all!” This bottle deserves its spot on the top 10- try it out and see if you can resist finishing the whole thing…
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Camut Aperitif Normand Pommeau (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2013
Warning! This fabulous aperitif tastes a little too good, and much like the Ramos Pinto white Port, goes down far too easily. The Camut Pommeau has all of the virtues taste of great apple juice, the warmth of apple pie and the crispness of an apple fresh from the tree. It is great to drink chilled in a white wine glass- the only thing you need to do is pour. Be careful not to get carried away!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Lemorton 6 Year Old "Reserve" Calvados Domfrontais (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2013
The Lemorton is a great bottle of Calvados and being from the Domfrontais has a lot of pears in it. It is round and rich, with lots of extroverted fruit flavor. It still finishes nice and dry and is far to easy to drink. I have been enjoying a snifter of this by the fire as a digestive in the evening and it is a great nightcap. Recently, Cinnamon took a flask of this mushroom foraging with her and she found it invigorating. I hope you'll try it out!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Lazzaroni Amaro (750ml)
Review Date: 10-03-2012
I love this Amaro, and my favorite use for it is in Black Manhattan's- a drink that I was first introduced to in (of all places!) Hollywood. I stir two parts dry rye Whiskey, usually the Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond, with one part Lazzaroni Amaro in a cocktail shaker with a dash or two of Scrappy's chocolate bitters. I serve it up in a Martini glass as a digestif. If you substitute Bourbon in this drink please select a drier style, as this Amaro has a good deal of sweetness of its own!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Ferrand "1840 Formula" 90 Proof Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 09-11-2012
This Ferrand is a great ingredient, and works far better than much more expensive (and far more subtle) Cognacs in cocktails. The 1840 Formula is made in the three star style from the 19th century, and is a full 5% higher in alcohol than standard Cognac. It is also oilier and weightier with lots of flavor- it won’t get lost in a mixed drink. Here is a great use for it: The French 75- 2 parts Ferrand 1840 Formula 90 proof Cognac, 1 Part Fresh squeezed lemon juice, 1 Part simple syrup, 2 parts Champagne (Blanc de Blancs if you have one open), Lots of fresh ice, Lemon rind for garnish. We use an ounce per part for ours- and that makes a pretty big aperitif. Fill a cocktail shaker with ice and add the cognac, lemon juice and simple syrup. Shake thoroughly and pour into a rocks glass filled with more fresh ice. Top with Champagne, and stir if you like (I do!) finally garnishing with lemon rind.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Royal Dock Navy Strength Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-21-2012
A great bottle of gin is a luxury that we all deserve to be treated to. This Royal dock has just the right amount of assertive juniper and balanced botanicals to make an excellent after-work gin and tonic, and at navy strength, you do not have to use as much as you would a normal gin. As I learned from Hayman's (who is the distiller) excellent website "This Navy Strength Gin at 57% vol was the strength required to enable gunpowder to still light if Gin was spilt on it." Here at K&L we recommend keeping the gin separate from the munitions!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Gosset "Excellence" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-28-2012
Very few famous negociants are making Champagne of this quality- this is poised, balanced Champagne that has soul as well as polish. The Gosset Excellence is a great way to welcome friends to a dinner party, but also does very well with food and just one other special person!

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g)
Review Date: 05-07-2010
When I bought these for myself, I joked with my colleagues here at K&L that I must either be a fool or a gourmet... $16 Cherries! That is crazy! Well, I have discovered that like white truffle oil and very old condimento balsamico, the Luxardo cherries are worth it. First of all, they are very small, but have more cherry flavor individually than a whole fistful of the normal "red" maraschinos. Just one or two and a smidgen of the syrup in the bottle make a big impression on a cocktail. The 360 gram jar lasts a long time, even if you dip into it as often as Cinnamon and I do. My favorite use for them is to simply pop a couple into a bourbon on the rocks... Yum!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

1963 Taylor Vintage Port
Review Date: 04-15-2010
A lot of famous wines from famous vintages let me down. This 1963 Taylor is not one of them. This spectacularly aromatic, effortless port brightened up a Thursday here at K&L with its vinous perfection. The only thing that I can imagine improving this wine would be a little time to settle, and a wheel of stilton.
Drink from 2010 to 2010

Four Roses Yellow Label Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 09-09-2009
Bourbon & Rye are the USA's great contribution to the world of spirits, and the Four Roses has been an ambassador bottle for the category internationally for many years. This delicious Bourbon makes a fine Manhattan, as recommended above, but it also makes a great Whiskey Sour, my favorite cold brown liquor cocktail. At home we use equal parts Meyer lemon from our dwarf tree and Bourbon, with one teaspoon of superfine sugar per shot of whiskey, mixing it all thoroughly before pouring over ice in a rocks glass. We then garnish with a slice of Meyer lemon and a maraschino cherry. This old-fashioned drink is a classic for a reason; it is very refreshing and synergistic. I hope you will try it!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

North Shore No. 6 Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2009
This top-notch gin made was a fabulous partner to tonic last night. With a strong hint of rosemary and winter spice, I found it to be incredibly refreshing and all to easy too drink. It took a lot of self discipline to only have one! This is a must in the cabinet of any gin lover.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart

North Shore No. 11 Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-30-2009
Don't hesitate when you see this gin in stock, it is very small production and quite sought after. The last batch all sold before touching the shelf! The number 11 has a relaxed exoticism that reminds me of Hendricks, with a dry refreshing streak that only the Junipero can equal. The balance is fabulous, and combined with a lime from our dwarf tree, a glass full of ice and a splash of tonic, I was in after-work-cocktail heaven.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Warre's "Otima" 10 Year Old Tawny Port (500ml)
Review Date: 05-07-2009
We were honored by a visit from Dominic Symington, the Director of Warre on Tuesday, and this was one of many Ports that he poured for us. I was extremely impressed by this 10-year-old tawny, which he served quite cool. He explained that tawny, and other Ports for that matter, are often served far to warm in the US. At cellar temperature (around 55 degrees) this Port showed an amazing amount of depth, and even some tannic structure that is usually only found in vintage ports. This is a great way to end an evening, and will keep quite well after being opened.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91 WS 91

Page: << prev 3 4 5 6 next

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
Baron-Fuenté "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)