Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: << prev 2 3 4 5 6 next
Moet & Chandon "Ice Imperial" Champagne
Review Date: 07-28-2015
My favorite use for the first Champagne made for rocks is this modified "Final Word" cocktail: 1 ounce Chartreuse Green 750m 1 ounce Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur 1 ounce fresh squeezed lime juice 2 ounces Moet & Chandon "Ice Imperial" Champagne Prepare a cocktail shaker with plenty of fresh ice, and a large rocks glass with plenty more. Shake the Chartreuse, Luxardo and Lime in the shaker until well chilled. Pour the mixture through a cocktail strainer over the ice in the rocks glass. Top with the Champagne, stir gently and enjoy. As Champagne is less concentrated than gin, it takes a little bit more of it to bring the drink into balance. Since both the lime and the Champagne are acidic, this drink is very bright and refreshing… Perhaps dangerously so! Be careful with these- I thought I was making a more “moderate” drink, but it is easy to get carried away with these!
Price: $56.99 Add To Cart

Deutz "Brut Classic" Champagne
Review Date: 07-07-2015
This great house, located in Ay, is owned by the Roederer group but has a style all of its own. If you love the big, broad Pinot Noir wines of Champagne, this is for you. The wine has a good amount of toast, plenty of richness and finishes dry

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Bollinger has a sterling reputation in Champagne for stalwart quality for a great reason. They do the hard work to make great Champagne, and there Special Cuvee is the standard barer for their range. Along with Krug, Bollinger is the only grand marque to refuse to give up their barrels, which they still ferment the wine in to this day. They are located in the village of Ay, famous for being the chalkiest terroir for Pinot Noir in all of Champagne, and Ay is the soul of this blend. It is one of the fullest, most powerful non-vintages from the grand marques, and also one of the driest. If you are a fan of Champagne and haven't tried this classic, you should!

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Why bother with sparkling wine when you can drink real Champagne at such a great price? This fantastic bottle is aged for three years on the lees and has great honest toast from the aging process, as well as great refreshment from the high percentage of estate-grown vines used in the blend. I love this Champagne for its friendly, open-knit personality and its easygoing refreshment, but it has more than this for those who want to take the time to get to know it... It is a serious bottle of Champagne! Don't let the low price fool you!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Taittinger has always been known for the creamy refreshment that the La Francaise has delivered so consistently through the years. If you like a little bit of toast balanced by some citric zing, this high Chardonnay blend is for you!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WS 90

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2015
The best-selling Champagne in the USA in a cute little half is a great entry into the wonderful variety of Champagne.

Billecart-Salmon Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-23-2015
If you like your Champagne clean and refreshing, this is the best bottle that we have for you. Antoine Billecart insists on fermentations that are slow and cold, and the family has developed its own strain of yeast that can work in super low temperatures, resulting in a Champagne that is light as feather and arcs with electric excitement. This wine delivers all of this without any harsh grain, since it has been aged for over sixty months on the lees... A fabulous treat!

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-23-2015
The Baron Fuente Esprit gets an amazing five years of ageing on the lees. Not many Champagne houses make a non-vintage wine like this, with such a suave texture from long aging, and none at such a low price. This is elegant Champagne for sure; not at all austere, yet in no way sweet, a balanced and fine aperitif. If you want to find out what expensive tasting Champagne is all about, this is a great bottle to try... And it isn't expensive!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Réserve" Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2015
Of all the grand marques, no one offers a cleaner, purer example of Champagne fruit and refreshment than Billecart-Salmon. The Billecart family pick earlier than most, and run the coldest, longest fermentations in all of Champagne to deliver their inimitable, graceful house style. If you are looking for the ultimate in balance aperitif Champagne, you have found it!

Billecart-Salmon Brut "Sous Bois" Champagne
Review Date: 06-02-2015
The current batch of the Sous Bois from Billecart Salmon is based on the spectacular 2008 vintage, and the combination of richness from the all barrel vinification and the extraordinary acidity of the vintage makes for one of the most impressive bottles in their line. If you haven't tried this newest addition to the great line from Billecart, don't miss out, the 2008 based wine is very special!

Nicolas Feuillatte Brut Réserve Champagne
Review Date: 06-02-2015
This large co-op produces very well priced Champagne.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Chateau de Bligny "Grand Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2015
This is composed of half each Chardonnay and Pinot Noir and fermented in stainless steel at the Chateau. It is very clean, but not at all austere; in fact it is quite broad and rich ... A real signature Aube characteristic! It has great texture and body focused with very nice Burgundian style minerality. This will make a great aperitif, but also go well with charcuterie or even a cheese course. The Chateau de Bligny is a big property, one of the largest growers in all of Champagne at 75 acres. They also have one of the few Clos Champenois, a walled vineyard of just 2 acres which they bottle separately.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
W&S 90 WS 90

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-14-2015
This blend of great vintages is perhaps the most consistently great pink wine in the world. Effortless, subtle and elegant, this is not a bottle of wine that is ever flashy or showy. Every time I have had it seems to just vanish without refilling the flutes. The refined strawberry notes and haunting Pinot Noir fruit always seem to take a back seat to the company and the conversation when I have drunk it, but the memory of each experience is as vivid as yesterday. Every lover of the good things in life should try this masterpiece at least once. It is the ultimate rosé!

Chateau de Bligny "Grand Reserve" Rosé Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-07-2015
This all estate-grown rose is composed of 50% Chardonnay, 35% Pinot Noir that is vinified white and 15% Pinot Noir vinified as red wine or Coteaux Champenois rouge. I love the rose from the Aube department, and if you have been a fan of bottlings from Fleury, Fluteau and the like, you should definitely try this out. This balances wild Pinot Noir red fruit with dry precision and manages to have plenty of personality without losing easy-drinking charm.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99
WS 91

Chateau de Bligny "Cuvée Six Cépages" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-07-2015
What a wower of a bottle. There are not many Champagnes made from individual walled vineyards, but they are justifiably famous in spite of their tiny production. Wines like Krug’s Clos du Mesnil and Clos Ambonnay are fantastically expensive, while Philipponnat Clos des Goisses is near impossible to get. This brassy powerhouse comes from two acres planted to 1/6 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Meunier, Arbanne, Petite Meslier and Pinot Blanc. The result is a vinous, gold-straw-colored show-stopper that crackles with citric acidity on its very long, strong finish. This is a must for every serious fan of Champagne to try--it is expensive, but the price can only go up…
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2011 Ravenswood "Big River" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-20-2015
If you like Zinfandel, you have to take advantage of this incredible deal. The single vineyard selections from Ravenswood are blue chip California soul wines, and all the more interesting in a cool vintage like 2011. This big, serious, manly wine has all of the brambly blackberry fruit and tannic structure that one could wish for in a Zin. It is also free of any jammy, overripe flavors or aromas. This bottle is crying out for a smoky pork shoulder tonight with a few hours of decanting, but should develop for a good number of years in your cellar as well!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
ST 90

Drappier "Charles de Gaulle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-06-2015
The Charles de Gaulle might be the best deal in top notch grand marque Champagne at K&L. It is composed of 80% Pinot Noir and 20% Chardonnay and is one of the most leesy, layered powerhouses in the building. If you like wines like the Bollinger vintage and the Pol Roger Winston Churchill, you should definitely try this Champagne. I found it to be very complex, with hazelnut, fine toast and Kimmeridgian minerality all in great balance. The texture and bead are as good as it gets. This is the first batch of this wine that is non-vintage, the last vintage dated Charles de Gaulle was the 2006. I am guessing that this is based on 2007 with reserves, but I don’t know for sure.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
VN 91 WS 91

Drappier Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-06-2015
This all Pinot Noir Champagne is made with a three day long maceration, rather than more common method of adding red wine for color and flavor. It is vinified in only stainless steel vats and moved by gravity to avoid oxygen and preserve freshness, and dosed at a fairly low 7g/l. This Champagne has a wild nose with plenty of black cherry Pinot authority and savor. In the mouth it is spicy, extroverted and fresh.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 91

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This is the benchmark in rose Champagne, and it deserves every bit of its fame. I find it elegant and balanced every time that I have it, and the blushing pink color is always perfect. If you are looking for a famous producer that delivers the goods, the Billecart Salmon Brut Rose Champagne is a great choice. I like the wine best as an aperitif, the only thing it need to pair with is a good glass.

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
The wonderfully rich Cuvee Rare from Piper Heidsieck reminds me of the great tete de cuvee's of years gone past. Like those, it is made in tiny quantities and only in the very best years- only 8 vintages have been made in 36 years! We drank this wine at a staff sushi and Champagne party at my house, and loved it with the eel especially, but I think the ultimate pairing for this wine would be a nice sunset. It doesn't need anything! I love the warm toastiness of this wine and its fine balance. The refreshing finish will have you coming back for more!
Drink to 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Nobody in Champagne works harder on making a great rose than Paul-Vincent Ariston, owner of Champagne Aspasie, and no bottle that we carry is as outstanding of a bargain. Most producers either make a red wine to blend into their white or do a maceration of all the skins for a short time to make rose. Paul does both, as he likes the complexity that the maceration method brings to the wine, and the control that the addition of red wine offers. This isn't just a good deal, it is a Champagne of spectacular depth and character, that is also super easy to drink.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2004 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
When Champagne lovers ask me about what vintage they should think about collecting, I always bring up 2004 first. While many other vintages such as 2002, 2006 and 2007 have produced fabulous wines, they have all been crazy in one way or another. Because of climate change, the only two harvests that could be counted as typical, “classic” Champagne vintages in the last 25 years are 1988 and 2004. Of course, many vintages in the past 25 years have been great; 1989, 1990, 1996, 2002 and almost certainly 2008 and 2012. All of these vintages have a story, and all of them are odd. Even vintages with plenty of water and slow ripening, which over the last 200 years would be considered typical and classic, are an endangered species. The character of the 2004’s is very transparent, revealing of terroir (especially in single vineyard wines), long and light on its feet. The wines do not have the weight and authority of the 2002’s or the crazy concentration of the 1996’s. What they have is deft, elegant balance and I believe that they will, like the 1988’s, prove to be great. The Dom is a great indicator and example of the strength of this vintage. I can’t remember liking a vintage of Dom when it was first released as much as this since the 1990, or finding one of such good potential since the 1996. I wanted to make the most out of this chance to drink the 2004 as a preview and decided to prepare a special dinner for Cinnamon and I. I picked up an ounce of Osetra and we started out enjoying the bottle with blini and creme fraiche. For the main course I cooked some local wild king salmon on an alder plank on the grill after giving it a light brine. I topped it with some fleur de sel, pepper and paddlefish roe. The 2004 is certainly the driest non-Oenotheque release I have ever tasted from DP and the white gold color has a real flash of green to it. On the nose, the signature Dom Perignon yeastiness is front and center framed by some delicate Chardonnay fruit. The Osetra blini brought out the nuttiness of the Pinot Noir very nicely on the palate. It was too bad that there was only one ounce! One of the things that I learned from the DP seminar that I wrote about in April was that the wine is always close to 50% Pinot Noir and 50% Chardonnay, and this 2004 certainly tasted that way. When we had the salmon, which was very rich, the Dom showed more of its cutting, mineral driven Chardonnay side. This elegant bottle of Champagne went down very easily, and showed the strength of Moet’s massive vineyard resources and incredible store of knowledge. These wines age very well, and the 2004 has the balance to go the distance. I was very impressed!
Drink to 0

Billecart-Salmon Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
I love extra brut Champagne, and Antoine Billecart has made a great example of the style with this bottling. He and I drank this along with his team at Quince in SF the last time he was here, and with four years on the lees, it came across as dry, but without a hint of austerity. Many big houses lack respect for Meunier, but not Billecart- this wine gets its charm from the clean fruit that this indigenous grape brings to the blend. It is composed of 40% Meunier, 30% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Noir and the long, cool fermentation and generous lees time has given this wine the fruit and balance to please even a first time extra brut drinker.

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
I was lucky enough to be invited by Garance Thienot to the Plumed Horse in Saratoga for an incredible Champagne dinner. I hadn't been to this restaurant in more than a decade and the story about it being the biggest fine dining remodel in all of Silicon Valley must be true- it was amazing inside. We started the dinner off with this rich, full bodied, toasty Champagne that still had the snap to make a great aperitif. What a tasty wine!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 91

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2015
What indulgence is more romantic than a half bottle of Krug? I can't think of one. This little bottle is assembled from a generation of harvests and has the complexity of great old Champagne while keeping the freshness of a current release. It is the perfect size to enjoy with someone special before (or after!) a nice meal! My favorite memory with a half bottle of Krug Grand Cuvee was with Cinnamon on the train to dinner in the city. Even the conductor was jealous!

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Nothing is better than Champagne from magnum, and this is the benchmark in rose Champagne, and it deserves every bit of its fame. I find it elegant and balanced every time that I have it, and the blushing pink color is always perfect. If you are looking for a famous producer that delivers the goods, the Billecart Salmon Brut Rose Champagne is a great choice. I like the wine best as an aperitif, the only thing it need to pair with is a good glass.

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2015
These are more than just cute half bottles, this is the benchmark in rose Champagne, and it deserves every bit of its fame. I find it elegant and balanced every time that I have it, and the blushing pink color is always perfect. If you are looking for a famous producer that delivers the goods, the Billecart Salmon Brut Rose Champagne is a great choice. I like the wine best as an aperitif, the only thing it need to pair with is a good glass.

Moët & Chandon "Impérial" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This wine replaced the white star in the US market in the fall of 2009 as Champagne lovers here asked for a drier style. Starting in the summer of 2012 all the Imperial is labeled Brut and the dosage is the same worldwide- 9 grams per liter. They blend four batches of the imperial a year, keeping the winemaking team and bottling lines busy. When I drank this with Moet winemaker Elise Losfelt, she explained that the first blend in January following the harvest uses the most reserve wines- around 30%, while the last blend of the year will use around 20% because of the better maturity of the base vintage. Since they want a fresh style of wine at Moet, they only use one to two year old reserve wines. They age all of the Imperial for 30 months on the lees before release. This was certainly the best Imperial I have drunk, with a discreet nose of bread dough and apple-like Meunier fruit. It was easy to drink, dry and clean and a nice way to start an evening.

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Rose is great to have around in half bottles and this elegant, driven Champagne is my top rose for serving as the aperitif. A colleague of mine once bought a case of this in 750's for his wife, and half of it was consumed the first night at a quite small dinner party... So maybe a half bottle is too small for something this tasty. Cinnamon has one in our fridge at home right now!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
I feel guilty for consuming too much of our allocation of this wine, but never when I am drinking it! I have had many great bottles of this, and one of the most memorable was not from the K&L allocation, but rather off the wine list at Bistro 7 in Epernay. I was dining alone, and it felt extra special and decadent to order a bottle just for me off of their fairly priced list. It went spectacularly with the rabbit terrine and even better with the seared turbot. The Bonville Prestige has ripe, round white fruit balanced perfectly by old vine top terroir, Avize chalk. This wine has texture to beat most of over $100 bottles of Champagne on our shelves!
Top Value!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart
WS 92

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
I opened this magnum as business petered off on Christmas eve for the staff here in the Redwood City store, and it made me a popular man at K&L. Carrying a magnum around to the various work stations put a smile on many faces here, and the wine inside the bottle kept those smiles. This wine is single vineyard, from the very steep Gouttes d’Or site in Brouillet, and has a very different style than the Chardonnay from the Cotes de Blancs. This is creamy, decadent wine, and great on its own in the final moments of the retail rush…or just about any time! I need to buy this for my cellar.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Bollinger Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This spectacular bottle delivers the vinous power that one would expect from Bollinger, but with elegant panache. It is one of the best rosés available at any price.

Charles Heidsieck "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 03-03-2015
My jaw almost dropped when I learned the story of the new Charles Heidsieck from Cecile Bonnefond, the CEO of both Charles and Piper. Instead of the normal package change / price increase rationalized by “increased international demand” this wine had been improved at great cost to the producer before the price went up! The new package contains a selection of half the vineyard sites of the old one, and older reserve wines. The result is non-vintage Champagne that is better than most big house vintage wines and a stronger value now at the current price than the old Charles was at $34.99. When we poured this at a recent in-store tasting on “House Style” it was one of the stars of the night. This Champagne has depth, combining maturity and freshness, nutty intrigue and minerality!

2000 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 02-26-2015
A very nice contribution from Jeff Garneau at our 2000 Bordeaux wine dinner, this wine was more “Margaux” than the Margaux that we drank! It is composed of approximately 60% Cabernet Sauvignon 30% Merlot, 6% Cabernet Franc and 4% Petite Verdot. It was a beautiful charmer, generously aromatic, strikingly pure and effortlessly natural. This wine had no hard edges at 15 years old, and was very long and lively. Given how well the 1966 showed recently, it should also have a very long life!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2000 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 02-26-2015
Given that some of the Montrose from the 1960’s is only just now starting to drink, this exotic 2000 drank very nicely this evening. It is composed of approximately 63% Cabernet Sauvignon, 31% Merlot, 4% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petite Verdot. The wine was very dark, full of spice and kirsch like fruit on the nose. In the mouth it had lots of richness, more dark fruit and a powerful tannic punch. It will no doubt be even better in another five or ten years.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2000 Malescot-St-Exupéry, Margaux
Review Date: 02-26-2015
From our great staff 2000 Bordeaux dinner. A very large scale Margaux composed of about 50% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc and 5% Petite Verdot. This wine had generous aromatics, with everything from dark cassis to green peppers on the nose. In the mouth it was the sweetest of the Medoc wines, and among the sweetest of the whole tasting, with lots of rich fruit, full body and big texture. This also has a big backbone of tannin, and drinks well right now with richer dishes like the short ribs that we had with it.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-24-2015
This is the best selling Champagne in the USA.

Piper-Heidsieck Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2015
If I were to pick one Grand Marque Champagne house as most improved over the last 10 years, it would certainly be Piper Heidsieck. This clean, refreshing Champagne is sourced from 100 different villages in Champagne and aged for two years on the lees.

Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-18-2015
A great value in Grand Marque Brut Champagne! This is a blend of 45% Chardonnay, 40% Pinot Noir and 15% Meunier that has a nice nose of fresh baguette and a clean, racy impression in the mouth. A very good aperitif!

2011 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Show stopping magnums like the 2011 Pontet Canet defy the vintage chart mentality with greatness. If you have a good cellar and time to leave it alone, this wine will reward you with a truly special experience. We tasted it blind (out of 750ml), and I guessed it was 2009 Leoville Las Cases because of the tremendous breed and giant scale of this exotic beauty of a wine. I found it opaque, smoky, powerful and yet finely focused and pleasantly long. What a wine!
Drink from 2026 to 2026

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2015
This all Pinot Noir Champagne is one of our very best rosés at any price. It is made by maceration, with 100% of the skins in contact with 100% of the juice and entirely from organically grown, estate fruit in Noe Les Mallets near Troyes. While many rosé Champagnes made in this style are dark and heavy tasting, this wine is bright, full of subtle red fruit and vivacious refreshment. Cinnamon and I enjoyed this with Chinese scallion pancakes (Cong You Bing) and it was a fantastic pairing!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 d'Yquem, Sauternes (375ml)
Review Date: 01-17-2015
It is very hard for any wine as venerated as Chateau d'Yquem to live up to the expectations that its fame creates. This 2011 delivers on all promises- it is great wine. While it is only a light straw color now, it has authoritative viscosity, full, clean botrytis sweetness and a kaleidoscope of complexity that is impossible to duplicate. Put this in your cellar and forget it for many years and it will be even better than it is now. Wow!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Alexandre Le Brun "Passion" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-03-2015
Although labeled as non-vintage, this is in fact all 2005, and has been given eight years of ageing time o the lees. This Champagne is composed of half and half Chardonnay and Pinot Noir and tastes much more expensive that it is. If you like creamy, toasty Champagne with depth and richness, this is one of the best that we carry.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 08-15-2014
This rich, layered whisky shows just how good young craft malt can be. I am not a believer in paying a high price for young stuff just because it comes from a small hands-on distillery. It has to be in the bottle, and the Cut Spike has the stuffing to justify the price. It is rich and textural without being over the top, and has layers of complexity that caught me by surprise. If you are interested in seeing how good a new distiller can be, check it out!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2005 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 07-23-2014
I love it when a producer does the aging for me! This 2005 Baron Louis from Chateau De Montfaucon has a lovely, developed bouquet of cool black fruit and seamless texture that only comes with the passage of time. The wine still has plenty of size and life, and would be great with your next tri-tip grill up!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Lot 40 Single Copper Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2014
Great rye whiskey is not easy to come by at any price and great Canadian rye is even harder to find. This Lot 40 is clearly the best rye in the store and one of the best that I have tasted in a decade. With a wonderful bouquet of Christmas spice and a complex array of flavors, this Canadian will please the pickiest of whiskey fans. The fact that it still comes across as easy going and moreish even with the wild rye flavor and layers of complexity made a big impression on me. I will make room in my cabinet!
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

Glenmorangie 18 year old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-21-2013
If you are a fan of single malt, this whisky should not be overlooked. We tasted this blind at our staff spirits tasting and it impressed me with its sweet and savory nuttiness, rich oily texture and long, polished finish. This is top notch unpeated whisky that will please the connoisseur without alienating the initiated.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Michel Arnould Verzenay Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-09-2013
Last night, Cinnamon and I had such a great experinece with our sushi and Chamapgne that I had to write about it. The Arnould started off on the austere side before the first bite of food, but with the sushi it was magic. It did particularly well with the ultra rich Akasaka roll, providing a clean foil to the deep fried tempura shrimp, eel and avocado bonanza. The fish brought out the hazelnut character that makes Champagne from this north facing cru so special and the completely dry finish refreshed the palate with every sip. This is going to be a repeat bottle with sushi for sure!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve "Small Batch" 10 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2013
My Bourbon of choice for sipping after dinner, the 10 Year Old Small Batch from Jimmy Russell is one of the great values in our extensive collection. The high toned savory rye flavors balance the sweetness of the corn to make this one of the most grown up, focused Bourbon's that we have at any price. I am never without a bottle in my liquor cabinet!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

Wild Turkey 101 Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2013
The best value in Bourbon might be the best value in any spirit! If you haven't had this in a while, you owe it to yourself to pick up a bottle, you will not be disappointed. This spicy whiskey has plenty of sweet corn bread aromatics and flavors and a full rich texture. This is my go-to Bourbon for all of my drinks, and great neat as well. Don't count out the kick'n chicken!
Top Value!
Price: $20.99 Add To Cart

Page: << prev 2 3 4 5 6 next

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
Baron-Fuenté "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2011 Proprietà Sperino "Uvaggio" Costa della Sesia ($29.99)