Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account

Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I can't think of a single bottle of Champagne at K&L that has brought me such consistent pleasure as the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche. The Ariston family has worked very hard to deliver this great bottle to the Champagne lovers of the world. Most producers age their Champagne for less than three years in the bottle before shipping, but the Carte Blanche gets five years. It is entirely estate grown by one of the most careful growers in the business. On top of all that it is made in one of the most modern facilities of any small producer that I have visited. The pressing is done in a 1/4 million euro Coquard diaganol press and the fermentation is all done in computer regulated temperature controlled tanks. The result is one of the best aperitif bottles that we sell; toasty and full, yet refreshing and crisp, a perfect balance between aged complexity and youthful vigor. And then there is the price--so fair that Cinnamon and I have had the opportunity to impact the world supply with our consumption! Don't miss it.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-28-2017
A classic for a reason. The cellars of Pol Roger are the deepest and coldest in Epernay, reaching over 110 feet into the chalk, and here every bottle is still hand riddled. This toasty, well balanced grand marque is composed of about 1/3 each Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Meunier. It is treated to four years of ageing on the lees and has 25% reserve wines in the blend. It makes a lovely aperitif, and is supremely well balanced. If you haven't had this lately, it is a must try!

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This incredible bottle of Vermentino Di Gallura has the kind of effortless class, seamless texture and near infinite length that one only expects from the most famous white Burgundy producers. If you are looking for a flat out great bottle of white wine that is a real discovery, try this Cantina Di Gallura Genesi. It makes a great drink on its own, but I can't wait to try it with crab risotto!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2017
This super rich, all barrel fermented Champagne from Bollinger is usually sold as "La Grande Année" Rosé for $60 more a bottle. Since the team at Bollinger does not feel that this ripe 2006 will last a generation, they decided to sell it as regular vintage- a first for them. Since it was originally made as "La Grande Année" Rosé, this wine it has been aged all the time on the lees on a cork rather than a crown cap. This is a full, toasty, powerful dry style that will thrill fans of this house, at a price that is too good to miss!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
This charming rose is an excellent value, and I love the creamy texture and beautiful ripe strawberry fruit. The team at Canard Duchene has sourced almost all of the fruit for this rose from the mountain of Reims. It is composed of 45% Pinot Noir, 30% Chardonnay and 25% Meunier. While this rose has great fruit on the nose and on the palate, it finishes nice and dry. At this price, why not try it?
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-05-2017
If you are looking for a richer, toastier style of Champagne for the aperitif, this Authentic from Canard-Duchene is a great choice. It is composed of 43% Pinot Noir, 25% Meunier and 20% Chardonnay and comes almost exclusively from sites owned or contracted on the Montagne de Reims. It is delicious, round brut at its easy going best and it will thrill your guests with its charm.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-03-2017
This great bottle of gin comes across as a classic from the first sip, with poise, elegance and refreshment its main qualities. Even though it made out of a long list of exotic, only-in-Australia botanicals, the balance is still exquisite and exactly what I am looking for in my therapeutic gin and tonic. I am sure we will disappoint many customers looking for a second bottle of this after it all sells out. If you love it, make sure to get what you need quickly!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2009 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-28-2017
The 2009 Dom Perignon is one of the purest and most elegant that I have had of this famous tete de cuvee. I had an opportunity to taste a preview bottle back in March, and I was very impressed. The wine is much less yeasty than the 2006, and has rounder, riper fruit than the more mineral driven 2004. In an unusual move, but certainly a smart one, they decided to release this ahead of the 2008, which is still resting on its lees in Epernay!

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-23-2017
Tasting the new 2004 Krug next to the 2002 was a revelation for me. This has the power and mid-palate presence that we all love from this great house, but it is married to the extraordinary freshness, minerality and purity of the 2004 vintage. As soon as I touched my lips to the glass I was transported back to the moment over a decade ago when I tasted the 1988 on release. The 2004s and 1988s are like peas in a pod, and I think this will be a vintage that collectors will be kicking themselves for not paying enough attention to. The finish on this bright, lively Krug is still with me the morning after drinking it. It is a Champagne for the ages.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Ardbeg "An Oa" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-19-2017
This incredibly elegant and sophisticated Ardbeg retains the peaty personality of the distillery while showcasing a suaver side of Islay. I enjoyed my little taste of this immensly, and I can't wait to take it home and drink it my favorite way- after dinner. Any fan of Islay malts should have a bottle of this generous, textural Ardbeg!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
WA 93

Professor Fritz Briem "1809" Berliner Weisse, Germany (16.9oz)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
Drinking the 1809 Berliner Weisse from Professor Fritz Briem brings takes me back to my first visit to Berilin, just before the wall came down. This refreshing, light, delicately fruity and subtly sour beer made me think of loud, smoky clubs in Kreuzberg. I might have to spin some Einstürzende Neubauten this weekend and drink a couple of these delicious brews!
Price: $6.49 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet "Extra Noir" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This all Pinot Noir blanc de noir is the smallest production Champagne for Brochet. They only make it when the Pinot Noir is great and then 2000 bottles at most. We were lucky enough to get five cases. It is sourced from two old massal selected plots, the Hautes Vignes and Les Chaillots. I couldn’t believe the crazy complexity of this wine; it had Chambertin like dark cherry power, but was still super easy to drink. The Pinot power was framed by fine brioche toast and the finish goes on forever.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru "Extra Blanc" Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This blanc de blancs comes from the two best Chardonnay plots of the Brochet estate, Mont Benoit and Vognes. Although it is 40% barrel fermented, the oak only comes through in the richer than normal texture of the wine. I did not pick up any barrel aromas or flavors in the wine. This is clean, refreshing mountain Chardonnay, and since although we only have five cases, I already drank one with sushi! If you love pure, white fruit and great minerality, but also demand fine texture in your Champagne, this is one not to miss.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This is composed of 80% Pinot Noir, 15% Chardonnay and 5% Meunier and dosed at 9 grams per liter. The blend is half reserves, with 35% from the previous two harvests and 15% from the solera that Louis started in 2010. The red cherry power of top Pinot Noir jumps from the glass and is framed by classy sourdough toast. I love the texture of this lighter style Pinot based Champagne, and the very high proportion and quality of reserve wines give it great texture, a fine bead and elusive complexity. This is hard to beat at the price!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is one of K&L's best selling Champagnes for a very good reason. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay--every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must-try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 WS 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is our most popular half bottle of Champagne by far. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay: every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry-level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
I feel strongly that this Decades bottling from Wild Turkey is the best Bourbon in the store, and I haven't tasted anything this good in a long time. Instead of doing a series of single barrel releases to go after collectors money, Eddie Russell has put together a masterpiece by blending some of the best stuff in the vast Wild Turkey stocks. The synergy of these whiskeys is obvious at first sniff, and I have to pinch myself when I get to taste something this good at work! This has cream, caramel, and a hint of something savory that makes it beguiling to return to. If you want to treat yourself to an unforgettable bottle, look no further!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 94

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Copper Kings nailed this fantastic batch of gin! Not only does it have great lift from intense juniper flavor and brightness from a great blend of botanicals, it also has texture. This is going to feature often in gin and tonic drinking in the future!
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Marietta "Román" North Coast Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-31-2017
The Roman from Marietta is one of my favorite Zinfandels in the store. This bottle has what all zin should have, plenty of wild brambly fruit and excellent balancing acidity. I can't wait to pair this with a big rack of pork ribs smoked in the backyard or even sausages cooked over the campfire. If you love zin, but can do without monstrous alcohol and residual sugar, this is a must try!

2000 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne (No gift box)
Review Date: 05-18-2017
This toasty, beautiful P2 is a big step from the 1998. I am very impressed by the generosity and balance of this Dom, as well as the incredible freshness given the extended ageing. I tasted this with Vincent Chaperon this March, one of the winemakers, at the Abbey of Hautvillers where Dom Perignon himself worked. I am very excited that it is now here for you!
Price: $399.00 Add To Cart
JS 97 VN 96

2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-11-2017
No Champagne producer is better loved by K&L customers than Paul-Vincent Ariston of Champagne Aspasie, and he has delivered another great vintage with his 2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne . This is a blend of 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier from his estate in Brouillet, and is in a drier, more focused style in 2010. I love this Champagne for the aperitif, and it also goes very well with summer vegetable quiche or even pate!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 Montrose, St-Estèphe (375ml)
Review Date: 05-09-2017
I understand why so many of my colleagues are calling the 2014 Chateau Montrose the wine of the vintage. It is the best young Bordeaux I have tasted in many, many years. This tremendous, dark fruited wine is loaded with power, but also packaged perfectly elegantly. Is it tannic? Of course- it is Montrose! But the tannins are ripe, and lifted by graceful acidity. The only ingredient that is missing is a lot of time... I am afraid that the perfect balance will cause much of the production to be drunk far too young.

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-04-2017
The 2007 Grande Annee is classic Bollinger, and reminds me very much of their great 2004. It is composed of 70% Pinot Noir, mostly from Ay and Verzenay and 30% Chardonnay primarily from Avize, Cramant and Oger. I tasted a preview bottle with Denis Bunner and found it lovely, nutty, generous, and toasty on the nose. In the mouth it was full of intense, savory creamy, even nougat like flavors, and the finish had the chalky cut to balance out all of the decadence! If you love great vintage Champagne, this is not to be missed.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 d'Yquem "Y" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This rich white wine is a powerhouse! It is composed of 75% semillon and 25% sauvignon blanc from d'Yquem's estate vineyards in Sauternes. It has the right amount of honey to set off the grassy notes of the sauvignon blanc, and an unbelievable amount of length and laser like focus. They use 80% one year old barrels that were used once for d'Yquem, and the balance brand new oak, and yet the oak is barely a feature in the wine. This is concentrated stuff!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
WS 95 RP 92

Trudon "Monochrome" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-13-2017
This all Meunier Champagne is made by Jerome Trudon, who used to make the wine at Roederer, both in Anderson Valley and in Reims. He returned to his family farm, and the Monochrome is his flagship. It is made entirely out of Meunier, aged for three years minimum on the lees and benefits from 1/3 reserve wines from older vintages. This is strikingly pure Meunier, with great white flowers and fresh bread on the nose and in the mouth. It is very fresh, as Jerome does not let the wine go through malolactic, and has very good length and quite a bit of minerality.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 04-12-2017
My favorite wines of our very strong New Zealand direct import program are from TWR. The 2015 Te Whare Ra Pinot Noir is full of dark cherry fruit and vinous, savory drive. If you like complexity in your Pinot, this medium bodied, long finishing bottle is a must try.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
The Esprit Blanc de Blancs is made from the very last vineyard in the farthest west part of Champagne—the Chantemanche in Saacy-sur-Marne. This site is one of the very few so far west that they are actually in the Paris district, Ile-de-France. The current release is based on 2009 with 5% barrel fermented reserves from 2008. It is a very creamy style of Blanc de Blancs, with an excellent Chablis like earth character and a bright finish to contrast the richness of the mid-palate.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 92

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
Several years ago, Laurent Perrier was fortunate enough to acquire a small Champagne group that owned vineyards and had some very good contracts in the Côtes de Blancs. This is the first product to be released that includes fruit from these marvelous sites and it is a revelation. They have increased the proportion of chardonnay in the blend to 55% (the balance is 30% pinot noir and 15% meunier), and now only use the first and most delicate portion of the grape pressing, while increasing the aging minimum to over four years on the lees. The result is a Champagne with a near blanc de blancs character, singing with Puligny Montrachet-like lime and vibrant chalk.

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-02-2017
I have only been down to Riceys at the southern tip of Champagne twice. Vivien Lamoureux’s vineyards are only three miles away from the border, and he makes both Champagne and Burgundy. Due to French law, they are produced in different cellars on their respective sides of the boarder. In the past, Les Riceys seemed switched hands between the Comtes de Champagne and the Dukes of Burgundy to many times to count, and that split heritage is very evident in Vivien’s Chamapgne! If you love full bodied rose with plenty of Burgundian Pinot Noir flavor, this one is not to be missed!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Michel Arnould "Cuvée B.50" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
This ambitious all barrel-fermented Champagne is only available in tiny quantities—we received less than 10 cases and we are his US importer! If you are looking for a powerful, ultra-rare bottle, you have found it! Look for vanilla and hazelnut as well as brioche on the nose, and incisive, dry minerality on the back end.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
The value that Patrick Arnould delivers with this top-notch rosé is mind boggling. This is the only rosé Champagne that I have ever had that is exclusively Pinot Noir, but made by blending wines that are vinified white with wines that are vinified red. Patrick is very proud of his Burgundian clones in his best exposed vineyard plot that he uses to make the red wine that gives this Champagne its color and flavor. This rosé has dark cherry authority as well as complex savor from that high quality vineyard. It also has easy refreshment and a dry chalky finish from the rest of his Grand Cru estate vineyard that makes the white Pinot portion. A must try for every rosé fan!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-25-2016
This is the best-selling Champagne in the USA.

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne Jeroboam (3L)
Review Date: 09-25-2016
This is the best-selling Champagne in the USA.
Price: $399.00 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 09-24-2016
Of all the grand marques, no one offers a cleaner, purer example of Champagne fruit and refreshment than Billecart-Salmon. The Billecart family pick earlier than most, and run the coldest, longest fermentations in all of Champagne to deliver their inimitable, graceful house style. If you are looking for the ultimate in balance aperitif Champagne, you have found it!

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2016
This bottling is a blend of 2007 through 2012 vintages with three years of ageing on the lees. It is a brassy gold color and has a generous nose of fresh forest aromas and brioche toast. In the mouth it has a round, rich, seamless texture and an amazing array of flavors… It is easily one of the most complex Champagnes that we have on the shelf. The truly amazing thing to me is the focus of the wine. It stays completely refreshing, vibrant and mineral on the long finish, which makes the 750ml format seem to small! This Champagne is produced out of one 8000 liter barrel and every year about 100 cases is bottled, and the barrel is refreshed with the best wine of the next harvest.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2005 Charles Heidsieck Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-15-2016
The most decadent bottle of the whole staff summit was the 2005 Charles Heidsieck Brut Champagne. This blend of 11 crus is composed of 60% Chardonnay and 40% Pinot Noir and aged for 8 years on the lees. It is loaded with buttered toast aromas and is deep, rich and broad. The bead is very precise and fine while the wine itself is full bodied. If you love the full English style of Champagne, this is the best bottle in the store!

Gosset "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-15-2016
We were very lucky to have Gosset export director Bertrand Verduzier come from Epernay to present his Champagne at the summit this year, and we learned a ton about this very old grand marque. Their flag ship wine is the Gosset "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne, and it is an exceptional wine. The current batch is composed of 43% Chardonnay, 42% Pinot Noir and 15% Meunier with 20% reserves that are blended in the solera style. They never do any malolactic fermentation for this wine, and as such need to age it for a minimum of 4 years on the lees before disgorgement. It has an almost green color in the glass, and has a great tension between opulent toast and chalky, nearly apple like crunch. If you like this Champagne, be sure to put some in the cellar, I have had them going back 30 years and they are spectacular with age as well as young!

Drappier "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-15-2016
The best non-vintage of our whole Champagne summit was the Drappier "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne. That is saying a lot, since we tasted so many greats! This combination of 75% Pinot Noir, 15% Meunier and 10% Chardonnay is made with the lowest sulfur counts of any grand marque Champagne. The fruit for this is all from the Aube and Kimmeridgian clay rather than the chalk of the Marne. It is also mostly estate grown. This gives Champagne not only with the lovely red fruit expression one would expect from so much Pinot, but also layers of nearly Chablis like minerality. If you like dry, yet full flavored Champagne, you it to yourself to try the Drappier!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-14-2016
The 2008 vintage has rightly been hailed as a great one in Champagne, and this Veuve Clicquot Rose is a great example of this fantastic harvest. I drank this with Mr. DeMarville, chef de cave of Clicquot, paired with a long roasted chicken at Town in San Carlos- what an experience! The wine has incredible power and a nearly Burgundian savor to it which was very satisfying with the food. It also has the clarity and lift of the highest acid vintage since 1996. This is a wine for the ages... But it will be very difficult to keep my hands off of now!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-04-2016
This is Champagne of masterful balance, and certainly defies its reasonable price with its elegance. Cinnamon and I shared this with her mother Margaret the night before last, and while it has the black cherry of Ay, it is not as powerful or obvious as most of the wines from that village. It ended up coming very close to our three person fridge to recycling bin record!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot "Rich" Doux Champagne
Review Date: 08-04-2016
We got a huge laugh of the frivolity of drinking this Champagne in ice filled goblets with cucumber after closing the store last night. It was the opposite of the intellectually engaged, notebooks out studiousness of most of our tasting here at K&L. Best of all, the wine tasted good. I had recently been by the Niyija Market in Mountain View and bought some very nice Japanese cucumbers, so I packed up my cutting board and my Nakiri to prep them after closing. I put two thin slices at the bottom of each goblet, loaded the goblets with ice, poured in the Champagne, through another cucumber slice in and decorated the rim with one more. That was all there was to it!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Anchor Brewing "Anchor Steam" Ale, California (12oz)
Review Date: 07-20-2016
I can't think of a beverage that I have had a longer and better relationship with that San Francisco's great Anchor Steam. This is the golden states great contribution to the beer lovers of the world- made at ale temperatures in shallow, open concrete vats with lager yeast. This is a beer of impeccable balance, and even though I must have had more than a thousand of them by now, it never gets old. This is the kind of beer that real beer drinkers love- it is not a box to check, it is something to buy a case of. Whenever I have visitors from Champagne, I often offer them an Anchor Steam before diving into Mount Eden Chardonnay and Ridge Monte Bello. It is that good.
Top Value!
Price: $1.69 Add To Cart

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2016
A bottle of Pata De Gallina and a plate of Cotswold, Cheddar and Stilton lead me into predation every time. I pour a big glass, put the bottle back in the cellar and close the door; otherwise I will be powerless against its charms and pour another. Then I go back to the cellar... It is the tang and zip of this bone dry wine that make it so moreish, while the scale, richness and complexity make it beguiling. What a wine!

Four Pillars Navy Strength Gin 750ml
Review Date: 05-28-2016
This has all the great attributes of the Rare Dry from Four Pillars- just more of them! If you love citrus lift and a strong juniper foundation and sneaky power, this is for you. I love the way that Navy Strength Gin leads me down the wrong path, and I can't wait to get a bottle of this home.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2008 Veuve Clicquot "Gold Label Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2016
This is one of the best examples of the great 2008 vintage in Champagne that I have yet to taste. While many people only think of Clicquot for their yellow label (it is after all the number one selling Champagne in the USA!) I have always found the Gold Label to be not only their best wine, but one of the great Champagnes of the world. This might be the best young one that I have ever tasted, and has all of the features of a legend in the making. It is composed of 61% Pinot Noir, 34% Chardonnay and 5% Meunier sourced exclusively from Grand and 1er Cru vineyards. This is the first vintage with Dominique DeMarville at the helm, and he has integrated 5% of large would foudres into the otherwise stainless steel fermentation. This is a bottle that has it all- big, nutty, dark cherry power from powerful Pinot Noir and incredible chalky drive and a near endless finish from classy Chardonnay. It is impossible to have too much of this in the cellar- it is not only fabulous now, but will improve for as long as you can keep your hands off of it!
Drink from 2016 to 2016

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne Jeroboam (3L)
Review Date: 04-20-2016
This is great Champagne- and perhaps one of the best values for money in any category of wine. Louis Roederer has been pushing quality like few others in the region over the last decade, and no wine shows the heights that they have reached as well as the Brut Premier. With massive investment in organic viticulture, including a massive purchase of 1er vineyards from Leclerc-Briant, a return to plowing in the vineyard instead of chemical treatment and obsession with every detail in the winery they have created something here that has no rival among the big names, especially at this price. The 1/3 of the fruit that they buy comes from growers like Benoit Marguet- so you know they are getting top stuff. While most of my time is spent advocating for single origin Champagnes, this bottle is a great argument for blending and the balance that cellar master Jean-Baptiste Lecaillon created here is second to none. This wine has a great brioche nose and plenty of vivacious sparkle. It is a perfect aperitif!

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 04-20-2016
This is great Champagne- and perhaps one of the best values for money in any category of wine. Louis Roederer has been pushing quality like few others in the region over the last decade, and no wine shows the heights that they have reached as well as the Brut Premier. With massive investment in organic viticulture, including a massive purchase of 1er vineyards from Leclerc-Briant, a return to plowing in the vineyard instead of chemical treatment and obsession with every detail in the winery they have created something here that has no rival among the big names, especially at this price. The 1/3 of the fruit that they buy comes from growers like Benoit Marguet- so you know they are getting top stuff. While most of my time is spent advocating for single origin Champagnes, this bottle is a great argument for blending and the balance that cellar master Jean-Baptiste Lecaillon created here is second to none. This wine has a great brioche nose and plenty of vivacious sparkle. It is a perfect aperitif!

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 04-20-2016
This is great Champagne- and perhaps one of the best values for money in any category of wine. Louis Roederer has been pushing quality like few others in the region over the last decade, and no wine shows the heights that they have reached as well as the Brut Premier. With massive investment in organic viticulture, including a massive purchase of 1er vineyards from Leclerc-Briant, a return to plowing in the vineyard instead of chemical treatment and obsession with every detail in the winery they have created something here that has no rival among the big names, especially at this price. The 1/3 of the fruit that they buy comes from growers like Benoit Marguet- so you know they are getting top stuff. While most of my time is spent advocating for single origin Champagnes, this bottle is a great argument for blending and the balance that cellar master Jean-Baptiste Lecaillon created here is second to none. This wine has a great brioche nose and plenty of vivacious sparkle. It is a perfect aperitif!

Lanson Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-13-2016
This dry, racy rosé has great toastiness and an exceptionally fine bead. It is composed of 50% Pinot Noir, 35% Chardonnay and 15% Meunier, with 7% Bouzy rouge giving the Champagne its color. It has been aged for three years on the lees and is dosed at only 9 grams per liter. Like all of Lanson's Champagnes, the wine is fermented in stainless steel without malolactic.

2012 Louis Jadot Beaune 1er Cru "153rd Anniversary Cuvee"
Review Date: 02-25-2016
There is no place in the world that values specificity of site like Burgundy, and it is rare to see a blend of 1er Cru sites like this. Jadot has created a cuvee that is greater than the some of its parts for their 153rd anniversary, and this is without a doubt the best value in fine red wine for your cellar that we have at K&L today. If you love finesse, delicacy and balance in your Pinot Noir, this wine will give you great pleasure right now. If you are willing to wait, this wine will doubtless gain power, breadth and texture over the next couple of decades and turn into a real "blood making" Beaune. I am putting buying a case for myself, I recommend that you do too.
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
BH 92 VN 92

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>