Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2008 A.D. Coutelas Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-05-2018
The Coutelas have made a great 2008 with this bottling, and although it drinks great now, it should continue to improve for a decade. This all 1er cru Vintage Champagne comes from vineyards in the village of Dizy, just north of Epernay and east of Ay. I love the balance and poise of this half each blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir; it has complex intrigue from the savory, nearly truffle like Pinot Noir and great cut and minerality from both the Chardonnay and the character of the great 2008 vintage. The real kicker for me is the creamy texture- I don't know how they get this kind of elegant velvet into a wine that is still so lively and long. This performs way above its price tag!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2012 Louise Brison Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
The 2012 is undoubtedly the best Champagne yet from Louise Brison. Delphine Brulez works hard in the vineyard, doing everything the old fashioned, organic hard way, and then continues in the cellar. All the wines are barrel fermented, and the main production, just like in Burgundy, is vintage dated. Sadly, upcoming vintages will be short for this great producer, as the Aube has been very hard hit with hail and spring frost, making for tiny harvests. This is a Champagne with great subtlety and depth, with hints of nut bread and fine cream on the nose, ripe cherry fruit and good citric zip in the mouth and a super long mineral finish. It is a super star.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Jim Beam Bonded 100 Proof Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-03-2018
What a deal! This bottled in bond offering from Jim Beam is going to be a new family tradition for the Westby house. It is better than most of the craft whiskey that I have tasted at three times the price, and works just as well for neat sipping as it does for all of your Bourbon drinks. It has great vanilla flavor and corn richness, but doesn't finish candied or harsh. What a find!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

Mortlach 25 Year Old Gordon & Macphail Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-03-2018
Old single malt is becoming rarer and more expensive by the minute, and this Mortlach offers a rare opportunity to enjoy 25 year old whisky without getting into the stratosphere price wise. Unlike many malts this age, it hasn't gone to wood, and still has mid-palate presence as well as nearly endless length. I love the meaty, nearly saucisson sec flavors that subtly dial up the substance of this otherwise subtle, complex dram. If you are looking for a old school, complex malt that you will never tire of, you found it!
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat
Review Date: 07-03-2018
I can count the white Priorat that I have had a chance to taste on one hand. These rare wines come around only once in a blue moon, and are a must try for fans of this region. For an area so strongly associated with gigantic, dark reds, the Les Brugueres Blanco couldn't be more different. This is light, not at all affected by oak, super crisp white wine. It is a subtle, understated white with considerable complexity and grace. Try it out- you don't know the whole Priorat story until you do!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Black Slate "Escala Dei" Vi de la Vila Priorat
Review Date: 07-03-2018
What a difference high altitude makes in Priorat! The Escala Dei Vi De La Vila Black Slate is still a big, powerful wine, but has Beucastel like grace on the back end. The dark, intense fruit of this wine is quite nicely balanced by a good acid line as well as complex, earthy flavors. If you are a fan of old fashioned Rhone wines this will thrill you, if you love Priorat already, it is a must!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 95 RP 92

2016 Seghesio Sonoma County Zinfandel
Review Date: 07-03-2018
I find Seghesio to be one of the most reliably good producers of Zinfandel in the state. Their regular Sonoma County offering is a huge success in 2016, with plenty of wild, dark, brambly fruit and great spice. It is low in tannin, but has good zip on the back end, and I can't wait to crack it open with a big rack of pork ribs!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
WS 93

2016 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra South Australia
Review Date: 07-03-2018
The Phoenix from Penley Estate has the big, open knit boisterous quality that people love in an Australian wine, but still finishes dry and clean. I love the brambly blackberry fruit, the good grip and and richness of this Coonawarra cab. This will be great with all sorts of grilled meat, but especially with beef!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2015 Robert Oatley Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 07-03-2018
When I saw the price for this my jaw dropped- Margaret River anything is never this good of a deal, especially when the wine is exciting as this. If you like European style white wine, this is for you, not only does the Robert Oatley have high end lime aromas and fantastic refreshment and length, it also has an incredible combination of subtle earth and subtle oak. It is very hard to pin down where one element starts and the other ends- a mark of a much more expensive bottle than what this is being offered for!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 95 WE 91

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-29-2018
The wonderfully rich Cuvee Rare from Piper Heidsieck reminds me of the great tete de cuvee's of years gone past. Like those, it is made in tiny quantities and only in the very best years- only 8 vintages have been made in 36 years! We drank this wine at a staff sushi and Champagne party at my house, and loved it with the eel especially, but I think the ultimate pairing for this wine would be a nice sunset. It doesn't need anything! I love the warm toastiness of this wine and its fine balance. The refreshing finish will have you coming back for more!
Drink to 0

2008 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-05-2018
The most anticipated Champagne in my 20 years in the wine business is finally for sale. This has been so hyped up with 100 point scores that I figured it couldn't possibly be as good as the critics say... But it is. This is the most concentrated, long finishing Cristal I have ever tasted, and so loaded with chalky minerality and bright vivacious acidity that one could mistake it for a blanc de blancs. But then the hazelnut cream Verzenay Pinot Noir swells up to balance everything out, leaving me at a loss for words. The big shame is how much will be drunk down immediately (it is all too delicious right now) since the real story is the long term ageability of this masterpiece!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 166 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
The wine was loaded with limey, Puligny like drive and a ton of chalky minerality, and I would have guessed that it had even more than the 39% Chardonnay that they did use in it. It cut the fish like a razor blade, and had fantastic structure and chalky length. I think this is a great one to put down for a few years. It is brimming with power! I think this is the most concentrated Grand Cuvée that I have drunk young. My suspicion is that little, and perhaps no vintage wine will be made at Krug in 2010, allowing them to use lots that would normally go into more expensive wines. This is the conundrum of multi-vintage blends. The market scrambles for lots like the 164- which had a majority of the great 2008 in it. But, we know that there will almost certainly be not only Krug vintage 2008, but also Clos du Mesnil and Clos Ambonnay, meaning those wines were not available for the Grande Cuvée. Many at Krug say that the best Grande Cuvée that they have drunk is the 157- which is mostly from the miserable 2001 vintage. They put all the best stuff in it- that is something to think about!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart
WS 95 VN 94

2006 Taittinger "Comtes de Champagne" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
We are getting down to the last of the 2006, with the 2007 waiting in the wings. When I had this last week, I found the limey, Puligny-like drive of this Champagne compelling and refreshing, and was happy to see this vintage living up to the legend of the Comtes de Champagne. This all Cote de Blancs Grand Cru Champagne is sourced from primarily estate vineyards in Avize, Chouilly, Oger and Mesnil. It is 95% fermented in stainless, but sees 5% small oak to add richness. The combination of toast from 8 years on the lees and lime zest from the top Chardonnay make for an exotic, yet elegant beauty of a Champagne.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
This fantastic non-vintage is entirely barrel fermented and then aged on the lees in the bottle for five years before release. It is composed of half Chardonnay and a quarter each Pinot Noir and Meunier. The long ageing has given this Champagne great depth and natural toast, but the old fashioned non-malolactic winemaking has balanced that with incredible dry finishing freshness. This is one of the finest famous names in Champagne, and this wine is an unbelievable value at this price!
Top Value!

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2018
The Grand Siecle has long been my favorite tete de cuvee, but for several years it has been out of reach. Since 2008, just a trickle has made it to the USA, and it was a fantastically expensive trickle. We managed to secure some at a very fair price and I can't say enough about what a great wine this is. Most big houses talk a big game about the "Blenders Art" and the synergy of Grand Cru terroirs when combined not just with balancing sites, but also across time. This is the embodiment of synergistic blending and monk’s patience. Nearly every Grand Cru in Champagne is represented; the wine is from three different vintages and aged over 10 years on the lees. I believe this is the most underrated of all the tête de cuvees in Champagne. First of all, it is real and honest tête de cuvee, representing only a sliver of their production and allowing them to select the cream of the crop for this bottling. Some of the most famous tête de cuvees are actually the second highest production wine from their respective houses! As one would expect from a Champagne that is aged this long from such excellent sources, it is very complex. This complexity is not a vinous, heavy complexity, however; in fact it is almost vanishingly subtle and elegant. I think it's necessary to spend time with the Grand Siècle to truly understand it. The wine is simply lovely with a fantastic bead of tiny bubbles to start and I always feel like a having second glass when I taste it. That is when I start to notice the complexity! That desire for more speaks volumes.

2015 Raised By Wolves "Old School" Cinsault - Cabernet Sauvignon Stellenbosch
Review Date: 05-30-2018
I love it when a wine surprises me like this one did! The "Old School" Cinsault from Raised By Wolves is made in a buy gone style- low alcohol, balanced and refreshing. If you are expanding your wine horizons, this is one not to miss, and I think it will go spectacularly with a sausage grill up or even a fancy steak. It is just wild and brambly enough from the Cinsault to keep you guessing!
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Kloof Street (Mullineux Family Wines) Chenin Blanc Swartland South Africa
Review Date: 05-30-2018
This Chenin Blanc is an outstanding choice for wine lovers looking for both big body and refreshment from a white wine. The Kloof Street from Mullineux Family has broad flavors of melon and generous white flower aromatics and mouth filling richness, but the great acidity keeps it from becoming heavy or sweet. It has great complexity for the price, and I don't think you will get bored of it, even on the last bottle of your case!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-30-2018
What a surprise! Sub $20 Pinot Noir is rarely this exciting, but it seems like Marlborough is the place for value examples of this super sought after grape variety. I thought that this had the catnip tinged, expressive red cherry fruit that I normally only find in much more expensive bottles, as well as good richness without any sweetness. What a buy!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Frenzy Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
Review Date: 05-30-2018
This is a fantastic deal in refreshing Sauvignon Blanc with more body than normal. It is a great example of the Marlborough style, with white peach fruit and good acidity. At this price it makes a perfect weeknight glass of wine!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91 WS 90

2014 Domaine de la Begude Bandol Rouge
Review Date: 05-04-2018
This great bottle of Bandol inspired me with its traditional, earthy style and excellent long, fresh finish. As soon as I tasted it, I was wishing for a lamb shank and some géant haricots blancs! If you are looking for a red wine that combines the sun of the south with the cool of the sea breeze, it is all right here in this bottle.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

1997 Bowmore 20 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 04-12-2018
The salty and sweet twenty year old Bowmore has all of the charm of the best of Islay along with the complexity and length that only time will bring. If you like the natural style of non-Sherry influenced Islay, but want the texture and interest of an older malt, this is a perfect choice.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 03-15-2018
When it comes to vintage Champagne, Roederer is clearly one of the best. They start in the vineyard, and manage the vines for this rosé very differently than the sites that are used for the Blanc de Blancs, Cristal and regular Brut vintage. In the case of this wine, they use their steep sites in the Premier Cru of Cumieres to get the ripest Pinot Noir possible in the cold Champagne region. While the Pinot is macerating, they infuse Chardonnay from the coolest sites in the Grand Cru of Chouilly both to slow down the set of the pigment and add freshness and acidity to the wine. The 2012 vintage was a great one in Champagne, marked by low yields and warm harvest conditions, and this is a great example of the concentration and texture that this great year is capable of. The color is only a pale copper strewn pink, but the finish has great black cherry Pinot power. The top class chalk of the Chardonnay make this a long finishing, lengthy treat that should not be missed!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 WE 94

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-15-2018
When it comes to vintage Champagne, Roederer is clearly one of the best. They start in the vineyard, and manage the vines for this rosé very differently than the sites that are used for the Blanc de Blancs, Cristal and regular Brut vintage. In the case of this wine, they use their steep sites in the Premier Cru of Cumieres to get the ripest Pinot Noir possible in the cold Champagne region. While the Pinot is macerating, they infuse Chardonnay from the coolest sites in the Grand Cru of Chouilly both to slow down the set of the pigment and add freshness and acidity to the wine. The 2012 vintage was a great one in Champagne, marked by low yields and warm harvest conditions, and this is a great example of the concentration and texture that this great year is capable of. The color is only a pale copper strewn pink, but the finish has great black cherry Pinot power. The top class chalk of the Chardonnay make this a long finishing, lengthy treat that should not be missed!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 WE 94

Port Askaig 110 Proof Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
The Port Askaig is our gentlemans Isaly, and is creamy and rounded even though it is high proof and peaty. I love the generosity and openness of this malt as well as much as its smoky peat. This is a great value for money, and I think that you will be impressed with how much Islay you get inside.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Bruichladdich "Classic Laddie" Scottish Barley Islay Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
I love Islay Malt, but find that many of them just end up filling up my liquor cabinet, as I am not drawn to drinking them the same way that I am impressed by tasting them. The Classic Laddie Scottish Barley from Bruichladdich is not at like that, and is super drinkable and moreish. This is the perfect malt for having a second dram of, since the fabulously salty complexity does not come with a bunch of excessive fat and heat. This is a very high quality malt, especially for the money.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Extra Brut Extra Old Champagne
Review Date: 03-13-2018
We had this Champagne with some mushroom pate that Cinnamon made out of hen of the woods and crimi’s from a local grower at the Menlo Park farmers market on toasts made out of the Woodside Bakery’s walnut bread. While the wine was clean, refreshing and bright the whole time, it also magically had vinous depth and complexity that on rarely encounters in current release Champagne. The subtle way that this power and depth presents itself is a testament to the blending mastery of Dominique Demarville, a cellar master at the top of his game. The savory, earthy flavors in the pate brought out the same in the wine, but without the food I might have missed them completely.
Price: $84.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 92

2015 Laventura "Lanave" Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
This new breed Rioja opened my eyes to the possibilities of enjoying a completely different style of one of my most loved regions. The first wave of new Rioja was all about expensive new French cooperage, high alcohol and big points from the critics... And this wine could not be any different. Although the Laventura seems to rebel against the big earth and oxidative orange peel flavors of the old school, it also rejects the heat and over polish of those first wave rebels. This is pure, clean, red fruited Rioja, that seems like it could almost be poured as a substitute for Pinot Noir! A must try for any fan of Rioja!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Castillo de Vinas Rosado Rioja
Review Date: 03-07-2018
This pale rosé impressed me with its cool strawberry aromas, its great balance of clean, dry drive and generous fruit flavors, but most of all with its length. This is a long finishing, classy rosé from Spain that will easily compete with wines costing $10 more from provence.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2005 Vega Sicilia "Unico" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 03-07-2018
The 2005 Vega Sicilia is an awe inspiring wine that ranks up with the finest bottles in the world. I was blown away by the kaleidoscopic complexity of this perfectly textured, medium to full bodied red. Most of the time, wines with a reputation as great as this can only disappoint, but this over delivered. This will be at home on the table with the best and most expensive wines that the world has to offer, and drinks fabulously now with the promise of generations of enjoyment to come!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 02-21-2018
If you are a fan of the big wines like Amador Zinfandel and other Roussillon's like the Lafage, this is a must try. The Mas Karolina is super rich, powerful and sweet fruited dark red wine. This is a glass of "le soleil" from the south of France!
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 89 - 91

2014 Bedouet "Expression du Pallet Vieilles Vignes" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 02-21-2018
When we tasted the Expression Du Pallet from Bedouet, I imagined myself in front of a giant plateau de fruits de mer on the coast of Brittany. This wine has serious white fruit power, with a small hint of honey, but is backed by the kind of minerality and nutty lees quality that I usually only expect from expensive Champagne. The values in Muscadet have long been touted here at K&L, but this has an extra special element. What a bottle!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price

2014 Benmarco Malbec Uco Valley
Review Date: 02-14-2018
The folks at Benmarco have delivered another brooding, powerhouse Malbec in 2014! This full bodied, dark, potent Malbec has slick tobacco like oak and rich black fruit. If you like powerful Napa Cabernet, but are tired of paying the exorbitant prices, this is a great alternative.

2016 Amalaya Malbec Salta
Review Date: 02-14-2018
It is not everyday that I am lucky enough to taste a real terroir wine from Argentina. It is far rarer for it to come at such a value price. The Amalaya Malbec comes from staggeringly high altitude vineyards, and that location shows through beautifully in the bottle. Not only does it have the full bodied, spicy, dark fruit character that makes Argentinian malbec so popular with our customers, it also has minerality and depth that are almost never found at this price range. This exciting bottle has surprising complexity and lift to balance its rich power. A must try for any Malbec fan!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
DC 90 WS 90

2014 Catena Appellation Cabernet Franc San Carlos
Review Date: 02-14-2018
The Catena Cabernet Franc from San Carlos, Argentina walks a fine line between the olive character of French Franc and the blue fruit of the new world. It manages to have texture without being heavy, and a little bit of herbal lift without being green. It is a super example of Cabernet Franc, which is easy to drink as it is interesting to taste.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Apaltagua Pinot Noir Reserva San Antonio Valley
Review Date: 02-14-2018
Great values in Pinot Noir are very rare, as this grape variety is famous for being difficult to grow and vinify. The Apaltagua Pinot Noir Reserva is an exception, and serves up round, dark cherry fruit and surprisingly satisfying body at a true bargain price. If you are looking for a good bottle of Pinot to drink on weeknights, this is a must try.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The value that Patrick Arnould delivers with this top-notch rosé is mind boggling. This is the only rosé Champagne that I have ever had that is exclusively Pinot Noir, but made by blending wines that are vinified white with wines that are vinified red. Patrick is very proud of his Burgundian clones in his best exposed vineyard plot that he uses to make the red wine that gives this Champagne its color and flavor. This rosé has dark cherry authority as well as complex savor from that high quality vineyard. It also has easy refreshment and a dry chalky finish from the rest of his Grand Cru estate vineyard that makes the white Pinot portion. A must try for every rosé fan, and a stunning value.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The wines of Verzenay are some of my very favorite in all of Champagne, and Patrick Arnould of Champagne Michel Arnould makes some of the very best. This wine has the magical hazelnut quality that many (including myself!) often miss for wood treatment in blind tastings. Because this Grand Cru village faces north the wines are always electric and vibrant, even with high percentages of Pinot in the blend. This is one of our finest values in top grower Champagne, and the price makes it unmissable!
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2011 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
Don't let the less than famous 2011 vintage fool you- this is flat out one of the top Pinot Noir Champagnes that we have in the store at any price. It is composed exclusively from old massal selected vineyards in the grand cru of Verzenay, and manages to be both very concentrated, powerful and rich as well as maintaining a chalky lift that only the best terroirs can offer in Champagne. If you are looking for kaleidoscope like, multi faceted Champagne this is for you. Too bad we only received five cases!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Real McCoy 10 Year Old Limited Edition Virgin Oak Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
What a great surprise! This fabulous bottle of sipping rum has an subtle, intricate complex nose not only of butterscotch and exotic fruit, but also mellow vanilla. In the mouth it is rich, without being at all sugary. The serious, no additives allowed approach shows through in the laid back complexity and long, long finish. I can't wait to have a glass of this by the fire tonight after dinner!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I have been waiting eight long years for the premier of this tete de cuvée Champagne from Baron Fuente, and I am thrilled to finally be able to offer it! This wine has concentration and focus that is up their with the best Champagne that we offer. It is the first time that they have introduced a proportion of barrel fermented Champagne in one of their wines, and just like the vintage offerings from houses like Billecart and Roederer, it only shows in texture- there is no wood flavor at all! This is vibrant, mineral driven Champagne that has the pin point streamers and fine texture that only a long seven years of ageing on the lees will bring. This is one of the great deals in top notch Champagne that we offer!
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
The lovely, old school toastiness of this Grand Millesime grabbed me from the very first sniff! Baron Fuente has got a real winner from the warm 2009 harvest here, with beurre d'isigny cream and savor, but backed up with more than enough snappy refreshment to keep me coming back for more. This is an excellent aperitif, but will also go very well with gougeres or other finger foods.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Chappellet "Signature" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-11-2018
This rich, flashy, dark Cabernet has all of the toasty oak and dark currant fruit to impress on the very first sip. It also has real Cabernet structure underneath with real power for your next big steak meal. If you like big cab, this is a great choice. Fire up the grill, put on some big ribeyes and enjoy this very good Cabernet!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

1998 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 01-04-2018
Poujeaux needs twenty years to drink the way that I like it, and this is in a perfect spot, not showing any sort of fragility. We tasted this blind, and I was over the moon for the quality and finesse of this now mature claret. If you are looking for something special for your next steak dinner, this Moulis has the excellent texture, dark fruit and perky finish that will complement your meal perfectly.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Saint-Paul, Haut-Medoc
Review Date: 01-04-2018
This super value 2015 comes from just north of St. Estephe. It not only has the ripeness and power that make this vintage a wine critic favorite, but also the focus that will bring real pleasure at the table. These 2015's will be hard not to drink young, they have so much nice fruit and are incredibly open right now. I say buy some for now and some for later!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2011 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Grand Cru Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2017
This Champagne comes from the impossibly steep slopes of Ay grand cru in the heart of the Marne Valley. It is composed of 2/3 Pinot Noir and 1/3 Chardonnay from some of the chalkiest soil in all of Champagne. While this vintage proved challenging for many, some of the best plots in the grand crus did exceptionally well, producing wines of both power and finesse. This is one of those wines, and has plenty of richness for drinking on its own, but also the backbone of minerality to pair with the best salmon or tuna fillets.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Charles Ellner "Qualité" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-30-2017
Champagne Charles Ellner is one of the largest vineyard holders in Epernay, and wine comes exclusively from these vines. It is composed of 50% Pinot Noir, 30%Chardonnay and 20% Meunier, is aged for almost five years on the lees and is treated to an addition of 1/3 reserve wines. This has great red cherry Pinot Noir fruit framed by baguette toast from the long ageing, as well as surprising snap and length. This is an ideal aperitif, and will go fantastically well with gougers, parmesan crisps and all manner of finger foods.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I can't think of a single bottle of Champagne at K&L that has brought me such consistent pleasure as the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche. The Ariston family has worked very hard to deliver this great bottle to the Champagne lovers of the world. Most producers age their Champagne for less than three years in the bottle before shipping, but the Carte Blanche gets five years. It is entirely estate grown by one of the most careful growers in the business. On top of all that it is made in one of the most modern facilities of any small producer that I have visited. The pressing is done in a 1/4 million euro Coquard diaganol press and the fermentation is all done in computer regulated temperature controlled tanks. The result is one of the best aperitif bottles that we sell; toasty and full, yet refreshing and crisp, a perfect balance between aged complexity and youthful vigor. And then there is the price--so fair that Cinnamon and I have had the opportunity to impact the world supply with our consumption! Don't miss it.
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-28-2017
A classic for a reason. The cellars of Pol Roger are the deepest and coldest in Epernay, reaching over 110 feet into the chalk, and here every bottle is still hand riddled. This toasty, well balanced grand marque is composed of about 1/3 each Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Meunier. It is treated to four years of ageing on the lees and has 25% reserve wines in the blend. It makes a lovely aperitif, and is supremely well balanced. If you haven't had this lately, it is a must try!

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Review Date: 11-15-2017
This incredible bottle of Vermentino Di Gallura has the kind of effortless class, seamless texture and near infinite length that one only expects from the most famous white Burgundy producers. If you are looking for a flat out great bottle of white wine that is a real discovery, try this Cantina Di Gallura Genesi. It makes a great drink on its own, but I can't wait to try it with crab risotto!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2017
This super rich, all barrel fermented Champagne from Bollinger is usually sold as "La Grande Année" Rosé for $60 more a bottle. Since the team at Bollinger does not feel that this ripe 2006 will last a generation, they decided to sell it as regular vintage- a first for them. Since it was originally made as "La Grande Année" Rosé, this wine it has been aged all the time on the lees on a cork rather than a crown cap. This is a full, toasty, powerful dry style that will thrill fans of this house, at a price that is too good to miss!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>