Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
2013 Burgess "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-06-2017
This fantastic 2013 from the Burgess estate is a great bottle of full bodied, yet dry Napa Cabernet. If you are looking for a dark fruited, powerful mountain cab to go with some man sized rib eyes off the grill, look no further. While most Napa Cabernet in this price range is made from purchased valley floor fruit, this is entirely from the Burgess estate on Howell Mountain. Enjoy some now, and save some for a few years... I just drank a bottle of the 1993 a few months ago and it was still fresh at 24 years old!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 92 VN 92

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 164 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-31-2017
The 164th edition of Krug is only the second comercial release with the edition on the front label- and what an addition it is! Based on the fantastic 2008 vintage, this spectacular Champagne is composed of 11 different vintages going all the way back to 1990. While the 163rd edition drinks better today, this great bottle of Champagne will eclipse nearly anything that a collector could buy at this price after a few years in a good cellar. Not only does this have the breadth and depth of power that we all love in Krug, it has the chalky electric energy of the 2008 vintage. This is already becoming a legend in its own time... But in a few years, look out!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Timothy Taylor "Landlord" Strong Pale Ale, England (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I love the taste of the old country in this Pale Ale! Don't let the "strong" scare you off on the label- this under 5% Abv beer is exactly the kind a person can drink plenty of without getting fuzzy in the head or tired of the flavors. This elegant ale from Timothy Taylor has lovely balance, both fruit from the top fermenting yeast and pleasant bitterness from the hops. I can't wait to sit down for a long session with a few of these!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart

Mahr's Bräu "Mastodon" Lager, Germany (500ml)
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I don't always drink Märzen named after metal bands, but when I do it is always the Mahr's Brau Mastodon. This is classic German brown lager, with very nice texture and malty flavors, balanced by enough hoppiness to keep it refreshing enough to have another two or three.
Price: $6.99 Add To Cart

Louis Brochet 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-24-2017
This is composed of 80% Pinot Noir, 15% Chardonnay and 5% Meunier and dosed at 9 grams per liter. The blend is half reserves, with 35% from the previous two harvests and 15% from the solera that Louis started in 2010. The red cherry power of top Pinot Noir jumps from the glass and is framed by classy sourdough toast. I love the texture of this lighter style Pinot based Champagne, and the very high proportion and quality of reserve wines give it great texture, a fine bead and elusive complexity. This is hard to beat at the price!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Tasting this today, I was floored by the breed and stateliness of this young claret. This third wine of Latour has the classic flavors of the first wine with lead pencil and cassis in perfect, classy balance. What it doesn't have recommends it even more- this is not a tannin bound wine like Latour proper would be at this age, but rather and open knit, delicious drinker. If you ever wondered what a first growth is all about, but didn't want to part with a grand, treat yourself to this!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 90
Limit of 24 per customer

2014 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Langoa has made a fabulous wine for the cellar here, but you'll have to bury it at the bottom of a big stack... It tastes a little too good to hold onto right now! This great 2014 has an explosive nose of red fruit with bonbon ceris and extraordinary purity on the palate. The length is striking, as is the focussed acidity. This will prove to be one of the great Langoa's in time, if we can keep our hands off of it!
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2007 Tronquoy-Lalande, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 08-22-2017
The 2007 Tronquoy Lalande is a powerful, structured Bordeaux that pairs very well with rich, charcoal grilled steak and loaded potatoes! This wine, which I enjoyed a couple of Fridays ago for steak and claret night has an exotic, open, mocha and cassis nose as well as plenty of back end grip. This is manly Bordeaux for a manly steak, and should be even better in a few years time.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2004 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
Review Date: 08-22-2017
Cinnamon and I drank this for our 13th anniversary (we were married in 2004) with steak frites at the lovely Mathilde French bistro in San Francisco. Today I had it again in our staff Bordeaux tasting, right next to the famous 2005. Both times, this wine exceeded expectations, and I couldn't help but buy a little for myself after this second great surprise! I thought this wine drank far better than the 2005 now, and has none of the green notes that critics of the 2004's complain about. The texture is all there at 13 years, and the fruit is dark, fresh and very well balanced by focussed acidity. If you have a steak dinner in your future, this top class Bordeaux is a great choice!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-18-2017
We have a few house favorites when it comes to Bordeaux here at K&L, and the 2009 Coufran, Haut-Médoc confirms why we love this property. For the Haut-Medoc, this wine has a huge proportion of Merlot at 85% and just a touch of Cabernet Sauvignon at 15%. In its youth, the wine had a big, ripe, plumy nose, but was still very elegant in the mouth. It reminded me very much of old fashioned Pomerol; medium bodied, pure, racy Merlot without the extraneous sugar and oak. At the price, too much of this wine was probably consumed too young, but the patient will now be rewarded with a great experience at a very small price.

1990 Poujeaux, Moulis-en-Medoc
Review Date: 08-17-2017
For decades, I have been preaching the gospel of Poujeaux to anyone who would listen. I believe that these wines, given enough time in the cellar, will stand on the table with anything. This 1990 has been given that time in the cool cellars of one of our negociant partners in Bordeaux, and is not drinking absolutely beautifully. If you have been invited to a wine dinner where everyone else is bringing $200 bottles, you will not be out classed with this beauty from Moulis. It has integrated and gained complexity over the last 27 years, but still has excellent concentration and ripe Cabernet fruit. The finish is long, detailed and far more complex than many more expensive, famous bottles that I have had lately.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2016 Weon Carignane Maule Valley
Review Date: 08-01-2017
The light to medium bodied Weon challenged my prejudice against carignane at today's staff tasting. I loved the charm and easy going style of this delicately earthy, pretty, refreshing red wine. This would be a good wine to put in the mix with one's cru Beaujolais, Jura poulsard and even Oregon pinot!
Price: Hidden View Price

2013 Aleph Semillon Mendoza
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This semillon is one of the most inspiring Argentinian wines that I have ever tasted. The Aleph is loaded with waxy, complex, intriguing flavors, and has full body, not from oak, but from real concentration. It might seem expensive in context with other wines from the same country, but is an outstanding value as a wine. This would be a great ringer in a lineup of expensive white Bordeaux!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2016 Matetic "EQ" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 08-01-2017
This refreshing Sauvignon Blanc has very nice fruit without being sweet, a subtle pepper like note on the nose, and no grassiness to speak of. The folks at Matetic in the Casablanca Valley have come up with a great summer sipper with this 2016!

2008 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-12-2017
This was one of the biggest highlights of my trip to Champagne this year. This spectacular offering from Le Brun De Neuville is all from Bethon, in the heart of the Sézanne. It is composed of 96% of Chardonnay and 4% Pinot Noir from some of the chalkiest soil in all of Champagne. You friends will not believe that they are drinking a Champagne that is well under $50 if you pop this tonight. Given how well the 1988 Le Brun De Neuville showed, it only can get better if you can keep your hands off of it!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is one of K&L's best selling Champagnes for a very good reason. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay--every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must-try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 06-20-2017
This is our most popular half bottle of Champagne by far. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay: every acre that they own is super chalky, east-facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920s, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry-level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must try for any Champagne lover.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 06-20-2017
I always have to order extra of these magnums - Clyde & Trey always gobble up about half of what we get! All Champagne has an advantage in magnum, seeing more surface area for lees contact and half the amount of air exposure. The Bonville family doubles down by giving these an extra 2-4 years of ageing! This is one of K&L's best selling Champagnes for a very good reason. The Bonville family has some of the best terroir imaginable for growing Chardonnay- every acre that they own is super chalky, east facing Grand Cru on the Cote des Blancs. They have been making their own Champagne here since the 1920's, and growing here for many generations before that. This is their entry level bottling, and what a way to start! It is made of at least half reserve wines, giving it not only the dry, chalky drive that makes this area famous, but also giving the wine toasty, creamy, delicious drinkability. A must try for any Champagne lover. Already exceptional out of 750, the Bonville Selection picks up both richness and zip in the larger format bottle - making it the "smallest" big bottle that we have. It ends up empty far too soon!
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 WS 90

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
I feel strongly that this Decades bottling from Wild Turkey is the best Bourbon in the store, and I haven't tasted anything this good in a long time. Instead of doing a series of single barrel releases to go after collectors money, Eddie Russell has put together a masterpiece by blending some of the best stuff in the vast Wild Turkey stocks. The synergy of these whiskeys is obvious at first sniff, and I have to pinch myself when I get to taste something this good at work! This has cream, caramel, and a hint of something savory that makes it beguiling to return to. If you want to treat yourself to an unforgettable bottle, look no further!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 94

Copper & Kings American Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 06-08-2017
Copper Kings nailed this fantastic batch of gin! Not only does it have great lift from intense juniper flavor and brightness from a great blend of botanicals, it also has texture. This is going to feature often in gin and tonic drinking in the future!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Marietta "Román" North Coast Zinfandel
Review Date: 05-31-2017
The Roman from Marietta is one of my favorite Zinfandels in the store. This bottle has what all zin should have, plenty of wild brambly fruit and excellent balancing acidity. I can't wait to pair this with a big rack of pork ribs smoked in the backyard or even sausages cooked over the campfire. If you love zin, but can do without monstrous alcohol and residual sugar, this is a must try!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 VN 90

2016 Reichsrat von Buhl Spätburgunder Rosé Pfalz
Review Date: 05-23-2017
What a surprising, delicious bottle of Pinot Noir Rose! The Reichsrat Von Buhl 2016 has lovely cherry fruit on the nose, contrasted by a dry and driven character on the palate. It has quite a bit of spicy complexity, balanced by plain refreshment. Add this into your lineup of rose... You won't regret it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2000 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-18-2017
This toasty, beautiful P2 is a big step from the 1998. I am very impressed by the generosity and balance of this Dom, as well as the incredible freshness given the extended ageing. I tasted this with Vincent Chaperon this March, one of the winemakers, at the Abbey of Hautvillers where Dom Perignon himself worked. I am very excited that it is now here for you!
Price: $369.00 Add To Cart
JS 97 VN 96

2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-11-2017
No Champagne producer is better loved by K&L customers than Paul-Vincent Ariston of Champagne Aspasie, and he has delivered another great vintage with his 2010 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne . This is a blend of 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier from his estate in Brouillet, and is in a drier, more focused style in 2010. I love this Champagne for the aperitif, and it also goes very well with summer vegetable quiche or even pate!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2012 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-11-2017
From the Grand Cru of Avize, this Champagne is one of our first from this “miracle” vintage. Much like 2000 in Bordeaux, the Champenois had many problems during the 2012 growing season. After a golden autumn, the wines turned out to be fantastic, and I have never seen so many smiling facings in the region as when I visited to taste the 2012’s as vin-clair. This is a very rich blanc de blancs, with more body and substance than even the quite broad 2006’s. That being said, it is loaded with Avize chalk, and focuses very nicely on the finish. If you like the wines, stash some for the future, I have never tasted tired Bonville, and I have tasted back to the 1959!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 La Conseillante, Pomerol
Review Date: 05-09-2017
This great La Conseillante harkens back to a time before Pomerol became a land of giant wines. Is it concentrated- of course, and fabulously so, with the balancing acidity to carry off the ample amount of rich plummy fruit in the middle. This is the longest finishing, most intriguing La Conseillante I have tasted since the great 1982!
Drink from 2024 to 2024

2014 Canon, St-Emilion
Review Date: 05-09-2017
Chateau Canon is back on top! This graceful, balanced St. Emilion will repay time in your cellar in spades. I love the dark fruit and the seamless texture of this elegant right bank wine. The best part is the quality of the concentration, rather than making for heavy going, the acidity is as concentrated as the fruit, and the wine has a finish that I can almost still taste now. Make room in your cellar!
Drink from 2024 to 2024

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-04-2017
The 2007 Grande Annee is classic Bollinger, and reminds me very much of their great 2004. It is composed of 70% Pinot Noir, mostly from Ay and Verzenay and 30% Chardonnay primarily from Avize, Cramant and Oger. I tasted a preview bottle with Denis Bunner and found it lovely, nutty, generous, and toasty on the nose. In the mouth it was full of intense, savory creamy, even nougat like flavors, and the finish had the chalky cut to balance out all of the decadence! If you love great vintage Champagne, this is not to be missed.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2005 d'Yquem, Sauternes
Review Date: 04-22-2017
This is a fantastically elegant bottle of dessert wine from the producer that has the most right to call themselves the greatest wine in the world. Full of pure stone fruit on the nose, this wine is only now getting a slight hint of caramel after some time in the bottle. This is a perfect foie gras Sauternes, which is not so heavy as to slow down the rest of the meal, and with plenty of long, focussed acidity to cut through the richest of pate.
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2015 d'Yquem "Y" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 04-20-2017
This rich white wine is a powerhouse! It is composed of 75% semillon and 25% sauvignon blanc from d'Yquem's estate vineyards in Sauternes. It has the right amount of honey to set off the grassy notes of the sauvignon blanc, and an unbelievable amount of length and laser like focus. They use 80% one year old barrels that were used once for d'Yquem, and the balance brand new oak, and yet the oak is barely a feature in the wine. This is concentrated stuff!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart
RP 92

Trudon "Emblematis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-13-2017
Our most exciting new value in Champagne is here, the Emblematis from Jerome Trudon. With more than three years of ageing on the lees, this all estate blend of 70% Meunier and 30% Pinot Noir should be more expensive... Luckily we buy direct and the dollar is strong! This wine has 50% reserves from older vintages and features subtle baguette toast and exotic yet elegant fruit on the nose and in the mouth. Since Jerome does not use malolactic, this wine has great focus and a finish that I would only expect from a wine costing 50% more!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Trudon "Rosephile" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 04-13-2017
This is the only pure Meunier rose that we have that has been made by blending red wine with white. About 91% of the base is pressed gently to make the white wine, while 9% is sourced from over 60 year old vines and made as red. The result is a rose Champagne with decadent luxardo cherry flavor, balanced by a precise, fine bead and very good minerality. The finish is dry and long!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Trudon "Monochrome" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-13-2017
This all Meunier Champagne is made by Jerome Trudon, who used to make the wine at Roederer, both in Anderson Valley and in Reims. He returned to his family farm, and the Monochrome is his flagship. It is made entirely out of Meunier, aged for three years minimum on the lees and benefits from 1/3 reserve wines from older vintages. This is strikingly pure Meunier, with great white flowers and fresh bread on the nose and in the mouth. It is very fresh, as Jerome does not let the wine go through malolactic, and has very good length and quite a bit of minerality.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2015 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
Review Date: 04-12-2017
The balanced, clean 2015 A2 from Akitu is a skillful blend from across their Wanaka estate. This is the kind of Pinot Noir that has the lift and refreshment for many different kinds of food, but is easy and delicious enough to have on its own. I love the dark fruit and the new leather flavors in this perfect example of Central Otago Pinot!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 04-12-2017
This is my favorite New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc at any price. It has everything that I want from this now famous style- clean grapefruit and serrano pepper on the nose, medium to light body, and a great bright, long finish with no residual sugar. This is one of our most re-bought wines in the store for a reason... Get out of the industrial production game and try these small production gems. This is a great value!
Top Value!

2014 Elephant Hill Hawke's Bay Syrah
Review Date: 04-12-2017
This Hawkes Bay Syrah from Elephant Hill was the red wine standout of our New Zealand staff tasting. If you love the classic Syrahs of the Northern Rhone, you owe it to yourself to try this beauty. It has a classic nose that explodes with white pepper, and medium to full body with excellent texture. Minty, eucalyptus like flavors last and last with good tannin and excellent acidity on the finish. Perfect for leg of lamb now, or the cellar for later!
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Charles Ellner "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
On my recent visit to Charles Ellner, I particularly loved the Grande Reserve, a blend of 60% Chardonnay and 40% Pinot Noir from all estate-grown fruit. This non-vintage cuvée is based on 2009 with over a third from older reserves, and has that great balance of power and freshness that really excites me in Champagne. The green apple flavors of a blocked malo bottling were balanced by great brioche flavors—it it had it all!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
The Esprit Blanc de Blancs is made from the very last vineyard in the farthest west part of Champagne—the Chantemanche in Saacy-sur-Marne. This site is one of the very few so far west that they are actually in the Paris district, Ile-de-France. The current release is based on 2009 with 5% barrel fermented reserves from 2008. It is a very creamy style of Blanc de Blancs, with an excellent Chablis like earth character and a bright finish to contrast the richness of the mid-palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99
WE 92 WS 92

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
The Grand Siecle has long been my favorite tete de cuvee, but for many years now it has been out of reach. Since 2008, just a trickle has made it to the USA, and it was a fantastically expensive trickle. We managed to secure some at a very fair price and I can't say enough about what a great wine this is. Most big houses talk a big game about the "Blenders Art" and the synergy of Grand Cru terroirs when combined not just with balancing sites, but also across time. This is the embodiment of synergistic blending and monk’s patience. Nearly every Grand Cru in Champagne is represented; the wine is from three different vintages and aged over 10 years on the lees. I believe this is the most underrated of all the tête de cuvees in Champagne. First of all, it is real and honest tête de cuvee, representing only a sliver of their production and allowing them to select the cream of the crop for this bottling. Some of the most famous tête de cuvees are actually the second highest production wine from their respective houses! As one would expect from a Champagne that is aged this long from such excellent sources, it is very complex. This complexity is not a vinous, heavy complexity, however; in fact it is almost vanishingly subtle and elegant. I think it's necessary to spend time with the Grand Siècle to truly understand it. The wine is simply lovely with a fantastic bead of tiny bubbles to start and I always feel like a having second glass when I taste it. That is when I start to notice the complexity! That desire for more speaks volumes.

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-08-2017
Several years ago, Laurent Perrier was fortunate enough to acquire a small Champagne group that owned vineyards and had some very good contracts in the Côtes de Blancs. This is the first product to be released that includes fruit from these marvelous sites and it is a revelation. They have increased the proportion of chardonnay in the blend to 55% (the balance is 30% pinot noir and 15% meunier), and now only use the first and most delicate portion of the grape pressing, while increasing the aging minimum to over four years on the lees. The result is a Champagne with a near blanc de blancs character, singing with Puligny Montrachet-like lime and vibrant chalk.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 WS 91

2015 Joël Taluau "Expression" Saint-Nicolas-de-Bourgueil
Review Date: 03-14-2017
If you like red wine with crunchy fruit, low tannin and great acidity for your mid-week meals, the Expression Saint Nicolas De Bourgueil from Joel Taluau should be at the top of your list to try. These wines go so well with simple grilled fair or even picnic food. The 2015 vintage ripeness has made this into a real crowd pleasing choice!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Rioja Alta "Viña Alberdi" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-17-2017
If you like medium bodied, earthy reds that go with food, this is a wine to buy a case of. Last night, Cinnamon and I had the Vina Alberdi from La Rioja Alta with a winter beef stew that I made. It was a stunning wine and a great combination. The savory dark Tempranillo fruit had just the right amount of rose like aroma to contrast its frame of cake like American oak and plenty of good acid to cut the rich stew. We found the 750ml size a bit small for something so easy to drink!
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 95 RP 91

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 01-05-2017
If you haven't tasted the LP Rose lately, you should! This all Pinot Noir Champagne is entirely made from Grand Cru fruit and lighter than most that are made in this style- it is macerated with all of the skins in contact with all of the juice. The LP Rose has set the standard for rose Champagne for many years, and for good reason.

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Brut Blanc de Blancs Vieilles Vignes Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2016
This is our most exotic and intense Blanc de Blancs, all from one ancient vineyard in the 1er cru of Trepail. This bottle just took the staff by storm when I poured a flight of all Chardonnay Champagne for my final staff training seminar of the year. The Boulard Bauquaire made bottles twice the price seem hollow with its wonderful richness and white fruit quality. Luckily, this Champagne also has a great dry, long, chalky finish!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
The value that Patrick Arnould delivers with this top-notch rosé is mind boggling. This is the only rosé Champagne that I have ever had that is exclusively Pinot Noir, but made by blending wines that are vinified white with wines that are vinified red. Patrick is very proud of his Burgundian clones in his best exposed vineyard plot that he uses to make the red wine that gives this Champagne its color and flavor. This rosé has dark cherry authority as well as complex savor from that high quality vineyard. It also has easy refreshment and a dry chalky finish from the rest of his Grand Cru estate vineyard that makes the white Pinot portion. A must try for every rosé fan!
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Brut Rosé Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 10-03-2016
The Fleury rosé is made entirely of Pinot Noir from Courteron, in the southern part of Champagne. Locals proudly say that their town is closer to Chablis than Reims, and the style of wine owes as much to Burgundy as the stylish bottle does to the grand marques of Champagne. The vineyards, which are all owned by Fleury, are farmed 100% biodynamically, the strictest form of organic viticulture. This Champagne, composed of 100% Pinot Noir, is made by maceration, with all of the skins in contact with all of the juice. Most rosés made in this style are very big, but this one is the exception; it is very elegant. Mr. Fleury contends that his organic methods allow him to get great skins, and thus a very clean rosé as a result. Anyone who loves the pink stuff must try this at least once. In the glass it has a wonderful, fresh Pinot Noir nose of strawberry fruit and forest air intrigue. On the palate it has a great small bubble texture with magnificent depth and terroir.
Price: $109.00 Add To Cart
VN 90

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-25-2016
This is the best-selling Champagne in the USA.

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne Jeroboam (3L)
Review Date: 09-25-2016
This is the best-selling Champagne in the USA.
Price: $399.00 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

Billecart-Salmon "Brut Reserve" Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 09-24-2016
Of all the grand marques, no one offers a cleaner, purer example of Champagne fruit and refreshment than Billecart-Salmon. The Billecart family pick earlier than most, and run the coldest, longest fermentations in all of Champagne to deliver their inimitable, graceful house style. If you are looking for the ultimate in balance aperitif Champagne, you have found it!

A.D. Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2016
This bottling is a blend of 2007 through 2012 vintages with three years of ageing on the lees. It is a brassy gold color and has a generous nose of fresh forest aromas and brioche toast. In the mouth it has a round, rich, seamless texture and an amazing array of flavors… It is easily one of the most complex Champagnes that we have on the shelf. The truly amazing thing to me is the focus of the wine. It stays completely refreshing, vibrant and mineral on the long finish, which makes the 750ml format seem to small! This Champagne is produced out of one 8000 liter barrel and every year about 100 cases is bottled, and the barrel is refreshed with the best wine of the next harvest.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 90

Page: prev 1 2 3 4 5 next >>

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
Baron-Fuenté "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)