Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2017 Poggio Scalette "Il Carbonaione" Alta Valle della Greve
Review Date: 07-31-2020
This classy Sangiovese hails from Greve and delivers on the promise of well textured yet bright wine from galestro soil. I love the combination of tart cherry fruit, clean earth and very well integrated oak in this top class bottle. With so many Super Tuscan's coming in at high alcohol these days, it is wonderful to have one like this at 13.5%. The balance is perfect and the wine is very long... I can't wait to get it home and pair it with a double thick pork chop!
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2018 Fromm Pinot Noir Marlborough New Zealand
Review Date: 07-30-2020
What an outstanding value in Pinot Noir! This wine has a beautiful dark ruby color and is extroverted and savory on the nose. The flavors are exactly what fans of New Zealand Pinot- or any Pinot- want; dark brambly fruit just kissed by barrel spice. The back end is refreshing and the oak does not get in the way of the minerality on the finish. A great direct buy!
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Jean-Jacques Lamoureux "Alexandrine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2020
This single vineyard Champagne has a subtle, but nevertheless complex aroma with bread dough, cream and that clean earthy smell that one normally only ever finds in Chablis. In the mouth the wine was lovely light, but the back end was surprisingly concentrated. I found a touch of young brie flavor matched by the lemon drive and clean minerality on the long finish. We had a light summer meal to accompany this unique blanc de blancs; steamed baby squash and zucchini with pancetta over lemon ricotta ravioli. The combination was quite good, and we felt like we were really living it up on a Tuesday night.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 07-21-2020
If you haven't tasted the LP Rose lately, you should! This all Pinot Noir Champagne is entirely made from Grand Cru fruit and lighter than most that are made in this style- it is macerated with all of the skins in contact with all of the juice. The cellar master always judges the length of the maceration on the aromatics, and the result is a rose with character that is still completely elegant. The LP Rose has set the standard for rose Champagne for many years, and for good reason!

Nicolas Maillart "Platine" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-21-2020
This is the most exciting new Champagne producer that we have added to our lineup of direct imports in a very long time. This entirely estate grown Champagne comes from plots in Ecuiel, Bouzy and Villers-Allerand from mostly old, massal selected plots. The four years of ageing on the lees have given this wine a lovely creamy texture and beautiful, toasty aromas. You can feel the power of the Pinot Noir, with some subtle dark cherry fruit and savor. The most incredible thing about the wine is its complexity, which I found kaleidoscopic, something I am not used to in such a fairly priced wine. Every sip is a discovery!
Top Value!

2012 Fallet-Dart Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-18-2020
Drinking this with the K&L crew after work last night was a huge treat. It struck me immediately how much this 2012 reminds me of the 2002s at this age. The wine is full, powerful and concentrated but still balanced by great acidity and a strong vein of minerality. The wine is loaded with the white flower exoticism of top-notch Chardonnay and seemed almost blanc de blanc like. The texture and bead were perfect, reminding me of prestige cuvée level Champagne. This Champagne is pretty irresistible right now!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Pierre Paillard "Les Parcelles" Grand Cru Extra Brut Bouzy Champagne
Review Date: 05-21-2020
Non-vintage Champagne does not get much better than this. The Paillard family makes a statement with this great cuvee and show how very serious that they are about quality. All of the details have been studied and sweated over to make this wine, from planting only massal selected vines, to working towards an organic certification. This is Champagne that has power without losing its drinkability, and richness without sweetness. The Paillard's goal is to create terroir Champagne from the Grand Cru of Bouzy- and they have succeeded. If you are only going to try one new Champagne this year, this should be it!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Canard-Duchêne Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2020
If you are looking for a richer, toastier style of Champagne for the aperitif, this Authentic from Canard-Duchene is a great choice. I love the combination of sourdough crust and ripe stone fruit in this excellent value Champagne. It is delicious, round brut at its easy going best and it will thrill your guests with its charm.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Dumenil (Jany Poret) 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-19-2020
Cinnamon and I drank this over the weekend, and found it a perfect treat for the apero. Champagne Dumenil is going against the trend for austerity and this is an open, rich, generous Champagne. I love the crusty toast and lemon bar flavors and aromas in this wine, as well as the long finish. This delights by being dry, but not at all harsh, and I could imagine this would be a fantastic Champagne for the hot tub!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Palmer & Co. "Brut Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2020
This one of the toastiest, richest Champagnes, and I love the brioche, beure d’Issigny and Meyer lemon curd in this Champagne. I find that the hazelnut-like fruit of Verzenay stands out in this bottle. I love this as an apéritif, and I think it would also do very well with an equally decadent meal such as lobster. A toast to you!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2012 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-20-2020
Cinnamon had made a beautiful appetizer of smoked salmon with crème fraiche for our Valentine’s Day aperitif, and we cracked open this 2012 to go with it. This Champagne had lovely, subtle pie crust and meyer lemon curd on the nose and in the mouth. The power of the Grand Cru Ay Pinot Noir was here for sure, with lots of the dark cherry fruit and vivid, crisp, chalky cut. As always, the barrel work is deft here, and I could not taste the oak at all, but rather just the fine toast from the long ageing on the lees. The finish is the most impressive thing about this wine now, with the creaminess of the top-quality Chardonnay only coming to the front after swallowing the wine. This is long finishing stuff, with plenty of richness.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart

2015 John Duval "Plexus" GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 01-29-2020
The Plexus GSM from John Duval is an impressive, rich wine and if you like the wines of the Barossa, I am sure you will be impressed. The combination of creamy texture and cinnamon spice made me think of horchata, but the blue fruit is all syrah!

2017 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
Review Date: 01-29-2020
This spicy, complex Pinot Noir is an unbelievable value for the money. While it is easy to get body and texture from new world Pinot in this price range (and this has both), it is rare to get such an array of interesting flavors and such a good long finish. I found this to have hints of everything from orange blossom to new leather. This will go very well with all kinds of poultry as well as just on its own.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2007 Thiénot "Black Ball" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-28-2020
A very good grower friend of mine from the Aube, far away from the Cotes de Blancs said to me once that Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs is like a marionette; delicate, precise, elegant and full of hidden complexity. This Thiènot matches that description perfectly, with a soft, round, texture and an airy feel that one could never tire of. The Champagne has beautiful brioche aromas and flavors that transport me to the best bakeries in France, while the wine is balanced by subtle meyer lemon flavors and a subtle, but ultimately fresh minerality. This was an excellent Champagne at $120. It is a steal now!
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 168ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-07-2020
I loved this wine from the moment I stuck my nose in the glass, and I find it the most extroverted release since the 165 Ème Édition. Cinnamon and I had it with two starters- jamon Iberico and pistachio paté. The way that the subtle white flower aromas are intertwined with warm baguette toast reminds me of the best wines of Avize. In the mouth, it is clean and bright at first blush, but layers of complexity lie just underneath with spicy, savory red cherry Pinot Noir character. With the pistachio paté, it also showed hints of tropical exoticism from the Meunier, while the Jamon brought out the firmer savoriness of the Pinot Noir. This is a wine that has a tremendous amount of hidden power, with only the finish showing obvious concentration at this point. The finish has everything I want in Krug: immense chalky drive and a review of the savory mid-palate that becomes almost Burgundian at the end.
Drink from 2020 to 2020

2012 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-28-2019
We all work extra days this time of year, and this Sunday was my day to be the cavalry and reinforce our sales crew. I opened the 2012 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne after we closed and shared it with the crew. Cristal is made for the connoisseur who has been lucky enough to taste a lot of nice things, and this 2012 is as elegant as one could wish for. They used more barrel fermentation (in large foudre only) than ever before- 32%. The extra wood fermentation has brought some subtle Christmas spice to this creamy, clean and extraordinarily long Champagne. I brought the last bit home and had it with Cinnamon, and as usual, the last drops were the best, boding very well for the future. That being said, I think that this is a wine that one can drink while waiting for ones 2008s to mature.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2011 Bollinger "James Bond 007" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-14-2019
When I tasted it, I immediately wondered if some of the Vieilles Vignes Françaises were declassified into this cuvée. The black cherry authority of the Pinot Noir is brought up by the barrel fermentation on the nose and in the mouth, but the back end is so clean and driven that the finish seems almost blanc de blanc like. That is the power of Ay, the chalkiest of all the terroirs for Pinot Noir!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

2006 Arnauld, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-29-2019
At 13 years old, this classy, medium-bodied Haut-Médoc is drinking perfectly. It still has nice, lively, black currant fruit, but the tannins are completely resolved, and the texture fully developed. This subtle, intricate wine has much more complexity and interest than I would expect given the cost, and I am used to Clyde finding great deals. This wine is the exact opposite of the modern, high alcohol, inky, thick style that one finds often in the New World and from time to time in Bordeaux. I love the wine as much for its grace notes, which allow it to play so well with food, as I do for its surprising length and silky mouthfeel.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2008 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-19-2019
The greatest vintage Champagne that I have ever had from Laurent-Perrier! I first tasted this in Tours-sur-Marne with chef de cave Michel Fauconnet and filled my notebook up with exclamation points. He said that the job of a vintage wine is to express the year- and he has expressed the 2008- the best vintage in at least a generation- perfectly. This is a Champagne that is all about length, chalky minerality and scintillating refreshment. The finish is nearly infinite on this wine that shows much more like a blanc de blanc in spite of the half Pinot Noir in the blend. Don't miss out on the best vintage ever from one of the great grande marque houses!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2008 Pierre Paillard "La Grand Récolte" Grand Cru Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-14-2019
Like the 2008 Cristal and the 2008 Launois Special Club, this wine has amperage not usually found in any wine. I served this as the aperitif at birthday party, and it was over the top fantastic. This is an extremely long, laser like experience, ideal for shellfish, or with salmon pate, which is how I tried it. That power will in time broaden out and turn into a prized cuvée even in the most star-studded of cellars. This is the quintessential 2008, driven, chalky, and super long. The dosage is just 1.8 grams per liter, making this the driest yet that we have offered from this vintage. A super star for the ages!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Lanson "Black Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-07-2019
This wine is now aged for four years on the lees and shows it with wonderful toasty brioche notes on the generous nose. On the palate and the finish, this wine is impeccably clean and racy thanks to the blocked malolactic fermentation. This makes the wine not only a very refreshing aperitif, but also an excellent Champagne to pair with food and we found it a great partner for the sushi. The richer rolls were especially well married with this bottle.

2008 Lanson "Gold Label" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2019
We are very lucky to have secured an allocation of this great vintage Champagne from Lanson. Many Champagne fans will remember the 2002 from this house, and I am happy to report that this 2008 is even better. They selected only the very best Grand Cru vineyards for this wine, Ay, Verzenay and Bouzy for the Pinot Noir and Mesnil, Oger and Avize for the Chardonnay. The blend is 53% Pinot Noir and 47% Chardonnay, and the wine has not gone through malolactic fermentation, giving it a straight line finish of crisp acidity that will see the wine through the ages. It is ready to drink on release, especially paired with cracked crab or scallops, but its best days are ahead of it. If you were married or had children in 2008, this is a bottle not to be missed. The 1976, which I tasted recently is proof of the immense ageing potential of these wines!
Drink from 2019 to 2019

Damien Hugot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-05-2019
I drank this with Damien Hugot and his wife at the Royal Champagne, the newly refurbished hotel and Michelin one-star restaurant just between Epernay and Reims this spring, and have been thinking about it ever since. This is a clean, refreshing style of rosé that gets hints of richness not from the small percentage of ancient vine Meunier that is added, but rather from the Cramant and Chouilly base of Chardonnay that makes up more than 90% of the blend. This is “rosé all day” rosé, with bright red fruit and racy minerality, along with top-notch chalk on the long finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Fallet-Dart "Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-05-2019
Champagne Fallet-Dart's Reserve is one of our top values in Champagne. It is a rich, toasty style which earned its brioche aromas and flavors the old fashioned way, with time on the lees. It is aged for four years and has the additional benefit of 1/3 reserve wines to make this a smooth customer with a perfect bead. This round, full bodied Champagne is generous in every way, and does not have an austere bone in its body. The finish is dry, long and makes me want to come back for more!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Iteration #24 Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-20-2019
The first Grand Siècle to be numbered with an iteration! Now we won't have to wonder which batch it is from anymore. This is Champagne at its most refined, subtle and elegant. If you like a silky style, with just the right amount of baguette toast and a whole lot of length, this is for you. The price of the 24th iteration is very fair given how much all of the other grand marques charge for their younger, higher production tête de cuvées. It is composed of the 2007,2006 and 2004 vintages.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2002 Billecart-Salmon "Le Clos Saint-Hilaire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 07-09-2019
This monumental blanc de noirs is made from a walled vineyard that is inside the grounds of Billecart-Salmon in Mareuil. They carry the baskets by hand from the vineyard to the press house, as it is only a few meters away! All though it is dosed at only 1g/l of sugar, it has on a scale of power rarely seen in Champagne. Loaded with Nutella, truffle like savor and still lifted by chalky cut, this wine expands on the finish like only the best wines in the world do. My words fail me. Don’t hesitate when this arrives- 3700 bottles is not enough for the world- and I already drank two of them!
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2008 Billecart-Salmon Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-09-2019
While the similarities between the 2008’s and the 1996’s are well known, this wine made me write 1996 with a big exclamation point because of the resemblance when I tasted it with Mathieu Roland-Billecart. The generous toasted brioche and cream of the aromatics jumped right out of the glass. On the palate, the wine was super refined, with a perfect bead, gentle texture and complex flavors of nuts and subtle Pinot fruit. The back end was pure, chalky, and driven. This is one of the top wines of this great vintage.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2018 Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 06-27-2019
The Astrolabe Sauvignon Blanc from Marlborough is a huge pleasure to drink. It not only has the grapefruit like, extroverted character that this region is famous for, but it also has very nice texture and body. This is still a very refreshing drink that would be at home on the porch on a hot summer day, but it has the concentration to pair with nice food, like a warm goat cheese salad or even a piece of grilled halibut.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Suntory Hakushu 12 Year Old Japanese Peated Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-27-2019
This expertly crafted single malt has extraordinary balance for a peaty style and a refreshing salty lightness that makes me come back for more. I love that this has the smoke and complexity of peat, but doesn't get bogged down with oily heaviness. To the contrary, this is a refreshing Whisky that is fantastic to enjoy after a big meal!
Price: $119.99 Add To Waiting List

Jean-Jacques Lamoureux Pinot Blanc Champagne
Review Date: 06-19-2019
This is rare stuff! The Lamoureux Pinot Blanc is one of the very few Champagne's to be bottled exclusively with this grape variety, and the only one that we have ever carried here at K&L. I love the mango and kiwi exoticism that show on top of the baguette like aromatics, and the richer texture that this grape variety brings. This is broad, silky Champagne, but still has the bead, refrement and length of top quality Champagne. I love the hint of pumpkin on the finish, and think this would be excellent with any white fish.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-05-2019
The 2013 vintage was a late one in Champagne, with some producers not finishing until the beginning of the second week of October. The great acidity of this cool vintage tempers the ripe power of the Cumières Pinot Noir in this Champagne. I love the coppery, pale rose color of the wine and the tart cherry flavor of the Pinot Noir. This wine has a very nice baguette toast frame, fine, compact streamers and a fabulous, long, mineral driven finish. It is on the back end that I really taste the Chardonnay, it is clean, dry and refreshing, with persistence that one would expect only from a famous vintage.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2002 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2019
This is not a shy Dom Pérignon- it is loaded with toasted brioche, melted beurre d’Issigny and ripe white peach fruit. It has developed deep complexity over the years with great oyster shell notes to contrast the fruit and toast. Most importantly, the finish is very fresh and still has the chalky minerality that we all look for in tête de cuvée Champagne. It is unmistakably Dom, and the kind of Champagne that I would love to meet in a blind tasting because of its strong signature.

Krug "Grande Cuvée" 167 Ème Édition Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-01-2019
The Krug team dug deep into their reserves for the 167th edition, using 42% reserve wines in the final blend, leaning on not only older Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, but also some of their prized old vine Meunier. The final composition is 47% Pinot Noir, 36% Chardonnay and 17% Meunier from vintages spanning 1995-2011. This 167th edition of Krug is my favorite out of the gate since the 163rd, and I think might end up being a legend like the 157th, known internally at Krug as the savoir-faire, based on another difficult vintage, the 2001. The use of a lot of reserve wines really shined through in this bottle, with hazelnut complexity, brioche like depth and beguiling savory fruit. The texture, as usual for Krug, is perfect after 7 years of ageing on the lees, and the bead is tight and precise. The best feature is how all of these elements are brought into focus by the incredible minerality of the wine… This is not heavy, vinous stuff, but rather elegant, nuanced Champagne.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-08-2019
The Derot-Delugny estate has been producing their own Champagne for four generations in the tiny village of Croutes-sur-Marne in the western part of the region. Everything they do is estate, and this all Pinot Gris Champagne is their smallest production. It is the only time I have ever tasted a single variety Pinot Gris from Champagne, and it is fantastic as well as exotic! With both effusive and tropical notes, this is still grounded in the world of dry Champagne with a dry (7g/l) finish and plenty of minerality. A must try with asian cuisine!
Price: Hidden View Price

Launois "Cuvée Réservée" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-05-2018
We are very fortunate to be the importer for this great cult producer of blanc de blancs in the famous village of Mesnil. Launois is the only Champagne that I have sold to someone from Champagne to bring back to Champagne with them! It is that sought after. All grand cru, estate grown Champagne doesn't get better than this, but it is almost always more expensive. This is a wine of depth, finesse and intrigue and yet is about as easy as it gets to drink without engaging the grey matter at all. When we get it, it is always snapped up in a hurry... Don't wait and get disappointed!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-27-2018
The vintage brut from Champagne Louis Roederer is a world class Champagne. I love the hazelnut cream and subtle dark cherry on the very giving nose and can't get enough of the concentrated, leesy mid-palate. This is all from the original vineyards first purchased by the family in the late 1700's; 70% Pinot Noir from Verzenay and Verzy and 30% Chardonnay from Chouilly. The special plots destined for the vintage are farmed specifically for this wine, and the dry but powerful Champagne shows off this dedication.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2008 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-20-2018
For me, this is the best young Dom Perignon I have ever tasted, better than the 2002, 1996 and even the 1990. We were treated to a preview bottle, and what a treat it was. I found the wine to have the classic Dom Perignon yeasty nose, but found it to be as transparent and pure in the mouth as their ethereal 2004. On the back end, the wine has concentration to spare, and blooming, chalky finish that seems to still be with me two days later as I type this. This wine is made from 95% grand cru fruit, with the balance of 5% coming from the historic 1er cru of Hautvillers, where the monk Dom Perignon worked and lived. As usual, this is very close to 50/50 Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, although the powers that be do not like to discuss the cepage.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
We can never get enough Launois Quartz at K&L. Unfortunately; the production is limited as Bernard Launois only has so many grapes each year in the great Mesnil plot of Les Chetillons. Having access to single vineyard, estate, grand cru Champagne from one of the best growers in the region at such a fair price makes me proud to be the Champagne guy at K&L. This wine has a fabulous white fruit quality that few Champagnes get at any price, and a chalky laser beam finish that is pure Mesnil. No Champagne we carry sells out faster.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-03-2018
Bollinger has a sterling reputation in Champagne for stalwart quality for a great reason. They do the hard work to make great Champagne, and there Special Cuvee is the standard barer for their range. Along with Krug, Bollinger is the only grand marque to refuse to give up their barrels, which they still ferment the wine in to this day. They are located in the village of Ay, famous for being the chalkiest terroir for Pinot Noir in all of Champagne, and Ay is the soul of this blend. It is one of the fullest, most powerful non-vintages from the grand marques, and also one of the driest. If you are a fan of Champagne and haven't tried this classic lately, you should!

Rieger's Midwestern Missouri Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
The story of this gin is amazing- the master distiller of Tanqueray taking on a passion project in the midwest, but the spirit itself is even more so! This runs straight down the middle with firm juniper flavor married to a flawless, creamy texture. The quality is just higher than most in this style, and the price is considerably lower than most gins of this superlative quality. I never thought I would fall in love with a gin from Missouri!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 07-19-2018
What a stylish bottle of gin! I suppose we should expect as much from the Italians! With haunting citrus notes from the deft use of bergamot and a rich, creamy texture that never becomes heavy, this is worthy of being considered in the top tier of gin. The sage in the recipe gives this the right amount of green lift to balance out the exoticism, and I can't wait to get this home and make a G&T with it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

J.H. Cutter Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
This blend is definitely greater than the sum of its parts! Four fifths of this blend is from the heart of Kentucky bourbon country, and grounds this whiskey with the richness and smooth manners of a southern gentleman. The other fifth is wild rye from the left coast, giving this spice, wildness and energy. It all works out in perfect harmony, making it my favorite new American whiskey that I have tried since the "craft" whiskey movement started!
Price: Hidden View Price

2008 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-05-2018
The most anticipated Champagne in my 20 years in the wine business is finally for sale. This has been so hyped up with 100 point scores that I figured it couldn't possibly be as good as the critics say... But it is. This is the most concentrated, long finishing Cristal I have ever tasted, and so loaded with chalky minerality and bright vivacious acidity that one could mistake it for a blanc de blancs. But then the hazelnut cream Verzenay Pinot Noir swells up to balance everything out, leaving me at a loss for words. The big shame is how much will be drunk down immediately (it is all too delicious right now) since the real story is the long term ageability of this masterpiece!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Bruichladdich "Classic Laddie" Scottish Barley Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-13-2018
I love Islay Malt, but find that many of them just end up filling up my liquor cabinet, as I am not drawn to drinking them the same way that I am impressed by tasting them. The Classic Laddie Scottish Barley from Bruichladdich is not at like that, and is super drinkable and moreish. This is the perfect malt for having a second dram of, since the fabulously salty complexity does not come with a bunch of excessive fat and heat. This is a very high quality malt, especially for the money.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1999 Tour du Haut-Moulin, Haut-Médoc (1.5L)
Review Date: 03-06-2018
This magnum is drinking with exceptional freshness and has excellent complexity for the price. Getting the inside track on Bordeaux like this is one of the biggest perks to working at K&L. This is old school, pure, medium bodied claret with very good length and fresh cassis flavors. We enjoyed this with short ribs, and it had plenty of good cut for the rich dish. I think it would be even better with a grilled ribeye!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "La Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
This is one of my very favorite non-vintage Champagnes! Cinnamon and I shipped this to Costanoa, a resort by the beach (better than carrying it on our bicycle!) and enjoyed it alfresco after a day in the saddle. We carried Riedel "O" stemless glasses in our jersey pockets (don't try this at home kids!) because we forgot to ship them... We were glad we did. This wine has so much complexity and subtlety it would have been a shame to drink it out of substandard glassware. The Grand Cuvee is very powerful Pinot-based stuff, with a hint of smoke on the nose, a very supple texture and a bone dry, persistent finish. A great reward after a long ride.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould "Réserve" Grand Cru Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 01-24-2018
The wines of Verzenay are some of my very favorite in all of Champagne, and Patrick Arnould of Champagne Michel Arnould makes some of the very best. This wine has the magical hazelnut quality that many (including myself!) often miss for wood treatment in blind tastings. Because this Grand Cru village faces north the wines are always electric and vibrant, even with high percentages of Pinot in the blend. This is one of our finest values in top grower Champagne, and the price makes it unmissable!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 01-11-2018
The only problem with this great Champagne is the production- it is only one press load so we can't get very much! This Champagne is all Chardonnay from two long rows in the Monts Aigu parcel of the Grand Cru of Chouilly- right across a small path from Cramant. If you love the high class toast of Taittinger’s Comte de Champagne, this is a bottling that you don’t want to miss. The Chardonnay in this bottle has top notch concentration and texture as well as a complex array of flavors; baguette, succulent nectarine and bright chalk. This wine is labeled as Extra Brut since the dosage is very low, but while it is quite dry, it is not overly austere. It has one of the longest finishes of any type of wine that we carry- truly top notch!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Real McCoy 10 Year Old Limited Edition Virgin Oak Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
What a great surprise! This fabulous bottle of sipping rum has an subtle, intricate complex nose not only of butterscotch and exotic fruit, but also mellow vanilla. In the mouth it is rich, without being at all sugary. The serious, no additives allowed approach shows through in the laid back complexity and long, long finish. I can't wait to have a glass of this by the fire tonight after dinner!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I can't think of a single bottle of Champagne at K&L that has brought me such consistent pleasure as the Ariston Aspasie Carte Blanche. The Ariston family has worked very hard to deliver this great bottle to the Champagne lovers of the world. Most producers age their Champagne for less than three years in the bottle before shipping, but the Carte Blanche gets five years. It is entirely estate grown by one of the most careful growers in the business. On top of all that it is made in one of the most modern facilities of any small producer that I have visited. The pressing is done in a 1/4 million euro Coquard diaganol press and the fermentation is all done in computer regulated temperature controlled tanks. The result is one of the best aperitif bottles that we sell; toasty and full, yet refreshing and crisp, a perfect balance between aged complexity and youthful vigor. And then there is the price--so fair that Cinnamon and I have had the opportunity to impact the world supply with our consumption! Don't miss it.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 next