Staff Favorites - Jim Barr

Jim Barr

Reviews

2007 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 11-08-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
I think of all the vintages from Lanessan, this is the most delicate, less aggressive one. Medium ruby in color, you get that classic cassis and blackberry presentation from this chateau, but with a less assertive characteristic, yet it still shows a powerful dimensional framework. The tannins are integrated, and soft, with fine depth, balance and soft complex, layered flavors. Rusty has informed me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for the next five to ten years, and that I need to bring home serveral caes for our wine cellar. Drink from 2013 to 2020. A REALLY NICE DRINKING VALUE! *****13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2007 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
We have been directly importing the outstanding Rhone Valley wines of Chateau de Montfaucon since 1995 and, although many of you know the story of this property, I think that it is still appropriate to repeat. This 85+ acre estate lies across the Rhone River from the village of Chateauneuf-du-Pape and its red and white wine grape make-up are similar to what goes into making CDPs. The problem, however, is that the river is the appellation line and Montfaucon, therefore, cannot be called CDP, and is relegated to a general Cotes du Rhone classification. My attitude is that if it smells and tastes like CdP, than treat it like CdP. With that out of the way, I can tell you that the 2007 Cotes du Rhones from Montfaucon are the best that I have tasted from this estate since we have been importing them. Produced from the older sections of their vineyard (60- to 90-year-old vines), the Cuveé Baron Louis(40% Grenache, 15% Syrah, 15% Cinsault and 10% each Carignan, Mourvedre and Counoise) would be a great and classic CdP if wasn't for that #*&^ river. With its deep, richly appearing hue, the opulent, perfumed nose of blackberry, purple plum, white pepper spiciness, hints of smoked meats and forest floor explodes from the glass. It is concentrated and lush, with broad fruit in the mouth that is complex yet soft and round, with silky tannins, all leading to a long, warm, ongoing finish. I plan to lay this Gem down for a few years to give it additional development, but it is an amazingly wonderful wine now, particularly with decanting and airing {10/13/2009}...A K&L WINE MERCHANTS' DIRECT IMPORT... ***** 14.0% ABV ***** {RETASTED 07/13/2017: Has become absolutely incredibly delicious; comparable to any $150.00 or much more older wine available in our stores}
Drink from 2009 to 2009
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2015 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 06-14-2017
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Previous vintages of TWR Pinots that we have brought in have been excellent productions that show some real classic Pinot characteristics bordering on a cross between a really nice Pommard from Burgundy and some “new-world” qualities without going over the top. But, this 2015 production has kicked up those wonderful qualities of their previous productions threefold to a level that is absolutely superb. Medium-deep ruby in color, the opulent nose is loaded with lush floral fruit notes {rose petals to violets}, black cherry to ripe strawberry to blueberry tones, that is reinforced by creamy to wet river stone mineral qualities. In its complex, silky smooth, rich palate, this exceptional Gem is balanced, elegant, fleshy, and well-structured, has a viscous mid-range, all of which leads to a long, succulent, juicy finish that seems to go on and on, and it is only 13.0% ABV {???}. This is great New Zealand Pinot, and Rusty has ordered me to bring home cases of this exceptional Gem for our consumption over the next seven to ten years. A GREAT VALUE!!!” …..A K&L WINE MERCHANTS’ DIRECT IMPORT ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2017 to 2017

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Review Date: 12-22-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
It is fascinating that once you get outside of the Champagne appellation and into other areas of France that produce "sparkling wines" in a similar method, the price for those wines seems to de-escalate substantially. Of course, there is the question of quality comparisons, which can be a realistic appraisal, but once in a while you will find a sparkler from those other regions that will rival its much more expensive cousins in Champagne and at one-third the price or less. Such is case with this beautifully created sparkler from the Languedoc region of Southwestern France. We have been importing Jean-Louis Denois wines for well over ten years, and have found his productions to be of superb quality in general, and when the price is taken into consideration, ridiculously ‘cheap’ vis-à-vis the outstanding quality level. Produced from equal amounts of estate grown Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this lovely sparkling wine spent eighteen months on yeast (Cremant style), yet in its rich-smelling aromatics and lush flavors, this Gem behaves as if it has been on yeast for five to six years. Creamy, nutty, toasty, and pronounced both, again, on the nose and in the mouth, this finely beaded, dry, clean, and mouthwatering Gem provides tons of elegant and delicious flavors, which do defy the low price. The Bean has ordered me to bring home cases of this wonderful Gem and strongly recommends that you do the same. An Incredible Value.” ***** 12.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Kalinda "Cuvee 70" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-11-2015
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Medium to medium-deep ruby red in color, this lovely Sonoma Coast production from this great vintage offers distinctive dried rose petal to strawberry fruit aromas with chalky, slate-like mineral notes in the nose which carries over nicely to a well-balanced, well-integrated set of flavors. Good complexity, excellent structure and acid backbone, this Gem is integrated, deep in flavor, and long on the finish. Rusty has ordered me to bring home several cases of this Gem for our near-term consumption over the next four to seven years. This is a Great Value and you shouldn’t miss it. ***** 13.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-14-2014
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
It is remarkable to me, and to much of our wine staff, some of the unique, profoundly produced Champagnes from the small producers that Gary Westby, our Champagne Wine Buyer, has discovered over the last decade. Virtually all of these producers, including the Aristons, are making sparkling wine strictly from estate fruit from Grand Cru recognized vineyard sites, and in small lots. As with any small producer, these wines are “hands-on” creations that are given extensive individual attention and long term aging before being disgorged. The Ariston “Carte Blanche’s” exquisite, superb quality is at a mind boggling low price vis-à-vis its style and complexity. Rich and authoritative both on its nutty, doughy yeasty nose and in the mouth, the very fine mousse leads to an amazingly rich, full style brut, with a long, intense finish. Some of you will probably not enjoy this Gem, due to the fact that you have gotten use to flavorless, bulk productions from the international, well-known, simply made name “brands,” but for those of you that seek complexity and profoundness in your Champagne, you will not find one even close in quality to this Gem at this price. The Guys (Rusty, Eby, The Beaner, and Rizzo) have forcefully made this our house sparkling wine forever. Don't be afraid to age this wonderful Champagne; it will only keep getting better. ABV 12%
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2013
Glass Half image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image Glass Empty image
12.0% ABV

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-14-2013
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Produced from Chardonnay [obviously, since it is “Blanc de Blancs”], this amazing Gem throws tons of yeasty, nutty, creamy fruit at you both in the nose and on the palate, with brilliant complexity, and a lush, broad, and rich finish. The Bean has ordered me to bring at least one case of this home for our consumption in the next one to three-plus years. I will probably bring home more than that. 12.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2009 Pipeau, St-Emilion
Review Date: 10-31-2012
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
A great vintage, a wonderful wine that can be consumed now and for the next few years with complete enjoyment, and, according to Rusty, this Gem will be one of our house reds for the next foreseeable future.
Drink from 2012 to 2012

More Favorites

Jim Barr is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jim Barr, click here to join Jim Barr's Personal Sommelier Service.
2016 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré ($16.99)