Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2015 Arnaldo Caprai Montefalco Rosso
Review Date: 05-18-2018
This Montefalco Rosso from one of Umbria's finest producers is produced from Sangiovese and a small percentage of Sagrantino and Merlot grapes. Fermentation and maceration occurs over 10-15 days, with a pumping over performed twice a day in order to extract color and aromas from the skins. From the intense ruby red color to the pronounced aromas of ripe red fruit and hint of vanilla, you know this is going to be a big, ample wine. And the taste does not disappoint. A great red for all your summer get-togethers.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2017 La Monacesca Rosato
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This wine is from a little town called Matelica in the Marche region of Italy, just east of Umbria. You may recognize the La Monacesca label from their Verdicchio, which we have carried over the years. This rosé which is made up of Sangiovese and Merlot with lots of zippy acidity and a little bit of strawberry at the tip of the tongue, and then the rocky soil and limestone of Matelica come through on the really long finish. A great wine for those warm nights.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Einaudi Nebbiolo Langhe
Review Date: 05-17-2018
Love the 2016 vintage of this wine. The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here, I would recommend decanting for an hour or so. This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue Tri-tip.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Agostino Pavia Grignolino d'Asti
Review Date: 05-17-2018
Grignolino is a very distinctive grape variety native to Piedmont. It combines pale, Pinot-like color with mouth-filling grip (some tannins). I think of this varietal wine as a dark rosé and I utilize it as one. Cranberry fruit flavors, herbal and rhubarb notes with great acidity. It is one of the classic matches with salumi, and it also complements a broad range of rich or flavorful summertime foods. I take this out of the refrigerator about a half an hour before serving, this really brings out the fruit. The perfect summer red!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This 2016 Verdicchio di Matelica, is a very good example for the vintage. Offers apple and refreshing citric fruit flavors, and aromas with the characteristic touch of green herbs, is a wonderful value, a well-rounded wine, beautifully structured, soft on the palate but with a slight suggestion of almond (typical for Verdicchio), a great summer sipping wine and is very food-friendly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-17-2018
Here is one our most popular wines from Tuscany! The 2015 reminds me a lot of the 2004 vintage, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration, with well integrated & soft tannins. Enjoy tonight (needs decanting time, an hour or so) and over the next few years. Two BIG Thumbs up !!!
Price: $21.95 Add To Cart
JS 92 WS 90

2016 Ermacora Friulano Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 05-17-2018
One of our BEST VALUE wines at K & L’s! As most of you know this wine from past vintages and it’s been too long since we had this wine in a let me just put it plain and simple IT ROCKS! This “Friulano” is full body ( a little crisper than past vintages) with ripe pear and red apple on the palate and on the very long finish I find a hint of almond, balanced with crisp acidity and is very aromatic with great length. This will work great with a cornucopia of vegetarian dishes.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo del Friuli
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This is a mouthful of Pinot Grigio and a wine that has body and is perfectly balanced with zippy acidity and very aromatic, good complexity, length and that subtle elegance that shows muscle and long and flowing finish. It is a little spicy with red apple and melon, and LOTS of minerals on the aftertaste
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 Blason Ribolla Gialla delle Venezie
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This is a party for your mouth! This Ribolla Gialla has Extraordinary aromatics for this rich, yet dry and a GREAT drinkable wine. Perfect for vegetable dishes, lighter fish dishes, or spicy Asian cuisine.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This refreshing white from Italy's Marches region (on the calf section of the Italian boot) is made entirely from Verdicchio, with its layered bouquet of vanilla, butterscotch and almonds, and vibrant citrus and Golden Delicious apple flavors on the palate, this wine pairs perfectly with seasonal vegetables, poultry and seafood.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2014 Pasetti Montepulciano d'Abruzzo
Review Date: 05-17-2018
There is nothing musty or old-fashioned about this straightforward red, with fresh, "modern" styling in its rich, dark fruit and sweet tannins. Made entirely of the Montepulciano grape from the region of Abruzzo, this will work well with a pizza/pasta or just a great wine to serve to the "family" on Sunday night. Plays well with food -- especially tricky tomato sauce. Nice lift and acidity, but with the ripe fruit flavors of Abruzzo, which is located on the "calf" of the boot of Italy.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This is Cortese (the region is Gavi in Piedmont) it has very delicate perfumes of apples and apricots. It is un-oaked and crisp, with citrus and peach fruit and notes of herbs and is wonderfully delicate but with great structure, love its length & balance as well as its complexity. Salute Guido!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Gundlach Bundschu "Mountain Cuvée" Sonoma County Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 05-17-2018
This is a great California meritage, wonderful layers from the grape varietals, rich and ripe dark fruit very luscious and dry finish. Great wine for all the Bar-B-Ques this Summer, pull the cork and you are good to go!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Torti Barbera Oltrepo Pavese
Review Date: 05-17-2018
The estate’s flagship wine is produced entirely from the best barbera vines. The wine is perfect for rustic dishes with polenta, or risotto or just a piece of cheese and a hunk of bread.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cantine di Ora "Amicone" Rosso Veneto
Review Date: 05-17-2018
Valpolicella has undergone an amazing transformation from the 60s Bolla version with a red-checked tablecloth to the suave and ultra-hip wine region. This wine is a midway point between simple and fresh and the power and size of the Amarone taking the best from both. A wine to drink straight from the bottle, with a straw or with roasted rabbit, or complex pasta dishes.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-10-2018
Love me some Felsina !This wine is classic Sangiovese, sweet, expansive, floral, black cherry, and kirsch liqueur-like aromas. As it sits in the glass, hints of leather and Tuscan dust emerge from this medium to full-bodied, flavorful Chianti.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 92

2015 Castello di Bossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-10-2018
This is one of our best values from Tuscany, black cherries, spicy oak, and a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is full-bodied, with fine concentration and a dry finish, with well integrated and soft tannins. Enjoy tonight and over the next couple years.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Paitin di Pasquero "Serra" Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 05-02-2018
This is classic ”Paitin” Barbera with its richness and complexity, dark ripe black cherries and plum, full-bodied with Lots of minerals and dust on the very long and well integrated finish. I would let this open for an hour or so and serve with a grilled Portobello mushroom or burgers and some great friends.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2017 Maritma "The 4 Old Guys" Sangiovese Toscana
Review Date: 05-02-2018
This is one of those great wines that year after year just keeps producing value and performance in every bottle. I just poured this at a staff tasting to remind my colleges what a super value this is. Sometimes “The 4 Old Guys” gets looked over because it’s been stocked at K&L for many vintages. This 2017 is one of their best to date. I recently took this home and was amazed. On the palate you will find black cherries with a touch of earth. In the mouth, the wine is medium bodied with fine concentration and soft tannins. I give this two thumbs up. This is a perfect value wine to serve with burgers or grilled Portobello, all summer long.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2015 Isole e Olena Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-02-2018
I just opened this for our staff tasting in April and this little “Chianti” stop the show, with lots of kudos from my colleges. This Sangiovese has lots of bang for the buck (or EURO, very tuff to beat these days). Medium –bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. This is the perfect Chianti to serve, while you’re Bar-B- queing all summer long.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

Mederfil Lambrusco Reggiano Rosso Dolce
Review Date: 05-02-2018
The arrival of the spring months means, among other things, picnics and cookouts with generous platters of cold cuts, barbecued chicken, grilled vegetables, and a host of other marvels. What to drink with it all? Lambrusco! This one is one of my personal favorite. The purple froth on this is really amazing to watch rise in your glass. The intense perfume on the nose and the palate has lots cinnamon and clove spice. Black cherries, red currants and a hint of dustiness add to its complexity on the palate, give it a light chill and pour yourself a big glass.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Villa Pillo Sangiovese Toscana (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 04-05-2018
The nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredible long finish. The perfect Spring red and great when you don't want to comment to a whole bottle of wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fratelli Barale Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
The wine’s perfume is pure Nebbiolo: raspberry fruit and dried rose petals with a touch of tobacco and lots of cedar, bursting with sweet fruit, tar, minerals, displaying outstanding depth and fine overall balance. This wine will drink well now and over the next few years, best with the heartiest meats or stews.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
This 2013 Barolo is gorgeous. From the translucent color, to the fresh, floral bouquet and bright red fruits, this entry-level bottling screams of Nebbiolo. What a beautiful wine! Sweet roses, berries and spices emerge in the glass adding further complexity. There is a tension between the ripeness of the vintage and the wine’s firm sense of structure that is utterly captivating. Two thumbs up !!!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 JS 92

2013 Sergio Barale "Bussia" Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
Do not let the price scare you away from this wine. This is serious Barolo, at a not so serious price. If you pay close attention it says "Bussia" on the label now. Red berries, minerals, spice and floral notes with structure, drink now and over the next few years. ( Yes, decanting is a must!). Two thumbs up!!!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2013 Giacomo Ascheri Barolo
Review Date: 03-28-2018
Classic, old school Barolo and a steal at this price. A great introduction to Barolo that won't feel like your wallet is hurting, the Cantine Ascheri has Nebbiolo's classic rose and tar aromas with lots of exotic spice and hints of leather & cedar. On the palate there's lovely red fruit with hints of anise delivered on a bed of acidity and well-integrated-yet-characterustic tannins.

2013 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 03-17-2018
I met Fabrizio Bianchi from Monsanto in the early eighties and have been a fan and follower ever since. Mr. Bianchi is certainly one of the earliest pioneers in trying to change the image of Chianti as well as the grapes involved. Fabrizio is a big believer in Sangiovese, the main grape in Chianti and the backbone of most Tuscan wines. He was one of the first in Chianti to make wines 100% Sangiovese in the early '70s. The terroir of this region is evident and expressed consistently, spicy, mineral laden, complex fruits and good acidity. I love this 2013, a blend of Sangiovese and 10% Canaiolo and Colorino , BE WARNED! It will go quick!

2015 Von Strasser "Rudy" North Coast Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-15-2018
This is a great California Napa Valley Cabernet, wonderful layers and great mature fruit, rich and ripe dark fruit very luscious and silky finish. Pull the cork and you are good to go!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Villages
Review Date: 03-15-2018
A super value Macon Villages that expresses its uniqueness. This wine is elegant, crisp and well-structured. This 2016 Chardonnay is chalky with a mineral quality. The wine is mouth-filling and full, with a smooth and supple finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Fortuna Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-15-2018
Most of the 2015 “Rosso’s have come and gone by now, but we save a few of our favorites to carry us into 2018.Woo-hoo! La Fortuna's is back in town! Ever time I raise a glass of this wine to my lips; it brings me back to Montaclino. Why? because there is so much Montaclino in the glass. This Rosso reveals perfumed ripe fruit of plum, cassis and kirsch, some leather and cassis, mid- pallet and earthiness that meld into ripe strawberries, spices and minerals on the long finish. ( Warning !!! this will sell out quickly and yes, I am going to put some down).
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-28-2018
One of K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a Great wine for you to start the evening off with some pecorino and will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus, there is ripe apples and pears with minerals on the front palate and is very rich and creamy on the mid-palate, great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-28-2018
Woohooo !!2016 !! O.K., I LOVE this wine, I think the best they ever made ( I say that every year and every year it gets better). This is old world Rosso, leather, spice, cranberry and lots of minerals and Tuscan dust and soft tannins on the very long finish.At fifteen bucks this will go fast, you are fairly warned!!!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2015 Zaccagnini "Tralcetto" Montepulciano d' Abruzzo Riserva
Review Date: 01-19-2018
Montepulciano the grape has nothing to do with Montepulciano- the Tuscan town. For as many years as I have sold this wine I have always make many friends with this bottle and they always come back and ask for the wine with the "stick on it " they never remember Cantina Zaccagnini, but they do remember it a great wine and fantastic value. There are aromas of blackberries, and floral notes; on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish. There is outstanding depth here, not to mention terrific overall balance.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 01-17-2018
This boasts a deep ruby/purple color, lots of black cherries, raspberries, and currants with hints spice, Tuscan dust and minerals. There is a great texture on this full- bodied wine; it has a long, authoritative finish that combines power with elegance. I would drink this now and over the next couple of years.

2014 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux (1.5L)
Review Date: 01-11-2018
From the southern French region of the Languedoc comes this beautiful example of Cremant de Limoux, very characteristic of the variety, with perfume of white flower, citrus, lemon soda and drying mineral tones. The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Antech "Cuvée Eugenie" Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 01-11-2018
From the southern French region of the Languedoc comes this beautiful example of Cremant de Limoux, very characteristic of the variety, with perfume of white flower, citrus, lemon soda and drying mineral tones. The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Review Date: 01-11-2018
I love the 2013 Piemontese wines; they are amazing values. The wine’s perfume is pure Nebbiolo: raspberry fruit and dried rose petals with a touch of tobacco and lots of cedar, tar and minerals, displaying outstanding depth and fine overall balance. This wine will drink well now and over the next few years, best with the heartiest meats or stews. Better yet, serve after dinner with some great aged cheeses (Pecorino Romano, Parmigiano-Reggiano or Asiago) and an olive tapenade.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2012 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-11-2018
This Brunello is coming from the user friendly vintage of 2012 this "puppy" is good to go or I should say drink. This is full-bodied wine with silky and soft caressing tannins and intense fruit (black cherries and plum) with hint of mineral flavors and was very well-crafted. I would give this a couple hours of decanting and serve with a winter’s hearty stew.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2012 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 01-11-2018
Big wine, little price!!! Do not let the price let you think that this is a lesser wine. This is a Great 2012 Brunelli that will develop over the years. If you open this wine in the next couple of years, give at least four to five hours decanting.

2014 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Review Date: 01-03-2018
Puglia is going through a rebirth when it comes to wine, and all over Southern Italy innovative producers are using indigenous varieties to coax the local terroir flavors out of their soil. These are wines with character, balance, weight and a unique expression of their varietals rarely seen here in the USA. This Salice Salentino is one of those wines, 100% Negroamaro, dark fruit, some spice and lots of acidity, prefect for pizza & pasta.
Price: $8.95 Add To Cart

2013 Fratelli Revello "Giachini" Barolo
Review Date: 01-03-2018
The Ravello is deep red with ruby tones and in the glass you will find, aromas of marzipan, brown spices, dried rose and truffle with brown spices, and leather. Nicely integrated acidity accentuates the wine's inner-mouth perfume and contributes to an impression of firm structure. Love this Barolo, drink now and over the next few years.

2015 Gagliole "Rubiolo" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 01-02-2018
Modern and well-balanced, with lots of floral and mineral character and ripe plum notes .This is medium-bodied, with silky tannins and a long dusty finish. A great value for a 2015 Sangiovese.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2015 Outlier "Noiro" Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-22-2017
Wow! This is really one of the best Pinot Noirs I've tasted at this price point. The bouquet has notes of plum, dark strawberry, clove, chocolate and earth. On the palate there is beautiful balance, with good acidity, soft tannins and very good length. If you're a fan of Pinot, don't miss this great value. Mike ( Guido) Parres
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 D'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 12-12-2017
Classic 2015. Don't let the low price scare you away. This reminds me of the 1997 Cantemerle: it drinks great young, but will age (if you can keep your hands off it.) Wild spicy berry and floral character. Full-bodied, with soft tannins. Two Thumbs up !!!

2015 Cantina di Gallura "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura
Review Date: 12-09-2017
The delicate straw color of the 2015 "Genesi" Vermentino di Gallura is followed by beautiful aromas of almonds, oranges, lemon, honey, apple skins, and a hint of tropical fruits. This crisp, elegant, Full-bodied white has layers of herbs, citrus and a touch of apricot,, with excellent acidity, fresh and long. I love this as an aperitif, or as a broadly useful table wine (roast chicken, fish...).
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tormaresca "Neprica" Super Puglia
Review Date: 12-09-2017
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Louis Moreau Petit Chablis
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This Chardonnay is crisp and stylish with lovely flowery fruit and plenty of depth, energy and concentration underneath and a very long finish. Love this Petit Chablis and white Burgundies at affordable prices!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 11-25-2017
This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

Page: 1 2 next