Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: << prev 3 4 5 next >>
2017 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 6/3/2019 | Send Email
A very approachable and elegant Burgundy from Mercurey. Raspberries, cherries, some earthiness and spiciness. The very round tannins give it a balanced structure.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart

2017 Maison Henri Boillot Bourgogne Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 6/3/2019 | Send Email
Perhaps our best deal quality/price in white Burgundies right now. Its elegant fruit profile marries perfectly with its flinty core and some nuttiness that I seldom find outside Meursault. A wine not only sure to please but easily impress.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Henri Boillot Meursault
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 6/3/2019 | Send Email
A text book perfect Meursault - in its infancy right now, though quite delicious with primary notes of peaches, nectarines, and even a touch of honey surrounding its flinty core . It will age beautifully, and I would advise to put some bottles in the cellars for another 5 to 10 years.

Small Hand Foods Passion Fruit Syrup (8.5oz)
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 6/3/2019 | Send Email
I've made passion fruit syrup from scratch for my Sidewinder's Fang, and it's an incredible amount of work to extract, boil, and strain all of those little arils. I was stunned by the quality and concentration of this artisanally bottled product. It's tropically fresh and delicious and my previous tedium allows me to fathom the piles of fruit that are generously reduced into this little bottle. It only seems like a splurge until you know what's in it and how much work it took to get it in there. This little bottle goes a long way.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Schäfer-Fröhlich "Vulkangestein" Riesling Trocken Nahe (Dry)
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 6/3/2019 | Send Email
My lesser instinct makes me want to call this a dry Riesling for the initiated because of the regal and uncompromising mineral expression and an indelible house style, but I think anyone can get into this. Vulkangestein is a single-village wine in 2017 and it's certainly an excellent value, as it's declassified from only top vineyards. The house style I refer to is the presence of spontaneous fermentation aromas from native yeast (most Germans use cultured yeast) as well as a noticeable matchstick-like dose of sulphur. But Schäfer-Fröhlich is the producer that I've learned to appreciate the most in recent years as my tastes have shifted deep into the trocken spectrum. This wine can be enjoyed at this young stage and it's an excellent gateway to their monumental Grosses Gewachs bottlings.

2017 Deovlet "La Encantada Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 6/3/2019 | Send Email
If had to pick one AVA to spend the rest of my time in it would be Santa Rita Hills. Unfortunately, there isn’t a great deal of production for varietals outside of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. Even though I absolutely love Pinot and Chard it is nice to mix things up. When I tried Deovlet's Pinot Blanc and I was in heaven. Coming from La Encantada vineyard in the south side of the region, this wine delivers classic diatomaceous S.R.H minerality and freshness. Flint, pear, honeysuckle, jasmine, and melon are all directed by racy laser-focused acidity. I’m not sure what I meant by that.. but I sure love this wine!
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2004 l'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/2/2019 | Send Email
Gorgeous aromatics of roasted plums and lead pencil are interlaced with a perfume of violets and sassafras. With the bottle age, the structure is becoming more fine and polished. What an absolute pleasure!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2004 l'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 6/2/2019 | Send Email
This quite special bottling from l'Avocat is showing quite magnificently now. A very elegant woodsy, forest floor aromatics, that evolves into plums, cassis, and cocoa on the palate. Seamless tannins. Very elegant indeed.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 6/2/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
This wine received the highest combined rating of all the wine raters ( except for latour and Lafleur). It is truly amazing. Blueberry and boysenberry aromas-so ripe and round. Seamless wine-elegant yet powerful. Like their 2009 with a bit more tannin. Better than most of the first growths.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2018 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 6/2/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
COuld this be better than their magnificent 2014 or 2016? It is just as good. Lots of power here-like an iron fist in an iron glove. Structured for a long cellar life. Minty aormas and flavors. A collector's wine.
Drink from 2026 to 2026

2018 Réserve de la Comtesse de Lalande, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 6/2/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
To our group, this may be the best second wine of Bordeaux 2018! Toasty aromas, violets on the nose. Sweet and sexy. You want to drink it now. Just retasted in May-so good. A great value.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2018 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 6/2/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Tated five times and great notes everytime. This wine reminds me of the 1983 or the 1989 Pichon. That is saying a lot. Fabulous cassis and cedar aromas with some Asian spice thrown in. So elegant, yet with structure to go a long while. (Their 1983 and 1989 wines we just drank-perfection for 30+ year old wines). This wine is one of our favorites of the vintage. A must buy.
Drink from 2025 to 2025

2017 Mancini Vermentino di Gallura
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 6/1/2019 | Send Email
The island of Sardinia lies in the heart of the Mediterranean, and is populated not just with people, goats and grapevines, but with thousands of strange, beehive-shaped megalithic towers dating to the 2nd millennium BC called nuraghi. Speculation as to their true purpose runs from tombs to astronomical observatories to fortresses, but I imagine with their well-constructed walls they would also make excellent wine cellars! Fortunately for us not all the wine produced in and around these stone beehives stays in Sardinia. Vermentino may not have originated there, but it certainly has found a welcome home, especially in the northwest corner of the island in the Gallura DOCG. Tantalizingly aromatic, with a faintly oily texture, this assertive white wine effortlessly marries acidity to fruit, and often finishes with a subtle green almond note that pairs well with seafood and summer salads.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 6/1/2019 | Send Email
This historic property underwent a renovation some years ago, consolidating the best parcels of vines grown on gravel and clay-limestone soils. This also involved a complete modernization of the production facilities and installation of over 1,000 select oak casks for optimal aging. A blend of roughly 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot and 5% Cabernet Franc, revealing notes of cassis, cranberry, and dark chocolate, held together by complex tannins, this wine can be enjoyed now but will age for another decade.

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This is good honest Cabernet. It is medium-full bodied with classic dark berry Cassis fruit with just a hint of spice and herbal tones. There are enough tannins to give it heft and size and enough acid to bring everything into focus. It drinks as easily as it flashier NorCal cousins but at a fraction of the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2016 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Our best selling "small producer" Rhone red is a shade richer and more substantial than in past vintages but retains all the lively dark fruit and crunchy berry flavors we expect from this bottling. Blackberries, potpourri, savory herb, licorice and an assortment of exotic spices fill the aromas and flavors of this amazing bargain.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 Rudd Estate "Crossroads" Mt. Veeder Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Wow! I could not have been more excited to try this wine and it delivered in every way imaginable. Coming from a tiny organic vineyard 1600 ft up Mt. Veeder, the 2017 “Crossroads” is essentially declassified Estate Sauvignon Blanc that goes for twice the price. The yields are very low, of which 40% is fermented in concrete egg and the rest in neutral oak. The nose is full of white peach, nectarine, pineapple, jasmine and other floral descriptors that I don’t even know the names of. The wine is rich and juicy with an almost effervescent mouthfeel. It's that good. Try it out!
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2018 Château de Montfaucon Lirac Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Here is a great and affordable choice for lovers of the deep and powerful rose' coming from the Tavel region of the Southern Rhone. The substantial middle of wild raspberry, ripe black cherry and spice is full, focused and mouth filling. Is that a whisper of tannin on the firm, mineral laced finish? This is delicious on its own but would be a perfect match for grilled salmon or surf & turf.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Pine Ridge Napa Valley Chenin Blanc-Viognier
Reviwer Picture By: Robert Cash | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
I have enjoyed this delicious wine many times over the last several years and I still can't get over how good it is for the price. A wonderfully aromatic nose of citrus and tropical fruit greet you and the palate is medium with a perfect balance of acidity, minerality with a clean refreshing finish. Outstanding value for the price.
Top Value!
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
WE 90

2017 Four Graces Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Willamette Valley is a great place to look for stunning value in Pinot Noir. The grape thrives there and the wines typically have great balance and purity. However to find a wine of this caliber, at this price point is still pretty rare! Wine Spectator recognized that with their glowing 93 point review, and here at K&L we think they're right on the mark with this one. The wine shows a nice combination of dark cherry fruit, bramble, dried leaves, subtle fennel and savory spice. Bright and juicy on the palate with ample acidity to carry the flavors and make this wine very versatile with food. It's the real deal and at this price it's hard to beat.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WS 93

2015 Adelaida Estate Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Only 14 miles from the ocean and perched on a very mountainous site, Viking Vineyard is a great example of extreme terroir. As a result, there are more compact grape clusters with a higher skin to juice ration which leads to firmer tannins and more structure their wine. Adelaida’s 2015 Estate Paso Robles has a unique bouquet that starts with eucalyptus oil, bay leaf and wintergreen eventually leading to racy blue/red fruit. I would even say that it is somewhat reminiscent a higher end Margaret River Cab.
Price: $34.95 Add To Cart

2016 GRO "Ruhl Vineyard" Mt. Veeder Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
We have an astoundingly low price on this single vineyard, Mount Veeder Chardonnay! This is a Chard for you folks out there who love them rich and creamy. It's not overly oaky, but it is packed with rich, ripe flavors of Blenhiem apricot, baked pear, honeycomb and butterscotch. Big, round and textural on the palate, with wave after wave of golden fruit. Some stony minerals and baking spice appear on the finished which is long a lavish. The very low yields of this site have produced a profoundly concentrated, powerful Chardonnay. If you enjoy Lewis, Pahlmeyer, Rochioli, Rombauer etc...check this out.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Larner "Transverse" Santa Barbara County Syrah
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Larner continues to be one of my favorite producers from the central coast. The 2017 “Transverse” Syrah from Santa Barbara County uses partial carbonic maceration, whole clusters, and all native yeast. Winemaker Michael Larner does an amazing job hiding the 14.7% alcohol; a testament to his skill making Syrah. The wine is light on its feet, crisp and loaded with bright blue fruit. This is a high-quality Syrah at an amazing price. Worth a look!
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Matias Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
For fans of richly styled Chardonnay this is a beyond slamming deal! Yes it's rich but it has good acidity, freshness and is well balanced. It has the style and taste of California's finest and most expensive Chardonnay's. I'm not kidding, taste for yourself and soon! I'm not the biggest Ca. Chardonnay fan but I'm all over this one!!!! Ralph Sands
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 93

2015 Zeitgeist Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
For those of you looking for a modern, flashy and sexy Napa Cab this is it. Jen Williams, previously with Spottswoode, does a wonderful job showcasing the Cab varietal and then bringing to the next level. Her 2015 Cab is sourced from 3 premier Napa vineyards including Farella, Lewelling and Sleeping Lady. It's concentrated, ripe and loaded with mouth-filling tannins. Notes of blue/black fruit, scorched earth, and cassis are expressed beautifully. If Jen's wines aren't already on your radar, they should be.

2017 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Ventoux has been making wine for 2000 years. Talk about bang for your buck! This spicy Rhone took me by surprise. Currently, this wine is created from forty year old vines and has been grown in clay and limestone - and that really makes for a complex and rich wine. The flavors are meaty with a blast of blackberry, spice, and black pepper. Just when you think you'd be overpowered by the fruit, you get this amazing lift of acidity that is mouthwatering. This is an ideal wine for any summer gathering. I think that this wine would go especially well with spicy BBQ or peace in the house.

2017 Vietti Arneis Roero
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
I'm a big fan of Italian whites, and this is no exception. My first taste of Arneis several years ago was eye-opening, and I continue to love the varietal. It's quite stony and mineral driven, with refreshing citrus fruit, lemongrass and wild herb notes. Vietti does a lovely job with this wine, presenting all the best of the varietal from this classic region.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2018 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
I couldn't design a more perfect Summer white wine than a Txakolina, and this one from Amats really delivers. Light, fresh, a little zippy and low alcohol. With a slight spritz from some carbonation, this a great pool-side sipper for those long, warm days. Spain's answer to Vinho Verde, this is a great pairing to veggies, seafood, and charcuterie, all the things we love in a California Summer.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Skyline (Thomas Fogarty) Lodi Carignan Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
A crisp, dry, Provencal style rosé made from 100+ year old Carignane vines in Lodi! Crunchy red berries, dried herbs, cherry blossom. Nice concentration of flavor and a bone dry, lip-smacking on the finish. Yummm...needs nothing more than sunshine. Top Pick from me!
Top Value!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

2017 Stags' Leap Winery Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Chardonnay produces some of the greatest wines of the world, yet it's often ridiculed by drinkers and professionals alike. What is difficult to find these days in Chardonnay is a well-balanced approach which incorporates a touch of oak while maintaining freshness and character. That is exactly what we have here. This classic Chardonnay from one of Napa's great producers, is stunning, and incidentally a great price right now!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
JS 95

2016 Skyline (Thomas Fogarty) California Red Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
A fantastic little "bistro" style, everyday drinker. I have long admired the "Skyline" label they make at Thomas Fogarty and the quality just keeps getting better and better. Winemaker, Nathan Kandler, puts top notch fruit and a lot of care into these wines and it really shows. The blend is centered around Tempranillo and Zinfandel with a dash of Petite Sirah and Carignane. As you might expect its medium to full bodied, dark red fruited, some nice earthy elements. Nicely refined tannins mean its approachable from the get-go but also has enough structure to pair with heartier foods. A great wine for when you're firing up the grill this summer...killer burger wine. Serious value given the quality in the bottle!
Top Value!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

2015 Matias Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Kewin | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This wine got me very excited! It smells like fresh apples with a hints of buttery pie crust. The fresh tart apples carry over to the pallet with a full round mouthfeel. The spicy tannins taste like cinnamon and allspice and linger on with that amazing acidity on the finish. I am definitely stocking up on this one!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 93

2017 Stags' Leap Winery Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This wine manages to strike that perfect balance that we all search for in California Chardonnay that has been made well. It has just a touch of oak, though doesn't taste toasted or vanillin. The oak highlights the white flower and citrus qualities in the wines and helps polish the body into something soft, yet lively and refreshing. I didn't expect this price point on a Chardonnay from a winery that has been in the Napa Valley for so long, let alone a wine of this caliber under $20. Stags' Leap has been working these vineyards for decades and they certainly know how coax with this precious crop into something delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
JS 95

2016 Skyline (Thomas Fogarty) California Red Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This is my new favorite easy-drinking red in the store! What a fantastic blend from Nathan Kandler, one of the top winemakers in California. The team at Thomas Fogarty knows how to find great fruit fromlegendary vineyards in the area and they blended it seemlessly into this under-$15 beauty. This is going to be your ultimate BBQ wine this Summer, but has enough body and interest to really work for any season. Fans of the Sobon Rocky Top and Marietta Lot wines should definitely give this one a go.
Top Value!
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart

2018 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
If you aren't familiar with Txakoli wines, now is the time to learn. We have this lovely, light spritzy wine in stock just in time for summer, and believe me it is the perfect summer pick. Zudugarai Amats is a small winery we've been importing directly for several vintages now, and the quality here is phenomenal. Crisp with a slight sea-tang, this wine has a slightly effervescent texture, and is loaded with fresh granny smith apple notes. It's the perfect accompaniment to cured meats, salted almonds and hard nutty cheeses. Enjoy!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Alain Corcia Bourgogne Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This is a fantastic find and a great price point for such a stellar red Burgundy. Light and fresh, with dusky tannin and soft earth notes, this is what I image most Burgundians have on their dinner table. Both the red and white are fantastic from Corcia and a wonderful way to experience Burgundy without breaking the bank. I hope this bottling will show what incredible wines Burgundy has to offer in this price point, and that these wines do make a fantastic everyday choice.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Alain Corcia Bourgogne Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Alain Corcia is a negociant with whom we've had the pleasure to work for many years now. His Burgundy portfolio is stunning, both on the high end of the spectrum, as well as the entry level wines. If you're looking for a perfect little red Burgundy to become a house staple, or to adopt as your new go-to, this is the wine for you. Elegantly balanced, with just the right amount of bright fresh berry fruit and subtle earthy spice notes, this wine drinks beautifully right out of the bottle.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Matias Santa Lucia Highlands Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Jordan Stone | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Wow, the nose is so fresh. The smell of Chardonnay and wet stone just leaps from the glass. If you tasted this blind you might guess this chardonnay was produced in Green Valley, Occidental or Russian river growing regions. Just great. Vivid and smooth.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 93

2017 Stags' Leap Winery Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
95 point Napa Valley Chard for under $20 is pretty much unheard of...yet here we are! A great bottling from longtime Napa stalwart, Stags Leap Winery. What a great example of: if it ain't broken, don't fix it...this label remains almost entirely unchanged since 1893! But this historic property isn't resting on it's laurels, they continue to put out great wines at fantastic values as evidenced here. A well proportioned, balanced style of Chardonnay. Stone fruit charters with some baked orchard fruit too. Subtle oak, mid-weight on the palate with a soft texture but vibrant acidity. Very nicely made wine that isn't trying anything too radical...just executing a classic style and doing it very well. This is the perfect all-rounder, there's enough weight, texture and oak to please those that like a richer style, but it's not at all overdone and has plenty of freshness and drive too. Very well done...this is sure to be a huge seller this summer.
Top Value!
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
JS 95

2016 The Paring (The Hilt) Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
If you're looking for an under the radar label that delivers killer value at a modest price point look no further than The Paring. This label is essentially de-classified wine from Jonata / The Hilt...two brands under the same ownership as Screaming Eagle in Napa! "Jonata" is a stunning single estate in Ballard Canyon with wines achieving 100 point perfection from top critics. Sister label "The Hilt,"is focused on Pinot Noir and Chardonnay from the Sta. Rita Hills. Again the wines have been achieving massive scores with fruit from some of the best vineyards in the region. 2016 The Paring Pinot Noir is entirely fruit from Radian, Bentrock and Sanford & Benedict...all vineyards typically reserved for high-end ($50-$75) single vineyard designate bottlings. However Winemaker, Matt Dees, is such a perfectionist he declassifies fruit that others most certainly would not! Hence why we at K&L think this bottle is one of the best values out there.
Price: $24.95 Add To Cart
WE 93 JD 91

2017 Drew "Mid-Elevation" Mendocino Ridge Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
A big-time staff favorite here at K&L. This is very much on the elegant end of California Pinot Noir spectrum. It shows a lovely balance of bright fruit with savory forest nuances and umami character. Gentle extraction in the cellar keeps the wine delicate and vibrant on the palate. Super fine, satiny tannin, slate like minerals and dusty spices linger on the finish with more morel mushroom and leaf litter elements. Very complex and refined for a relatively inexpensive Pinot. Real class here.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 94

2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This is an ideal Rosso di Montalcino. It is medium bodied, with high toned red Sangiovese fruit, a floral hint that is offset with sotto bosco, and a soft minerality. It is delicious. It is a wine that works for all occasions. Most importantly, for me, it scratches enough of a Brunello itch that I keep my hands off the Brunello so they can really develop in bottle, an ideal Rosso.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This easily is the best vintage of this wine that I have tried. It is a "super" delicious everyday Tuscan red. The aromas and flavors are dark without being heavy. It is fresh without being tart. There are a fine spice element and moderate tannins. It is a really fun blend where you can sense all of the components but none of them stand out. I have a feeling that this will sell out fast.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2016 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/31/2019 | Send Email
This is beautiful Pinot Noir, something that Broadley excels at. The nose has layers of delicate mix berries and fruit, spice, and a touch of earthiness. The palate is medium-light bodied, elegant and long. It gives all of those aromas a canvas to play out over and over. This wine delivers everything that I want from a Pinot.

2016 Ferrero "Pepita" Rosso di Toscana
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/30/2019 | Send Email
“SUPER TUSCAN”! & SUPER PRICE! This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante and I swear you taste the layers of all these, needs a hour or so to open up and on the palate you will find flavors of black cherry and plum and soft floral notes blend with silky tannins, the cab gives this a backbone that you feel and nice smooth and long finish. TWO THUMBS UP!!!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferrero Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/30/2019 | Send Email
I tasted this last February and have been waiting its arrival. This is a user friendly rosso, bright fruit hit you first, black cherries cassis and ripe strawberries and then Tuscany starts to roll across you palate, the terroir takes on the rest of this wine, giving it a long finish that lingers. Needs an hour or so of breathing time.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 5/30/2019 | Send Email
Fans of the Montfaucon whites will find this bottling a bit more forward and open knit than the other offerings. This has flowery aromas of citrus blossom and assorted ripe stone fruits-especially white peach. A touch of glycerin adds texture to the rich mid-palate of baked apricot and warm peach and the honeyed finish is stony, dry and refreshing. This is invigorating enough for Summer sipping but has the weight and texture to carry you straight through the Winter Holidays.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2013 La Prevostura "Muntacc" Coste della Sesia Rosso
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 5/30/2019 | Send Email
There is plenty of fruit, good acidity, soft tannin structure, some minerality and white pepper with a lengthy finish. The combination of blue/dark fruit and the black cherry comes from the Nebbiolo. I also find some tar and roses on the lengthy finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Laphroaig 20 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/30/2019 | Send Email
The Laphroaig name is very well known already within the whisky world because of its devotion to using its own floor maltings and hand-cut peat. This kind of attention and labor does not disappoint in its contribution to flavor. With citrus, pine, and herbal notes, and the classic medicinal character we expect from Laphroaig. Throw in a long finish thanks to the cask strength nature and you have a truly tasty, very unique drink.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

Springbank 22 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/30/2019 | Send Email
Springbank is already regarded as one of our favorite distilleries at K&L for their dedication to the labor and time they devote to their whisky. Because we already hold them in such regard, we are always particularly psyched to see these tiny single barrel offerings hit our shelves. With a big, chewy middle (thanks to bourbon barrel aging) and the perfect intertwining of spice and light smoke, this is one of the more unique Scotch's we will offer this year. The smoke carries an earthy, not petroly character, which integrates seemlessly with the other characters. The cask strength brings drive to these flavors and makes for one pretty damn good drink.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

Page: << prev 3 4 5 next >>