Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: << prev 2 3 4 next >>
Legent Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 6/18/2019 | Send Email
Bourbon by way of Japan. It may sound gimmicky or something unnecessarily dreamed up by an advertising team, but the results prove that there's real quality and substance to this bottle. The juice is from Kentucky, but then it gets finished in the Land of the Rising Sun by a Japanese master blender. The whiskey turned out like you might expect: full Bourbon flavors you're familiar with, but with a restraint and elegance that Japanese whiskey has a reputation for. Caramel and clove bats at the nose, yet it's lighter than many typical Bourbons with beautiful floral notes that grow spicier with each sniff. The palate maintains the caramel, but is quite fruity. Overall the whiskey is rich yet restrained, ending with woody toasty notes.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Basil Hayden's 10 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
Bourbon comes in many different styles from rich and heavy to more light and delicate styles. This Basil 10 is a classy example of the light and delicate style .The nose is pretty with a subtle aromas. In the mouth it is juicy and elegant, light and balanced with a subtle vanilla finish. This is a first class bourbon that should please any whiskey drinker.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Fettercairn 10 Year Old Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
This is a great price for a wonderful and delicious single malt. The nose is sweet , subtle and inviting. In the mouth it is complex with creamy and fruity notes. I did not pick up any smoke aromas or flavors. It is so easy to drink and will be great alone or on the rocks.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Woodinville K&L Exclusive Single Cask #1307 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
I have liked the Woodinville products since K&L first bought them for the store. This single cask of bourbon show cases this excellent spirit. There are beautiful aromatics that are full, complex and pretty. In the mouth it is complex, round and soft, a full bodied bourbon with a touch of spice. A great bourbon from the state of Washington.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2016 Meyer-Näkel "Estate" Pinot Noir Ahr
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
Germany is often overlooked in the Pinot Noir category as most people associate the country with Riesling however you're missing out if you haven't tried the reds. Pinot here has a similar profile to Burgundy, with more cranberry and cherry notes, sophisticated earthy tones and bright acid. Enjoy a meal with this one. This is one of the best - Meyer-Näkel is an excellent producer. (They also make a killer rosé.)
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park 21 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
I have to be honest here, there are tons of Highland Parks on the market right now, but I guarantee none of them actually include the words on the label. That's because at some point in the last few years, the distillery dumped a huge quantity of stock (barrels from single production days vatted together to keep birthdays similar) and sold it off as unnamed Orkney stocks. Some of these stocks are very good and lots of them are just ok. Some of those stocks are also very affordable, while others are absolutely outrageously expensive, almost comically so. But, NO one is trying to sell us named Highland Park anymore. We've been lucky to have the Laings in our corner and last year's Old Particular 20 year was an extremely well liked and successful cask. The same whisky from Douglas Laing this year just one year older is costing 40% more per bottle. We'll probably have to pass. Yet somehow we've been able to get Hunter Laing to bottle an HP one year older than last year's OP at the exact same shelf price. Like many of the Hunter Laing Old & Rare, these casks are extremely small, split up between markets to stretch the goodwill they garner. While these stocks (and all the Sovereign Wax Top) were once intended for the well regarded Hunter Laing Old & Rare line, we've agreed to use this packaging so a national importer might have the option to use the other. We don't care about the bottle so much in the end as long as the juice inside is out of this world. Needless to say this whisky lives up to the expectations. The nose is crystalline and perfectly apportioned. Bold mineral, tangy citrus, chalk, saline, bright pure malt, slight mossy undertone. With water (only a drop please) even more chalk, sweet stewed pear, benedictine, tropical fruit and fresh rain on rocks. An HP for the Burgundy lover in all of us.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Clynelish 21 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
To say that I'm partial to this distillery would be an understatement. Clynelish is right up there with me with all of Scotland's finest. Let's be honest, not all malt is equal. Some distilleries just simply make better whisky more consistently. That's not a linear equation but is the function of a number of factors that happen to favor certain makes. Of course, we find legends among the lesser distillates and we also have far less access to many of the great malts in terms of bottling single cask. But my partiality toward Clynelish doesn't make me more likely to purchase a cask from the distillery. In fact, it has made me much more skeptical. Over the last few years, what was once relatively available older "affordable" Clyenlish has all but disappeared. While the occasional sample came around were either not up to snuff or completely outrageous in terms of cost. But when we tasted this special hogshead of Brora's finest, we couldn't let it out of our grasp. Of course, the whisky is more expensive than casks we might have sold 4 or 5 years ago of a similar age but also, it's simply more delicious. This Clynelish reminds me of a magnificent geode. Other worldly, yet a product of nature. Chiseled and shimmering, yet somehow wild and unruly. It's smooth facets and complex structure and of course it's unprecedented beauty. The nose offers classic Clynelish, but not too the point of being all candles. The wax is there, but framed by stunning Fuji apple, fresh herbs, forest floor, old leather and salted apricots. With some water, we're getting pretty waxy! Carnauba and leather, sweet baked apples and fresh tobacco leaf. On the palate, this stuff is softer than even the nose had alluded. But it doesn't lag at all on flavor. Fresh mint, dusty auto parts, sweet tea, anise, camphor, crayons, butterscotch, shiso, marmalade etc. With or without water you're going to do great here. While this isn't one of those whiskies that's so cheap people won't be able to stop themselves, it does represent one of the finest examples of top tier Highland single malt we've had in a long time. There's absolutely nothing else in this price point or style on the market today and those who pass on this one will regret it deeply going forward.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

Laphroaig 20 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
Sometimes we forget about how special old Islay whisky can be simply because it seems to barely exist. When we do see something more than 18 years old, it tends to be astronomically expensive. We loved the Ardbeg Twenty Somethings, but dang those prices are high. Laphroaig doesn't really do much in this age range, having discontinued the 18 year and proofed down the older offerings. So we're stuck with the independently bottled stocks. Funny thing, just like Ardbeg, Laphroaig has decided that they're not going to sell a single drop of whisky to anyone else without declassifying it (teaspooned or otherwise). That means that our suppliers have no way to replenish their stocks of Islay's most distinctive malt. Prices are now absolutely bonkers. The same, albeit delicious, '98 Laphroaig's from Signatory that we sold for $160 at 15 years of age are now 21-years-old and selling for $700+. But somehow we acquired this old stock bottled 2 years ago and the prices simply didn't change. The result is a perfect old Laphroaig at a retro price point. Yes it's still VERY expensive, but there's absolutely nothing available anywhere close to this quality on the market today. This is no modern Laphroaig by the way. Expect the linear medicinal peat to be a bit tamed due to the age, but still tons of complex smoky flavors and more. Camphor, tar, diesel engine, lime, dried salted meat, fresh pirellis. On the palate the peat is still front and center, sweet herbs, salted herring, capers, kombu, lemon sauce, spices. With water we're opening the nose quite a lot. Big lemon component taking hold here. Green olives, salt spray, meringue, tropical plants. On the palate there's still plenty of peat, but it's relinquished it's strong hold, now salted fruits, salted nuts, salted fish. It's salty! Billowing ashy smoke in the background somehow it still feels clean. White pepper, ginger powder, sweet roots, lemon tea on the long sublime finish. Just a massive classic old Laphroaig. One that might turn the most jaded peat hater into a believer or convince the staunchest proponent of young punchy peaters that old Islay is still king. Only 96 bottles available.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

Springbank 22 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 6/17/2019 | Send Email
I was absolutely obsessed with the magical 22 year old Springbank we sold last year. That special cask only turned out 78 bottles and I was under the impression that the rest had gone to Europe. Now I'm not so sure. When Hunter Laing said they had another 108 bottles of 22 year old Springbank, they couldn't confirm that it wasn't the exact same. Upon tasting it there's almost no doubt that this is either the same cask or a sister cask of very similar quality. It's a pretty weird thing to have happen, especially when Scotland is being tight lipped about it, but I'm not complaining or questioning it for one second. I think I called last years whisky, "a living legend in our midst." It's sounds like hyperbole, but this is truly one of the finest modern Springbank I've ever tasted. Very much in the old style although it begins rather restrained it's packed with layer upon layer of complex flavor. Light peat, camphor, new Jordans, expensive non-scented candles. On the palate surprising big Campbeltown peat. Big smoke, tons of tension. But with just a little tiny smidge of water, the nose explodes from the glass. Soot, cigars, lemons, leather, creosote, fresh tennis balls, quince jam, chamomile, coriander, thujone, more and more keeps coming out. On the palate it's now pure highland peat smoked lemons, menthol, citrus oil, green tea, hints of candied stone fruits, grains of paradise and almost numbing feeling that brings me back to absinthe. The finish is long and lingering, the menthol note keeps coming back with every breath in. This one is emotional. Satisfying to the soul. Exhausting. I'm winded. We keep pointing back at Springbank, there's just nothing like it. The difference between modern whisky and real whisky, the answer is right here.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

Longmorn 14 Year Old "Old Malt Cask" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 6/16/2019 | Send Email
Utterly approachable and sublimely sippable is what you'll find in this special Longmorn. The slightly shy debut here is just ploy. The nose starts with subtle white and yellow fruits, flinty chenin blanc from Saumur, wet stones and tea biscuits. On the palate, it's like cotton candy sweet with a slight herbal tinge to keep it exciting. But one tiny splash of water and we're in a whole different territory. Poire Williams eau-de-vie, premier cru chablis, persimmon and yuzu peel. On the palate the sweetness as turned to pure weight on the palate. Almost chewy in texture, the pear continues, but brings along honeysuckle, pepper and licorice root. A tempting, teasing, subtle malt, that ultimately unveils it's self to be a true beauty with some coaxing and kind words. Should be one of the best buys of the year.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Braes of Glenlivet (Braeval) 29 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 6/16/2019 | Send Email
We often over look Braeval because it's not the sexiest malt. The workhouse malt for many blenders has a relatively good reputation, but has never been released as a single malt so consumers tend ignore it. But anytime we see it listed by it's original trade name we must take note because that means it's old! This is unquestionably the best Braes of Glenlivet I've ever had (admittedly I haven't had too many), but even beyond the oddity of seeing a cask of this stuff at this age, it's simply delicious malt. It has everything I want from a great old Speyside malt and much more. The nose starts with an absolutely gorgeous dark maltiness. Behind that sweet syrup of stone fruits, complex herbs, bitter barks and mint. Despite the high proof and not atypical of very old malt, this one improves much more with air than water. Even a drop of water seems to draw some astringency out. But if you keep adding you'll find it goes full circle into the pretty peaches and herbal tea thing we started at. That said, I'd recommend not touching this one with water if you can handle it. On the palate, tons of bold malty flavors, growing influence of the mint and dried herbs taking over. Hints of fruit and citrus remain, but they're thinly spread across a slice of rustic country bread, sprinkled in salt and mint. A truly exciting and almost profound little malt, just remember, NO WATER!
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Bapt & Clem 12 Year Old "Savanna Distillery" Réunion Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Tobin | Review Date: 6/15/2019 | Send Email
It is a rare day when we get to try Rum from Savanna Distillery in the US. Bapt & Clem's have done a fantastic job sourcing and aging this little beauty. the nose is full of ginger and baking spices, green grass and herbs, and if you let it linger for a moment you get hints of caramel. the palate is bright and dry, beautifully spiced with just a hint of sweet vanilla and caramel before fading into an even and dry finish. This is the perfect gift for any rum drinker!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2014 Chateau Simone Palette Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 6/14/2019 | Send Email
This delicious and unique wine is bold but super balanced and very sophisticated. Hints of oak along with dark currants, red and blue berries and violets fill the aromas and flavors of the sleek and substantial middle. The finish is long, dry and polished.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2018 Terra Santa Ile de Beaute Rosé (Corsica)
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 6/14/2019 | Send Email
There is lots of zippy acidity and a little bit of strawberry at the tip of the tongue, and then the rocky soil and limestone of Corsica come through on the really long finish. A great wine for those hot Summer nights.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

1999 La Closerie du Poujeaux, Moulis
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 6/14/2019 | Send Email
My evening with this wine was a finer experience than I would hope for with a bottle at double the price. Even though it had just arrived from its long container ship journey that same day, it was full of calm, confident authority. The wines main feature was great cassis fruit and plenty of it, all packaged with great acidity and 0 residual sugar. Even though the wine was only 12.5% it had great body, silky texture and some power. This wine was excellent with my well marbled market steak, and my wife had to tell me to slow down or she wouldn’t have had her half!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Les Têtes "Tête" VDF Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 6/13/2019 | Send Email
Here is a great Summer sipper that will appeal to all lovers of the popular Bistro reds from the Loire Valley that populate every outdoor cafe in Paris. This "Natural Wine" has aromas of tobacco, earth and dark berries in abundance. The middle is filled with juicy raspberries and the finish is of clean, dark slate. Palate cleansing, food friendly and unique!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 Montesco "Agua de Roca" Sauvignon Blanc Uco Valley
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 6/13/2019 | Send Email
One of the best things about wine is the diversity. All the different varietals and all the different regions, it is so much fun to explore the world through a glass of wine. While I love finding new varietals and new regions, the most exciting diversity can be found with the same varietal grown in different places, that is what makes Burgundy Burgundy. While the same varietals are grown all over the world and in many varied regions most of the time unsurprisingly the wines taste very similar, which can be a good/bad/neutral thing. That is why this Sauvignon Blanc is so exciting, I have never have a Sauvignon Blanc quite like this. Biodynamically grown at high elevation in calcareous soils. The wine was fermented in Stainless and Concrete then aged for a year in concrete eggs. There is pronounced minerality and very high acidity. The fruit is ripe and clean with just a whisper of grassiness. There is just enough texture and body to keep the wine taut but not sharp. I cannot do justice to the intoxicating nature of the aromatics and flavors of this wine. This is a dynamic expression of this classic varietal.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 VN 91

Clynelish 21 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 6/13/2019 | Send Email
The fruit will not be contained. Even just popping the cork you can immediately smell the sweet candied fruits. When you pour a dram it fills the room. Vanilla, creme brulee, stewed apricots and nectarines meld with spiced pear. On the palate you've got pepper dancing with cinnamon, vanilla ice cream smothered in fresh berries and syrup. A kick of honeyed oats and sweet grass round out the finish. It's perfect Clynelish and the pricing is better than any other cask available by 100 bucks or more. Pure insanity.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

Springbank 22 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 6/13/2019 | Send Email
The perfect example of why Springbank remains my favorite distillery. This whisky offers a bit of everything. At 22 years old it's as fresh as a daisy with loads of bright fruit, fresh cut grass, and a little minerality on the nose. On the palate the bourbon barrel influence is complex and well developed - there is a fine tannin structure and the alcohol is well integrated into the body of the whisky. It shows stone fruits and that gentle smoke that makes Springbank so lovely. The midpalate has chew. Classic. The finish is long and clean and full of grilled peaches and vanilla ice cream drizzled with caramel. A sister cask to last years 22 year old, but with a touch more body and intensity.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

2014 Orben Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 6/13/2019 | Send Email
Old vine (60-70 years old) head pruned Tempranillo with a little dash of Graciano all from small, organic vineyard plots that are owned by some of the most famous restaurateurs in Spain, who wanted to create a modern expression of Rioja Alavesa. It had me at old vine, Tempranillo and Alavesa. That is a magical combination in my book. From early on in my career there has always been something magical/romantic to me about the wines from the Basque subzone of Rioja. It could be the limestone, it is the limestone. When done right the precision, the lift, the extract from wines grown in soils with limestone just resonate with me. This wine delivers on that limestone promise. The fruit pops and has focus, there is beautiful core to it that runs straight thru to that fine mineral dustiness on the finish. Now is time to pay quick attention to the label, there is no age designation, there is only the vintage. This is modern Rioja there is enough oak to contributed to the texture, enhance the fruit and also add an exotic balsam aromatic but not too dominate. This wine is an expression of fruit and terroir not of oak and wine-making.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 94 WS 93

Douglas Laing's "Gauldrons" Limited Edition Campbelton Blended Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 6/13/2019 | Send Email
Another great blend of single malts from the people at Douglas Laing. When master blenders like the Laings combine different single malts it brings out the best and most interesting flavors that the single malts have to offer. The Gauldrons is a very successful example of this. The nose is interesting and mysterious, with sweet notes and a hint of salt. In the mouth it is creamy, oily and complex with a sweet finish that has light smoke notes.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2015 Wines of Substance "Klein Vineyard - Bx" Walla Walla Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 6/13/2019 | Send Email
Striking a deft balance between exotic, ripe, flamboyant modern Cabernet and gravelly, structured, savory old school Bordeaux. Tasted in a lineup of top notch Cabernet from Napa, this wine stood up very well showing beautiful layers of flavor: cassis, blackcurrant, loganberry, hot stones, pencil shaving, oak spices. Full bodied but not jammy in the least. Well defined, varietal tannins give great structure and length. We took one final parcel of this wine before it's gone for good, and with the huge and well deserved score from Jeb it's gonna move fast. 98 points from under $60!
Price: $59.95 Add To Cart
JD 98

Inverroche Classic Gin (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
This dead ringer for a dry London gin is actually from South Africa. The particular blend of local botanicals creates a near-perfect gin that leaves the drinker with the envious challenge of deciding whether to make a refreshing G&T or a classic martini. While the olive will work fine, I would recommend you go with the cocktail onion. Ultimately, either choice will serve you well. This bottle will be featured in my liquor cabinet for the summer. Gin & Tonics or martinis anyone?
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bodegas y Viñedos Ponce "La Estrecha" Manchuela
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
It just happens that it is about 90 degrees in San Francisco today, and shockingly I do not deal with the heat well. Who cares? Right? But it worked out perfectly that we tasted this wine today. Bobal, and specifically Bobal made by Juan Antonio Ponce, could be the perfect summer red wine. Bobal, the thick-skinned, obscure varietal from Manchuela, is best known for its intensity: color, tannin and acid. My earliest introduction to the variety were wines that were ready to go toe-to-toe with any New World Syrah. And while those styles of wines are great for summer, too, my over-heating preference is for a lighter-bodied, higher-acid wine that could handle a slight chill, like Cru Beaujolais. This wine has a texture to it can I can only describe as silkiness. It has a cool silkiness that effortlessly, seamlessly gets drawn across your palate by its freshness. There are literally no edges, the tannin and acidity are there. This wine has substance and body but there are no edges. This wine does what you want Grand Cru wines do. All from a place that most people probably have not heard of. There is more to this than just texture, there are nice layers of bright and dark berries and fruits with a fine herbal dusting that comes out on the finish. This with a slight chill n a day like today would be amazing, it would be amazing with a chill in the dead of winter in the Arctic circle too--that's me wishing for the weather to change but I'm not wrong about that. This is an extraordinary wine. It is made from Biodynamically grown fruit and made with minimal intervention. We sell wines for twice this price from Beaujolais that can boast that and offer a similar, almost, experience as this.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 96

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Collaboration Series Phifer Pavitt Reserve Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
A nine-year-old Tennessee whiskey finished in Napa Cab barrels? What more could you want? The nose is super expressive, giving off sweet, burnt caramel, seared pluots, and black cherries. The palate reflects some of the big tannins you get from Napa Cabs with the oak flavor coming along with them while also providing a corn sweetness, not dissimilar to the Kix cereal of my youth. The finish was a sweet plum sugar, almost jammy, undoubtedly another contribution from the Cab barrel. This dram offered the best from both worlds and played together nicely.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Brockman's Gin (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
This particular gin really caught me off guard. It’s not your typical juniper-driven martini gin. There’s a entire panoply of tropical fruits and red berries in the glass. This would be a workhorse for countless cocktails, though I imagine some might just like it on ice, or with a splash of soda and a twist. This is fun in a glass.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2007 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
This "Old School" claret is a gentle, approachable bargain to pop open any time you get the urge for a glass of classic Bordeaux that won't break the bank. There are both red and dark fruit flavors here in a easy drinking package that will have you reaching for another glass. Over 10 years of age and under $20!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
This is only the third vintage of this wine and since we have carried all three I can safely say it has quickly become one of the most elegant wines of the Cotes de Castillon appellation, an area known more for richness than finesse. Although this has a slightly darker profile than other vintages it is still primarily red fruited with hints of spice and toast. This shows amazing poise and pedigree for an under $20 bottle and is delicious to drink right now. These wines keep getting better and better.

Miquel Pons Cava Brut Penedes
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
Here is a sophisticated and elegant sparkler that sells for less than $10.00. This is dry and bracing with a middle filled with stone fruit and melon flavors and a long finish of talc and mineral. This is fine enough for fancy dinners but priced for picnics and parties.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Siembra Valles Blanco Tequila (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
This glorious tequila smells like a vacation in a glass. As soon as I put it to my nose, the aromatics just swept me away. This super-premium tequila was the recent best-in-class finisher at our weekly staff tasting. The freshness, the fruitiness, the complexity, all make this a standout amongst peers. This is arguably one of the best all-arounders at the price point.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2018 Ojai Vineyard California Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
Few winemakers in California have more experience making wine than the legendary Adam Tolmach. With 30+ years under his belt he’s got a pretty good idea of how things get done. As one of the founders of the Rhone Rangers movement, Adam is a pioneer of working with Rhone varietals. This stunningly glorious rosé is one of the finest from California. This is equal parts Syrah and Carignan with a touch of dry Riesling. This is thirst quenching, food friendly, with an essence of cherries, raspberries, and a faint hint of minerality. Easily a candidate for rosé of the vintage.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 The Pinot Project California Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
What's better than finding a well crafted domestic Pinot Noir for under $15? Finding one for under $13 that tastes more like $20! This has incredible flavor, complexity, structure and balance for this price point. In fact, some $20 wines don't have the finesse this wine does. This is one of those case-worthy buys that will impress your friends at the table and yourself for making such a smart purchase.
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
JS 91 WE 90

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Fusion Bourbon (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
This new distillery started producing in 2016 and quickly started laying down some of their stock. With equal parts 11yr 7mo Kentucky sourced bourbon, 2 yr old high rye estate bourbon and 20% estate wheated bourbon, this bottle expresses what the distillery is aiming to be and gives some good insight into the juice they're making. The nose was rich and sweet and full of spices like cinnamon and cardamom mixed with mascarpone cheese. The palate was smooth and sweet with notes of banana creme and more cinnamon. If you're looking to venture into something produced outside of the bourbon belt, definitely give this bottle a shot.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Woodinville K&L Exclusive Single Cask #1307 Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 6/12/2019 | Send Email
This was a fantastic surprise coming from a craft distillery in Washington. With full sized barrels and grain to glass production, you can taste that no shortcuts were made. The nose elicits notes of roasted coffee with raspberry syrup and a hint of fennel while the palate is silky, smooth, and has a sweet corn note, which plays with a cinnamon flavor very well. The finish is long with anise and brown sugar leading you out. A fun and different bourbon whiskey from what's making it out of Kentucky.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2017 Torbreck "Woodcutter's" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
This wine delivers. It delivers delicious Barossa Shiraz without any baggage. Is big? Yes. Is there a lot of fruit? Yes. Is there spice? Yes. Is it over the top?...... No. It is medium full bodied with lots of dark fruit, spice, enough tannin to square up against the fruit but not enough to dominate a burger. What time of year is it? Summer. What are you doing for a dinner? Grilling. What are you drinking? This.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WS 93

2016 Liparita Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
Sometimes I find it best not to ask questions, this is one of those occasions, but the question that I am not looking for an answer for is “Why are these wines priced this way?” First the Yountville now this Oakville. This is an Oakville wine, I have no personal experience with Liparita, but one sniff and you know that the fruit that this wine was made from came from Oakville. This is a big, dark fruited (for me that classic cassis), mouth-filling, rich Cabernet. Who cares why it’s priced this way, I am still curious, but this is a wine for everyone who loves big Napa wines to take advantage of.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park 21 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
You can't get too much better than this for the price. The nose is full of caramelized pear, white flower blossoms and cacao nibs. The palate has a smooth, dry texture to it and reminded me of sitting around a campfire eating smores. The lightest hint of sweet smoke and prunes also seemed recognizable. The finish was long and this time was more reminiscent of taking red hots and cooking them (for whatever reason) on the bbq (charcoal, not gas).
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
I loved the last vintage of this wine and I'm loving this one even more. The aromatics are tremendous, it's like breathing in the scent of a big bowl of fresh strawberries and cherries and the red fruit flavors on the palate are sublimely delicate and fresh. Jacques Bavard makes damn good wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2018 Field Recordings Blanc de Franc Paso Robles
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
Pét-Nat you say ? Light, Natural and Fizzy! the wine is bottled prior to fully completing its first fermentation, allowing carbon dioxide to be produced by the natural sugars found in the grapes. Pét-Nat production is variable and can be difficult to control and that is why it requires a level of expertise on the winemaker’s part. The end result is Cloudy, creamy, light with a hint of green apples and absolutely delicious.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Grand Pontet, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
It is refined and defined this fantastic little treasure from St Emilion. Aged 12 to 18 months in Oak Barrel. Layered with dark fruits, great texture and structure with hints of leather, Tobacco and balanced tannins and creamy oak. Pairs wonderfully with a hearty Steak and heavier meat dishes.

2017 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
An absolute delight. Inviting aromas of peaches and green apples. it is Creamy, textured with layers of tangerine and sweet Meyer lemons. Bright acidity which makes it crisp and a perfect wine to pair with food. Savory finish with a juicy palate.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2015 Vecchie Terre di Montefili Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
This Chianti Classico shows magnificent taste profile of pomegranate, Spice, dried cherries. pleasant freshness and herbal quality. while you drink it, the fresh lively acidity comes first, followed by leathery chewy tannins. It is bright, well balanced well structured, firm and all in wonderful harmony of flavors.

2010 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
in 2010 the nights were much cooler so this actually allowed the grapes to develop very balance flavors. This Cabernet dominant wine has an abundant amount of dark chewy fruits, a bit spice and great classic leather that you expect in Bordeaux wines. It is an outstanding wine for an incredible price.

2016 Domaine Joseph Roty Marsannay Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
This is definitely one of the more interesting roses I've had in a long while.There are some really complex flavors here, lots of plum and strawberry, and a dusting of spice on the finish. This is a rose of the "gastronomique" kind, one that deserves a meal to complete the experience. Try this with a french classic - quiche Lorraine and simple green salad. Magnifique!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dragonette Happy Canyon of Santa Barbara Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
Textured, creamy, light but flavorful Rose'. Great to be consumed on a casual night or pair it with salads, lighter dishes such as grilled chicken or enjoy with lighter fish. It is so wonderful when you can recommend a Rose' with confidence to a someone who likes a little more depth and complexity in their wine. Wild strawberry, watermelon, citrus notes of ripe orange and a blast of juicy acidity.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau Bourgogne Hautes-Cotes de Beaune Rouge "Clos Marc"
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
I’m really digging our under $20 Burgundy selection lately. At a time when prices aren’t going lower anytime soon (or at all) the quest for a good bottle of “everyday” Burgundy is challenging. BUT there are gems to be found, especially in subregions like the Hautes-Côtes de Beaune, where altitudes are higher and the resulting wines are fresh and aromatic, great for drinking now. It's also in these kind of subregions that the price point is equally attractive. Sylvain and Nathalie Langoureau have crafted a fabulous Pinot Noir that erupts with a precise balance of fresh pomegranate and cranberry. There's excellent structure here, with tannins that gently coat and acidity that carries through to a nice lingering finish. This is very balanced and smooth and absolutely delicious.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
have you ever imagined if Summer was liquid and you could drink it in the form of wine, how would it taste? This is that wine that will put an end to your wondering. It is crisp, light, bright mild acidity.The classic pepper nose and a soft tangy green apple tone. It is a perfect Summer sipper by the pool, in the backyard or simply in your home. It also is the absolute party wine that will please the crowd. Enjoy it on its own but it also pairs well with roasted vegetables such as asparagus, Brussels Sprouts, all kinds of Salads and seafood.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2001 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
What a pleasant surprise 2001 vintage has become! This vintage held itself so beautifully and the wines have become more elegant and sophisticated by time. Beautiful flavor profile of plum and cherries, medium yet abundant with flavors body, sweet soft tannin and great smooth finish.Enjoy this wine now and put some aside since there is still a good 5-6 years left of the liveliness of it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Troll Bridge "Password" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
Wow - this is gonna be a huge seller here at K&L...at least as long as it stays in stock! Check out the backstory on this wine: Marketing / graphic designer, Allan Ezial, who has spent decades creating labels, brochures, websites, etc for Napa's top producers, decided to team up with winemaking legend Jon Engelskirger (Turnbull) to make some tiny production, high-end Napa Cabs. The fruit was locked down by Jon and is from VERY famous sources (that, unfortunately, must remain nameless) in the sub-regions Coombsville, Oakville, and Rutherford. The craftsmanship in the cellar is flawless and it was aged in the best cooperage money can buy. This is a powerful, rich, full-bodied Cab that is perfectly ready to drink after resting 18 months in barrel and 5 years in bottle. The fruit is still very primary and bold, yet the tannins have resolved to become soft and silky. It's got everything - rich decadent cassis and blackcurrant, bramble, sweet tobacco notes, scorched earth and is framed by very sexy (expensive) French oak that is now perfectly integrated with the other elements. This is absolutely in it's prime and drinking beautifully but has another 3-5 years in the tank no problem. Basically, you're getting a $75, perfectly aged, Napa Cab blend, made by one of the best winemakers in the valley, for less than half of the winery price.
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 Troll Bridge "Password" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 6/7/2019 | Send Email
Trollbridge lives up to the second half of its name: it's got a style that bridges Cali red blends and more Bordeaux characteristics. It boasts of big bold fruit and acidity initially. Then scents of old leather, tobacco, blackberry, and cassis roll in. The palate comes on with tart cherry, green herbaceousness, and dusty earth. The tannins here are soft and friendly. This vintage is ready to drink now, but could also hang out age for a good while longer. Trolls can be tasty too.
Price: Hidden View Price

Page: << prev 2 3 4 next >>