Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: prev 1 2 3 next >>
1995 Le Brun de Neuville "Grand Vintage" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
After 22 years of patient sur-lee ageing, the folks at Le Brun de Neuville have released this fabulous RD. Most long aged, late disgorged Champagne sells for triple the cost of this 1995, but since we work directly with Le Brun de Neuville, we are able to offer this rarity at a very fair price. If you like a rich, toasted brioche style with chanterelle complexity, this is going to be right in your wheelhouse. I love this kind of Champagne paired with paté as it still has the cut, and compliments other complex flavors. Needless to say, after all this time, the bead is compact and lovely!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2011 Fleury Sonate Extra Brut Champagne Sans Soufre
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
It is really exciting for me to be able to offer this Champagne, Fleury's top bottling, at such a fantastic discount. This is natural wine, but more importantly, it is great Champagne, and it is the quality of the old vine fruit, planted on the best mid slope sites that is front and center. This has perfect, tiny streamers and supple texture, subtle biscuity complexity, savory Pinot fruit and great Chablis like, clean earth on the back end. It also has a little hint of top quality soy, that I don't know that I would have found right away had I not known that this was made without sulphur. This is a must try for any Champagne lover!
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2017 Wittmann "Estate" Riesling trocken (dry) Rheinhessen
Reviwer Picture By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 6/11/2019 | Send Email
I believe that estate trocken Rieslings from top producers are the foundation of fine wine in Germany. Versatile, substantial, and attainable, this entry-level category has improved greatly in this century now that ripeness comes more easily and "trocken" doesn't need to mean "masochism". Wittmann was one of the first organic and biodynamic wine estates anywhere, and their estate holdings in and around the village of Westhofen produce Rieslings of individual distinction at all levels. A pervasive limestone subsoil in this greater village area informs their wines... a comparatively unusual mineral presence in Germany that is more often defined by other sedimentary or volcanic mineral types.

2016 Domaine Joseph Roty Marsannay Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
This is definitely one of the more interesting roses I've had in a long while.There are some really complex flavors here, lots of plum and strawberry, and a dusting of spice on the finish. This is a rose of the "gastronomique" kind, one that deserves a meal to complete the experience. Try this with a french classic - quiche Lorraine and simple green salad. Magnifique!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dragonette Happy Canyon of Santa Barbara Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
Textured, creamy, light but flavorful Rose'. Great to be consumed on a casual night or pair it with salads, lighter dishes such as grilled chicken or enjoy with lighter fish. It is so wonderful when you can recommend a Rose' with confidence to a someone who likes a little more depth and complexity in their wine. Wild strawberry, watermelon, citrus notes of ripe orange and a blast of juicy acidity.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Sylvain Langoureau Bourgogne Hautes-Cotes de Beaune Rouge "Clos Marc"
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
I’m really digging our under $20 Burgundy selection lately. At a time when prices aren’t going lower anytime soon (or at all) the quest for a good bottle of “everyday” Burgundy is challenging. BUT there are gems to be found, especially in subregions like the Hautes-Côtes de Beaune, where altitudes are higher and the resulting wines are fresh and aromatic, great for drinking now. It's also in these kind of subregions that the price point is equally attractive. Sylvain and Nathalie Langoureau have crafted a fabulous Pinot Noir that erupts with a precise balance of fresh pomegranate and cranberry. There's excellent structure here, with tannins that gently coat and acidity that carries through to a nice lingering finish. This is very balanced and smooth and absolutely delicious.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2017 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
have you ever imagined if Summer was liquid and you could drink it in the form of wine, how would it taste? This is that wine that will put an end to your wondering. It is crisp, light, bright mild acidity.The classic pepper nose and a soft tangy green apple tone. It is a perfect Summer sipper by the pool, in the backyard or simply in your home. It also is the absolute party wine that will please the crowd. Enjoy it on its own but it also pairs well with roasted vegetables such as asparagus, Brussels Sprouts, all kinds of Salads and seafood.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2001 Coufran, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
What a pleasant surprise 2001 vintage has become! This vintage held itself so beautifully and the wines have become more elegant and sophisticated by time. Beautiful flavor profile of plum and cherries, medium yet abundant with flavors body, sweet soft tannin and great smooth finish.Enjoy this wine now and put some aside since there is still a good 5-6 years left of the liveliness of it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Troll Bridge "Password" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 6/10/2019 | Send Email
Wow - this is gonna be a huge seller here at K&L...at least as long as it stays in stock! Check out the backstory on this wine: Marketing / graphic designer, Allan Ezial, who has spent decades creating labels, brochures, websites, etc for Napa's top producers, decided to team up with winemaking legend Jon Engelskirger (Turnbull) to make some tiny production, high-end Napa Cabs. The fruit was locked down by Jon and is from VERY famous sources (that, unfortunately, must remain nameless) in the sub-regions Coombsville, Oakville, and Rutherford. The craftsmanship in the cellar is flawless and it was aged in the best cooperage money can buy. This is a powerful, rich, full-bodied Cab that is perfectly ready to drink after resting 18 months in barrel and 5 years in bottle. The fruit is still very primary and bold, yet the tannins have resolved to become soft and silky. It's got everything - rich decadent cassis and blackcurrant, bramble, sweet tobacco notes, scorched earth and is framed by very sexy (expensive) French oak that is now perfectly integrated with the other elements. This is absolutely in it's prime and drinking beautifully but has another 3-5 years in the tank no problem. Basically, you're getting a $75, perfectly aged, Napa Cab blend, made by one of the best winemakers in the valley, for less than half of the winery price.
Price: Hidden View Price

2012 Troll Bridge "Password" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 6/7/2019 | Send Email
Trollbridge lives up to the second half of its name: it's got a style that bridges Cali red blends and more Bordeaux characteristics. It boasts of big bold fruit and acidity initially. Then scents of old leather, tobacco, blackberry, and cassis roll in. The palate comes on with tart cherry, green herbaceousness, and dusty earth. The tannins here are soft and friendly. This vintage is ready to drink now, but could also hang out age for a good while longer. Trolls can be tasty too.
Price: Hidden View Price

2017 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Centenaire" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 6/7/2019 | Send Email
This is a great alternative to the ABC crowd when you don't want a Sauvignon Blanc, or really anyone who wants an interesting easy to drink white. It is medium-bodied, round but not heavy, crisp but not tart, floral but not perfumed. This wine lives in that delicious middle ground where it goes with just about everything.

2016 Purlieu "Le Pich" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 6/7/2019 | Send Email
This is freshhhhhhhhhh. This Cab from Purlieu is juicy, bright, and full of red fruit with just a little leather. On the palate, the ripe fruits turn darker, with notes of scorched earth, and a touch of barrel spice. With those toastier and heavier flavors, the wine never looses its bright characteristics and ripeness. The freshness dominates. This is a great red for summer.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2015 Wines of Substance "Klein Vineyard - Bx" Walla Walla Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 6/7/2019 | Send Email
This is my favorite release from the Wines of Substance lineup. As Bordeaux blends go, this is impressive. It begins with a great spicy nose, gets more earthy, then displays pretty and subtle notes of cranberry and blackberry. The elegant fruit characteristics continue onto the palate, joined by leather and then toasted baking spices. The mouthfeel is satiny, and the wine gently fades into a drying, long finish.
Price: $59.95 Add To Cart
JD 98

2015 Rodney Strong "Reserve" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 6/7/2019 | Send Email
This Reserve Cab from Rodney Strong aims to be a bridge between new world and old world Cabs. It succeeds quite nicely at that goal and got 97 points from Decanter to show for it. It starts off as a fairly big wine, full of luscious dark fruit, tart acidity, and a little earthiness. As it progresses, the fruit comes out even more boldly, but it never gets to the point of being juicy. There's a good amount of toasted oak and big tannins to provide great structure and spice. This wine is ready to drink now if you like a more fruit-forward Cali style Cab, but it's certainly set up to age elegantly and will develop more Bordeaux-type qualities as it matures in your cellar.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
DC 97 VN 92

2016 Farnetella Chianti Colli Senesi
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
This is surprisingly structured for the price point but has a rich overlay of ripe cherry fruit and a clean and wonderfully dry finish. Another pure and delicious bargain to buy by the case and drink with pizza, pasta, burgers or any picnic fare.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Muriel Sarik | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
This bottle was more of a visual experience for me, this is what I saw while tasting it. The pale golden color is enticing. The texture was like a large bolt of silk fabric rolling out, while a thread of salinity weaved about. This is a Blanc de Noirs lover's dream champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
This is long and fine with red cherry fruit and a persistent limestone laced finish. There is an amazing amount of elegance and restraint showing here for only 13 bucks. A remarkable value that is as easy on the palate as the wallet.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Boulard-Bauquaire "Carte Noire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Wonderful exotic fruit on the nose; pineapple and melon were the two main ones for me. Clean sweet citrus on the palate; meyer lemon and golden apples. Along with a really lovely supporting cast of honey and saline notes, this champagne does it all! Fruit forward and delicious, this wine will disappear very quickly from your glass.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2016 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
What a WINE! The little Côtes du Rhône is anything but little. A beautifully balanced fruit bouquet and spice is classic and elegant. The tannins are big, robust and ripe showing that this wine will even hold up for about a decade in keeping a true style. I would put this up against some Châteauneuf du Papes just to show what a good Côtes du Rhône can do. This is a serious wine! Bottoms up!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Montfaucon always delivers on their whites! Crisp, clean, vibrant with beautiful texture as well. Lemon peel, herbs de Provence, lemon drops and white pepper are the stars here but please feel free to try for yourself to see what you can find! Bottoms up!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2018 Château de Montfaucon Lirac Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
This is the first time that Montfaucon has done a rosé and they definitely nailed it! It shows a fuller bodied structure with raspberry and cherry notes with some nice spice and vibrancy. Think Tavel style but bigger! Bottoms up!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Nicolas Maillart Brut "Platine" Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
This is the most exciting new Champagne producer that we have added to our lineup of direct imports in a very long time. This entirely estate grown Champagne comes from plots in Ecuiel, Bouzy and Villers-Allerand from mostly old, massal selected plots. The four years of ageing on the lees have given this wine a lovely creamy texture and beautiful, toasty aromas. You can feel the power of the Pinot Noir, with some subtle dark cherry fruit and savor. The most incredible thing about the wine is its complexity, which I found kaleidoscopic, something I am not used to in such a fairly priced wine. Every sip is a discovery!
Top Value!

2018 Montrose, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Concentrated, minty aromas, dense and intense in the mouth. Always a masculine style, this wine is a classic Montrose. A good cellar candidate. A blend of 76% Cabernet Sauvignon, 20% Merlot, 6% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot. A quite high 14.5% alcohol level.

2018 Montrose, St-Estèphe 6-pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Concentrated, minty aromas, dense and intense in the mouth. Always a masculine style, this wine is a classic Montrose. A good cellar candidate. A blend of 76% Cabernet Sauvignon, 20% Merlot, 6% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot. A quite high 14.5% alcohol level.

2018 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Very tight and concentrated with an almost a chewy texture, this wine shows flavors of black licorice combined with red cherry and berry fruit. Lots of tannin and structure. Another wine for the cellar 78% Cabernet Sauvignon and 22% Merlot

2018 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac 6-pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Very tight and concentrated with an almost a chewy texture, this wine shows flavors of black licorice combined with red cherry and berry fruit. Lots of tannin and structure. Another wine for the cellar 78% Cabernet Sauvignon and 22% Merlot

2018 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Very tight and concentrated with an almost a chewy texture, this wine shows flavors of black licorice combined with red cherry and berry fruit. Lots of tannin and structure. Another wine for the cellar 78% Cabernet Sauvignon and 22% Merlot

2018 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe 6-pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Very ripe and sweet with nearly briary fruit on the palate. Cola flavors. Lots of vanilla bean and espresso flavors, shows some oak at this early stage. Velvety tannins. Long lingering finish. 74% Cabernet Sauvignon, 23% Merlot, 2% Cabernet Franc and 1% Petit Verdot. 14.5% Alcohol

2018 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Very ripe and sweet with nearly briary fruit on the palate. Cola flavors. Lots of vanilla bean and espresso flavors, shows some oak at this early stage. Velvety tannins. Long lingering finish. 74% Cabernet Sauvignon, 23% Merlot, 2% Cabernet Franc and 1% Petit Verdot. 14.5% Alcohol

2018 Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 6/6/2019 | Send Email
Rosé season is upon us! The Trians is always one of my favorite daily summer rosés, because it is as delicious as it is affordable. Pretty raspberry, strawberry, citrus and spice with lively acidity and freshness. It's time to pull together a cheese, fruit and charcuterie plate, raise the patio umbrella, crank up some tunes, and enjoy this Rosé with friends and family! Cheers to Summer!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2018 Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Summer is firmly taking its grip on southern California and the clients are clamoring for chilled rosé. The Trians has become my Provencal rosé of the moment as it embodies most of what I seek in these wines. First and foremost, the wine is refreshing with a touch of tart cranberry, a dusting of strawberry essence, and aromatics of roasted herbs. While being Grenache dominant, I love the generous dollop of Cinsault, rounded out with Syrah. Secondly, the terroir here looks like it was destined for great rosé. 50 year old vines are situated on hillsides comprised of clay and limestone overlooking the Rhone Valley. It’s perfect as an aperitif or accompanying light summer fare such as fresh olives or an herb roasted chicken.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2018 Trians Coteaux Varois en Provence Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
This is exciting project from Varois is making some pretty fabulous Provencal rose. Farmed organically, it is filled to the brim with ruby red grapefruit, light strawberry tones and a kiss of classic Herbes de Provence. It has the right balance of freshness and light structure to give it meaning all through rose season. This is sure to provide many a backyard excursion as the perfect complimentary wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
My love for the wines of the Cotes-du-Rhone began in earnest with the release of the 1998 vintage. I socked several cases away assuming I’d be rewarded in years to come. And as my stocks dwindle I can attest that I was greatly rewarded and that many of them are still going strong. While this may not be a 20 year wine, I am positive that it will provide glorious drinking over the next decade. I’m a fan of the stylish elegance Montafaucon summons forth. The combination of Grenache, Syrah, Carignan, Cinsault, and Counois yields a wine of amazing complexity that keeps you coming back for the next sip as each one reveals an additional nuance or layer within the wine. Our esteemed Rhone buyer, Keith Mabry, has a nose for ferreting out the best of the vintage and he really nailed this one. I strongly urge you to put a case in your pantry for near and long term drinking.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2018 Château de Montfaucon Lirac Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
The inaugural offering - this Lirac Rose was one of our biggest hits amongst the field of roses in our staff training. Drifting stylistically towards Tavel, this is a touch richer on the palate then a comparable Provence rose. Red cherry, light strawberry and lush texture. This is a great new offering from one of our most favored producers.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Baron de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Based primarily on Clairette, this is subtle and silky offering that provides lovely flavors of nectarine and white peaches. There is lovely glycerol texture that is bolstered with bright acidity. The Viognier and Grenache Blanc lend a touch of white flower to the wine but it is Clairette that is speaking the biggest truth. This is classic and refined.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 RP 90

2016 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
The new 2016 is a stellar new release from our favorite Lirac based producer. Offering up richer flavors of blackcurrants, blackberries and Indian spices, this is a gorgeous effort that lingers on the palate. The volume of the 2016 vintage shines through but the deft hand of winemaker Rudi de Pins keeps it all elegant and refined on the palate. Having recently tasted the 2012, which showed spectacularly well, with even more concentration this has great potential ahead of it.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

Clynelish 21 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
You definitely want to pick this up. We were lucky enough to secure this older bottling and it is superb. I wanted to live in this glass, turn it into one of those car air fresheners, a perfume, whatever; I want this smell in my nose at all times. Sweet oak, vanilla, dried apricot and white nectarine enthrall my olfactory receptors to the point of bliss. The palate is an ethereal endeavor, a silky texture with sweet oak and vanilla notes plucking at my heartstrings. The finish rounds out with a bit of caramel apple and dry oak. Definitely get this bottle before it's gone for good.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

2004 Château Tirecul la Gravière "Cuvée Chateau" Monbazillac (500ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Reaching past the flavor profile of Sauternes, the 2004 Tirecul is coming along nicely and is beginning to evolve into its secondary phase leaving behind the fresher apricot notes behind. It is approaching the profile of an even more intriguing Hungarian Tokaj and all that encompasses. Flavors of sultanas, tobacco and Turkish coffee permeate the glass. It is succulent and rich on the palate with an extraordinarily long finish. This is really delicious all around dessert wine that is perfect now and will grow for years to come.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

2017 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Centenaire" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
I write a lot about the success stories of Jean Marc Lafage and how much we love the wines. From his pleasing Novellum Chardonnay to the sexy Evodia Grenache and finally the absolutely crushing Bastide Miraflors, there is nary a misstep in his portfolio. And of course, this is no misstep. The Cuvee Centenaire is a straight up gorgeous white that speaks of Roussillon but also evokes some of the best whites coming from the southern Rhone. A mix of Grenaches Blanc and Gris with a touch of Roussanne, this sends voluminous aromas of peach, melon, honeycomb and citrus peel across the palate. A quick run through a small amount of barrique, lends texture to the wine that adds a light brulee finish. There is many a Chateauneuf-du-Pape Blanc that wishes it was this sexy and this is available at just a fraction of those prices.

2017 The Pinot Project California Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Long a favorite value here with our staff and customers, you would be hard pressed to find a better Pinot of this caliber for under $20. The PP delivers plenty of fresh raspberry and strawberry which are abundant but restrained. Never floating to fruit bomb and truly keeping its Pinot character, this is one successful Project indeed.
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
JS 91 WE 90

2016 Liparita Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Oakville ranks as THE viticulture epicenter of Napa, producing some of the most renowned and long sought after wines in California. On the heels of the dynamic Yountville offering, Liparita has once again knocked it out of the park by putting you smack dab in the middle of this most prestigious of growing areas. Two questions - how does it stack up to its predecessor (the Yountville)? And how does it match up with its more famed colleagues? On all fronts, extraordinarily well! The Oakville shows more polish and the sweeter fruit notes of black cherry and currants than the Yountville. Spices and an extravagant mouthfeel are what put you in the same zipcode as its esteemed neighbors saying, I'm from Oakville! Supple and sweet tannins finish the wine with a nice lingering complexity. The price point is the only distinction between this wine and its surrounding peers. You'd have to jump in a time machine to find a quality Oakville wine of this caliber at this price point. Kudos to Liparita and Buyer Kaj Stromer for putting this gem of a value on our shelves.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Raul Perez "Ultreia St-Jacques" Mencía Bierzo
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Raul Perez is a rock star in Bierzo and this wine is a testament to his fame. A bold, new-wave of Spanish winemakers has lifted Bierzo out of the back woods obscurity to international prominence on the success of the Mencia grape. It does not surprise me at all to see consumer demand growing all the time. The Mencia grape offers all the charm of Pinot Noir meets Syrah…sort of. It has that silky polish of Pinot Noir but with the bold fruit of Syrah. I’m a big fan of this wine and it looks like the critics are as well. Another tremendous value from Spain.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
DC 93 RP 93

2017 The Pinot Project California Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Kaj Stromer | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
This is the best Pinot Noir produced in California for less than $15. But you could easily put it up against a field of wines for under $20 and still come up a winner. The hallmark to this wine is the structure it possesses, something you rarely see in California Pinot Noir at this price point. It has all the telltale character you crave for with quality Pinot Noir. It’s silky smooth, with lots of red cherry, some spice and just enough structure to make it interesting and properly food friendly. Drink this for your mid-week wine. So good!
Price: $11.95 Add To Cart
JS 91 WE 90

Laphroaig 20 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
"Salty and smoky and a touch medicinal and beautiful and floral and oh my god." This is all I wrote when we tasted this cask in Scotland. Upon further review - it's pretty much the exact same train of thought I had tasting it again in the States. Hunter Laing has outdone themselves with this cask and pricing. I truly do not believe we will see this kind of value proposition again for aged Blue Chip Islay malt whisky.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park 21 Year Old "Sovereign Wax Top" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
My first word upon nosing this glass isn't fit for print. Floral peat, gobs of stone fruit, and sea spray mingle with milk chocolate and smoke. There is incredible richness on the palate and yet again chocolate and sea salt blend with pitted peaches and apricots. The finish lingers for a long time and slowly releases zesty orange peel. Regardless of price, this bottle will be talked about for years to come at K&L. Factor in the price and it's a legend.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Centenaire" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Yet another stunning triumph from Domaine Lafage, the Centenaire is a marvelous cuvee of organically grown, 100+ year old Grenache Blanc and Grenache Gris blended with younger Roussanne vines. Aromas of stone fruits, creme brulee and honeydew benefit from the subtle integration of new oak, adding an engaging spice component to the complex flavors. Full-bodied, robust and delicious, finishing with good acidity, this exuberant white wine will pair well with baked halibut or chicken skewers. And priced to sell by the case!

2013 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
The 2013 vintage was a late one in Champagne, with some producers not finishing until the beginning of the second week of October. The great acidity of this cool vintage tempers the ripe power of the Cumières Pinot Noir in this Champagne. I love the coppery, pale rose color of the wine and the tart cherry flavor of the Pinot Noir. This wine has a very nice baguette toast frame, fine, compact streamers and a fabulous, long, mineral driven finish. It is on the back end that I really taste the Chardonnay, it is clean, dry and refreshing, with persistence that one would expect only from a famous vintage.
Drink from 2019 to 2019
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WE 93 RP 92

2017 Domaine Lafage "Cuvée Centenaire" Côtes du Roussillon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Here is a wonderfully refreshing white! Based off of old vine Grenache blanc, Grenache Gris and Roussanne that packs a wonderful flavor punch! Being a tad floral this wine also has wonderful bright citrus aromas, lemon-lime or Key Lime pie if you pick up on it's creamy texture. This wine is vibrant and will be a perfect guest to your summer patio parties next to the BBQ chicken and cheese plate!

2004 Château Tirecul la Gravière "Cuvée Chateau" Monbazillac (500ml)
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
'Godzilla vs. Monbazillac!' Nope, sorry that one will not fly as yet another summer blockbuster in the long line of Godzilla vs. the Universe flicks, as Monbazillac is hardly a ferocious Japanese monster, but a wondrously sweet wine hailing from the Bergerac region of France. Meticulous handpicking in several passes ensures that the fruit achieves uniform ripeness, and like Sauternes, this wine is exposed to the Botrytis cinerea fungus that shrivels the skins, allowing the juices to concentrate into a beautiful yellow nectar. Monbazillac is actually an assemblage of Semillon, Sauvignon Blanc and Muscadelle, and in its youth exhibits a brisk and vivacious personality that over time develops greater color, texture, and finesse. The Chateau Tirecul La Graviere has evolved aromatically for over a decade and positively sings with lyrical notes of peach, honeysuckle blossom, beeswax and apricot. Serve with a complementary fruit tart or my favorite, a chunk of St, Augur blue cheese.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 95

McKenzie Bottled-in-Bond Wheated Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 6/5/2019 | Send Email
Could this be the best wheated Bourbon in the store? You need to try it to find out, but everyone at K&L is on board with that statement. With some of the big names in wheated Bourbon, like Pappy and Weller, now impossible to come by, it's really reassuring to know we can still find something of this incredible quality and taste available. It's great to be able to support the craft distillers in this era of giant conglomerates and McKenzie's attention to detail and dedication to this spirit is evident in this bottling. Not too shabby at all.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Page: prev 1 2 3 next >>