Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2014 Robert Mondavi "To Kalon Vineyard - Reserve" Oakville Fumé Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Lots of history with this wine and vineyard. First planted in 1960, the vines are currently are dry farmed, head-trained and cane-pruned. The resulting wine is concentrated, rich and deep. Wonderful acidity holds the wine together. Tasted blind it would not be surprising to guess an expensive White Bordeaux like Domaine de Chevalier Blanc or Smith Haut-Lafitte Blanc. Serious but delicious Sauvignon Blanc!

2014 Lepiane "Bee Sweet Vineyard" Edna Valley Nebbiolo
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
For the past 5 years, I've had a fondness for Nebbiolo, and I'm happy to say that one of my favorite wines I've had this year is a Nebbiolo from a single vineyard in California of all places. Medium to fuller body in style, it's a very food friendly wine. The last time I had it was on a dinner date recently with pasta in a tomato sauce, and it was tasting fantastic. The tannins are present but never overbearing, the wine finishes with flavors of tart cherries and herbs. While most of California produces French grape varieties, it's refreshing to to see there's people out there like Alison Thomson (winemaker for Lepiane) trying their hand on the Italian side of things.Worthy of checking out for the Italian wine lover
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Old Pulteney is one of those under the radar distilleries that the geeks hate to talk about. No one was happy when Jim Murray named their now discontinued 21-year-old Whisky of the Year and rightfully so as it's become nearly impossible to acquire at the original price. Despite the awards and good will from the cognoscenti, Pulteney has remained a background player in the single malt world. Current owners, ThaiBev, however are looking to establish the Old distillery in the very north of Scotland in its rightful place as one of the highlands most well regarded malts. Part of that process is changing from the off-year expressions to the more familiar age offerings (12, 18, 25), but also by launching seemingly secret single barrel program. Only a handful of shops have jumped on the opportunity to own a cask strength single barrel from the odd little distillery in Wick. We've been lucky enough to be one of them. As with many Pulteney, the nose is pure salt, malt, herbal tea and cardamom. The palate is deep with the roasted cocoa, fudge, touches of anise, fennel and vanilla. But of course, with water this thing erupts. Now on the nose the ripest Bartlett pears - smashed, lemon peel, Mirabelle, dried apricot, salted butter on toast. The anise moving much more toward mint and fennel flavors and a long creamy texture is pointed with cotton candy, lemon oils and the tiniest hints of diesel smoke. Staunchly pleasing due to its exceptional purity and straight forwardness. The interplay between the malt, fruit and salt is quintessential Pulteney in my book. It might not be the most nuanced whisky we sell this year, but it may be the one you finish first. Too GOOD to put down!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dirty & Rowdy "Familiar" California Mourvedre
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Hardy Wallace is at it again with another tasty Mourvedre. Lush and juicy, this is a wine for the natural wine lover that's looking for something a little more premium, and it's also a fantastic expression of California Mourvedre's true potential. Herbaceous and brightly well balanced acidity makes this bottle a true delight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
I am always on the look out for a new summertime white. Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio fits that bill to a tee! Alto Adige makes some of the best Pinot Grigio around. I always find great elegance, mineral crispness and a pop of freshness. Pure citrus fruits, pears, apples and white flowers on the nose. Good richness on the palate which is balanced by that pop acidity, that makes for a truly well-structured wine. This would be great for any outdoor event or make your first course of the meal really sing!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Robert Mondavi "To Kalon Vineyard - Reserve" Oakville Fumé Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Hailing from the most prestigious vineyard site in Napa Valley (and thus the country by most measures,) Mondavi's To Kalon Fume Blanc Reserve is one of the most intensely concentrated and flavorful white wines that graces our shelves. Sourced from 50-60 year old vines in the heart of To Kalon Vineyard on the Oakville Bench, these are some of the oldest Sauvignon Blanc vines in the country, planted in some of the most special wine growing soils anywhere. The wine is barrel fermented to enhance texture, length on the palate and ageability. It's just packed with ripe yellow stone fruit, feijoa, preserved lemon, kumquat and kaffir lime leaf. Rich and powerful on the mid-palate but with beautiful drive and length on the palate. Super fresh and vibrant despite having almost 4 years in bottle. This will continue to age just as the top white Bordeaux wines do from properties like Haut-Brion, Smith Haut Lafitte and Carbonnieux. Don't miss our extra special price...this is in it's prime and will drink great for at least another 3-5 years and probably beyond. What a chance to drink some vinous royalty for a song...old vine To Kalon fruit at this price!

2011 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
This has the structure and flavor profile of a classic Barolo - tar, roses and leather, good acidity and pleasantly grippy tannins - complete with old school elegance and finesse. I generally prefer to age Barolo wines for at least 10-15 years before consuming as they can often kick you in the mouth when young, but this one is at a very pleasant stage for drinking now. This is a ridiculous deal at $30.

2018 Union Sacré "Belle de Nuit" Central Coast Gewurztraminer
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
I know that when I think of gewurztraminer, I often think about the ones I've had in the past, and I think about it's more effervescent and aromatic character, and while there's nothing wrong with that, it's usually a wine I'm not in the mood for unless I'm chilling by a swimming pool somewhere on a hot summer day. It's generally nothing I personally want on for every day summer drinking.... Then I had the Union Sacre Gewurztraminer, and now my mind has changed. What sets this particular Gewurztraminer apart from all the other ones I've had in the past, is the fact that it was skin fermented for 30 hours before being put into tank, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this packed with so much elegance and character. Looking for "orange wine"? This is a fantastic one to try, and it's only like 15 bucks. Definitely worth a whirl.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Proprieta Sperino "Rosa del Rosa" Piemonte
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
I am so happy we have a good quantity of this rose available to sell this season because it's one of my top 3 choices in the rose category. It has all of the qualities of a Provence-style rose but with more personality and character. Blood orange, flowers, bright cherry fruit, structure and vibrant acid. Never had Nebbiolo as a rose? It's time you did.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
If you're looking for a singular terroir driven pinot from the Yamhill Carlton for an outstanding price, look no further than the Shea Vineyard from Broadley. Bright, approachable and with subtle hints of that jory soiled earthiness. One could say it's Burgundian in style, but I wanna say this is just a damn fine expression of Oregon in general. The 2016 is beautifully executed and truly one of my favorite pinots I've had this years. Grab a bottle or two, or three. You will not be disappointed.

2018 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
This rose is so damn good! Too good - I can easily consume the entire bottle myself. It's succulent and salty, oozing with fresh red berries and the ever-important super energetic acidity. This is dry and delicious and I just can't get enough. If there's one rose to stock up on this year it's this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Rootdown "St. Amant Vineyard" Amador County Trousseau
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Wow! This is a very fun and different wine, to say the least. Rootdown’s 2017 trousseau is almost pale in color and contains enough alcohol to keep me sober after 2 bottles. (10.6%) The grapes are grown on volcanic soils giving the wine great ashy minerality. The nose has a very distinctive underripe cranberry characteristic along with white pepper and herbs. The mouthfeel is crisp but not tart with just enough tannin to give it volume without any astringency. Wine geek alert! 70 % carbonic ferment. 30% whole cluster fermented in neutral oak.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2017 Coquelicot Estate Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Winemaker Mike Roth for Coquelicot (ko-klee-ko) does a wonderful job with his 2017 Estate Sauvignon Blanc. Coming from Santa Ynez Valley, the vines are perched on sandy soils with diatomaceous elements. As a result, the wine takes on wonderful briny, minerally and light floral characteristics. The salty acidity and clean texture gives you endless food pairing options or just simply used as an aperitif.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2011 Agostino Bosco "Neirane" Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
I vacillated back and forth between the La Serra and the Neirane. Both had such sleek classically composed structure and fruit and both were a bit hard to resist. The Neirane was a panoply of macerated fruits ranging from strawberry to red plum. Picking up the more floral qualities of Nebbiolo, this has wonderful potpourri aromas and finishes with cocoa and lead pencil notes. The tannins are fine grained and the palate is harmonious. This is a tremendous treat and at such a great price it's hard not to add a few Barolos of either bottling to your collection.

2011 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
I vacillated back and forth between the La Serra and the Neirane. Both had such sleek classically composed structure and fruit and both were a bit hard to resist. The La Serra opened with elegant aromas of dried cherries, tobacco and sumptuous spices. It's slightly more structured palate gave length and harmony. It was a pristine example and could easily age for several more years before hitting its peak. Though, I would be hard pressed not to enjoy this old school wine right now.

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this spirit is full of a chocolaty, caramel aromatic that is very inviting. On the palate you see right away this is a cask strength but it doesn't seem hot at all, the caramel gets tinged with a bits of brine and smoke as it expands across your tongue. This malt has a real lushness that seems to moderate the alcohol, a super drinking spirit.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The Zenato is such a fun intriguing take on a Passito styled Valpolicella meets sur maturite Bordeaux that it is at once a head scratcher and total palate pleaser. The one foot in Italy gives you the zest and sweet dried fruit of an Amarone with its supple profile of carmelized figs, cocoa and tobacco. The classic French varities of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon lend oodles of currant jam and roasted plum flavors. This is a fun treat regardless and makes for an exceptional full bodied treat that won't break the bank for your everyday red or go-to party wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose if full of heather and honey and if I didn't know better I'd think it was a Highland Malt. On the palate you get a very high toned, central focus that makes this spirit seem very elegant. It has a long finish, fresh and uplifting.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is spicy, full of complex aromatics green olive, coffee, chocolate, red berries and hints of leather, tobacco and porcini abound. On the palate you can feel a distinct weight yet it is so lively it seems to lift the back end of the palate with excellent acidity and balance. A long finish really displays the flavors again and again. The wine is a blend of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon along with Rondinella, Corvina and Molinara, the Valpolicella grapes have been dried for 8 weeks to concentrate the flavors and then the two are blended together after a year in barrel. This is a truly impressive wine and even more so for the price!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Nosing this and I immediately recognized the danger. I immediately was reminded of Sierra Mist soda, pears and dried, candied ginger. Sipping it and the spirit was full bodied, and surprisingly silky given its age; notes of candied pears and spiced caramel apples dominated while there was just a slight hint of pencil shavings. The finish was a bit quick but pleasant as spiced pears and oak rounded this dram out. If not careful, this bottle could disappear in a hurry.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2016 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this wine shows lots of focused fruit, vibrant, dark and spicy. On the palate it is full of clean, crunchy fruit, cranberry texture with raspberry flavors, some tannin but mostly you feel the limestone origins, that central, focused acid. A very complex wine for the price and while drinkable now I’d put some away to watch its’ evolution. Excellent value from one of Oregon’s best vineyards.

2015 Casa Castillo "Las Gravas" Jumilla
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this wine displays a sense of depth and breadth with swirls of chocolaty ripeness. On the palate I was surprised, I was expecting something that was out of balance but au contraire the wine has good acidity balancing out the broad base. The same flavors resonate through the wine but are less chocolaty and full of roasted meats and garrigue. A broad, full finish with balance and a bit of freshness. A perfect cocktail red for those that are looking for easy drinking but fresh.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 93

2018 Edetaria "Via Terra" Garnacha Blanca Terra Alta
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
This is a very exciting Garnacha Blanca value. This hints at the depths that the grape can take you, especially in this corner of Spain! It starts off a little shy, but Garnatxa Blanca is like that sometimes, with a chance to open up the wine blossoms. Honey Crisp apples, sultanas, a little pear skin spice, a savoriness that keeps the fruit in check as well as a pulverized mineral dustiness over everything. It is medium light bodied with a round mid-palate and a crisp but not tart finish. The flavors are an intriguing blend dried apple, and sultana with a slight nutty element, yet vibrant and fresh. It has nice length where the fruit freshens and brighten along with a pleasant almost salty minerality. It is a wine that you can’t quite put your finger on it, which makes, at least me, going back for more and more. This is a house white that will not overstay its welcome.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Casa Castillo "Las Gravas" Jumilla
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Decadent is the first adjective that comes to mind when I smell this wine. It is the spice, there are layers and layers of very fine sweet and savory spices. The spice is present but not domineering, it gives great depth and brings intrigue to a region and varietal that do not necessarily have a reputation for those things. There is a lot of that classic dark rich Monastrell fruit for all of that spice to play off of, but oh that spice! It is just a decadent on the palate as the nose. This is full and round with lots of plush polished tannins. There is an inverse to the aromas to the flavors on the palate; there are less spices and more fruit and also savory earthy tone that builds on the finish. The fruit reminds me of mixed dark berries and pomegranates. This is a little indulgent, but we deserve that sometimes, and definitely at this price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 93

2018 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
One of the best wines of 2018. Tasted four times and each time we were blown away with its quality. 82% Cab Sauv and 18% Merlot. Blackish color-big, serious wine but it still has elegance and finesse. Fabulous texture Such a long, sweet finish. The best young Leoville barton I have ever tasted! Packed with fruit-seamless. Buy it and enjoy for a long time.
Drink from 2023 to 2023

2018 La Gaffelière, St. Emilion 6-pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
42% Cabernet Franc and 58% Merlot. FABULOUS wine-one of the top right bank wines we tasted. Rose petal aromas and sweet red berry fruit flavors. Pure, elegant, sweet and delicious. I could go on and on. Their new plan of only using their top vineyard for the first wine has paid off in spades. A must buy for Bordeaux collectors.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2018 La Gaffelière, St. Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
42% Cabernet Franc and 58% Merlot. FABULOUS wine-one of the top right bank wines we tasted. Rose petal aromas and sweet red berry fruit flavors. Pure, elegant, sweet and delicious. I could go on and on. Their new plan of only using their top vineyard for the first wine has paid off in spades. A must buy for Bordeaux collectors.
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2015 Produttori del Barbaresco Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
Another winner from Produttori, their 2015 has all the seriousness and structure that one could want from this famed label, even in a more generous and immediate vintage like '15. With bright red fruit, structured, dusty tannins, and a good mineral core, it hits all the notes. I think this is one that will reward a few years of patience, although it can be enjoyed now with a lengthy decant. Either way, it still remains a rare wine where the pedigree over-performs the price.

2015 Vecchie Terre di Montefili Chianti Classico
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
This Chianti Classico shows magnificent taste profile of pomegranate, Spice, dried cherries. pleasant freshness and herbal quality. while you drink it, the fresh lively acidity comes first, followed by leathery chewy tannins. It is bright, well balanced well structured, firm and all in wonderful harmony of flavors.

2017 Tenuta Roveglia "Limne" Lugana
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
An absolute delight. Inviting aromas of peaches and green apples. it is Creamy, textured with layers of tangerine and sweet Meyer lemons. Bright acidity which makes it crisp and a perfect wine to pair with food. Savory finish with a juicy palate.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2017 Pessac-Léognan de Haut Bailly, Pessac-Leognan
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
I have always find the Pessac Léognan de Haut Bailly a classic example of an incredibly well made wine, that captures exactly what Pessac Léognan should smell and taste like - but beyond that, there's always an inherent elegance about it. Which should not be surprising, as it is of course made by Haut Bailly, and Veronique Sanders does indeed know what she's doing - Kudos!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2012 Albatreti Brunello di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
I love the nose on this wine it’s full of wild cherry, Tuscan brush, leather, rosemary and Middle Eastern spices with hints of smoke. On the palate the wine is supple, round yet has a backbone born of Sangiovese’s long core of acidic structure while the wine has real body, weight and still a delicate richness that seems to emphasize the fruit. This wine is complex lots of wild cherry, leather, porcini, earth, oyster shells, smoke, rosemary, dried meats and spice that play out into a long finish. It has really great balance, I drank a bottle a couple of weeks ago and it was perfect but it will go for another decade plus, it is a total bargain!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Joseph Drouhin Bourgogne Rouge "Laforet"
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
This excellent value from Drouhin is back and it's is better than ever. The nose explodes with ripe raspberry and red cherry aromas and it is silky smooth on the palate, chock full of cherries and spice. This is not thin nor flabby nor overdone - it has excellent balance with mouth watering acidity and plenty of flavor.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bibian, Haut -Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
This mostly Merlot wine, offers quite a bit of spices and complexity. I would suggest decanting - as I did before tasting - to coax all the goodness out of this wine. Mocha, cedar, berries and spicy oak. Quite a deal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 JS 91

2015 l'Esprit de Chevalier Blanc, Pessac-Leognan
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
Showing more richness and weight than the 2014. A serious nose of peaches and citrous and acacia. The palate offer a creamy, round experience, and a complexity not often seen in a second wine. Bravo!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
This is a very friendly Russian River Valley Pinot Noir! There’s a plush dark red fruit character on the palate, with a slight bit of purple fruit to accompany it. The main thing that I find friendly in this wine though is the texture; it’s full and velvety and really coats your palette in a pleasant, warm feeling. This wine retains a great structure through the mid palate as the lovely acidity lifts everything through to the finish. There is also a soft presence of freshly tilled earth that I find very charming. A wonderful and gold-standard example of RRV Pinot Noir!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
VN 92 RP 91

2017 Hartford Court Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
I was blown away by the elegance that this Chardonnay brings to the table! It’s driven by a very nice character of plush and ripe citrus and stone fruits, which is what I expect from Chardonnays grown here in California. What gives this a robe of elegance is how Hartford Court integrated the oak presence; it’s a supporting cast member acting alongside and enhancing the main actor of the fruits. This is a style of Californian Chardonnay that I love to see! On the finish there’s a little note of interesting pithiness that I suspect will pair nicely with a large variety of rich dishes.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Fabien Collonge Morgon "Corcellette"
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
One of the newer additions to our Direct Import program, we were first introduced to Fabien Collonge last year at the start of rose season. This delicious red from Morgon is the second wine in his lineup to land in our stores. The fruit is from the northern part of this cru, growing in sandy, granitic soils. No oak is used, just a combination of concrete and stainless steel. I love this wine - the fruit is ample and supple, and it has great vigor. Try with tacos!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2016 Baron de Malleret, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
Incredibly solid wine. Very lifted aromatics of raspberries that evolves on the palate into more serious notes of cocoa and coffee, along with cassis and vanilla. Lots of complexity and perfect for having handy for any event or a dinner party.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2010 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
in 2010 the nights were much cooler so this actually allowed the grapes to develop a very balance flavors. This Cabernet dominant wine has an abundant amount of dark chewy fruits, a bit spice and great classic leather that you expect in Bordeaux wines. It is an outstanding wine for an incredible price.

2016 Grand Pontet, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
It is refined and defined this fantastic little treasure from St Emilion. Aged 12 to 18 months in Oak Barrel. Layered with dark fruits, great texture and structure with hints of leather, Tobacco and balanced tannins and creamy oak. Pairs wonderfully with a hearty Steak and heavier meat dishes.

2016 Baron de Malleret, Haut-Médoc
Reviwer Picture By: Mandana Tourani | Review Date: 5/20/2019 | Send Email
Consider 2016 a very lucky vintage in Bordeaux , which survived frost and hail. This gorgeous wine is pretty spectacular for such affordable and unbelievable low price. Dark fruits such as Cassis and black currant. Hint of Vanilla, roasted coffee and lush Mocha. It is a kind of wine you want to stash away as well as drinking it now since it is already very approachable.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Alain Corcia Bourgogne Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/19/2019 | Send Email
This is a great addition to our "Burgundy under $20" selection. It has a solid balance of delicate strawberries and black cherries along with a charming earthiness and bright acidity. This a fantastic buy for anyone wanting a wine with every dinner at a price point that doesn't hurt. 2017 is a great vintage for drinking in the now and this is a bottle you can pop open while cooking and it will be ready to consume by the time you plate your meal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Mortlach 12 Year Old "The Wee Witchie" Single Malt Scotch Whisky 750ml (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/18/2019 | Send Email
Mortlach is known for producing some beefy, big whiskys, and though the 12 year is certainly not lacking in power, there is an elegance and lift to it I haven't seen from Mortlach in the past. A rich mouthfeel thanks to the use of French and American oak brings lingering notes of citrus, light spice, and subtle toast. There is no obvious peatiness, only perhaps a very subtle hint of smoke from the barrel char. The distillery style shows through on the finish, which packs some power, savory game notes, and hints of leather. Overall a great offering from Mortlach at a pretty unbeatable price.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Mortlach 16 Year-Old "Distiller's Dram" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/18/2019 | Send Email
It’s almost unheard of to find a 16 year old sherry-cask whisky of this caliber from such a well-respected producer at this price point. Spicy, dark, bold, and complex this is Mortlach at its finest. This bottling is a little meatier and with more chocolate notes than the 12 year because of the use of straight sherry cask. Dark, nearly dried fruits meld seamlessly with leather and tobacco notes. The smoke quotient is quite low here, but there is a roasted note coming through. This is complex, smooth, and a great middle ground between the lightness of the 12 year and gaminess of the 20 year.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

Mortlach 20 Year Old "Cowie's Blue Seal" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) (ships like a 1.5 L bottle due to shape)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/18/2019 | Send Email
This is one of the truest expressions of a Mortlach whisky, with subtle power, perfectly melded characters, and a rich, lingering palate. Carrying the most umami notes of the three expressions, the meatiness is well balanced by dark plumy fruits and Christmas spice. Blackberry and cacao lead and these flavors are backed by earth, leather, and a very subtle barrel char. Though this is a bit more of a splurge, it’s not too hard to justify from such a classic, highly-respected producer.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Cotswolds Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/18/2019 | Send Email
There is a high level of dedication to the purity of the product from Cotswolds Distillery and this Single Malt Whisky is no exception. Because this is the first ever whisky coming out of the Cotswolds, they wanted to make sure it showed its terroir by locally sourcing ingredients. Aged in first-fill ex-bourbon barrels and red wine casks, the resulting spirit is fruity, with a touch of malty richness. The more sweet preliminary flavors of butterscotch appear on the nose, while the palate shows more influence form the barrels, bringing dark red fruits and deep caramel. If you're looking for something different and a great in between for Bourbon and Scotch, you need to pick up a bottle of this.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2014 Rhys "Alpine Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Kate Soto | Review Date: 5/18/2019 | Send Email
A beautiful, elegant wine. The nose is savory and perfumed with notes of olives and jasmine tea and violets. On the palate there is a graceful, seamless texture with an enormous sense of poise and balance. The finish is epic. In short, it's a wine that is drinking really well right now with everything falling into place. Gorgeous.

2017 Domaine des Bernardins Beaumes de Venise Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Kate Soto | Review Date: 5/18/2019 | Send Email
This is absolutely delicious, lifted and very aromatic, exuding notes of candied violets and orange zest. I love the texture--a medium body with a dry finish. If Gamay and Muscat were to have a baby this would be it. This is going to be in heavy rotation for me this summer.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
DC 94

2018 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 5/17/2019 | Send Email
This was one of our last stops on the en primeur campaign and it seemed by design. This was one of the best wines of the entire trip. The power and concentration were immediately evident, as rich notes of dark fruit, graphite and minerals took over the bouquet. On the palate the fruit took more of a red tone with nice sweetness, minerals and herbs, and the structure was impeccable as the tannins and acidity were already well integrated and balanced with a beautiful fruit driven finish.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>