Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2018 Bodegas Parra Jimenez "Friend & Farmer" White Spain
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/25/2019 | Send Email
Bright, fresh, light and easy but exceptionally well made from very clean grapes. This is a serious cheap and cheerful white. Think Sauvignon Blanc but less pungent. There are lots of subtle tropical notes and a real fun background nopales? tone. Lots of fun and party priced.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2017 Bodegas Parra Jimenez "Gulp/Hablo" Red Blend Spain (1L)
Reviwer Picture By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 5/25/2019 | Send Email
A perfect summertime/anytime red. This light bodied with charming fruitr, spice, a hint of something savory, and easy tannins. When you want a red but a rose or white are called for in a pairing this will be perfect This kitchen sink blend that is meant to be drunk, crack the top and be thankful that it comes in a liter bottle.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Ostertag "Les Jardins" Riesling
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/25/2019 | Send Email
One of the fun things about wine is how they are different from year to year. Each vintage has its own personality. This 2017 Ostertag is light and dry with beautiful perfumed aromatics. It is clean and pretty with a refreshing finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fabien Collonge Beaujolais Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/25/2019 | Send Email
This is such a delicious wine. Gamay is such a pleasing varietal, with its tasty fruit profile and versatility with practically any food. From it's pretty pink hue to the bright red berry flavors and long, crisp finish this is a fantastic wine from the superb 2018 vintage. Stop buying the same ol' Provencal rosé and try something new! Rosé de Gamay toute la journée!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Foursquare/Hampden "Probitas" White Blended Rum (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 5/25/2019 | Send Email
This delicious rum has a beautiful light color. In the mouth it was very soft and drinkable. It will go well in some cocktails but drinking it straight is an excellent option. It is pure and clean with layers of flavor. I did not pick up a lot of funk from the Hampden but nuance and expressive flavors . The rums from these two distilleries work well together.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Is there any better high-end value in Napa? Coming from the same vines as the First-Growth-quality Dominus Estate vineyards, Napanook is crafted under the stewardship of the same remarkable team. Deep aromas of blackberry, forest floor, and red florals lead the way to a gorgeous texture and waves of fruit that are balanced beautifully by the mouthwatering acidity. Echoes of blackberry turn more red towards the finish that lasts for a considerable amount of time. This is my favorite Napanook since the epic 2013, and it has all the pieces to age beautifully. It is a serious wine, but it is utterly delicious now all the same. Brilliant.

2014 Mayacamas Mt. Veeder Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
A perennial winner in the world of timeless Cabernet. Never the biggest, boldest Cab at the table...but certainly one of the most complex, layered and age-worthy. These fabled vines toiling in the rocky Veeder soils have given forth some of the most storied wines of Napa. Perhaps more akin to some left bank Bordeaux wines than its modern cult Cab counterparts that elegantly proportioned wine faithfully speaks of varietal and place. Briary fruits laced with cedar, bay leaf, dry tobacco and ferrous notes. medium bodied and linear in form with long, fine tannins and beautiful acidity. This wine will have a long and glorious drinking window so enjoy one now and lay some away for the future.
Drink from 2019 to 2019

2016 Dominus "Napanook" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
I'm at risk of sounding like a broken record...but for several years in a row I've preferred the Napanook bottling over Dominus' premier label on first impressions! Sure Dominus has the edge in sheer power and impressive structure, but the last few releases of Napanook have had supreme drinkability and have been very expressive, open knit wines right out of the gate. The 2016 is vibrant, and full of life. Bright red currants, fresh plum, bay laurel, hints of pipe smoke, red earth. Medium bodied, very supple, soft, satiny mouthfeel, not at all austere. If you're looking for something from Napa, made in a more traditional style but with great accessibility for drinking right now, this is your wine. Also given the wine's quality and pedigree the price point of is still very reasonable compared to modern day costs in Napa!

2018 Canon, St-Émilion
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
This is a nicely concentrated claret, with a robust perfume of dark peppery fruit, minerals, black currants and smoke. It's elegant and velvety on the palate with firm yet smooth tannins. It has a subtle balancing acidity and a long dark fruit-driven finish framed by pleasant herbal notes.

2014 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Reviwer Picture By: Chris DePaoli | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
This is an incredible Rioja. Dark Blue fruit somehow topped with bright red that fades in and out through a cover of classic oak and spicy notes. A steal at this price, this bottle can hold it's own against any Reserva out there. This is a phenomenal option for nice steak dinners, or roasted vegetables.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
How is this French family so great at handling Scotch? I don't know the answer to that question, but it doesn't matter because they've impressed me again. This new offering is buttery with just a touch of smoke on the nose. More sniffs and a few drops of water bring out rich red fruit scents and a pleasant pungent quality. The palate is a bit of a conundrum because the whisky is gentler and yet the peat comes out more as well. Even with more smoke, this whisky is never aggressive. Instead, floral flavors and vanilla bean unfold and lead up to dying campfire finish.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Old Pulteney is always great and this cask is no exception. And with fewer than 300 bottles, this is not one to miss. This barrel is big on sea salt brine and sandy beach scents. Hefty caramel takes over for a bit, but then things get musty... in a very good way. There's old beaten leather, mothballs, and a general aromatic ambience that reminds me of my grandparents' basement. The palate comes out punching with a great level of spice, combining flavors of stone fruits like apricot, then it turns to balsa wood and melting candle wax. For fans of the old school.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Craigellachie 10 Year Old Scotch Whisky
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
This is quite an elegant Scotch that shows a lot of maturity and finesse for being only 10 years old. Ripe cherry scents hit the nose with a bright floral character. The nose gets temporarily richer with notes of buttery pastry and more fruit, but then it checks itself to get a little lighter again and more earthy. The palate is also light, making this quite the easy drinker, very summery. The flowers continue to come out and combining that with the more earthy qualities gives this Scotch the vibe of walking through a garden after a Spring rain.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Craigellachie 10 Year Old Scotch Whisky
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
A smashing deal for a single malt Scotch from such a well-respected producer. A little lighter and more elegant than the Fettercairn, this offers a great entry-point into Scotch without having to shell out big bucks. With tons of flavor and a long, smooth finish, this is a great one to share with friends.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Fettercairn 10 Year Old Scotch Whisky
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
I didn't really know much about Fettercairn until a couple years ago, but the more I try single casks from this distillery the more I'm impressed. This bottling is fun because it starts light, but gets heavier as you nose and sip. Initial impressions offer scents of fresh apple, new leather, nougat and a lot of beeswax. The palate begins with stone fruit and some herbal character, but then it gets darker and more robust. The more I taste this dram, the more cocoa and fruit I pick up on. Eventually, this tastes like a chocolate candy bar that's loaded with dried fruits and nuts. Quite fun if you're looking for a dram desert.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Clan Denny Fettercairn 10 Year Old Scotch Whisky
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
This is a fantastic bottling for anyone looking to start exploring the world of Scotch Whisky. Super flavorful with rich butterscotch notes and a nice spice kick in the back. With a fantastic price point for a ten year old single malt scotch, this is the perfect Summer offering.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2018 Pedesclaux, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Loaded with perfume aromas, juicy fruit, black fruits, fresh and clean, focused, ripe tannins. A sleeper for the vintage!

2018 du Tertre, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Spicy red fruits upfront with a lingering savory character. Pretty and spicy. Solid effort.

2018 Rauzan-Ségla, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
One of the top Margaux wines of the vintage, this wine is very dark in color, concentrated and complex core of fruit with a seamless and pure mouthfeel. Lots of concentration and depth, ripe, mouthwatering tannins, Excellent! A blend of 40% Merlot, 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 2% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot.

2018 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Pretty aromas, toasty, sweet core of fruit, round middle, spicy, long and fresh. Silky fruit ripe tannins. Well balanced. Shows finesse and elegance. Lovely! 63% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 5% Petit Verdot and 2% Cabernet Franc

2018 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Pretty aromas, toasty, sweet core of fruit, round middle, spicy, long and fresh. Silky fruit ripe tannins. Well balanced. Shows finesse and elegance. Lovely! 63% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 5% Petit Verdot and 2% Cabernet Franc

2018 Domaine de Chevalier Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Very soft and creamy, lush and exotic fruits. Good acidity 75% Sauvignon Blanc, 25% Semillon

2018 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan 6-pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Pretty aromas, toasty, sweet core of fruit, round middle, spicy, long and fresh. Silky fruit ripe tannins. Well balanced. Shows finesse and elegance. Lovely! 63% Cabernet Sauvignon, 30% Merlot, 5% Petit Verdot and 2% Cabernet Franc

2018 Canon, St-Émilion
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Lovely fresh nose of red fruits, spice and toasty oak. Pure, sweet and elegant in the mouth. This wine is focused, precise and silky. Tannins are integrated and ripe. 72% Merlot and 28% Cabernet Franc.

2018 Phélan-Ségur, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Loaded with flavors of mocha, spice. Sweet core of middle fruit and ripe tannins. Another winner from the region, this should turn out to be a great buy!

2018 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Very dark color, very aromatic and intense, concentrated and complex, bit compact now but this wine has a ton going on. Big and study but with elegance and purity. Excellent. Could be one of the best wines of the vintage and should age well in a cellar over the next 15-20+ years!

2018 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien 6-pack in OWC
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Very dark color, very aromatic and intense, concentrated and complex, bit compact now but this wine has a ton going on. Big and study but with elegance and purity. Excellent. Could be one of the best wines of the vintage and should age well in a cellar over the next 15-20+ years!

2018 Léoville-Barton, St-Julien
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/24/2019 | Send Email
Very dark color, very aromatic and intense, concentrated and complex, bit compact now but this wine has a ton going on. Big and study but with elegance and purity. Excellent. Could be one of the best wines of the vintage and should age well over the next 15-20+ years.

Sonoma Distilling Co. Wheat Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
This whisky stumped me as it was served to me blind in preparation for my spirits exam. I thought it to be a higher end Scotch however this spirit made from mostly wheat and a bit of rye, aged in ex-bourbon barrels and finished in cognac barrels is from Sonoma thus, not a Scotch. Here is my formal tasting notes. Clear, pale gold color with no signs of louching. On the nose the spirit is clean with a medium intensity of caramel, brown sugar, spearmint, dried grass, nutmeg, cinnamon and dark chocolate. This spirit smells matured. The palate is dry with warming alcohol and a medium body with a nice spicy and oily texture. The flavor intensity is pronounced of (everything found on the nose with the addition of toasted oats). The finish is long and very complex. This spirit is outstanding as both the nose and the palate exemplify great complexity and expressiveness of a great grain spirit. I then go on to guess incorrectly. However, I was on the right track as I was thinking it could be a single grain whisky. The take away is that great distilling can happen anywhere, not just Scotland. Of course, anybody that's had bourbon knows this!
Price: $45.99 Add To Cart

2014 Robert Mondavi "To Kalon Vineyard - Reserve" Oakville Fumé Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Lots of history with this wine and vineyard. First planted in 1960, the vines are currently are dry farmed, head-trained and cane-pruned. The resulting wine is concentrated, rich and deep. Wonderful acidity holds the wine together. Tasted blind it would not be surprising to guess an expensive White Bordeaux like Domaine de Chevalier Blanc or Smith Haut-Lafitte Blanc. Serious but delicious Sauvignon Blanc!

2014 Lepiane "Bee Sweet Vineyard" Edna Valley Nebbiolo
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
For the past 5 years, I've had a fondness for Nebbiolo, and I'm happy to say that one of my favorite wines I've had this year is a Nebbiolo from a single vineyard in California of all places. Medium to fuller body in style, it's a very food friendly wine. The last time I had it was on a dinner date recently with pasta in a tomato sauce, and it was tasting fantastic. The tannins are present but never overbearing, the wine finishes with flavors of tart cherries and herbs. While most of California produces French grape varieties, it's refreshing to to see there's people out there like Alison Thomson (winemaker for Lepiane) trying their hand on the Italian side of things.Worthy of checking out for the Italian wine lover
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Old Pulteney is one of those under the radar distilleries that the geeks hate to talk about. No one was happy when Jim Murray named their now discontinued 21-year-old Whisky of the Year and rightfully so as it's become nearly impossible to acquire at the original price. Despite the awards and good will from the cognoscenti, Pulteney has remained a background player in the single malt world. Current owners, ThaiBev, however are looking to establish the Old distillery in the very north of Scotland in its rightful place as one of the highlands most well regarded malts. Part of that process is changing from the off-year expressions to the more familiar age offerings (12, 18, 25), but also by launching seemingly secret single barrel program. Only a handful of shops have jumped on the opportunity to own a cask strength single barrel from the odd little distillery in Wick. We've been lucky enough to be one of them. As with many Pulteney, the nose is pure salt, malt, herbal tea and cardamom. The palate is deep with the roasted cocoa, fudge, touches of anise, fennel and vanilla. But of course, with water this thing erupts. Now on the nose the ripest Bartlett pears - smashed, lemon peel, Mirabelle, dried apricot, salted butter on toast. The anise moving much more toward mint and fennel flavors and a long creamy texture is pointed with cotton candy, lemon oils and the tiniest hints of diesel smoke. Staunchly pleasing due to its exceptional purity and straight forwardness. The interplay between the malt, fruit and salt is quintessential Pulteney in my book. It might not be the most nuanced whisky we sell this year, but it may be the one you finish first. Too GOOD to put down!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2018 Dirty & Rowdy "Familiar" California Mourvedre
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Hardy Wallace is at it again with another tasty Mourvedre. Lush and juicy, this is a wine for the natural wine lover that's looking for something a little more premium, and it's also a fantastic expression of California Mourvedre's true potential. Herbaceous and brightly well balanced acidity makes this bottle a true delight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio
Reviwer Picture By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
I am always on the look out for a new summertime white. Cantina Andrian Pinot Grigio fits that bill to a tee! Alto Adige makes some of the best Pinot Grigio around. I always find great elegance, mineral crispness and a pop of freshness. Pure citrus fruits, pears, apples and white flowers on the nose. Good richness on the palate which is balanced by that pop acidity, that makes for a truly well-structured wine. This would be great for any outdoor event or make your first course of the meal really sing!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2014 Robert Mondavi "To Kalon Vineyard - Reserve" Oakville Fumé Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 5/23/2019 | Send Email
Hailing from the most prestigious vineyard site in Napa Valley (and thus the country by most measures,) Mondavi's To Kalon Fume Blanc Reserve is one of the most intensely concentrated and flavorful white wines that graces our shelves. Sourced from 50-60 year old vines in the heart of To Kalon Vineyard on the Oakville Bench, these are some of the oldest Sauvignon Blanc vines in the country, planted in some of the most special wine growing soils anywhere. The wine is barrel fermented to enhance texture, length on the palate and ageability. It's just packed with ripe yellow stone fruit, feijoa, preserved lemon, kumquat and kaffir lime leaf. Rich and powerful on the mid-palate but with beautiful drive and length on the palate. Super fresh and vibrant despite having almost 4 years in bottle. This will continue to age just as the top white Bordeaux wines do from properties like Haut-Brion, Smith Haut Lafitte and Carbonnieux. Don't miss our extra special price...this is in it's prime and will drink great for at least another 3-5 years and probably beyond. What a chance to drink some vinous royalty for a song...old vine To Kalon fruit at this price!

2011 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
This has the structure and flavor profile of a classic Barolo - tar, roses and leather, good acidity and pleasantly grippy tannins - complete with old school elegance and finesse. I generally prefer to age Barolo wines for at least 10-15 years before consuming as they can often kick you in the mouth when young, but this one is at a very pleasant stage for drinking now. This is a ridiculous deal at $30.

2018 Union Sacré "Belle de Nuit" Central Coast Gewurztraminer
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
I know that when I think of gewurztraminer, I often think about the ones I've had in the past, and I think about it's more effervescent and aromatic character, and while there's nothing wrong with that, it's usually a wine I'm not in the mood for unless I'm chilling by a swimming pool somewhere on a hot summer day. It's generally nothing I personally want on for every day summer drinking.... Then I had the Union Sacre Gewurztraminer, and now my mind has changed. What sets this particular Gewurztraminer apart from all the other ones I've had in the past, is the fact that it was skin fermented for 30 hours before being put into tank, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this packed with so much elegance and character. Looking for "orange wine"? This is a fantastic one to try, and it's only like 15 bucks. Definitely worth a whirl.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Proprieta Sperino "Rosa del Rosa" Piemonte
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
I am so happy we have a good quantity of this rose available to sell this season because it's one of my top 3 choices in the rose category. It has all of the qualities of a Provence-style rose but with more personality and character. Blood orange, flowers, bright cherry fruit, structure and vibrant acid. Never had Nebbiolo as a rose? It's time you did.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Blake Conklin | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
If you're looking for a singular terroir driven pinot from the Yamhill Carlton for an outstanding price, look no further than the Shea Vineyard from Broadley. Bright, approachable and with subtle hints of that jory soiled earthiness. One could say it's Burgundian in style, but I wanna say this is just a damn fine expression of Oregon in general. The 2016 is beautifully executed and truly one of my favorite pinots I've had this years. Grab a bottle or two, or three. You will not be disappointed.

2018 Domaine de Fondrèche Ventoux Rosé
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 5/22/2019 | Send Email
This rose is so damn good! Too good - I can easily consume the entire bottle myself. It's succulent and salty, oozing with fresh red berries and the ever-important super energetic acidity. This is dry and delicious and I just can't get enough. If there's one rose to stock up on this year it's this one.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Rootdown "St. Amant Vineyard" Amador County Trousseau
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Wow! This is a very fun and different wine, to say the least. Rootdown’s 2017 trousseau is almost pale in color and contains enough alcohol to keep me sober after 2 bottles. (10.6%) The grapes are grown on volcanic soils giving the wine great ashy minerality. The nose has a very distinctive underripe cranberry characteristic along with white pepper and herbs. The mouthfeel is crisp but not tart with just enough tannin to give it volume without any astringency. Wine geek alert! 70 % carbonic ferment. 30% whole cluster fermented in neutral oak.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2017 Coquelicot Estate Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Markavage | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Winemaker Mike Roth for Coquelicot (ko-klee-ko) does a wonderful job with his 2017 Estate Sauvignon Blanc. Coming from Santa Ynez Valley, the vines are perched on sandy soils with diatomaceous elements. As a result, the wine takes on wonderful briny, minerally and light floral characteristics. The salty acidity and clean texture gives you endless food pairing options or just simply used as an aperitif.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart

2011 Agostino Bosco "Neirane" Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
I vacillated back and forth between the La Serra and the Neirane. Both had such sleek classically composed structure and fruit and both were a bit hard to resist. The Neirane was a panoply of macerated fruits ranging from strawberry to red plum. Picking up the more floral qualities of Nebbiolo, this has wonderful potpourri aromas and finishes with cocoa and lead pencil notes. The tannins are fine grained and the palate is harmonious. This is a tremendous treat and at such a great price it's hard not to add a few Barolos of either bottling to your collection.

2011 Agostino Bosco "La Serra" Barolo
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
I vacillated back and forth between the La Serra and the Neirane. Both had such sleek classically composed structure and fruit and both were a bit hard to resist. The La Serra opened with elegant aromas of dried cherries, tobacco and sumptuous spices. It's slightly more structured palate gave length and harmony. It was a pristine example and could easily age for several more years before hitting its peak. Though, I would be hard pressed not to enjoy this old school wine right now.

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this spirit is full of a chocolaty, caramel aromatic that is very inviting. On the palate you see right away this is a cask strength but it doesn't seem hot at all, the caramel gets tinged with a bits of brine and smoke as it expands across your tongue. This malt has a real lushness that seems to moderate the alcohol, a super drinking spirit.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The Zenato is such a fun intriguing take on a Passito styled Valpolicella meets sur maturite Bordeaux that it is at once a head scratcher and total palate pleaser. The one foot in Italy gives you the zest and sweet dried fruit of an Amarone with its supple profile of carmelized figs, cocoa and tobacco. The classic French varities of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon lend oodles of currant jam and roasted plum flavors. This is a fun treat regardless and makes for an exceptional full bodied treat that won't break the bank for your everyday red or go-to party wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Michel Couvreur "Cap a Pie" Malt Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose if full of heather and honey and if I didn't know better I'd think it was a Highland Malt. On the palate you get a very high toned, central focus that makes this spirit seem very elegant. It has a long finish, fresh and uplifting.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zenato Alanera
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this wine is spicy, full of complex aromatics green olive, coffee, chocolate, red berries and hints of leather, tobacco and porcini abound. On the palate you can feel a distinct weight yet it is so lively it seems to lift the back end of the palate with excellent acidity and balance. A long finish really displays the flavors again and again. The wine is a blend of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon along with Rondinella, Corvina and Molinara, the Valpolicella grapes have been dried for 8 weeks to concentrate the flavors and then the two are blended together after a year in barrel. This is a truly impressive wine and even more so for the price!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2004 Old Pulteney 13 Year Old "K&L Exclusive" Single Cask No. 231 Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Whisky 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
Nosing this and I immediately recognized the danger. I immediately was reminded of Sierra Mist soda, pears and dried, candied ginger. Sipping it and the spirit was full bodied, and surprisingly silky given its age; notes of candied pears and spiced caramel apples dominated while there was just a slight hint of pencil shavings. The finish was a bit quick but pleasant as spiced pears and oak rounded this dram out. If not careful, this bottle could disappear in a hurry.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2016 Broadley "Shea Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/21/2019 | Send Email
The nose of this wine shows lots of focused fruit, vibrant, dark and spicy. On the palate it is full of clean, crunchy fruit, cranberry texture with raspberry flavors, some tannin but mostly you feel the limestone origins, that central, focused acid. A very complex wine for the price and while drinkable now I’d put some away to watch its’ evolution. Excellent value from one of Oregon’s best vineyards.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>