Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
This an elegant and classic red Burgundy. It has nice red fruit flavors that are balanced and structured. It is a delicious and complex wine that is a pleasure to drink. Jacques Bavard has proven to be an accomplished and excellent wine maker and any wine with his name on it is sure to be of high quality.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

2016 Paitin di Pasquero "Serra" Barbera d'Alba
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
The Pasquero-Elia family has long made excellent wines but they have elevated their line-up since enlisting the expertise of famed winemaker (Bruno Giacosa) Dante Scaglione. Barbera lovers will not want to miss this latest release from Paitin. "Serra" is medium-bodied with juicy, high-toned red berry fruit, bright acidity and good length. It's an outstanding Barbera d'Alba that's incredibly versatile at the dinner table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2016 Vietti "Perbacco" Nebbiolo Langhe
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
Luca Currado's "Perbacco" is one of the finest Langhe Nebbiolos made and his 2016 is truly great. Although it can be enjoyed now with aeration, it's tightly wound at the moment and possesses a depth and richness that will certainly emerge with a bit of time in the cellar.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2017 Capranera Aglianico Campania
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
One of our latest Italian arrivals is this impressive un-oaked Aglianico that delivers far more than it's price might suggest. It's a substantial red that offers up concentrated, classic blackberry and black cherry fruit intertwined with ample tannins and solid acidity. Perfect for a wide variety of meats, pastas and cheeses and great with pizza.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2017 Zilliken Estate Riesling Mosel
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
On a recent day off I was lazing around and realized I don't drink enough Riesling so I decided to grab a bottle and reacquaint myself. This wine was a great reminder of why I should be drinking more Riesling. The alluring aromas ; the combination of stone fruit, ripe apples, honey, flowers and petrol are explosive. This is a dry wine but there is just a touch of succulent sweetness - and plenty of bracing acidity - that had me reaching for a second glass before dinner was cooked. Don't think too hard about what to eat with this wine - it's very versatile. I simply whipped up a pan of sautéed mixed farmers market vegetables that included a few roasted figs and a bit of heat from a chile de árbol. Fab!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Discovery Series #1 Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Hoppas | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
I love Four Roses for it's minty and spicey aromas, but this brand new release from Bardstown may just become one of my new favorite whiskeys. It is wildly delicious. With juice between 5-13 years old (90% is 10+ years old), the whiskey is dense and aromatically complex. Cool mint leads on the nose, with orange zest, coriander and spiced nuts. On the palate it has an interesting spicy caramel with dried cherry and candied orange peel, but all built on a delicate and subtle, but dark and earthy foundation. This is certainly my favorite style of whiskey, expertly crafted and blended. If this is the future of Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey, I'm glad I'm here to taste it.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2007 Haut-Bailly, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
This is a classic Bordeaux that it ready to drink now. It is focused with all of flavors and structure coming together to produce an elegant wine. I think that Haut Bailly is a great and first class Chateaux,and at this price, this is a very good value.

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Hoppas | Review Date: 7/22/2019 | Send Email
It's no secret amongst the staff here that I drink a lot of gin. Whether it's g+t's by the pool, classic martini's or my endless variations on the negroni, Gin is a staple in my bar at home. It's easy to be enamored by modern style gin's with bold unique botanicals, however, my go to is always a classic London Dry. Why, you may ask? Because it's the most versatile gin in my bar. It's great for ALL of my favorite gin cocktails. Leading with juniper and backed by subtle and balanced citrus and spice, it is fresh and balanced with bright aromatics. Ford's Gin delivers everything that I want in a gin at an unbeatable price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Thomas Smith | Review Date: 7/21/2019 | Send Email
There is not a single producer in the store that I value more than Te Whare Ra. In the ocean of bulk wines coming out of Marlborough, Jason and Anna Flowerday continue to produce wines at a small scale that possess incredible finesse, balance, and remarkable quality, vintage after vintage. The nose here is soft and fragrant. Elements of papaya, whiteflowers, and guava with just a hint of savory displays a sense of elegance. On the palate, there's more density, weight and power where citrus, lemongrass, and hints of stone fruit come through in waves. Beautifully bright and incredibly well balanced, the 2018 may be the best Sauvignon Blanc they have produced to date. I would argue that the TWR Sauvignon Blanc represents not just the height of quality wine production in Marlborough, but among the Sauvignon Blanc produced all over the world.

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Miles Philippe | Review Date: 7/21/2019 | Send Email
Exotic variations of bright citrus fruits dance wildly on the nose. On the palate, the texture and weight of the fruits lasts just long enough before being cleared away by the awesome brightness of the acidity, leaving you with an edge of minerality on the finish. I'm personally very excited to see how this evolves over the next few years, but the youthfulness and vibrancy of this wine is such a pleasure now!

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/21/2019 | Send Email
A perennial favorite here at K&L, the 2018 version of the TWR Sauvignon Blanc is a real beauty. Fresh and delineated with a sure footed backbone of fine minerality and acidity, yet beautifully fleshed out with mouthwatering tropical fruit, lime leaf and a wonderfully refreshing slightly saline finish. Something about this wine simply sails my mind away to an afternoon of palm trees, beaches and grilled seafood fresh from the ocean. Yes please, I'll have another!
Top Value!

The 86 Co. Ford's Gin (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/21/2019 | Send Email
A classic gin profile. This London Dry style gin comes straight out of England and starts with UK-grown grain. Bright juniper notes come right at you with pine freshness and a supporting citrus peel character. There's a subtle floral bouquet as well, but it never gets in the way or becomes perfumy. The palate presents the spices and herbaceousness displaying coriander, angelica, and then the citrus elements become more distinctly grapefruit-oriented. This will work in every gin cocktail you can find, and at this price you might as well try them all.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Fukano 10 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Cask Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/21/2019 | Send Email
What a bright and fragrant nose - this is zippy. Granny Smith apple and coconut battle it out with fresh orange, lemon zest, and yuzu peel. Sandalwood and floral elements emerge and tickle the nostrils. On the palate, the first thing that stands out is the textural experience: it seems so light and thin on the tongue, but then the whisky somehow attaches with waxy grip. Dark honey, lilac, and more apple flavors emerge with a little oak spice. Herbal notes of mint and licorice assert themselves on the midpalate offering dark and cooling notes temporarily. The finish is warming, friendly, and creamy with more honeyed sweetness and moderate oak spice.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Kaiyo "The SHERI" Mizunara Oak Finished Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/21/2019 | Send Email
This recent addition to the Kaiyo lineup wants to capture the hearts of those who love rich Sherry finished whiskies. The nose smacks of butter toffee and candied fruits. Stewed apples and syrupy berries come out to play with toasted almonds and dark chocolate. Of course there are also robust scents of oxidization coming from the Sherry finish, all of which downplays the influence of the Mizunara oak aging. The palate starts off like dessert as well with dried fruits, blackberry jam, and more chocolate notes. Towards the finish, leather and charred oak wrap things up.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Suntory "Hibiki Japanese Harmony" Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/21/2019 | Send Email
This whisky contains single malt from both Yamazaki and Hakushu, so there are chops to this blend. Toasted grain, vanilla syrup, new wood, and light tropical fruit notes on the nose with just a touch of spice to keep things playful. The palate has more caramel and honey characteristics balanced by more tingly spice. There's a great salinity here as well with a gentle medicinality and robust malt character.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WA 90

Rezpiral "Berta Vázquez K&L Exclusive" Tepeztate Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/20/2019 | Send Email
Berta Vasquez is one of the few female mezcaleras out there, and she makes some fantastic agave spirits. For this bottling, she's using Tepeztate, a hard to find wild agave species that favors very steep and very rocky desert cliffs, and she utilizes volcanic rocks in the oven to cook the agave hearts. This is maybe the smokiest mezcal we have in the store right now. There's intense smoky aromas right after opening the bottle and further nosing gives the impression of dying embers from a fire. Mineral and saline characteristics come out next, then multiple green vegetal scents. On the palate, the smoke is very bold again with wood ash and robust green jalapeno spice. Wet stone emerges, but then there's a lovely tropical fruitiness on the back end that ties everything together in the fading fire finish.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fort Lignac, Haut-Medoc
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/20/2019 | Send Email
This well proportioned wine is gravely and chewy with a deep middle of sweet plum and black currant fruit. The aromas are toasty and lifted lending this a real sense of elegance despite the tannic structure. This punches well above its weight class and is best decanted.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jackson Lee | Review Date: 7/20/2019 | Send Email
This was truly a unique bourbon for me. Admittedly, I haven't tried too many of the Barrell offerings so when I saw the sample come in for this I was quite excited. This bottling has also passed inspection by not one, but two discerning buyers (first Barrell and subsequently K&L). On the nose I got stale cherries mixed with pear, oak spice, clove, light orange peel and dark prunes. The palate was surprising, blending a fennel frond herbaceous quality with a sweet, purple hard candy note that reminded me of Gobstoppers. The finish was a bit nondescript but had a subtle sweetness and smooth ride out.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Discovery Series #1 Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This is one of the most phenomenal bourbons I have ever tasted. With a brand-new, state-of-the art-facility and the reputation as the premier "custom crush" distillery in the area, the Bardstown Bourbon Company has spared no expense in bringing us an epic whiskey. The BBC even prints its mash bill on the bottle, which is very uncommon in bourbon, where many try to keep their recipes secret. The nose is a blend of mint and perfume and the palate is incredibly smooth and slightly candied. The new frontier of bourbon is here and Bardstown Bourbon Company is leading the way.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Hillrock Estate Solera Aged Single Cask "#143-A" K&L Exclusive Cask Strength Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
There are few American whiskies that transcend the category's gruff persona. Sure, there are expensive whiskies being made at craft and industrial distilleries alike, but only a tiny handful capture that nuanced space that could be considered "luxury." The Hillrock Estate achieves that feeling without even trying. They've put so much time, money, energy and thoughtfulness into these products -- the inherent quality seeps from the glass with almost perfect restraint. Dave Pickerell (RIP) had a field day making Hillrock. I'd never seen him more proud or excited about one of his products than when he talked about Hillrock. But nothing about the story explicitly implies that it's a luxury product. After all the "Estate" is actually a farm, but the quality derives directly from a commitment to produce the absolute best regardless of cost. That is true luxury. Almost no craft producers have achieved such an innovative and well-polished product, so when we had the chance to buy this little cask we knew we wanted to pick a good one. After many rounds of samples, we found one that captured the incredible intrigue of their standard release, yet turned up volume to a different level. The wine cask influence, something I'm generally averse to in bourbon, is so well integrated and built around such a high quality product that you almost can't pick out their specific complexities. The nose is a powerful bouquet of hardwood, spice box, roasted nut brittle, caramelized stone fruit, hints of graphite, dried leaves, and white pepper. On the palate, sweet black cherries, fresh tobacco leaf, roasting baking spice, wild honey, and burnt orange peel. Big, bold spice coming out on the finish, which is powerful but not at all hot. The is whiskey is like an Hermès tie. It's not flashy or loud, but exudes elegance, class, and above all, good taste. Few American whiskies can match the quality that is being produced at the little farm upstate, but we're extremely excited to see the incredible things they've got planned and proud to partner on this special cask.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Tobin | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
What a beautiful show of what Bourgogne blanc can be! The nose blooms with notes of white flowers, lavender, and honeysuckle. The palate has lovely mouthfeel with some bees wax, tart apple, and a softer vanilla and rich meringue. If you are looking for a round and rich white Burgundy, this is hard to beat at the price!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Larrivet-Haut-Brion Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This mature white from a good vintage and a great producer is honeyed, with a paraffin texture and flavors of apricot, golden delicious apple, and lemon curd. Although round and substantial, there is plenty of freshness to the mineral-laced finish.

Rezpiral "Berta Vázquez K&L Exclusive" Tepeztate Mezcal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
Rezpiral is one of the most ambitious mezcal projects to come to the United States. Seeking out mezcaleros with multi-generational knowledge and respecting each of their unique processes, Rezpiral works with choice producers across Mexico to select the finest small batch agave spirits possible and bottle them without intervention or manipulation. Berta Vazquez's extensive experience allows her to produce spirits of unrivaled intensity and flavor. This K&L exclusive batch of Tepeztate yielded only 144 bottles and is exceedingly complex. At first blush it is robustly smoky. After nosing the glass a journey unfolds. It moves from smoky to herbal - seamlessly passing from savory oregano and marjoram to sweeter dill and mint. It folds into a spicy combination of black pepper and mild pepperoncinis. On the palate the saga continues. A diverse forest of fruit trees envelops you, leaf, blossom, and fruit all compete for your attention. It doubles back on itself and the finish rehashes the symphony of sweet herbs and spice before fading into a clean and persistent smoke. In terms of diverse flavor and complexity, no spirit on the shelf rivals Berta Vazquez and her distillates.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2015 Giuseppe Cortese "Rabaja" Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
Love the 2015 vintage of this wine. The nose brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust with a good tannin structure. I love the elegance to this wine, and with all of its varietal purity here (Rabaja at its best), I recommend decanting for a couple hours...or even aging a couple of years (up to five or six years if you are that patient). This would show extremely well with a wild mushroom risotto or a barbecue Tri-tip.

2018 Terre da Vino "Masseria dei Carmelitani" Gavi di Gavi
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This is Cortese (the region is Gavi in Piedmont) it has very delicate perfumes of apples and apricots. It is un-oaked and crisp, with citrus and peach fruit and notes of herbs and is wonderfully delicate but with great structure, love its length & balance as well as its complexity.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This new single barrel from Barrell Bourbon is BIG on spice and fruit, like a dessert you'd bake in autumn or winter. Cinnamon apples and cobbler come out on the nose with candied citrus and toasted oak. A nice supple mouthfeel is balanced with the spices which hit different points on my palate and light up my cheeks. Rich vanilla coats the tongue before a menthol medicinal finish.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Bardstown Bourbon Company - Discovery Series #1 Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
The third in a cool series of projects coming out of the relatively young Bardstown Bourbon Company. Following their Fusion and Collaborative releases, this bottling called Discovery combines Kentucky Bourbons primarily between 10 and 13 years with some 5 year old thrown in as well for a bit of punchy youth. I like that each of the bottlings give details on what's going into the blend regarding age as well as mashbill. In our day and age, we could all use more transparency (whether we're talking about whiskey or politics). After well-polished wood, various fruit notes play on the nose: orange zest, canned peaches, and cherry cough drops. The medium caramel scents blend seamlessly with the vibrant spices. On the palate, the caramel comes out more prominently while the spices get more earthy (clove, coriander, anise) and more herbal (mint, fresh hay), but the finish is boldly peppery.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2016 Planeta Cerasuolo di Vittoria
Reviwer Picture By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This Cerasuolo di Vittoria is produced from the vivification of Nero d’Avola & Frappato grapes and was first introduced to the public in 1933 at the first Exhibition-Market of Siena. Here is a great summer red, give a slight chill and serve on the patio, will work well with poultry, tuna steaks or a tri-tip.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91 RP 90

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
Bottled exclusively for K&L and made at George Dickel, this Bourbon is a great addition to our Tennessee whiskeys. Bottled at cask strength, this guy shows lots of chocolate, muscovado and apple crumble notes on the nose. Though it is rich and sweet in the mouthfeel, the cask strength nature keeps it from being cloying and offers a toasted sourdough element. The 14 year aging process has help it to blend seamlessly and given spice and length. A touch of citrus at the end gives it an unexpected lift and leaves you wanting just a little bit more.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

Barrell Bourbon "K&L Exclusive" 14 Year Old Cask Strength Single Barrel #E522 Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Hoppas | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This is a sophisticated cask strength bourbon. While it carries classic big bourbon aromas, it's incredibly well integrated and smooth--dark, rich and woody. The foundation deep aromas of cereals, burnt sugar, and licorice, with pretty delicate aromas of dried brush, sweet spices and fresh mint. It has a dense weighty body and concentrated flavors that match up to the cask strength ABV. Powerful, smooth, and elegant.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sixto "Frenchman Hills Vineyard" Columbia Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
Oaky-dokey, here's a big Chard for you. Coming out of Washington and sporting 90+ point scores from several outlets, the Frenchman Hills Chardonnay from Sixto has light citrus and honey drizzled over orchard fruits. However, the real stars are the pad of butter and big oak barrel scents. The palate has a full mouthfeel and a lot of richness. Oak spice, toast, and ample creaminess dominate, fading to a waxy honeycomb finish.

2017 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
Fans of light Chardonnays, rejoice. Freemark Abbey does not use any malolactic fermentation for this Chardonnay, helping the wine retain its punchy acidity. The nose has Granny Smith apple, light vanilla, lemon zest, and some savory spice. The palate is bright and playful with more citrus that transitions to candied apple and leather with a supple mouthfeel.
Price: $22.95 Add To Cart
RP 94

2018 Massican "Annia" Napa Valley White Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This white wine is so fun and fresh. Composed of a blend of Tocai Friulano, Ribolla Gialla, and Chardonnay, this is unlike many white blends out there right now. The nose pops with orchard fruits, cherry stone, and almond with bracing minerality and bright floral tones. The palate contains nectarine, lemon-lime zestiness, and salinity to balance the fruit and acid. The wine keeps up a very tropical vibe all the way through its zippy and spicy finish. I also found this wine fun to be sipped at many different temperatures: served cold it's as crisp and refreshing as you could hope for a summer sipper, but it's really quite enjoyable even right at room temperature possessing added weight and richness. 97 points from Wine Enthusiast
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WE 97

2016 Beckon "Bien Nacido Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
This single vineyard Pinot recently received 90 points from Wine Enthusiast, composed of grapes from a vineyard often sought out by the winemakers at Qupe and Au Bon Climat. The nose is soft and reminiscent of Burgundy. I pick up forest floor, bramble berry, and incense. This wine has a lot of minerality. The palate retains a dark fruity character like berry compote, but the flavors are really more concentrated on the savory and spicy ends of the spectrum. Killer wine under $20!
Price: Hidden View Price
W&S 92 WE 92

Dos Hombres Espadin Mezcal Artesanal (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Neal Fischer | Review Date: 7/19/2019 | Send Email
I like the nose on this Mezcal because it strikes a balance between robustness and softer qualities. The smoke is present but subtle, starting like a bonfire before becoming more like BBQ. There’s also a great vegetal note and a touch of that rubber quality that some Mezcals get which I really enjoy. The palate is slightly sweet and spicy like a jalapeno lollipop with the vegetal notes and great minerality.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2016 Jacques Bavard Bourgogne Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
Every wine that I have tasted from Jacques Bavard has been excellent. His 2016 Bourgogne Blanc is a wonderful Chardonnay. It s a focused wine with both structure and energy. One will want to reach for a second glass. It is a medium bodied wine with a core of creamy flavors and a nice crisp finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Lafage "Fundacio" Cotes du Roussillon Villages
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This has a lovely combination of big rich fruit and more subtle savory aspects. The nose has ripe, powerful fruit and dried flowers, it's explosive and inviting. The palate delivers on that promise of big saturated fruit but also gives some nice earthy / stony qualities from the granitic soils of the region. Full bodied but well balanced and not sweet. This is classic Lafage wine making - pedal to the metal but always maintaining complete control.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2015 Siaurac, Lalande de Pomerol
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This easy to drink wine starts with a flowery expression that melds to a silky middle of black currant and dark cherry fruit. This is satin textured, savory and a fantastically smooth and delicious drink.

2001 Barde Haut, St-Emilion
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This is round, smooth, softly textured and displays a very caressing personality for 2001 vintage Bordeaux. Dark plum fruit, cedar and leather notes stay fresh, sweet and pure on the gentle finish. Limestone rich soils and good acidity provide freshness and lift to the rich and plush mid-palate in this inviting and easy to drink wine.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$39.99
WS 90

2015 Marquis de Mons, Margaux
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This elegant wine is filled with red fruits and berries in a fine and clean style. The long classy lines give a classic expression of Margaux at an approachable price.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Moulin de La Bridane, St-Julien
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This has classic St-Julien flavors at a no-brainer price and an approachable style. The wine is deep, rich and earthy with a chewy middle of dark fruit and a surprisingly gentle mineral filled finish. Lots going on here for not much money.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2016 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This is a seriously impressive display of the finesse, power and complexity that can be achieved with New Zealand Pinot Noir. The nose is beautiful with fruity aromas of cherry and mulberry with lifted aromatics of lilacs and violets with a touch of smoke and earth. The palate is well balanced, with beautiful tension between the silky texture, ripe but grippy tannins and vibrant lifting acidity.

2016 Bellegrave, Pauillac
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
Here is an affordable Pauillac that tastes like the appellation from which it hails and is delicious already. This is sleek and clean with glossy blackberry fruit and the telltale graphite peaking through. The finish is long, poised and has mineral streaks throughout. A bargain to decant tonight.

2012 Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This is firm and robust with intense blackberry fruit flavors and hints of damp clay in the deep middle. There is a mineral tug on the finish where the ripe tannins are buried in the deep fruit. Affordable and classic for the appellation.

2016 l'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/18/2019 | Send Email
This is surprisingly rich for the appellation but clearly shows the freshness and precision this amazing vintage delivers. This is fruity and gravely with lush mid-palate flavors of ripe cherry and blackberry and a touch of mineral on the smooth finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Lafage "Fundacio" Cotes du Roussillon Villages
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/17/2019 | Send Email
This newest offering from Jean-Marc Lafage really demonstrates the deft abilities of one of our favorite winemakers. Known for his exceptional values, like the Bastide Miraflors and Tessellae, the Fundacio ratchets the intensity and profile up by several degrees. Flavors of currant jam, creosote and potpourri are just the beginning. This fleshy, full-bodied wine swings back-and-forth between sweet spices, black fruit, and meaty, savory tones. The finish is long. The profile reminds me of a hypothetical Cornas meets Chateauneuf in its character. Yet another benchmark wine from one of our favorite producers that is sure to offer great pleasure for years to come.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2016 Alexana "Terroir Series" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/17/2019 | Send Email
Confession - I tasted this after an exceptional flight of Burgundies and.... It held it's own! And that's saying something, as the retail value of the other wines were on average twice what this little guy was priced at. Now, I'm not going to call this Burgundian by any stretch. This is a sumptuous and forward drinking Pinot that offers incredible concentration, sweet fruit and super fine tannins. It is at once mouthfilling but offers delicious raspberry and cherry tones that are seamlessly balanced with the structure of the wine. This is a pretty damn good find!
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
WS 94 WE 91

2017 Château de L'Ou "Compartir" Cotes du Roussillon Villages Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/17/2019 | Send Email
One of the great standouts in Severine Bourrier's, proprietor of Chateau de L'Ou, line-up had to be this Grenache dominant Roussillon blend - the Compartrir. She took me to the site in Maury and together we climbed up the hard scrabble hill of schist to survey the beauty below. The site alone says - "I may be difficult to work, but I grow exceptional grapes!" The winemaking though is pure Severine. It is at once opulent but with her deft hand she keeps the wine focused and in balance. The fruit delivers in waves but with no shortage of excitement. The finish is superbly long - long enough to endure a flight back to France so I can go visit her vineyards again and taste more of her incredible wines!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JD 96

2016 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 7/17/2019 | Send Email
What a lovely wine this Greywacke Pinot Noir is! The nose offers up a wonderful spice cabinet of nutmeg and clove and maybe a touch of cinnamon?? The palate is a luscious fruit wonderland of raspberry and strawberry but more on the savory spectrum. This wine is a definite winner to bring around to impress your friends or pair by yourself to your favorite Romantic Comedy! I'm thinking The Devil Wears Prada...

2014 Greywacke Chardonnay Marlborough
Reviwer Picture By: Cameron Price | Review Date: 7/17/2019 | Send Email
This Greywacke Chardonnay is bananas! SO yummy and delicious. Flinty, mineral nose of matchstick magic and a palate that is like refreshing buttercream. Mouth-watering acidity that won't let you spit (super important for us staff) and topped off with an amazing finish that just won't go away! 07/17 5:58pm

Page: 1 2 3 next >>