Staff Favorites - Kyle Kurani

Kyle Kurani

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2012 Stolpman Ballard Canyon Grenache
Review Date: 07-21-2015
Incredibly vibrant and beautiful wine from Stolpman that has all the richness of Grenache in a very elegant and lifted form. The nose is effusive with blue violets and back cherries, spiced tea and cassis simply leap out of the glass. The palate continues on with rich black fruit, with as much focus as I have seen from Grenache. Opulent but dry and beautifully framed by fine tannins. The back is kissed with spice and blackberry. Just really wonderful wine.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 92 WE 91

Baron Fuente "Galipettes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Baron Fuente has long been one of our best values in Champagne--with their entry-level bottling coming in at a mere $23.99 it is hard to beat. However, after tasting the Galipettes today, I happily realized that they have some serious offerings in their lineup. This bottling is all estate fruit and completely organic, something that few negociants offer, the nose is dripping with wild cherry, fragrant cassis and a touch of chalk. The wine flows out of the glass with a mineral and red-fruited palate, red fruits abound, cherry, currant, and just a hint of exotic spice lingering in the back. Clean and fresh on the finish, this really impressed upon tasting.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-15-2015
With this being only their third release, the anticipation of what is in the bottle was very high: a chance to try and flesh out exactly what is the house style that the good distillers at Cut Spike bring to the table. This bottling does a great job of solidifying them in my mind as one of the highest quality single malt producers in the States. This whisky is incredibly vibrant and fresh without tasting young or harsh. The nose is lifted with bright notes of candied ginger and Douglas fir, a sense of promised vanilla sweetness wafts in at the end. In the mouth there is sweetness, orange marmalade, a hint of clove for spice, and then the same vanilla cream from last batch that really adds roundness to the palate.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

Baron Fuente "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
For those Champagne fans who are forever chasing the toasty rich style of Champagne, but lamenting the prices that those styles command, this wine is for you. The Esprit from Baron Fuente spends a very impressive 8 years on the lees, developing all of the brioche-y goodness you can ask for, for a ridiculously inexpensive price tag. Toasty with sourdough toast and almond right out of the glass, the palate evolves into baked phyllo and toasted walnuts. Long and full at the back, with Almond Roca and a freshness of white peppermint that lifts the finish just perfectly.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2008 Michel Arnould Vintage "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
The 2008 Carte d’Or is some serious stuff. Made for the future, you can still coax out some sensual enjoyment now, but will show amazingly well over the next decade--or more. Tense and taut in the glass, the nose is of crushed rock, granite, and lemon zest. The palate is sleek, almost serpentine, flowing from beginning to end with a fine minerality. With a bit of pretty apricot from the Chardonnay, a hint of wild cherry from the Pinot, veins of chalk laced throughout, this wine has spectacular drive and focus. Another great wine from a great vintage.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Arnould Verzenay Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
An amazing expression of what high quality Pinot Noir from Champagne can accomplish. This rosé delivers a wine with power and finesse, full rich red fruit and bright fresh acidity. Upfront the nose is full of strawberries in fresh cream, leading into a savory cassis character. Broad and weighty on the palate, hard candy and blackberry abound. Cleaned up around the edges with precise acidity that lifts the wine and makes it one of the most well-rounded rosés we carry.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-15-2015
Full of vibrancy and richness playing off of each other in perfect harmony, the Michel Arnould Reserve is a stunning example of Grand Cru Champagne. Out of the gate with beautiful aromas of perfectly ripened melon, green apple and spice cake, the nose is effusive and rich. The palate plays fresh notes of watermelon and racy acidity against richer tones of hazelnut and bread dough. The marriage of the racy and rich are what really make this a very complete and extraordinarily pleasing bottle to drink. Powerful and elegant at the same time--that only can be achieved with the highest quality terroir available in the region.
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

Baron-Fuente "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-10-2015
This bottle of Champagne does so many things for me. It offers the ability to use Champagne in many more settings--from parties to toasts--and it brings quality bubbles into the budget of many more customers. At $23 dollars a bottle, there is so much in this bottle. fresh and vibrant citrus notes, hints of navel orange and white peach greet you, with a light and effortless bead. It finishes with a touch of bread dough and Gala apple, rounding out the palate and leaving you wanting just one more glass. In the end this offers us the chance to drink Real Champagne at a price that so many more people can afford--including us here at the K&L!
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91 JS 90

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-09-2015
Such amazing value for vintage Champagne. This beautiful expression of a vintage that was beautifully sunny and warm shows off pretty notes of biscuit and perfectly ripened stone fruits on the nose. Followed a very clean and zesty palate, Citrus, orange cream and golden apple cascade over a fine and well integrated bead. Pretty amazing stuff for $30!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Blend Marlborough
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Fun, geeky, and delicious all rolled into a wine. This wine has something for everybody, from sipping on the porch, to marveling at the cohesiveness achieved from co fermentation. Effusive and rambunctious out of the glass, orange blossom water, kiwi, fresh peaches, it draws you in with lightness. The palate is both racy and fruit filled, buoyant with crushed rock minerality, vibrant with apricot and peach. From a producer that hangs their hats on their aromatic whites, they have something to be proud of in this wine. I can’t wait to drink this over the summer, and talk about it with as many people who will listen.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 93

2013 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Serious wine can come from all over the world, and the Awatea sits firmly in that category. This is far from a $20 something dollar Tuesday night cab, this is a wine of pedigree, structure and depth. The nose is straight out of the vineyard, dusty red fruits, leather and cedar give a preview to what is to come. Structured and dense, pure wild cherry, layers pure crystalline red fruit wrapped firmly but fairly in tannins. No sharp edges in this wine, balance is hit with the weight of fruit perfectly in tune with the structure. Decant with a steak or put away for a decade.

Orphan Barrel Rhetoric 21 Year Old Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey 750ml (ships like 1.5L due to bottle shape)
Review Date: 07-08-2015
Another seriously good offering in the Orphan Barrel series that is everything you could ask for to feed that old Bourbon. Incredibly balanced, this bring me back to the days when I tasted older expressions regularly- days long gone- when Bourbon had a beautiful mix of rich and savory characteristics. The Rhetoric strikes that beautiful balance. The nose leaps out with beautifully rich notes of baked apple and vanilla spice, quite inviting. The palate carries the apples but introduces the savory aspects that 21 years in a barrel gives you. Leather, sandalwood intertwined with baking spices galore. Simply the best and oldest hooch we can get our hands on. Enjoy while it lasts!
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenrothes Sherry Reserve Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-01-2015
A very pretty, elegant version of Sherry-aged Scotch. While I'm always leery of NAS releases, this Glenrothes delivers a ton of classic Speyside flavors with a super reasonable price tag. The palate is medium rich, tons of butter cream frosting and toffee. More layers of coffee hard candy, and a dry pecan character that I found very intriguing. A hint of allspice rounds out a beautifully lifted and balanced single malt. Impressive quality, very drinkable.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Claiborne & Churchill Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-01-2015
What a beautifully made, small production Pinot. The good folks at Claiborne and Churchill have enchanted our palates here at K&L for a number of years now. The 2013 is one of my favorite vintages from them. The palate is lush but balanced, with layers of raspberry and currant, red-fruited through and through, and framed with just the right amount of oak. Medium-bodied and alive, this drinks well above a mid-$20 price point.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Oakridge Estate "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley
Review Date: 06-17-2015
Pretty incredible Chardonnay for the price. Very seriously made, and a very serious value. More in the style of white Burgundy, there is a beautiful lees character on the nose, with fresh orchard fruit and a hint of citrus. The palate is fresh and lively, fully of energy. Notes of white peaches and lime zest exude from the glass, complemented by a subtle hazelnut note to round out the bottom. Certainly did not guess that this would be at this price point when I was writing my notes--amazing.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-09-2015
A picturesque Barbaresco. This wine is full of life and energy, and is in the wonderful position of being perfectly drinkable right now, as well as prepared for ten years in the cellar. The nose greets you with wild raspberry, plum and hints of leather and spice. The palate is full of red cherry, notes of anise and leather, with a textural and rich mouth feel. The tannins provide a beautiful and firm framework with acidity to match, drink now with a little bit of air, or hold for the future.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95 RP 92

Alipus San Luis Del Rio Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 06-09-2015
This is the most fruit driven and round of the bunch. Big and rich, dark fruited with black cherry and an almost voluptuous mouth feel. The spirit is super weighty and oily, with just a kiss of funk in the back ground. Such a departure from the others which are much spicier, fruity and delicious.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Alipus San Andres Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 06-09-2015
A vibrant and spicy spirit that leaps out of the glass. Full of wood notes and baking spices, cedar and cloves on the first nosing. On the palate it is even richer, almost mahogany and dark rich cinnamon, some cardamom lingering in the back.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Alipus San Juan Del Rio Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 06-09-2015
The most elegant and delicate of the line up. Super pretty, full of lifted floral notes, and just a kiss of sweetness. Very lacy on the palate, minty notes, very soft notes of smoke that don't stand out, but are perfectly integrated into the spirit as a whole. Aromatic and graceful.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Alipus Santa Ana Del Rio Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 06-09-2015
Big and brooding in comparison to the others, a more full bodied style. Intensely savory, oily and a bit of earth. What struck me was the dry and almost woody finish. if this were a wine it would be described as having a big tannic structure, super interesting to taste something this bold.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Cognizant Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 05-31-2015
TWR has made such great wine for us that I simply couldn't wait to try our new project with them. The Cognizant Pinot has all the grace and finesse of the great wine making team at TWR, but with just a touch of added fruit and richness. Plush notes of ripe plume and ripe raspberry greet you on the nose, a hint of violet and crushed rose petal. The palate is lush but not heavy, pure ruby fruit leads to very pretty and easy finish. Ultimately drinkable.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 05-31-2015
Year in and year out the Carato is offers one of the best values for red in the entire store. Bright and lively, pretty red cherry, lifted raspberry notes, give way to a finish with just a hint of earth and spice. The classic profile of Tuscany all for an amazing price.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

Westland Sherry Wood Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-01-2015
One of the best American Single Malts I have tasted, period. Westland is doing everything properly, no corners cut, the proper still, and high quality wood, each of these factors going in to creating a whisky that is every bit as good as its Scottish counterparts. Full of sherry richness, dates, sweet roasted pecans, and lush mahogany notes, like a fine library. The quality of the sherry really jumped out of the glass--I find that smaller producers often have overall a much better quality of wood due to the fact they are not buying lots of hundreds of barrels, so the essence of sherry barrels are more purely expressed. For Mac 12 fans, this is an exciting local alternative that really offers a ton of quality.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Chateau les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Everything you want from a classic Provencal rosé, full of fresh vibrant acidity, elegant red fruit, and a hint of rose petal come together to create the essence of summertime rosé. The nose elegantly gives notes of fresh raspberry and Queen Anne cherry, giving way to a palate that is clean and precise. Perfect picnic sipper.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Butternut California Chardonnay
Review Date: 03-31-2015
The ultimate in big, rich, classically California styled Chardonnay. Fully of creamy, lush notes, butter cream frosting, poached pears, rich vanilla. The mouth feel is ultra decadent, full bodied and with a weighty viscosity. The 100% new French oak gives structure to frame the wine, with baking spice and sourdough toast. Rombauer fans will rejoice at the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-24-2015
The Glenmo Tusail has been a decade in the making. This is not some hodgepodge blend of differently aced barrels, this is a whisky that was conceived of 10 years ago, brought to fruition with floor malted barley, and laid to rest, creating a Malt that is truly unique. The Maris Otter barley gives an amazingly nappy texture, delivering notes of vanilla and baking spice in a palate coating luxury. The bourbon barrel aging allows all the complexity of the Scotch to shine without covering it up with pure wood notes. Candied ginger and sweet lemon zest make for a delicious dram.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenfiddich 12 year old Signature Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-24-2015
A Classic Malt in every aspect of the term. Clean and bright, a touch of honeysuckle, a kiss of vanilla sweetness, this malt has a little bit of something for everyone. A soft entry gives an easy going feel, on the palate dried fruits, honey and heather give added complexity, the finish is composed and not harsh in any way. A staple.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 93
Limit of 12 per customer

Santa Teresa 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera Rum, Venezuela 750ml
Review Date: 03-24-2015
A demandingly decadent Rum, full of dark hued flavors of maple and brown sugar. The Santa Teresa is a wonderfully balanced rum with years of solera aging to create a spirit that is past the complexity of a single age statement. A nose of maple cake and burnt sugar. Vanilla cream runs throughout adding a beautifully sweet crescendo to a long and lush finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96 - 100

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-18-2015
Intriguing rose that begins in an understated elegant way, and builds towards a fuller finish showing off its’ Grand Cru providence. The nose is hauntingly seductive, crushed red fruit, a mineral vein, and the faintest scent of rose petal all intermingled in harmony. The palate is defined by a textural grip that adds weight and importance, but the lifted flavors of wild strawberry and cream, with hits of cherry tart keep the wine extremely elegant and pretty. The finish picks up speed with reinforced dark cherry and minerality that wraps the wine up beautifully.

2004 Laurent-Perrier Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-18-2015
Another great bottle of Vintage Champagne from the wonderfully classic vintage that is 2004​. Lively and lifted, this wine possesses a vibrancy that carries it from stem to stern. Pithy and fresh on the entry, lemon cake and sweet almond, a touch of Meyer lemon zest as well to add verve. The palate has a rich lees quality to add balance and depth, more shortbread than brioche. Minerality and lift carry the day though, fresh and clean, lovely vintage offering.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 92 WS 90

Boulard-Bauquaire "Trepail" Vieilles Vignes Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-11-2015
What a charming bottle of bubbles. One of our newest additions to the line up, this a wonderfully enjoyable, open knit and effortless. The nose is cream and zest, maybe a touch of fresh lemon scone. The palate is soft and supple, perky notes of yellow peach and Meyer lemon, clean and pretty. The old vine material comes through on the finish, pure and lengthy. Just a joy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 03-11-2015
Always one of my favorite bottles of Sancerre. A mix of updated wine making technique and classic terroir that creates a wine full of depth and elegance. The grapes are cold soaked for days to create a wine that is full of texture and weight, orchard fruit and dense green apple, really getting an added richness not always found in Sancerre. Having said that, it is still a wine of the Loire, the lime stone in the soils gives a latticework of minerality for the fruit to lay on.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-05-2015
There is not another bottle of pink Champagne that offers this value in the store, end of story. This perfectly crafted bottle of bubbles is sensational wine, and at a price that I can afford to drink more than just on special occasions. A pretty coral pink greets you in the glass, alongside a nose of vibrant cherry, sweetened dried cranberry, and anise spice. Elegant red fruits burst on the scene out of the glass, kissing your palate with lifted notes of rose petal and wild cherry. So good!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-04-2015
The Aspasie Blanc de Blancs is a bottle I reach for time and time again. Perfect for almost any occasion that I can think of, from parties to picnics there is something here for everyone. From the immediate aesthetics of the clear glass holding in the beautiful straw gold elixir, to the beautiful breadth and depth that comes from single vineyard Chardonnay. Sun ripe stone fruits greet you, followed by lemon curd and a hit of toasty baguette. The textures is opulent, a kiss of minerality, and a long beautiful finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Mercedes Eguren Cabernet Sauvignon Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Another truly stunning Cabernet value from Spain. The Mercedes Cab puts many of its California counterparts to shame in the price to quality that it offers for perhaps the world's most famous grape varietal. This wine offers a very balanced view, with very good varietal correctness, notes of blackberry and red fruits, hints of cedar, and fine tannins to round out the structure. Try a Cab from Spain, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Olema Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-25-2015
Olema Pinot has been one of our favorite Pinot for the last few vintages. Containing fruit sourced from both Sonoma Coast and Russian River, this wine is the perfect combination of both regions. Dark and dense fruit from the rugged coast give this wine a back bone of black cherry and wile blackberry, paired perfectly with the seductive and silky texture you find in some of the great Russian River Pinots.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 02-25-2015
I love Rose, and I love it even more if it has bubbles in it and only takes $12.99 out of your pocket. This sparkling Cava has quickly cemented itself as one of our everyday bottle of bubbles in our house. Super dry, with no dosage to hide behind, the palate is crisp and clean, notes of raspberry and dried cranberry. Pure, almost crystalline, delicious wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 91

Ariston Aspasie "Prestige Vielles Vignes" Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
A study in the power and minerality that can only come from the old vines of Champagne. The Cuvee Prestige from Ariston is a pure expression of what the flavor profile of vines that have been growing in the deep chalk soils for many years. Dry and precise, notes of wet stone and a saline purity electrifies the palate on entry. The body is weighty and focused, driven, taking your taste buds for a ride with lime zest and Granny Smith apple, as well as a hint of spice box lingering in the back. Amazing with food, it almost demands it. Cured meats, cheese, cedar plank salmon.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
The Belles Voyes is tied for my absolute favorite Champagne that we import. Without question this bottle is one of the classiest, most complex, and simply amazing wines we carry. Coming from a single vineyard planted in the 1920’s and 30’s the old vine soul of this wine comes through, expressing a deep mineral core that runs from start to long lingering finish. This is one of my favorite bottles to bring to restaurants to enjoy with their tasting menus tasting menus because of the beautiful evolution it goes through from the first glass to the last. It starts being a beautifully focused and crisp Blanc de Blanc, pear and apples, fresh vibrant citrus notes, perfect for the first few lighter dishes. As the wine warms up and gets air it puts on weight, starting to show the character from barrel fermentation. Golden apricots, pastry dough, baked apples and spice lend a richness and greater texture to the wine, matching perfectly with the progression of dishes. Weather out at a fancy dinner, or just wanting to enjoy some truly amazing Champagne, this is the perfect bottle.

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
When I am feeling like a fancy bottle of Champagne, this is what I reach for. The Prestige lives fully up to the name, rich and opulent, completely gorgeous. A sultry nose of toasted hazelnut and brioche waft up from the nose, followed by a palate filled with richness. Macaroon, butter-cream frosting, layers of baked goods, and a brilliant acidity flesh out a great bottle.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

Franck Bonville Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
What do you do when you only grow Grand Cru Chardonnay but what to make Rose? Well you trade a little bit for Grand Cru Pinot of course. That is exactly what Mr. Bonville did to make a wine that puts together my two favorite things, Blanc de Blanc and Rose. This wine has all the drive and minerality you would expect from a top end Blanc do Blanc, but with the added complexity and downright deliciousness of a Rose. Wild cherry and raspberry provide perfect base notes, while the Chardonnay adds high tones of Fuji apple and zippy lemon zest.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Update 2014: The 2011 Vintage in Champagne was pretty terrible, turns out to be a blessing in disguise for one of my favorite bottles of Champagne in the store. Wanting to make sure he kept the quality up, Olivier Bonville declassified all of his high end and old vine vineyards into this little gem. The depth of fruit and minerality is what catches me off guard when I drink this wine, light and elegant, the chalk in the soils sing through the nose and offer a back bone that frames the entire wine. White flowers, golden apple, and a hint of spice cake. Vintage Champagne in disguise. 2011: The picture of elegance and class. Such pure and clean lines, a touch of citrus, a hit of minerality all delivered effortlessly on a find bead and sensuous mouth feel. One of my annual holliday favorites and sure to please any Champagne snob that might haunt your gatherings.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-19-2015
Update: This wine continues to amaze me year after year. Each time I open a bottle I marvel at the quality of the wine for the price tag. Re-reading my review from 2011, I have tasted hundreds of different bottles of Champagne, and this bottle of wine still makes me incredibly happy. With 6 years on the lees, the integration is wonderful, soft mouth feel, ripe orchard fruit, toasty at the back. Still good after all these years. Wonderfully balanced bubbles for a wonderfully balanced price tag. The Carte Blanche is my most often used excuse to open bubbles just for the sake of having a glass of Champagne, there are always a couple of bottles stashed away around my house. Powerfully elegant, with toasted nutty notes and a length on the finish that reasserts why I love this wine.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

Beehive Distilling Jack Rabbit Utah Gin 750ml
Review Date: 10-14-2014
Easily my gin of the year, and firmly in my "top five" gin rotation (yes, sadly we drink that much gin in my house). The botanical pairing of rose petal and sage makes for a complex, intriguing, and stunning gin. The nose is highlighted by the pretty rose notes, with just a hint of sage and juniper. The palate plays up the sage, soft and supple, with just the right balance of floral notes to keep it from becoming cloying. This bottle was empty exactly one week after I brought it home, I couldn't stop drinking it. Perfect with tonic, I also like it in French 75's or simply in a gimlet. Love it!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Cain "Cuvée NV10" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 09-21-2014
Combining the richness of the 2009 vintage with the freshness of the 2010, this incredible multi-vintage red offers an extraordinarily balanced Napa Cab. The dark fruit is layered with notes of raspberry and currant, laced with savory leather. To add balance to this blend, the 2010 brings freshness, red cherry and herbal components, fresh mint and crushed sage. The sum is greater than the parts in this case.
Price: $33.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

Singani 63 Bolivian Muscat Brandy 750ml
Review Date: 09-15-2014
Exactly what we love to drink. After a "serious day in the office" tasting as many as 40 different whiskies, the Singani is the type of spirit I want to come home to, delicious. Fresh, and lively, you get the essence of the Muscat grape, floral, with ripe peach and apricot, this is super clean and dangerously drinkable. So much to do with it: Pisco sour stand-in, add some tonic, or lemon soda with a twist; I would even venture to say it would be killer in a Mojito.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2002 Thiénot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-28-2014
A study in elegant richness and composure. The La Vigne Aux Gamins is one of the best bottles of bubbles I have had the pleasure to have this year. Out of the glass come toasted almonds and a hint of pound cake, with elegant aromas of white flowers and fresh chalk, signs of the beautiful Chardonnay that is about to envelope your palate. The first sip rushes in with spiced apples, fresh baguette and a beautiful counterbalance of white flowers that follow through from the nose. The freshness of this wine is what sets it apart, there is a persistent minerality that lends lift to the mouth feel, and an elegance that dances all the way through to the beautifully long and full finish. These notes were written on a day that we tried a total of 63 other Champagnes, from Krug to Billecart; this wine was undoubtedly one of the best things we tasted.
Price: $149.00 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 WS 93

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-20-2014
Cristal is really serious Champagne. Yes it is famous, yes it has a lot of hype, but behind all of that, there is some of best Champagne in the bottle you will find anywhere. The 2006 is a beautiful combination of ripe summer fruit that is characteristic of the vintage, and a driving minerality that comes from the chalky soil from estate-grown grapes. I was well impressed with the golden apple and pear notes that were delivered alongside super-fine bubbles and a precise mineral presence. A hint of nutty richness at the back-end of the palate adds just the perfect balance of richness. This is a wine that will develop in the cellar for years to come and will undoubtedly reward your patience.

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin 375ml
Review Date: 05-01-2014
This was the only bottle I brought back from our recent trip to Scotland. When you spend all day tastings as many as 60 Scotches, the idea of buying booze was pretty much the farthest thing from my mind...until I tried this gin. We were lucky enough to stumble into a very reputable bottle shop where the lovely lady was kind enough to let us try this. As soon as I did, I was hooked. This is by far the most complex and intriguing gin I have ever tasted. Layers of herbal notes that keep revealing themselves, juniper, bay leaf, and lemon zest, to name a few. It is so fresh and clean, not a rough edge to be found. I couldn’t believe that it was a gin I was drinking. If you are a fan of complex spirits, this is worth getting into a glass near you.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 next