Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

  
2013 Ermitage "Victor" Costieres de Nimes Rouge
Review Date: 08-17-2015
This little Rhone has a lot character! I thought I was just going to get a hit of jammy red fruit and some acidity. Ermitage has some serious structure. Snap of acidity and fine tannins. This is one great food wine. Bring it to your next event, and you won't be disappointed.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
Review Date: 08-17-2015
Year in and year out Franck and Betty Millet makes some of my favorite Sancerres. Great mineral from limestone-clay soil. The nose pops with wonderful citrus and grassy aromatics. But, it is not just acidity, there is a nice palate weight to this young wine. Goat cheese tart would be a wonderful match.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-17-2015
One of the best red wines I have tried all year! Barbi’s “Blue Label” Brunello is the heart of the estate’s production and its flagship bottling. Does not hurt it is a 2010, one of the best vintages in years. 24 months in small-medium size oak barrels for a few months, then the remainder in larger oak barrels; 4 months further refining in bottles. Dark fruit and spice box on the nose. Great earth tones, tannins and a backbone of acidity shows off the amazing structure of the vintage. Approachable now, but do yourself a favor: get a case and put it away for 10 years. Any grilled meats will do this bottle proud.

2012 Butternut California Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-17-2015
With butter in the label I was thinking it was going to be just one note of oak. To my surprise, it had some acidity. Fresh apple and candied spice. With a soft creamy finish. Easygoing summertime wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 08-14-2015
La Monacesca did it again! This is one of my top five white wines! Late harvest, low yields and a mineral-laden soil produces such a amazing wine. I know it is great when I can sit for a half an hour with one glass. Wonderful with food or on its own. No oak involved and none needed. Did I mention superb natural acidity? Give it a good decanting and watch the magic unfold. Intense, dry and fruity! What more could you want from a bottle under $20? Well if you ask me, grilled Santa Barbara spot prawns are a match made in Heaven!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92 AG 91

2010 Viña Real Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 08-10-2015
Cune is one of my favorite bodegas in Rioja, right in the heart of Haro. The 2010 Crianza is made from hand-harvested grapes from Rioja Alavesa. This area brings such complexity to the wines. The nose pops with great aromas of toasty vanilla and red-berried fruit. It spends some time in both French and American oak, with a soft and pleasing palate giving way to some refreshing acidity. Enjoy the rich lingering finish and firm tannic backbone. This is such a great food wine; take me to your BBQ!!!!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-18-2015
I have yet to find a 2009 Bordeaux I have not liked, and this is no different! Filled with a bountiful amount of blackberry fruit and a lovely tobacco and black pepper spice to round out the back end, this is a great crossover wine. For all of you who want to step beyond your Napa comfort zone, this provides a wonderful complexity, under twenty, that is hard to find in the States.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Jordan Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 06-18-2015
Once again the Jordan Chardonnay straddles that line between the new and old world taste. Pretty aromas of Mandarin orange and Honeysuckle. Which opens up to a rich and creamy mid-palate. But it is the acidity from the gravel deposit soil that gives this wine a elegance like no other! To all those who think California Chardonnay is one big oak bomb. Give yourself a treat and buy a bottle.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91

2014 Les Terres de St-Hilaire "Sagesse" VDP du Var Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2015
This is the pale pink color that everyone is searching for in a rose. Made up of Grenache, Syrah, and Cinsault. The nose is complex with citrus, namely lemon and grapefruit, and raspberries. On the palate, it is supple, ample, and complex. You can't beat the price of $13.99. Most rosés of this quality are reaching well into the twenty dollar range. Buy it for your next party, you won't be disappointed.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Poggiarellino is one of the old rural Tuscan traditions in wine making. Don't look for any new world style Brunellos here. This thirty acre farm is surrounded by beautiful oil? OR old? trees. What grape wouldn't want to live here! The wine is bold, earthy, and full-bodied. Taste red and black fruit with a subtle grace on nose and palate, finishing with well-developed tannins, mineral texture, tobacco and underbrush notes. What a bottle for $30 bucks!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Cibonne "Tentations" Côtes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 05-29-2015
This Fantastic blend of Cinsault, Grenache and Tibouren is one of the best selling Rosé from Provence! As the price for lesser quality Rosés rise, this one holds steady. With a delicate nose of spice, floral and stone fruit, this elegant and soft palate reminds you why we love Côtes de Provence Rosé soooo much! This is a must with simple grilled fish, fresh fruit, and cheeses. Grab this one bottle for any summertime affair.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-29-2015
Banshee Wines have done it again! This value Pinot Noir stacks up to many of the over twenty bottles on the shelf. I don't know where they are sources their fruit but please keep it up. Medium body in style and perfect red cherry fruit make it a must at any summer outing.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Bucklin "Old Hill Ranch Ancient Field Blend" Sonoma Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 04-16-2015
It's primarily estate Zinfandel, then throw in the kitchen sink for the rest. But, what great grapes in that sink ! I refer to dry-farmed and certified organic, for one of the most unique red wines in the store . Think of great dark purple hue in the glass, nose of spice box and raked leaves ; much softer than expected on the palate, with a burst of blackberry compote and fantastic acidity. There is a grip of tannins though that finishes this wine . This is truly a one of a kind wine!
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2013 Joseph Swan "Ritchie Vineyard" Russian River Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 04-16-2015
What a lovely Sauvignon Blanc! I would put this up against any old world style Sauvignon Blanc's. The nose hits you with pretty herbal notes of lemon grass and lime. Think of great balanced acidity and a surprising weight on the mid-palate. This is a one of a kind wine you will only find in the Ritchie vineyard. Do yourself a favor and get one.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Casanova di Neri "Tenuta Nuova" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-30-2015
There is something to be said about less thinking, more drinking. Opinions and scores be damned! This my friends, is just a fantastic glass of wine! Aromatics on this wine are stunning. Picking up just a hint of vanilla. Then comes the dark cherry and violets. Luscious fruit, and a rich refined spice pop in your mouth. What a treat to drink. Food or not, this wine does not disappoint. This is one wine that is not easy to share. So choice your friends wisely.

2014 Chateau les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clementine" Cotes de Provence Rosé
Review Date: 03-30-2015
One of my favorite Rosés, year in and year out! When people ask me for Provence Rosé, it does not get much better than this. All organic methods of farming are gathered in this beautiful little part of Cotes de Provence. When people ask for that light salmon color, this wine has that. Delicate, with a fresh acidity for a truly magical experience. Got that too. As we used to say back home, this is a true porch sipper!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-23-2015
In 1916 Jules Armand purchased the property located at Valenton St Loubès, a small town 25 km from Bordeaux. A stone's throw from the influence of the two rivers (the Garonne and Dordogne). It's these two rivers that add an early ripening and deeper concentration to the grapes. Great fruit and spice which gives way to a super dry finish. Perfect weekday wine.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 02-23-2015
Pascual Toso Malbec is like a great old friend. You always know what you are going to get. Plush blackberry and plum fruit. Wonderful tobacco and vanilla spice. Good acidity and silky tannins. Perfect wine for a outdoor BBQ or anything you want throw on the grill. With a price like this keep a case on hand at all times.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 02-23-2015
One of the top selling reds in the store year after year. Wonderful nose of dark fruit ( black cherry ) and spice ( dark mocha ). This is a big, rich, wine with a luscious mouth feel. The ultimate in silky smooth finish! Perfect party wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 12-01-2014
What a wonderful find in some of the best vineyard sites of the Chianti Classico region (Conca D’Oro). On the hillsides of the town of Panzano this IGT first pops with vibrant color in the glass and lovely shades of violet and plum. On the nose it burst with floral, spice and seamlessly layered oak! Deep, rich and alluring mouthfeel. It keeps you reaching for the glass. Espresso roast, cassis, blueberries, blackberries and a hint of smoky tar rounds out the finish. This is one full-bodied wine! But, with that great Italian acidity. A fantastic gift for the holidays or any day for that matter! Enjoy--I know I am.

2012 Château de la Font du Loup Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 11-04-2014
Châteauneuf du Pape has lost its luster for me. Especially on the affordable price point. Not very complicated. Way too much fruit. Then along came La Loup! This is the best Chateauneuf I have tried in years!! Earth tones, floral and spice meet you in the glass. Very elegant mouthfeel, smooth, soft and harmonious. A good length and lovely acidity. Integrated tannins really round out this wine. Once again I must mention, elegant! This is a perfect holiday wine!

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
Review Date: 10-13-2014
Friuli is one of the top areas for white wines anywhere. This Sauvignon does not disappoint! Fruit and herbs for days in this wine. Just when you think you are going to get hit with some flabby mouth feel, BAM! Bone-dry acidity. A little more weight to it than your average Sauvignon Blanc. What a wonderfully long lasting finish too!
Price: $13.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

La Monacesca "Mirum" MV Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva 20th Anniversary
Review Date: 10-10-2014
One of my top white wines in the store. This is a treat for any wine drinker. The blend of 85% Verdicchio from the 2008 vintage, with 15% Verdicchio coming from the 2000-2001-2002-2004 vintages. In the hands of Aldo Cifola--and the way he manages wine operation can be seen in every detail. Tropical fruits, honey, ripe citrus and roasted almonds. Finish for days! This is very special wine and at this price it is a steal. With the holidays fast approaching this gift is perfect for any occasion.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2014
One of the most approachable Brunellos in the bunch. Intense dark berry color meets you in the glass. Rounded fruit with hints of plum and floral notes. Great acidity and velvety tannins. This is a balanced and powerful wine ready for any cut of meat you want to throw at it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-07-2014
The Ferrero Estate is located at the Podere Pascena, about halfway between Sant’Angelo in Colle and Sant’Angelo Scalo, on the southern slopes of Montalcino. Wonderful Tuscan earth and spice. Once again, Ferrero gives a rich, rounder style of fruit and tannins. But, enough acidity to handle any meat dish or pasta. Give it some time in the decanter and enjoy!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Querceto Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 06-30-2014
If you thought Chianti was all dusty tannins and acidity, this wine will change your tune. Black cherry and a hint of fine pipe tobacco greets you in the glass. This being a Riserva, you get a bigger, richer, darker flavor in the glass. That being said, it's still a very balanced wine. With that wonderful Sangiovese acidity! Firm tannins and a long, sturdy finish. Makes it great for any of your Italian dishes!

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth 1L
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-25-2011
In our recent staff tasting for sparkling wines. This by far was top of the class! I brought it to start the Thanksgiving Day events. Deligeroy did not disappoint! It went perfect with the root salad!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-28-2011
Collard-Picard is a relatively new Champagne house, but with very old ties, which means they are getting a hold of some great fruit and, in turn, are making some great wines! I just love the toasty notes in this Champagne. It has also got a backbone of mimerality and acid that can stand up to meal.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2010
For me, one of the best finds at our recent Champagne tasting! It's off-dry, with beautiful fruit and a nice toasty nose. All this from third generation winemaking family whose holdings consist of 15 hectares of Grand Cru vineyards. The winemaking here is all about elegance and finesse and allowing the terroir to speak for itself and it shows.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91