Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
Macallan 18 year old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Here is the Rolls-Royce of single malt. Not everybody needs a Rolls-Royce--some people dream of one, others detest the idea of luxury for luxury's sake. Nonetheless, Macallan has built a reputation over the last half century for producing the finest sherried malts on the planet. Geek will argue about whether that's still the case, but no one can deny that this is top-notch stuff. That's why I call it a "message malt." It sends a strong message no matter what you're trying to say.
Price: $209.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 92 WA 91

1995 Craigellachie 18 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
This massive cask is definitely one of my favorites from this year. Craigellachie is a wonderful and under-appreciated distillery that's only now getting recognition as a true Scottish Blue Chip. Its OB 17-year offering has recently won Speyside whisky of the year and this 18-year-old first-fill sherry version is another example of why the distillery is so well regarded by those in the know. Here we have some really classic sherry aromas, some fudge, wisps of gun smoke, dark dried plummy fruit. The palate dries up nicely (this is definitely Oloroso, not PX), but still brings out some Christmas cake and other dense fruity/spicy aromas. A real winner and an absolute steal considering where other malts in first-fill sherry are fetching these days.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Miltonduff 19 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Wildly light in color for the age, but it makes up for it by being so soft and easy. Notes of fondant, vanilla, wild fruit and some pomace fruit continue from the nose to the palate where the malt factor turns up a few notches. Ultra clean, fun and not hard to appreciate. It's nice to have a single barrel cask strength option that you can pour for anyone without worrying that you'll scare them off.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Smoky & Peaty Tobermory (Ledaig) 8 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
This is one of the better Ledaigs we've tasted. Considering this is the same price as the 46% standard bottling I think it's a steal. Last year we destroyed it with a nice 7-year-old "smoky island" whisky from this same distillery. Here we have a whisky that's listed as an 8-year but is actually closer to 10 years (distilled 2004 - bottled 2014). It's a slightly cleaner version of this special malt than last year's offering from Exclusive Malts. It's old, better, and the EXACT same price. NO BRAINER! Stock up before the geeks realize what they're missing and it's gone forever.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Bowmore 12 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
I'm totally in love with Bowmore, as I regularly mention, and some might argue that we focus too much on this special distillery. The truth is when we find casks from Bowmore, which is rare, they're generally so good, that it's nearly impossible to say no. Recently, prices have been increasing and I'm fearing the young affordable Bowmore of years past might be increasingly difficult to find in the current market. Therefore, we will continue to buy every great Bowmore we can find. This is the second 12 year old Bowmore in stock and a wonderful educational contrast to the style of the Signatory. Coming out of a traditional refill hogshead, we get a very old school style peater. Dark smoke, with hints of motor oil and old wooden rafters. In the back a subtle dark cocoa peaks through. The palate is full force on that slightly earthy veggie peat. All this is wrapped around some salted pickled fruit and the mid-palate really turns up that wonderful balancing sweetness. In the back the salt and brine kick up a bit. The stuff of legend I tell you.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

1998 Tamdhu 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Tamdhu is one of the unsung heros of Speyside. The distillery, which until recently was scheduled to be demolished, has seen somewhat of a resurgence with the new ownership offering a new, attractively packaged 10-year-old. This splendid cask is just a fruit monster! Like you've blended and reduced a ton of fresh orchard fruit. On the palate, the malt comes roaring back with some balancing pepper, clove and other baking spices, along with a dollop of fresh vanilla extract. Fun, but easy to appreciate. From all the feedback so far this one has been a real hit with bourbon lovers.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1997 Laphroaig 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
We all know Laphroaig is a love or hate proposition and this, my friends, is proper Laphroaig. Aged in a hogshead for 16 years, the nose starts exactly where you'd hope -PEAT! The massive smoke is not one dimensional however, moving from sooty embers to oceany briny and back again. One the palate, the sweet malt balances the intense peat nicely with the slightly lower ABV making it shockingly easy to consume. This reminds me of somewhere between the old 15 year and the current 10 year cask strength. A stupendous offering that we're absolutely lucky to have.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

1996 Tobermory 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
BOOOOOOOOOM! This is definitely my favorite Tobermory to date. This fun and funky little distillery from the gorgeous Isle of Mull, is considered very high quality. That said, the distillery offering, their 15-year-old, sells at close to $140. This is several years older and from one single cask, but also has even more character than the standard offering. Perhaps it's the fact the half the time the little distillery on Mull is devoted to creating peated whisky, but this definitely has a phenolic background note which makes it very intriguing at first glance. While the distillery is officially in the highlands, this bottling is the epitome of an "Island" whisky. It has a certain sense of place that is just unexplainable. Fruit, salt, malt, and the tiniest hint of smoke - pure joy! The finish has this fabulous earthy gravel note that slowly merges into a dark fudge quality. Probably the most unexpected of this years offerings and the obvious contender for sleeper hit of the year.
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

1990 Girvan 24 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
This is single grain and from the same distillery that recently released a 25-year-old version at nearly five times the price. This is ULTRA easygoing whisky. Not for your big peat heads, this is the stuff you give to the guy that loves high-end blends or just easy drinking. Maybe not the most complex whisky on offer this year, but certainly one of the easiest we have right now. The nose is low aroma, with subtle yellow fruit aromas. Hints of vanilla and fresh cut wood continue on to the palate where the sweet grain takes over. Won't scratch the itch for some of the malt guys, but will make all the normal drinkers in the world VERY happy.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
We all know the Dr. Bill can do no wrong and this fabulous new offering from Glenmo's Private Edition line is no exception. I love it when instead of getting super experimental (think Ardbeg Space Whisky) the guys at Glenmo kind of go back the other way. Producing whisky by hand from heirloom varieties of barley is not a first for the modern whisky industry, but Dr. Bill has done it in such a thoughtful and delicious way, you're almost glad he didn't do it first. We absolutely loved the Bere Barley from Bruichladdich a couple of years ago and this takes the idea of barley varietals one step further by including an in house malting scheme. The result is something utterly unique and perhaps wildly authentic. This feels like old school whisky (although retaining Glenmo's classic elegance) and has a depth and soul hard to come by in modern releases. The high protein variety of barley producers far less alcohol (less starch), but much more character than the spring varietals typically used. Robust and round, with tons a fruit and small but persistent spicy quality. We've got a decent supply right now, but like all the Private Editions we'll have people asking about this one for years to come (not to mention it's likely to take home some serious awards later in the year).
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSF (11 year & 6 months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
We all know that these Four Roses Single Barrels can be off the chain, but this one is just a whole different thing. We're talking about ULTRA rich nose of maple and spice. Subtle dusty earth tones build around that base moving toward the darker chocolate and flambéed fruit. On the palate, the surprising dryness is refreshing with that lovely gravelly earthiness and a strong peppery spice. Watch out!!!
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSK (9 year & 8 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
I tend to lean toward the older offerings from Four Roses when we get the single barrels as they tend to have additional concentration and power that's not seen in the under 10-year-old stuff. My rule of thumb has officially been thrown out the window (it was a terrible one anyway, considering I'm always talking about how older doesn't always equal better), because this little OBSK is just singing on every level. I'm glad we didn't wait one more day before dumping this baby, it's got everything I want in a high rye bourbon. Sweet candy and savory spice on the nose. Behind those powerful aromas, a deep dark woodsy thing that reminds me of old glories from the 60s and 70s. The palate is a constant struggle between the dusty spice and the sweet vanilla-laden oak. Whoa, it's a big boy! Absolutely delicious!
Price: $66.99 Add To Waiting List

Lagavulin Distiller's Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
This stuff is so overtly awesome it's hard not recommend it even to people who adamantly hate peat smoke. Something about putting that sweet syrupy sherry note on top of the oily robust spirit that we get from Lagavulin is so satisfying, I see why every other distiller in the world is trying to emulate it. Of course, nothing is like Lagavulin so where others fail miserably, the Lagavulin Distillers Edition is a triumph. Massive, oily, all encompassing - this is whisky you'll need to savor slowly. It borders on dessert level sweetness, but all that oil and smoke keeps it in range. As always, there is a limited supply of this whisky and once it's gone we'll have to wait for the new release.
Price: $109.99 Add To Waiting List

Louis XIII de Remy Martin Grande Champagne Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Louis XIII is all about history and authenticity. It's absolutely silly the time and expertise that goes into creating this special blend. It's the ultimate luxury experience and a window into the History of Cognac. This special cognac represents a continuity between the first bottling many decades ago. Want to actually taste the cognac that Charles De Gaul opened at the end of WWII - this is the stuff. With a minimum age of 40 years, none of the 4 master blenders has actually tasted their final blend, but they have compared them to older bottlings to make sure that the quality remains identical through out each bottling. The gorgeous hand blown crystal just adds to the majesty. Truly decadent and totally worth every penny.
Price: $3,299.99 Add To Waiting List

1978 Port Dundas 36 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
This is an enigmatic whisky from an equally mysterious distillery. The whisky needs some time, it needs you to take a step back and take some time with it. Big powerful vanilla nose (almost like a roasted vanilla). The palate has tons of phenol (it's not peat) but definitely some dark earthy flavors. There's also tons of fresh exotic botanicals in there (ginseng, orris, ginger, meadowsweet?) and then those dark dense phenolic flavors coming back. Diesel oil, roasted chestnuts, burning coal. Massively weird and totally special.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Mortlach 7 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
This fun and educational little monster whisky is the sort that makes geeks giddy and noobs cringe. I seriously heard two different groups at the Scotch Club tasting of this product proclaim that it was fabulous, while the other announced that they didn't get it at all. It's naked young Mortlach in all its malty splendor. If you're looking for something sweet and soft this is not it. It does have mounds of vanilla fudge (cake frosting), yellow flowers, snappy malty spark. Linear and structured. Takes water pretty well, but quickly looses intensity after a few drops.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Caol Ila 5 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-25-2015
This young Caol Ila has gone over well with some of the more serious drinkers that frequent our spirits department. Like a briny wave crashing over your head, the Caol Ila is as fresh and vibrant as any Islay you've ever had. Definitely with the lemony briny and maybe the slightest hint of kippers, the smoky is clean and billowing. Takes water nicely, but beware of the high ABV!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Johnnie Walker Green Label 15 year old Blended Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
Well well well, we've finally seen the return of the infamous Johnnie Green. I guess it wasn't until Diageo decided to discontinue it that everybody realized how freaking amazing it was. This is the most classic blended malt whisky and still represents one of the best deals in Scotch. We're talking about a blend of single malts from Diageo's top distilleries at 15 years of age. Caol Ila, Talisker, Linkwood, and Cragganmore are available as younger expressions, but they're all right around this price. Suddenly, blending them all together (without the addition of grain) at 15 years of age and they're much more affordable. I would argue that in this case the whisky is much more than simply the sum of its parts. This is why blended whisky was so popular back in the day, awesome whisky at affordable prices.
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94

Mount Gay Eclipse Barbados Rum 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
What can I say about the wonderful rum from Barbados that hasn't already been said. The Bajans are the warmest, most welcoming people in the Caribbean and this rum mimics that attitude perfectly. It's also one of the most versatile inexpensive rums on the market. Instead of being a soulless unaged column distilled thing, it's full of character from the addition of a solid quantity of pot still rum. Not funky at all, but giving just the right amount of power to balance nicely in a cocktail. All about balance, but with tons of character. It's just TOO easy to drink. Grab a some tonic or some ginger, whatever you choose you really can't go wrong.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Faultline K&L Exclusive St. Lucia Rum 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
By far the most wild and weird of our Faultline rums - this is the second cask we've sourced from this great distillery through the Hamilton rum company. The last one was MUCH MUCH more difficult, with flavors of burning tires and angry mobs. This one still has that wonderful potstilly intensity but more fruit and creamy vanilla come out. Still powerful and heady and probably the go to right now for an aged pot still for both sipping and mixing. Stands up nicely in a Tiki drink by the way.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Uitvlugt 20 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
BY far the most subtle of our three rums we found last spring. It still has an incredible amount of complexity. Incredible long and supple, it's not as much on the dark woody flavors and of course this is distilled on a column so the body is slight less powerful, but nonetheless rich and highly textured. This is fresh pommace fruit all day long, with a twinge of herbal depth. The high proof keeps it from going too sweet and I think this will really speak to Scotch drinkers.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List

Enmore 25 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
This massive rum is probably my favorite spirits product on this years container from Scotland. Absolutely massive nose of dense dark wood flavors, massively sweet nose, speckled with spice and fresh herbal qualities. ON the palate the perceived sweetness is masked by a host of dark exotic wood flavors, anise/carraway, dense cocoa, but then it comes right back with all that dense baked fruit. Massively enjoyable. The beauties of that 200 year old Coffey still exemplified in one bottle.
Price: $199.99 Add To Waiting List

Hampden 14 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Jamaica Rum 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
I feel so incredibly lucky to have stumbled upon this stupendous cask. I mean I've always been a fan of the high ester style rums coming out of the historic Hampden Estate Distillery. But, they've never been the most approachable style. That's why the big distilleries blend in some column distilled light rum to keep them from being too over the top. Little did they know that if they just aged the stuff for a bit longer, keep the proof up a bit, don't add all that sugar and caramel coloring, they'd have something that transcends almost anything else in the market place. This magnificent specimen of Jamaica's potential is going to change your mind about RUM. It's a total knock out. The funky intense flavors in the young rums have rounded out to powerful fruit flavors balanced with incredible spice and wood elements. The perfect balance of sweet and savory. It drinks like nothing else in the store. Also the label is pretty...really really pretty.
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruichladdich Black Art 4th Edition Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
This is the magical mystery of Scotland. Jim McEwan's own special blend has always been a tightly held secret. For the first time the other night at his recent bottle signing he admitted to the addition of at least a few ingredients. Maybe it was a slip of the tongue and while the outrageous color does allude to the revelation, Mr. McEwan did confirm that all the first growths of Bordeaux were involved in the blend, pretty cheeky really. Anyway, this is the stuff of legend and it tastes like nothing else and represents some of the only older stocks left at the special distillery north of Port Charlotte. A fine addition to any collection.
Price: $299.99 Add To Waiting List

Midleton Very Rare Irish Whiskey 2014 Release 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2015
This is the flagship product from the special distillery of the same name. It's a blended of pure pot still and grain whiskey of an indeterminate age, but it's simply one of the easiest drinking products in the world. You can give Midleton Very Rare to ANYONE and they're going to love it. Geeks, noobs, grandma, college buddy, colleague, whatever - they'll love it. It also comes with a beautiful gift box containing an individualized invitation to Ireland's most important distillery.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila-Haut" Côtes-du-Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 03-11-2015
Wow! I'm super surprised by this. I was expecting something over the top, but this is perfectly balanced. Absolutely lovely bright red fruit, slight spice and clear mineral nose. The palate continues the freshness and complexity with a lovely balancing acidity. Fragrant but not perfumy, dense but not too thick. Absolutely stupendously drinkable at this price or any for that matter.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 92

Maker's Mark Cask Strength Bourbon 375ml
Review Date: 03-06-2015
What a shock this was! I've always found the standard makers to be a bit on the sweet side, but this new cask strength version is just perfect. Very close to some of the excellent old wheaters of days passed. No Old Fitz, No Pappy, no Weller, no problem! Grab these while they're here cause we've got no limit and no telling when we'll get more.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Faultline Blended Scotch Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-04-2015
Perhaps our greatest triumph to date because making good whisky cheap (or should that read “cheap whisky good”) is DANG hard work. I don't know if there is a product that we sell that I've spent more time or energy on getting right. We literally went through hundreds of samples of blended whisky from multiple suppliers. I worked meticulously with the artist to create the perfect label to exemplify this special blend. Ultimately, what we chose to blend wasn't necessarily the most powerful or intense option, but instead the goddamned most drinkable thing we could find at any price. We insisted it not be colored and bottled at 100 proof because while it was tasty at 80 proof, a whole lot of this stuff was going to go into long drinks and over rocks. Nothing else on the market stands up so well in a drink -long, short, classic whatever! The added proof does wonders to improve the flavor not to mention add texture. The inclusion of the beautiful bevy of Islay, Island, and Highland single malt give it depth, but the lack of caramel coloring might be the real reason this worked so well. The color will undoubtedly scare some old school whisky drinkers–it’s really really light in color. We’ve been conditioned by the industry to think, darker is better. Producers believe (and not without reason) that consumers will taste with their eyes first and therefore the negative flavor effects of the chemical coloring are vastly outweighed by the psychological effects of the dark color – it should be noted that some believe the addition of caramel color might enhance flavor of blended whisky, I am not one of those people. It is indeed true that consumers prefer darker colored whisky even if it’s the exact same stuff. Conditioning is a powerful thing. If the light color is a problem for you, please close your eyes (figuratively) because we are indeed incredibly influenced by our visual perceptions and this whisky deserves a fair shake. Needless to say, I was personally very happy with the final product before it shipped, but we knew the true test would always be when the real whisky geeks got hold of it. You know the guys who NEVER hold their tongue, no matter how obviously important or irritating something might be to you. Love those guys. While some diehards thought it was "pretty darn good for the price,” as expected, other whisky heads just about fell out of their chairs when they tasted it. "How much of this stuff do you have? I'm gonna bunker at least 2 cases…no 3 cases. Do you have enough?" Music to my ears. For now, yes we have enough, for now…
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

1792 Ridgemont Reserve Bourbon 750ml (ships as a 1.5L)
Review Date: 02-19-2015
We do love Barton/1792. Always so soft, so easy going. The distillery is tucked down in this gorgeous little valley, so that the stacks stick up as you drive in before you can actually see the distillery. Feels like the perfect place to hide your still. One of the last great Bardstown operations, this stuff is always a solid choice when you want something easy, but interesting. It's kind of Like Woodford Reserve 10 years ago--nobody has caught on yet!
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

Anchor Old Tom Gin 750ml
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Anchor’s Old Tom is not a syrupy sweet gin, but has the subtle balancing sweetness that one expects from an Old Tom. On certain occasions you might want an OT that’s simple and straight forward, but if you want some thing with a little bit more depth, this should be your first choice. Warming and spicy, it feels like this stuff would be way to much to handle without the hint of sweetness. Great texture as well, showing a textural richness only found in the popular Ransom OT. Of course that product is barrel aged and pot still malted barley, so a pre-modern OT – while the Anchor is distilled more cleanly. Also the smiling cat on the label makes me happy.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Anchor Junipero Gin 750ml
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Junipero has become the iconic gin of both craft distillation and California. That stark understated label does not prepare you for the bold bouquet of aromas in the glass. Bright and crystal clear, the flavors are extremely well delineated as well. I love this with tonic, but when I want a martini that’s going to make me stand up, this is usually what I reach for.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Anchor Christmas Spirit White Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 02-18-2015
This is absolutely one of the finest white spirits you'll find anywhere. Forget about the christmas part, we should all be drinking this all night every night! What i really recommend here is using it as the base for a barrel aged whiskey cocktail. I guarantee it will taste better than if you start with nearly any $30 bourbon on the shelf. All the herbal spice and rich grain practically screams out for a swizle stick and a novelty 2 liter barrel! Let it soak up some oak, bitters, and vermouth -unleash the christmas spirit.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
Review Date: 02-17-2015
Whistle Pig has become an industry leader in the rye resurgence. Maybe the first distillery to release a Canadian Straight Rye as a craft style brand. Now they're growing rye, having it contract distilled, and stocking their warehouses with farm to barrel rye whiskey of the highest order. Why they don't highlight how and where they get this wonderful whiskey is their marketing departments problem. My main concern is how it tastes. Brimming with rye spice, the 100 proof WP always keeps you on your toes. Not soft or overly sweet, it's one of these that really hits the balance between intensity of flavor and textural complexity. The overlying theme is bold dry rye flavors. Behind the earthy rye, some sweet floral and exotic herbal tones. A great example of why Canada (via Vermont?) is still the Rye capital of the Whisk(e)y world.
Price: $64.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96

Laphroaig 10 year old Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-17-2015
Poll the people of Islay regarding their favorite whisky to drink, I'll argue that this one would be in the running for top billing. The truth of the matter is that Laphroaig's CS offering remains one of the single most impressive regular releases on the market. Laphroaig is nothing if not consistent in terms of quality and this release is no slouch. Massively powerful aromas on nose are not actually totally dominated by iodine and peat, but instead lead by powerful vanilla and sweet oak. ON the palate is where the powerful spirit shows through. Briny and textural, it can be mistaken for no other. With water the sweet oak on the nose gives way to more ocean water, white pepper, and some industrial grade smoke. You should rely on this whisky as it will always deliver.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

1992 Clynelish K&L Exclusive 21 Year Old Cadenhead Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-17-2015
I truly find this whisky utterly wild. I'm a big time sucker for Clynelish because well, it's almost always delicious and right in my preferred style range. It's not because it tends to have the most powerful bouquet or the most intense flavors, but instead because they're is so little out there that tastes quite like it. Classic Clynelish on display here, not obfuscated by sherry or too much oak. The nose is subtle but massively complex, showing candied green apples (not quite jolly rancher), light herbal aromas, and an underlying creaminess that kind of reminds me of cake frosting. The palate shows a bright lifted sweetness that is completely balanced even at full strength. With water this gets a bit steely. Bring in more powerful aromas almost reminding me of the best Alsatian Riesling. More orange peel and pepper. A stunningly easy yet complex drink.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

Jefferson's Ocean Voyage #4 Aged at Sea Very Small Batch Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 02-13-2015
This is by far the best Ocean release I've yet tasted. I'm not sure if it's the additional time at sea or simply they're getting better at blending this unusual product once it returns to port. The rarity of the release is not the only reason to grab a bottle, it really does benefit from the abnormal aging technique. It's not particularly more or less saline than the others, but the depth is on the next level here. Powerful dense woodsy flavors meld perfectly with the subtle salty taffy sweetness. Candied orange peel and baking spice continue as it opens in the glass. The aromatic complexity is mimicked on the palate where the sweet oak and salt soften the powerful spice. Looks like Jefferson has found something special with this ocean line. What we got is all we'll get.
Price: $82.99 Add To Waiting List

Alexandre Le Brun "Passion" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-11-2015
Le Brun is like one of these culty type producers. He's one of these guys that treats his vines like his children. Probably reads them a story each night before bed and it shows. His entry-level wines are good, but once you cross the threshold into his upper level, it's a whole different story. Elegance like a Hepburn, depth like Death Valley, everything on this wine is firing on all cylinders. What a fabulous expression and proof positive that Le Brun is one of Champagne's most exciting producers.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Maison Angelot Mondeuse Bugey
Review Date: 02-11-2015
I don't really get how this is possible. It's so good and so cheap. This hits on so many levels for me. Everything you love about high quality Burgundy/Beaujolais, with the nervy intensity of Mondeuse. Depth, spice, richness, but not heavy at all. So versatile and exciting, but familiar and comforting. A fabulous wine at any price, so for less than $13 it's like you should probably buy a case, ya know?
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Dreissigacker Riesling Trocken
Review Date: 01-23-2015
Having cut his chops working under the famous Peter Keller -one of the Rheinhessen's most celebrated dry wine producers- you'd figure Jochen Dreissigacker had picked up a few tricks. Should we call it a Keller Killer? I might not going that far, but this is my new favorite Trocken riesling under $20 (at least until we get the new Weingut Keller stuff back). Everything is perfectly in place. Very pale yellow color. Absolutely stunning minerality. A magnicifent value by any measure.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Dr. Wehrheim Muschelkalk Weisser Burgunder (Pinot Blanc)
Review Date: 01-23-2015
I absolutely love a white wine with tons a floral qualitities without seeming perfumed. Few wines achieve this without going over the edge to artificial or overly pungent extracted floral elements. This wine is like taking a wish a of the most freshly picked white wild flowers, honeysuckles, and blooming chaparral (NO GARDINIAS!). As with all Pinot Blanc we worry about acidity, but this one has all it needs and more. Great little bottle that should continue to develope nicely over the next few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Ökonomierat Rebholz Pinot Blanc
Review Date: 01-23-2015
Not surprised that I loved Rebholz' new Pinot Blanc. They're one of the most exciting producers of dry white wine in Germany. Nearly crystal clear in color. Incredible purity and fabulous structure. Clean Pinot Blanc with great acidity, incredible intensity and a fabulous price point. You gotta get into it. Serve it with some rilette or grilled fish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Orgo Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
Review Date: 01-23-2015
Medium Gold Color. You can see the weight and power in the glass. Incredible nose of confit citrus, funky dried fruit, and almond butter. Massively tannic (for a white), pithy and focused. Needs something greasy and grilled, but one of the best I've had in this traditional Georgian style.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Château Musar Blanc Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 01-23-2015
FREAKING LOVE THIS STUFF. Who can argue with native Lebanese varietals? Besides of course stodgy wine critics! Ok I'll admit this isn't for everyone, but if it doesn't fit your palate you might want to consider changing your tastes ; ) Clearly I'm smitten and you will be too if you like any of the Lopez de Heredia white. A triumph in my opinion!
Price: $46.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Musar "Jeune" White Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 01-23-2015
Very balanced wine. Light straw colored. Showing only a hint of the viognier aromatics on the nose, but with the mineral and fruit taking front seat. On the palate, more viognier flowers and stone fruit, but with great acidity to keep it lively. The cleanest white I've had yet from the magnicifent property in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Château Musar "Hochar Père et Fils" Red Bekaa Valley
Review Date: 01-23-2015
I've always been a fan of the controversial wines from this historic producer and we've just opened the new releases in honor of the untimely passing of the family patriache, Serge Hochar. This, his namesake wine, is designed to be slightly more drinkable in it's youth than it's older more expensive siblings, but it nonetheless delivers all the wonderful estoteric qualities that we love (some hate) about Musar. This 2009 is developing perfectly and could last for years in the cellar, but is definitely delicious today. Tannins have softened and the acidity is in balance. No trace of VA and only a slightly bretty under note. SPLENDID stuff for geeks, but not so challenging that you'll lose friends over it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 92

2013 Lewis Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-15-2015
I can't imagine how Mr. Lewis does it every year. The wild intensity of these wines totally run amok with the senses. A true powerhouse from one of Napa's most controversial and respected producers.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
CG 95 WE 93

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 01-09-2015
This Mortlach is going to make so many people happy. We were shocked earlier this year when the owners released an 18 year in the UK at £200 for the half bottle. We were equally surprised when Signatory pointed out the 10 casks of Mortlach that had been undergoing a second maturation for over two years in fresh sherry casks. We were allowed to taste one. We bought it immediately. The rugged Mortlach spirit is in perfect balance with the lovely sherry influence. While the whisky isn't as dark as I remember it being, there's still all that rich oloroso influence. The spirit is flamboyant and still showing the great youthful savoriness that Mortlach is known for. So much going on here; a true display of why Mortlach is a true blue chip distillery.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Glenburgie 19 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-18-2014
For me, this is the ultimate Speyside expression. Recently, Speyside has become synonymous big unctuous sherry bombs. That is not what we'd call a typical Speyside, but nonetheless distilleries are changes people perceptions of what a regional character should be. This Glenburgie does a good job of putting the Speyside back into its box. Perfectly floral and lifted, the lightness and elegance is apparent on first nosing. When someone asks you what heather smells like, this is the bottle you grab. Light citrus and fragrant candies, the finesse is mimicked on the palate perfectly. Utterly drinkable and unbelievably classic. While this whisky is not light on flavor, it has tons of light flavors. Know what I mean?
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-18-2014
Glen Ord is a funny little distillery and this whisky is no different. Here we 100% on the waxy pear and apple fruit. Also some green grapes and fresh herbs. With air it throws aromas of some very unusual exotic tincture. This is idiosyncratic whisky to say the least. The real scotch lovers will be able to coax a lot out of this special cask, but they must be patient and listen.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Bowmore 12 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-18-2014
Beautiful Bowmore! We owe you so much. This fabulous distillery holds a place close in our hearts for many reasons, but the number one reason is they keep putting out RIDICULOUSLY good whisky. This is exactly what I want in an everyday Islay peater. The nose is all smoke, but surprisingly little peat. Instead, we get flinty embers, dried underbrush, fresh sugar cookies, dried sultanas, and a hidden sherry note to balance. The palate brings all the Islay you could want focused like a laser around a bevy of complex flavors. This is another one of these contrast whiskies that I just can't get enough of.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 year old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml ($42.99)

Ardbeg Uigeadail Traditional Strength Islay Single Malt Whisky ($54.99)

Ardbeg 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml ($42.99)

Caol Ila 12 year old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml ($59.99)

Ransom Old Tom Oregon Gin 750ml ($39.99)

Cragganmore 12-year-old Single Malt Whisky 750ml ($45.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin 750ml ($27.99)

Rittenhouse Rye 100 Proof, Bottled in Bond 750ml ($23.99)

Emile Pernot Vieux Pontarlier 65 Absinthe 750ml ($64.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte 750ml ($59.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila 750ml ($44.99)

Ocho Reposado Tequila 750ml ($48.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery 750ml ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)