Staff Favorites - David Othenin-Girard

David Othenin-Girard
David Othenin-Girard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2010 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 01-30-2016
I LOVE this wine for its ability to straddle the line between authentic, old school Rioja, and rich attractive opulence. Yes, it's built like the old school - dense dark aromas of tanned hide and tobacco, sweet herbs, and dense black fruit but it's never esoteric in the slightest. Balanced and full-bodied with a juiciness that keeps the dark aromas feeling fresh. The structure and length bode well for a long haul in the cellar, yet nothing sticks out or says, "I need more time." Everything is right there, right now. A wine that will undoubtedly serve you well over the course of this year and many, many more to follow.

1989 North British 25 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2016
North British is the backbone of a few legendary blends, but at 25 years it's gained considerable complexity. The nose is not hyper exotic, instead familiar aromas of sugar candies, white chocolate, canned fruits and cream. The mouth is soft and open with the sugar candies turning to buttery sugar cookies. No heat and no need for water, the medium body reminds and the clean finish has a slight twist of lemon and a long soft finish. Killer price here!
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

1988 Invergordon 27 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2016
This is the most subtle and reserved of the three single casks of Grain from this year. Light, fresh and open, slight herbal notes, medium-strong vanilla, an open easy-drinking style that can be appreciated by even the most novice of Scotch drinkers, yet will satisfy the hardened few. The palate is fresh apples and a slight note of varnish. There's definitely that corny quality on the nose you'd expect in a bourbon yet without any of the charry sweet notes. After all, this is made from nearly 100% corn with just a dash of malted barley. This is honestly exactly what I imagine a distilled bourbon mash left in refill casks would taste like after 27 years.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1988 Cambus 26 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2016
Cambus Distillery has without questions produced my favorite Single Grain expressions. This bottling is absolutely NOT an exception. My favorite of this years grain selections (not withstanding the excellent 50 yo), the complexity achieved here are astounding. It's all late summer and fall on the nose for me. A picnic surrounded by fully ripe orchards followed by hike through a forest in the Adirondacks. Yellow and orange preserves. All types of exotic oils and bursting with fruit. Medium bodied, not lacking in body at all, but not a syrupy style. It kind of reminds me of the driest version of the best cognac. An absolute gem that will change even the most skeptical mind about Grain Whisky.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1998 Ladeveze Plant de Graisse Tenereze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-20-2016
It's not every day that you run into a brandy distilled from Plant de Graisse. In fact, this maybe the only brandy like it in the entire world. Apparently, it's quite hard to grow, but I have to say I can't believe it's not more planted considering the wild exotic flavors it produces. This is absolutely one of the most unusual and interesting Armagnacs I've ever tasted. Showing the big powerful aromatics that Tenereze is known for, but in a totally different context than the usual Ugni Blanc/Colombard based spirits. The clay soils produce an intense style, but the flavors the Graisse produce fall more toward the cedar box, lacquer, and dried flowers. Deep spiced plums and odd fruits. Totally wild, it sort of stops you in your tracks. On the palate it's big, powerful, long and dry. The crazy fruit flavors taking over, some floral and that dark quality. It’s definitely one of the more esoteric products we’ve ever sold, but it will enthrall any spirits lover from the first whiff to the final drop.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Claude Thorin K&L Exclusive VS Grande Champagne Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-20-2016
This is just silly. There's absolutely no reason that we should be able to sell this quality of Cognac for such an outrageous price. Their VS quality is all about finesse and elegance. Aromatics are on the fruit and fresh flowers with a lovely fresh vanilla bean that pulls it all together. When compared to other Cognacs in the price range there's absolutely no comparison. You're getting small producer Grand Champagne Cognac painstakingly made by hand for less than $30.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1995 Inchgower 20 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2016
Inchgower is a magical distillery that we don't see very often. Representing one of the most esoteric styles come out of Speyside, it's not producing a fine, easy little spirit. Instead, the distillery tends to produce more robust and complex whiskies, and when we find one that's not too over-the-top weird, we definitely jump on it. Here we have a wonderful example of this special whisky in a fabulous first fill sherry butt. Absolutely distinct, yet so familiar, this is the real deal. Sweet dried fruit on the nose, pointed with complex aromatics of fresh moss, ginseng, dried herbs, and supple sherry flavors. On the palate, the considerable alcohol (57.5%) is completely lost behind nutty fudge, bright ginger, and a wonderful orange citrus note. No sherry bomb by any means, but an incredibly balanced and drinkable whisky that just DESTROYS its price point. An absolute gem that everyone will regret not snatching up when they had the chance.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1988 Blair Athol 26 Year Old "K&L Exclusive' Signatory Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky
Review Date: 01-15-2016
This cask absolutely shocked me. It's supposed to be "refill sherry." But DANG it's dark like cola. So, on first nosing there's tons and tons of dark cacao flavors. Not chocolate, but straight up cacao powder. The palate is dry and rich, not unlike the exceptional single barrel Glendronachs we used to get at around this price. Big spice, big dry sherry, mostly bigness. I like this with a solid dollop of water. It will take a few minutes to open up after addition, but when it does we go toward the exotic wood and candied orange peel flavors that I really love. The structure remains but a new mellowness exists. Whether you take it neat or add a bit of water, this is unquestionably one of the finest sherried casks in the store.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

1997 Glenlossie 17 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2016
The mild-mannered Glenlossie is an easy whisky miss. Not bottled as a single malt by the owners, it's producing some very high quality distillates just outside of Elgin. The style here is very classically Speyside. Sweet rich vanilla, not overpowering at all, but prominent. Nutty, sweet maltiness that balances the oaky barrels notes above. Finally, Highland flowers, wild honey, deep, complex wood tones. On the palate it starts sweet as can be. Just like you’ve diluted honey in a bit of water. It dries up as it moves to the back of the mouth with a medium body that begs another sips. The finish is neither cloying nor dry and finds a wonderful balance of sweet and savory flavors. With water this opens up quite nicely, although it doesn’t need it by any means. This could be a morning malt, but I like it in the afternoon, maybe for a sunset. Not quite aperitif style, but very generous and lively.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1997 Clynelish 18 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-15-2016
Despite our best efforts, Clynelish remains one of Scotland's most under-appreciated distilleries. Reason being, the owners don't bother marketing this special whisky. Truth be told, it's such an important component of their high-end blends that any traction on the single malt side could negatively affect blending stocks. Regardless, we occasionally get access to this special, rare distillate, and each time we find a great cask, I'm reminded of why it's so coveted by connoisseurs in the first place. Vibrant and alive, this mid-aged Clynelish shows incredible richness and depth. It's not sappy or sweet by any means, but textured and mouth-filling nonetheless. When we talk about minerals in a single malt, this should be held up as a prime example. Here, the typical bright pomace fruit of modern Clynelish taking a background to the cracked rock and mineral oil aromas at first. With a touch of water, earthen tones (fresh tobacco, rich beeswax, and hints of smoke) pop open. A little later a blast of citrus, lemon peel, ripe melon, and blistering structure. The distillery really is just a stone’s throw from the sea, and we can feel that here. Altogether a fabulous example of why I absolutely love Clynelish. The complexity is of this whisky cannot be understated.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

San Matias 3 Year Old Gran Reserva K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Extra Añejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2016
This great little cask is a total turnaround from the typical Extra Anejo. Instead of the over oaked, nearly bitter, sweet caramelized thing that many modern extras have these days. Instead, this 3+ year old single barrel sings with rich agave and sweet vanilla. It's unadulterated and not hiding behind a cloak of oak and additives. San Matias Gran Reserva was the first of all the Extra Anejo and they pride themselves on offering mature tequila that's not masking its true nature. This special cask upholds that mission and then some!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

High West "American Prairie" Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-11-2016
High West have made great strides in the craft whiskey world by blending young and old straight whiskies to achieve great depth and complexity for a fraction of the cost of other bottlers. They intelligently acquired good stocks of Indiana and Kentucky bourbon and rye before the explosion of craft bottlers bought up the remaining stocks of aging whiskey. Not only do they have some of the best stocks, they're completely transparent about why and how these products were produced. No mythology here, just really good whiskey, from named sources (where legally possible), bottled at a totally reasonable price.
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box Flaming Heart 15th Anniversary Limited Edition Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
Goodness, the flaming heart is truly a special thing indeed. This, the 5th release and 15th anniversary bottling, will likely go down as one of Compass Box's finest achievements. The movement toward bespoke blended will ultimately be paved by triumphs like this. It's incredible how a blend can become greater than the some of its parts when crafted thoughtfully. This perfect mixture of some of the finest Islay and Highland malts is a resounding vote for a future dominated by high quality blends. 1/4 old Caol Ila (30 year old Caol Ila is now easily going toward $400+ a bottle), 1/4 middle-aged Clynelish (easily $150 a bottle for a quality cask from this great distillery), 2/5 coming from youngish Caol Ila (even younger Caol Ilas are becoming VERY expensive), and 1/10th of the blend comes from a mixture of Highland Malts under 10 years old treated partially in new french oak. The resulting whisky brings the best of each of it's components to the forefront. It's a true masterpiece, owing to Mr. Glaser & Co's fine taste and propensity to acquire exceptional stocks. We grab a healthy chunk of this fabulous whisky the moment it became available, but it is indeed VERY limited.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 2 per customer

Carpano "Antica Formula" Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
NO finer tool is available to prevent the home bartender from ruining his or her Manhattan. As long as you manage to get some of this stuff in there, you're probably going to make a solid drink! Only added 1/4 of an oz? Don't worry, the rich dense vanilla will still poke through behind your whiskey of choice. Accidentally flipped the recipe? Who cares, more Carpano more delicious! Needless to say, Carpano Antique is single-handedly improving our cocktails. Some call it a crutch, but who doesn't like having something to lean on. Even with the plethora of fine vermouth on the market, Carpano Antique remains our number one BEST SELLER.
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Mortlach 25 Year Old Gordon & Macphail Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
The spectacular Mortlach 25 year from Gordon & Macphail reminds us how important the independent bottler. While the distillery's owners release a similar product for nearly 5 times the price, the little grocer in Elgin, who centuries ago was the official bottler for many of the Highland's finest distillers, releases one of the the finest examples of Speyside whisky for what might be considered a nominal price. Owe it to their solid contracts and some serious local street cred, this exquisite little whisky is one of the finest deals in the store.
Price: $219.99 Add To Cart

Lagavulin "Distiller's Edition" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-06-2016
This stuff is so overtly awesome it's hard not recommend it even to people who adamantly hate peat smoke. Something about putting that sweet syrupy sherry note on top of Lagavulin's oily robust spirit is so satisfying. I see why every other distiller in the world is trying to emulate it. Of course, nothing is like Lagavulin so where others fail miserably, the Lagavulin Distillers Edition is a triumph. Massive, rich, all encompassing, yet balanced - this is whisky you'll need to savor slowly. The sweet nutty aromas of the sherry make it seem almost dessert like on the nose, but all that oil and smoke keeps it in range. As always, there is a limited supply of this whisky and once it's gone we'll have to wait for the new release.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings American Small Batch Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
Stumbling across the modern masterpiece that is the Copper & Kings Distillery in the heart of bourbon country was surreal to say the least. We'd decided that walking was the best way to take in the neighborhood and Butchertown is ABSOLUTELY beautiful. But beyond the awesome architecture and the wonderful scenery, a crazy South African man is doing the most improbably thing making delicious brandy. Three gorgeous pot stills are cranking out some of the finest craft brandy we've ever come across. C&K were smart, realizing that it would take years to build stocks of aged brandy, they began searching high and low for stocks from other producers - high quality craft producers. Those aged stocks, while not distilled by them, represent a kind of house style, almost like the Charantais' use their old stocks to develop a house style across their various offerings. Now, I wouldn't call this traditional brandy by any means. It's not simply the use of these older stocks that sets them apart, but something is different here. Maybe it's those big old pot stills or just the Kentucky magic, but this is brandy that will change your mind about the whole category. The nose is tropical fruit, fresh herbs, subtle spice. So much depth, it definitely noses into the bourbon range. The palate is open and fresh, with a focused mouthfeel and medium body. It's try, but not astringent! So complex and willing to give, I just can't believe the price! All most experience the new King of Southern Brandy...Copper & Kings.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-18-2015
After falling head over heels in love with the people and place, we are indeed smitten with the brandy as well. This Butchertown reserve is one of the few cask strength American brandies available on the market. Bottled at a reasonable 124 proof, I don't really know what they're doing here, but there's something magic in this bottle. The nose is much closer to bourbon than any brandy we stock in the store right now. Bold and unabashed, it has the feeling of some of those mid-century old bottles, with the lacquer box, exotic wood and heady spice. Tons of Seville orange peels and hints of deep dark cocoa round out the sweet woody nose. The palate is powerful with dark fruit and massive amounts of spice. The finish continues into a spiced plum, red apple, cinnamon and subtle hints of espresso bean. While we don't get quite the texture of some of the massive bourbons, we're very very close on the flavor. Truly one of our most special finds to date.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2013 Buchegger Vordernberg Grüner Veltliner Erste Lage Kremstal
Review Date: 10-28-2015
We love Gruner cause its fun and often over delivers, but it's also a pretty serious sometimes. This wine is powerful and decadent. A rich bouquet of tropical flowers, wild honey, mineral powder. Golden ripe fruit, apple, quince, apricots, then more minerals! A fine specimen.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cristom "Mt. Jefferson Cuvée" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Dense red flower (hibiscus, rose) and red wild cherries. Well balalnced, juicy acid, structured like classicly vinified wine. Love the old school feel here. A truly wonderful and expressive wine and a great value compared to other pinots at any price range.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

Henry McKenna 10 Year Old Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
The Mckenna is one of those sleeper bourbons that we all hope nobody finds out about. Age stated 10 year old bottled in bond for less than $30?!? There's absolutely nothing out there that can claim those stats even at higher prices. And you know what, it's SINGLE BARREL as well. Just more proof that Heaven Hill has massive b...bourbon stocks of the highest quality.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

1985 Chateau de Ravignan Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
No questions that Ravignan is one of the top producers in Armagnac and we've tried for years to get an exclusive. Unfortunately, their importer the illustrious Charles Neal seems to have pilfered all the best vintages for himself. The 1985 remains one of my favorite brandies on the shelf despite not being one of our exclusives. Also surprising affordable inspite of going through normal distribution channels.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

1994 Chateau de la Grangerie 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Now with the 1994 we really start to see what this lovely domain is capable of. The forward open fruit of the 2001 expands into dense darker plum and spice flavors. On the palate there's incredible palate weight and beautiful caramelized fruit character with a finesse that's rare in Armagnac. The finish moves onto light toffee and drying spice. Absolute magic and what a price!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Talisker 25 Year Old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Talisker continues to be one of the unsung gems of the Diageo portfolio. Roundly considered to be one of the finest malt Distillers by connoisseurs and the Scotch elite alike, it remains a sleeper hit among casual as well consumers. The distillery's production goes almost entirely toward the blends, so it's very rare for casks to make it up over the 20 year mark. Even at $500 a bottle this stuff is an incredible value and easily bests IB and OB bottlings from other distilleries at many multiples of this price. An exceptional whisky reserved for the true lovers of this wild, old school western Highland style.
Price: $499.99 Add To Cart

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep" 17 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Whoa there. You are probably thinking, wow $130 for Wild Turkey? Seems like a pretty penny, but let's have a little context here. Wild Turkey is one of Kentucky's most rigorous distilleries in terms of quality. They have done very little to change their methodology since the legendary Jimmy Russell began working there more than 60 years ago. Yes, they've built a new gleaming distillery, but of course this particular product comes from the old wooden distillery situated in the gully several hundreds of feet below the active plant. So basically what you're getting here is a piece of history! Not only is it from a closed distillery, it's the OLDEST expression that distillery has ever released stateside. At 17 years old, this is by far the oldest bourbon on our shelves (save the Hirsch 20 yo at $3,500 a bottle). In addition, these barrels have seen a very unusual and dynamic aging regiment, being transported to various warehouses, exposed to many environments, ultimately lending incredible complexity and depth. A low cask strength and a beautiful package and on paper this stuff is a TOTAL no brainer. But, no one cares about that, right ; ) Everyone's only concern is the taste. In that arena you've got something really special as well. Not your usual knock your lights out barrel proof, because of the brick (they say stone) warehousing the proof dipped to a very low 86.8. That does not mean this whiskey is a slouch by any means. Oh no! Indeed, it stands up in the glass, showing that typical WT spice character, but with tons of additional nuance. Deep dark roasted nuts, sweet exotic herbs, and dried vanilla bean. The palate has extreme balance and shows dense caramel, complex rancio, and some tertiary stuff (leather, fresh tobacco leaf, etc.). Ultra rich and textural, while this isn't a powerhouse per say, it still provides tons of pleasure and makes up for any lack in strength with wild complexity. Considering where the market is going, no one can afford to buy old bourbon any longer, but occasionally we get lucky. A MUST BUY at this price in my book.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

1995 Glen Garioch 19 Year Old Exclusive Malts "Ex-Rum Cask Finish" Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
The splendid cask of Garioch is simply one of the most fun and unusual we've ever seen from this old distillery in the eastern Highlands. Coming from the final months before the distillery's closure in '95 - the exceptionally grainy character of Garioch is on full view here, but parsed with a sweetness from the Demerara rum casks. The earthy grain and the sweet spice of the rum make for an unusual, yet familiar style which might be perfect for lovers of the Balvenie Caribbean cask looking to step outside the box!
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart

Ketel One Vodka 1.75 Ltr
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Is there a better deal on vodka in the store? The Nolet family has consistently cranked out some of the world's best vodka and this big old bottle remains the best deal for lovers of their medium-bodied, dry, slightly peppery style. It's great for mixing in all cocktails, but sings in dryer Martinis and V&Ts using high quality mixers like Fever Tree. Don't forget this size is the equivalent of 2 1/3 bottle, so you're paying the just $14.57 per 750ml!!!!
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart

1996 Ben Nevis 17 Year Old Exclusive Malts "Ex-Sherry" Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
It's easy to get caught up in what you'd expect a Ben Nevis to be. Most people have no expectations because the little distillery in Fort Williams, owned by Nikka in Japan, hasn't released a bottling in this country for ages. That all might change soon, but in the meantime, we've got this exceptional cask to prove that wonderful things happen in Fort Williams these days. Far flung in the Western Highlands, a trip to Fort Williams is a slow going endeavor but well worth your time. With this whisky, we're transported there instantly, all the wonderful Highland complexity jumping right out of the glass. The sherry is present but not all-encompassing. Instead, deep heathery notes and nut butters are framed by whispers of raw honey and a deep, earthy sweetness. A splendid mouth-feel and a clean, rich palate exhibit wonderful sherry notes, with light floral and summer fruit around the edges. Very clean and round for a Nevis. A very special cask, which should hold anyone over until the distillery offers something stateside.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

ArteNOM "Seleccion 1146" Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
It's hard to appreciate just what a stupendous value this tequila is until 1) you know who made it 2) you realize who bottled it 3) you actually taste it! Both are two of the tequila industry's finest gentlemen. They know they've got some really special stuff here and many of this distillery's bottlings of equivalent quality sell for WELL above this price point. Whether it's the result of a long friendship or some serious business cajones, Artenom has managed to get this magnificently packaged Anejo on the shelf for less than $50. The perfect gift for a real aficionado who isn't swayed by pricey add campaigns or marketing, but simply wants the best agave, distilled by the best tequilero, for a reasonable price. It is indeed, all those things and much much more.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Jack Daniels Single Barrel Select Barrel Proof Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-28-2015
Ok, so we famously have to tell several people every week that we do not stock Jack Daniel's No 7. It's just never fit into our selection, although I will admit to personally going through a little phase in college back when I thought Rolling Rock was cool. I have Deer Hunter and an unhealthy obsession with Christopher Walkin to thank for that. 33 and a shot of Jack was the go to call at the bar for a while. To be honest that's what No. 7 is good for, shots. Sweet and easy with just enough of the sour bite at the end to remind you you're still alive. In my many years of buying spirits, I've been lucky enough to try some older bottlings of the world's most popular whiskey. Even the slightly different 86 proof offerings from the 1990s seemed extremely special compared to what's regularly available. Legends like the 90 proof from the 70s and earlier are hard to gauge as capacity has increased so much since then. Now most of the cynics will probably think I'm just jumping on the Jack train cause they paid us off or something. To be honest, we have absolutely no connection to Jack whatsoever. We have a great relationship with their parent company Brown Forman, but since we haven't sold Jack in a decade we just don't have a connection there. That all might change now that we've ordered everything that the distributor could get us, but for now we're going at it alone. Despite a lack of communication, they've finally listened to our (and many enthusiasts') grumblings and we're excited to announce the release Lynchburg's finest bottled at full cask strength. When you open the bottle you know instantly it's Jack. Big powerful fruit and sweet oak. Slightly hot on the nose, but ultra smooth on the palate even at 66.5% alcohol. Now here is the thing, add a tiny drop of cool spring water, give it some air maybe 10-15 minutes. You'll return to an utterly transcendent whiskey of extreme complexity and wild drinkability. Let's say this is now maybe 100 proofish and drinks like a dream. These are the flavors I remember from those old bottlings. We don't know how old it is, but goddang it's as delicious as anything coming out of Kentucky at this price point and easily bests bottles that are much much more expensive. If you like big bold flavors of cask strength whiskey, but don't want the bitter bite of some of the other stuff on the market than this stuff is for you. Of course, these are single casks and I've seen some reviews going absolutely wild for other barrels, but the one I tasted was No. 15-4973 at 66.5% and it works for me.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Compass Box "This Is Not A Luxury Whisky" Limited Edition Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-26-2015
As with the surrealist master's "Treachery of Images," Not A Luxury is meant to be a commentary not only on the specific object in questions, but also the entire medium itself. Magritte's formative masterpiece encourages us to reexamine our own paradigm, forcing us to question both the images we see and the words that we read. Now another master is raising questions about what we accept as reality in the Whisky world. Glaser's commentary on the state of our industry is poignant, despite being rather cheeky, but ultimately differs from Magritte's work in one crucial way. While you could never have stuffed Magritte's Pipe to light and enjoy its fragrant aromas - you are well within the rational realm to expect there to be whisky in this bottle. And what a wonderful, dare I say luxurious, whisky it is. Perfectly put together and magnificently complex, it is indeed the contents of this bottle that make us ask questions, not the image on the label. A true masterpiece by any measure.
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart
Limit of 1 per customer

Singani 63 Bolivian Muscat Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 09-25-2015
Few products are so near and dear to our heart. I fell in love the product not only because of its soft and easy-to-use character, but because of the wonderful story that goes along with it. When our friend and long time customer came to town to show us his new product we couldn't believe his absolute devotion and true love for this product. Luckily for us, it actually tastes magnificent and is easily one of the most versatile products on the shelf. Definitely a must have for the bar.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Brooks Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Solid stuff showing dried cherries, herbs and earth on the nose. Fresh fruit and low tannin, light texture and soft acids. The finish builds for a little crescendo to a medium long finish. Satiating for most every true Pinot lover.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

Drappier Carte d'Or Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Here's an incredibly well developed NV from Drappier. Slightly nutty signs of older champagne, with yeast brioche and heady dark fruit. Rich and full in the palate, with the dark cherry coming forward and a taught lifted finish. Superb.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 91

2006 Drappier "Grande Sendrée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
This is the hotness. Ultra powerful nose of quince preserve and freshly rolled butter. Powerful, textural, open, but with so many layers. Something to buy big on and appreciate how it develops over the coming years, knowing that you could pop every bottle at anytime and be absolutely satisfied with the result.

Baron Fuente "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Absolutely gorgeous. Brioch, Tropical fruit, more yeast! Cherries and then cherries! Lemon cream. Mountains of acid and cherries and cream. What a steal.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 92

2014 Teutonic "Crow Valley Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Beautiful white fruit, cassis to be precise, on the nose. Funky white flowers, orange peel and wild acidity. Solidly delicious.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 Bodegas Re "Cabergnan" Cabernet Sauvignon-Carignan Maule Valley
Review Date: 09-01-2015
I don't know if it's the silly names, but these RE wines took me by surprise. The wine making is impeccable and although they're not cheap, they really stand up as world class wines. The Cabergnan is powerful and aromatic. Tons of complexity on the nose and palate. Rich but delicate fruit, clean and full. Lovely nuanced textured and a persistent back end. Serious stuff sir. Serious stuff.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2013 Château de Brézé Clos de Midi Saumur Blanc
Review Date: 08-31-2015
Absolutely golden. Perfection in a summer white. Without equal currently in the store at this price point. Planning to buy as much as I can afford.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2012 Umathum Blaufränkisch Burgenland
Review Date: 08-31-2015
These reds from Austria are so CHEAP! These guys try really really hard to make great wine in an unforgiving climate. The quality across the board is excellent and almost always fun to drink. Umathum is pretty tendy so you expect it to be a cut above. The start is just a pile of rubber and gravel. Note: these wines tend to be slightly reduced and should always be heavily decanted. Pounding them with air cleans them right up and if those flavors put you off you can still enjoy these wines without having to waste years cellaring. With tons of air we still have tons of gravel! I love that. Now rich earthy red fruit. On the palate all dark fruit and rich coffee tones. Soft easy tannins don't get in the way. IN the end a pretty easy going wine that drinks well beyond its price point.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Rosi Schuster Saint Laurent Burgenland
Review Date: 08-31-2015
I don't know if St. Laurent is my achilles heel, but all of these Austrian reds these days taste superb. This 2012 Schuster is precise and absolutely delicious. One taste and its clear that an exceptional team took advantage of every oppourtunity afforded to them by nature to make this wine. Tons of mineral and earth on the nose. Blood. Raspberry preserve. The intensity continues on the palate with medicinal herbs and earth red fruit. Textured and full of life. Medium bodied. Maybe a hard wine to love, but with lots to give. A wonderful pairing for fall flavors. Don't be surprised when this and the next vintage disappear!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Sattler St. Laurent Burgenland
Review Date: 08-31-2015
Wow, these Austrian reds are becoming the value of the year. Over delivering on upfront drinkability, this St. Laurent is as complex as it is open and stylish. For the price it honestly should have been sold instantly. Expect some definite earthy under tones -whether an expertly controlled brettanmyacin component or simply the unusual gravel soils. The slight hint of animale is distinct and terribly inviting. Behind the well kept stables, tons of blueberry bushes and ripe plums. The palate is cleaner, a thirst quenching juiciness and ultra soft tannins. Top notch stuff and look at the price.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

1979 Macallan "Gran Reserva" 18 Year Old Single Highland Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2015
It's always a special treat simply to hold these special bottles. I was lucky enough to taste the '79 Gran Reserva thanks to a very generous tasting group. We had it right up against the current 18 year old. While modern Mac 18 is by no means a trifle, the Gran Reserva is in a class of its own. Oozing with that deep dark sherry, but providing more structure and character than the modern version. Whether it was just the cask selections or if the spirit itself has changed, we can never know, but there's no questions this is the finest example of the Macallan in the store or perhaps the entire United States.
Price: $1,999.99 Add To Cart

Springbank 10 Year Old Campbeltown Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2015
If you want the real Scottish experience, there is no better bottle to cut your teeth on. The Springbank 10 year pulls no punches. Bottled in small batches, you're quickly transported to the fields of Kintyre, and the damp, inviting warehouse and the wonderful malt floors that make this one of the most special spirits in Scotland. This is real whisky made the real way, and once you taste it, you'll understand why it's different from every other 10 year out there.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Glendronach Cask Strength Batch #3 Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2015
The stupendous batch #3 from Glendronach's well-regarded Small Batch Cask Strength line is here, and it's better than ever! The nose is a wild interplay between dark rancio, fudge and freshly squeezed blood oranges. Macerated dried stone fruits in honey, freshly roasted espresso beans, tiny hints of apple and pear, but absolutely no heat. The palate is lifted and bright. Frighteningly drinkable at nearly 110 proof, the sweetness is perfectly balanced with the powerful dark malty flavors. If this is why they have to take age statements off, I'm on board all the way!!!
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

1965 Darroze Domaine de Bouillon Tenereze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2015
An unusual selection from Mr Darroze, the Bouillon is one of the few properties we see Darroze bottle from the Tenereze. The clay and chalk soils make for great wine making, but the young Armagnac’s lack the elegance and grace of the renowned Bas-Armagnac appellation, after 30+ years of aging the powerful brandies from this special region even more heady and deep than the Bas. This bottling, features ultra dense aromas of sandalwood, dried plums, and rich dark toffee. A truly perfect choice for someone turning 50 years of age: they’ll most likely have never tried something so superlative in their half century as this half-century-old brandy.
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

1945 Darroze Bas Armagnac Domaine de Lasserade (750ml)
Review Date: 07-28-2015
No surprise that this bottle represents some of the rarest brandy being sold at any price point. Not only is it from 70 years old stocks, a rarity in and of itself, but we're also talking about a war vintage and therefor one of the lowest production periods for the region. The Germans headed for Gascogne pretty early and by the end they were simply living off the local products as their supply chains broke down. That means regularly raiding farms for food and of course drink. Total liberation of the area did not occur until later in 1945, but by May of that year it must have been clear that things were about to change. What had started as the 5th harvest under occupation would end with France liberated and a plentiful, now legendary vendage. Nonetheless, precious few liters of Armagnac remain from the years of occupation, so this bottle is truly as special as it gets. Expect a massively rich nose of polished mahogany, dried plums, flinty earth and exotic spices. The palate is seamless and still lively, with wonderful balance of alcohol over the layers of deep dark fruit and spicy earthy aromas. Soft like the finest down, smooth like quantum stabilized atomic mirror. It is without a doubt in a class of it's own. If you want the ultimate trump card for winning the gift game at a 70th birthday party or simply want to own a piece of history that you can physically consume, this is the bottle for you.
Price: $1,499.99 Add To Cart

Plantation "Stiggin's Fancy" Pineapple Dark Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 07-28-2015
BOOOOOOM GOES THE DYNAMITE! Without question the finest flavored rum in the world. Start with awesome funky rum, add a centuries-old recipe exactingly recreated by the good people of Plantation, and you've got a product that will rule your bar for the foreseeable future. Heady and intense, yet subtle and overtly pleasurable, not for your typical flavored rum fans, but a must own for all bar/cocktail people. YOU HAVE NO EXCUSE!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond 100 Proof Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-28-2015
Despite some grumblings regarding a distillery change (yes Rittenhouse was made under contract by Brown-Forman for years after Heaven Hill's Bardstown plant burned down in the late 90s) Rittenhouse remains the ultimate value for all bartending needs. It might not kick like a Willett Single Barrel Rye, but there's still very little in the price range that will make a better Manhattan, in fact I can't think of one thing.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

2013 Clos de l'Anhel "Les Terrassettes" Corbieres
Review Date: 07-15-2015
As with the entry level offering, Clos De L'Anhel is seriously one of the most exciting finds in Languedoc we've had for many years. Wines made with incredible thoughtfulness and finesse, they walk that incredibly thin line between earthy complexity, and open fruity richness. The Terrassettes shows more meaty funkiness than it's entry level sibling, but stays lifted with a great herbal/garrigue quality, and well structured backbone. Not hard or tannic, but screaming for air. DECANT DECANT DECANT!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

David Othenin-Girard is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of David Othenin-Girard, click here to join David Othenin-Girard's Personal Sommelier Service.
Laphroaig 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml) ($39.99)

Ardbeg "Uigeadail" Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky ($55.99)

Ransom Old Tom Oregon Gin (750ml) ($39.99)

Bols Amsterdam Genever Dutch Gin (750ml) ($27.99)

Emile Pernot "Vieux Pontarlier 65" Absinthe (750ml) ($64.99)

St. George Spirits Absinthe Verte (750ml) ($59.99)

Rhum JM Vieux Agricole VSOP Martinique 90 Proof (750ml) ($49.99)

Dolin Rouge Vermouth de Chambéry (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Blanc Vermouth de Chambery (750ml) ($15.99)

Dolin Dry Vermouth de Chambery (375ml) ($11.99)

1995 Pichon-Baron, Pauillac ($149.99)