Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
Faultline "Jaime Hernandez Special Edition" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 02-04-2016
I think with all the hoopla of the artwork and the limited edition vinyl that originally came with it, we forgot to talk about how amazing the spirit is. I had the bartenders from Whitechapel come in recently to express their love and ask if they could potentially work with the product at their newly-established gin bar downtown (alas, there's no legal way of selling it to them). It's like a far more-drinkable version of the Monkey with hints of red berries on the initial entry that give way to an almost creamy mouthfeel accented by vibrant Indian spices. You don't need tonic, or ice, or anything. You can sip this neat and I honestly believe it offers all the complexity of a whisky straight up, all on its own. There are layers of complexity within this gin. They just need a bit of your undivided attention.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
Review Date: 02-03-2016
This wine is the worst thing that's happened to me in years. It's a better, longer-aged (on the lees) version of the standard San Venanzio that, for an extra two bucks, brings UNBEATABLE sparkling drinkability. This wine is light as air, with utterly faint hints of citrus and stone fruit just dancing briefly in the distance. The bubbles are fine, the finish is clean and refreshing. I could (and probably will) drink a bottle of this every single night of the week and never get tired of it. And that's my problem. There's just nothing this good for this low of a price in sparkling wine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2013 Cameron "Clos Electrique" Dundee Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-02-2016
This wine is packed with violets, crunchy red fruits, and true Burgundian-like character, but with the weight and brooding nature of Oregon pinot noir. Made from a small parcel of fruit called "Clos Electrique" near the Cameron family home, this is truly a domestic wine worth shelling out for. Luscious and soft on the palate after all that tanginess settles down.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 - 93

2013 Eisold-Smith Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-02-2016
I really, really liked this wine at our last staff tasting. Everything about it was fresh and vibrant, from the fruit, to the mouthfeel, to the acidity. It has weight, but no oak and no real richness other than the natural ripeness of the fruit. Made by the husband and wife winemaking team of German-born Lauren Eisold and Adam Smith, I will be keeping an eye on all future releases from these two. This chardonnay shows that they understand both hands-on practices in the vineyard, and hands-off practices in the winery. Bravo.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1988 Invergordon 27 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2016
To Scotland's far north, between Inverness and Brora, lies the Invergordon distillery, along the waters of the Cromarty Firth. This 27 year old single cask of Invergordon whisky is like Scotch bourbon in a sense--distilled from corn on a column still, but aged in used oak rather than new charred oak, and matured in a cool climate, rather than the flux of hot and cold experienced in Kentucky. This Invergordon has bold flavors of vanilla and toasted nuts with an accent of spice on the finish that rises with the glow from the higher proof. It's a whisky that's practically begging for ice (and a glass, of course).
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1989 North British 25 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2016
Anyone out there enjoying the amazing Nikka Coffey Grain Japanese whisky? Anyone? Consider this North British expression to be a 25 year old version of that. Two and a half times the age, two and a half times the flavor, and two and a half times the concentration of oak, but for less than double the price. That's the power of direct purchasing, folks. Hot whiskies for hot prices.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart

1988 Cambus 26 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-26-2016
The defunct Cambus grain distillery has been a great source of great whisky for us over the years. Finding these 25+ year old barrels of superb softness with enticing drinkability has helped to re-craft the image our customers previously held concerning grain whisky. This is a beautiful Scotch whisky, gentle and pleasing in its inherent nature, but complex with subtle stonefruits and lithe accents of oak. From a closed distillery to boot.
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Claude Thorin K&L Exclusive VS Grande Champagne Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 01-20-2016
When it comes to Cognac value, I'm not sure how much better we can do than this VS from Thorin. Any less expensive and our customers would wonder what was wrong with it! But make no mistake: this is all pure Grande Champagne fruit, distilled with finesse by Mr. Thorin. Ten years from now I'm not sure we'll be able to sell anything else besides his stuff. We're going to spoil people with this Cognac.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

1988 Blair Athol 26 Year Old "K&L Exclusive' Signatory Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky
Review Date: 01-15-2016
After the Blair Athol craze of 2015 at K&L, we immediately called our friends at Signatory and had them hold the last sherry butt in their warehouse. Signatory has long had a relationship with the nearby distillery and they'd been sitting on these ultra-rich casks of whisky for some time. This whisky is an absolute beast of malt. It's brimming with cakebread, Christmas spice, cocoa, and toffee. At cask strength, it can withstand a few drops of water quite well, which only open up more of that complexity. Unfortunately, I can't call Signatory and ask for more after we sell through this barrel, because this is the last one. Alas...
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

2009 Talisker 5 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-13-2016
This whisky is so much fun if you're really into single malts. Most serious whisky fans know that finding independently-bottled Talisker is next to impossible. This 5 year old cask offers you that elusive opportunity, even though it's a bit of an oddball at such a young age. You'll be happy you bit the bullet, however. This whisky absolutely erupts on the finish, smothering the palate in peat smoke, salt, and fruit spices.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1997 Clynelish 18 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-12-2016
I never get tired of drinking Clynelish, one of Scotland's most distinct single malt whiskies. That lemony, waxy, creamy profile is probably the only Scotch character I could pick out of a blind tasting 100% of the time. It's the most distinguished and recognizable flavor in the business and we will ALWAYS take advantage of an opportunity to buy the whisky directly.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

1997 Benrinnes 17 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-12-2016
I love Benrinnes. That's all I can tell you. I can't tell you that it's the flashiest or most potent of whiskies. It's not smoky or sherried or overly-rich. It's just absolutely delicious. It just hits the spot in a perfect Scotch-like manner. Vanilla, sweet barley, and a smooth, supple texture. Classic.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2014 Eyrie Vineyards Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
Review Date: 12-30-2015
Simply put, this is one of my favorite American white wines from anywhere. If I had to make a short list of quintessential domestic wines that everyone should try at least once in their lives, the Eyrie Pinot Gris would be on that list. Always balanced perfectly between a fine line of crisp acidity and richness of fruit, I find that I can open a bottle of Eyrie Pinot Gris at any party, with any group of friends, and just about everyone goes crazy for it. There's nothing new about it--it doesn't have some wacky new flavor you've never tasted. It's just perfect white wine, subtly nuanced with stone fruit flavors and an undercurrent of minerality. I never, ever, ever get tired of drinking this wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2009 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 12-28-2015
Maybe as good a deal as anyone is likely to find in this vintage. Made by the same team from Calon Segur, this is an affordable wine built for the long haul. I bought half a case without blinking. Delicious black cherry flavors with minerality to balance it out. Fine tannins. Buy fast.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Kalinda "Cuvée KB" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-11-2015
I'm always on the look out for great California Chardonnay deals, because it's the number one question I get asked in the store: what's a good CA Chard for around $20? The answer is here, and it doesn't matter where you fall on the spectrum. The new Kalinda KB has enough richness to please full-bodied white wine fans, but enough acidity and fruit for those who like something crisp. Considering where the wine is from, we're in multi-case territory. One case may not be enough.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

1996 Springbank 18 Year Old Hunter Laing's "Old & Rare" Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-29-2015
This 18 year old sherry butt of Springbank is expensive, but it's also the epitome of everything that defines this iconic distillery. It's rich, unctuous, oily, viscous, earthy, fudgy, mouth-coating, and complex in a way that simple Highland whiskies can only dream of being. It's the real deal. A slam dunk, home run, out of the park, half court shot, add your next best sports analogy here.
Price: $299.99 Add To Cart

1981 Glenlivet 33 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-29-2015
Absolute sherry-aged perfection. I would have bought fifty of these casks if Signatory had any more left in their warehouse. This was the last one, however. Enjoy it while it lasts!
Price: $399.99 Add To Cart

2012 Tour St-Christophe, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This was a total shocker for me. I've had some lovely Bordeaux wines from 2012 so far, wines that were balanced and lovely in character, but until I tried the Tour St. Christophe I had yet to find that same lush fruit I had tasted from 2009. The Right Bank in 2012 seems to be full of value and this wine is one of them. Dark red berries with a soft and textural mouthfeel. I had it with a steak and I cleaned out that bottle in about thirty minutes. I was enthralled.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2014 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
Review Date: 11-24-2015
Loire Valley Sauvignon Blanc was the first wine I tasted where I realized that this whole idea about "fine wine" wasn't a bunch of BS. I had read about the rich limestone soils of Sancerre and how one could supposedly taste that minerality in the wine itself (the whole idea of "terroir"). This is back before I worked at K&L; back when I walked into our old San Francisco store and asked for a bottle that could maybe demonstrate this phenomenon. The staff member (our old pal Mike Jordan) gave me a bottle of 2005 Franck Millet "Insolite." Today it's still the gold standard of Sancerre Sauvignon Blanc for me. It's racy and clean with a clear chalkiness that truly lends a sense of place. The Millet soils are some of the chalkiest in the region and that makes all the difference.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-18-2015
I've been enamored with California red wines made from fruit grown in the Mayacamas Range since we took a staff trip over to the region back in 2012 (right around the time these grapes were on the vine). The wines from Napa and Alexander Valley made from higher elevation mountain fruit simply have more depth, concentration of fruit, and a better capability of going the distance due to their superior structure. The 2012 Stonestreet Estate Cab is a perfect example of Mayacamas Range fruit grown in a ripe vintage. It's a mouthful of dark, inky, opulent fruit that has subtle tannic grip. The guts are there for the cellar. They're just dwarfed by the richness of the fruit. You could pop this now, and I'd be tempted to, but I'd rather let the new oak integrate for a year or two at least before opening these up. Either way you're getting a great wine from a vintage that keeps on giving.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 90

Copper & Kings American Small Batch Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-16-2015
I expect customers to be very impressed with both the quality and flavor of the Copper & Kings Small Batch American Brandy, but also the price. Compared to other micro, boutique American brandies on the market the Copper & Kings selection is both the least expensive and the most satisfying. It's soft and smooth while remaining concentrated and textural. It's perfectly suited for late night sipping, but affordable enough to justify mixing a cocktail with. Make a Sidecar, an Old Fashioned, or a Manhattan with this. Make a Milk Punch, or a Bittered Sling. Or just drink it straight and enjoy the soft fruit flavor and the layers of caramel and oak. Just enjoy it. Then watch how fast the bottle gets emptied. Good thing we have plenty of this because I promise you: you won't be able to contain yourself to just one bottle. This is a new bar standard, right there with Campari and Carpano Antica. It's a bottle I never want to be without.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Copper & Kings "Butchertown" Reserve Casks Brandy (750ml)
Review Date: 11-16-2015
This is the ultimate crossover bottle for bourbon fans looking to explore the new age of brandy. It's a 62% monster that drinks more like some of our Four Roses single cask selections than our French imports. The flavors just explode from the 124 proof blast of oak, fruit, spice, and herbaceousness. I've found that I love this brandy on the rocks, straight, but also as a highball cocktail. The spirit cuts through all that soda water and never tastes diluted or minimized by the additional liquid. It's a brandy that will change the way you think about brandy. It's a brandy that will change the way you think about spirits in general.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

1985 Linkwood 29 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-16-2015
I think most single malt collectors have been trained to know two things in today's market: really good, exciting new bottle of Scotch = $100; and really, really good exciting new limited edition Scotch = $400+. Yet, with a little practicality and some good luck, we managed to find a really, really, really great bottle of single barrel, limited edition Scotch for $199; something better than most $400 bottles we've tasted over the past few years. Part of the trick was choosing to bottle at 46% versus cask strength. We can shave a few bucks off that way, and the fact that this almost-30 year old cask had evaporated under 49% already made that decision easy. The other factor that most people overlook is the ex-hogshead barrel. Sherry butts in today's market are expensive. Islay whisky is expensive. Underrated Highland distilleries aged in old hogsheads? Not all that expensive. So when you find the right one you can get a pretty incredible deal. This whisky is pure harmonic perfection. Soft, delicate fruit, creamy vanilla that will haunt you in your dreams, and perfect pitch of creamy malt that glides down your palate like silk. Compare this to any other $200 bottle in the store and you'll know what I'm talking about. Your money is going 10x as far with this Linkwood. It's a serious, serious bottle of whisky for a price that, in today's market, seems circumspect.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

2006 Hine K&L Exclusive "Lignières-Sonneville" Single Barrel Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-12-2015
If you've ever wondered whether spirits could showcase terroir, look no further. These single cask, single vintage, single vineyard Cognacs from Hine (chosen by us, and bottled exclusively for us) showcase the purity of fruit that can be obtained when Cognacs are left unblended, unadulterated, and pure in their original form. The Lignieres-Sonneville expression actually has clean minerality running under the soft vanilla and richness from the oak. It's almost like the clean fruit of a white wine with a bit of barrel aging. If you're a wine geek, or a spirits geek, this is where those two worlds collide. It's recommend this to a Loire Valley white fan as much as I would true connoisseur of Cognac. A rare occasion that we hope we can replicate again down the road, should Hine want to do another project like this.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

2002 Hine K&L Exclusive "Genté" Single Barrel Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-12-2015
Simply put, this new project we've worked out with Hine showcases the beauty and delicacy of Cognac in an entirely new way. Rather than stress the importance of the blend and the harmony of various brandies together, this Gente is a crystal pure glimpse into the single parts that make up the world's more elegant spirit. There's plenty of vanilla, soft caramel, and ripe fruit (which is what you love about Cognac, right?) but it's far less sweet, less unctuous, and more pronounced. The best way I can describe it is like difference between tap water and bottled water, or like getting a new prescription on your glasses: everything is more in focus, cleaner, and in detail. This is a beautiful spirit, one that truly makes the case for terroir in Cognac.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-12-2015
I remember when I couldn't even get Wild Turkey Rye 101, but it appears the Kentucky stalwart is now rebounding from the last seven years of shortages. What a comeback! This is single barrel, high proof rye whiskey that tastes like 2008--back when I could find rich and powerful rye whiskies full of peppery notes and classic dill flavor. This is rye in the vein of of what you remember before everything started coming from LDI Distillery in Indiana. It's like getting to know an old friend again.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

1987 Domaine de Jean-Bon 28 Year Old K&L Exclusive Bas Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 10-23-2015
This is just a knockout spirit, period. 28 years of maturation perfection has lead to an Armagnac of supreme balance and character. There's sweet oak spice, a burst of peppery notes, richness from the wood, and a long finish that meanders between caramel corn and toasted oak. That's almost three decades worth of age for your C-note.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Mezcalero "Los Nahuales" Special Edition Sierrudo/Cuishe Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-22-2015
I'm so thrilled that we got this done. I'm a huge admirer of both Los Danzantes (known in the U.S. as Los Nahuales due to copyright reasons) and their distiller Karina Abad Rojas. This mezcal is so elegant and graceful (dare I say, distilled with a feminine touch?) and it's so perfect for those who want to experience the depth of flavor mezcal offers without all the smoke. There are some smoky flavors in this special edition expression, but they serve only to accent and highlight the citrus and spice flavors inherent in the two species of agave used. This is crossover mezcal of the highest order. It's what tequila drinkers need to try to be finally swayed. Trust me, you're going to be really impressed.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep" 17 Year Old Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-20-2015
Yes, we know, it's hard to believe: An actual 17 year old bourbon that you can actually get from an actual Kentucky whiskey distillery. Not just any distillery, either--Wild Turkey, the famous Kickin' Chicken, still under the watchful eye of legendary distiller Jimmy Russell. A release like this in the whiskey industry is a pretty big deal, so obviously we wanted to know more about how the product came to be. Seeing as my colleague and I happened to be searching for casks in Kentucky all last week, we decided to stop by the Wild Turkey distillery to see if we could get a sneak preview of the new release. Jimmy greeted us as we walked in and was more than happy to oblige. In the current American whiskey environment, finding an age statement older than ten years is becoming an anomaly. The first question we had for Jimmy before tasting was straightforward: where did Wild Turkey find these barrels? Were they purposely being held back for a future release? "Back in the late 90s we were having storage issues on site and we needed to offload some of our inventory," he told us. "We needed somewhere to put some of our whiskey." This isn't an uncommon practice in the whiskey industry--distilleries borrowing or renting warehouse space from other companies. "The Master's Keep is made from a batch of barrels we had been storing off-site," he told us. We nodded in understanding. Then we took a sip. "This is incredibly soft!" I reacted in surprise. "It's very rich, but at the same time it's incredibly mellow. Was there a reason you guys proofed it down to 43%?" I asked. Then came the shocker: "That's actually right about at cask strength for these barrels," Jimmy answered. "You see at one point we had to transfer the whiskey over to the Old Taylor distillery. Are you guys familiar with that place?" "Do you mean the haunted old site down the road from here?" I asked. "That's the one," Jimmy said. "The warehouses at Old Taylor are made from brick, which isn't the standard material for a bourbon warehouse these days. You don't get the same fluctuation of temperature like you do in a wooden rickhouse, so the whiskey tends to lower in proof over time. These casks spent a lot of time in those old brick warehouses, so they were aged more like Scotch." We took another sip. "It doesn't taste watered down. It's loaded with candy corn and vanilla and toasted oak, but I can't get over how silky it is," I said. "When you noticed that the casks were lowering in proof did you eventually pull them back over to the Wild Turkey site?" "Yes," Jimmy answered. "If you look a the label you'll see it says '1. Wood, 2. Stone, 3. Wood' and that's to indicate the three types of warehouses in which the whiskey was aged. This is the oldest whiskey we've ever released. My son Eddy did the blending and we're very proud of it." Not only is the new Master's Keep stunningly smooth and delicious, it also comes in one of the most beautiful whiskey bottles we've seen, adorned with a handsome gift box. It's one of the most impressive releases from Wild Turkey ever—period. A seventeen year old bourbon from Jimmy Russell, made from a batch of barrels aged at the ghostly Old Taylor distillery? How could we temper our excitement?!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 91

2009 Brown Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 10-02-2015
This 2009 Brown truly gives you the best of both worlds as a wine drinker. You can open it now and revel in the lush fruit, the soft velvet texture, the minerality on the finish, and the notes of violet and crushed herbs. Or you can cellar it for another 10+ years and wait for all those wonderful flavors to congeal further. As someone who works in a wine store, I understand how confusing it can be for a customer to be handed a bottle of something, then told not to open it for another decade. It's tough to build a base of young and upcoming Bordeaux drinkers when everything they buy they're not allowed to touch anytime in their youth. But the Brown Rouge gives you options: drink it now, or drink it later. It doesn't matter when you drink it. It's going to be amazing no matter what.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 92

2008 La Chablisienne Chablis "Les Venerables" Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-02-2015
I absolutely loved the 2008 vintage for white wines in Burgundy and I did a fairly good job of stockpiling my cellar, knowing the bright acidity of the vintage would allow for some aging. This seven-year-old Chablis is basically giving you the same results of what I'm hoping my wine locker gives me, but without any of the waiting and for pretty much the same price as we sold the wine for originally. Twenty bucks gives you a whole lotta flavor and the secondary notes from maturation are really starting to show. There's a bit of richness, a nutty note from the slow oxidation, and it adds a lovely contrast to the bright acidity. Really good stuff for a good price.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Oncle Vincent"
Review Date: 10-02-2015
If you think you don't like French Chardonnay because it isn't oaky, then you need to try wines like the Leflaive Oncle Vincent. It's not as ripe as, say, Rombauer, but the wine has tremendous balance and enough richness to please any California drinker. This is a great wine to branch out with for fans of Chardonnay in general who think Burgundy is too austere or difficult to wrap one's head around.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2004 Charron 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2015
Big, bold new oak flavor that simply blows up your palate and leaves it begging for more. This is truly an Armagnac for George T Stagg Bourbon fans.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

1994 Chateau de la Grangerie 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 09-29-2015
Truly wonderful Armagnac, worthy of the finest collections but priced so low that you can afford to drink it more often than just the special occasion. 20 year old brandy that's just haunting in its lighter, less woody character. Soft vanilla, purity of fruit, and a smooth finish that lingers for minutes. This is a Cognac/Armagnac crossover.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2009 Gressier-Grand-Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 09-29-2015
This wine is like Vince Carter dunking over Frederic Weis in the 2000 Olympics: it comes completely out of nowhere and even after experiencing it you're not quite sure how it happened. It's simply beautiful, perfectly lush fruit (a trademark of the fantastic 2009 vintage) with gentle tannic structure and hints of tobacco and earth on the finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Veronique Anne Perret "Le Minéral" Vin de Savoie
Review Date: 09-25-2015
Hot, hot, hot! Wow, I'm so excited that our buyer Keith Mabry managed to find a great Savoie producer we can buy directly from. The price, oh...the price! $12 for serious wine, clean, mineral-driven refreshment with weight. Simultaneously simple, offering more depth than just about any other sub-$15 white in the store. Explore the wines of the French regional department at prices you can afford to take a chance on (except that there's no risk here because this wine is dynamite).
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2014 Veronique Anne Perret Vin de Savoie Apremont
Review Date: 09-25-2015
Apremont means "evil mountain" in French, which I think sums up the rather brooding nature of this delicious Savoie wine. There's a subtle alpine character, a hint of pine, but ballasted by a round core of stone fruit and weight. We haven't had anything this exciting in the French white department in years, and for less than $20 I'm only limited by how much my liver can withstand.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Tour Boisée Minervois Rouge
Review Date: 09-25-2015
Best $10 red in the store. New winner. I'm declaring it now. This is for all you Cote du Rhone drinkers out there that want fruit-forward juiciness without all the sweet, jammy, over-oaked nonsense. This is a pure-fruited wine that simply explodes with flavor and drinkability.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Cécile Chassagne Gigondas
Review Date: 09-24-2015
This is real Rhone wine in the style that quickly reminds me of what I've been missing when I go too long without drinking it. Crushed violets and dark fruit dance on the palate with richness and a deep concentration that smooths out on the finish. What a hot screaming deal of a wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 89 - 91

2014 Domaine de l'Aigle À Deux Têtes Côtes du Jura Rouge
Review Date: 09-24-2015
YUM!!!!! Oh wow, this is so exciting. Our buyer Keith Mabry is going to bankrupt me with all these incredible new finds from the Jura. The fact that we're importing them directly only makes the price that much lower, tricking me into thinking I can afford more. Juicy cranberry, tart cherry, lovely acidity, lighter in style, and utter drinkable. I could drink decanters full of this stuff and never get tired of it.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Yves Duport Altesse de Montagnieu
Review Date: 09-24-2015
I've never tasted a wine better suited for pesto than this little Altesse we've started importing. That doesn't mean you have to eat pesto with it, but I just happen to eat pesto quite often and this wine has that little hint of basil, herbs, and fruit that should just sing with my meal. It's also fully fermented with native yeasts, bringing a true sense of place to this lovely little regional delight.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2013 Ata Rangi Pinot Noir Martinborough
Review Date: 09-23-2015
Amazingly lush while maintaining a balancing base of spice and acidity. Dark cherry, underbrush, forest floor notes, but that amazingly soft texture always comes back around to sweep everything along like velvet. Fantastic wine, pure and simple

Henry McKenna 10 Year Old Bottled in Bond Straight Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 09-17-2015
McKenna is one of those under-appreciated gems of the booze industry. A throwback Bourbon made by Heaven Hill (the home of Elijah Craig, Evan Williams, Rittenhouse Rye, and many other great brands) that's all from a single barrel, bottled-in-bond at 100 proof, and well-priced to boot. There's not much of a reputation for it out west, so it tends to go rather unnoticed, but the quality is highly-regarded by those in the know. Our inventory on McKenna is inconsistent and spotty so we tend to load up when it becomes available again. I taste inferior Bourbons every week that sell for $40, $50, and $60 per bottle based on hype and perceived rarity. But this guy just keeps truckin' along. What a deal. What a whiskey.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

Potocki Polish Rye Vodka (750ml)
Review Date: 09-02-2015
The best vodka in the world. Period. Next!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 - 95

1983 Domaine de Maouhum 32 Year Old K&L Exclusive Bas-Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Getting 32 year old brandy of this quality for $99.99 is just crazy, especially when you compare the price to what's currently happening with single malt. There is more richness and texture to the 32 year, versus the 27 year, and the fruit has yet to get erased by the three decades in oak. Just haunting.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2004 Claude Thorin K&L Exclusive Vintage Grande Champagne Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-26-2015
A new vintage of Thorin comes to K&L, but with the same classic flavor of the beloved 2002. There is no caramel in this Cognac. Zero. It's straw colored, light, fruity, and pure in flavor. It's so clean and refreshing that you almost wonder how you're going to go back to regular Cognac afterward. And remember...this is is twice as old as many VSOP Cognacs. It makes you wonder what's in those VSOPs, eh?
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2001 Chateau de Pellehaut 14 Year Old K&L Exclusive Tenareze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Simply one of the most delicious products in the store in any category, at any price. It has all the big wood and spice of a 14 year old bourbon, but with a lovely richness of fruit and a sweetness that rounds out the flavor on the finish. If you like bourbon, you like this--you just don't know it yet.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

1998 Ladeveze Plant de Graisse Tenereze Armagnac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Simply put: this is my favorite Armagnac we carry. It's the anomaly of the bunch. It's the brandy that actually tastes like the wine from which it was distilled, rather than having that fruit flavor buried under heavy doses of new oak. The aromas are off the charts: exotic fruit, a subtle cheesy note (yes!), and then green mango, before moving into a finish of cinnamon, baking spices, and classic vanilla. It's a wild ride and it's made from a totally bizarre grape called Plaint de Graisse. I can't get enough of it. You need this in your life!
Price: $119.99 Add To Cart

Glendronach Cask Strength Batch #3 Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-25-2015
All I could say when David OG and I tasted this whisky in the LA store was, "WOW!" This is not at all the rich and sherried whisky you expect from Glendronach. This is like cask strength Springbank; oily and supple with a bit of sherry richness, but much more of a malty profile than the standard core range of whiskies offers. This is fantastic. It's a throwback whisky that reminds me of my first days tasting Scotch in this business. Get some.
Price: $89.99 Add To Cart

2000 Arran 15 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Cask Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-11-2015
Arran just continues to quietly pump out some of the best single malt in Scotland, under the radar and without much pomp or circumstance. This 15 year old sherry hogshead beautifully balances the malty core of great single malt whisky with the lovely accents of sweet Oloroso sherry. A real winner in a market with fewer and fewer values.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 4 next