Staff Favorites - Mellyn Craig

Mellyn Craig


2013 Foxen Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 05-08-2015
This Santa Maria Pinot Noir from Foxen is delicious AND the price is right! Aromas are bursting out of the glass of bright red fruit and baking spice. The fruit continues to the palate with crunchy strawberries and cherries, with great acidity and white pepper to create a lively balance. Great for barbeques, weddings and other parties as this Pinot will please many palates- as well as mine!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 ST 90

2012 Frog's Leap "Estate" Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 09-25-2014
Dark currant, rose petal, black olive, anise, cedar and dusty, earthy flavors are already showing in this young Cabernet. This wine is structured for the long haul, but is so clean and balanced you will love drinking it at any age.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 93 W&S 93

2009 Kerrigan + Berry Cabernet Sauvignon Western Australia
Review Date: 08-21-2014
This is one sexy wine! Your experience begins with an amazing nose of bright fruit and floral notes. Black fruit and cranberry, lavender, apricot, spice, mint and a hint of smoke envelope your palate. The silky smooth tannins with a long finish complete this very decadent wine. This wine is so well balanced and elegant, it is one of my favorite Cabernet Sauvignons I have tasted in a long time!
Price: Hidden View Price
JH 96 RP 91

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-14-2014
I am already a fan of the TWR wines, but this 2013 Pinot Noir elevated their quality to another level with the same great price! The 2013 was an amazing vintage for New Zealand, but I think what really made a difference this year is the addition of a second vineyard in this wine. The new addition is a vineyard from a steep, north facing slope (which is the sunny side in the Southern Hemisphere) with clay soils. The clay soil brings a silky mouth feel that I love! This wine has a great balance of red and dark currant, with a lot of spice, flint and earth. The complexity far exceeds the price. Enjoy!

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Solanera Viñas Viejas" Yecla
Review Date: 07-10-2014
This wine is a little too easy to drink! The 2012 Bodegas Castano Solenera Vinas Viejas Yecla is bursting with ripe blue and black fruits, balanced out with spice, herbs, anise and flowers. The tannins are well-integrated and have a light dusty quality that brings a hint of cocoa powder to the wine. If you bring this wine to your next BBQ party, you will be very popular!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

Monkey 47 Schwarzwald Gin 375ml
Review Date: 05-02-2014
This gin is so amazing and complex that it is hard to put it all into words! It is so smooth and clean, yet the most complex gin I have ever had. Juniper, spice, berries, citrus peel, herbs are all there and so balanced. This gin is so gorgeous, that drinking it neat is the best way to enjoy this gin. Buy this now! It is selling fast with both customers and staff!
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruno Michel "Rebelle" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-18-2014
The Bruno Michel “Rebelle” offers much more richness than most Extra Brut Champagnes, and with the lovely acidity and minerality characteristics, this makes for a great sushi pairing! The Rebelle will delight your palate with the crisp acidity and luscious apple type fruits. If you like sushi, I highly recommend pairing the two! It goes great with yellow tail, salmon, spicy tuna and many other types of seafood, but it is the wasabi and soy sauce that really makes the pairing special. Don’t hesitate -- treat yourself to sushi and this Champagne tonight!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-05-2014
Wow this is a fun Champagne! If you love Launois Champagnes like I do, please note that the “Quartz” is different than their traditional richer style, but equally well made. Zesty acidity with a touch of citrus and white peach livens up your taste buds. This Champagne is light and crisp, yet elegant with notes of soft creamy mousse to balance everything out.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-17-2013
The Bruno Michel Les Roses will speak to red wine lovers. The characteristics are so similar to a Pinot Noir such as ripe cherry, orange peel, earth and spice. This has the stuffing to pair with many foods. While this is not a Champagne for every palate, it is a special treat for some of us!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 09-25-2013
The Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs is a Champagne that continues to stand out in our staff tastings. I’m in love with the crisp and bright citrus and apple notes. There is a note of toasted bread, but it is well balanced in focused and complex Champagne. Perhaps the best part of this Blanc de Blancs is that it tastes like it should be drank during a special occasion, but priced to drink on any occasion.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 09-20-2013
For as young as this wine is, it is already showing its great potential. This wine is already displaying elegant floral aromas and blue fruit, with integrated juicy tannins. I look forward to laying down the 2010 Cantemerle for a minimum of 5 years, and enjoying it for many years following!