Staff Favorites - Mike Barber

Mike Barber

Reviews

  
1992 Clynelish K&L Exclusive 21 Year Old Cadenhead Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-27-2015
This is a fantastic expression of the Clynelish distillery! A sweet, almost candied-flower nose and flavor begins the experience in the glass, leaving a big, oily impression on the tongue. This is bright Highland whisky with a noticeably spicy finish.
Price: $139.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Craigellachie 18 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-27-2015
A terrific buy for the money and one of my favorites in the new Hepburn line of malts. Indian spice notes dominate the palate, and there's a little funk and brine on the nose and the whisky's underbelly. All of this complements big flavors of tobacco, malt, and toasted almonds. The whiskey is a terrific sherried Speyside with just the right amount of rich texture.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1995 Miltonduff 19 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 02-27-2015
You don't get much more quintessential Highland than this, and it's a little more restrained than Hepburn's Craigellachie. This malt is spicy and citrus laden, with subtle chocolate, chili, and cinnamon flavors and a touch of oak.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Enmore 25 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum 750ml
Review Date: 02-27-2015
My favorite of the Faultline rums we just brought in. This beauty is rich and creamy, with loads of vanilla and spice and a long, sweet finish. Fans of dense, older rum will love this!
Price: $199.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Angeline California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-23-2015
Our best priced domestic Pinot, and still a great deal. This wine is generous with the fruit, but still delivers all the soft flavors and supple texture you expect. It's a great party Pinot.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Olema Sonoma County Chardonnay
Review Date: 02-23-2015
Olema is the Sonoma offering of Napa's Amici Cellars. True to their style, this Chardonnay offers loads of rich fruit and a lush texture lifted by a bright finish.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Pessagno "Central Avenue" Monterey County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-23-2015
We discovered this small family producer on a recent trip to Santa Lucia, and fell in love with the flavor and the value of this gem from Monterey. The rich, dark fruit notes of the wine drift over a fine layer of granite and sandalwood. This complexity of flavor set this Pinot way above others in its price category.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

1990 Glenfarclas 24 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 12-20-2014
Another outstanding release from this fantastic Highland distillery! Even at 100 proof--I felt that this malt didn't need any water addition. The flavors are so mellow and integrated from age, the whisky is smooth as silk--more exquisite and elegant than most Scotch on the shelf. Light fig, caramel, coffee, and oak flavors dance behind a rich and malty core of deliciousness. Any fan of Highland whisky will love this very special release!
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
Review Date: 11-23-2014
Any fan of Pinot will love this bottle--it's one of the more well-rounded and delicious Pinots we've brought in from NZ. A light body of blackberry fruit notes is held up by subtle cinnamon and leather flavors. The finish is very long, full of the understated earthy tones one expects from a real Pinot of this caliber.

2009 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-09-2014
When we visited Sopra (consistently our best overall Montalcino producer, and probably the best winemaker in Montalcino period) the 2009 Brunello was our favorite. Even while the dark and earthy 2010 beckoned us from the barrel, this wine still had firm tannin and a great structure (more than most '09s from Montalcino) and loads of mindblowing flavor--a cascade of bright red fruits that dance on the palate and don't leave you for a very long time. That visit was 3 years ago--and finally it's here! A delicious Sangiovese that is not to be missed.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$29.99
WE 91 RP 90

1997 Glen Ord 17 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Hogshead Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-09-2014
An obscure distillery and a crazy good bottle for the money! This is a classic Highland, with caramel malt flavors with aromas of fresh flowers and tobacco. I can't believe this malt was aged all in hogshead--the flavor is long and satisfying, with oaky and pronounced notes of coffee and vanilla.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

1998 Mortlach 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Sherry Butt Finish Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-09-2014
The legendary, elusive Mortlach distillery is with us yet again! You will never see a distillery bottling of this malt--most of the production goes straight to Johnnie Walker Blue. A big, sweet vanilla nose leads into a whisky packed with cedar and Indian spice notes. The sherry cask influence is noticeable--it tastes like dried apricot and leather dipped in chocolate.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1990 Bruichladdich 23 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-09-2014
This barrel must be from the days when Jim Beam owned the Bruichladdich distillery--it's much different than other bottlings on our shelf. When you sip it, you are reminded of fresh cut grass and heather, with slight coffee, oaky, and wet vanilla notes to finish. This one is bright, with little to no peat notes at all. The last of the old heritage of a great distillery.
Price: $159.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Hewitson "Miss Harry" GSM Barossa Valley South Australia
Review Date: 11-06-2014
One of the best deals in the store, and one of the must buys of our Australian selections this year. Hewitson always offers an incredible wine for a great value in their miss harry release. The fact that this one comes from a perfect vintage is even better! Loads of nuanced spice and lush strawberry are evened out by bright acidity and a hint of menthol. There is a little tannic backbone to lend structure and complete this well crafted surprise.
Top Value!

2012 Oakridge Estate Single Vineyard Series "Oakridge/Whitsend Vineyard" Shiraz Yarra Valley
Review Date: 09-04-2014
This is not a big and rich Aussie Shiraz. This is cool weather, spicy, and complex Shiraz from perhaps the best producer in the Yarra Valley (one of the coldest appellations in Australia). This Shiraz is delicate and crisp, with brambly notes of cranberry and white pepper tightly wound in an elegant package. A fantastic red for $23!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2010 Scali "Kalkis Vineyard" Pinotage Paarl
Review Date: 09-04-2014
Quite possibly the best Pinotage I've ever tasted. This mountain vine beauty has loads of cassis and blackberry flavors that cascade into pepper spice. It is ripe and full with a hint of tobacco, and completely lacks the Pinotage stink that is usually associated with the grape. This is what Pinotage is capable of if planted in the right place!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 09-04-2014
An excellent addition to our New Zealand Pinot stock! This one has a dark core of wild raspberry and grippy tannin. Racy and bright with a crisp edge to it; a perfect cool weather Pinot.

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 07-16-2014
Another triumph from one of our favorite producers in New Zealand. This Blanc is edgy and very sharp, with quintessential New Zealand bright citrus and slight grassy flavors, complemented by fig and lychee aromas. This biodynamic beauty has so much to offer fans of Sauvignon Blanc; one of TWR's best yet, and still at a great price!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 94 SK 93

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-16-2014
This is a Pinot with structure--a nervy and delicious cool weather red with lean red fruit flavors but plenty of mouth-coating tannins. The fruit notes here are slightly bitter, lean raspberry and plum resting behind cassis and lavender, leaving a wonderfully long impression on the palate. The winemakers at Te Whare Ra took full advantage of the excellent 2013 growing season to craft this mouthwatering Pinot.
Top Value!

2008 Pyramid Valley Vineyards "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 05-15-2014
Pulling fruit from the same source as the famous Felton Road label, the minimalist winemaking team at Pyramid has crafted a unique and delicious wine very different from the Felton expression. This Pinot is full of earth and spice, a layered drink of Indian spices, blueberry, and tobacco with a lifted finish of menthol and bright acidity. Definitely one of my favorite New Zealand Pinots on the shelf--and one with a little bottle age too.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 ST 91

2011 Te Mata "Estate" Cabernets/Merlot Hawkes Bay New Zealand
Review Date: 03-08-2014
This is a fantastic value for any fan of hearty Cab/Merlot blends. A rich, dark fruit core and just enough tannin structure and spice make this a very serious wine for not a lot of money.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Lot 40 Single Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 01-20-2014
Now that's some good drinkin'! This rye is rich and delicious, with vanilla and chocolate notes over classic rye leather and cracked pepper--perfect on its own or for all your Manhattan needs. Not as sweet as some of the LDI stuff coming out of Indiana, not as dry as some of 100% rye Rittenhouse styled whiskeys in our store--it's just right.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35 Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 08-02-2013
This is an outstanding addition to our brandy portfolio- with powerful flavors of coffee, caramel, and honey over a lightly sweet but long lasting finish. Perfect, dense, rich, and wonderful!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

Chateau de Pellehaut K&L Exclusive L'Age de Glace Tenareze Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 08-02-2013
This bottle is way too delicious for this price- rich and easy but still showing that true armagnac spice with flavors of toasted almonds, oak, and honey. This price is ridiculous-buy this now!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-25-2013
Consistently one of my favorite direct import producers in our champagne section- Fleury makes complex sparkling wine from 100% pinot noir vines. The result is a rich and decadent sparkler that doesn't sacrifice minerality or brightness for its lush texture.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Montechiara Prosecco DOC
Review Date: 07-11-2013
Our best value in sparkling wine- this prosecco is definitely a party popper and tastes great.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Glenmorangie 18 year old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-07-2013
Great price for a great whiskey! Glenmorangie cuts their heads and tails (look it up) more than probably any other distillery in the world- leaving and very pure and light distillate behind. This intense and long barrel age has left that pure spirit a rich and malty backbone with incredible vibrancy. A scotch this good at a price this good does not last long!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-27-2012
Bright and racy with a little toast, this is our best deal in champagne!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

ArteNOM Seleccion 1146 Anejo Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 12-24-2011
It is tough in the tequila world to find small production, unique expressions of terroir and artful distillation, but that is exactly what the arte nom line of tequilas is all about. They each come from a single plantation of agave and a single distillery. They are all wonderful, but I'm an anejo guy, and this beauty is rich and lush with wonderful oaky notes over pure citrus flavors. If you're a real tequila fan- you have to try this.
Drink from 2011 to 2011
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Bulleit Rye Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 03-11-2011
A great rye for a great price! Bulleit has done it again. This release is soft on the pallate, with a trademark Bulleit sweetness backed by a present rye spiciness. Very drinkable- and not as heavy handed as a lot of other ryes on the market.
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

High West Rendezvous Rye Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 01-13-2010
A great rye whiskey with plenty of spice and backbone. Its oak aging and bourbon percentage give a lush, rich core, but this is a whiskey for the serious rye enthusiasts from one of Utah's first distilleries!
Drink from 2009 to 2009
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 96 WA 95

Zubrowka Bison Grass Polish Vodka 750ml
Review Date: 11-18-2009
A delicious vodka - the slight flavoring from the blade of bison grass that floats inside works to accentuate the bready and full qualities of the spirit instead of overpowering them. This is a wonderful sipping vodka (and it works perfect in vodka sours as well).
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90 - 95

Los Danzantes "Los Nahuales" Reposado Mezcal 750ml
Review Date: 10-14-2009
This Mezcal is rich, dark and delicious! Smoky and dense - I love when agave is treated with this much dedication and respect!
Drink from 2010 to 2010
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

Marie Duffau Hors D'Age Bas Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 08-07-2009
This brandy is never out of my house - it's a delicious spirit at a great price. Duffau Armagnacs are almost rich enough to pass for Cognacs, with a lush, round texture and less spice than many Armagnacs. The age on the Hors d'Age shows well through its rich flavors, which are delicate but delicious.
Top Value!
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Aberlour - A'Bunadh Cask Strength Single Malt 750ml
Review Date: 06-05-2009
The best that Aberlour has to offer, in my opinion. Dark, rich, smooth and toasty, this is a deep and soothing malt with plenty of complexity and flavors. There is a very slight peat spice hiding behind a silk curtain of malty deliciousness. Very nice.
Drink from 2009 to 2009