Staff Favorites - Mike Barber

Mike Barber

Reviews

  
1992 Clynelish K&L Exclusive 21 Year Old Cadenhead Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-27-2015
This is a fantastic expression of the Clynelish distillery! A sweet, almost candied-flower nose and flavor begins the experience in the glass, leaving a big, oily impression on the tongue. This is bright Highland whisky with a noticeably spicy finish.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

1995 Craigellachie "K&L Exclusive" 18 Year Old Hepburn's Choice Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-27-2015
A terrific buy for the money and one of my favorites in the new Hepburn line of malts. Indian spice notes dominate the palate, and there's a little funk and brine on the nose and the whisky's underbelly. All of this complements big flavors of tobacco, malt, and toasted almonds. The whiskey is a terrific sherried Speyside with just the right amount of rich texture.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

1990 Glenfarclas "K&L Exclusive" 24 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 12-20-2014
Another outstanding release from this fantastic Highland distillery! Even at 100 proof--I felt that this malt didn't need any water addition. The flavors are so mellow and integrated from age, the whisky is smooth as silk--more exquisite and elegant than most Scotch on the shelf. Light fig, caramel, coffee, and oak flavors dance behind a rich and malty core of deliciousness. Any fan of Highland whisky will love this very special release!
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart

2009 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-09-2014
When we visited Sopra (consistently our best overall Montalcino producer, and probably the best winemaker in Montalcino period) the 2009 Brunello was our favorite. Even while the dark and earthy 2010 beckoned us from the barrel, this wine still had firm tannin and a great structure (more than most '09s from Montalcino) and loads of mindblowing flavor--a cascade of bright red fruits that dance on the palate and don't leave you for a very long time. That visit was 3 years ago--and finally it's here! A delicious Sangiovese that is not to be missed.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$29.99
WE 91 RP 90

1990 Bruichladdich "K&L Exclusive" 23 Year Old Signatory Refill Sherry Butt Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 11-09-2014
This barrel must be from the days when Jim Beam owned the Bruichladdich distillery--it's much different than other bottlings on our shelf. When you sip it, you are reminded of fresh cut grass and heather, with slight coffee, oaky, and wet vanilla notes to finish. This one is bright, with little to no peat notes at all. The last of the old heritage of a great distillery.
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 07-16-2014
This is a Pinot with structure--a nervy and delicious cool weather red with lean red fruit flavors but plenty of mouth-coating tannins. The fruit notes here are slightly bitter, lean raspberry and plum resting behind cassis and lavender, leaving a wonderfully long impression on the palate. The winemakers at Te Whare Ra took full advantage of the excellent 2013 growing season to craft this mouthwatering Pinot.
Top Value!

Lot 40 Single Pot Still Canadian Rye Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-20-2014
Now that's some good drinkin'! This rye is rich and delicious, with vanilla and chocolate notes over classic rye leather and cracked pepper--perfect on its own or for all your Manhattan needs. Not as sweet as some of the LDI stuff coming out of Indiana, not as dry as some of 100% rye Rittenhouse styled whiskeys in our store--it's just right.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 97

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35 Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 08-02-2013
This is an outstanding addition to our brandy portfolio- with powerful flavors of coffee, caramel, and honey over a lightly sweet but long lasting finish. Perfect, dense, rich, and wonderful!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $169.99 Add To Cart

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-25-2013
Consistently one of my favorite direct import producers in our champagne section- Fleury makes complex sparkling wine from 100% pinot noir vines. The result is a rich and decadent sparkler that doesn't sacrifice minerality or brightness for its lush texture.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco DOC
Review Date: 07-11-2013
Our best value in sparkling wine- this prosecco is definitely a party popper and tastes great.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Glenmorangie 18 year old Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 03-07-2013
Great price for a great whiskey! Glenmorangie cuts their heads and tails (look it up) more than probably any other distillery in the world- leaving and very pure and light distillate behind. This intense and long barrel age has left that pure spirit a rich and malty backbone with incredible vibrancy. A scotch this good at a price this good does not last long!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Aberlour 16 Year Old Speyside Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 02-20-2013
What would you expect from this great distillery who's popularity keeps growing and growing? Classic speyside- the 16 year is especially rich and malty, with salted caramel flavors and a long, pure finish. Decadent and delicious!
Drink from 2013 to 2013

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-27-2012
Bright and racy with a little toast, this is our best deal in champagne!
Top Value!
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart

ArteNOM "Seleccion 1146" Anejo Tequila (750ml)
Review Date: 12-24-2011
It is tough in the tequila world to find small production, unique expressions of terroir and artful distillation, but that is exactly what the arte nom line of tequilas is all about. They each come from a single plantation of agave and a single distillery. They are all wonderful, but I'm an anejo guy, and this beauty is rich and lush with wonderful oaky notes over pure citrus flavors. If you're a real tequila fan- you have to try this.
Drink from 2011 to 2011
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-31-2011
Always one of our best direct import champagne producers! Clean, crisp, bright - and the price is amazing!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Bulleit "95 Rye" Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-11-2011
A great rye for a great price! Bulleit has done it again. This release is soft on the pallate, with a trademark Bulleit sweetness backed by a present rye spiciness. Very drinkable- and not as heavy handed as a lot of other ryes on the market.
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

High West Rendezvous Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 01-13-2010
A great rye whiskey with plenty of spice and backbone. Its oak aging and bourbon percentage give a lush, rich core, but this is a whiskey for the serious rye enthusiasts from one of Utah's first distilleries!
Drink from 2009 to 2009
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WE 96 WA 95

Los Danzantes "Los Nahuales" Reposado Mezcal (750ml)
Review Date: 10-14-2009
This Mezcal is rich, dark and delicious! Smoky and dense - I love when agave is treated with this much dedication and respect!
Drink from 2010 to 2010
Price: $62.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Review Date: 10-14-2009
Easily our best sparkling wine under $20, this is as close one gets to real Champagne without paying $30. Denois is a brilliant producer, and it shows in the Tradition: a crisp, focused, slightly yeasty, entirely beautiful Southern French sparkler.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Aberlour "A'Bunadh" Cask Strength Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 06-05-2009
The best that Aberlour has to offer, in my opinion. Dark, rich, smooth and toasty, this is a deep and soothing malt with plenty of complexity and flavors. There is a very slight peat spice hiding behind a silk curtain of malty deliciousness. Very nice.
Drink from 2009 to 2009