Staff Favorites - Kirk Walker

Kirk Walker


2015 Pewsey Vale Riesling Eden Valley South Australia (Dry)
Review Date: 10-09-2015
This is a light, dry and charming Eden Valley Riesling. Great aromatics of stone fruits with a splash of citrus. Medium light bodied with the same flavors as aromas. Lime and minerals echo on the sneaky long finish. Absent from this is that slight petrol note that I have found in the last several vintages.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 - 96

2014 Cognizant Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 09-30-2015
This is a white wine could possibly satisfy every Sauvignon Blanc drinker, unless you only like it when it is fermented and aged in new oak. It is the perfect blend of Loire Valley SB and a traditional Marlborough SB. So, of coarse, it will be crisp and zingy. Where worlds start colliding is that it has a fairly intense mineral component, think France, with riper citrus fruits, a whiff of grass and more weight and texture than you would expect, think NZ. Buy a case and always keep some in the fridge, it goes with almost everything and nothing at all.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Craggy Range "Te Muna Road" Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
Review Date: 09-19-2015
This wine has everything that you could want in a Sauvignon Blanc. It is very aromatic, hitting the entire spectrum of the varietals flavors; mineral, floral, a hint of something green and cool intense fruit tones. The palate offers all of the same flavors with a cool seamless texture and a long lingering finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2013 Yangarra Estate Mourvedre McLaren Vale
Review Date: 09-18-2015
This is the best tasting Mourvedre that I have tried in years. Dark earthy fruit tones with a hint of baking spice. Full on the palate, with vibrant fruit, a touch of creamy oak, spice, all balanced with fresh acidity. Only made in the best vintages, if you have been drinking Spanish Monastrell you owe it to yourself to try this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93

2012 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Pinot Noir Lowburn Central Otago
Review Date: 09-18-2015
The Morrison Vineyard is a schist gravel vineyard; schist just seems to be a magic ingredient when it comes to wine. This is a can't miss Pinot, why you ask? Texture it has great mouth feel and is wonderfully integrated. This wine is just a pleasure to drink. Deep dark fruits, spice, hint of earth and a savory note on the finish. There is only one small problem with this wine, there is not enough made.

2014 David Grenache Paardeberg Swartland
Review Date: 09-16-2015
A member of the Swartland Independent Producers, don't know what that is? Go to their website, it will get you fired up. This is an amazing Grenache. Unadultarated Grenache grown in iron rich granitic soils. We sell more Pinot Noir at and above this price point that do not have the purity, the balance, complexity or subtle intensity of this wine. If that is what you want in wine, put down that $30 CA Pinot, empty your shopping cart of $30 Burgundy and buy this wine. Heck if you want a great wine that is not over extracted or tannic buy this wine. You will thank me then, curse me when you find out that it is all sold out.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 David "Aristargos" White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 09-16-2015
A member of the Swartland Independent Producers, don't know what that is? Go to their website, it will get you fired up. To lazy to be bothered, buy a bottle of this! 5 different varietals from 12 different vineyard sites, blended together to create their unique expression of the Swartland. The nose is broad and sappy with a pronounced mineral tang. The palate is rich with pure golden fruit and and dusty minerals that just linger and linger on it lip smacking finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 91

2014 Mount Edward Estate "Morrison Vineyard" Riesling Lowburn Central Otago
Review Date: 09-10-2015
I am so sad that I finally tried a bottle of this, now that were are down to the very end of the vintage. This is a terrific bottle of Riesling. Coming in at under 12%ABV this light weight, full intensity Riesling sings! Lime zest, salty minerality and just a faint earthiness on the finish. All that backed up with slap you in the face acidity. I thought the wine evaporated it disappeared so quickly at dinner last night.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Blend Marlborough
Review Date: 09-09-2015
This could be a perfect Indian summer white. A fun field--vineyard 5182, to be exact--blend. This has the cool poise and drive of Riesling, the subtle richness of Pinot Gris and finishes with just enough of that Gewurztraminer spice. This is not a sweet wine, there is plenty of fruit and spice but no sugar--do not let the varietals scare you away. There is a lot going on here, but not in stuffy geeky way. Chill this down and drink it up!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 93

2013 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 08-26-2015
One of my new favorite direct import producers. Every wine I have had from them is terrific. This year's offering is very aromatic, medium bodied, has delicate but pronounced minerality and a nice lingering finish. A delicious, versatile dinner wine.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92 AG 91

2010 Bolsignano "Grazia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-26-2015
With so many great 2010 Brunellos available it would be all too easy to overlook this little gem. I would have--I had never heard of the producer until I saw it on the shelf. I am so glad that it was brought to my attention. This has everything that I want from Brunello: complex aromatics, multi-chromatic fruit, savory-earthy Tuscan spice, power, depth and most importantly, elegance. Wow!
Price: $49.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 WE 94

2012 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Put this in your shopping cart now! This is the best $10 red we have, period. Well, OK, it is $11 but let's round down. This has an incredible pedigree. Made by best winemaker in Australia award winner, check. Grapes were grown in the most prestigious region for Bordeaux varietals, Margaret River, check. No other wine in the store can offer that at twice or three times the price. That being said, it is flat out delicious, with dark, rich fruit, a hint of spice, lush tannins and just enough lift to make it pop. Best everyday red, period.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Antech "Emotion" Cremant de Limoux Brut Rosé
Review Date: 08-26-2015
Displays a surprising amount of elegance and refinement for such a modestly priced sparkling rosé. With generous bubbles and crisp flavors of strawberries, cherries and toast. This is a bottle for all occasions.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
Review Date: 08-26-2015
This is a fantastically balanced, surprisingly rich Lirac that puts most other wines from the region to shame. With dark fruit, subtle earthy tones, ripe tannins and lengthy finish, this is a must-have for anyone who enjoys Rhone wines.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2014 Cognizant Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-26-2015
It is hard to believe that this Pinot is only $20. It has a great nose. With plenty of sappy fruit that is peppered with spice and earth, you would almost think you smell something from the Cote de Beaune! The palate is round and rich with soft tannins and just enough acidity to pull all of the ripe berry fruit into focus. With dusting of exotic spice for intrigue there is something in this wine for anyone who likes Pinot, no matter where in the world it is grown.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
Review Date: 08-03-2015
The Renaud Macon wines are always some of the best value wines at K&L. For me the Solutre has always been my favorite, but over the last to vintages the Charnay has just shined. A little more fruit, a touch more texture, more zip and a slightly longer finish. Buy both, but if you can only have buy one, get the Charnay.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 08-03-2015
A delicious Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc. With plenty of riper fruit notes and a touch of minerality and just a faint whiff of something herbal. A versatile everyday white.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-03-2015
Clean pear fruit backed by fairly intense minerality. There is way more wine in this bottle of bubbles than you would expect from a Prosecco at this price point.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-03-2015
2010 Brunello for dinner tonight! You have been reading/hearing the hype about the vintage, now try some guilt-free. It showcases everything you would want from a Brunello, dark rich fruit, earth, spice and big ripe tannins. Yes you can, and maybe you should, put some in your cellar but it is so good now....
Price: $37.89 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 JS 92

2013 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-30-2015
A perfect cross over wine for anyone who loves Cabernet blends, whether you prefer new world or old world wines. Dark fruits, with a little tobacco, structure and minerality. Reasonably priced as well, this is a wine that cannot be passed up.

2013 Maison Idiart Sauvignon Blanc Touraine
Review Date: 06-21-2015
We just discovered this little jewel from the Loire Valley. Touraine Sauvignon is an exceptional value. Riper and fuller, than some of our other Value Loire white. Aromatic and fresh. This wine is all citrus and lemongrass with mouth-watering acidity and just enough mouthfeel to round out the texture. A great everyday white, especially now that summer is here.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Lyeth Sonoma County Meritage
Review Date: 05-30-2015
Dark fruit, a touch of spice, oak and chocolate on a medium to full bodied palate with moderate tannins and respectable length. All for $15? You betcha, this is one of the best deals in CA red here at K&L.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 05-30-2015
This is no ordinary Cava. There is a good percentage of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay are used in the blend. What that means is that there is breadth and depth to this sparkler that you do not find in similarly priced Cavas. Mix that with clean fruit tones, a moderate amount of yeastiness and a classic Brut finish and you get one of K&L's best sparkling values.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Broadley Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-30-2015
Always a favorite producer from the Willamette. With dark red berries and spicy notes. Round, delicate fruit is balanced with bright acid and a touch of tannin. Good depth and nice finish this wine does not disappoint.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Ponzi Willamette Valley Rosé of Pinot Noir
Review Date: 04-24-2015
This is reminiscent of a Marsannay Rose with its concentration and structure, but with more exuberant aromatics and a ripe fresh fruit that pops on the palate. The nose is watermelon, subtle red berries and a delicate floral element, this wine smells like summer! Light and refreshing on the palate with vein of savory extract that makes all the fruit dance on your palate, just like a sprinkle of salt on fresh fruit. This will not last for long, you will want to buy several bottles, I have.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Penley Estate "Phoenix" Cabernet Sauvignon Coonawarra
Review Date: 03-13-2015
This is a ridiculous value. Cabernet with structure, complexity, and depth; and it is only $16! Try to find a Cab with similar characteristics from CA for the same price and originating in some of the best Cabernet soils in the world. This is delicious now and it will only get better over the next few years.

2012 Faust Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-26-2015
Full Throttle Napa Cab from the people who bring you Quintessa. Dark fruited with plenty of spicy oak and chocolate notes. Rich and opulent, this with is super enjoyable now but still has places to go.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 90

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
Review Date: 02-25-2015
It is almost too easy to overlook this wine when we have the 1999 Gran Reserva on the shelf at the same time. That would be a huge mistake. This wine offer a freshness and power that the other does not have. While the red and dark fruits of the wine are starting to dry, there is still freshness that gives it some pop. It also posses the classic leather and spice of Rioja. Drink it now or hold for a while, this is another great deal from Bodegas Puelles.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-24-2015
This is classic Sonoma Cab. Dark red fruit, a touch of chocolate and spicy oak. Lush on the palate with just enough tannin to give it heft but no edges.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Jean-Louis Denois "Tradition" Extra Brut Reserve
Review Date: 08-31-2012
Champagne in all but name? Aged 18 months on it lees, just like NV Champagne. Made by a wine maker trained in Champagne. Grapes grown, well not in Champagne but that's why we can sell it for $15! Toasty, nutty and dry with just a hint of red berries. Buy this buy the case and drink it every night.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé
Review Date: 08-31-2012
This is always the first wine from Denois to disappear. Good mouse and great pinot flavor can you ask for more? Yes, and reasonably priced!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-29-2012
Blanc de Noirs for a song! Dried stone fruits, brioche on the nose and palate. Concentrated and very dry this is an under- valued over achieving wine.
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-29-2011
This has become my favorite bargain DI Champagne. Round on the palate with that exotic fruit that you get from Pinot Meunier. It is yeasty in a doughy/cookie way with just a touch of spice.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2011
This is the go to value Champagne here at K&L. Dry, toasty with subtle fruit notes. Everything you want from Champagne except for the price tag!
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

Arran 10 year old Single Island Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 03-29-2011
I often overlook this Single malt; it is easy to do when looking at our shelves, but after trying this recently, no more. This small independently owned distillery is new, just about 15 years old. Their entry level whisky should be in everyone’s liquor cabinet. Medium rich with a great blend of both Bourbon and Sherry barrels; this is a whisky with no edges. It as easygoing and comfortable as a broken-in lay-z-boy. Perfect for kicking back and forgetting about your day, it will not challenge you with its complexity but indulge you with caramel, crème Brule, heather and a touch of apple.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-28-2011
This is one of the best non-vintage bubbles we have. Complex and dry, this does not need a special occasion!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-28-2010
Party bubbles. A touch darker than you'd expect. Dark fruits fine bubbles and a crisp finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-28-2010
A great bottle of bubbles. Rich and very dry this Blanc de Noirs is perfect dinner Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 12-28-2010
Super dry bubbles. This does more than flirt with being austere. That being said, "thank you mistress, may I have another?"
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Fleury Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 12-28-2010
This is like drinking sparkling red burgundy. Surprise power, depth and subtlety. Worth every penny.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

Ruinart Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-06-2010
This is no ordinary rose. Yes, it is beautifully colored, has a great mouse, and is just too easy to drink but there is something else going on here as well. In one word, complexity. This is like drinking beautiful sparkling Burgundy. Wonderful aromatics, multidimensional fruit, a round, generous mid-palate and great length, this is more than special occasion Champagne, this is indulgent, you deserve it, treat yourself (family and friends optional) Champagne!
Price: $72.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 92 WS 92

Sorelle Bronca Prosecco DOCG
Review Date: 06-23-2010
This is the best off dry Prosecco in the shop, quite possibly the best Prosecco! Clean and pure with just a hint of spice and the right touch of sweetness. This is the perfect wine for almost every occasion!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

1999 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 06-23-2010
This is the bottle of Bordeaux you should take home for dinner tonight! Perfectly aged, medium bodied with soft fruit that is accented with underbrush and tobacco and earth. The tannins are mature and round, the time is right for this bottle.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 05-13-2010
This could be the best Direct Import Champagne that we bring in! Depending on the day and my mood, it absolutely is! Old vine, single vineyard Chardonnay that spend some time in old Burgundy barrels, what is not to love about this?! It is great now, long complex and tasty, it get even better with bottle age (I had one from the first batch we brought in OM!@@#@$G!)

Sorelle Bronca "Particella 68" Prosecco
Review Date: 12-17-2009
This is the best Prosecco that we sell. Period. It has a richness on the mid-palate that you typically do not find, but more importantly the flavors are pure, clean and delightful. An open bottle is an empty bottle.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 ST 90

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-31-2009
It is hard to choose a favorite Launois wine. All of them are so good. What makes the Quartz stand out, other than it being unique in that it has few ATM's of pressure in the bottle, is the brightness of the fruit. There is a dazzling purity that make you want more and more! The mousse is soft and you couldn't guess that there is less pressure, and the finish is terrific. Grab some while we still have it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-09-2009
It is hard to miss this wine with its great packaging, but more importantly it is the juice between the bubbles. Ever since I started working for K & L, first bottle I took home was this wine!, I have been a big fan. Broad rich on the palate with a great bead. The flavors lean towards white Burgundy, what's not to like?
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

La Caudrina "La Selvatica" Asti
Review Date: 07-09-2009
This is the best Asti I have ever had! It is happy in a glass. Text book Muscat aromatics but softer, prettier, almost elegant. Perfumy but in a sofisticated way. Light round and soft on the palate with a delicate sweetness. I have drunk more of this just by itself, it never seems to last until the cheese or dessert course!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
GR 2