Staff Favorites - Shaun Green

Shaun Green

Reviews

  
2012 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) Red Blend Swartland
Review Date: 05-20-2015
If you could make a classic styled Chateauneuf du Pape in South Africa (OK, with a little modern nod), or more precisely if superstar winemaker Eben Sadie could make one, it would be this. Stunning intensely deep fruit, black spices, ground minerals and a perfumed, lifted nose of rose petals, black raspberries and sweet spices all mingle together in a very exotic and enticing wine. The balance and structure of this wine makes me wonder what it will do in 5-10 years, but I sincerely doubt anyone buying it will be able to keep their hands off it this long.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Sequillo (Eben Sadie) White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 05-20-2015
I keep thinking if Dagueneau had made a Chenin in South Africa it very well may have tasted like this. Eben Sadie has a stellar and growing reputation for spectacular wines and this is certainly proving his reputation deserved. This wine shows its Chenin Blanc so expressively and the remaining varietals seamlessly support the effort. Intense and pure fruit, a wonderful lanolin overlay and expressive minerality - wow - and at under $20 this is unbelievable. Don't wait, I can't believe these will be around for very long at all.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 05-19-2015
Here's a very cool Super Tuscan at a fantastic price. Rich and mouthfilling dark cherry fruit with a bit of spice lingering throughout and a great but not heavy handed structure. Pull the cork for your summertime BBQ evenings and you'll be hooked too.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 93

2012 Valli "Bannockburn Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 04-01-2015
Here is a beautiful and rich Pinot Noir from Valli. In tasting through their Pinot offerings, this stood out as one of the most powerful and deep offerings. It shows black cherry and deep dark plum fruit, an nice touch of oak and violets/rose petal. Long on the finish and solid. Absolutely delicious!
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
BC 94 JS 94

2012 Valli "Waitaki Vineyard" Pinot Noir North Otago
Review Date: 03-30-2015
This Valli was definitely the most intriguing of their 2012 offering. Powerful but angular and tense and tightly wound, quite a brooding Pinot. Great minerality and acidity and a complex nose. There are a lot of layers here, and this one should reward the patient collector.
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 96

2012 Valli "Bendigo Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 03-30-2015
The Bendigo is another richer style from Valli, bold and rich but with savory notes and a super velvety texture. Mouth filling and layered with a warmer riper fruit and a wonderfully long finish
Drink to 0
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
BC 93 JS 93

2013 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Wow, what a deal. Wonderfully 'yummy' and rich nicely layerd with cocoa, fresh tobacco notes over deep brambly fruit. Mouth filling and long in finish, this shows a great Washington character at a bargain price. It's not all that surprising considering it comes from Charles Smith, a winemaker with a great track record of terrific wines.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90 - 93

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 03-03-2015
This bright and compelling Pinot from NZ is pretty hard to beat. Truly fantastic Pinots are nearly impossible to find under $20, but this one delivers. It's not a New World "thick" Pinot, rather it shows its varietal characteristics confidently and soundly while offering complex notes of spices, florals and earthy notes floating over a lovely array of red and blue fruits, and with fine tannins and a great acid balance. Bravo!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2012 Woodstock Estate Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 03-03-2015
Another Aussie wine pulls the strings of my wine loving heart! This wonderfully rich and powerful Shiraz from winemaker Ben Glaetzer (yep, think Amon Ra!)shows all the great deep notes of mocha, black licorice root and spicy blackberries, but not ever overwhelming or hot. It's amazing how this wine balances density and richness with complex aromatics, structure and bright highlights - all coming together with remarkable style and beauty. Maybe the best deal in Syrah in the store.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2004 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 02-18-2015
Here's your chance to get a lovely classic ready to drink Bordeaux at a great price. Wonderfully rich and smooth texture with a medium weight yet complex qualities of tobacco leaf, roasted nuts under lovely berry fruit. Don't miss this one!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2008 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-10-2015
Super vintage, super wine and fantastic price. How can you go wrong. Gary has brought us another gem this time from the Aube and he hasn't lost his touch! All Champagne lovers owe it to themselves to try one.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 McManis California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-04-2015
McManis has been a great source of inexpensive and crowd friendly California Cabs for a while and the 2013 does not disappoint. Juicy and plump with a nice little dose of oak - if you like a modern California Cab, but need something a bit more economical you'll love this one. Very tasty!
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2012 FRAM Pinotage Citrusdal Mountain
Review Date: 10-22-2014
Wow! Here's a Pinotage that will win over even those who have been avoiding the varietal for years. Beautifully pure and missing the distinctive tarry herbal notes that keep many from enjoying Pinotage. There are a few great Pinotage that I've tasted over the years, and this certainly adds to that list.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Couvreur K&L Exclusive Overaged Peated Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 10-07-2014
I love it! Super creamy with a mild peat, lovely sherry character and an absolutely wonderful sexy texture on the palate. What an amazingly charming whiskey!
Top Value!
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-02-2014
Here again Tuscany shows us they can still produce truly fantastic wines at great values. Here's a beautiful and elegantly composed Brunello with lovely red fruits, silky rose petals, interwoven minerals and fine spices with an absolutely lovely texture hung on fine polished tannins, all in perfect harmony. Greg's imagery of a gemstone is perfect and polished rubies is one of the first images I had upon trying this wine too.
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$26.99
WE 91 JS 90

Westland American Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 07-15-2014
I hardly need to second the choices of David, but wow this one is very cool! Its rich, deep color at first made me worry that this was going to be a little too woody and sweet, but the nose suddenly changed that. Very full and deep with a somewhat roasted nut nose, and on the palate it has nice, long walnut, vanilla, barley and subtle raisin and caramel notes. Delicious and mouth-filling, yet vibrant and zesty. It has just enough sweet notes and a fantastic finish. The closest I've seen to a single malt Scotch from the U.S.!
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Kingston Family Vineyards "Alazan" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
Absolutely delicious Pinot Noir - one of the best Pinot offerings from Chile - fantastic red fruits and exotic spices mingling with a distinctive smoky note are extremely enticing and this wine pairs very well with many foods. Kingston's vineyards are in the Casablanca Valley, and with its cool maritime influence it's no wonder such high quality Pinot comes from their spectacular property. It's a great contender for the cellar too, but hard to resist so hide some from yourself if you want to age it!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WE 90

2012 Kingston "Cariblanco" Sauvignon Blanc Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 06-09-2014
This is an absolutely fantastic Sauvignon Blanc - one of my favorites, especially at this price. It is wonderfully complex and has a very impressive texture and weight. Rich tropical and citrus fruits with a slight touch of savory - it is spectacular as a summer dinner wine.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2012 Celler de Capçanes "Mas Donis Barrica—Old Vines" Montsant
Review Date: 05-21-2014
Wow, is this the best Mas Donis we've seen yet? I think so. It still shows its hallmark big, deep blackberry fruit, but really brings in another quality with the up-front spiciness and rose petal notes. The wonderful dark berry fruit and spice comes through all the way to the palate and long into the finish. Great job!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94 ST 90

Lehmann "Jamesse Reference" Grand Champagne glass (we can only ship in 6pks )
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

Lehmann "Jamesse Prestige" Grand Champagne mouth blown wine glass
Review Date: 05-20-2014
When our Champagne gurus Gary and Scott came back from Champagne this year raving about the glassware designed by Philippe Jamesse, I certainly took notice. These Champagne glasses are a bit more open and less flute like than standard flutes, and highlight the complexity of Champagne beautifully. Among the best Champagne glasses we've ever used, they are also an incredible value for both the mouth blown and machine made versions. If you love Champagne you owe it to yourself to try this glass.
Top Value!
Price: $37.50 Add To Waiting List

2002 Thiénot "La Vigne aux Gamins" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-13-2013
Stunning perfection. The 2002 La Vigne Aux Gamins elegance and purity rise this Champagne to a level rarely seen. Without the need for blousy opulence or extensive lees character, the Champagne sings. It's a counter tenor compared to the more commonly seen baritone version of great Champagnes. No offence to the rich and toasty champagnes out there, I love those sometimes, but this is cerebral and special, a bright and vivid expression of Champagne, showing extremely refined minerality, delicate white florals and wonderfully focused fruit that is both delicate and profound at the same time. Don't miss this one!
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $149.00 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 WS 93

2004 Pierre Moncuit "Cuvée Nicole Moncuit Vieilles Vignes" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 03-20-2013
I couldn't go home without a bottle after tasting this spectacular Champagne. Opulent but with spectacular verve, fine focus and a rich creamy middle, Ripe pears, delicate spices and orange blossoms linger on the nose and through the palate. All the characteristics of Mesnil from amazingly old vines and half the price of the most famous Mesnil Champagnes - and a very strong competitor to them.
Drink from 2012 to 2012

Thienot Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Light and crisp on the nose and moving on to an absolutely wonderful zesty palate of citrusy/tangerine like fruit - it has a wonderful mousse and a great finish. Drink like a movie star! This was the Champagne for the 2013 Oscars.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99
ST 90

Canard-Duchene "Authentic" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a deal for a Brut Rose. Perfectly dry and crisp with red currant/strawberry fruit and a crisp clean finish.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Canard-Duchêne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 03-12-2013
What a value! Another great find by Gary Westby. Lovely bread/cracker notes, fairly rich but with a good highlighting tartness. Clean finish and a lovely texturaly fine mousse.
Drink from 2013 to 2013
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2004 Sigalas Vinsanto Santorini (500ml)
Review Date: 03-12-2013
Very cool - relive those college days on Santorini with this wonderfully concentrated deeply intense dessert wine from the island. It's loaded with rich dried apricot and pineapple fruit with a tiny touch of molassas laced with spiciness and an abundant acidity to counterbalance.
Drink from 2013 to 2013

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Exactly what I want in special occasion Champagne - rich hazelnut cream, spicy baked apple, notes of honey and a wonderfully toasty overlay, yet it has great acidity and is still fresh - a wonderful balancing act. Perfect bubbles and silky palate texture,this is perfection in a bottle. Heidsieck has spent a huge amount of effort on quality across the range of their Champagnes, and this is absolutely spectacular!
Drink from 2012 to 2012

Cappellano Barolo Chinato 500ml
Review Date: 08-22-2012
If you have not experienced Chinato yet, you don't know what you're missing - and this is about as good as it gets. The wonderful aromatics of Barolo combined with herbs to create a magically wonderful concoction. Traditionally used to soothe the stomach after a wonderful meal, a lot of us now use it as a liqueur. The slightly bitter herbs and roots are strangely alluring and completely different.
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-10-2009
I can give this no better recommendation, working for K&L I have a lot of choices, and this was the wine for my wedding. You'll always find it in my cellar and I love this Champagne.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List