Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next
2008 Martinelli "Hop Camp Vineyard-Gravel Lens" Russian River Valley Syrah
Review Date: 02-12-2016
If you are looking for super heavy, syrupy Syrah, look elsewhere. This release from Martinelli is spicy and bright, with wild blackberry fruit and a slight hint of chalkiness. Also slightly gamey with pepper and clean clay notes. Red plums on the finish. A very interesting release.
Price: Hidden View Price
RR 92

2012 Thomas Coyne Contra Costa County Mourvedre
Review Date: 02-12-2016
This is my favorite wine of the Coyne series. Even more so at this bargain basement price. This is textbook Mouvedre in the French style, with a savory character and accompanying spices. It also has rich, plummy fruit that does not have the stewed prune aspect that we get from this varietal as is common with other winemakers.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2012 Thomas Coyne "Confluence" California Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 02-12-2016
Lightly tannic with tobacco and leather notes. The red and black fruits are bright and have good acidity. A good choice for those of you who are tired of massive fruit bombs.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Thomas Coyne "La Balle d'Argent" Lodi Early Burgundy
Review Date: 02-12-2016
This little bargain of a wine has big, bright red fruits on the forefront with a hint of white pepper and bright acidity on the back of the palate. The finish is fairly big with a bit of ripeness.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2009 Louise Brison Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-02-2016
This new (to us) small estate producer had a HUGE success here with their 2008 vintage. The 2009 vintage release is of a similar quality but, with higher acidity. It has bracing acidity and chalkiness on the finish, which, for me, is a good thing. This is due to a much lower dosage than the 2008. Where the 2008 showed rich, golden apple fruit, this release shows white stone fruits and peach. This is a solid effort and a very pleasing release.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge
Review Date: 01-23-2016
This delightful little wine from the Languedoc is simply delicious with deep, dark red and black fruits. Anise in the background with some baking spices and a soft, lush texture. This is the perfect wine for roasted pork and fowl, sharp, hard cheeses and sausages. A great little bargain, this!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
RP 90 - 92

Birra Del Borgo "L'Equilibrista" Bière de Champagne, Italy 750ml
Review Date: 01-23-2016
I think that I have only written up two or three beers because I have a relatively hard time describing them. Let's just say that last night, when I tasted this one, I described another beer as smelling like Kentucky Fried chicken and another one as "composty." This glorious selection, however, is easy. It's just simply delicious! It has peach and stone fruit notes on the nose but, the palate has tart strawberry, raspberry and rhubarb. I was super dubious as it is a cross between beer and wine (the "Champagne" part might have gotten me excited) but, wowsa! I can't say much more than just try it. It is simply delicious!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 01-21-2016
This 100% Chardonnay is organic and has an excellent, clean character. There is some richness mid-palate for complexity and elegance. One of my favorite Champagnes at present!
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Jean-Louis Denois Pinot Noir Brut Rosé
Review Date: 12-29-2015
This neat little sparkling wine is what I like to think of as "baby Champagne". It is a great crowd-pleaser with bright raspberry and strawberry fruit. Nice, easy bead with a nice finish of light minerals and chalk.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Plaisance "Cuvée Alix", Bordeaux
Review Date: 12-29-2015
Red plums, raspberry notes, generous spice and oak make this bargain Bordeaux stand out. It has enough of the "traditional" Bordeaux elements to please those traditionalists as well as enough fruit to make "New World" wine lovers happy. A great value that should please nearly everyone.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Simi Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-29-2015
Dark red berries, spices, anise and chocolate scents and flavors make this release from Simi a standout. Small oak barrel aging adds complexity and depth. From the acclaimed 2012 vintage, this is one not to miss, especially at this price.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 L'Avocat Rouge, Graves
Review Date: 12-29-2015
The grapes for this wine come from a parcel that previously sold its grapes to Mouton Rothschild. The quality shows! Deep, red fruits with that textbook minerality of Ceron grown fruit. Quite supple, with integrated tannins and a lovely, quite soft texture.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2012 Stony Hill Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-29-2015
This is pretty much one of the most perfect Napa Cabernets that I have tasted in a number of years. All of our staff at the SF store love it and if memory serves, almost all of us gave it first place after a tasting of over 45 newly released domestic wines. Like most 2012s, this is a full-bodied effort with dark red and black fruits. Yet, it has a freshness to it that balances nicely. Although not particularly tannic, it does have a tight backbone that gives it elegance and grace. At this price, it is also very competitively priced. P.S. Don't wait too long to buy it....it never stays around very long!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2013 Lamoureux Rosé des Riceys
Review Date: 11-04-2015
This is a SERIOUS Rose, not a simple picnic type of rosé. It has a dark garnet color and a nose of fresh picked strawberries. On the palate, strawberries, pomegranate and blood orange. Long, nicely acidic finish with cranberry undertones. This may even be a main course rosé! Our SF staff loved it when they tasted it today!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 J. Davies Diamond Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 10-02-2015
This is a beautifully balanced Cabernet with excellent tannin and structure. Dark red fruits, integrated tannin and velvety mouthfeel.

2013 Eyrie Vineyards "Estate Grown" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-02-2015
Wonderfully bright fruit that fleshes out mid-palate with dark red and black fruits. Burgundian in style with layers of complexity, fruit and spice. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2013 Ponzi "Reserve" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-02-2015
Very bright, with lean, good acidity. Granny Smith apples, some saline notes. A great alternative to heavy, buttery Chardonnay. Look past the wonderful Ponzi Pinot Noir and consider this Chardonnay!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2013 Arterberry Maresh Dundee Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-02-2015
This is one of the best Pinots that I have tasted in a long, long time! Wonderful bright cherry and strawberry with elegant acidity and chalky notes on the finish. This wine is an amazing value at this price! Don't miss it!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2011 Elk Cove "La Boheme" Brut Rosé Sparkling Wine
Review Date: 10-02-2015
Yes, I know that I work with the Champagnes here and yes, I do love them dearly but, this sparkler from Elk Cove is making me consider infidelity! It is a brilliant 100% Pinot Noir with gorgeous raspberry and strawberry fruit. Excellent bead with small bubbles and a creamy finish. It has an extraordinarily small production, so don't wait to purchase it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2010 Clendenen "Le Bon Climat" Santa Maria Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-02-2015
This beautiful, garnet colored wine has a generous red fruit nose with gracious cinnamon spice. Bright fruit on the palate, with light tannin and spicy oak. A real winner!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
VN 93 RP 90

2009 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 10-01-2015
This excellent, and affordable, Rioja gives the best of both worlds. It has New World juiciness and brightness, with Old World spice and (subtle) tannin for complexity. Bright red fruits with bright acidity makes this wine a winner for nearly every meal. At this price, why not buy a case?
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2010 Domaine Dugois Vin de Paille Arbois (375ml)
Review Date: 09-22-2015
Another fantastic entry into our Arbois revolution! Mind you, I am NOT a fan of sweet wines. Specializing in Champagne, my palate runs very dry and tart. I even have a hard time with demi-sec bubbles! That being said, I find this wine to be simply stunning. It is rich and full, with honeyed sherry notes, nuts and white stone fruits. Simply, unbelievably delicious and not too sweet, heavy or sticky for me.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Tour Boisée "Marie Claude" Minervois
Review Date: 09-22-2015
This gracious little Minervois has dark, black fruits, particularly boysenberry and deep, black cherries. It is soft and esay to drink with just a touch of tannin on the finish. A real bargain at this price!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine de Verquière Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 09-22-2015
Hello Bargain City! This dirt cheap little Rhone is alive with round, fresh and fruity character. Bright red and tart black fruits with some peppery notes and background spice. A great wine for everyday, large parties and family meals.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2013 Yves Duport Mondeuse "Terre Brune" Bugey
Review Date: 09-22-2015
This wonderful, medium-bodied Bugey has baking spices, white pepper and excellent chalkiness. Bright red and black fruits throughout. An extremely versatile wine that will pretty much pair well with almost everything.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2014 Veronique Anne Perret Roussette de Savoie
Review Date: 09-22-2015
This rich and full Savoie has some really great acidity with stone fruits, mandarin orange and peach notes. It is simply delicious and modern in style.
Price: Hidden View Price

2007 Thienot "Cuvée Garance" Brut Blanc de Rouges Champagne
Review Date: 09-12-2015
This fantastic 100% pinot noir selection was a big hit at our last customer Champagne tasting. Tart, red berries on the nose with some rich, creamy notes. On the palate, round but, not overly ripe dark, red fruits. The finish is also rich and round but, surprise(!) it is clean and lingering. A small production of only 5000 bottles. This is one of those beautiful champagnes that can hold up to steak and venison.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2004 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-11-2015
This is one of the best Grand Annees that I have ever tasted! It has rich nose laden with nuts and rich and round yellow fruits. In the mouth, a hint of oxidation and slightly under-ripe peaches with honey. The finish has excellent acidity with toasty, smoky flavors and almonds. An excellent cellar choice!

Taittinger "Prestige" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-11-2015
A blend of 50% Pinot Noir, 30% Chardonnay and 20% Pinot Meunier. A large (15%) blend of still Pinot Noir in the mix. The nose has cherries, red boysenberries and fresh cream. Soft and lush on the palate with orange marmalade undertones. A great choice for people who like a slightly richer, more opulent style of brut rosé.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 VN 90

Drappier "Signature" Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
This unusual blend of 95% chardonnay and 5% blanc vrai (pinot blanc) has white flower notes with some muted bread dough notes on the nose. In the mouth, it is fairly rich with creamy golden apple fruit and a long, rich finish of lemon meringue. Excellent acidity and brightness, as well. A low 8 grams per liter dosage and it spends 2-3 years on the lees. All stainless steel fermentation.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
ST 91 WS 91

Drappier Rose Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
This absolutely 100% tasty Brut Rose is 100% pinot noir. It is dosed at a low 7 grams per liter dosage with 2-3 years on the lees. It has ripe strawberry fruit with hints of tart cranberries and red fruits. Lush, yet dry and extremely delicious!
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 RP 91

2009 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
This new release from Roederer is 62% pinot noir and 38% chardonnay. It has a wonderful orange and cherry nose with just a hint of smoke and it fleshes out on the palate with dark red cherries, cream and ripe strawberries. A very nice style for those of you who prefer a slightly more rich Brut Rose.

2008 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
Here's another beauty from the newest, most collectible vintage available. A blend of 70% pinot noir and 30% chardonnay of 100% Grand Cru fruit. A very pretty floral nose of white flowers and stone fruits. Fleshy and full in the mouth with red fruit characteristics and lush cream. Excellent acidity! Lovely. A great, elegant effort from Roederer.

2004 Pol Roger Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
This 100% Grand Cru blanc de blancs is a step outside of the box. It has a traditional clean, crisp nose with lemon curd nuances and cream. On the palate, a richer style, with round, yellow fruits, nectarine and a hint of key lime. A nice, low 8 grams per liter dosage.
Price: $104.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 WS 94

Billecart-Salmon Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
I tasted this beauty on the 8th of September. It is simply great with golden apple fruit, minerals and sea salt on the nose. On the palate, more golden apple fruit with just a hint of caramel and full minerality. It has the bonus of an extremely long finish of salinity and lemon meringue.

Mas Codina Cava Brut Reserva Penedès
Review Date: 08-31-2015
This is one of our greatest "value" sparkling wines in the company. It is very well balanced and has a lingering finish. The overall character of golden apple fruit, with a hint of nuttiness and tart cherries, is balanced by a very clean finish that contains citrus notes and minerals. It has 10 grams per liter dosage, enough to keep it dry but, to add some light fruitiness, as well. Something here to please nearly everyone!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Louise Brison "L'Impertinente" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-29-2015
100% pinot noir with no malolactic fermentation. Strawberry and raspberry nose with toasty notes and jammy scents. On the palate, Morello cherries, a touch of cranberry, ample structure, and a racy finish. Lovely as an aperttif or with white meats such as chicken or pork.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

1998 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-28-2015
I tasted this simply gorgeous release from Dom Perignon on the 24th of August, 2015. This late-disgorged beauty (2012) is completely different than any DP I have ever tasted. It has fresh doughy notes on the nose that hint at a richness that we expect from this producer BUT, it also has a fantastic minerality and salinity. There is a nice, spicy character on the palate with tart cherry notes and just the slightest hint of toasted nuts. The finish is long with buttery notes and then zap(!), the acidity kicks in for a racy finish that lingers and lingers and lingers. Simply wonderful! Hand disgorged. A must buy for collectors as well as for those of you that are looking for a very special bottle for yourself or for a gift.

1995 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-28-2015
We tasted this gorgeous bottling of this wine on 24 August, 2015. The staff was unanimous in their high praise of this very special DP. It is late disgorged (2013) and has a nose of grilled and toasted nuts, clean clay, quince and raspberry with a hint of smoke. On the palate, cherries, fresh-baked bread flavors and nectarine. The finish is elegant and shows some of that DP richness but, like the P2 Brut, lingers and lingers. Simply great. This bottling will age well for many, many years to come, so collectors take note. The best Brut Rosé I have had in a number of years.
Price: $799.00 Add To Cart
VN 95

2012 Au Bon Climat "Bien Nacido Vineyard - Historic Vineyards Collection" Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-22-2015
This beautifully dark cherry, smoky Pinot Noir also has a balance of tart cherries with a long finish of slightly chalky notes. Absolutely delicious and worth every cent!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 De Su Propia Cosecha "La Cosecha" Central Coast Rhône Blend
Review Date: 08-22-2015
This is a nice, chewy Rhone blend with dark red and black fruits. It also has nice, spicy finish, ample mouthfeel and great balance. At this price, it is a super bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 08-18-2015
Springtime in a glass! A lovely nose of rose petals, minerals and very tart raspberries. On the palate, more raspberries, with some fizz and chalky/stony overtones. Excellent acidity and balance. Have it with some smoked salmon and crusty sourdough bread!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Momo (Seresin) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 08-17-2015
This medium-bodied and juicy Pinot Noir pretty much has it all! Lush strawberry fruit combined with red berries, smoke and spice. Pretty much goes with everything from lighter beef dishes to smoked salmon and game bird. An excellent value!
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Erik Banti Morellino di Scansano
Review Date: 08-17-2015
This delightful and versatile little Italian red is chock-full of lush red fruits that are bright and appealing. Full and round but not over-extracted. Very, very versatile due to its bright and accessible character. A really good value!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-17-2015
This very pretty, rich and creamy Prosecco has been a favorite here for a while now. It has a mouthwatering nose of peaches and nectarines with just a hint of Key lime. The palate follows the characteristics of the nose, but has the addition of cream with a citrus finish. Don't miss this one!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Bench Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-17-2015
Bench continues their run of winning Pinot Noir with this effort from the 2013 vintage. It is highlighted by deep, dark red fruits, raspberry notes and a hint of earth on the back of the palate. Mellow oak and tart raspberries on the finish round out the overall character. Delicious!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 CVA "Gordo" Monastrell-Cabernet Sauvignon Yecla
Review Date: 07-06-2015
Compared to other Monastrell wines that we sell, the "Gordo" is not really all that gordo. It is pleasantly balanced and not typically as raisiny as other wines from Yecla. It has a black plum nose with light scents of cinnamon and graphite. It is at once fruity but, also has lightly structured tannins. Dark red fruits, blackberry, and savory notes along with a touch of chalk add interest and complexity. One of our better wines from this region.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
Review Date: 07-06-2015
This pretty and opulent Malbec has a lovely nose of crushed violets and Ludens cherries. On the palate, it is rich and smooth with dense cherry fruit, ripe raspberries and just a hint of anise and minerals. A wonderful vale and a wine that should please nearly everyone.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2014 Domaine la Chapelle Saint Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-16-2015
We have just received this lovely, easy to drink Rose. It has ripe raspberry and strawberry fruit with medium acidity and a smooth finish. This is a great apertif Rose that will pair finely with a vegetable platter or an Italian antipasto starter course. This is the summer go-to wine!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-30-2015
The great thing about this bargain Brunello is that it has soft tannins and opulent dark cherry fruit that makes it very appealing to drink right now. It also has enough background tannin to allow it to be aged well for the next few years. Cocoa and spice add to the complexity and also give the La Fortuna added character. This Brunello is consistently a staff favorite and this vintage is no exception.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next