Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2015 Black Slate "La Vilella Alta" Priorat
Review Date: 04-19-2019
This delicious little gem was quite a surprise with dinner last night. Rich and spicy, with a lush nose of black plums, currants and licorice. Plush mouthfeel with deep, dark, red and black fruits (black currant and black raspberry). Nice tarty finish with a hint of cranberry fruit. I don't usually like to carry on about prices but, this one really is a bargain!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 90

1995 Charles Heidsieck "Blanc des Millénaires" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 04-06-2019
Champagne nerds rejoice! This stunning release from Charles Heidsieck is at the top of my list for interesting champagnes this year. It has a nose of white flowers, citrus, coconut, almonds, and smoke. A lot going on there! On the palate, some upfront oak flavors with very fine acidity. Mid-palate lush, almost honeyed notes, with savory (and smoke) flavors immediately following. On the finish, a nice dollop of cream and then, light grapefruit on the finish. Again, very interesting and unique. A perfect meal choice and sure to hit the sweet spot for those of you who are jaded about bubbles.

2006 Arnauld, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 03-21-2019
This little gem of a Bordeaux is very accessible, with dark cherry fruit and softer (though not flabby) tannins. It also has some lively spice, earth and tobacco notes that add complexity and nuance. We have had very good luck here with this producer and this release is no exception to the overall balance of quality and value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Helllloooo clean! This is one clean, lean, fighting machine! My favorite Sauvignon Blanc features are all here in this wine....grapefruit and limestone with a minerality that is almost lush. It is softer on the finish than in the forefront, so it isn't an acid monster throughout. It is very civilized and yummy!

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 02-20-2019
I have been a fan of TWR for many years and this latest Pinot Noir does not disappoint. It is a bit lighter in style (which is good for me!) with bright red fruits and cranberry notes. On the palate, sour cherry and cranberry fruit, with a long, clean finish. Simply put, just delicious! Super versatile!

2017 Quarter Acre Chardonnay Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Now, normally, I do NOT write up Chardonnay, rather than Burgundy. I know that sounds snooty but, I just love higher acid, cleaner white wines. However, this is the exception. It has a classic Chardonnay nose of yellow apples and toast. In the mouth, it also has golden apples and a certain richness with a slight buttery overtone. It has everything that I usually don't like! Golden, somewhat rich fruit, butter and toast. So, just WHY do I like this wine so much? BALANCE! It is balanced! The oak and acidity meld together to make this wine interesting, tasty and quite wonderful. I nearly fell off my chair.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
SK 94 RC 90

2016 Mount Edward Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Another great release this season from Mount Edward. A generous cherry nose with Ludens cherry fruit and baking spices. Brighter, with more acidity and brighter cherries on the palate. Finishes richly with a spicy finish. Another great effort from this vintner.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
JS 94

2017 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 02-20-2019
This little gem is relatively dark, with a lush nose of boysenberry and pepper. It is even richer on the palate with dark cherry and black raspberry fruit. A great crossover wine fro those of you who want to branch out from CA Pinot Noir and don't want to spend a fortune to do so!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Moss Wood "Ribbonvale" Cabernet Sauvignon Margaret River
Review Date: 02-20-2019
Three words come to mind with this wine...chocolate, chocolate, chocolate! It's on the nose and in the mouth. Big, black, fruits with solid tannins and, surprise, quite the linear finish. Yum! Drink it or introduce it to your cellar.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "SV5182" Marlborough Syrah
Review Date: 02-20-2019
TWR does it again! A Syrah that isn't really Syrah-like (read "juicy and extracted"). Cigar box and black fruited nose with hints of roasted meats. Black fruits and generous white pepper on the palate. Very, very, structured! A great wine for foods like pork and game bird.

2018 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "M" SV5182 Marlborough Riesling
Review Date: 02-20-2019
This is, just simply, GREAT Riesling! A very pretty jasmine scented nose with apricot and orange. On the palate, bright, Mandarin orange, tangerine and cherry. Simply delicious and tasted drier than the label indicates (M=Medium dry). Just lovely!

2000 Dom Pérignon "P2" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-15-2019
I had the opportunity to re-taste this beauty recently and it is showing just magnificently. What stands out is the striking acidity and elegance. On the nose, it tends toward slightly ripe stone fruits and green apple. It also has a little hint of smoke, which keeps things interesting. On the palate, nectarine, yellow apple and vanilla cream. The acidity and saline come on the long finish and make this a very memorable P2. Balanced and elegant are what came to mind when I tasted this offering. A great selection for those of you who also like to age your champagnes.

2015 Lilian Ladouys, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 01-25-2019
The bright red fruit nose has hints of citrus and a bit of cream de cacao. On the palate, more bright red fruits (as others have said, definite currant and cranberry), along with some dry herb notes and fine tannins. It takes a little time to come around on the finish but, with that time, you will be rewarded charming acidity.

Dérot-Delugny "Coiffe Blanche" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
The second offering that we have from Derot Delugny is a 100% Pinot Meunier bottling that is a bit different from other all PM champagnes that we offer. Different in that it is more muted and subtle and that is a good thing! On the nose, white currants, maple and some caramel. The palate is quite different, with nice acidity, dried fruits (golden raisins) and yellow apples. Surprisingly, fresh and almost floral, with generous creamy notes. Should be super versatile with anything from starters to main courses.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Dérot-Delugny "Cuvée Fondateurs" Brut
Review Date: 01-15-2019
While I have tasted champagnes with Pinot Gris in them (eternal favorite Aspasie Cepages d' Antan), like the other reviewers here, I have not tasted one that is 100% Pinot Gris. Well, if this is the benchmark, please people, make more in this style! A very pretty nose of white flowers, cream and nectarine. On the palate, very clean and zippy, at first, and then, lemon meringue, and cantaloupe sneak in mid-palate. Wonderfully long finish of lemon and minerals! Very interesting and just plain delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2017 Averaen Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This excellent (and affordable!) Pinot Noir from Banshee's Willamette Valley vineyard is great. Deep, dark and red fruited, it has low to moderate tannin without being extracted or "sweet". Light earthy flavors at the back of the palate add complexity and nuance.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 Domaine Dubois Bourgogne Rouge Hautes Cotes-de-Nuits
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This well prices Bourgogne Rouge is definitely for those of you who prefer a more traditional and earthy style. Deep, dark red fruits, tobacco, menthol and an overlay of spice make this wine well suited to game bird or roasted pork.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Montechiara Prosecco
Review Date: 12-21-2018
This is one of (possibly the highest) selling Prosecco for us. It has the classic peachy and creamy character that makes Prosecco so popular. Great as an apertif or for the ever popular Aperol sprtiz!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2010 Wiston Estate Brut Blanc de Blancs West Sussex England (White Label)
Review Date: 12-14-2018
Another delicious effort from Wiston Estate. A lively Blanc de Blancs with stone fruits, lemon-lime and nectarine. Tart apples, a hint of chalk and the Wiston Estate creaminess all add up to a very enjoyable sparkler that will work well as an aperitif or with a seafood dinner. Cheers, cheers. Thanks a lot!

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-02-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
Once the bottle is opened, a nose of lemon curd, citrus and brioche wafts up at you, immediately letting you know that there is a lot going on with this wine. Nutty background notes lend interest and make this a memorable Champagne. In the mouth, apricot, pineapple and cream are the primary flavors with Granny Smith apples and hazelnuts in the background. The citrus aspect of the chardonnay really comes out on the finish and lends a bit of zippiness to the overall impression. Update: 2012 vintage (8/23/2018). This bottling still retains all that I expect from the Belles Voyes vineyard. Rich and round, with scents of fresh pastry, lemon meringue, oak, and baking spices. Also rich on the palate, with round yellow fruits, baked caramel and tropical fruit. Looooooong finish! As expected, great acidity on the finish that is creamy AND lingering. This beauty won our customer tasting in August of champagnes solely from the 2012 vintage.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2008 Dom Pérignon Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-19-2018
Yes, this one is ways off (for coming into stock) but, this week, I had the extreme good fortune to taste it. Initially, it has a classic, clean, 2008 mineral driven nose but, the yellow apple fruit peeks through to give us a "heads up" of what's to come. Hints of creme brulee and lemon curd. On the palate, again, the citrus fruit and clean, clear, acidity is at the forefront. After that, the golden apple fruit comes forth (again), this time joined by (subtle) toasted nuts. Long finish with the right amount of acidity and cleanliness. Another classic 2008!

2004 Bollinger "R.D." Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
The week of September 10th was an amazing one. I was able to taste over 60 champagnes, inclusive of the best of the best, which this is. A blend of 66% Pinot Noir with 34% Chardonnay and a very low 3 grams of dosage. Classic Bollinger toasted nose with bread dough and cooked brown sugar. Dark, yellow apple fruit with hazelnut and spice. Long, long finish with lush minerality. It lingers on and on and on! I loved the 2002 and this 2004 is a more than worthy successor. Really, just brilliant!

2008 Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
I was finally, on 11 September, able to taste the Gratien line of champagnes. All of them were wonderful but, I have a special spot in my heart for this one. It has a beautiful nose! So darn pretty and delicate with lighter yellow fruits, lemons and cream. Excellent palate with lush, golden fruits, fine acidity and elegance. The two words that most describe this champagne for me are "pretty" and "delicate' for both the nose and character on the palate. Really just sublime.

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This review is for the latest release, a blend of the 1997, 1999 and 2002 vintages. A blend of 55% Chardonnay and 45% Pinot Noir with a clean nose of citrus, cream, pastry dough and coconut. Beautifully balanced and delicate on the palate, with toasted nuts, cream, brioche and white fruits. Wonderful balance of citrus on the finish. (Updated review 13 September, 2018)

Billecart-Salmon "Sous Bois" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-13-2018
I think that this latest version of this wine is probably the best one yet. It has a rich nose of golden apples and subtle, soft, oak. Also rich on the palate with baked apples, sea salt and a hint of minerals. Rich and round, with excellent acidity and depth. The once controversial champagne (for our staff), has found its sweet spot and is an excellent example of this style of champagne. It is a great pick for both the adventurous and those of you who are really into food and Champagne pairing.

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
This Brut Rose has consistently been the darling of both staff and customers. It is composed of 100% Pinot Noir and retains a classic, clean, fresh raspberry and dark strawberry character. These days, there are also more mineral notes and hints of orange marmalade and black raspberries. A somewhat richer style but, balanced my minerals and tangy acidity on the finish. As is usual with this producer, quality has increased even more over the past few years without significant price increases. Still one of my favorite Champagne producers! (Updated 23 August, 2018).

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Oger" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Not arriving until late October of this year but, too memorable to not write about now! The third in a trio, which includes "Pur Mesnil" and "Pur Avize", this little gem smells more rich than the "Pur Mesnil" but, is actually more steely on the palate. Lemon curd and fresh lime are the main components and like its brethren, it has a long, lingering finish of chalk and minerals. Too special to miss out on!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 93

2012 Franck Bonville "Pur Avize" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Although this will not be arriving until late October of this year, I am writing them up to let people know about them because this is part of an unforgettable trio that is new from our beloved Franck Bonville. Of the three selections (including "Pur Mesnil" and "Pur Oger"), this one is the leesiest! A nose of cream and fresh cut pears. It lingers on the palate with with tart orange and lemon/lime flavors. Quite linear, with a long, long finish, which seems to be the hallmark of this line. Superb!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart
WE 94 RP 92

2012 Franck Bonville "Millesime" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
The 2012's from Franck Bonville are simply just not to be missed! The quality is fantastic and the wines are just beautifully elegant. A nice, ripe, pear nose with just a hint of golden apples. Nicely weighty (i.e. not too heavy!) with carryover yellow fruits and the addition of granny smith apples and limestone. The finish lingers a bit with chalky acidity and then softens mightily to let you down easy with your tooth enamel intact. Just lovely and a must buy!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
I just tasted this today at our staff tasting and it was completely unexpected. Not that we were tasting it but, that it did not taste at all like Pinot Meunier! The nose is creamy with pear fruit, white flowers and candied almonds. On the palate, at firs,t I thought of it as being "light" but, it fleshed out mid-palate, so it is really more medium bodied. Long, long finish with very solid minerality. We have had other Meunier-centric wineries produce lower dosage versions of this varietal but, the Gilbert is definitely the most affordable. The other wineries were also more traditional in their approach and this house is not. Thoroughly enjoyable!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Vilmart "Cuvée Grand Cellier" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2018
I had an opportunity to re-evaluate this wine on Friday, the 29th of June and it is still just spectacular! It has a lively nose of citrus (lemon/lime and a touch of tangerine) and cream with (light) bread dough. Super intriguing! On the palate, a super fine bead, with tiny bubbles, yellow (and green) fruits and fine cream. Absolutely delicious! A long, citrus and mineral finish, as well. Super elegant and just flat out delicious. It was favored (100%) by our staff over the other selections that were offered on that evening.

2016 Olivier Leflaive Bourgogne Blanc "Les Sétilles"
Review Date: 06-21-2018
The gem of a White Burgundy has great acidity! Loaded with yellow fruits and a relatively rich mid-palate, it starts and finishes with lively grapefruit notes. Very fresh and bright and just simply...delicious! Plus, a lingering finish. What more could you want?
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 91

2017 Framingham "Select" Riesling Marlborough
Review Date: 06-15-2018
I just had the great luck to taste this with winemaker Andrew Hedley of Framingham. It is just simply outstanding! It has a lively beginning of minerals and a hint of chalk, followed quickly by a super solid punch of stone fruits and nectarine. The finish lingers, which is something that all of the wines from Framingham seem to do! I am also just amazed by the pricing for a wine of this quality....it's a total win-win all around!

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
I have not had the pleasure to taste the champagnes of Alfred Gratien in many, many, years and it is great to become reacquainted. This wonderful "Classique" has white stone fruits and fresh pastry dough on the nose. In the mouth, starts out rich, with pear and cream cake flavors, and finishes clean with light minerality. Very pleasing and delicious!

2016 Kingston Family Vineyards "Tobiano" Pinot Noir Casablanca Valley
Review Date: 02-13-2018
This lovely Pinot Noir stopped me in my tracks with its lovely, candied cherry nose and spice. Light to medium bodied, with bright cherry fruit, a small bit of cranberry and quite generous minerality. Super solid and a real pleasure!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

Gilbert Jacquesson "Cuvée Prestige" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Although this selection has not arrived, I was able to taste a preview of it today. Unlike its siblings, it tends towards higher acidity with Fino sherry notes, almonds, yellow fruits and persimmon. Long finish. Super interesting. Cannot wait until we get this into stock!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
At first, I found this unique release to be chalky with spiced nuts (on the nose) and saline scents. Once the air hit it, yellow apple and guava came to the forefront and then, the chardonnay citrus definitely took over. Creamy, but, the lemon and spice flavors dominate in the end. To date, the most interesting release that we have had from this venerable producer and that includes the Meunier heavy releases that I love so much. Well worth the wait for us to acquire it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 01-16-2018
In contrast to the zesty 2008, this newly released 2009 is essentially lush with (browned) apple butter, yellow fruits and caramel. While lush on the palate, it does have a nice, clean finish with fine acidity, Meyer lemon and nectarines. Another vintage gem from Baron Fuente!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99
WE 91

2004 Krug Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-16-2017
Next to the legendary 2002 vintage Krug, this 2004 is also a star. Very, very, bright with generous acidity that combines with white stone fruit and almond flavors. It still retains the elegant mousse and brioche of classic vintage Krug, but, the acidity is the star player here. Super fresh, and clean, and bracing. This bottling has the potential of being the star of your cellar and may even overshadow the 2002 eventually. If you prefer to drink it without cellar time, give it a few minutes to air in your glass so that the glorious texture has a chance to come out and say "hi". The 2004 is a classic and will be remembered as being one of Krug's best!

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-30-2017
This little beauty has a base wine that is at least three years old and vintage reserve stock that is generally 8-10 years old. It has a creamy nose of ripe, yellow fruits and lemon meringue. Initially, rich on the palate, with golden apple, honeycomb and nectarine flavors. A nice, lingering finish that is clean and oak free. It spends 48 months on the lees and is composed of 1/3 each of the three primary Champagne varietals. Just lovely!

Michel Arnould "Reserve" Brut Verzenay Champagne
Review Date: 08-29-2017
This standard bearer of Champagne Michel Arnould is both high quality and a fine value. The Pinot Noir dominant blend is redolent with deep cherry fruit, toasted nuts and fine acidity. It could err on the side of big and bold but, it stops just short and offers up balance and interesting character. A great bubbly to drink on its own or to pair with fowl, pork or even lighter beef dishes.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart
DC 90

2006 Bollinger Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-08-2017
This superb Rose from Bollinger will not be arriving until this Fall but, I had the opportunity to preview it today, 8 August. It has a super interesting nose of bright strawberry, orange peel and Fino sherry. On the palate, follow-up strawberry, blood orange and almond flavors. Very dry, with fine acidity and very elegant balance. Very bright for a 2006 vintage. Not to highlight the price too much but, this one is exceptional at this level of pricing!
Price: $119.00 Add To Cart
DC 94 JG 92

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
This Champagne is crazy good! Crazy because its primary fermentation is 1/2 done in barrel and crazy because the 1/2 of the wine is aged in magnum at 1/2 pressure (3 fathoms) and then disgorged and blended in. Two hundred and fifty-thousand magnums hand-disgorged and tested for cork taint as the mags are aged on the cork, not crown cap. Who does this?! The Special Cuvée is bright and lively on the initial taste but, fleshes out and the trademark Bollinger golden fruits and caramel come into play. Super, super long finish! Still a family-owned Champagne house!

Laurent-Perrier "La Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-06-2017
Laurent Perrier has long been a favorite of mine due to its clean, lovely character and combination of quality and value. This new (coming in September) La Cuvee replaces the previous NV Brut. It has a tad more chardonnay and an increased sur lie aging of six months. The result? Even BETTER quality than it previously had! Beautiful nose of saline, cream and lemon meringue. Increased weight on the mid-palate with stone fruits and peachy goodness. Long, lingering finish with key lime, chalk, minerals and nectarine. These is really not much more to ask from this champagne!

2007 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-27-2017
As they said on Monty Python, "and now for something completely different!" This latest release of Grande Annee is as different from the 2005 vintage as can be. Whereas the 2005 is "classic" Bollinger with loads of creaminess, well-rounded oak and toasty notes, the 2007 is restrained with crystal clear acidity. Although dosed higher at 7g/l (the 2005 is 6g/l) this release comes off brighter. The 2007 has a peach and stone fruit character and white floral nose. A long finish with lemon/lime notes in the background and that Bollinger creme caramel. Bollinger has given us the best of two completely different styles with the 2005 and the 2007 siblings.

2014 Mayacamas Mt. Veeder Chardonnay
Review Date: 01-06-2017
Today has been a benchmark day! I am writing up TWO California Chardonnays, something I have never actually done before. This release from Mayacamas is every bit as good as a fine white Burgundy. From the opening citrus flavors to the closing background of creme fraiche and Anjou pear. A lingering finish that hints at ripe apple and honey, but, keeps them in their place so as not to overwhelm. The acidity throughout keeps it clean, focused and lively. Simply put, just wow! This should also age exceedingly well for the next 10 years. Way to go, Mayacamas Vineyards!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
VN 96 JS 94

1999 Billecart-Salmon "Le Clos Saint-Hilaire" Brut Blanc de Noirs Champagne
Review Date: 10-03-2016
On Monday, September 12, I had the rare opportunity to taste the wines of the “the Clos.” The journey came to what could have been a sad end—because it was all over—with the 1999 Billecart-Salmon “Le Clos Saint-Hilaire.” Not so sad to end on this note! Amazing, amazing bead that goes on forever; dark and golden hued. Fine and frothy, with elements of smoke, exotic spice and anise. Once it opened up, it becomes even more intriguing with even more spices, praline, truffle and toast. Finishes softly and elegantly. One hundred percent Pinot Noir. It is named after the patron saint of Mareuil-sur-Ay and this bottling is indeed heavenly!

2008 Veuve Clicquot "Gold Label Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
This vintage marks the first time that VC has used oak-aged wines for this blend. In this case, five percent. The clean nose leads to rich apple and creaminess. Freshness comes through on the palate with minerals and chalk. The mid-palate retains golden/yellow fruits and toasted almonds. Intriguingly long and bright finish. The final blend is 61% pinot noir, 34% chardonnay and 5% pinot meunier. Don't miss this one!

2008 Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-16-2016
A lovely tangerine and raspberry nose with touches of chalkiness and smoke. On the palate, tart boysenberry fruit, black cherries and additional smokiness. Very, very fresh tasting with generous minerality. One of the best VC vintage Brut Rose's that I have ever tasted!

Founders Brewing Co. Porter, Michigan (12oz)
Review Date: 04-15-2016
What an awesome porter at such an affordable price! A nose of unroasted coffee beans and maple. In the mouth, more coffee with toffee and chocolate notes. Not a summer sipper, this. I would even be tempted to serve it as an after dinner beer with something made with dark, bitter, chocolate. Or, just by itself.
Price: $1.89 Add To Cart
WE 93

Page: 1 2 next