Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2010 Poggio Antico Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 02-03-2016
The nose of this wine is just super elegant, full of rose petals, wild cherry with hints of Middle Eastern spices. On the palate the wine is lively, fresh and savory all at the same time; the wild cherry turns deeper into plum, smoked meats and leather but always propped up by high-toned cherry and rose notes. The finish is just stupendous, so complex, so full, so long, it is hard to choose between these two wines but I like this one just slightly more than the Altero. But both are super.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2014 Blason Pinot Grigio Isonzo
Review Date: 02-03-2016
We have been importing Blason Pinot Grigio since the 2002 vintage....yes this is the 13th (and Lucky # in Italian) vintage and without a doubt my favorite vintage to date. Blason has always had body, depth and aromatics but this year they've got a really vibrant central acidity that amplifies the aromatics and firms up the wine. Sensational and at this price a ridiculous BARGAIN!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Demi-Long Superiore Brut
Review Date: 02-03-2016
I love this pure expression of Prosecco, a vibrant Brut, dry and very crisp with an extended lees contact that adds to the complexity. Very crisp, great mid palate weight and long, long finish, exceptional Prosecco!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 JS 90

2011 di Majo Norante "Ramitello" Biferno Rosso
Review Date: 02-02-2016
I was really stunned by the richness, complexity and depth of flavors in this wine…and then I saw the price! The nose is full of bold, dark fruit aromatics that flow languidly from the glass. This is a blend of 80% Montepulciano and 20% Aglianico that offers such bang for your buck you are not going to believe it. Layers of spicy Montepulciano fruit, supple textures wrap themselves around a solid core of structure, balanced, bold and a real mouthful of wine, and such a deal!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2013 La Fortuna "Fortunello" Rosso Toscano
Review Date: 12-22-2015
La Fortuna’s rolling vineyards sloping down from the town of Montalcino offer a perfect site for this delicious wine. The warmth of the 2013 vintage shows the quality of its luscious fruit character that is just drinking fabulously now! Made from 100% Sangiovese the wine spends four months in French oak to soften it just a bit, the nose is classic black cherries and strawberries with just a hint of chocolate. There’s loads of fruit adding to the lush palate feel, the wine is balanced with refreshing acidity so that all you need is a plate of pasta in front of you!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2013 La Fortuna Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 12-22-2015
La Fortuna Rosso is full of ripe Sangiovese fruit. Lush, plum and chocolate flavors coat the palate, yet the inherent structure of this superb vintage gives the wine terrific depth, concentration and scintillating aromas. Drink it now and it will give you a thrilling drinking experience, and will age well for the next 6-8 years. Try it now with your meat sauced pasta, yet it will go equally well with roasted chicken or grilled meats, or just as a glass on its own!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 12-22-2015
A long time K&L favorite La Fortuna’s Brunello is a product of two growing zones in Montalcino. The winery’s home vineyard and winery is a short distance east of the town of Montalcino right next to one of Montalcino’s big names Fuligni and just scant meters across the valley from another super star, Siro Pacenti. La Fortuna’s home vineyard gives their Brunello a focused core and structure with high-toned fruit aromatics; they also own a vineyard just south of Castelnuovo dell’Abate (just like Siro Pacenti) the strong southern facing gives the wine from this vineyard a riper, deeper, more saturated flavor. In this 2009 La Fortuna Brunello the two vineyards are blended together creating a wine with a centered core of structure with a cherry, plumy richness woven into the heart of the wine. Supple yet lively on the palate, this wine is perfect for richer dishes; perhaps a creamy, porcini risotto where the fruit and earthy flavors join together. A beef stew...or Cinghiale if you really want to be authentic would be ideal as well. Drinking beautifully now! I love drinking this!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 Erik Banti "Carato" Toscana
Review Date: 12-19-2015
Erik Banti’s Carato is a Mini Super Tuscan! It’s a blend of 75% Sangiovese, 15% Merlot and 10% Ciliegiolo aged for 10 months in oak barrels and is just delicious. The wine tastes like it should cost much more, full, smooth, flavorful with excellent balance. A K&L Direct Import that offers you extraordinary value, and at this price you will be saying--Wow!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-18-2015
The nose is dark cherry, yet intertwined with earth, Tuscan herbs, and hints of fresh leather in a relaxed flow from the glass. On the palate it is the texture that grabs your attention, it isn’t dense but energetic, fruit …the fruit in this vintage is hard to explain, it tastes less fruity and by that I mean it is more complex, less simple, not just sweet and squishy, it is more developed, nuanced--I hesitate to use the word layered, because it seems too simple, but it is enchanting. The wine has tannic structure that is evident but is in the background as the acidic balance lengthens and lengthens the finish. Such balance and power yet so effortless, the wine is a pleasure to drink now, yet the greatness will be down the road another 5-10 years. The Best La Fortuna Brunello ever.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2011 Einaudi "Cannubi" Barolo
Review Date: 12-18-2015
I love the Cannubi vineyard. It is one of the most subtle and expressive versions of Barolo you can have, however, that doesn't mean it isn't a powerful representation of the DOCG; it's awesome. The 2011 vintage shows the more open fruit character now, hints of rose petal and spice, while on the palate it is lusher, broader but will still age for two decades plus.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2011 Einaudi "Terlo Vigna Costa Grimaldi" Barolo
Review Date: 12-18-2015
The Costa Grimaldi is always one of my most favorite vineyards, it blends the aromatics of the Barolo commune with a deeper, earthier more brooding flavor spectrum. Powerful and complex, this wine is showing well now but can age easily for 15+ years
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $59.95 Add To Cart
VN 93 WE 91

2013 Einaudi Dogliani (Dolcetto)
Review Date: 12-18-2015
This wine is stunningly good, I tasted it last March for the first time in Italy and it has finally arrived! The nose is classic Dolcetto, earthy, spicy, complex but on the palate the wine has great concentration and balance. And incredible deal for the price. Perfect for these cold wintry nights!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.95 Add To Cart
JS 91

2009 Grand Corbin Manuel, St-Emilion (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-15-2015
This is a deeply colored wine,the nose is bold, fruit filled with loads of dark currant like aromatics. On the palate the wine is richly textured, yet not fat, it has good structure and a nice finish. It shows the hallmarks of the 2009 vintage in drinkability yet with ageability. A great addition to your holiday table.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92 WS 90

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut (1.5L)
Review Date: 12-09-2015
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2014 was a very difficult vintage, but Gabriele waited and waited to harvest and this exceptional wine jumped out. The wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. This is the best wine this estate has ever made. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Bava "Libera" Barbera d'Asti
Review Date: 12-09-2015
I love the way Barbera blends fresh cherry fruit laced with hints of earth into such an appealing nose but it is the supple texture and vibrant balance on the palate that allow the layers of flavors to expand and make this wine such a delight to drink. Bava is a new winery from Piedmont, in K&L’s Direct Import Portfolio and sure to be one of your favorites soon!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-09-2015
Classic Felsina structure complemented by the superb balance of the 2010 vintage. I love this wine's depth of flavor, classic Sangiovese cherry/plum mixed with a bit of the earth and leather. Outstanding depth and finish; drink now or it will age very well
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 12-09-2015
100% Sangiovese, the Fontalloro shows more depth than the rest of the Felsina lineup. Powerful, complex and from the superb 2010 vintage. The nose is full of spice and earth while the fruit is coiled around an interior structure that opens well with decanting for drinking now, and this wine will age extraordinarily well.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2005 Felsina Vin Santo (375ml)
Review Date: 12-09-2015
Always one of my favorite wines from Felsina, and for those of you who haven't experienced a Vin Santo it is very different than Sauternes or late harvest Riesling. The wine's nose is full of caramel, butterscotch, and has an overall nutty flavor. On the palate is where the wine shines: it is so vibrantly balanced, not cloyingly sweet just a marvel of nutty spice and utterly delicious.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2011 Felsina "Rancia" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 12-09-2015
From the first time I tasted the wine from this vineyard I was hooked. It is such a pure expression of Sangiovese, especially from the southeastern corner of Chianti Classico where Felsina is located. The wines from here always have more structure than most Chianti Classico but in the Rancia the power is so subtly blended in to the wine's richness that it doesn't seem so overly powerful, but it is. To drink now decant a few hours ahead of time and it will age very well in your cellar.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Review Date: 12-09-2015
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2014 was a very difficult vintage, but Gabriele waited and waited to harvest, and this exceptional wine jumped out. The wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. This is the best wine this estate has ever made. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Bava "Gionson" Nebbiolo
Review Date: 12-09-2015
I just love the nose of this wine, inviting, warm and full of smoke, rose petals, wild mushrooms and a bit or ripe plum on the mid-palate. So well balanced, structured, yet a smooth fullness in the mouth leading to a long, embracing finish. Love this!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2010 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 12-05-2015
A bit shy at first in the nose, but slowly this wine begins to release its core; it’s a gentle flow, exuding a composed center, no rush or hurry here. The nose shows hints of its western slope origins, with hints of ripeness, but this is layered between spice and earth as it delicately flows from the glass. On the palate the wine has a really savory quality: salty, iron, leather, then, slowly, the fruit escapes from its tightly wound core where hints of wild cherry, plum and cocoa powder mix with fine- grained tannin to give a really focused palate presence. The long, persistent finish with layer after layer gradually makes its presence felt with superb balance, and a growing flavor crescendo. Drink in 2-3 years but capable of aging 10-20 years.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$22.99
JS 92

2010 Il Valentiano Brunello di Montalcino "Campo di Marzo" 1.5L
Review Date: 12-05-2015
A bit shy at first in the nose but slowly this wine begins to release its core; it’s a gentle flow, exuding a composed center, no rush or hurry here. The nose shows hints of its western slope origins with hints of ripeness but this is layered between spice and earth as it delicately flows from the glass. On the palate the wine the has a really savory quality, salty, iron, leather then, slowly, the fruit escapes from its tightly wound core where hints of wild cherry, plum and cocoa powder mix with fine-grained tannin to give a really focused palate presence. The long, persistent finish with layer after layer gradually makes its presence felt with superb balance, and a growing flavor crescendo. Drink in 2-3 years but capable of aging 10-20 years.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

2013 Hahn Estates Santa Lucia Highlands Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-01-2015
I really think this is the best Hahn Pinot I've tasted. It has lots of dense richness yet isn't overwhelmingly heavy, and has wonderful acidity to balance it out. On the palate the flavors have lots of compact, focused fruit, with a bit of spice on the back end. Great and real Pinot for the price.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2013 Chateau Ste. Michelle Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-01-2015
Wow, this wine really caught my attention. Superb depth, balance and a palate spectrum that has lots of fruit but blended with some earth, leather and a little tannic structure. Then I looked at the price! Holy cow, what a bargain for the price!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
WE 90 WS 90

2013 Columbia Crest "H3" Horse Heaven Hills Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-01-2015
Surprising concentration and flavors for a wine in this price range and a lot more direction, complexity and structure. Excellent for the price point, this isn't some sloppy, flabby wine; this has depth and is truly very good.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
WS 91 WE 90

2007 York Creek "Springhouse Block" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-01-2015
Very well developed Cab flavors that go along with the superb ripeness of the 2007 vintage. I really liked the complexity and length. A serious wine with a bit of tannic structure but one that you could drink now and age for some time more!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2012 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 11-30-2015
This wine is so popular we just can't keep it in stock. The warm richness of the wine coupled with its stellar balance and length seem to make it a universal translator, everyone seems to love this wine. The core of this wine is 60% Sangiovese but it's from one of the Premier vineyard sites in Chianti Classico the Conca d'Oro. Here Sangiovese is at its best showing long, elegant lines with supple wild cherry character that enliven the Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot that add a little international swagger to the austere Sangiovese. A tremendous wine, you'll love it.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99
JS 93 RP 93

2014 Bava Malvasia "Rosetta" Castelnuovo Don Bosco
Review Date: 11-25-2015
I love this wine's rose like aromatics, on the palate it shows extraordinary balance and while it is sweet it isn't the dominant character. Long finish, just a delight to drink
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 Campogiovanni (San Felice) Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-23-2015
The nose is deeply layered, with a chocolate cherry character showing hints of spice, earth, tobacco, leather; very complex. On the palate, a bit of tannic structure routes the wine, giving that luscious richness direction and focus. The finish shows plummy fruit, leather and bits of Tuscan dust.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2013 Fattoria del Cerro "Manero" Rosso di Toscana
Review Date: 11-16-2015
I couldn't believe the quality of this wine for the price--the complexity level is incredible. Rich, yet with lots of spice, earthy facets and a bit of tannic structure to make it really seem a lot more expensive! This is a Sangiovese and Merlot blend that you'll be buying cases of!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2002 Hine K&L Exclusive "Genté" Single Barrel Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-12-2015
5*+, This is incredible, I can still taste this Cognac and its been 10 minutes since it was in my mouth. Deep, powerful aromatics, hints of smoke (not like peat), slight caramel flow from the glass. On the palate this Cognac is powerful, long yet so elegant, so well balanced yet it feels Big on your tongue. Not hot at all, just incredibly well balanced, flavorful and this incredibly long finish. Stunning...
Price: $159.99 Add To Cart

2006 Hine K&L Exclusive "Lignières-Sonneville" Single Barrel Cognac (750ml)
Review Date: 11-12-2015
The nose on this Cognac is exquisite,so complete and delicate, floral and layered with subtle background spice. On the palate it is superbly balanced, long, lingering, and lasts for minutes. I've always though Hine was the Top producer among the Big producers but these new Single Barrel versions are the best thing I've ever tasted from them.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

2013 Clos du Val Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-03-2015
Not your classic Napa Cabernet but definitely a classic Clos du Val Cabernet! This is a beautiful expression Bordeaux styled Cabernet from Napa. Long, focused, with bright acidity that leads into an array of earthy flavors. On the palate it's leather, iron, and slightly gritty; however, with tannins in check. I really think this wine will blossom in a few years and is wonderful to drink now after a couple hours of decanting with a big steak!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 JS 92

2012 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva 1.5L
Review Date: 10-07-2015
The nose is bright and focused, full of quince, and on the palate an incredible core of acid and minerality, it feels like crushed quartz. Yet with all of this sizzling acidity, minerality and salinity the wine is full bodied, sees no oak but is so texturally dazzling you won’t believe it. Layers of flavors, waves of supple texture and an endless finish make this wine something extraordinary. This wine will age well for the next decade, stock up now. A great wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 94 GR 3

2008 Vignalta "Agno Tinto" Rosso del Veneto
Review Date: 10-07-2015
Picture yourself as an immigrant to our country, someone who has the undying belief in their own ability, in their vision, and their ability to sell a product. Lucio Gomiero, from the Veneto in Italy, Padova specifically, knew that America was ready….for Radicchio. What? Radicchio? You probably can’t remember a time when that wasn’t even a word in our lexicon, but pre-1987, you only knew about it if you were Italian. Lucio came to the Salinas Valley to grow Radicchio and created an empire and every Radicchio plant you see today in your grocery store stems from him. Okay, I’m not trying to sell you Radicchio; you probably already guessed that, that’s why you’re part of a cutting edge Italian Wine Club! I’ve known Lucio since almost the beginning; you see he had a “little” winery in the Colli Euganei about an hour southwest of Venice, he produced whites and reds that were outstanding, rated among the TOP in Italy by all of the Italian reviewers, but here…could you pronounce Colli Euganei? No, neither could anyone else. The wines while truly outstanding were always an uphill sell; it was just hard to say the name. Yet Lucio had his own struggle, for decades living in Monterey he was fascinated with the wines being made here but saw an opportunity to introduce something that was once European, but always secondary and overlooked yet was a “cult” wine in California. Duriff….what? Yes Duriff, or by its better known name in California Petite Sirah. Okay, if you’re actually reading this you have to promise not to repeat the story to any Italian Governmental Officials…Okay? Okay! Lucio smuggled cuttings of Petite Sirah back to Italy, illegally (at least I’m told it’s illegal), yet in Italy he couldn’t call it anything because the grape doesn’t “legally” or otherwise exist! So…Let’s make up a name…ahhhh, Agno Tinto. The Colli Euganei is an extraordinary growing zone, picture yourself in Fresno but with an extinct volcano in the midst of the valley. That’s about the story, incredible soil, and they produce outstanding wines, although I love the Agno Tinto, a rapturous convulsion happens whenever I drink the Vignalta Gemola… A truly extraordinary wine. Try a part of history, bold, expressive and aged perfectly now.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$31.99

2010 Villa Poggio Salvi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-07-2015
The nose on this wine is classic, all leather, earth, spice, wild cherry with hints of roasted chestnuts. On the palate it is a serious wine, muscular, sinewy, long, and leathery and in this vintage the layers of savory, salty, umami like character, then the fruit and structure just peel back one after another revealing even more Tuscan earth, wild herbs, rosemary and smoke an exceedingly deep wine. This isn’t a lush, plump wine this wine has a very fine-grain tannin feel to it stretched out along a powerful interior acidic core that allows the tannins to blend in harmoniously. A long finish where the earthy, spicy flavors seem to last for minutes. 3,750 cases produced
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Pieve Santa Restituta (Gaja) Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-07-2015
The name Gaja is synonymous with Piedmont and the reputation for outstanding quality is known throughout the wine trade. What isn’t so well know it their property in Montalcino. In 1994 Gaja bought the Pieve di Santa Restituta estate in Montalcino and produced two Brunello wines, Sugarille and Renina, and then in 2005 they released their first “classic” Brunello: hardly seen in the USA, now the 2010 vintage is the best release of this wine yet. The 2010 vintage is spectacular. The nose is full of warm, rich, wild plum character with hints of cinnamon and Tuscan bush. On the palate the wine’s fine grain tannin structure is balanced with a fresh acidity that lifts the wine in the finish. The flavors are savory, full of, roasted meat, plums, smoke, earth, spice. The finish a swirl of lustrous richness, full of the vintage hallmark savory, saltiness, highlighted by hints of spice, a really dynamic wine with a long life ahead.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $76.95 Add To Cart

2010 Le Ragnaie Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-07-2015
I've struggled to write this review, as every time I start I get a bit choked up, I love this wine so much. The nose is a wild array of spice, earth, fruit and umami intrigue. The aromatics seem to gently reach from the glass and embrace you, caress you, beckon you. On the palate the wine is extremely supple, superbly balanced and just enchanting. The aromatic complexity glides right into flavors that tantalize your palate, so easy to drink yet still being reticent, only letting you see a piece at a time and then blossoming in the finish. Long, long finish, waves of flavored complexity and textural remembrance. I love this wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Blason Isonzo Bianco (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 10-07-2015
While visiting Giovanni Blason in we spied some odd boxes stacked in a corner. I asked Giovanni, “What the hell are these?” He responded, “You won’t want any of those; you Americans like bottles.” I responded, “On the contrary we Americans like bargains, how much is that 3-liter box.” An answer, some brief calculations on my part and I said, “Okay, we’ll take 'em"! $19.99 for 3 liters (that's four 750ml bottles). Crisp, clean, refreshing with a elegant fruitiness, touch of tarragon and a hint of mineral. If you don't want to do the math that’s $5 a bottle! Giovanni tells me it lasts for more than 3 months in the refrigerator, I told him that couldn’t happen in mine! The wine is made predominantly from Friulano
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Scarbolo Sauvignon Friuli
Review Date: 10-07-2015
This is an excellent example of Friulian Sauvignon Blanc and drinking beautifully right now, far more subtle than the rash of Jalapeno like versions awash in the market, this is a muskier, earthier aromatic complimented by hints of white flowers and dried sage and it is couched in a richly textured body. The flavors are more integrated, saturated and have a long, persistent finish filled with flavor and hints of mineral while having superb balance. This is a wine that is perfect for Crustaceans, shrimp or crab would be spectacular or it would bring a bit of spice to a rotisserie chicken. Altogether a superb wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $13.95 Add To Cart
JS 93

2008 Casanova di Neri "Tenuta Nuova" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-23-2015
I recently had dinner with Giacomo Neri, the owner of Casanova di Neri, at the home of a mutual friend. We drank this 2008, and let me tell you it was fabulous! When the 2008 vintage was first released it was a bit tight but now it has evolved into a really spectacular wine. It's developed into a real complex wine, richly textured, balanced and can still age for another decade plus! The nose is full of spice, leather, dried meats and gradually becomes full of plum. On the palate the Tenuta Nuova's inherent richness shines through, layered luxuriousness with backbone, spice and really focused fruit. The finish is long, palate coating and seems to go on and on. Bistecca anyone? This should be on your menu now, just a delicious wine. Drink 2015-2023

2013 La Lecciaia Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-13-2015
The nose is full of sweet cherry aromatics coupled with bits of leather and spice. On the palate the wine shows good body, and is supple and savory. The wine finishes with a bit of tannic grip and then relaxes and lengthens, showing more elegance.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Lecciaia "Manapetra" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-13-2015
The Manapetra is a plumper, broader, a richer, fuller version of the Brunello. The nose is brooding, slightly closed now but shows hints of power and size. On the palate the wine is full but shows a bit of tannic tension, roiling beneath the surface is a powerful structure and sizable density however this wine will need time in your cellar.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2011 Querciabella Chianti Classico
Review Date: 09-09-2015
The warmth of the 2011 vintage shows through in this Chianti Classico, showing lots of rich texture. The wine is aged in old barriques and with the richness of the vintage it takes on a slightly more modern feel, yet the flavor spectrum is definitely shows lots of old world highlights. The leathery, earthy notes still show through along with a plumy red fruit character. The finish is full and expansive.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Poggio Antico "Altero" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Poggio Antico comes from one of the highest vineyards in Montalcino and the ethereal fragrance in this wine is just amazing. The fruit is a combination of savory wild cherry, hints of leather, spice, smoke and a bit of porcini. On the palate the wine has body, richness but it is the balance and length that stretch out and gives this wine such an elegant mouth feel. The finish just seems to go on and on, so balanced, so flavorful, one of the Best of the vintage.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2013 Le Battistelle "Roccolo del Durlo" Soave Classico
Review Date: 09-01-2015
The 2013 Le Battistelle Soave Classico “Roccolo del Durlo” vineyard is the a mix of tufo, basalt and clay but is so dark it’s called “Le Carbonare” referring to the coal like color it has. Gelmino took me out in this vineyard to show me a whole section of the vineyard that were vines more than 100 years old, incredible to look at but even harder to imagine. I love this wine, the nose is full of spice, white flower and on the palate it has a certain depth, I balk at saying power because it is so delicate but it does have staying power and it ages very well for up to 10 years.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2014 Le Battistelle "Montesei" Soave Classico
Review Date: 09-01-2015
The 2014 Le Battistelle Soave Classico “Montesei” is mindblowing at this price point, the vineyard is a looser blend of volcanic soil and clay that allows the grapes to mature quicker in relation to their other vineyards, and it produces a wine that is forward, more fruit, kind of golden delicious apples, than mineral yet ultimately intensely refreshing with a supple texture while only 12% abv.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2013 Le Battistelle Soave Classico "Battistelle"
Review Date: 09-01-2015
The 2013 Le Battistelle Soave Classico “Battistelle” vineyard is the steepest slope they have facing more southwest and here the soil is basalt rocks that alternate with tufo, in their dialect it’s called Togo. This gives the wine a more savory, salty character; it just makes your mouth water, the nose is full of white flower aromatics, balanced with incredible persistence and 12.5%abv.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2012 Cascina Morassino Merlot Langhe
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Extraordinary focus, briary, earthy with hints of plumy fruit. Exceptionally well balanced, full of intrigue and a long finish, one of the best Merlot from the Langhe I've ever tried!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$26.99

Page: 1 2 3 4 next

More Favorites

Greg St. Clair is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Greg St. Clair, click here to join Greg St. Clair's Personal Sommelier Service.
Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Rosé Champagne ($57.99)