Local Delivery Available Curbside 11am-6pm Daily Stores Temporarily Closed

Staff Favorites - Greg St. Clair

Greg St. Clair

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2018 Castelli Martinozzi Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-29-2020
Martinozzi is situated in a veritable Murderers’ Row of quality and fame. Their vineyards sit near Soldera’s Case Basse, Gaja’s Pieve Santa Restituta, Caprili, and Maté. The quality of their wines is phenomenal. The nose of this Rosso is full of dark Marasca cherry with hints of Tuscan brush and Middle Eastern spice. It has a long, linear feel to it, yet shows a wonderful freshness. The perfect wine for your Spaghetti Bolognese!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$17.99

2016 Decugnano dei Barbi "A.D. 1212" Umbria Rosso
Review Date: 10-29-2020
I have to admit that I was not looking forward to the blend, having tasted too many bad experiments, but I was pretty floored tasting this wine. It has power, suppleness, and a lot of character and for this price it’s a superb deal. I hope you enjoy it!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$19.99

Thierry Thibault Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-28-2020
This is classic Champagne, the nose is tight, clean focused with an apply tartness softened with a bit of brioche while remaining super clean it's a delight. On the palate the wine is very dry, really tart and shows levels of complexity you generally don’t find in Champagne in this price range. It’s really long, focused and that acidity holds your interest as the complex apple and brioche emerges and gently softens. The finish is remarkably long, direct and boldly lets you know there is no hint of sweetness while spotlighting the complex apple character. Line up your Oysters, this is the wine for them it's a steal!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-28-2020
I have tasted this wine many times from when it was still juice until it’s release but it was in April of 2019 at Vinitaly that I was bowled over, the completed and bottled wine was amazing. The nose of the wine is incredible, it has a deep mesmerizing effect it’s a cauldron of wild herbs, wild cherry, plum and a hint of sauvage. On the palate the wine rolls across your tongue treating you to a lush richness where a savory intrigue emerges and adds to the wild cherry, plum and herb, plush yet buoyant and keeps your attention focused. The finish is vibrant there is a freshness and lift on the back end that makes this wine exceedingly memorable.

2015 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-15-2020
The nose is dark cherry mixed with a plumy ripeness and has a rather savory, umami filled cockiness to it and shows vibrant now. On the palate the blend of wild cherry and plum are dominant at first they it adds a saline dimension, salted plum, oyster shell then the Tuscan herbs, and hints of fresh leather begin to emerge. The wine has definitive mid-palate weight and density but flows smoothly across your tongue making it delicious to drink now. The purity of fruit is a hallmark of La Fortuna Brunello, the blend of the bright wild cherry eastern estate (adjacent to Fuligni and Siro Pacenti) fruit and plumy richness of their vineyards on the south face (below Ciacci and Uccelliera)and combine to form a gorgeous aromatic profile. Very easy to drink now with a bit of decanting but best after 2025.

2015 Castello di Banfi "Poggio alle Mura" Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-15-2020
The nose of this powerhouse is full of spice, leather, dried fruits, elegant wild cherry all couched in a savory wave that flows out of the glass. This wine has another dimension, warmth, but that’s not alcohol it is like the sun shining on your face, it is a solar energy that you can feel. The aging of this wine is done in 60% French 350-liter barrique for two years and the rest is aged in 60-90 hectoliter (those are big) French oak casks. The results show up on your palate, there is not any vanillin sweetness from the wood at all it is a hybrid of sorts getting the best of both barrels. The texture of this wine seems important, it has depth, a bit of tannic structure but mostly an energy that moves the wine down your palate and carries the supple density through to the end. The finish shows a lot of that energy with lots of lift in the finish and the wines, supple richness remains for some time. This is an excellent wine and although you can drink it now and you would enjoy it because it is balanced enough but it will be at it’s best in another 5+ years.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart

2015 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-30-2020
The nose is full of bold, ripe plum accented with wild cherry and with touches of wild brush and earth but. On the palate the wine shows a fuller body, evident tannic structure but it is all enclosed in a rich, supple, and smooth fruit. It is well balanced showing a density that is combined with good length and a reinforcement of its richness. On the palate the wine’s flavors are bold, straightforward repeating the dark plummy signature, hints of wild cherry and leather begin to emerge in a powerful, weighty statement of fruit. The finish is compelling, balanced, and a conveys a flow of consistent flavors throughout.

2015 Fanti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-25-2020
The nose is full of wild strawberry compote, hints of cardamom, allspice, and cloves flow from the glass. On the palate the wine shows a broad, rich mouthfeel, a suppleness that is supported by a fresh acidic core and a bit of tannin. The flavors carry-on from the nose, the strawberry, cinnamon, and baking spices seem to flesh out over a well-balanced structure. The finish is long, persistent, and lively, this is the best Fanti Brunello I’ve had they really seem to have found a purity and freshness of style, vineyard over wine-making.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Bernazzi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-25-2020
The nose on this wine is sweet and savory full of spiced plum, wild herbs and a hint of the Tuscan dust. In the mouth the wine is expansive and seemingly fills every corner with a luxurious and full body. The flavors are once again the plum but less spice and more wildness this time, the savory component seems to remain on the palate for a longer time than the rich fruit but the dominant character on the palate is the texture, it has a supple, round and smooth feel to it. The finish is long, flavorful and very well balanced the tannins seem almost not to be there, but they are, just in complete harmony. So approachable now it’s hard to resist drinking but it will grow in stature with a few more years.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-25-2020
This wine always gives me a feeling of serenity, it is so enticing, captivating the nose is a blend of savory plums and spice with bits of chocolate and earth tossed in, all that drift effortlessly from your glass. On the palate the wine shows a lot of umami character, that is a background to the wild cherry and ripe plums it shows a full and rich body that indicates an agile balance, never overwhelming with just a touch of tannic backbone. The finish is supple, long, persistent and full of earth and spice that seems to resonate in your mouth. Drinkable now and over the next decade.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tenuta di Sesta Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-25-2020
This is one of my favorite estates in Montalcino, yet I find myself always making excuses because it isn’t an obvious wine, the wine is gentle, calm yet so unassumingly charming, simplistic yet incredibly deep. I find drinking this wine is like talking with the Owner Giovanni Ciacci, he’s such a gentleman, so elegant with a country ease it is just a reassuring pleasure to be around him, you feel like everything is going to be just fine…you can see I like the wine. The nose of this vintage gives you all the pure Sangiovese aromatics, wild cherry and plum cut in behind the earthy elements along with hints of dried roses and freshly cut leather. Yet in recent years the quality of fruit has increased exponentially and there is now a depth to the wines that was not there before. On the palate this wine is supple, smooth, and flows easily across your tongue. The finish is lively, fresh and has a lifting finish, despite all the smooth, supple, round adjectives this wine is fresh and vibrant. Drink now with 2-3 hours of decanting but best after 2025.

2015 Caparzo Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-25-2020
The nose shows hints of ripe cherry and plum and chocolate then followed by a bit of herb and earth. On the palate the wine flows gently across your tongue shows a bit of tannin but balance is the predominant character. The finish is balanced and shows a sweet lushness while still exhibiting a central focus and acidic freshness. Always a perennial target for the under $40 Brunello lovers because of their consistency and quality.

2015 Lisini Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-21-2020
The nose is warm, inviting, filled with wild cherry backed up by a flow of umami like aromatics, a salty, savory plum that slowly flows from the glass. On the palate the wine is supple, plush, smooth with a luxurious feel to it, still lively on the palate it just seems like no edges. The flavors pick up with more of the savory; plumy character this time accented with hints of freshly cut leather and spice. The finish shows, very fine grain tannins that bring the wine with a twist of structure to a long and savory finish.

2018 Castello di Volpaia Chianti Classico
Review Date: 08-11-2020
The nose says high altitude Chianti Classico, a focused combo of cherry fruit, Tuscan herbs, and a bit of earth. On the palate however the wine takes a different turn, the edges are smoothed out and the fruit becomes plumier while hints of chocolate smooth out the palate presence giving it depth and resonance. The finish is fresh, balanced and shows an easy drinkability while the flavors beg for a bit of food, so easy to drink on its own yet a marvelous food accompaniment, try it with your favorite pasta.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Markus Prackwieser Gump Hof "Mediaevum" Vernatsch Südtirol Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-08-2020
One of my favorite varietals (thank you, Kirk Walker) is Schiava (aka Vernatsch). The 2018 Prackwieser Gump Hof “Mediaevum” is full of crunchy cranberry, savory, smoky, black pepper, and fresh herbs. Layer after layer, it just seems to go on and on. On your palate, the wine is supple, yet has a bit of tannin just to frame it, followed by a savory, spicy, black pepper-filled palate. Drink it cellar temperature with some prosciutto, and you’ll love it!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Markus Prackwieser Gump Hof "Praesulis" Weissburgunder Südtirol Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-08-2020
When I ask most Italian producers what their best wine is, where they make both Chardonnay and Pinot Bianco, they almost always say Pinot Bianco—it really produces spectacular, un-oaked wines. An excellent example, this 2018 Prackwieser shows elderflower and bergamot aromatics in a powerful and creamy complexity.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2018 Cantina Valle Isarco "Aristos" Kerner
Review Date: 08-08-2020
A long time ago, one of my colleagues expressed dismay that we didn’t carry any Kerner. Most I had tried at that time were flabby, or sweet, and German, but he suggested I try one from this winery. And we’ve had it ever since. The nose on the 2018 Cantina Valle Isarco Aristos is striking, almost tropical. There is a haunting, inviting richness that beckons you to try it. On the palate, the wine has incredible weight, yet it’s buoyed by exceptional acidity. Perfect for spicier dishes, or, if you are looking for the weight and texture of Chardonnay (without the wood), this Kerner is for you!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2018 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio Alto Adige
Review Date: 08-08-2020
Last September, I visited with Peter Zemmer and tried his entire portfolio of wines. The tasting was an eye-opener, and we’ve had an array of his wines ever since. But for a shelter-in-place everyday white wine, the 2018 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio is hard to beat. I’m not a huge fan of Pinot Grigio in general (probably because I taste an ocean of over-cropped and simplistic versions) but this wine is superb. It has the characteristic fuller body of good Pinot Grigio, but also seams of ripe pear and elderflower in the nose, and an excellent acidic balance.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Fratelli Barale "Le Rose" Dolcetto d'Alba
Review Date: 08-08-2020
I am in love with the wines from Barale. It is not just the classic label or the outstanding pricing, it’s the purity of the wines, a classic statement of place over winemaking. You could say the Barale wines are simple, and you would be correct. They do not try to be anything other than what they are: a reflection of their soil and the vintage. Simply classic.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 I Cacciagalli "Phos" Aglianico Roccamonfina
Review Date: 08-08-2020
In the shadow of the extinct Roccamonfina volcano, the 2017 I Cacciagalli “Phos” was something new for me. I am not usually a big fan of the tannins in Aglianico, but this wine is different. It’s made in amphorae, with wild yeasts, and a prolonged skin contact. The winemakers have tamed the powerful tannins (they are still there) while getting power and depth in a very drinkable Aglianico, which shows incredibly complex flavors without any wood aging. It really is intriguing.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2018 Marisa Cuomo "Furore Bianco" Costa d'Amalfi
Review Date: 08-08-2020
Many of you might be familiar with Marisa’s other 60% Falanghina and 40% Biancolella blend from the village of Ravello. This Furore version is from a few miles west. All stainless-steel fermented, grown at 600–1,800 feet, and harvested in the beginning of October, it shows more richness than the Ravello, yet still has exquisite balance, and shows off waves of flavor full of ripe pear, herbal tea, and lemon verbena, all in a complex, savory swirl.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Fuligni Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 08-08-2020
If you would like to taste the wines of Fuligni without spending top dollar, their Rosso di Montalcino is an ideal place to start. But for the other side of the story, try this 2013 Brunello di Montalcino Riserva, a truly majestic wine. It’s a little less obviously muscled, and a bit more coy, yet has the same flavor profile. The wine is lilting on the palate, supple, and complex. I love this one, too.

2017 Fuligni "Ginestreto" Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-08-2020
If you would like to taste the wines of Fuligni without spending top dollar, their Rosso di Montalcino is an ideal place to start. Here are the same inviting aromatics of wild cherry, with a bit more freshness, and it’s ready to drink.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fuligni Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-08-2020
In this stupendous vintage, the 2015 Fuligni Brunello is amazing. The nose of this wine is warm and inviting, with waves of rose petal, wild cherry, and ripe plum. On the palate, there is a supple warmth that envelops your attention; and while the fruit is ever-present, a savory, umami-like complexity fills your mouth, followed by hints of leather, Tuscan brush, and porcini. The finish is powerful—the wine seems to bulk up, almost like it’s flexing its muscles, yet it still has lift on the back palate. An amazing wine with a long life ahead of it.

2017 Argiano "Solengo" Toscana
Review Date: 08-08-2020
A Super Tuscan from Montalcino’s western slope, this blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Petit Verdot, Merlot, and Sangiovese is aged in barrique. For you lovers of big, rich California red blends, this is your wine—powerful yet supple, and immediately drinkable, it just flows across your palate, creating a sensual delight. The finish shows hints of Argiano’s terroir of warm sun and wild brush, but the density is buoyed by a chocolaty lushness, and freshness.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2018 Marchesi di Gresy Barbera d'Asti
Review Date: 08-08-2020
I had this wine last September at the winery, and was so blown away by the archetypal character of this Barbera, I had to convince the California importer to bring it in for us. The nose is incredibly pure: violet, plums, and hints of Middle Eastern spices. On the palate, Barbera’s classic acidity freshens and lifts the wine, and while it still has weight and depth, it is classically fresh and elegant.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ciacci Piccolomini d'Aragona "Pianrosso" Brunello di Montalcino 6-Pack
Review Date: 07-18-2020
The nose of this wine is warm, broad and flows from the glass with ease, it is filled with ripe plum, wild cherry hints of smoke, porcini mushrooms and is like a warm, gentle breeze. On the palate once again the plum and wild cherry rise to the front but deepen their power making them more intense and delineated. This wine carries powerful structure beneath the surface it is just sheathed in a supple richness that makes it a pleasure to drink now but it has a long life ahead.

2015 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-16-2020
The nose of this wine is intense: it speaks of the land, the savory complexity of Tuscan brush, the mineral soil, and wild cherries and salted plums. On the palate, the wine shows structure, balance, and length, while enticing you to take another sip—and another. It is just delicious: waves of earthy complexity, followed by wild fruit, umami intrigue, and bits of leather in the finish. The finish is long, superbly balanced, with one of the most lifting finishes I’ve had in a while. This is the best Castiglion del Bosco Brunello I have ever had. It’s sensational, and I would rather have this wine than the single vineyard expression. It is just delicious.

2015 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-12-2020
Whenever I am in Montalcino I make a stop at Costanti, as I use their wines as a guide to the vintage for all of Montalcino. The Consorzio even monitors one of their vineyards for the same reason—I’ll have to keep better secrets. Andrea Costanti is a purist, and I find that his wines are some of the most classically styled and flavored in Montalcino. When I tasted Andrea’s 2015 Costanti Brunello di Montalcino, I was blown away. I tasted the Riserva as well, and these wines are absolutely amazing. Just to be clear, they are over 15% abv—I only mention this because he just got 98 points from Wine Enthusiast, whose critic mentioned this was a problem in the vintage. Well, I guess it can’t be too much of a problem—or maybe it kept him from getting 100 points! Andrea’s wines are usually destined for the cellar upon release, but this vintage is so good you can drink it now. (Greg St. Clair, K&L Italian wine buyer)
Price: $94.99 Add To Cart

2015 Castelli Martinozzi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-08-2020
This is beautiful,the nose was full of dark Marasca cherry with hints of Tuscan brush (garrigue in French) and middle eastern spice, it has a long, linear feel to it, very supple, round and smooth, the same dark cherry character leads the way on the tongue with a sultry, savory character. The wine shows excellent balance, a long and an elegant finish that goes on and on. This is a super value wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-18-2020
The nose of this wine is bold, saturated, bursting with savory wild cherry, salted plums, mushroom, leather that seem to say power incarnate but in a restrained, country gentleman manner. On the palate the density of the 2015 vintage takes over it is discreet power; it is full yet never heavy it just shows a subtle energy. The flavors show Poggiarellino’s trademark Marasca cherry that emerge from a pool of plumy depth. Hints of cola, leather, wild herbs segue across your tongue while the wines central backbone is always apparent gentle hints of tannin only emerge in the end. The finish replays lots of the Marasca cherry, with subtle earthy spice lingering on for some time. A long life ahead for this wine that will really begin to open in 2025 but is delicious now.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fattoria dei Barbi "Vigna del Fiore" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-14-2020
The nose of this wine envelops you in a wave of deep, plum aromatics that are spiced with Marasca cherry and hints of sandalwood and sage. On the palate the density of this vintage is truly present, and while you could use the word "rich," for me, that conjures more of an amorphous, thick sweetness, none of which are present in this wine. This wine stands up on your palate, is focused, with great length, and has great lift in the finish. This is the best Vigna del Fiore that I have had to date, and it’s destined for a long life if you have the patience to wait! The first winery I ever visited in Montalcino was Fattoria dei Barbi, so I've always had a fond spot in my heart for them — not just for the nostalgia, but because they were one of Montalcino’s oldest wineries and carried that classic flavor and structure as their style. That was in 1982. A lot has happened since then, like better agricultural practices, and some slight changes in the winemaking, but all in all, Fattoria dei Barbi still stands for me as one of the classics in Montalcino — especially in this vintage.

2016 Vietti "Castiglione" Barolo
Review Date: 05-31-2020
The nose of this wine is truly classic, waves of rose, truffle, smoke and earth effortlessly drift from your glass. On the palate it immediately shows you why 2016 is such a standout vintage, the focus, depth of flavors, body and lift all say WOW this is really something. The flavors echo bits of the nose but show a plumy richness as the texture spreads across your mouth, then once again the classic tar and rose flavors develop with a deepening intensity. The finish shows balance, tannin, fruit, spice and an excellent lift. The tannins are present (this is Barolo) but so well balanced you can drink this wine now but it will age for another 10-15 years easily.

2015 Castello di Banfi Brunello di Montalcino (1.5L)
Review Date: 05-27-2020
The nose of this wine full of rich plumy fruit spiced with wild strawberry, slight vanilla toast and hints of Tuscan brush. On the palate this wine is immediately accessible, the texture draws you in and then expands across your tongue in a series of fruits and then savory flavors. The plumy, strawberry character drifts to the back and more earth, spices, orange peel and then tar. The overall presence on your palate is pleasing, no aggressive tannins or high acidity just easy drinking balance. The weight or density in this wine shows off the vintage yet at the same can be elegant and even lifting on the back palate. A well-priced example from one of Montalcino’s most important producers.

2015 Castello di Banfi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-27-2020
The nose of this wine full of rich plumy fruit spiced with wild strawberry, slight vanilla toast and hints of Tuscan brush. On the palate this wine is immediately accessible, the texture draws you in and then expands across your tongue in a series of fruits and then savory flavors. The plumy, strawberry character drifts to the back and more earth, spices, orange peel and then tar. The overall presence on your palate is pleasing, no aggressive tannins or high acidity just easy drinking balance. The weight or density in this wine shows off the vintage yet at the same can be elegant and even lifting on the back palate. A well-priced example from one of Montalcino’s most important producers.

2015 San Polino "Helichrysum" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 05-17-2020
I tasted this wine in February at the estate and I must say I was simply blown away; this is the best San Polino Helichrysum to date. The nose of this wine is penetrating, layers of wild cherry, forest strawberries, salted plums with hints of wild herbs. On the palate the wine shows the richness of this vintage a supple sweetness of flavor (I struggle writing that word because the wine has no hint of sweetness) that gives richness without fat, it is just another layer of density. The wine is extraordinarily well balanced is seems just effortlessly floating on your tongue. Yet that would infer some delicate wine and this wine is powerful, really powerful, it just has a depth and a long future. I personally bought six bottles I was sooo impressed by this wine, it’s sensational.

2016 Domaine des Senechaux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 02-05-2020
The nose of this wine is full of compact, dark fruit, laced with Middle Eastern spice and an array of ripe strawberries and cherries. On the palate the wine rolls across your tongue in a lush yet restrained rush, bursting with ripe fruit and a wild cherry confit-like center. The finish emphasizes the wine's richness with the bold, spicy Grenache flavors and textural presence. Powerful and rich this wine can easily be drunk now or will last an easy decade plus in your cellar.

2016 Casino di Sala "Rosso dei Tatanni" Toscano
Review Date: 01-28-2020
The nose of this wine says power, it’s dense, full of cedar, graphite and spice. On the palate this wine shows great length, balance and a real depth of flavor, it has good tannin structure, but the tannins lay against the acidic structure lengthening those into supple, powerful, support. The center palate shows a sweet, rich center that is full of wild cherry compote laced with cedar, middle eastern spice and earth. The finish is long, driving and replaying the same flavors but all coiled together into a wine showing long-term potential. Awesome price to value ratio. 100% Sangiovese from Panzano, made by La Massa for their Neapolitan neighbors.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Te Mata "Bullnose" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine was scintillating…and I don’t use that word for New World Syrah wines very often, in fact I think never. Waves of coffee, chocolate, cassis and combine with the subtlest of sweet oak (and I’m very sensitive to oak) while still showing hints of spice and earth. On the palate the wine is so well balanced, rich, polished and ultrafine tannins to give it an extraordinarily smooth presence. The wine has so many different flavors but seem to combine into one, so it is its own flavor rather than a combination and it is delicious. Long, lifting finish, richly textured so supple and easy yet a certain tensile strength to it…it is really wonderful.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Ferraton Père et Fils "Lieu Dit Les Picheres" Crozes-Hermitage Rouge
Review Date: 01-21-2020
The nose of this wine tells you it is Syrah, but it's whispered until it hits your palate, then you know it's Syrah. On the palate there's a bit of grip and grit, slightly rough and tumble. There's lots of wine lurking in the background for the patient.

2018 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Cuvée" Alto Adige
Review Date: 12-03-2019
From their first vintage in 1893, Cantina Terlan’s over 100-year-old tradition of blending 60% Pinot Bianco, 30% Chardonnay and 10% Sauvignon Blanc has truly stood the test of time. The nose shows lots of floral aromatics; right now the Sauvignon shows a little more. On the palate the Pinot Bianco is the backbone of the wine, giving it the structure balance and longevity while the Chardonnay adds a supple layer of richness. Fermented in stainless, the wine is then aged 20% in large oak barrels and 80% in stainless for 6 months, then blended together. Exceptional palate presence and finish. The Terlaner Classic has become a staple here at K&L over the last couple of decades. You should give it a try.

2017 Nor'Wester by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-03-2019
.The nose of this wine shows some serious quality fruit, bright while still showing depth. On the palate this wine shows weight and a bit of stemmy grip to give the wine some structure and resonance. The finish is a bit condensed but still shows lots of character for a wine of this price-point carrying through a lot of fruit and earth

Alvear "1927" Pedro Ximenez Solera Montilla-Moriles (375ml)
Review Date: 10-01-2019
I have to admit I generally am not a fan of Pedro Ximenez the molasses like syrupy nature is just not for me, yet I was incredibly surprised by this wine, it is sensational. The nose if full of hazelnuts and honey it shows extraordinarily well balanced just from that. On the palate the wine has real weight but it’s not like a couple of 40lb. dumbbells on your tongue it’s got focus a center that is wrapped in a luscious texture, this isn’t a “lean” wine it is bold and rich. The flavors for me are what really separate this wine instead of the prune like molasses character I’ve been used to this is toasted hazelnuts, so perfectly balanced with the sweetness I can’t stop wanting to drink this wine. Give this a try, it is a really great dessert wine.

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 05-28-2019
While the critic's notes of ripe and chocolaty might make you think this wine is fat...it's not. The nose is complex, for me there's more herbal, spice and leather than sweet fruit. On the palate I first thought this is one of those ultra-polished winemaker wines but then the acidity popped up with a bit of tannin and I was quite surprised by the verve and lift in this wine. The flavors, while showing some complex berry character, mostly replayed the aromatics, lots of earth, spice, leather and carried into the finish. The finish was surprisingly long, I have to admit I didn't expect a lot out of this wine but it had exceptional balance and a intriguing flavors
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore Brut
Review Date: 08-01-2018
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$11.99

2016 Tenshen Central Coast White Blend
Review Date: 07-17-2018
The nose is full of ripe, melony fruit with more behind it than simple fruit, it has complexity there’s depth to the aromatics. On the palate the wine is broad, supple and for fans of rich California Chardonnay you’ll be thrilled, but for folks like me who want more balance and freshness the wine has that as well, it’s really well done and there’s no obvious remaining oak signature. The Viognier, Roussane and Grenache Blanc is not your everyday blend and for me and I had trouble at first categorizing the wine so that I could professionally think about it. The key to this wine is not to think about it, it will come to you after a while and it is just a real pleasure to drink. Easy enough to cocktail or if you have a fish dish that has a spicy vegetable medley to go with it this is your wine.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2015 Fontesteau, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 07-10-2018
The nose of this wine shows more earthy savory character than bold fruit. On the palate the wine has superb richness, very supple and round and I find it surprising (and refreshing) that it isn't more fruity. Powerful yet balanced this 53% Cabernet Sauvignon and 45% Merlot blend really shows power. The flavors are forest floor, and show a bit of dusty tannin but this is a drinkable wine with a good future. This is your Steak/Frites wine for a Friday night, and I'd go Belgian on the Frites....that means Mayonnaise.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2013 Livio Sassetti "Pertimali" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-03-2018
The nose of this wine is hypnotic, savory, it seems to reach out of the glass and call me, trying to bring me in rather than flowing out. On the palate the wine is rich, but so well balanced you don’t notice it’s rich if you’re not paying attention, layers of spice and wild cherry couple with a sweet earth and fresh leather. I had this wine several times this year and am super impressed every time, it will go in my cellar, drinkable now and over the next two decades.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Arnaldo Caprai Montefalco Rosso
Review Date: 04-30-2018
I really like this wine, yet I’ve not always been a fan of Caprai’s Montefalco Rosso but this 2015 vintage is sensational. This is a blend of 70% Sangiovese, 15% Sagrantino and 15% Merlot that spends 12 months in barrique, but doesn’t come off as a woody wine at all. The nose is full of complex dark fruits that lead the way followed by subtle underpinnings of porcini, leather and tea. On the palate the richness of 2015 vintage fleshes out the wine’s structure so the tannin becomes very well integrated, excellent balance, long with a great finish. A real bargain,
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie "Réserve" (formerly Carte Blanche) Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-22-2017
I've always been a fan of this wine since we started bringing it in way back in 2001. It's always been the top price performer for the price point, but when I tasted the latest batch I did a double take. I had to ask Gary Westby if he had poured me the right wine, and he nodded at me and said ya, you figured it out, this batch is out of this world! There isn't a Champagne around that can compete at this price point with the Carte Blanche, layers of complex brioche, wonderful aromatics...wow.
Drink from 2017 to 2017
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 next

More Favorites

Greg St. Clair is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Greg St. Clair, click here to join Greg St. Clair's Personal Sommelier Service.
2005 La Gerla Brunello di Montalcino ($59.99)