Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account Advanced Search

Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>
Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 12-05-2018
We are very fortunate to be the importer for this great cult producer of blanc de blancs in the famous village of Mesnil. Launois is the only Champagne that I have sold to someone from Champagne to bring back to Champagne with them! It is that sought after. All grand cru, estate grown Champagne doesn't get better than this, but it is almost always more expensive. This is a wine of depth, finesse and intrigue and yet is about as easy as it gets to drink without engaging the grey matter at all. When we get it, it is always snapped up in a hurry... Don't wait and get disappointed!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Thierry Thibault Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-27-2018
Thierry Thibault expanded doubled our allocation of this excellent Champagne this year... Maybe we will have it in stock for two days after the email this time! Thierry is the son of one of the giants of Champagne, the late great Daniel Thibault who was chef de cave for both Charles and Piper Heidsieck and pioneered the concept of transparency in non-vintage Champagne with his mis-en-cave bottlings. The estate spans two villages in heart of the western valley of the marne- Verneuil and Passy-Grigny. This Champagne is composed of 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Meunier and is aged for three years on the lees. This is a very bright, fresh style with vibrant acidity, but also with wonderful Chablis like clean earth and complexity. It has a perfect, tight bead and a creamy texture, as well as a very dry and long finish. I was shocked at the price- this is the kind of value that will not last on our shelves!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 11-08-2018
This rosé Champagne has the haunting, nearly strawberry like fruit set against a bright, dry finish that makes me thirsty for more and more. How do they make something so subtle, well balanced and intriguing for such a great price? I can't wait to visit them next year and find out!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-08-2018
This well balanced brut is a spectacular bargain, due to a direct buy, straight from the producer. Not only does this have a fine pearl of spectacular bubbles and a wonderful natural toastiness from long ageing on the lees, it also has the crisp dry finish that I love in an aperitif Champagne. I promise you will be surprised by the quality that this delivers for the price. Get it before the K&L staff buys it all!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

1999 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-08-2018
Cinnamon and I just recently drank a bottle of this with some foie gras mousse, and I have to say it blew my mind! These bottles have been resting peacefully in the Fallet family cellars since the vintage, and are in absolutely pristine condition. On its own, this Champagne was all about truffle savor and toasty richness, but as soon as we served it with the decadent mousse, it electrified, showing its racy, bright, clean vibrancy even after nearly 20 years of ageing! If you like older vintage Champagne, this is quite the deal!
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

1996 Haut-Bages Libéral, Pauillac
Review Date: 10-12-2018
This great bottle of Pauillac is perfect for a special occasion. If you don't want to settle for anything less that the real deal, the Haut Bages Liberal is an excellent choice; this wine has the pencil lead breed, the powerful dark fruit, the completely integrated tannins and the long finish that top 1996's are famous for.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2008 Fluteau "Symbiose" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-09-2018
As you may already know, the 2008 vintage is perhaps the best vintage in a generation in Champagne, with stellar ripeness and power married to uncommonly high acidity and freshness. Cold east winds combined with lots of sun in the fall led to some of the most loaded, complex wines in a long time. Like the Bligny, the Symbiose is half Chardonnay and half Pinot Noir, but the Symbiose is vinified white. It has enjoyed eight years of ageing on the lees, yet is still as bright and fresh as you could want. This has great texture and a fine bead from the long ageing, but it is so vivacious right now that I would recommend having it with shellfish. Try it now, and then lay down a case to drink over the next ten years!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-27-2018
The vintage brut from Champagne Louis Roederer is a world class Champagne. I love the hazelnut cream and subtle dark cherry on the very giving nose and can't get enough of the concentrated, leesy mid-palate. This is all from the original vineyards first purchased by the family in the late 1700's; 70% Pinot Noir from Verzenay and Verzy and 30% Chardonnay from Chouilly. The special plots destined for the vintage are farmed specifically for this wine, and the dry but powerful Champagne shows off this dedication.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-27-2018
If you haven't tasted the LP Rose lately, you should! This all Pinot Noir Champagne is entirely made from Grand Cru fruit and lighter than most that are made in this style- it is macerated with all of the skins in contact with all of the juice. The cellar master always judges the length of the maceration on the aromatics, and the result is a rose with character that is still completely elegant. The LP Rose has set the standard for rose Champagne for many years, and for good reason.

2006 Billecart-Salmon "Cuvee Louis" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 09-27-2018
This all Grand Cru blanc de blancs has not only incredible complexity and depth, but is far too easy to drink. With Chablis like earth, hints of beurre d'isigny and fresh cream, a spectacularly tight bead and a near infinite finish, you will know that you have a bottle of the good stuff here. When we had it with sushi my notes read simply "Lafon Meursault richness up front, Salon belemnita chalk on the back". This is a wow bottle of Champagne. Only 14,000 bottles, made with 20% barrel fermentation from the villages of Mesnil, Avize, Oger, Cramnat and Chouilly.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Trudon "Emblematis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-27-2018
Our most exciting new value in Champagne is here, the Emblematis from Jerome Trudon. With more than three years of ageing on the lees, this all estate blend of 70% Meunier and 30% Pinot Noir should be more expensive... Luckily we buy direct and the dollar is strong! This wine has 50% reserves from older vintages and features subtle baguette toast and exotic yet elegant fruit on the nose and in the mouth. Since Jerome does not use malolactic, this wine has great focus and a finish that I would only expect from a wine costing 50% more!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Trudon "Rosephile" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-27-2018
This is the only pure Meunier rose that we have that has been made by blending red wine with white. About 91% of the base is pressed gently to make the white wine, while 9% is sourced from over 60 year old vines and made as red. The result is a rose Champagne with decadent luxardo cherry flavor, balanced by a precise, fine bead and very good minerality. The finish is dry and long- a very impressive Champagne.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tapiz "Alta Collection" Cabernet Sauvignon Mendoza
Review Date: 09-04-2018
If you enjoyed the 2014 Tapiz Cabernet, be prepared to be impressed. I found the 2015 to be far superior, with all of the dusty, dark cassis fruit of an old school Napa Cabernet, but this time with even better freshness. While the 2014 reminded me of old fashioned Caymus, this excellent 2015 reminds me more of a Heitz. Don't miss this deal!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 90

2016 Ridge Vineyards "Geyserville" Alexander Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 09-04-2018
This is one of the best young Geyservilles that I have tasted, and reminds me very much of the great 1995 when it was young. I don't think it would be an overstatement to call this bottling one of the best wines of California, as they age gracefully for decades, and are completely imbued with the soul of Sonoma. Not only does this 2016 have the wild berry fruit and spice, it has great structure. I was surprised to read that it is only 7% Petite Sirah, as the tannic backbone of this wine was better than the Cabernet we tasted next to it! It is all about the vineyard here, and if you want one of the great terroir wines of the Golden State, don't miss it!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Launois "Veuve Clemence" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
This is the "insiders" Launois, and most of what we can get sells very quickly to people who have visited the property in Mesnil. This comes from the tops and bottoms of the slopes in the grand crus of Mesnil, Cramant and Oger, and is aged for an extra year compared to the reserve. This has classic chalky drive and length, with more than a little complexity. Don't get hooked- we never get much and it always goes fast!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
We can never get enough Launois Quartz at K&L. Unfortunately; the production is limited as Bernard Launois only has so many grapes each year in the great Mesnil plot of Les Chetillons. Having access to single vineyard, estate, grand cru Champagne from one of the best growers in the region at such a fair price makes me proud to be the Champagne guy at K&L. This wine has a fabulous white fruit quality that few Champagnes get at any price, and a chalky laser beam finish that is pure Mesnil. No Champagne we carry sells out faster.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Launois "Severine" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-23-2018
The Launois Severine is 100% Mesnil Grand Cru that is fermented in barrels. The barrels are made from oak timbered from their property right there in Mesnil. The wood has now been used a number of times, and although the first few batches were very oaky, the current release is super well balanced. This Champagne has the breadth and richness of a full on barrel fermented Champagne, but also the crisp precision of Mesnil Chardonnay. It is a fantastic Champagne, best suited to cuisine. I love it with grilled salmon -- especially done on a cedar plank!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Brut Tradition" Champagne
Review Date: 08-21-2018
The wine has the classic hazelnut character that can so easily be mistaken for wood influence in a blind tasting. In fact, this Champagne is all stainless steel fermented, with three years of ageing on the lees. It makes a great, richer style apéritif on its own, and it’s magic with cold smoked salmon.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2012 Gilbert Jacquesson Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-14-2018
The great 2012 vintage only yielded one press load of this sensational Champagne- 4000 bottles! This old vine, pure Meunier Champagne comes from two massal selected plots in Troissy. One was planted in 1969, the other in 1970. The wine has exquisite balance, with not only the spicy, pear fruit of the meunier variety, but also warm bread aromas and flavors from long ageing, and very nice focus and acidity. This Champagne is drier than most Meunier at less than 7g/l dosage. This rarity is a knock out from one of our smallest grower producers.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2014 Carbonnieux Blanc, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 08-07-2018
Snatch up this great 2014 Bordeaux Blanc before this great vintage disappears! For me, this is the best Carbonnieux since the 2001, and has that perfect balance of feral, citric sauvignon and textural, honeyed semillon. This is full flavored stuff, and extremely bright and lively on the pure gravel finish. I am going to have to put mine away deep in the cellar, it tastes so good now that it will be hard to save for later!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2015 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This vanilla toast and wild fruit exotic St. Georges St. Emilion rang in a new era in Bordeaux for me! Now the big right bank wines have all of the oak and fruit that they have had for the modern era, but without the heat or the extra heaviness. This is a super full bodied Bordeaux, but it still stays fresh and lifted. The scale of the wine is hard to believe for the money, with great sweet tannin on the finish.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2015 Pierre 1er, St-Emilion
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This big St. Emilion impressed us all today at our Bordeaux staff tasting. It is a giant of a claret, with extroverted raspberry fruit, a rich mid-palate, great full bodied texture and the acidity to keep it all in balance. If you like your Bordeaux big, this will be perfect, especially with some skirt steak on the grill!

2017 Tenuta Roveglia Chiaretto Rosé
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This fantastic rosé from Garda is a perfect summer time wine. The Chiaretto from Tenuta Roveglia has the breadth and power of Tavel, but without the heat or heaviness. If you are looking for a bottle that has a lot of flavor, but without excessive alcohol, you will love this!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
VN 90

2016 Fromm "Cuvée H" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-07-2018
It is not often that I taste a new world Pinot Noir with the kind of ethereal, even airy elusiveness that I found in the Cuvee H by Fromm. On the nose it is kaleidoscopic in complexity, with aroma after aroma coming out of the glass. It is deceivingly light on the palate, but very concentrated and long on the finish. This wine certainly has me in its power- and that is usually a feeling that I only get from Volnay. If you are looking for a great bottle of New Zealand Pinot to have with your best wine drinking friends over a good dinner, this is one of the best I have tried.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-07-2018
Delicious, organically grown Pinot Noir for under $20! Sign me up! The lovely Ted By Mount Edward has beautiful black cherry fruit and new leather aromas and flavors, and a very long finish. If you are looking for a red to drink after work, this is a great choice, but I think it will be even better with a piece of salmon!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This clean and refreshing Assyrtiko from Santo has more body than most, and drinks very nicely on its own. That being said, it has plenty of aromatics as well as flinty minerality on the bone dry finish. I would love to pair this wine with spanakopita with spinach and feta!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2016 Joseph Phelps "Freestone Vineyards" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The very cool conditions out in the Freestone AVA have allowed the folks at Joseph Phelps to make a pretty amazing Chardonnay. Not only does this have the intense, full throttle flavors that our customers love in California Chardonnay, but it is also balanced out by the crispness of the coast. If you are looking for a Chardonnay with great texture and full flavor, but are tired of heaviness and residual sugar, this is a perfect choice!

2017 Margerum "Riviera" Central Coast Rosé
Review Date: 08-07-2018
The "Riviera" rosé from Margerum broke all of my stereotypes of domestic pink wine. This extraordinarily light and crisp wine is made from very early picked grenache, so early that the alcohol is only 11.3%, making it among the lowest that we have in rosé from anywhere in the world. I love the hint of red fruit in this subtle, aperitif style rosé, and can't wait to fool my colleagues with it blind!
Price: $15.95 Add To Cart
WE 92 W&S 90

2010 Louis Roederer Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-07-2018
This is surprisingly exotic Champagne, with plenty of white fruit, and even some candied ginger on the very open nose. It is also very toasty and generous, with plenty of the yeasty, baguette quality that so many Champagne lovers can’t get enough of. The color is silvery and the wine has the minerality and steely cut to match. This vintage is composed of all estate grown, grand cru fruit and is given slightly less liquer de tirage at bottling and so has slightly lower pressure than most Champagne. One can usually expect Champagne to be six atmospheres, while this is between 4.5 and 5… But I can’t say I noticed less bubbles. In fact, this had the precise, tiny bead that one would expect from the people who bring us Cristal! Don’t let this great bottle slip by you just because it isn’t from a famous vintage. I found it to be very intriguing and delicious Champagne, and a worthy follow up to the 2008 and 2009. It drinks very well now, but I expect it should keep until 2030 without any problem at all.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-03-2018
Bollinger has a sterling reputation in Champagne for stalwart quality for a great reason. They do the hard work to make great Champagne, and there Special Cuvee is the standard barer for their range. Along with Krug, Bollinger is the only grand marque to refuse to give up their barrels, which they still ferment the wine in to this day. They are located in the village of Ay, famous for being the chalkiest terroir for Pinot Noir in all of Champagne, and Ay is the soul of this blend. It is one of the fullest, most powerful non-vintages from the grand marques, and also one of the driest. If you are a fan of Champagne and haven't tried this classic lately, you should!

Petit & Bajan Ambrosie Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-03-2018
The Ambrosie has to go down as one of the best Champagne's that I have tasted this year, with fantastic hazelnut aroma and flavor from the 30% Verzenay Pinot Noir and both the richness and chalk from the 70% Avize Chardonnay. This Champagne is so good that it leaves me at a loss for words. My notes, although short, have the word "concentrated" written three times, each time bigger than the last. If you like long finishing, detailed, powerful Champagne, it is not to be missed.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Petit & Bajan Nuit Blanche Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 08-03-2018
The excitement of the best of Avize is all here in this bottle. Like the best of Selosse, Bonville or Agrapart this wine is buzzing with chalky energy and manages both richness and cut at the same time. This wine is very dry, with a dosage of just 4g/l, but it has the natural roundness and toast to bring it into perfect balance. Sadly, what we have is all we will get, so I am buying my case now.
Price: $42.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Verquière Vacqueyras
Review Date: 07-31-2018
This fabulous, grown up Rhone has not only great texture and poise but also the wonderful, wild blackberry fruit that makes the wine so fun to drink. It is fermented in concrete, keeping all of the soul while sacrificing none of the clean concentration of this sunny, southern red. This is perfect wine to go with grilled meats, especially sausages on the grill!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JD 89 - 92

2017 Domaine Vico Corse Rosé (Corsica)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The rosé of Corsica has taken the staff of K&L by storm over the last few years. The Domaine Vico is a delicious example, with more dark fruit and presence than our provencal bottlings, but not the excess alcohol or weight of the Rhone or domestic offerings. We had this at our staff barbeque with a tomato tart that Cinnamon had made, and it was fantastic. It is also great for just sipping in the yard!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Château de Bellet "Baron G" Bellet Rosé
Review Date: 07-31-2018
No longer do you have to go to Monaco to drink this at Le Louis XV- you can get it here at K&L! While this does go very well with le gamberoni de San Remo, you can also enjoy it at home with nice salad nicoise, or even on its own. The aromas of this wine are beguiling, like a perfect bowl of strawberries and cream. On the palate it has the snap of Aperol, but also manages airy, Provençal delicacy despite the kaleidoscopic flavors. The finish is dry, light, and lifted. Summer luxury, bottled for our enjoyment!
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine de la Ferme Blanche Cassis Rosé
Review Date: 07-31-2018
This is one of my favorite rosé wines that we have, regardless of price. Cassis rosé is very hard to find, and always very expensive, but Keith has found a great producer to bring in direct with Domaine De La Ferme Blanche. With a generous, fragrant nose of wild strawberries, this wine also has nice fruit in the mouth. The finish is what sets it apart- this is a long, dry, serious wine- but you don't have to take it too seriously! The balance stays fun and easy to drink, but the depth is there if you care to pay attention!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2005 Tullibardine "The Murray" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
The Murray from Tullibardine is one concentrated, delicious malt! If you like whisky with high class sweetness, beautifully balanced barrel spice and a finish that goes on forever, this is a great choice. I love an unpeated malt that still has complexity, and this has captivating layers of flavor.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

Cutty Sark "Prohibition Edition" Blended Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Whisky drinkers rejoice! The Prohibition Edition from Cutty Sark is here, and it tastes great. Unlike most blended scotch, even much more expensive bottles, this does not have the raw grain flavor that I don't care for. Instead, it has more than a hint of sherry cask and a solid, medium body. I also appreciate the higher proof- at 100, this is perfect for an ice cube.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WA 90 WE 90

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Old world Pinot Noir for a great price? I know, it is hard to believe! We had the Torti Pavia this Sunday at our staff barbeque, and I loved the way it went with the chorizo and the chicken sausage that we were enjoying for appetizers. It is a super refreshing style, with high toned red fruit, light body, but yet a surprising bit of sap in the middle that really appealed to me. This is a must try for anyone who likes lighter style Oregon Pinot Noir- they can do it in Italy too!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2008 Nicolas Feuillatte Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Alex and I tasted this at the source when it was first released this spring, and now it has arrived in the USA. While Feuillatte makes a lot of Champagne, they do not make a lot of vintage, and they are able to select out the best plots from their best growers. In a great vintage like 2008, they have a real success. Not only does this have the brioche notes of a wine that has been aged a long time on the lees, it also has a very nice tight bead, good texture and some cherry fruit from top class Pinot Noir. The best part of the wine is the very dry, classically mineral driven 2008 finish. This is serious vintage Champagne!
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2009 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-24-2018
The Gran Reserva 904 is one of the greatest wines of Spain, and always stands on the table proudly next to any wine of the world. The 2009 is a special opportunity, as all of the oldest plots, usually reserved for the 890, have been added into it. This wine is a baby, packed, and concentrated with the vanillian tinged dark tempranillo fruit of youth. It is the kaleidoscopic back end that hints at what it will become in the future with blood orange, leather and earth all flaring out on the finish.
Drink from 2020 to 2020
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 95

2016 Mas Codina Xarel-lo Penedes
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Our star cava producer has a hidden talent- making great still white table wine at an awesome price! This dry, clean white wine has striking honeyed intrigue on its very long finish. It is structured very much like a good Pouilly-Fuissé, with some good mid-palate weight and great refreshing acidity. This would be a perfect partner with a big seafood paella!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de Bila Haut "Occultum Lapidem" Côtes de Roussillon-Villages Latour de France
Review Date: 07-24-2018
If you love the super rich, high octane, dark wines of the south of France, this is one not to be missed. It has a ton of confiture de mûres fruit up front, and a gargantuan amount of structure on the back. What a powerhouse!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 94

2014 Cristom "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-24-2018
This might be the best drinking current release that I have had from Oregon! I love the translucent ruby color, the complex nose of red cherry, bacon and vanilla as well as the developed, silky texture. While I was tasting it, all I could think about is Oregon plank salmon, and how well this purely Oregonian wine would go with the noble, grilled on the wood fish.
Drink from 2018 to 2018

2012 Louis Brochet "Alain" Millesime Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-24-2018
Louis Brochet is the best producer in Champagne that is still flying under the radar. He is a single minded man, trained as an oenoligist with a masters in winemaking from Reims, and working his families vines that have been in the family for four generations. The 2012 is spectacular, with flavors of nut bread and red cherry like Pinot Noir. It has great concentration, especially on the back end, which seems to go on forever. Not only do the expertly made vintage wines of Louis Brochet drink well young, they are fantastic for the cellar- The 1996 is still very, very fresh at 22. The backbone of this wine is a very old selection of Pinot Noir named after the village- "Pinot d'Ecueil", which makes up 2/3 of this blend. The other 1/3 is Chardonnay, and the wine is vinified in stainless steel before being aged over four years on the lees.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Ardmore Legacy Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
I love a dram of good whisky after dinner and the Legacy from Ardmore is just my style for enjoying after the meal. Beautifully light, this has just the right amount of peat to cut through and settle the stomach after a nice weekend meal. It bucks the extreme, flavor blasted trend that makes all the headlines on the whisky blogs and instead offers the graduate an effortless, subtle style to enjoy again and again. This still has plenty of flavor, but prizes balances above power. What a great value!
Top Value!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart

Rieger's Midwestern Missouri Dry Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
The story of this gin is amazing- the master distiller of Tanqueray taking on a passion project in the midwest, but the spirit itself is even more so! This runs straight down the middle with firm juniper flavor married to a flawless, creamy texture. The quality is just higher than most in this style, and the price is considerably lower than most gins of this superlative quality. I never thought I would fall in love with a gin from Missouri!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 07-19-2018
What a stylish bottle of gin! I suppose we should expect as much from the Italians! With haunting citrus notes from the deft use of bergamot and a rich, creamy texture that never becomes heavy, this is worthy of being considered in the top tier of gin. The sage in the recipe gives this the right amount of green lift to balance out the exoticism, and I can't wait to get this home and make a G&T with it!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

J.H. Cutter Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 07-19-2018
This blend is definitely greater than the sum of its parts! Four fifths of this blend is from the heart of Kentucky bourbon country, and grounds this whiskey with the richness and smooth manners of a southern gentleman. The other fifth is wild rye from the left coast, giving this spice, wildness and energy. It all works out in perfect harmony, making it my favorite new American whiskey that I have tried since the "craft" whiskey movement started!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Arboleda Pinot Noir Aconcagua Costa
Review Date: 07-17-2018
This excellent Pinot Noir from Arboleda just proved to me that sometimes you can have it all at a reasonable price. Not only does it have generous, open knit, brambly red fruit, it also has savor and complexity. I can't remember trying much Pinot that comes in at this price that has this kind of intrigue and depth, and I can't wait to try it with some lamb chops at home. I can count the number of Aconcagua Costa bottlings I have tried on my fingers, but now I will be seeking them out!
Top Value!

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next >>