Staff Favorites - Gary Westby

Gary Westby
Gary Westby  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I started at K&L in February of 2000, after 4 years of working down the street for another retailer, and although I take care of the Champagne buying here at K&L, I love to drink wine from all over the world. I prize authenticity in wine, and love representative examples of many different styles, whether it is a spicy dry creek zinfandel or a mineral driven Manzanilla. I almost always drink my wine with food, and am drawn to food wines rather than the softer styles that are good for drinking on their own. My wife Cinnamon and I cook a lot of Italian & French food at home, and my list of wines reflects those food choices. I also love value, at every price point, and can't stand "prestige" labels that under deliver in the bottle. I love honest wines for the table. If you love good wine to go with your good cooking too, I think that by joining my personal Sommelier list you will be treated to a wide variety of wines that represent a strong value for money at what ever price range you feel comfortable with. Give it a try!


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next
Gosset Blanc des Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2015
The dry focus of this Gosset made it a perfect partner for the sushi that I ordered from my friends at Akasaka in Menlo Park. The wine is very light and elegant, but even with rich salmon nigiri has plenty of flavor... It is a classy beverage, and I found it to be understated, subtle, and intriguing. I love Champagne that is hard to describe but easy to drink, and the Gosset Blanc des Blancs is a great example of wine that is easier to enjoy than to describe. The texture and bead are perfection, with plenty of tiny streamers to delight. I loved the subtle apricot aroma and flavor that contrasted the baguette-like toast in this wine, but the best feature was the finish--long, detailed and chalky. If you have a special occasion coming, this is a treat that you will love. It is a great bottle of Champagne.

Gosset "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-04-2015
Gosset is a traditional producer, using a proportion of old oak for the Grand Reserve. None of their Champagnes ever go through malolactic. On their web site, they list the Grand Reserve as being composed of 46% Chardonnay, 39% Pinot Noir and 15% Pinot Meunier including 12% reserve wines from two vintages. When I met the sales manager of Gosset, she told me that they also use a small amount of Fromenteau (Pinot Gris) Petit Meslier & Arbanne in this reserve wine. Those are the almost extinct, native varietals of Champagne and it would certainly explain some of the Grand Reserve's exotic complexity if they were indeed in the blend. This is big, rich, layered Champagne with brioche and pear aromas and a long, bright finish from the suppressed malo. It is snappy enough to serve for toasting, but has enough guts for a salmon dinner and enough exotic intrigue to keep the interest of a Champagne enthusiast all night. It should keep well, and even improve for a couple of years if you like the taste of aged Champagne. (Gary Westby, K&L Champagne buyer)

2010 Brown Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
Review Date: 10-02-2015
Last night this great bottle of Graves was a huge hit with a giant, juicy porterhouse. This wine will be at its best in another few years, but it is ready to drink now, and tastes better than most Cabernet-based wine under $40 for current consumption. I decanted this an hour ahead, just before cubing my potatoes and pulling the steak out of the refrigerator, and that time in the air no doubt made a big difference in the way the claret showed. This had the big purple color and the big cassis fruit that the 2010 vintage promises, but had enough mid-palate texture and graves earth to balance the prodigious fruit and tannin. Cinnamon and I made short work of it, and are planning on getting more... Wine like this, which can be drunk now, but will keep for as long as anyone would like, is the perfect thing to have in the cellar because of its flexibility. I can't get enough!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Laurent Perrier Demi-Sec Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 09-12-2015
This non-vintage Champagne is composed of 45% Chardonnay, 40% Pinot Noir and 15% Meunier and is exactly the same wine as the LP Brut, except for a big increase in dosage. Dosage is the sugar that is added after the yeast left over from the natural secondary fermentation in the bottle is removed. The Brut has about 12 grams per liter, while the demi-sec has 45 grams. This is perfect Champagne to have with dessert and an elegant way to treat a sweet tooth! It is a very toasty style that is sweet without being heavy.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Petit Lion Marquis de Las Cases, Saint-Julien
Review Date: 09-12-2015
I have no problem admitting that I am a cat person. That being said, I never thought that I would be compelled to buy a wine because of a well executed critter label. The Petit Lion on the label was just too darn adorable to resist and I bought it and brought it home. I can rationalize the purchase easily; Las Cases is the undeniable super 2nd of super 2nd’s and routinely beats out the 1st growths in any vintage that they don’t bring their A game. Even the 1993 Las Cases is a wine of tremendous majesty and balance- these folks have the midas touch. It is a 245 acre property at the north end of St. Julien that shares a long border with Chateau Latour to the north and surrounded on the other sides by Barton and Poyferre. A good address! The Petit Lion Marquis de Las Cases is the 2nd wine of the property while the Clos du Marquis has been a single vineyard wine (made from a walled vineyard within the greater estate) for many years now. It is composed of about one third Cabernet Sauvignon and two thirds Merlot, with a smattering of Cabernet Franc. It sees the same expensive oak treatment and lavish care as the first wine, as the selection is made just before bottling for this and the grand vin. Cinnamon and I don’t usually drink our claret this young, but the purity and balance of this big, powerful wine one us over. This is clean, pure, dark fruited, decadently vanilla kissed Bordeaux that had an exceptional seamless texture. We had it with a prime, bone in, dry aged rib-eye steak, potatoes and padron peppers, all done in the cast iron pan. As usual, the combination of top class beef and top class Bordeaux did not disappoint. If I had more of this big St. Julien I would wait until its 10th birthday to open it, but I am glad that cute little lion drew me in!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 09-10-2015
Drinking Krug out of magnum is one of the most luxurious experiences I can think of. I had a chance to pit a truly excellent 750ml bottle of Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne to the transcendent magnum. The 750 showed the way one would expect from Krug and had very nutty, nougat like deep, vinous personality that was rich and complex without having any trace of sweetness. The magnum didn’t seem to have any room to be better, but it was. My notebook is filled with a stream of adjectives; brioche, savory, saline, almonds etc. etc… The conclusion is simple: A big step up in richness and in transparency- more of the good stuff from long ageing and a huge step up in freshness. Find a friend or two and drink one. You’ll be glad you did!

2004 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
The 2004 Bollinger "Grande Année" Brut Champagne is a wine of great balance, and stood out in a great field of bottles at our recent staff Champagne summit. It is composed of 66% Pinot Noir and 44% Chardonnay from 88% Grand Cru and 22% Premier cru vineyards, and aged on its lees on a cork instead of a crown cap. This wine is full of the toasty, autolytic character that vintage Champagne fans love and focused by the classic drive and acidity of the 2004 harvest. If you like Champagne that is long, dry and powerful and demand something that can drink tonight or for many years to come, this is a great bottle.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2002 Pol Roger "Cuvée Sir Winston Churchill" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
This is the ultimate in masculine style Champagne; stuffed, broad, dense and serious. Pol Roger does not use any wood whatsoever in their cellar, yet the scale of these seems greater than even the 100% wood producers. They won’t reveal the exact composition of the Winston, but call it “Pinot dominant” which would qualify as a great understatement. This wine is loaded with savory black cherry Pinot fruit and chalky acidity for the ages. Too bad they only make 10 press loads, and only in the greatest vintages!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2007 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
The 2007 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne is the most electric vintage of this great wine since the 1996. It is composed of 58% Pinot Noir and 42% Chardonnay with 15% fermented in large wood foudres. The 2007 vintage was marked by an almost unprecedented early budding of the vines, and although the rest of the growing season wasn’t particularly hot, the grapes were mature in August! 2007 is the only high acid August harvest in the history of Champagne, but given the march of climate change, certainly not the last. I found this Cristal crackling, vibrant and concentrated, and think it will prove great after another five or so years in the cellar. This is a wine that is all about chalk and precision right now, so if you open one soon, have the oysters ready!

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
The Louis Roederer Cristal is a famous Champagne, and deserves to be an even more famous wine. We just tasted this again at our staff summit, and it has opened up into a gorgeous, creamy, integrated masterpiece, and is the most precocious young Cristal I have tasted. It is all estate grown Champagne comes from fifty hectares of the chalkiest, oldest vine sites on Roederer's 240 hectare estate. They farm these vineyards especially for Cristal, restricting the yields, and for many of the plots farming organically. This 2006 reminds me very much of the 2002 when it was this age; creamy and very mineral at once. It manages to have a full body and retain an extraordinary chalky freshness!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Louis Roederer "Brut Premier" Champagne
Review Date: 09-10-2015
This is great Champagne- and perhaps one of the best values for money in any category of wine. Louis Roederer has been pushing quality like few others in the region over the last decade, and no wine shows the heights that they have reached as well as the Brut Premier. With massive investment in organic viticulture, including a massive purchase of 1er vineyards from Leclerc-Briant, a return to plowing in the vineyard instead of chemical treatment and obsession with every detail in the winery they have created something here that has no rival among the big names, especially at this price. The 1/3 of the fruit that they buy comes from growers like Benoit Marguet- so you know they are getting top stuff. While most of my time is spent advocating for single origin Champagnes, this bottle is a great argument for blending and the balance that cellar master Jean-Baptiste Lecaillon created here is second to none. This wine has a great brioche nose and plenty of vivacious sparkle. It is a perfect aperitif!

Arthur Marc "Initiale Noir & Blanc" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-09-2015
Our best new producer, Arthur Marc makes great Champagne entirely from their estate in the Marne. They are located in the beautiful village of Fleury-la-Riviere with heritage in the region going back 12 generations... All the way to the 1600's! This wine is an even blend of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir that is aged for three years on the lees. It is excellent as an aperitif, as it is bracing and dry without being austere.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

Arthur Marc Grand Cuvee Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-09-2015
The Marc estate is located in the valley of the Marne in the picturesque village of Fleury-la-Riviere, very close to Tarlant, Collard and Coutelas. This Champagne is an entirely estate grown blend of half and half Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. It is aged for five years on the lees before being released and is also blended with 20% older vintages. This Champagne has the richness that you would expect from a wine that is older and more integrated, while retaining great snap from its Chardonnay half.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wild Turkey 101 Rye 1L
Review Date: 09-02-2015
I love liters. They have 250ml more than a 750, which you are going to want in the case of the excellent Wild Turkey 101 Rye. Most rye is purchased spirit in a dressed up package; the "kick'n chicken" rye comes from the Wild Turkey distillery without passing through the hands of another brand owner. It is spicy, surprisingly complex and has very good texture. I love it for Manhattans!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Ragnaud Sabourin K&L Exclusive Fontevieille #35 Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 09-01-2015
Tasting the Fontevieille 35 Cognac from Ragnaud Sabourin made me wish for a big fire, a big chair and a big snifter. This mature, old fashioned Cognac has plenty of the rancio character that the big houses reserve for their blends in fancy bottles at 10x the price. Tasting it today reminded me of many of the dusty old Louis XIII's and Triomphe's that I have been treated to over the years. I found this expansive, deep and complex Cognac worthy of reflection at the end of the evening. It is a very fine value in top class Cognac!
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

1983 Domaine de Maouhum 32 Year Old K&L Exclusive Bas-Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 09-01-2015
If you love the profound complexity that only age can bring and are fed up with the high prices of old single malt and the lack of availability of bourbon, you just hit the jackpot. The 1983 Maouhum 32 Year Old Bas Armagnac offers exotic watch movement complexity, the mellow confidence of age and perfect texture. What a bottle!
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Thienot Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 08-27-2015
This Champagne was the surprise of the Oscars - the small upstart house that kicked out Moet! Drink with the stars! It is composed of 45% Chardonnay, 35% Pinot Noir and 20% Meunier. The light gold color and big brioche, cream and baked apple nose gives way to a wine that is packed with power and complexity on the palate. This full bodied Champagne has a luscious finish that is very impressive.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

1996 Moët & Chandon "Dom Pérignon" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-22-2015
A treatise on elegance in a bottle, there is simply nothing out of place in this fabulous wine. On the nose, delicate toast and subtle strawberry fruit seamlessly blend to create authentic intrigue. On the palate it is light-bodied, restrained and almost endless on the finish. A true great.

Franck Bonville Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-20-2015
The extra brut from Bonville is always the same wine as the concurrent vintage, but not declared as such. It is all Avize Chardonnay and although the current batch had over four years on the lees, it is still very austere on its own. With sushi it is magic. The sweetening effect the hamachi had on this bottle was striking, and its flexibility with the spicy and pickled flavors from the embarrassing rolls that I like to order amazed me. The unbelievably clean, precise chalkiness of this wine put the Avize terroir center stage!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Pierre Moncuit "Cuvée Pierre Moncuit-Delos" Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 08-18-2015
This wine has a big nose that is Meursault like in its scale but without the oak. I found it full of ripe fruit and fragrant wild flowers. On the palate it is dry and cutting on the back end but full and ripe up front. This all Mesnil, all estate Champagne really shows its class on the finish, which is very, very long for its low price. So good!

2013 Mas Karolina Côtes Catalanes
Review Date: 08-05-2015
This fantastic Rhone style blend is a blast from the past, with great traditional flavors and excellent brightness. It is still a wine from the sunny south, with plenty of texture and power, without loosing a big stamp from the terroir. This is the most exciting Rhone style blend we have had in years!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Reynon Sauvignon Blanc, Bordeaux
Review Date: 08-05-2015
If you like a racy, bright Savvy, this Reynon is for you. The very high quality of the 2014 vintage for white Bordeaux is here, with not only great acidity and length, but also quite good texture. This wine will make a great aperitif, but also pair very well with everything from shellfish to chicken. All of this at $2 less a bottle than the very good 2013... Thank you, strong dollar!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 88 - 90

2004 Malescasse, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Why pay $50 for a California Cabernet that has been "engineered" to drink well young when you can spend less than half that for a Bordeaux that has the age it needs to drink now? I just bought a case of this 2004 Malescasse and will start enjoying it right now! This is medium to full bodied, dark cassis fruit driven, richer Cab based Bordeaux that is a perfect partner for your next steak dinner!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Reserve de la Comtesse Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Top vintage. Top appellation. Top producer... The Reserve De La Comtesse 2009 has it all, and it shows in the glass! This is full bodied claret, with the Pauillac lead pencil aromatics, rich dark fruit on the mid palate and length for days on the finish. This offers most of what the first wine has, but in a much more ready to drink and open fashion. Don't miss it!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91 WS 91

2010 D'Archambeau, Graves
Review Date: 08-05-2015
I love this old school Graves! The D'Archambeau has fantastic herbal, olive aromas and medium to light body, with very good acidity. If you love your claret with food, this 2010 is a fabulous bottle to enjoy now.
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Trébiac, Graves
Review Date: 08-05-2015
This open knit, easy going Graves drinks so nicely right now that I have a hard time believing the super low price! The Trebiac is a round, plummy Bordeaux with very nice minerality on the back end. If you were considering a domestic Cabernet in this price range, see how much more Bordeaux can deliver for your dollar!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Mas Karolina Côtes du Roussillon Villages
Review Date: 08-05-2015
If you want a fancy Rhone style wine, but are looking to spend less than $20 instead of $50, you have found it. The Mas Karolina is a full bodied wine, but does not sacrifice complexity and grace in exchange for point grabbing power. This Cotes Du Roussillon Villages has layers of dark fruit, nuanced, clean earth and excellent persistence. A star of a bottle!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 87 - 90

Pascal Lallement "Brut Reserve" Champagne
Review Date: 08-04-2015
This tasty, Pinot Noir driven, grower Champagne comes from the not-often-imported Petite Mountain of Reims. It is an excellent aperitif!

2009 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-04-2015
While the 2009 vintage is a softer one, this is not a soft wine. The Chouilly Chardonnay provided plenty of cut for the rich pate, and had us coming back for more. The flavors in this wine ran almost too strawberry shortcake- rich, ripe, dark fruit and lovely bready depth. But again, the laser beam Chouilly Chardonnay snapped it into very dry focus. This is bottle is a real treat. I hope you’ll treat yourself to one as well.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 08-04-2015
The famous yellow label- now offered in pink.

Moet & Chandon "Ice Imperial" Champagne
Review Date: 07-28-2015
My favorite use for the first Champagne made for rocks is this modified "Final Word" cocktail: 1 ounce Chartreuse Green 750m 1 ounce Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur 1 ounce fresh squeezed lime juice 2 ounces Moet & Chandon "Ice Imperial" Champagne Prepare a cocktail shaker with plenty of fresh ice, and a large rocks glass with plenty more. Shake the Chartreuse, Luxardo and Lime in the shaker until well chilled. Pour the mixture through a cocktail strainer over the ice in the rocks glass. Top with the Champagne, stir gently and enjoy. As Champagne is less concentrated than gin, it takes a little bit more of it to bring the drink into balance. Since both the lime and the Champagne are acidic, this drink is very bright and refreshing… Perhaps dangerously so! Be careful with these- I thought I was making a more “moderate” drink, but it is easy to get carried away with these!
Price: $56.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Louis Roederer Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 07-21-2015
This daring new release from Roederer comes entirely from the organic portions of their estate vineyard in Cumieres, Hautvillers and Vertus. Unlike all of their other wines, the Chardonnay and Pinot Noir are co-pressed in the Nature and the wine is entirely fermented in large oak vats. The result is a Champagne that is rich enough to be balanced without any dosage. The last time I had this wine was at Acquerello paired with Berkshire pork loin with peaches, porcini and a foie gras abd pork demi glace. The wine had the broadness and texture to match the rich dish, while the bone dry, brut nature back end provided ample refreshment.
Price: $78.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine la Chapelle Saint Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 07-21-2015
Over the weekend I tried this Coteaux d'Aix En Provence Rosé with Cinnamon's home-made fried chicken, and today I bought a case. Keith (our French regional buyer) really hit a home run with this carefully made, organically grown gem. The Domaine La Chapelle Saint Victor has all the refreshment of our brightest Sauvignon Blanc, but with lovely round strawberry fruit in the middle. If you like your rosé dry and expressive, this one is for you!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

Charles Heidsieck "Rosé Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-16-2015
The Charles rosé has the honest toast that comes from extended lees contact and very high quality, subtle dark cherry fruit from the still red wine added to the blend. The best thing about the wine is that this rich toasty character is balanced perfectly with top class chalky drive on the back end. Pairing it with ginger garlic chicken, the Champagne had the vinous power to match the assertive flavors of the dish, and the cut to refresh the palate after each rich bite. I love rosé Champagne that can provide both richness, dark fruit flavor and top class refreshment--this Rosé Reserve from Charles Heidsieck delivers it all!

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-07-2015
A classic for a reason. This toasty, well balanced grand marque is the most important cuvee for Pol Roger. A lovely aperitif, and a surprisingly good cellar candidate! I recently had a 20 year old bottle that will rank as one of the best Champagne experiences I have had this year!

2008 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne 1.5L
Review Date: 07-07-2015
This is one of the very best magnums that we have in the store for the cellar. The 2008's combine great ripeness with incredible acidity and the Louis Roederer Brut Rose balances these two features of the vintage perfectly. I have had the wine on three occasions already, and the best experience was at Quince, where the wine was paired with royal osetra caviar on brioche with edible flowers and hollandaise. The fine quality red fruit component and electric acidity of the wine was ideal for this great roe. This is subtle rose with a huge future!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Deutz "Brut Classic" Champagne
Review Date: 07-07-2015
This great house, located in Ay, is owned by the Roederer group but has a style all of its own. If you love the big, broad Pinot Noir wines of Champagne, this is for you. The wine has a good amount of toast, plenty of richness and finishes dry
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91 ST 90

2002 Salon Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Words fall short when trying to explain the perfection of the 2002 Salon, so I will start with the facts. This wine is made only in great vintages, only from old vines in the most famous of all Champagne Grand Crus - Mesnil. Because there is never any malolactic fermentation for Salon, the wine must be aged for a decade minimum on the lees, and that is why we are just seeing the 2002 now. This Champagne is the last word on precision and elegance and one of the longest Champagnes that I have ever had an opportunity to try. It will age for longer than most of us will live as bottles from the '20s and '30s prove today. Unfortunately there is not much of it...

Barnaut "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Last week I had the chance to meet and taste with Philippe Seconde, whose family has been making Barnaut since 1874. They might be the oldest grower-producer in Champagne. This rosé is made in a unique way, with the Pinot Noir that composes 85% of the blend macerated with the skins, and 15% Chardonnay blended in afterwards to give the wine snap and focus. Philippe loves this wine with spicy food, and I can't wait to try it with a big plate of hot wings!
Price: $43.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WS 90

Jacquesson "Cuvée 737" Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Before Joseph Krug founded Krug, he worked at Jacquesson. This is a house with a very long history, but also one of the most innovative of all the Grand Marques. They are the only big house to proclaim the batches of their non-vintage on the front label and this one is Cuvee 737. This batch is based on 2009 with 30% reserve wines, and is every bit as dry as the Extra Brut moniker suggests. This precise, laser like Champagne is an absolute dream with sushi!

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Bollinger has a sterling reputation in Champagne for stalwart quality for a great reason. They do the hard work to make great Champagne, and there Special Cuvee is the standard barer for their range. Along with Krug, Bollinger is the only grand marque to refuse to give up their barrels, which they still ferment the wine in to this day. They are located in the village of Ay, famous for being the chalkiest terroir for Pinot Noir in all of Champagne, and Ay is the soul of this blend. It is one of the fullest, most powerful non-vintages from the grand marques, and also one of the driest. If you are a fan of Champagne and haven't tried this classic, you should!

Barnaut "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Last week I had the chance to meet and taste with Philippe Seconde, whose family has been making Barnaut since 1874. They might be the oldest grower-producer in Champagne. His Grande Reserve is a blend of 2/3 Pinot Noir and 1/3 Chardonnay from the Grand Cru village of Bouzy on the south facing slope of the mountain of Reims. This wine has been fractionally blended since the beginning, and Philippe joked that perhaps one of the many bubbles had a few molecules of the 1874 in it! This is a pure expression of Pinot Noir with a lot of round cherry fruit and excellent acidity. It is dosed at 6g/l.

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millésimé" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-02-2015
Tasting this wine in Epernay with Baron Fuente's Eric de Brissis was a great experience. I loved the wine for its poised creaminess, lovely nutty flavors and clean, long finish. This is a very elegant, subtle bottle of wine that will impress the most jaded of palates. In my notebook from that day, I wrote "tastes expensive"... Then he showed me the price. Deals like this don't come every day, and I would suggest that you join me in buying a case, or maybe two!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2013 Campo Viejo Tempranillo Rioja
Review Date: 07-01-2015
Great value abounds in Spain, and this Rioja from Campo Viejo delivers not only a great tasting wine for a small price, but also the inimitable style of Rioja. This medium-bodied, mellow wine is fantastic with a wide range of grilled food!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Luna Beberide Mencía Bierzo
Review Date: 07-01-2015
Wow - How do they get so much wine into this Bierzo for such a low price? The folks at Luna Beberide have made a dark, concentrated wine that has the lift and bracing vibrancy to stay in great balance. I can't wait to rip into this with some ribs in the backyard!
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 91 AG 90

2013 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 07-01-2015
This crisp, refreshing bottle of white Rioja is in the style of the cleanest and freshest Sauvignon Blancs, but with a flavor profile all of its own. This wine makes a great aperitif as well as a partner to everything from white fish to cheese. Yum!
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

Taittinger "La Française" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-23-2015
Taittinger has always been known for the creamy refreshment that the La Francaise has delivered so consistently through the years. If you like a little bit of toast balanced by some citric zing, this high Chardonnay blend is for you!

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-23-2015
The wines of Verzenay are some of my very favorite in all of Champagne, and Patrick Arnould of Champagne Michel Arnould makes some of the very best. This wine has the magical hazelnut quality that many (including myself!) often miss for wood treatment in blind tastings. Because this Grand Cru village faces north the wines are always electric and vibrant, even with high percentages of Pinot in the blend. This is one of our finest values in top grower Champagne.
Top Value!
Price: $32.99 Add To Waiting List

Veuve Clicquot Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 06-23-2015
The best-selling Champagne in the USA in a cute little half is a great entry into the wonderful variety of Champagne.

Billecart-Salmon Blanc de Blancs Grand Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 06-23-2015
If you like your Champagne clean and refreshing, this is the best bottle that we have for you. Antoine Billecart insists on fermentations that are slow and cold, and the family has developed its own strain of yeast that can work in super low temperatures, resulting in a Champagne that is light as feather and arcs with electric excitement. This wine delivers all of this without any harsh grain, since it has been aged for over sixty months on the lees... A fabulous treat!

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 next

More Favorites

Gary Westby is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Gary Westby, click here to join Gary Westby's Personal Sommelier Service.
2014 Zudugarai "Amats" Getariako Txakolina ($12.99)

2013 Kalinda "Rawiri Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough ($14.99)

2009 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino ($49.99)

2012 Duane Coates Syrah McLaren Vale South Australia ($19.99)

2012 Dalwhinnie "Moonambel" Shiraz Pyrenees Victoria ($39.99)

2012 Chateau St. Jean Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($23.99)

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Blend Marlborough ($18.99)

2013 Tongue In Groove "The Mound Vineyard" Riesling Waipara Valley ($19.99)

2014 Cognizant Pinot Noir Marlborough ($19.99)

2013 Duane Coates Chardonnay Adelaide Hills ($19.99)

2013 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara ($24.99)

2013 Amelia Park Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia ($12.99)

2012 Trellis (Amelia Park) Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Margaret River ($10.99)

2013 Elephant Hill "Le Phant Rouge" Gimblett Gravels Hawke's Bay ($19.99)

2012 Dog Point Pinot Noir Marlborough ($29.99)

2014 Craggy Range "Te Muna Road" Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough ($17.99)

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($18.99)

2012 John Duval "Eligo" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia ($79.99)

2013 Lora Tempranillo Syrah Vino de la Tierra de Castilla ($9.99)

2013 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic) ($44.99)

2013 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic) ($49.99)

2007 Contino "Viña del Olivo" Reserva Rioja ($139.99)

2013 Lagar de Costa "Doelas" Albariño Rias Baixas ($19.99)

2012 Domaine Michel & Stéphane Ogier Syrah "d'Ogier" Collines Rhodaniennes ($17.99)

2014 Domaine Dupuy de Lôme Bandol Rosé ($23.99)

2012 Stolpman Ballard Canyon Grenache ($24.99)

2014 Mas de Cadenet Côtes de Provence Sainte Victoire Rosé ($19.99)

2014 Sanglier "Sun Tusque" Sonoma County Rosé ($15.99)

2013 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Sauvignon Blanc ($23.99)

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough ($19.99)

Baron Fuente "Galipettes" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2013 De La Terre "Reserve" Tannat Hawke's Bay ($34.99)

2012 Waterkloof "Circle Of Life" White Blend Stellenbosch South Africa ($16.99)

2014 Giesen Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($10.99)

2012 Château du Cèdre "Héritage" Cahors ($12.99)

2012 Villa Symposia "Equilibre" Languedoc Rouge ($15.99)

2012 Domaine la Garrigue "La Cantarelle" Vacqueyras ($19.99)

2013 Les Chancelieres Vouvray ($10.99)

2014 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine ($9.99)

2013 Tongue In Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley ($29.99)

2013 Tongue In Groove "Clayvin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Marlborough ($29.99)

2013 Te Mata "Awatea" Bordeaux Blend Hawkes Bay ($24.99)

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva ($19.99)

2013 Qupé "Bien Nacido - Y Block" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay ($16.99)

2011 Qupé "Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard - K&L Selection" Edna Valley Syrah ($21.99)

2013 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara County Chardonnay ($19.99)

2005 Heras Cordon Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2013 Bodegas Aragonesas "Crucillon" Garnacha Tempranillo Campo de Borja ($9.99)

2013 Carballal "Sete Cepas" Albariño Rias Baixas ($14.99)

2011 Bodegas Hinojosa "H" Malbec Mendoza ($14.99)

2009 Bodegas Olarra "Añares" Reserva Rioja ($14.99)

2013 Antucura Cabernet Sauvignon Vista Flores ($14.99)

2011 Proprietà Sperino "Uvaggio" Costa della Sesia ($29.99)

2012 Pian dell'Orino Rosso di Montalcino ($39.99)

2011 Ravenswood "Vintners Blend" California Shiraz ($10.99)

2010 Stonestreet "Estate" Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($34.99)

2012 Colonias de Galeon "Ocnos" Roble VdT Sierra Norte de Sevilla ($14.99)

2011 'B' de Basilio Blanco Rioja ($36.99)

2011 Clos des Fous "Grillos Cantores" Cabernet Sauvignon Alto Cachapoal ($14.99)

2009 Bodega Weinert "Carrascal" Red Lujan de Cuyo ($14.99)

2013 Tinhof Neuburger Burgenland (last of vintage) ($13.99)

2013 Ebner Ebenauer Birthal Grüner Veltliner Weinviertal ($15.99)

2013 Philippe Tessier Cheverny Blanc ($18.99)

2012 Nicolas Joly Les Vieux Clos Savennières ($36.99)

2013 Leitz Rüdesheimer Magdalenenkreuz Riesling Spätlese Rheingau ($21.99)

2001 Tertre Daugay, St-Emilion ($24.99)

2013 Quarter Acre Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay ($14.99)

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne ($39.99)

Amaury Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago ($29.99)

2014 Cognizant Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough ($14.99)

2013 Château de Montfaucon "Comtesse Madeleine" Côtes du Rhône Blanc ($16.99)

2012 Carpe Diem Anderson Valley Pinot Noir ($29.99)

2013 Cakebread Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc ($25.99)

1999 Bodegas Puelles Gran Reserva Rioja ($19.99)

2012 Bodega Mendel "Estate" Malbec Mendoza ($24.99)

2013 Blason Friulano Isonzo ($9.99)

2013 Ancient Peaks/K&L Wine Merchants Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon ($12.99)