Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 next
2011 Rocca di Montegrossi "Geremia" Toscana
Review Date: 08-27-2015
Geremia is 60% Merlot and 40% Cabernet Sauvignon that spent 24 months in French oak. Lots of dark skinned fruit with spice, minerals, and toasty oak that complete each other on the nose and palate, and the wine has pleasantly soft tannins, but good acidity to pull it all together.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2012 Crater Rim Pinot Noir Banks Peninsula Canterbury
Review Date: 08-27-2015
Wow! This is really one of the best Pinot Noirs I've tasted at this price point, and from one of the original regions to put New Zealand Pinot on the map no less. The bouquet has notes of plum, dark strawberry, clove, chocolate and earth. On the palate there is beautiful balance, with good acidity, silky tannins and very good length. If your a fan of Pinot, don't miss this great value.This Pinot Rocks ! For $20. bucks, this is your new house wine. Buy a few !!!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Bolsignano "Grazia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-27-2015
This is old world Sangiovese with lots of fruit, ripe blueberries, flowers and red raspberries, earthy with Tuscan dust and minerals, and soft acidity and well balanced tannins and sweet wood and beautiful viscosity. This can keep for several years in the cellar or I would let it open for three to four hours. A must have for 2010 Brunelli.
Price: $49.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 WE 94

Amara Amaro d'Arancia Rossa 750ml
Review Date: 08-19-2015
WOW! is the first thing that comes to mind when I taste this. Amara is a more feminine approach to an Amaro that is the philosophy of the producer of this unique concoction. From the slopes of Etna, the highest active volcano in Europe, there is acres of citrus groves, pride of the ancient tradition. Only in this area because of the nature of the terrain and the strong temperature grow the famous Red Oranges of Sicily. This is made with those blood oranges and herbs and has nice viscosity and incredible aftertaste. This just came in & I have been anticipating its arrival for quite some time and I will be enjoying straight over ice or as a Spritz with orange rind, as well as in various combinations in modern cocktails. TWO thumbs up from Guido ( Mike Parres)
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Silvano Follador Prosecco Brut Nature
Review Date: 08-07-2015
Its back!!! This is a prefect wine for this time of year. This Prosecco has been K & L’s best sellers since we started bringing it in. There is melon and green apple and is crisp and floral on the palate, a long finish and its subtle mousse make this delicious wine a sure bet for your table. This wine will work well as an alternative to Champagne.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
GR 2

2013 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 08-07-2015
This 2013 Verdicchio di Matelica, is a very good example for the vintage. Offers crisp and refreshing citric fruit flavors, and aromas with the characteristic touch of green herbs, is a wonderful value, a well-rounded wine, beautifully structured, soft on the palate but with a slight suggestion of almond (typical for Verdicchio), a great end of summer sipping wine and is very food-friendly.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92 AG 91

2014 Boniperti "Rosadisera" Nebbiolo Rosato
Review Date: 08-07-2015
Robust Nebbiolo character: a salmon pink color, fascinating aromas of wild mountain strawberries, some floral notes and lots of great acidity, even a touch of mineral on the long-lasting aftertaste. This is a great wine for the brunch crowd. (Really--the wine is a palate refresher.) Or sip some while sitting on the porch with a favorite book.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Silvio Nardi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-05-2015
Love this wine, classic Old World Brunello. Earthy, wet leather aromas blow off to ripe and decadent fruit. Full-bodied, with soft and silky tannins and a long, luscious aftertaste of ripe fruit and tobacco. It’s in my top 10 of 2010.

2014 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
Review Date: 08-04-2015
From Rocca di Montegrossi and simply put, their best effort yet! This robust rosato has a light salmon pink color and fascinating aromas of ripe wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $15.95 Add To Waiting List
AG 90

2013 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 08-04-2015
This is drinking GREAT ! right now and will over the next couple of years (but only if you can keep your hands off it and keep some in the cellar). Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this rosso about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 91

2012 Riecine Chianti Classico
Review Date: 08-04-2015
I just opened this for our staff tasting and this little “Chianti” stop the show, with lots of kudos from my colleges. This Sangiovese has lots of bang for the buck (or EURO). Medium –bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. This is the perfect Chianti to serve, while you’re Bar-B-queing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
DC 93 JS 92

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
Review Date: 07-22-2015
Citrus aromas. Full on the palate. Tasty bright fruit: peach, citrus, and even a hint of melon. The touch of grassy flavors and pure Sauvignon fruit will give you a great idea of what the Sancerre appellation is all about.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Agostino Pavia Grignolino d'Asti
Review Date: 07-17-2015
Grignolino is a very distinctive grape variety native to Piedmont. It combines pale, Pinot-like color with mouth-filling grip (some tannins). I think of this varietal wine as a dark rosé and I utilize it as one. Cranberry fruit flavors, herbal and rhubarb notes with great acidity. It is one of the classic matches with salumi, and it also complements a broad range of rich or flavorful summertime foods. I take this out of the refrigerator about a half an hour before serving, this really brings out the fruit. The perfect summer red!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Castelfeder "Glener" Pinot Nero Trentino-Alto Adige
Review Date: 07-17-2015
This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air. Medium to full-bodied. Richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla on the finish. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate; duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Ruggeri Corsini Langhe Bianco
Review Date: 07-15-2015
This is a complex blend of Arneis (50%), Sauvignon Blanc (30%) and Chardonnay (20%). The Chardonnay gives the wine body and weight, the Sauvignon Blanc a bold aromatic character, the Arneis lifts the aromatics and balances the body and adds some grip, structure and a decisive finish. It feels more like a white Rhone wine but its aromatics are unique. This is a great summer sipper, on the porch with some cheese, bread & a good friend.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Innocenti Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
I would call this a user-friendly Brunelli, with hints of old world; there are aromas of blackberries, and flowers, on the palate you will find smoke, wild cherries and minerals, with plenty of dark fruit that carries through to the finish.
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 94 SJ 1

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
A spice-driven wine that makes ample room for leather, cola, smoked ham, cedar, pipe tobacco, licorice, dark plum and barnyard notes. There’s an earthy, dusty quality to the mouth that amplifies the wine’s smoothness.
Price: $37.89 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 JS 92

2010 La Mannella Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Opens up very nicely, with plum, berry, a hint of mineral and even jam. Full-bodied, with silky, soft tannins and a medium finish. Very well-crafted.

2010 Tenute del Cerro La Poderina Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
This is old world Sangiovese with lots of fruit, ripe blueberries, flowers and red raspberries, earthy with Tuscan dust and minerals, and soft acidity and well balanced tannins and sweet wood and beautiful viscosity. This can keep for several years in the cellar or I would let it open for three to four hours. A must have for 2010 Brunelli,

2010 Collemattoni Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Collemattoni delivers a mix of black cherry, ripe raspberry and cocoa aromas and flavors, picking up spice and tobacco elements on the Very LONG finish. This is a to drink now and over the next few years, stock up with this Brunelli while you can…

2010 Tassi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
This 2010 Brunello di Montalcino fleshes out beautifully on the palate with layers of super-expressive red fruits, coffee, some plum and spices with just hint of dust and well balanced tannins. The supple, forward personality is best suited for drinking over the three to five years.

2010 Tassi "Franci" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
The Brunelli’s from Fabio Tassi always remind me of Montalcino. They have the classic Tuscan dust and a little cedar, tobacco as well as fruit. The “Franci” is no exception, this is a bottle that when you remove the cork, I am almost transported back to this little hill town of Montalcino. This is a wine that is Old World in style with enough fruit and balance to keep everyone at the table happy. I will try to keep my hands off for quite a few years, the longer the time, the more I will be rewarded.

2010 Solaria Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Patrizia Cencioni’s Solaria is really a one-woman operation (she does hire help for harvest), and her philosophy is that great wines start in the vineyard and not in the lab. Patrizia really doesn’t put a thumbprint on her wines, she lets the hills of Montalcino and the Sangiovese speak for themselves. I have known and sold this producer’s wines for many years and am excited to do so again. Classic dark and ripe fruit, full-bodied with lots of structure, I would give this a couple hours of decanting.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 AG 90

2010 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 07-14-2015
Classic Barbi, black cherry & ripe strawberry, very well balanced. This is full-bodied and powerful, soft tannins long finish, slightly rustic, but impressive for its concentration.

2014 Correggia Roero Arneis
Review Date: 07-03-2015
(Now sealed with screwcap) Matteo Correggia was a pioneer in helping the Roero gain international recognition when there wasn't much in the way of quality wine being produced. Today, the reputation of the Roero is rooted in much of the early work of Matteo and a few daring other pioneers. Matteo's tragic death in a tractor accident in 2001 rallied many of the region's leading winemakers to help his wife Ornella carry on. After a five year transitional period, Ornella took the helm and has been guiding and expanding the direction of the winery ever since. Correggia produces some stunningly good, powerful reds, distinctive and vibrant whites, and an amazing dry Brachetto.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Tolaini Valdisanti Toscana
Review Date: 06-16-2015
Cabernet from Italy, what were we thinking? That we must share this with you! You will find a little bit of Tuscany (20% Sangiovese and 5% Cabernet Franc) in this glass that is ripe and fleshy with cocoa, spice, black fruit and density, full-bodied and broad on the palate with complex layers of earth and some soft tannin on the finish. This is a wine that is very user friendly now and has the aging potential of 5-8 years. This is the ideal match for red meats and roasted poultry or just a BIG glass all by itself after a long day from work.

2011 Ugo Lequio "Gallina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 06-11-2015
I love the 2011 Piemontese wines; they are amazing values. The wine’s perfume is pure Nebbiolo: raspberry fruit and dried rose petals with a touch of tobacco and lots of cedar, bursting with sweet fruit, tar, minerals, displaying outstanding depth and fine overall balance. This wine will drink well now and over the next few years, best with the heartiest meats or stews. Better yet, serve after dinner with some great aged cheeses (Pecorino Romano, Parmigiano-Reggiano or Asiago) and an olive tapenade.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95 RP 92

2012 Fattoria Petrolo Torrione Toscana
Review Date: 06-02-2015
It is just the kind of wine you want when you sit down with a little bread and cheese or when you open something to drink while cooking dinner. Rich and complex, Sangiovese, Merlot & Cabernet Sauvignon. Super Tuscan & Super Price !

2010 Belpoggio Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 06-02-2015
This wine is 100% Sangiovese and a small marvel of class and power, especially when the vintage is taken into account. There is wonderful richness of fruit, which melds beautifully with the aristocratic oak, giving spicy scents which come through on the palate, too, right to this final licorice note. Dark-colored ruby with concentrated aromas of blackberries, dark cocoa powder and stony minerals. Full-bodied, with big dusty tannins; needs some air time.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 92 RP 91

2012 Ferrero Toscana Rosso
Review Date: 05-20-2015
And now for something completely different! This is a Super Tuscan at a super price. This bad boy is made up of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Montepulciano and Alicante, and I swear you can taste all of these. On the palate you will find flavors of black cherry, plum and soft floral notes blended with silky tannins. The Cabernet gives this a backbone you can feel and a nice smooth and long finish.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 La Massa "La Massa" Toscana
Review Date: 05-19-2015
Concentrated Sangiovese fruit with layers of subtle earth and mineral scents in a soft and fruit forward body. Pull the cork and dive right in, winederful to drink now!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 RP 93

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2015
It is medium-bodied Champagne that seems effortless and is very well integrated. This makes a great aperitif, but like many other Champagnes will also make a great partner with sushi.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Buehler Russian River Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 05-08-2015
Here is a classic California Chardonnay. This wine has exhilarating aromas of honeysuckle, pear and green apple, with hints of pineapple. On the palate, this wine is rich and full-bodied, with lively fruit, sweet vanilla flavors and a refreshing, long, lingering finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Verde Regional Minho
Review Date: 05-08-2015
This 2014 Aveleda is a crisp, light-bodied, fragrant notes of melons, figs, dried herbs, and a hint of honey, delicious, and surprisingly nuanced, A great value.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Elena Fucci "Titolo" Aglianico del Vulture
Review Date: 05-06-2015
This wine shows complexity with all its layers. Rich in body and texture and structure , the wine evolves deeper and deeper in stages with every sip. Three sips tell the story. The first sip is full of white pepper and spice. The second sip shows deep, rich, ripe, black fruit and following with the third sip that glides through the palate with smooth mocha and cocoa and some tannin's, leaving the partaker wanting to explore the wine more and more.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

2013 Don Cataldo Rosato Salento Puglia
Review Date: 04-20-2015
Here is lots of zippy acidity and a little bit of strawberry at the tip of the tongue and then you feel the rocky soil and limestone of Puglia on the really long finish. A great wine for your 4th of July picnics or just summer sipping.
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

Bellussi Prosecco di Valdobbiadene
Review Date: 04-18-2015
The wine offers intensity and precision with focused attention on acidity and freshness. A great party pleaser.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Villa Poggio Salvi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 04-17-2015
Love this very user-friendly 2010 Brunelli. Here is a wine to stock up on, and you can drink this bad boy now and for the three to five years (it will help you keep your hands off some of your trophy 2010 Brunellos). Rich with ripe dark fruit, very smooth with soft acidity, the tannins are soft as well and the length on the finish will bring you in to tomorrow. Yum
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 94 JS 91

2012 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
Review Date: 04-15-2015
I just opened this for our staff tasting recently and this little "Puglia blend" stopped the show, with lots of oohs and ahhs from my coworkers. This wine has lots of bang for the buck. This wine is a blend of 40% Negroamaro, 30% Primitivo & 30% Cabernet Sauvignon, medium-bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. Two THUMBS up !!! Guido
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-09-2015
This Cabernet Sauvignon displays a flavorful deluge of rich black currant, hints of cherry and a long finish of sweet mocha and velvety tannins.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
Review Date: 04-07-2015
Citrus aromas. Full on the palate. Tasty bright fruit: peach, citrus, and even a hint of melon. The touch of grassy flavors and pure Sauvignon fruit will give you a great idea of what the Sancerre appellation is all about.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Soluve Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 04-01-2015
In this wine you will find black cherries, plum with minerals and a touch of chestnuts on the finish. Medium-bodied with soft tannins, this is a very user-friendly Chianti that will show well with the pizza and pasta.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Kerner
Review Date: 03-25-2015
A cross between Riesling and the local red grape Schiava. Though something of a mongrel in terms of ancestry, in the right hands, such as those of the very capable people at Cantina Valle Isarco, it produces a medium-bodied, un-oaked wine full of vibrant fruits and ethereal floral highlights, loves something spicy Thai of Mexican.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Lagrein
Review Date: 03-25-2015
Fairly dark red-purple in color with aromas and flavors of blackberries, black plums and tea leaf. It is medium-weight and savory on the palate. I drink this wine with grilled meats, stews, sausages....very versatile. Great value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Tassi "Franci" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
The Brunelli’s from Fabio Tassi always remind me of Montalcino. They have the classic Tuscan dust and a little cedar, tobacco as well as fruit. The “Franci” is no exception, this is a bottle that when you remove the cork, I am almost transported back to this little hill town of Montalcino. This is a wine that is Old World in style with enough fruit and balance to keep everyone at the table happy. I will try to keep my hands off for quite a few years, the longer the time, the more I will be rewarded.

2010 Tassi Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
This 2010 Brunello di Montalcino fleshes out beautifully on the palate with layers of super-expressive red fruits, coffee, some plum and spices with just hint of dust and well balanced tannins. The supple, forward personality is best suited for drinking over the three to five years.

2010 Poggiarellino Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
Wow! Is what I first wrote down as this exploded on my palate, this has a lot more Montalcino in the glass than past years. Dark fruit, leather, terroir and good tannin structure, balanced with acidity, this is Brunello at its best!!! It reminds me of the 2007, that’s still in my cellar. A wine to buy for long term, will age over the next ten to fifteen years.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95

2010 La Lecciaia Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-13-2015
Plum, cedar and leather aromas follow through to a full-bodied palate, with a lovely density of ripe fruit and a soft, velvety textured, a little Tuscan dust and soft tannins on the finish. Ripe and beautiful, an opulent wine that opens with sometime in the glass.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 94 JS 92

2010 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
The wines of Baccinetti are rich, ripe, dense and full, but retain their balance and elegance. The 2010 Brunello is a stellar example of the vintage, and an exceptional bargain at this price. The palate has pretty cherry fruit with a nice earthy, spicy quality, great structure and good balance of acidity and tannins.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 97

2010 Solaria Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 03-12-2015
Patrizia Cencioni’s Solaria is really a one-woman operation (she does hire help for harvest), and her philosophy is that great wines start in the vineyard and not in the lab. Patrizia really doesn’t put a thumbprint on her wines, she lets the hills of Montalcino and the Sangiovese speak for themselves. I have known and sold this producer’s wines for many years and am excited to do so again. Classic dark and ripe fruit, full-bodied with lots of structure, I would give this a couple hours of decanting.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 95 AG 90

Page: 1 2 next