Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2010 Collosorbo Brunello di Montalcino
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Sourced from some of Montalcino’s finest terroir, Collosorbo's fragrantly potent Brunello displays all the structure, richness and grace that the revered 2010 vintage promises. Collosorbo shares a bounty of complexity beginning with a fresh, bright, juicy attack and then flows into layers of black cherry, dried roses, and leather. Sexy, decadent and precise, you'll want to put this one on your "must buy" list pronto before they sell out!

2014 Rocca di Montegrossi Rosato
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
From Rocca di Montegrossi and simply put, their best effort yet! This robust rosato has a light salmon pink color and fascinating aromas of ripe wild mountain strawberries, and I found a hint of mandarin zest. It's fresh and lingering on the palate with a very dry finish.
Price: $15.95 Add To Waiting List
AG 90

2013 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
This is drinking GREAT ! right now and will over the next couple of years (but only if you can keep your hands off it and keep some in the cellar). Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this rosso about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 91

2012 Riecine Chianti Classico
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
I just opened this for our staff tasting and this little “Chianti” stop the show, with lots of kudos from my colleges. This Sangiovese has lots of bang for the buck (or EURO). Medium –bodied with dark fruit, good acidity and a really long finish. This is the perfect Chianti to serve, while you’re Bar-B-queing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
DC 93 JS 92

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
While I've been a fan of the Solutre' from Renaud over the years the last two vintages I prefer the Charnay,its mineral driven center perfectly balances the wine's supple mouth feel and has a distinct and focused finish.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Duane Coates Chardonnay Adelaide Hills
By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Another profound white wine offering from Coates is his Chardonnay. Again coming from the cool Adelaide Hills region, this was barrel fermented in 70% new French barriques with wild yeast and went through full malo-lactic fermentation. The wine stayed on it lees without stirring to create texture while keeping its natural acidity. Aromas of lemon blossom, peach, almond, minerals, light toast and a hint of ginger give this a Meursault-like character. The palate is layered and rich yet has a superb acid line that gives intensity and drive to the long persistent finish.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 95

2013 Uccelliera Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Those nose if full of spice, wild Tuscan brush, wild cherry and bits of leather all couched in a plumy perfume. On the palate the wine, while luscious, forms around a long vibrant core that lifts the spice, earth and wild cherry flavors. The finish is long and superbly balanced, I can't wait for this wine to age another 3-5 years, but it's really hard not to want to drink this wine now.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 91

2013 Duane Coates Semillon-Sauvignon Blanc Adelaide Hills South Australia
By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
I'm a huge fan of this wine. 70% Semillon and 30% Sauvignon Blanc from the cool Adelaide Hills region was barrel fermented in new and 1 year old Sequin-Moreau with native yeast and then matured for 9 months. The nose is complex with light toast/brioche, lemon blossom. jasmine flower and a subtle nutty character. On the palate there is generous texture, vibrant acidity and excellent length. There's a lot of detailed winemaking here for a wine at this price. 200 cases made.
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 94

2013 Poggio Antico Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
This is a full-bodied, richer style wine from Poggio Antico, their vineyards are amongst the highest in Montalcino and the ripeness of the 2013 vintage comes through. On the palate the wine is full of plumy richness still with the classic Sangiovese length to balance it. The finish is broad, richly texured and continues that plumy notes adding in a back of leather and spice.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
The Macon Charnay is another winner from Domaine Pascal & Mireille Renaud. All of their 2014 whites are extremely fresh, pure and clean. The Macon Charnay shows hints of tropical fruit, with excellent mid-palate richness followed by a crisp, mineral driven finish. Very solid wine for the money!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Pouilly-Fuissé "Cuvée Vieilles Vignes"
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Beautiful nose of fresh lychee and candied ginger which seamlessly leads into a palate awash of citrus and stone fruits all nicely framed by good acidity and minerality, a great Pouilly-Fuisse that over-delivers given its modest price.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Great value! The 2014 Renaud Saint Veran shows super creamy and rich upfront fruit, which is followed by flavors of pear, coconut, Asian spice and fresh green apples. This is a wonderfully fresh and lively expression of Chardonnay, which drinks more like a Sauvignon Blanc from Loire Valley. Excellent food wine.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Solutré
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Loads of fresh peaches jump from the glass with an exotic-laden palate of tropical fruit flavors such as papaya, mango, guava along with golden delicious apples. Full-bodied with an elegant feel this pretty wine is the perfect summer sipper that won’t break the bank.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
A sexy wine with a seductive nose of lime blossoms and Georgia peaches with a palate that showcases Asian pears, guava and a touch of mango all nestled against good acidity, minerality and just a hint of toasty oak. This medium-bodied wine display excellent balance and has a creamy, rich feel. Ideal for the Chardonnay fan that wants a French twist.
Top Value!
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Really pretty nose that displays hints of white flowers, wild jasmine and green figs. On the palate there is great energy and verve with excellent acidity and laser beam like focus of green apples and citrus fruits as well as great minerality and hints of wet stone. This wine is delicious, and is a screaming value!!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Le Ragnaie Rosso di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
The nose....The nose of this wine is just tremendous, savory, salty, umami laced aromatics grab your attention immediately. On the palate the wine is full and expands to all corners but the flavors OMG, this is great Sangiovese for the price. So many flavor facets, earth, spice, umami with hints of leather, porcini. The finish is amazing a combination of flavors that is just incredible, I'm personally buying a case to put down for another 5-6 years, but am going to drink a fair amount in the meantime!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 91 RP 90

2014 Ruggeri Corsini Langhe Bianco
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
This well balanced wine comes from Piedmont's Langhe region not often known for whites but with more examples like this there is a future! The nose is a complex blend of floral and herbal that pool above the glass. On the palate you immediately notice the Chardonnay's weight and richness but then the wines fresh acidity lifts and lengthens the wine's mouth-feel. A long finish with hints of Sauvignon and floral. Perfect for richer fish dishes like Branzino or a creamy pasta.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Zerran Tinto Montsant
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
A lot of wine for the price! A blend of Garnacha, Carignan and Syrah, this Montsant shows a full, dark-fruited body with chocolate and coffee undertones. A surprising, savory, animal note plays nicely off the black pepper accent from the Syrah, and the whole is softened by a kiss of oak.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 92 ST 90

2011 Sons of Eden "Kennedy" GSM Barossa Valley
By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Sons of Eden has an extensive source of fruit coming from six different sub-regions in the Barossa Valley. While they supply some fruit to others, you know that they select the best for their own label. Winemaker Corey Ryan (Henschke) and viticulturist Simon Cowham (Yalumba) cut their teeth in the Barossa sub-region Eden Valley, hence the name Sons of Eden. Truly a fine team, they bring the pedigree and finesse from their experience. Made from 39% Grenache, 37% Shiraz and 24% Mourvedre, the "Kennedy" offers a classic blend from this challenging vintage. The bouquet is lifted with a more red fruited character that shows plum, mullberry, earth, leather and a hint of winter mint. On the palate, the wine is supple with fine, seamless tannins with a ferrous dusty cumin spice note and a dash of milk chocolate Fine acidity supports the overall balance with good drive and length.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93 WS 91

2012 John Duval "Eligo" Shiraz Barossa Valley South Australia
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
One of Barossa's most iconic wines. This is the best-of-the-best Shiraz, from one of the best winemakers in Australian history, from some of the best vineyards in the Barossa and Eden Valleys, in the best vintage for many many years. That's a lot of BESTS! A wine of immense power, richness and concentration but also grace, purity and balance. Accessible now but also built for longevity. The BEST of both worlds!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 97 JS 93

Pascal Lallement "Brut Reserve" Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
This tasty, Pinot Noir driven, grower Champagne comes from the not-often-imported Petite Mountain of Reims. It is an excellent aperitif!

2009 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
While the 2009 vintage is a softer one, this is not a soft wine. The Chouilly Chardonnay provided plenty of cut for the rich pate, and had us coming back for more. The flavors in this wine ran almost too strawberry shortcake- rich, ripe, dark fruit and lovely bready depth. But again, the laser beam Chouilly Chardonnay snapped it into very dry focus. This is bottle is a real treat. I hope you’ll treat yourself to one as well.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Veuve Clicquot Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
The famous yellow label- now offered in pink.

2013 Felton Road "Calvert" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Always the most compact, dense and brooding of Felton's single vineyards bottlings. Tightly wound, powerful, structured and built for the long haul. Having said this, the 2013 is one of the more accessible young "Calvert" bottlings I have had to date and it showed that way even when tasting from barrel in 2014. The wine really shows the purity and pedigree of what has been described at NZ first Pinot Noir Grand Cru site.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2013 Felton Road "Bannockburn" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
Very interesting that multiple critics scored this bottling from Felton Rd higher than the single vineyard wines it is composed from. This is a true reflection of what Mike and Blair mean when they say..."we don't do anything different in making the single vineyards than the Bannockburn" and also a great example of the fact that sometimes the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. I personally love the single vineyards for their unique and consistent expression of the vineyard sites and representation of meso climates even within a sub-region, however I can see how the Bannockburn bottle is more immediately accessible and gratifying. The 2013 is quite forward, deep, dusty, dark red fruits, wild thyme, warm earth, toasted exotic spices. Great palate weight and ripe tannins. As with many of the Felton wines, and probably representative of their terroir, I love the supple mouth feel from the heavy silts and clays of Bannockburn, underpinned by the more compact layered finish of the underlying schist, a great combination of accessibility and softness combined with focus and drive on the back. Since we do great business with Felton Road every year, we have seriously competitive pricing on this wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2011 Sons of Eden "Kennedy" GSM Barossa Valley
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
The answer to many critics and even some winemakers who have written off the 2011 vintage in South Australia. The vintage was one of the coldest and wettest on record with weather more like Seattle than Adelaide! However Simon and Corey have crafted a wine that is a shinning representation their grape growing / wine making skills and the ability of Barossa to produce incredibly delicious wines that are fresh, vibrant and a million miles away stylistically from the jammy, sweet fruit bombs that people often associate with the region. Never ones to make over-the-top wines anyway, the cards that mother nature dealt Simon and Cory in 2011 made them focus on purity and balance over bulk and brawn. This wine has fantastic purity of fruit and lovely ripe berry flavors, bramble fruit, loganberry. It also has sweet spice, black pepper and hint of bloody steak. The wine is so supple and silky on the palate with super fine tannins and bright but soft acidity. The old vine (50+ yrs) origins of this wine show up on the finish with a lovely rocky, soil driven complexity adding yet another element to this complex wine. This has all the purity of fruit I want from Barossa with the layers and complexity I seek in Châteauneuf-du-Pape. A really great bottle I implore you to try. Phenomenal value at $19.99!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 93 WS 91

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/4/2015 | Send Email
This wine at this price almost seems to be a mistake. Beautiful and balanced the wine greets the nose with ripe dark fruit and hints of smoke and chocolate. The pallet is full and lush with a little tobacco spice blending into the ripe berry notes. Fine tannins complement the body and lead to an excellent lingering finish. A delicious rioja from an amazing year and at a price that allows you to drink a few.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 92

2013 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I was looking for a Southern Italian wine to pair with penne arrabbiata for an al fresco dinner and this fit the bill perfectly. I'm not even going to specify summer dining since this beauty would be welcome any time of year. Light-bodied with complexity and fresh berry notes, Frappato stands up to spicy foods and strong cheeses but maintains an easy-going quality. Herbal and gorgeous slightly chilled, this dry red is interesting without overwhelming. A winner.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The 2013 leads with a nose redolent of low key cherry fruit accented by earth, tar, and dark cocoa powder. The palate adds dried orange peel, pine, cranberry, strawberry-rhubarb, and cinnamon and other spices, with the earthy dimension expressing itself as baked clay. Throughout, the dusty fruit character is never over played. While the mid-palate has just a bit of heft to it, and the finish is supple and creamy, there is nothing approaching over-ripe here, and the oak keeps a low profile, which, at this price, makes this fully dimensional Pinot Noir a hard bargain to beat.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Antadze Mtsvane Republic of Georgia
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
This Mtsvane has a beautiful orange hue due to skin contact and aromas of apple cider, walnuts and dried apricots with salinity and kumquat on the palate. Yes, this is an “orange wine” and it’s perfect for warm weather and deserves food; try it with Mediterranean cuisine.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2014 Argyros Estate "Atlantis" White Cyclades
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Argyros Estate is a 4th generation family owned winery and they own some of the oldest vineyards on the island. This blend bursts with orange blossom, crushed stone, tangerine and white flowers. With zippy acidity and a fuller body, this wine can be drank on its own or with or with light fare.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Hatzidakis Assyrtiko Santorini
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The Hatzidakis is 100% Assyrtiko and 100% awesome. It’s less citrus driven than some Assyrtikos can be with notes of pear, nectarine, granny smith apples, almonds and chalky minerality. Try this with grilled whole fish, simply prepared.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90

2013 Domaine Les Poëte Quincy
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Domaine Les Poëte is a small winery with only 6 hectares spread throughout the central vineyards of Loire. The winemaker is a chef turned sommelier turned winemaker, making a Quincy that rivals the best of Sancerre. This bottle is stellar, it had all the staff here smitten. With aromas of smoke, baked apple pie and honeysuckle, and a palate of pear, nectarine, flint and mineral-driven finish that just won’t quit. This should be your new go-to summer wine paired with fish, veggies or goat cheese.
Price: $28.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
The Renaud Macon wines are always some of the best value wines at K&L. For me the Solutre has always been my favorite, but over the last to vintages the Charnay has just shined. A little more fruit, a touch more texture, more zip and a slightly longer finish. Buy both, but if you can only have buy one, get the Charnay.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Dr. Randolf Kauer Oberweseler Oelsberg Riesling Spätlese Trocken Alte Reben
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
In the upper middle Rhine valley, which is an UNESCO world heritage site, family estate Weingut Dr. Randolf Kauer farms 3.5 hectares of vines on steep slate ridden slopes. The Dr. Randolf Kauer Riesling Spatlese Trocken is truly terroir driven with aromas of lemon zest, orange blossom and pear, with a palate of tree-fruits, lemon and searing high, juicy acidity.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
A delicious Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc. With plenty of riper fruit notes and a touch of minerality and just a faint whiff of something herbal. A versatile everyday white.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Jacques Bavard Auxey-Duresses "Les Clous"
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Lightly floral with hints of toasty oak. Crisp, clean and bright in expression. Citrus and stone fruit notes - lemon oil and peach pit. Delicious Chardonnay from one of the best of our direct imports. Superb value.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Varner "Amphitheater Block-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I’m not scared to say it, and I have many times, out loud, to real people. I think the Varner Chardonnays are some of the best, if not the best, Chardonnays made in the United States. These wines are still way under the radar to most wine fans due to their small production, out of the way location-high in the hills above Portola Valley in the Santa Cruz Mountains, and stylistic choices. But for all of us lucky enough to have tasted these wines vintage after vintage we can’t help but feel this way. The wines are just too good, with pinpoint precision, amazing complexity, and little “wine making” to get in the way of the amazing raw materials they put into each and every bottle they make. The 2013 "Amphitheater Block” stunned me with how fleshed out it was. Typically the Amphitheater is always the most strict, linear, mineral driven wine under the Varner label. However this year there is a pleasing nutty generosity to the nose and a very deep set richness on the palate that just wasn’t there in previous vintages. (The Varner’s attest this to the vineyard block maturing rather than any changes in the cellar, of which there were none.) Cashew, almond skin, dried apple and nectarine mesh on the complex and intriguing nose. Bright and citrusy on entry with layers of mineral and earth over tangerine, pomelo and lemon pith this has a subtle creaminess and fleshes out with a pretty floral bitterness at its edges.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 95

2014 Domaine Renaud St-Véran
By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Absolutely my top favorite of all our Direct Import Burgundy producers, because year after year, Domaine Renaud consistently over-delivers quality for the price! Which is hard to find in Burgundy, and if you're a Burgundy connoisseur you already know this! The Saint Veran is the most seamless and elegant of the bunch, with a freshness about it that the Pouilly-Fuissé lacks because of its heavier use of oak. The Saint Veran is full of flavor but not new oak. Gorgeous texture and layers of stone fruit, zesty minerality, and balanced acid that makes it perfect with food. It has the brightness of a Chablis but not the ultra tartness on the finish. It carries itself so elegantly you will fall in love, over and over again with every sip!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Clean pear fruit backed by fairly intense minerality. There is way more wine in this bottle of bubbles than you would expect from a Prosecco at this price point.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Varner "Bee Block-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I’m not scared to say it, and I have many times, out loud, to real people. I think the Varner Chardonnays are some of the best, if not the best, Chardonnays made in the United States. These wines are still way under the radar to most wine fans due to their small production, out of the way location-high in the hills above Portola Valley in the Santa Cruz Mountains, and stylistic choices. But for all of us lucky enough to have tasted these wines vintage after vintage we can’t help but feel this way. The wines are just too good, with pinpoint precision, amazing complexity, and little “wine making” to get in the way of the amazing raw materials they put into each and every bottle they make. The 2013 “Bee Block,” long the favorite block of most of our local customers, is Bee Block at its finest. I don’t know if it is the suggestion of the name, or if the name came from the suggestion, but there is always a honeyed quality to this wine. Never sweet of course but more of an exotic, spiced, ripeness that the other blocks just don’t have. Build on top of that aromas of anise seed/fennel, jasmine blossoms, talc and a delicate marzipan note and this is one aromatic wine. The heftiest of the bunch this has layers of rich flavors like crème brulee, peach pit, egg custard and apricot however it never feels flat or blousy. It’s quite the contrary one the finish full of Meyer lemon, wet stone and fresh alfalfa rolls around. But never does that honey quality subside and I’m glad it doesn’t, it’s the true tell of this stunning wine.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 96

2014 Domaine Dragon Côtes de Provence Rosé
By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Simply the best Provencal rosé I've tasted under $15 all year! Or for the past few years for that matter. This boutique producer we just started importing delivers everything you could want in a Provence rosé and more! Gorgeous light salmon color, dry, crisp, mineral driven, subtle fruit undertones of grapefruit pitch, pomelo rind, even a touch of white nectar and strawberry seed. Super light and refreshing, perfect pool-side sipper for the long summer ahead! If you're looking for a food pairing try it with a summer salad of prosciutto, melon, and burrata! Yum!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Paicines Pinot Noir
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Here's a new super-value favorite! I love luxury on the cheap, and this is exactly what Rudy is -- totally affordable, but displaying moments of grandeur. Sourced from Paicines AVA next to the Gabilan Mountain range, this fruit benefits from the cool winds coming of the Monterey Valley. Rudy is richly aromatic and exudes the scent of pepper and fresh boysenberries. Showing layers of luscious, succulent, bright ripe black cherry/ raspberry fruit and allspice, this Pinot packs a punch with fine tannins and a lengthy finish. Delicious stuff!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Neely "Holly's Cuvée-Spring Ridge Vineyard" Santa Cruz Mountains Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I’m not scared to say it, and I have many times, out loud, to real people. I think the Varner Chardonnays are some of the best, if not the best, Chardonnays made in the United States. These wines are still way under the radar to most wine fans due to their small production, out of the way location-high in the hills above Portola Valley in the Santa Cruz Mountains, and stylistic choices. But for all of us lucky enough to have tasted these wines vintage after vintage we can’t help but feel this way. The wines are just too good, with pinpoint precision, amazing complexity, and little “wine making” to get in the way of the amazing raw materials they put into each and every bottle they make. So what does that have to do with Neely you may ask? Well the Neely Chardonnays are from the same blocks, the same finished wines actually, but instead of single block expressions you get the sum of the amazing parts by blending them together. The 2013 “Holly’s Cuvee” is a wild wine, one where you can see the personality of the single blocks but you get to experience them transforming into something entirely new. The honeyed nose of Bee Block is wildly apparent on the nose but it also has the subtle nuttiness of Amphitheater. Linear and streamlined like the Home Block on the palate this is brisk and full of mouthwatering acid and tons of exotic citrus tones. It is a wine that encapsulates all that is this property, these people and the greatness of these wines. Sadly we get the least of this, comparatively speaking. But that’s OK, a little will go a long way here.
Price: $47.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 97

2011 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
A perennial favorite here at K&L. I have enjoyed this traditional Chianti year after year. I am still enjoying the last few bottles of a case of the 2004 vintage, and recently purchased a case of the 2010 to lay down for a few years. This 2011 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva is a bit more "user friendly" as Guido would say. Those who prefer not to wait will love the extra ripeness the 2011 vintage has yielded. Soft & round, sweet & ripe, yet with the bright red fruits and spice notes one usually associates with this most traditional of Chiantis. Classic Sangiovese. Superb value.

2014 Zudugarai "Amats" Rosé Getariako Txakolina
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
My first experience with a Txakolina Rose and I am a huge fan. It's ight and crisp, with fantastic minerality, and a little effervescence makes this rosé perfect for long summer afternoons. There exists a lovely elegance to this wine and an almost floral finish. I have read that this Txakolina is consumed like water where this is from and I can readily believe it. I find myself looking for more reasons to have people over so I can bring home a couple bottles of this.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
More and more I appreciate New Zealand Pinot Noir and this one is one of the best. Ripe berry immediately captures the palate with tastes of cherry and raspberry. The body holds wonderful weight and just the right amount of light woody ending. Everything about this Pinot works and the finish leaves you wanting more.

2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
This is one of our top Sancerre and upon tasting the reason becomes abundantly evident. This 100% Sav Blanc that we import directly is perfectly balanced and delightfully drinkable. The body is round and and clean with hints of lemon and melon. Acid drives the wine forward without ever overwhelming the palate, finishing dry and delectable. This Sancerre is light enough for the afternoon, weighty enough for dinner, and tasty enough for the close of day.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Tormaresca "Neprica" Puglia
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
I've been drinking this value-priced stunner consistently for the last 8 vintages or so. It is one of the most reliable and affordable bottles I've come across in my ten years in the wine business, showing a deep, rich fruit profile supported by spice and a hearty structure. This is extremely versatile with food, but also an impossibly easy sipper on its own.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
By: Andrew Stevens | Review Date: 8/3/2015 | Send Email
Before moving to the Bay Area and finding a wonderful home with K&L this Malbec was my go-to red wine. Whatever I was making for dinner, whether or not company was coming over, it did not matter this wine was on hand. Wonderful hints of cherry and plum are balanced by the touches of cocoa and licorice. There is a perfect blend of dark fruit, spice, and soft tannins in this wine to make it go with practically everything. The best thing about this wine is how well it drinks, but the second best is the price you get it for. After you finish a bottle you do not feel guilty opening another.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>