Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
Moet & Chandon "Ice Imperial" Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/28/2015 | Send Email
My favorite use for the first Champagne made for rocks is this modified "Final Word" cocktail: 1 ounce Chartreuse Green 750m 1 ounce Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur 1 ounce fresh squeezed lime juice 2 ounces Moet & Chandon "Ice Imperial" Champagne Prepare a cocktail shaker with plenty of fresh ice, and a large rocks glass with plenty more. Shake the Chartreuse, Luxardo and Lime in the shaker until well chilled. Pour the mixture through a cocktail strainer over the ice in the rocks glass. Top with the Champagne, stir gently and enjoy. As Champagne is less concentrated than gin, it takes a little bit more of it to bring the drink into balance. Since both the lime and the Champagne are acidic, this drink is very bright and refreshing… Perhaps dangerously so! Be careful with these- I thought I was making a more “moderate” drink, but it is easy to get carried away with these!
Price: $56.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Sons Of Eden "Romulus" Barossa Valley Shiraz
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 7/28/2015 | Send Email
This a truly amazing bottle right here. The richness, intensity and length all play superbly together, sort of how The Beatles meshed so well when they played alongside eachother. The tannins were very well integrated, with what seemed to be either neutral oak influence or just good old fashioned careful winemaking...I'm guessing both. This wine also had a meatiness, or savory character to it that I found most pleasing and fitting with the rich rib eye steak dish that accompanied my numerous glasses. I see no reason why all the Syrah/Shriaz lovers would not be intrigued and pleased by this wine.

2010 Fornacina Brunello di Montalcino
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/27/2015 | Send Email
The Fornacina is a real standout for me. Beautiful notes of roasted currants, black plum and raspberries. There is a sexy game note and fresh tilled earth to round out the nose. On the palate it is generous and the tannins supple. I drank this with my homemade bolognese which I made on the spicier side. Ground beef is the base, I substituted hot Italian sausage for the pork and added a little ground chicken liver instead of pancetta because I like the earthy flavor it imparts. Served over pappardelle with this wine? Perfection!!

2010 Franco Pacenti Canalicchio Brunello di Montalcino
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/27/2015 | Send Email
This has a great nose of crushed herbs and bing cherries. On the palate the wine is compact but after aeration it begins to unwind and develop real complexity. Put a few away as the Canalicchio is built for the cellar.

2011 Quinta do Vallado Douro
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 7/27/2015 | Send Email
What an incredible Portuguese value! This wine has enough rich, ripe fruit to be approachable to everyone. What really stood out to me was the tangy, orange zest-like acidity and the crisp finish. This would be a wonderful BBQ or Asian fusion companion.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$9.99
JS 91

2014 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/27/2015 | Send Email
More modern style—nice flavor—good value at under $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Baron Fuente "Grand Millésimé" Brut Champagne
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 7/27/2015 | Send Email
Hello, a vintage Champagne for $30 bucks? This seems to good to be true, but it is. Capturing the ripe vintage of 2006, this wine oozes aromas of baked pastry and lemon. The palate is clean, and elegant with a silky mouthfeel. You don't have to be the rich and famous to drink like one. Get a bottle, you will be pleasantly surprised.
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91

2013 Joan d'Anguera "Altaroses" Montsant
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 7/27/2015 | Send Email
One of my newest and totally refreshing summertime go-tos is Joan D'Anguera Montsant Altaroses from Catalunya. This is 100% garnacha done in a playfully light, clean, and fruity style. This is a certified biodynamic wine that has a bouquet of sweet red fruit that follows with a delicious strawberry-raspberry note on the tongue, and then finishes up with a hint of hibiscus tea. This would be a great party cocktail wine or an amiable and flexible food pairing partner. This is great as is, but I have been really enjoying this with a slight chill. Recommended!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/26/2015 | Send Email
I'm a whiskey guy! I love drinking it...smelling it... and collecting it! Easily, of course, my favorite of those three activities is the drinking, which makes this wonderful Nebraska whiskey so dangerous! It's so smooth that, if you're like me, you'll end up drinking way too much. Rich and savory in texture, this 2 year bottling is highlighted by an immense floral and herbaceous qualities. Along with a pronounced element of creamy vanilla, this is such a delight!
Price: $59.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Contino "Viña del Olivo" Reserva Rioja
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2015 | Send Email
Sure it ain't cheap but it sure is good! A big brooding wine with lots of contraction and structure. All the elements are in perfect balance, deep, dusty blue fruits, toasted spices a lovely earthy element of loamy clay. Everything is very pure and polished, a super classy wine. Long persistence on the palate and a long life ahead of it in the cellar.

2013 Lora Tempranillo Syrah Vino de la Tierra de Castilla
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2015 | Send Email
A dark, chewy, rich Tempranillo. Flavors of ripe plum, deep red currants, warm earth and some chocolate notes. Saturated, juicy palate weight with lots of sweet fruit and ripe tannins. This is sure to keep a lot of people happy at a seriously good price...$10!?
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 La Zorra Rufete Vinos de Salamanca
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2015 | Send Email
The best Rufete I have ever tasted...ok that's not saying much...but still this is flat out delicious. Very floral, bright, perfumed. The palate is juicy, supple, mineral laden and fresh. A lovely, crowd pleasing wine that is very versatile with food and a great value. An esoteric grape, but a very accessible wine style that's easy to love.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
ST 90

2013 Lagar de Costa "Doelas" Albariño Rias Baixas
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2015 | Send Email
Wow...awesome wine. So many dimensions and layers. Floral nose, citrus notes, blistered padron pepper with sea salt and wet granite. On the palate the wine is richer and more round than the nose suggests with flavors of ripe citrus, even passion fruit. Floral notes return after swallowing, and the lees contact and mineral notes sail long into the finish. Very complex, detailed wine, I'm a fan.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Carballal "Sete Cepas" Albariño Rias Baixas
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2015 | Send Email
Exceptional value in Albarino. This same wine 6 months ago was good...but now it's really special. Some of the primary fruit has backed off and the intense mineral core is shining through. Lovely savory lees notes and exquisite focus and persistence for such an inexpensive bottle. I'm super impressed by how this has developed.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Domaine Michel & Stéphane Ogier Syrah "d'Ogier" Collines Rhodaniennes
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2015 | Send Email
Fantastic Syrah. Even though this is the entry level wine for Ogier it shows its pedigree. Amazing purity, elegance and expression of place. Violets, dark spices, purple fruit, meat and cracked peppercorns. Very supple and fluid on the palate. Fantastic value for money...who said you couldn't find serious values in the Northern Rhone.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 90

2014 Domaine Dupuy de Lôme Bandol Rosé
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/25/2015 | Send Email
Serious Rose. Light and elegant in extract, but powerful in presence and flavor concentration. Spiced orange peel, crunchy red berries, clove, flinty minerals, chalky feel adds length on back palate. Balanced, dry classy Rose.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
The 2014 opens with notes of green melon, talc, lime, and tomato leaf. There is a decidedly cool, brisk, greenness to this Sancerre, with its focused, tangy flavors of lime and crushed rock. The mineral component asserts itself on the finish, giving the emerald glade bit a little textural contrast.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
If you're looking for a Rioja with some age on it, you won't do much better than this bottle for the price. The earthy, dark fruit profile makes this a big, rich wine. That being said, the acidity and long finish make it distinctly Spanish. Fantastic wine!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Seigneurs d'Aiguilhe, Côtes de Castillon
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
Stephan von Neipperg of Canon-La-Gaffeliere, Clos l'Oratoire and La Mondotte also owns Chateau d'Aiguilhe in the Castillon appellation. This is the 2nd wine from that over-achieving property and is a stunning value every vintage. This is supple, rich and elegant showing classy restraint and wonderful pedigree. This is one of the best values in Bordeaux.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Innocenti Brunello di Montalcino
By: Angie An | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
I love this style of Brunello, filled with leather, earthy and dusty minerality! One of the few 2010 Brunello that is enjoyable right out of the bottle! The wine is aged in big wood and under 700 cases were produced, so if you enjoy a classic, rustic Brunello with plenty of secondary savory characters, you'd better stock up on this one before it's all gone!
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 94 SJ 1

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
By: Gary Norton | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
This Sancerre emanates a minerally bouquet with traces of white nectarines and lime peel on the back. The palate leads to a profoundly concentrated, flinty core that finishes clean and citrusy. Top quality Sancerre for $16.99.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Tolaini Valdisanti Toscana
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
Here is a big, hearty Bordeaux wannabe from Tuscany that thinks it's a Chianti. This is ripe, rich and focused, with smooth, earthy black cherry fruit, a deep, warm personality and a blockbuster finish of deeply embedded tannin, mineral and roasted herb. This chewy, mouth-filling wine could handle the richest lasagna or braised or grilled meat.

2011 Bodegas Zugober "Belezos" Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
Produced by Bodegas Zugober, from vineyards in the Rioja Alavesa village of Lapuebla, this 100% Tempranillo-based Rioja is delicious, a great tasting, crisp, and generously fruited wine. Rich red and dark fruits display themselves on the palate, which has some textural heft that is held in check by fresh acidity. This is a red that would be great for parties, particularly amongst people who are more accustomed to California wines.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Joan d'Anguera "Altaroses" Montsant
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
Joan and Joseph d'Anguera have been making some serious changes at their family owned winery over the past decade or so. Starting with a focus on organic farming (they are now Biodynamic, Demeter certified), the brothers soon reaped the rewards of healthier vineyards and fruit, but felt that they were still looking for brighter, lighter, fresher wines. To achieve this they began picking a bit earlier and including some whole clusters in the fermentation, going for what Joseph calls more an "infusion" rather than extraction, of color and flavor. The result is in this 2013 vintage Garnacha, a beautiful wine with aromas of almonds, peaches, red fruits and rose hips, and such a pure, crisp and fresh palate profile. This is wonderful, honest, incredibly drinkable red from Montsant.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Craggy Range "Te Muna Road" Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
A very delicate, fragrant, mineral driven style from Craggy Range. Powdery white blossom, gentle lime, wet stones, fresh picked cilantro. The wine's elegantly perfumed nose is complemented by its bright, juicy texture. Very energetic on the palate, not heavy in any way, perfectly ripe fruit and zingy acidity. This is a fantastic shellfish wine. It is one of my go-tos with oysters and scallops. Great value for money.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2013 Bodegas Chacra Pinot Noir "Cincuenta y Cinco" Rio Negro
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
Named for the year in which this Patagonia vineyard was planted, 1955, this is a delicate, nuanced, exciting Pinot Noir. Juicy mixed berry fruits show freshness over a surprisingly light frame, with discreet oak notes adding subtle spice. Unlike most Pinot Noirs made in Chile and Argentina, whole clusters are carefully utilized to add textural nuance and complexity. Allowed some breathing time, this opens up to show even more poise and energy than it does upon first sip. This is undoubtedly one of the top three Pinot Noirs I have yet to taste from Argentina or Chile--a very tasty and convincing rendition of Pinot Noir.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93 AG 92

2014 Mas de Cadenet Côtes de Provence Sainte Victoire Rosé
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
Great rosé. Pure, mineral driven, flinty, dry and fresh. Crunchy berries, struck flint, strawberry leaf and dusty spices. One of my favorite Provence bottles this summer. Drink from 10am - winter.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91

2007 Bodegas Lan "Viña Lanciano" Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
This single vineyard wine, produced by Bodegas Lan in the Rioja Alavesa village of Lanciego, is a phenomenal value. Composed of 80% Tempranillo and 20% Mazuelo, it shows the rich, spicy red fruit characteristics of Rioja as you start heading southeast from Rioja Alta towards the city of Logroño. Also, given the cool, Atlantic climate influenced 2007 vintage, this wine shows loads of freshness and poise. It's great to drink now and should continue to age beautifully for a while.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
By: Diana Turk | Review Date: 7/24/2015 | Send Email
Classic Sancerre from a reliable producer, the 2014 shows some tropical notes and a bit of stonefruit - beautiful apricot with more traditional crisp lemon in there as well. Clean, with good acid, trademark minerality, and a surprisingly long finish, this easygoing Sauv Blanc is perfect for summer.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/23/2015 | Send Email
A long time K&L favorite La Fortuna’s Brunello is a product of two growing zones in Montalcino. The winery’s home vineyard and winery is a short distance east of the town of Montalcino right next to one of Montalcino’s big names Fuligni and just scant meters across the valley from another super star, Siro Pacenti. La Fortuna’s home vineyard gives their Brunello a focused core and structure with high-toned fruit aromatics; they also own a vineyard just south of Castelnuovo dell’Abate (just like Siro Pacenti) the strong southern facing gives the wine from this vineyard a riper, deeper, more saturated flavor. In this 2009 La Fortuna Brunello the two vineyards are blended together creating a wine with a centered core of structure with a cherry, plumy richness woven into the heart of the wine. Supple yet lively on the palate, this wine is perfect for richer dishes; perhaps a creamy, porcini risotto where the fruit and earthy flavors join together. A beef stew...or Cinghiale if you really want to be authentic would be ideal as well.
Drink from 2014 to 2014
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Chateau St. Jean Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Pleasantly surprised by the quality of this Cabernet. Quite serious, with real Cabernet character. Plum, dark fruit, lifted spice, a touch of sweet leather and tobacco. Dry, good firm tannins but not aggressive or extracted. Really solid little Cabernet for the money.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
AG 92 WS 91

2010 World's End "Good Times Bad Times" To Kalon Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Exceptional value for top quality To-Kalon vineyard fruit. Has that classic Oakville density, deep, dusty mineral notes interwoven with the saturated black, sweet, fruit and graphite. Full bodied but not syrupy. Gives the big boys a real run for their money...especially at this special discounted price.

2013 Wines Of Substance Columbia Valley Sauvignon Blanc
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
One of the best domestic Sauv Blancs I have run across in years. Very flinty, stony and mineral driven; even Sancerre-esque. Some smoky lees qualities combine with juicy citrus, lemongrass, kaffir lime and struck flint. Great persistence on the palate; complex wine worthy of your attention.
Price: $23.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Ladera Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Undeniably one of the best Napa Cabs out there in any price point...yes ANY price point. I was so impressed with this 2012 release at a recent tasting, it reminded me of why Ladera is one of my favorite properties in all of Napa. It combines the power, richness and concentration of fruit you want in a Napa Cab, with beautiful structure, refinement, lift and elegance lacking in so many of it's kin. This is a full-bodied Howell Mountain-based wine...but it is poised, focused and in perfect balance. So good for the money it's kinda stupid.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Sanglier "Sun Tusque" Sonoma County Rosé
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
A dry but juicy Grenache-based rosé from Kick Ranch fruit. Picked early to keep some nice crunchy acidity and raciness, this little rosé packs a refreshing punch. Tart red berry fruits, spice, mineral, bramble leaf and citrus peel. Really solid wine, great value.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Holloran "Stafford Hill" Willamette Valley Riesling
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Super quaffable, everyday Riesling. Made in an off-dry style, juicy mandarin, preserved lemon, kumquat and citrus pith on the brisk, racy finish. Juicy, drinkable and refreshing. A great value at this K&L special price.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Stolpman Ballard Canyon Grenache
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
A ripe, but balanced style. Lots of aromatic, spiced red fruits, rose petal, Chinese five spice and warm earth. The palate is mid-weight with good mouth-coating texture. There is a fluidity and suppleness that I like; the extraction is nicely moderated. Those lifted aromas and rose petal and Turkish delight return on the finish with ripe red fruits and licorice. I think this will keep a lot of people happy and it's a solid value.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 92 WE 91

2014 Craggy Range "Te Muna Road" Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
The somewhat hard-to-describe certain quality in New Zealand SB, I've been told it truly mimics a fruit called Feijoa - sounds like a good reason to go to New Zealand and try one! The 2014 Craggy this year is again a beautiful Sauvignon Blanc - lovely guava, lime blossom tropical on the palate with fine granite like minerals - not too grassy but just enough and a wonderful summer treat. It's juicy and mouthwatering with a bright freshness, and a wonderful tension on the palate.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2014 Teutonic "Crow Valley Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
I love the Teutonic wines. They are distinctive, well made wines that show real integrity. The "Crow Valley" Riesling has that same integrity. Full of vibrant lime fruit with stony notes. Low alcohol and dry on the finish. Classy and worthy to be ranked among the finest producers of Austria and Germany.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Joseph Carr Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
A truly appealing Chardonnay with all the hallmarks of the classics. Creamy richness, a buttery edge, tropical fruit. It is pure clean and delicious.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2013 Brooks Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Every year, this is one of my favorite Pinots from Oregon. Full of a lovely perfume of violets, crushed herbs and tart cherries, it is what I really look for in Willamette Pinots. Pure and elegant. Not your soft quaffer, this is best with a meal but what a great accent point for any dish.
Price: $22.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Joseph Carr Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
A great value for this summer's barbecues, this is classic California Chardonnay that is surprisingly well balanced, considering its modest price. Rich and toasty, with lovely notes of apple, buttercream, and fine tannins that lead to a strong finish. Impressive!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2013 William Hill "Estate" North Coast Chardonnay
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Need an immensely drinkable white wine? Need to stock up on a wine for your upcoming party? Need it to cost less than $15? Need me to finally stop asking you questions? The answer--and solution--to all of these quandaries lies easily in the 2013 vintage of William Hill's estate Chardonnay. Incredibly smooth, plush, and making good use of the best of what oak can bring to a wine, this is an easy-drinking wine to grab before it's gone!
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2013 DuMol Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Do me a favor. Open your trusty Oxford dictionary, and look up PINOT NOIR. The definition you SHOULD find is the wonder that is DUMOL! Fuller in style, this Russian River bottling is a lesson in structure, combining complex black fruit, mocha, and a smokey quality that will leave your mouth aching for more.
Price: $69.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Joseph Carr Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Price point California Chardonnay doesn't usually get me too excited, and with this wine I kept looking for something wrong.....hey there wasn't anything and it's at an unbelievable price. Definitely a wine for those who enjoy the classic California-style Chardonnay, but this wine showed so much balance, freshness, acidity and length it will work for those who like wines that aren't over oaked. Good balance, weight and finish, really a solid wine for the price point.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Citrus aromas. Full on the palate. Tasty bright fruit: peach, citrus, and even a hint of melon. The touch of grassy flavors and pure Sauvignon fruit will give you a great idea of what the Sancerre appellation is all about.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Another great direct import from TWR that Ryan has found for us. Lovely aromas of jasmine and gooseberry with a lot of minerality and great presence on the palate. No shrinking violet here, the complex aromatics, exotic fruits and wonderfully broad and expressive regional character are truly penetrating and persistent. The TWR wines are finding a loyal base of fans and it's not surprising!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RC 94

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
One of the most popular white wines sold at K&L over the last 8 years. Vintage after vintage, the wine continually over-delivers. The 2014 is a dry, clean, mineral-driven Sauvignon Blanc with great balance and a wonderful depth on the mid-palate. It has been a regular in my house for several years and wherever I take it, people love it. Enjoy!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine Cherrier Père & Fils Sancerre
By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Aromas of wet rock, chalk dust, citrus fruit and lemon verbena jump from this as you swirl the glass. The juicy middle of limestone-infused, crushed pit fruit is palate cleansing and inviting where intense, mouthwatering minerality clamps down on the refreshing finish inviting sip after sip. This is super intense and just delicious.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Joseph Carr Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/22/2015 | Send Email
Long one of our favorite negociant producers in California Joseph Carr has continuously knocked out fantastic value wines. Some of you may remember their Cabernet Sauvignon from late 2014/early 2015? That was a huge hit with over 300 cases sold. Well we think the 2013 Sonoma Coast Chardonnay is the next big hit from this relatively unknown producer. This Chardonnay is barrel fermented, goes through 100% malolactic fermentation and sees around 10% new oak so while it’s creamy it never is too over-blown and shows great balance. Aromas of mango, passion fruit and green apple flesh are tied together on the nose by a subtle note of clover honey. Fleshy on entry with ripe orange, more honey and layers of savory oak, mushroom and challah toast this is one delicious Chardonnay. Riding the line between textural and savory this wine comes off much more serious than the price tag would suggest. Maybe that is some of Aaron Pott’s pedigree rubbing off on the wine. He’s a superstar, having made wine at Troplong-Mondot, La Tour Figeac, Newton (under John Kongsgaard) and Blackbird amongst others. If you love a great value in Chardonnay this is not to be missed!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 90

Page: 1 2 3 next >>