Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2010 Pieve Santa Restituta (Gaja) Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 5/5/2015 | Send Email
The name Gaja is synonymous with Piedmont and the reputation for outstanding quality is known throughout the wine trade, what isn’t so well know it their property in Montalcino. In 1994 Gaja bought the Pieve di Santa Restituta estate in Montalcino and produced two Brunello wines Sugarille and Renina, and then in 2005 they released their first “classic” Brunello, hardly seen in the USA, now the 2010 vintage is the best release of this wine yet. The 2010 vintage is spectacular; the nose is full of warm, rich, wild plum character with hints of cinnamon and Tuscan bush. On the palate the wine’s fine grain tannin structure is balanced with a fresh acidity that lifts the wine in the finish. The flavors are savory, full of, roasted meat, plums, smoke, earth, spice. The finish a swirl of lustrous richness, full of the vintage hallmark savory, saltiness, highlighted by hints of spice, a really dynamic wine with a long life ahead.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $76.95 Add To Waiting List
JS 97

2009 Bodegas Olarra "Añares" Reserva Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 5/5/2015 | Send Email
Imagine a spicy, softly textured, traditional Rioja from one of the gold standards which have over time become house favorites here, amongst staff and customers alike. You know these wines by now, no need to name 'em. Then,cut the price in half. That is basically the deal here with this excellent bottling of Añares from Bodegas Olarra. Delicious now, but will it age? I will answer on my own rhetorical with a resounding "Yes, it will!" I drank a bottle of the 1982 last year and it was fantastic.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 90

1990 Glenfarclas 24 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
Listen. I'm a peat man. I like super rich, intense, smoky whiskeys. That being said, imagine my delight when I was fortunate enough to taste this 24 year old single cask that was selected specifically for us at K&L. Famed distillers Glenfarclas have once again proved their skill with this absolutely gorgeous Highland scotch. Medium plus in body, with just enough complexity and peat to please someone like me, while also proving to be quite approachable to novices, this is quite the steal. It is remarkably easy to drink, thanks to its age, and leaves a lingering finish in your mouth that will make you wish you were traversing the Highlands while possibly wearing a kilt. Grab this while it is around.
Price: $169.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Brio de Cantenac Brown, Margaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
Pronounced notes of violets and dusty minerality on the nose. Black currant, cocoa and lots dark cherries on the palate, with the floral notes following along with chocolate. Excellent wine!
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2009 Potensac, Médoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
A very complex wine from a great vintage! Enticing nose of leather, dried meat, dark fruit, cocoa and vanilla. Carrying on the palate the leather, olives, currants and cocoa. Medium+ tannins, and acidity. I would recommend decanting this beauty for about 1 hour before drinking.

2009 Lalande Borie, St-Julien
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
An incredibly elegant wine. Dusty crushed stone on the nose, along with a nice touch of herbaceousness, graphite and currant. Classic! The tannins although very much framing the black currant fruit leave a soft impression on the palate. it is round and easy, but not without poise and complexity. It will age beautifully, but a good decanting and you can enjoy it now.

2009 Barthez, Haut-Médoc
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
Nice aromatics, plums, currant and sweet fruit on the palate. Quite easy on the palate with chocolate and cherry notes. Very balanced and a very good value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Fleur Cardinale, St-Emilion
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
A pleasure to drink already. Lots of dark cherries, kirsch, vanilla, dark chocolate and a touch of meat. Needs decanting.

2012 Labégorce, Margaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
This is a very elegant wine, with coffee on the nose and palate, along with a savory touch, almost a dry meat note, quite delicious. Red currants and a touch of vanilla framed by a juicy acidity and firm tannins. Decanting for an hour or so will bring all its beauty out.

2012 Bois-Martin, Pessac-Léognan
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
A very classic Pessac, with dusty minerality, sweet cola, currants, a complex palate with exotic spices. A very good value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
Lemon-lime, green plum, wet rock, tomato leaf on the nose leads to a focused, citric-driven palate with echoes of the aromatics that appear on the nose. Lots of vim and vigor here, and a less deep shade of green than some Sancerres get up to, this can do duty as a cocktail wine in addition to pairing well with a wide variety of foods.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

1996 du Tertre, Margaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
Showing development on the color and on the nose as well, which is very welcoming. Lots of minerality, black olives, leather, earth and plum, framed by an elegant touch of herbaceousness. Tannins already settled and this beautiful wine is ready to go. Very good indeed.
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 88 - 90

2009 Durfort-Vivens, Margaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
A beautifully classic Margaux! Figs, violets, roasted coffee along with savory notes on palate. Quite delicious and with a long finish. Not a power house, as I said it is a classic!

2009 La Salle de Poujeaux, Moulis
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
The second wine of Cantemerle from a fantastic vintage. It possess lots of fruit on the nose, with currant and dark plum. On the palate however, it's got complexity, with a quite dry finish. It is high acid and perhaps a touch grippy, but after decanting, it sings!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Fourcas Dupré, Listrac
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
I know what you're thinking. Bordeaux wine that is almost ten years old for only twenty bucks. How good can this possibly be, right? The answer is VERY. From the Listrac area of the Medoc, this Cabernet based wine is a lesson in the rustic, old school style that is the definition of Bordeaux wine. Medium bodied and with a velvety texture of balanced tannin and fruit, this shows lovely expressions of mocha, tobacco, and spice. From an often under-appreciated vintage, this is a wine that shows beautifully at its current age and will also continue to improve over the next ten years! Enjoy!
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Lynch Bages Blanc, Bordeaux
By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
A classic Bordeaux white, with some grassy notes on the nose intermingled with lanolin, beeswax, and citrous fruit. Very crisp and refreshing on the palate, with not a lot of apparent oak. Very elegant.
Price: $46.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 93

2011 Hospices de Beaune (Corcia) Volnay "Cuvée Blondeau " 1.5L
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/4/2015 | Send Email
While very young for drinking now, the 2011 Hospices de Beaune Volnay "Cuvée Blondeau" showed me why these charity bottlings are so famous. The Blondeau is composed of 4.5 acres of vines spread across four different 1er crus: Champans, Tailpieds, En L’Ormeau and Roncerets. It started off the evening closed, but with air showed incredible smoky density, firm structure and incredible cut on the long finish. This will evolve into a great “blood making” Cote de Beaune in time, and I have made room in my cellar for some!
Price: $119.95 Add To Waiting List

2014 Palmer, Margaux
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
A very serious and strong Palmer. Intense dark fruit with boysenberry hints, zesty and spicy. Complex, powerful, linear, and long in the mouth; this baby needs time! ** 2 Stars.

2014 Clerc-Milon, Pauillac
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Definitely in the classic style of Mouton but with a touch more forward sweet which is nice, but is still very concentrated. Long serious wine and should be one of the great aging values. 1.5 Stars

2014 Lynch Bages, Pauillac (1.5L)
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Not quite up the standard of the 2000 or the 2005, this is still a very, very good wine. Deep, dark berry fruit, coffee, tobacco, hints of pencil lead--a very fine Lynch that is built to age. Score: 3-3½ stars

2014 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Not quite up the standard of the 2000 or the 2005, this is still a very, very good wine. Deep, dark berry fruit, coffee, tobacco, hints of pencil lead--a very fine Lynch that is built to age. Score: 3-3½ stars

2014 Lynch Bages, Pauillac (1.5L)
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Bright and floral zesty red fruits greet you, followed by direct and tightly focused spicy Cabernet fruit on the palate. Like the Baron wine, not much flesh here. * 1 Star.

2014 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Bright and floral zesty red fruits greet you, followed by direct and tightly focused spicy Cabernet fruit on the palate. Like the Baron wine, not much flesh here. * 1 Star.

2014 Lake Chalice "The Nest" Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough New Zealand
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
This is a bargain if I have ever seen one. This lovely wine has got tons of stone fruits going on with a decent amount of weight and depth on the palate in this price range. The wine finishes on the palate with some great clean minerals and wet stones. This would make a great summer entertaining white.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

Alexandre Le Brun "Tradition" Brut Champagne
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Great texture, very expressive fruit and a touch of acids. Well-rounded and full of life, this wine is based on a very lovely vintage of grapes from Champagne, the 2011 vintage. I love this wine too because of it's lower sugars at the dosage stage of production. It's a plus that this wine also spent more time on the lees, up to five months more or so. I love the toasty structure and character this brings to the wine. For a special occasion, friends and family, this is a great bottle of Champagne to enjoy for years to come!
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Wine Club

$34.99

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
TWR winery produces some magical Pinot Noir and Riesling, so why wouldn't their Sauvignon Blanc not be just as awesome?! This wine sees oak and steel aging that tends to give grapes such as this and Chardonnay for example, a depth and complexity from the wood but also a racy, clean element that balances out great in this wine. I have been told that the vintage of 2013 is going to be the best in a long time for New Zealand, and this wine is a testament to that prediction.
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Cognizant Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Man, what a delicious bargain Sauvignon Blanc...Orange and lemon peels, zippiness from the acidity, crispy and expressive fruit, and a solid case of delicious minerality. Yep...that about sums up this great wine, enjoy!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Rickshaw Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
This is a terrific everyday table California Cabernet that is more fruit-driven, almost like a Malbec or a Pinot on the jammier side of life. It's softer tannins and balance make it easy to enjoy with many different flavors and foods. I had it with a burger & fries!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Domaine des Ardoisières "Argile" Saint-Pierre-de-Soucy Blanc
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Sometimes when a wine is so delicately balanced, and all its components so perfectly integrated, it's difficult to analyze and talk about it. Such is the case with this elegant and profound white from the Savoie region, which gives me as much pleasure as it does bafflement. Amidst the gorgeous subtlety, my palate sensed flavors of white peach, orange peel, honey, and refreshing minerality (at least I think). But as with all great art, I imagine the harmony of nuances here are open to interpretation by the individual palate. My experience with this gem was personal and deeply satisfying, and I can only hope you'll get the same enjoyment.
Price: $27.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Crianza Rioja
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
It's almost embarrassing how many excellent deals in Spanish wine there are right now. Sometimes it can be hard to cut through the noise, but this traditionally-styled 2009 Rioja from Lesmos is a cut above, and for only 12.99, an easy choice to make for almost any occasion. Bright red fruits with tea leaves, baking spice, and tomato give the palate a complex but fresh appeal. The acidity is integrated and consistent, making this a great pairing with anything from pork medallions to Spanish "gambas al ajillo" (garlic shrimp).
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Franck Millet "Insolite" Sancerre
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a bottle of Insolite and a dozen oysters. This wine is made for fresh seafood, especially oysters. This Sancerre is truly special with tons of chalky minerality, crushed limestone, lemon zest and refreshing salinity. The Insolite has more mid-palate weight than his basic Sancerre Blanc coupled with crisp acidity, which makes it perfect for shellfish but easy enough to drink on its own.
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/3/2015 | Send Email
We are lucky enough to have the pleasure of direct importing this amazing producer and are able to provide a stunning Sancerre for under $20 because of it. Thanks to a warm and dry September, the 2014 vintage is ripe while still maintaining freshness and acidity. Beautiful palate of orange creamsicle, lemon juice and cobblestone minerality is sure to mean many empty bottles at my home throughout the summer months!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 5/2/2015 | Send Email
Throwing a party? There's no reason to look any further for a perfectly crowd-pleasing porch pounder than this gem of a Gruner Veltliner. Never heard of Gruner? Well, if you like crisp, bright whites with harmonizing citrus and tropical fruit notes, then it's perfect for you. Add to this some compelling nuances of white pepper and clean minerality, and you have the quintessential summer party wine. Oh and it comes in a full Liter-size bottle for that extra bit of enjoyment.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Lalande Borie, St-Julien
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 5/1/2015 | Send Email
Make sure to get some of this to drink, and some to cellar! From the same team and same great village as Ducru-Beaucaillou, the Lalande Borie has everything one could wish for in a great St. Julien. It has pure Cabernet flavors of cassis and leather, great richness and texture and plenty of punch. At this price, it is a steal!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2014 Waterkloof Circumstance "Cape Coral" Mourvedre Rosé Stellenbosch
By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 5/1/2015 | Send Email
Two vintages in a row I have been completely taken aback by how well done this rose is! Completely Bandol in style, in a blind tasting this would certainly fool everyone for Provance. The nose has beautiful aromas of rose petals, melon and crushed rocks. The palate has all the pretty melon fruit, herbs of rosemary and sage, spice and a mid-palate that’s silky smooth. Definately my top rosé of the season! Did I mention it’s certified biodynamic?!
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 5/1/2015 | Send Email
Can you get a better summer party wine for the price? The Answer is No! This Garnacha is not only juicy and ripe but it has great quenching acidity that balances the fruit making it perfect for sipping alone or with food! Great with any type of salty tapas and wont give you a hangover from high alcohol or sugar! You cant find better bang for your buck in this category!
Price: $7.99 Add To Waiting List

1961 Bowmore 50 Year Old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
The legendary Bowmore Distillery has created an equally legendary 50 year now that the spectacular '60s vintages are coming of that age. This product remains one of the most magnificent products to ever cross my lips. The concentration and unusual flavors are only eclipsed by the incredible freshness and length. A true nectar of the gods (the gods of Islay, that is), who've allowed us to imbibe, if we are worthy, this wild tipple of the highest order. Think of it like liquified exotic fruits, which have been concentrated and slightly salted, spiced and then poured slowly over the piping hot engine of an old Bugatti Type 251 after the Monaco GP. Aromas that exist nowhere else in nature. This ultra-unique and ultra high-end bottling is reserved only for the most discerning and well-heeled among us.
Price: $25,000.00 Add To Waiting List

Glengoyne 21-year-old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
This is a ridiculous value. I'm pretty sure they hate us at GG for stocking the 21 year at this ridiculous price, but who can blame me! This stuff goes regularly for upwards of $170 and it's totally worth that, but since we can we do. This whisky is exclusively aged in sherry casks and although it doesn't have quite the sherry intensity of the Mac 18 or the high-end 'Dronach, it makes for a magnificent replacement when things are a little bit tight.
Price: $119.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Château de Montfaucon "Baron Louis" Lirac
By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
I was just reminded how great this wine is at our last staff tasting. It beat out many other wines at 2+ times the price! Great rose petal & lavender aromatics with beautiful purity and balance. Incredible value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

Paul Giraud VSOP Cognac 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
What a magnificent value this little brandy turned out to be. We've always loved Giraud, producing super high-quality small production cognac, without a lot of junk in there. The purity and complexity of this cognac vis-a-vis the price is unparalleled right now. The VSOP is still on the youthful side with only hints of dried stone fruit and exotic spice. Primarily on the floral and fresh fruit, at this price this should be a go-to for sipping and mixing alike.
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
Both the nose and the palate here bear evidence of the earthy, woodsy side of Pinot Noir. Roast beet mingles with cherry and dry brush on the nose, while the palate takes that cherry aspect and adds cocoa powder, earth, and more forest floor notes. The tannins are light, and the wine has an acidic profile, keeping this Pinot Noir lively.
Price: $26.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 94 RP 91

2013 Oakridge Estate Single Vineyard Series "Guerin Vineyard" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley
By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
Another stellar Guerin vineyard Pinot Noir from Oakridge Estate. This once again this wine perfectly illustrates Yarra Valley's ability to produce fantastically elegant wines, with purity, vibrancy and a lovely combination of fresh berry fruits, leaf litter and spicy, earthy notes. This wine has a very moderate alcohol level and impeccable balance. I once poured an Oakridge Pinot Noir blind for a Master Sommelier (who shall remain nameless) and he was certain the wine was Premier Cru Santenay from Burgundy! If you love cool climate Pinot Noir, you have to check out Oakridge's wines.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JH 96

2014 Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac
By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
Very deep and powerful with underlying sweet fruits of black cherry and herbal notes. This wine is very classic, strong with laser beam focus and brisk acidity. One of the long runners in 2014. 2 stars!

2014 Mouton Rothschild, Pauillac
By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
There’s a resurrection going on at Mouton, a new facility coupled with a renewed effort equals outstanding wine. Herbs & chocolate notes dominate the nose, good length with fine tannins, loaded with dark berry fruits & bitter chocolate. Score: 3-3½ stars

2013 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
Is there a better value in California Cabernet than this second label bottling from Rudy Von Strasser? A wine that we encountered unexpectedly while tasting at the winery a few years back. Hard to believe we are now on our sixth vintage. And still available for only $20. If you haven't tried this wine yet, then grab a bottle of the 2013 at once. Maybe the best vintage yet.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Soluve Chianti Classico Riserva
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
The 2010 Soluve commences with balsamic notes, with a hint of anise, and dried cherry. The cherry fruit, while still dried, really comes holographically alive on the palate, where it is joined to tobacco, tar, and sandalwood. The tannins and acidity are well concealed within the wine’s over-all volume, making this an easy-drinking Chianti Classico Riserva for immediate enjoyment.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91

2013 Broadley Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
By: Kirk Walker | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
Always a favorite producer from the Willamette. With dark red berries and spicy notes. Round, delicate fruit is balanced with bright acid and a touch of tannin. Good depth and nice finish this wine does not disappoint.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Green Spot Single Pure Pot Still Irish Whiskey 750ml (1 bottle limit)
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
Green Spot has been the holy grail of Irish Whiskey since my start in this business nearly 10 years ago. I remember a famous restaurant in Los Angeles used to display a bottle on the bar (smuggled illegally) but refuse to pour it unless you owned the place. When I finally convinced them to let me taste, I finally understood why everybody made such a big deal out of it. The legacy of the prominent Dublin wine merchant, Mitchell & Sons, who'd matured and bottled those original stocks of sherry cask pure pot still whiskey, is solidly considered one of the world's great whiskies. Today it's aged at Midleton to a specific recipe, from one of the distillery's three pure pot still recipes. This is not a smack-you-in-the-mouth powerful whiskey like the Red Breast cask strength. Instead, it's supple and soft and drinks like a dream. This is probably why Irish Whiskey was the best selling whiskey before Prohibition and they responded to the popularity of blended Scotch with consolidation and the creation of blended Irish, a style Irish distillers had resisted until the 1970s. We bought all we could get and have no clue when we'll be getting more.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
Limit of 1 per customer

Ardbeg 10 Year Old Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
The south side of Islay is filled with magical places and none more so than the little inlet just beyond Lagavulin Bay. Ardbeg has been the darling of whisky geeks and professional drinkers for many years now, but the most astonishing thing about it is that we've keep the price low. Every other brand sees an explosion and works quickly to get their prices up. Ardbeg, however, have worked closely with us to keep their products affordable despite an incredible increase in popularity. Only the Laphroaig 10 year rivals this whisky for affordable heavily peated single malt and while Ardbeg doesn't match Laphroaig for power and intensity, it does deliver an absolutely unique and altogether elegant version of the typical south shore profile (i.e. SMOKE). This is the perfect whisky to cut your smoke tooth on and should be a staple in any serious drinkers repertoire.
Price: $42.99 Add To Waiting List
WA 93 WE 91

2009 Marquis de Terme, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 4/30/2015 | Send Email
Their best in a long time, perhaps ever? Super-ripe and sexy, with tons of everything, and a silky finish. Not shy. Tasted August 21, 2012-This wine has many of Pessac-Leognan characteristics even though it is a Medoc wine. Tons of minerality on the nose and palate. Really opens up after several hours - will be great in cellar for many years.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>