Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

  
Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2010 Franco Pacenti Canalicchio Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
This wine exemplifies what I think Brunello should be all about…balance, it is so...well… balanced. The flavors are classic, high toned wild cherry coupled with perfectly integrated layers of leather, meat, wild herbs and making the wine an aromatic and textural masterpiece. This wine is about elegance, its long core of structure gently lengthens the flavors revealing that savory, salty character of the vintage. It is superbly drinkable now yet this wine will drink for another 15 years easily, balance is what makes wine age properly.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2013 E. Pira Chiara Boschis Dolcetto d'Alba
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
An elegant, crisp and refreshing Dolcetto. Chiara Boschis' gentle hand in winemaking allows this wine to take on the vintage's character, dark fruit, medium ripe and vibrant finish. The perfect wine for meaty pasta or grilled sausage and polenta.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Marisa Cuomo "Fiorduva" Costa d'Amalfi Furore Bianco
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
If you were to taste this wine without knowing what it was you would be floored, it is outstanding, but you probably wouldn't be able to place where it is from. The nose of this wine is a mixture of white flowers, dried herbs, honey and a bit of salt air. On the palate the wine is....well just luxurious, sumptuous yet is so light on its feet, elegant but all the while it feels like a warm embrace. The finish is an inappropriate word because it doesn't seem to finish, it languishes, relaxed on your tongue and you don't want to let go.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $54.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 ColleStefano Verdicchio di Matelica
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
OK, so I'm a little prejudiced I Love the wines from this region. Matelica is a small valley in the middle of the Apennine mountain range just about an hour’s drive from Ancona in the Marche. A very long growing season always gets this wine physiologically ripe and never loses its focus or becomes overripe. This vintage is just mind-blowing for such a simple wine it is just vibrant, the minerality, richness and tremendous aromatics make this wine a sure winner. You can have this with a range of food from shellfish, to swordfish or even chicken and pasta. I love it and I’m sure you will too.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Conte di Gropello Brachetto d'Acqui
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
I love Brachetto, this clean, bright, fresh wine is so aromatic and clean! Ok it's sweet, think of it like Red Moscato, but because of it being red the tiny bit of tannin dries out the finish to keep it from being sticky sweet. This wine is so refreshing you can serve it with savory dishes as well.Or just drink it on its own, it's great!
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Fattoria dei Barbi Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
I absolutely love this wine, the best thing they've done... that I can remember. The nose is full of earth, spice, leather, dried wild cherries and is a powerful statement from the nose. On the palate a classic, long, slightly leathery character is in the middle of a broad, rich and luxurious follow through. Layers of spice, plum, wild cherry, wild herbs in a long procession of flavors marching to the finish. In the finish a long, persistent and so satisfying end, Super wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 San Giacomo Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
The nose is a little reticent at first, then gradually it opens into a spicy, wild cherry and leather, gently flowing, not bold but vibrant. On the palate, the wine has an elegant presence, and the savory flavors grow, with bits of leather, and morph into a meaty, spicy richness; yet overwhelmingly I find myself paying more attention to the ultra-fine tannins. I'm not a fan of aggressive tannins and these are not at all, but they make an impressive statement. The finish is the highlight of this wine, that's because this isn't a bold, forward wine, this is a wine that takes time to develop, blending the flavors and textures to a triumphant statement. Still, that savory/salty nature of the vintage comes through in the finish. An excellent wine--I can't wait to see what this will be like in another 5-10 years.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 94 WE 93

2010 Val di Suga Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
The nose is full of bold, plumy fruit with hints of spice and touches of earth but predominantly darker fruit. On the palate the wine shows loads of structure but is extraordinarily well poised a density that is coupled with classic length and a balance that surprised me. On the palate the wine’s flavors are strident, rich, saturated and forthright echoing the dark plum, slight bits of cherry and leather begin to emerge but less savory and more straightforward fruits. The finish is powerful, balanced, long and a carries through the consistent flavors throughout. The best from this winery in years.
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $37.89 Add To Waiting List
RP 93 JS 92

2010 Caparzo "La Casa" Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
The nose highlights wild cherry and sweet earth that flow from your glass in a slow, easy presentation. On the palate the wine is supple, plumy and seems to have a depth of texture, yet is never overpowering it has a presence that is subtle while still having a prominent demeanor. The flavors come together in a rather understated yet beguiling way, this isn’t a wine that is shouting it is signaling with more of a come hither smile. The finish is long, slow, supple where the cherry and earth begin to emerge along the edges of some very fine grain tannin.
Drink from 217 to 217

2010 Banfi Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
The aromatics in this wine speak more to its density, level of saturation and structure, like I’ve never experienced in this level of Banfi Brunello before. Plum, cherry, savory meats, spice blended with dried flowers highlight the nose. On the palate it is the wines structure that takes over, big, shoulder size tannins that give a framework of power and allow the dense fruit to bond. Flavors of plum and cherry are mere accents to the dense power. Very fine grain tannins pull the wine to a long and vibrant finish.
Drink from 2016 to 2016

2010 Collosorbo Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
Collosorbo's southern exposure always seems to absorb the sunshine right into the bottle in an exuberantly fruity style, this vintage is a bit different and for me it is a stunningly more complex version. This vintage the meaty, soy, umami, salted plum and leather flavors have joined in behind the fresh, wild cherry ripeness to form an incredible combination. Texturally the wine has a bright focus to go with its natural lushness but the real attention grabber is the array of flavors both bold and subtle, waves of intrigue just flow from the glass. The finish is really focused but still shows that inherent richness. Excellent wine.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Castiglion del Bosco Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
The nose is dense, brooding pools of plum, earth, smoke and hints of wood spice. On the palate the wine is powerful, broad, deep, a muscularly vibrant presence that brings the fruit to life. The wine finishes very long, with a great central focus with hints of wood spice in the finish.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2010 Col d'Orcia Brunello di Montalcino
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
The nose is full of baked cherry pie aromatics, not the super sweet portion but that wafting, enticing kind that fills your kitchen as you wait to dive in. The wine is no fruit bomb, however; it epitomizes the character of the 2010 vintage with its savory/salty character, hints of leather, stone and that exotic cherry. On the palate the tannins are sweet, elegant and offer a perfect framing for the umami-like flavors. The finish carries through all of the aromas and flavors, but if you wait just a bit and linger it just builds and builds. I just love this wine, the best Col d'Orcia I've ever had, sensational effort!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Pol Roger "White Foil - Extra Cuvée de Réserve" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
A classic for a reason. This toasty, well balanced grand marque is the most important cuvee for Pol Roger. A lovely aperitif, and a surprisingly good cellar candidate! I recently had a 20 year old bottle that will rank as one of the best Champagne experiences I have had this year!

2008 Louis Roederer Brut Rosé Champagne 1.5L
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
This is one of the very best magnums that we have in the store for the cellar. The 2008's combine great ripeness with incredible acidity and the Louis Roederer Brut Rose balances these two features of the vintage perfectly. I have had the wine on three occasions already, and the best experience was at Quince, where the wine was paired with royal osetra caviar on brioche with edible flowers and hollandaise. The fine quality red fruit component and electric acidity of the wine was ideal for this great roe. This is subtle rose with a huge future!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Deutz "Brut Classic" Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/7/2015 | Send Email
This great house, located in Ay, is owned by the Roederer group but has a style all of its own. If you love the big, broad Pinot Noir wines of Champagne, this is for you. The wine has a good amount of toast, plenty of richness and finishes dry
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 91 ST 90

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Dark, intense yet super drinkable, Chaman conjures up a deep black cherry nose with notes of spice and earth. The wine is fresh with ample body and a ripe rich fruit that ends with a dash of chile-spiked cocoa powder. Drink cocktail style or plan a chimichurri cook out for $12 bucks you just can't go wrong.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Eminently drinkable, fun and approachable, this would be a great party wine! The Chaman malbec shows luscious aromas of dark fruit, cedar and chocolate. Full-bodied on the palate, the wine shows pleasant acidity, very soft tannins and full, ripe fruit with just a hint of pepper spice. Great buy at this price!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 CVA "Gordo" Monastrell-Cabernet Sauvignon Yecla
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Surprisingly elegant expression of these varietals! Refined aromas of cigar box, black cherry and earthy undertones lead into a slightly weighted palate with good zippy acidity and delicate grained tannins to complement the plum and red cherry fruit. The finish is pretty with earthy-spice notes lingering on the palate. Great wine for the price!
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Over a foundational bed of minerality, the 2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre Blanc builds from a lemon-lime, cilantro framework towards suggestions of more exotic fruit notes. The evocation of “cool” here is primary, though: try not to think of green mossy rocks and ferns stream side while sipping this. The palate turns the tables, and sees the flinty-chalky dimension come to the fore, with the citrus buoying it up. The difference between this Sancerre blanc and others around its price point, to my palate, is in the length, and intensity, of flavor. While it doesn’t quite manage the heft of larger scaled Sancerres, it hints at it. Get these while you can; we never seem to have enough from this small grower-producer to meet all the demand!
Price: $18.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 CVA "Gordo" Monastrell-Cabernet Sauvignon Yecla
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Compared to other Monastrell wines that we sell, the "Gordo" is not really all that gordo. It is pleasantly balanced and not typically as raisiny as other wines from Yecla. It has a black plum nose with light scents of cinnamon and graphite. It is at once fruity but, also has lightly structured tannins. Dark red fruits, blackberry, and savory notes along with a touch of chalk add interest and complexity. One of our better wines from this region.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
This pretty and opulent Malbec has a lovely nose of crushed violets and Ludens cherries. On the palate, it is rich and smooth with dense cherry fruit, ripe raspberries and just a hint of anise and minerals. A wonderful vale and a wine that should please nearly everyone.
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2014 Franck Millet Sancerre Blanc
By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Why Loire Sauvignon Blanc? You’ve got rocks in your head, that’s why. Or, at least, you will when you taste a nice Sancerre blanc like the 2014 Millet. It starts out with gooseberry, guava, green melon, lime, and verbena, set against the aforementioned mineral dimension, on the nose, and carrying through to the palate, with wet rock, light melon, and citrus notes repeating, before a clean, lip-smacking finish. This is a perrenial fav., and the current vintage continues the string of successful releases from the Domaine.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List

1982 Bodegas Olarra Añares Reserva Rioja
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
I think of the two old Mugas, I would probably give a very slight favor to this Gem as to which one that I like best. Produced from an excellent vintage, this `76 also has that developed mature color to it of a medium ruby appearance with brickish edges. The bouquet is wonderful, with cassis to blackberry to raspberry fruit characteristics, supported by game-like to slate-like undertones. In the mouth, it offers cedary, mocha, white pepper to anise spiciness, and forest floor to mushroom-like notes, with a broad, viscous texture, yet well integrated and definitely complex and fully mature, and is long and warm on the finish. Rusty has ordered me to bring home some bottles of this Gem for our near term consumption. Another Great Old Wine Vale! Don’t miss it! ***** 12.5% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1976 Bodegas Muga Crianza Rioja
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
I think of the two old Mugas, I would probably give a very slight favor to this Gem as to which one that I like best. Produced from an excellent vintage, this `76 also has that developed mature color to it of a medium ruby appearance with brickish edges. The bouquet is wonderful, with cassis to blackberry to raspberry fruit characteristics, supported by game-like to slate-like undertones. In the mouth, it offers cedary, mocha, white pepper to anise spiciness, and forest floor to mushroom-like notes, with a broad, viscous texture, yet well integrated and definitely complex and fully mature, and is long and warm on the finish. Rusty has ordered me to bring home some bottles of this Gem for our near term consumption. Another Great Old Wine Vale! Don’t miss it! ***** 11.0% to 14.0% *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

1971 Bodegas Muga Crianza
By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Joe Manekin has stumbled, quite literally, upon a caché of wonderful old Riojas from a private cellar in Spain. This marvelous `71 is fully mature. Medium-deep ruby in color with developed orangish edges, the nose offers a lovely set of evolved characteristics that carry over well across a complex yet silky palate; cedar, forest floor, anise, white pepper, antique-like, and cocoa. In the mouth, this Gem is unctuous, refined, and immensely complex, with great mid-range, and long warm finish. Rusty has ordered me to bring some bottles of this Gem home for near-term consumption. This is truly a Great Old Wine Value that would be priced well over $500.00 if it was from Bordeaux or Napa Valley. Don’t miss it! ***** 11.0% to 14.0% ABV *****
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

2014 Eric Cottat Sancerre Rosé
By: Daniel Maas | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Well, I must say, this was such a lovely surprise. As someone who has never been incredibly INTO rose wine, little did I expect to truly be taken-a-back by the sheer beauty and refreshment that this bottle provided some friends and I as we sat on my patio over this July Fourth weekend. A beautiful amalgamation of vibrant red fruit, abundant mineral driven complexity, and a long, crisp finish make this wine a real treat, either alone or alongside food. Simply gorgeous.
Price: $17.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 CVA "Gordo" Monastrell-Cabernet Sauvignon Yecla
By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Gordo is the affectionate namesake and tribute to the winemaker's father. Farmed in the cool altitude of high elevation in the Southeastern corner of Spain, the wine opens with appetizing aromatics that are reminiscent of blackberry pie. On the palate, the rich and fresh fruit flavors are accented with anise, smoke and black pepper. This is full bodied, super easy drinking and at a great price. Match this up with a grilled ribeye and blue cheese sauce for a truly "chubby" experience.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 CVA "Gordo" Monastrell-Cabernet Sauvignon Yecla
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
If one tasted this wine blind, it would be easy to assume that it costs more than $30. This much complexity simply doesn't come along all that often for under $20, much less for $14.99! Dark berry fruit, pencil shavings, and a hint of spicy herbs come through on the nose. The focused fruit and earthy flavors deliver you to a long, sweetly tannic finish. There is enough tannin here to stand up to a fatty steak, but enough fruit here to drink all by itself.
Price: $14.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
By: Randy Hagerman | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
This is a beautifully balanced Malbec! The slightly floral, dark berry, and black cherry aromas are enticing, to say the least. On the palate, this wine sings due to the lively acidity in perfect balance with the dark berry flavors. Very impressive!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

1982 Bodegas Olarra "Cerro Añón" Reserva Rioja
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
Cerro Añon is Bodega Olarra’s “masculine” wine. In this case the wine is about 30% Mazuelo , with a small amount of Garnatcha in addition to the Tempranillo. The resultant wine is much more dark fruited and luxurious than many Riojas. At this point the wine is drinking very well—the fruit is still fresh and vibrant and the acidity and tannin structure in place. Although the wine shows some age characteristics of game and spice, overall it exhibits much more fruit than many wines this age, and is therefore probably the most approachable of the group.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

2011 Castello di Monsanto Chianti Classico Riserva
By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/6/2015 | Send Email
The 2011 vintage is a little riper, fuller than the more structured 2010, however this wine is still Monsanto in a classic way. The nose has that ever present earth, cherry, leather, spice nose that the winery is so known for. On the palate 2011 vintage shows its pleasing richness, depth of flavor and persistence. Texturally more forward the wine still has structure, power and presence. Able to age for 10-15 years without much thought Monsanto produces on of the absolute best Chianti Classico Riserva at this price point. Stock up!
Drink from 2015 to 2015

2014 Domaine des Côtes Blanches Sancerre Rosé
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/5/2015 | Send Email
This wine is for fans of roses that are pretty and delicate. The Cotes Blanches Rose is lively with subtle berry flavors and a nice clean dry finish.It is very easy to drink and enjoy and will go well alone or with light foods.
Price: $16.99 Add To Waiting List

1982 Bodegas Olarra Añares Reserva Rioja
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/5/2015 | Send Email
This is the winery’s characteristic “feminine” style. In their interpretation, that means delicacy, great aromatics, light body with good fruit presence, and high-toned acidity. I love the way this wine is drinking—the structure is still very much in place and could even age further, but it strikes a great balance now. The pretty, delicate aromas show like an aged Burgundy: mushroom, wet leaves and wild strawberries. On the palate, however, the wine evidences its warmer climate with sweetish cherry fruit and tangy game notes. Lovely long finish with red earth and spice notes.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

1976 Bodegas Muga Crianza Rioja
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/5/2015 | Send Email
I’d have to say this is probably my favorite of the wines we opened from this lot. A bit light in body, this wine shows surprising depth of aromas with rich venison and black fruits dominating on the nose. On the palate, the structure and fruit find a perfect balance: fine-boned acidity and delicate tannin strike a chord with bright red cherry fruit, giving way to savory game and plum notes. The finish lasts for minutes and is punctuated with baking spices. As the wine continues to open up with oxygen, the aromas only grow more and more complex. Truly a great wine, and drinking wonderfully well right now!
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

1981 Viña Real "4 Año" Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/4/2015 | Send Email
While '82 gets all the glory, what a fantastic vintage 1981 is in Rioja! Just as in Bordeaux, the acidity is the star in this cooler, more Atlantic vintage. "4 año" is a now seldom used term to refer to the fact that a wine is released in its'4th year after the vintage. Sort of a crianza, though with the extra ageability and depth of a reserva wine. Older Viña Real, particularly from vintages like, '87, '85, '81, are legendary. Earthy, brightly fruited, occasionally often showing a stylistic nod towards Burgundy. This is a wine that is not to be missed.
Price: $89.99 Add To Waiting List

1971 Bodegas Muga Crianza
By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 7/4/2015 | Send Email
Beautifully preserved, and showing extremely well! The intro shows very clean, pretty aromas of leather, sandalwood, red cherry and a hint of game. On the palate the wine is lighter in body, still showing good acidity and fruit play with barely perceptible, soft tannin. Hints of toasted almond and anise complement the bright cherry and game flavors on the palate. The wine finishes as one would expect—extremely lengthy and with delicate animal and spice notes. Overall a great buy! Considering how rare it is to come across wine of this age that has been stored in such an impeccable fashion, and still shows incredibly well at 40 + years, I would say this is a great opportunity at a surprisingly affordable price!
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

2010 Collemattoni Brunello di Montalcino
By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 7/4/2015 | Send Email
OMG! I just discovered the Best 2010 Brunello I've tasted this year! And we've been tasting A LOT since they've been rolling in over the past months. This Direct Import straight from the Winery is Super classic in style, and right upon popping the cork it's showing amazing fruit and character! Yes you can age it for 20 years, but of all the 2010's this is gorgeous out of the bottle and oh soo showy! Amazing texture, integrated oak and tannins, purity of fruit and layers and layers of delicious! Please do yourself a favor and and let this wine transport you to the Italian wine-country of Brunello!

1976 Bodegas Muga Crianza Rioja
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/4/2015 | Send Email
In comparison to the 1971, the 1976 Muga is relatively youthful! A beautiful red brick color, this wine shows lots of fruit on the nose, think blackberry and black raspberry compote, and also shows cocoa powder, spice and hints of barnyard. Broad on the palate, with lovely, tangy, fruit, amplitude, and weight. Another perfectly aged gem, stored in impeccable conditions from our cellar connection on the Basque coast.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

1971 Bodegas Muga Crianza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/4/2015 | Send Email
Even though it's considered a good vintage, 1971 is not an easy Rioja vintage to source. We lucked out and received this "Crianza," which by today's Rioja consejo regulated standards would likely be a Reserva or even Gran Reserva, from Bodegas Muga. The wine shows great development, with aromatic notes of older spices, celery leaf, moist tobacco, hints of white asparagus and cocoa powder. Great bass tones on this nose! Tangy fruits on the palate still show surprising structure, particularly as it opens up and gains volume. Texturally, the wine is pure silk at this point. A lovely example of a fully mature Rioja, from a well regarded bodega, for under $100.
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

Uitvlugt 20 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum 750ml
By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/4/2015 | Send Email
This is one of the most interesting and delicious rums that I have tasted in a long time. At first there are aromas of brown sugar followed by floral and herbal notes that are both pleasurable and inviting. In the mouth, the subtle brown sugar, floral and herbal theme continues, offering a very complex rum. This is a rum to think about.
Price: $149.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Chaman Malbec Reserva Mendoza
By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/3/2015 | Send Email
This is a beautiful Malbec from a great vintage! Luis Reginato is one of the increasing number of very talented, engaged winemakers in Argentina, someone who understands wine from both the viticultural and oenological standpoint. Chaman has beautiful dark cherry and plum fruit flavors, with solid structure from both tannins and acidity. Excellent value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 91

2014 Correggia Roero Arneis
By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/3/2015 | Send Email
(Now sealed with screwcap) Matteo Correggia was a pioneer in helping the Roero gain international recognition when there wasn't much in the way of quality wine being produced. Today, the reputation of the Roero is rooted in much of the early work of Matteo and a few daring other pioneers. Matteo's tragic death in a tractor accident in 2001 rallied many of the region's leading winemakers to help his wife Ornella carry on. After a five year transitional period, Ornella took the helm and has been guiding and expanding the direction of the winery ever since. Correggia produces some stunningly good, powerful reds, distinctive and vibrant whites, and an amazing dry Brachetto.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List

Michel Loriot "Marie-Leopold" Sec Champagne
By: Angie An | Review Date: 7/3/2015 | Send Email
I remember a great Champagne buyer (Gary Westby) once told me, "When it comes to sweet wines, there are only two type of folks, ones who loves it and the ones who are lying." I understand the American wine market is trying to shake out the old stereotypical, cheap and badly made sweet table wines of the past. I see it in the store everyday, whenever someone asks me for a recommendation, it almost always include the line "....oh, and I want it dry!" But just hear me out for a second. The truth is that a little sugar in your wine is not always a bad thing, and when done right it can be an absolutely marvelous thing! Perfect example here is the Michel Loriot Marie Leopold Sec Champagne. Lively aromatics, good solid tight bubbles with fresh citrus, crispy yellow apple and white peach. Just a slight hint of sweetness follow on the tongue that would go PERFECT with dishes as fancy as torchon de foie gras, or as humble as a bag of Lay's original potato chips, or simply enjoy on its own! The sweetness really softens the mouthfeel and makes this Champagne super easy drinking, plus with our direct import pricing makes this bottle is a killer dealer! A must have for this summer! Cheers!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 Kirwan, Margaux
By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 7/3/2015 | Send Email
Reserved nose, mineral. Starting to express itself. Should be very good. (Barrel Tasting)

2002 Salon Blanc de Blancs Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/2/2015 | Send Email
Words fall short when trying to explain the perfection of the 2002 Salon, so I will start with the facts. This wine is made only in great vintages, only from old vines in the most famous of all Champagne Grand Crus - Mesnil. Because there is never any malolactic fermentation for Salon, the wine must be aged for a decade minimum on the lees, and that is why we are just seeing the 2002 now. This Champagne is the last word on precision and elegance and one of the longest Champagnes that I have ever had an opportunity to try. It will age for longer than most of us will live as bottles from the '20s and '30s prove today. Unfortunately there is not much of it...

Barnaut "Authentique" Brut Rosé Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/2/2015 | Send Email
Last week I had the chance to meet and taste with Philippe Seconde, whose family has been making Barnaut since 1874. They might be the oldest grower-producer in Champagne. This rosé is made in a unique way, with the Pinot Noir that composes 85% of the blend macerated with the skins, and 15% Chardonnay blended in afterwards to give the wine snap and focus. Philippe loves this wine with spicy food, and I can't wait to try it with a big plate of hot wings!
Price: $43.99 Add To Waiting List
ST 91 WS 90

Jacquesson "Cuvée 737" Extra Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/2/2015 | Send Email
Before Joseph Krug founded Krug, he worked at Jacquesson. This is a house with a very long history, but also one of the most innovative of all the Grand Marques. They are the only big house to proclaim the batches of their non-vintage on the front label and this one is Cuvee 737. This batch is based on 2009 with 30% reserve wines, and is every bit as dry as the Extra Brut moniker suggests. This precise, laser like Champagne is an absolute dream with sushi!

Bollinger "Special Cuvée" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/2/2015 | Send Email
Bollinger has a sterling reputation in Champagne for stalwart quality for a great reason. They do the hard work to make great Champagne, and there Special Cuvee is the standard barer for their range. Along with Krug, Bollinger is the only grand marque to refuse to give up their barrels, which they still ferment the wine in to this day. They are located in the village of Ay, famous for being the chalkiest terroir for Pinot Noir in all of Champagne, and Ay is the soul of this blend. It is one of the fullest, most powerful non-vintages from the grand marques, and also one of the driest. If you are a fan of Champagne and haven't tried this classic, you should!

Barnaut "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 7/2/2015 | Send Email
Last week I had the chance to meet and taste with Philippe Seconde, whose family has been making Barnaut since 1874. They might be the oldest grower-producer in Champagne. His Grande Reserve is a blend of 2/3 Pinot Noir and 1/3 Chardonnay from the Grand Cru village of Bouzy on the south facing slope of the mountain of Reims. This wine has been fractionally blended since the beginning, and Philippe joked that perhaps one of the many bubbles had a few molecules of the 1874 in it! This is a pure expression of Pinot Noir with a lot of round cherry fruit and excellent acidity. It is dosed at 6g/l.

Page: 1 2 3 next >>