Customer Reviews - Adam S.



Reviews

1996 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 11-23-2012
November 2012: Almost everything that made this vintage a blockbuster is now dead. Did not improve after breathing.

April 2010: Huge tobacco and smoke on the nose and tasting when I tasted this wine at the end of 2002 and in 2003. Of the hundred or so wines that I've had over the past few years, this one stands out. A monumental wine.

1985 Soutard, St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-22-2012
I am a very picky drinker of aged Bordeaux and was a little hesitant when the RWC K&L recommended a 28 year old Merlot. Plus, Parker indicated this vintage could be over the hill, but decided to give it a try anyway.

Everyone at the table was blown away. Very little of the fruit is left, but the cedar and tobacco are sophisticated and perfect. The wine is well structured and I think in its prime (as of June 2012). You can decant this for several hours.
Drink to 0
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

1994 Les Ormes de Pez, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-02-2011
Somewhat lighter. However, it's got everything that I like in an aged Left Bank Bordeaux, including a nice pencil lead finish. Moderate tannins. Big enough to hold it's own with food. Open this bottle and don't touch it for a few hours.
Drink to 0
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Beaulieu Vineyard "Tapestry Reserve" Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-01-2011
Mellow blueberries, blackberries, and cassis. The alcohol is at 15%, but I barely taste it. A really winner.
Drink from 2011 to 2011

2007 Anderson's Conn Valley "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-13-2011
Needs a good eight hours of decanting; otherwise, you get a disjointed overly oaked wine. Still just a good bottle - nothing really stands out except the level of tannins are perfection. I think 94 is a bit generous. Maybe 89 - 91, at best.
Drink from 2015 to 2015
Price: $74.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 94

1994 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 05-08-2011
I want to lie about how good this is, so I can keep the next shipment of 1994 Montelena to myself. I bought a bottle on Gary's recommendation. Vanilla, cherries, and a lucious mouthfeel. A beautifully structured wine with a 60+ second finish. I will order as many bottles as I can next time it's in stock.

Please note that I decanted for about an hour, but after being open for about 3 hours, the structure began to weaken considerably.
Drink from 2010 to 2010

1994 Philip Togni Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 02-18-2011
Delicious. Muted notes of vanilla, but with moderate tannins. Very well balanced. No signs of bricking or aging, even after 17 years!

Taste some when you first open the bottle. It was the best wine I've ever had without allowing it to breathe. Then enjoy the remaining bottle after about 3 hours of breathing. Everything in between was a waste.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

1997 Reserve de Leoville Barton, St-Julien (375ml)
Review Date: 07-17-2010
Classic Left Bank flavors. I think it's drinking better than the Langoa Barton right now, and it's almost half the price.
Drink from 2010 to 2010
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List

2005 The Royal Tokaji Wine Company Red Label 5 puttonyos 500ml
Review Date: 06-23-2010
Nice mouth feel, relatively balanced sweetness with acidity on the attack. However too much sweetness on the midpalate and after taste. Flavors of melon on the mid palate and bitters on the after taste, but a lacking secondary flavors.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 94

2002 Cos d'Estournel, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 06-13-2010
Get ready to pucker upon opening this tannic monster. I didn't really taste anything else until an hour after opening, when the tannins come under control and perhaps there's some muted fruit, vanilla, and oak. Still fairly closed. I've already had two bottles, one in late 2004 and one in June of 2010. I'd wait another 5 - 10 years for this one to show it's true colors.

Right now, I prefer the'96 over the '02.
Drink from 2015 to 2015

Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 06-12-2010
I drink Champagne mainly to cut through the fat in non-meat dishes. I love the way acid interacts with the food. I also like for my Champage to accompany, not overpower, the dish.

Billecart Salmon Brut Rose is perfection. It would be my only choice if not for the price, so I enjoy it when I can.


2006 Groth Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-18-2010
Extremely inconsistent. One bottle had some depth, with fruit and a hit of smoke. The other bottle was a flat, one-trick leather pony.
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 93 WE 90

2005 Verdignan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 04-18-2010
I agree with Susan. Open the bottle a day before you want to drink it and a lot of the tannins will be smoothed out.
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90