Customer Reviews - principalchef

Looking for full-bodied red wine values for under $20.


Reviews

2009 Perrin & Fils "Reserve" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-08-2011
A GREAT VALUE! I'll buy another case of this quickly. Full of flavor, complex enough to be interesting, medium to full-bodies, with definite licorice and fruit flavors. Loved it.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Andezon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 05-08-2011
Not what I expected at all. I served it at a beach bbq and not one glass of it was finished. Sour and thin. Disappointing.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 89

2007 Domaine Courtois "La Grange" Vinsobres
Review Date: 04-11-2010
An OK food wine, but it's not that smooth. Good flavors, but the mineral bite was too much for me.
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Jaffurs Santa Barbara County Syrah
Review Date: 04-01-2010
Spectacular. Big, jammy, interesting and delicious. Doesn't need food at all, just needs a nice glass and a welcome drinker. Enjoy!
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 92

2008 Porcupine Ridge (Boekenhoutskloof) Syrah Franschhoek
Review Date: 04-01-2010
Well . . . I don't feel quite as strongly as the KL reviewers. It's nice, but really not as big as I would have hoped. After about 30 minutes of being open, it had some bigger moments, but it was never consistent. A little tightly wound for my tastes.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 89

2005 License Zinfandel
Review Date: 03-31-2010
Plenty good for $5.99. Not as full as I like, but way more than I expect for price. Good flavors. Great for a bbq, not bad indoors either!
Price: $5.99 Add To Waiting List

Urbanite Cellars "Redart" Red Blend
Review Date: 03-31-2010
Wonderful. A great wine at a great price. I'd serve this anywhere. Full, lush, great flavor, long enough to be interesting, and very Rhone-esque. I'll be buying more.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Urbanite Cellars "Amplio" California Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 03-31-2010
I didn't love it. Some good flavors, but "tinny" throughout the bottle. Never opened up.
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

2007 Delas "St-Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 01-18-2010
Reviewed quite nicely, but not what I was hoping for. Very dry, with herbal flavors, sometimes actually bitter. Has some very nice notes, and may go well with certain foods, but as a drinking wine, it was just OK.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List
RP 90

2007 Cave de Rasteau "Dame Victoria" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Rasteau
Review Date: 01-18-2010
The Dame Victoria is a beautiful, silky wine with enough that you would be proud to serve to any guests, no matter how much of a wine critic they may be. This is a wine to serve with our without food, but if you're going to serve food, it deserves something nice. Layered, complex, with a little vanilla and a lot of red fruit, it makes you say, Wow.
Price: $9.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 d'Arenberg "Stump Jump" Shiraz McLaren Vale
Review Date: 01-17-2010
A very smooth wine with little or no complexity. I really enjoyed it, but I kept wanting a little more. I think that's all there is. Still, I will have some on hand, as the flavor is very, very nice.
Price: $8.99 Add To Waiting List
WS 90

2007 La Font du Vent "Les Promesses" Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 01-17-2010
This wine was a treat. Many layers with wonderful complexity. Had it with a Ribeye steak and absolutely loved it (but I was enjoying it without the steak too). Medium to full bodied and a solid value.
Price: $13.99 Add To Waiting List