Customer Reviews - Emme



Reviews

2003 Domaine Labet Marcs du Jura 750ml
Review Date: 11-07-2012
I bought the 2001 version of this last year and loved it. This 2002 is just as amazing! It is savory, almost sea-salty in its 'minerality' (of sorts), and silky smooth. It's got lots of rancio nuttiness and lees-influenced flavors. A very full-bodied, classy brandy. Uniquely Jurassic. Excellent.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Patricius Sárga Muskotály (Yellow Muscat) Tokaj (Dry)
Review Date: 05-23-2012
I can't not review this wine. It is has such beautiful floral characteristics. And bone dry. If you're looking for a dinner muscat, this is definitely the one. It translates as "yellow muscat" but it might be the same as muscat ottonel. But in my opinion, it tastes way better than the usual ottonels I've had. Incidentally, I presented this wine at a nerdy organic chemistry class as being monoterpene rich if that means anything to you. Anyway, awesome. I'll buy more. Even my picky wife liked it! Bravo, K&L.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $10.99 Add To Waiting List

Einstök Icelandic White Ale, Iceland 12oz
Review Date: 05-23-2012
The porter by Einstok is the only better commercial beer I've had recently. BUT, what's to note is that the minerality in this beer is crazy awesome. Apparently something is going right in Iceland because the water is Great in both beers. This white ale and the porter I've tried are superb. This white ale is light and bright and clean. Definitely worth trying. If you're a porter fan, go there too!!!
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $1.99 Add To Waiting List

Einstok Toasted Porter 12oz.
Review Date: 05-23-2012
This beers ROCKS. It is on the smoky side for a porter, but it has a uniquely awesome balance of thick viscous body and minerality that I've never had in a beer before. Amazing.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $1.99 Add To Waiting List

Pheasant's Tears Chacha Georgian Brandy 375ml
Review Date: 03-14-2012
This stuff is cool. The 'Pheasant's Tears' Georgian wines can be found more readily -- this brandy from them is rare. This brandy has a lot of high notes and a lot of low notes too suggesting early entry and late exit cut points from the still. A very full palate in terms of flavors from the still. The flavors are broad but cohesive. That serves it well. It loses half a grade in my opinion for only being aged 2 years which deprives it of any familiar wood, toffee, or vanilla notes.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List

Quartz Reef "Methode Traditionelle" Sparkling Wine Brut Central Otago
Review Date: 02-07-2012
This stuff is a STEAL! I first tasted this in a WSET class setting (Diploma level) and we all thought it was $40. Great depth. Moderate autolytic character (toasty, bready notes). What's good is that the fruit really contributes a lot. I thought there would be a run on the store after my class, so I bought 9 bottles. Mine, all mine. MMmm..
Drink from 2012 to 2012

Smith & Cross Traditional Jamaica Rum Plummer & Wedderburn Pure Pot Still 750ml
Review Date: 02-07-2012
It's good, but it's so freaking high in alcohol, that the only respectable thing to do with it (for my body) is to mix it into mai tais. For that, it is divine. It makes a great high octane mai tai. This, orgeat, orange curacao, and a fresh lime. MMM! Served neat though, I just can't rate it higher than 3.5.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $29.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 95

Germain-Robin XO Brandy 750ml
Review Date: 02-07-2012
The best American brandy. Comes off quite dry, if that is your style. Elegant.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $99.99 Add To Waiting List

2006 Terre da Vino "Essenze" Barolo
Review Date: 02-07-2012
Reminds me of Gattinara in the sense that the tannins are cranked up! Total Ballerina in boxing gloves. EXTREMELY good value. If you don't like forward tannins, you won't like this (and then I can buy it all for myself).
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 JS 90

Louis Roque Vieille Prune 750ml
Review Date: 02-07-2012
A lot of bright notes, rich plummy medium notes, and few low notes. So, I think the distiller uses early entry and early exit cut points. Just how I like them. It preserves all the bright, pretty fruit though, true, it comes at the cost of some residual high-toned ester notes which some people might not like. I like esters though. Great digestif neat.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $44.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Evan Williams Single Barrel Bourbon 750ml
Review Date: 02-07-2012
Around 10 years old I think. Anyway, it's great neat -- better than maker's, woodford's, or bulleit. Great in bourbon manhattans and old fashioneds too! Bourbons are such good deals and that includes this one. Makes me sick. (Not really.)
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $24.99 Add To Waiting List

2001 Domaine Labet Marcs du Jura 750ml
Review Date: 02-07-2012
This is the most interesting brandy I have ever had. Period. It is the coolest stuff. A little special purpose, as it tastes unique, but amazing nonetheless. Not for cocktails. It has a savory character presumably from savagnin lees/pomace or something....Jura lovers, try it!
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $39.99 Add To Waiting List

Chateau de Pellehaut Reserve Tenareze Armagnac 750ml
Review Date: 02-07-2012
A great Armagnac and a great value. True to form and has richer flavor than I expected of a Tenareze. Bravo to Charles Neal for importing this. Armagnac man wins again!
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $49.99 Add To Waiting List

St. George Spirits Single Malt Whiskey 750ml
Review Date: 02-07-2012
You know, I swear they use some hops in the wort when they make this. It has a beautiful, herbal note that I've only found elsewhere in Charbay's hopped whiskey. (I realize extremely few producers incorporate hops in whiskey production.) Whether it has hops or not, it is great, dense stuff to be enjoyed neat.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List
Limit of 1 per customer

2005 Bunan "Moulin des Costes" Bandol
Review Date: 02-07-2012
A well priced Bandol. I can't afford Tempier except on rare occasion. This wine delivers the typical Mourvedre characteristics of bold structure and dark, rich, blackberry fruit. I love Bandol. Even went there in 2009. Quite a beautiful place. This wine transports me there. What a great brooding, winter wine.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $25.99 Add To Waiting List

2008 Cahors Chateau La Coustarelle "Tradition"
Review Date: 02-07-2012
Very nice wine. Very nice value. It's true to Cahors' reputation as 'the black wine'. A touch rustic which was nice with my red-wine demanding meal. It has good color for such a low price. As a bonus, it's imported by Charles Neal who I worship for his Armagnac and Calvados and other wacky wines/spirits.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $12.99 Add To Waiting List

2009 Gerovassiliou Malagousia
Review Date: 02-07-2012
The best malagousia I've had (better than Porto Carras). Not the cheapest on the market, but definitely the richest in flavor. Worth the extra few bucks, though to be honest, it is super cheap at K&L ($2 cheaper than when I order it online from New York!) Mr. Gerovassiliou is the father of this grape -- he brought it out of near-extinction. They say it taste like citrus and mangoes. I don't know about mangoes. But, I definitely get lime and tropical flavors. It hit me like a sauvignon blanc without the grass. I've had it with shellfish, and grilled fish, and canned sardines -- all worked well. Great with Burritos too. Viva la malagousia!
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $21.99 Add To Waiting List
W&S 90 WE 89

2006 Gerovassiliou "Avaton"
Review Date: 02-04-2012
This wine is definitely the best indigenous wine of Greece. Dense in flavor and viscous in texture. The closest comparison I can find is a fruity, low yielding Bandol. Similar dark, structured blackberry base. I had Avaton with Lamb Harissa tonight. Very nice together. I'm excited to try it with with a full flavored steak like Ribeye or New York.
Drink from 2012 to 2012
Price: $36.99 Add To Waiting List