Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account

Staff Favorites - Illya Haase

Illya Haase

Reviews

2017 Gentilini Robola of Cephalonia Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
I have found the new wine for any fancy pants Chablis drinker. Crisp, angular, minerally, steely, with great tension and acidity! All these adjectives are perfect descriptors of this refreshing white wine: Gentilini Robola Cephalonia Greece. I feel like I have to write the whole thing, because it’s going to be the next big white from Greece. This checks all the boxes when it comes to dry white wine drinkers. Awesome freshness and sublime citrus that lingers, with marvelous complexity. Just sit back, close your eyes, take a sip and be transported to the cobalt blue seas of Greece.​ Fancy pants optional. ​
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2015 Cave de Tain "Grand Classique" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 11-07-2018
There is something in the water… or in this case, the land. And by something, I mean Northern Rhone Syrah's! They are one of a kind! The Cave de Tain is emblematic of that. First sip is bright, spicy with a burst of wild strawberries. On the palate, it is medium bodied, full of earth, pepper and plums. These are just a few of the flavors and aromas that stand out in the glass. The tannin's are integrated with a wonderful balance of acidity which ends in a elegantly long finish. ​ Why are they so damn good? It has to be something in the water, er, I mean land…

Russell's Reserve Single Barrel "#17-314" (Rickhouse B, 6th Floor) K&L Exclusive Kentucky Straight Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 11-06-2018
Russel’s Barrel 17-314 was a stand out for me. I am spitting hairs because they are all exceptionally distinct, but 314 had me at the nose: intoxicating wood spice, subtle cinnamon, and charred vanilla bean. The front palate was soft, but had a great complexity, with a pop of caramel, vanilla and toffee. Mid palate opens with a burst of red hot candies, baking spice, and cloves. The finish has a great balance with honey and cinnamon notes that warm you for ages. It’s hot and high in alcohol, but in the best possible way! This will be a great go to on those long winter nights!
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

Wathen’s Private Barrel #3597 "K&L Exclusive" Single Barrel Straight Kentucky Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Who likes Banana's Foster? Well my friends, it is right here in the amazing, single barrel from Wathens! Dark brown sugar, toffee, walnut, and cinnamon, permeate my glass. One sip drives a penetrating fire of spice, malt and vanilla, with a lingering finish of mint and toasted oak. This is the perfect campfire bottle.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Put Slovenia wines on your list of new wines to try. This Bagueri Ribolla Gialla is a great one to start with. In the glass it shines with a wonderful golden hue. It blooms with a bouquet of white flowers, lemon rind and gingersnaps. With an array of minerals and a surprising amount of palate weight it is a beautiful back and forth in the mouth. The wine is packed with notes of lemon, peach and chestnuts. The finish is full and lively with a gentle flavors of candied grapefruit, and vanilla. The wine will grace any table served with pan fried fish, oysters or even a lean pork loin. ​
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2016 La Ferme du Mont "Côtes Capelan" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-05-2018
I have found my holiday wine! The La Ferme du Mont "Côtes Capelan" Châteauneuf-du-Pape is outstanding. This wine is ideal for gift giving, holiday gatherings and makes the perfect center piece for that special meal. This is the flagship wine of La Ferme du Mont's vineyards. 90% is vinified in concrete tanks. The remaining 10% is aged in French oak barrels for about 18 months before bottling. With a masterful blend of old vine Grenache, Syrah and Mourverdre. The nose stops you in your tracks with wonderful notes of raspberry, liquorice, baking spices, candied ginger, black fruit and orange peel. I could go on but I will let you come up with your own! The wine is dark and dense in color. In the mouth, the wine is intense, full-bodied, with a beautiful freshness. In a word, it is powerful! The tannins are there, but they are extremely fine and already very silky. But, there is an amazing balance, that makes this wine ready to go today or in 20 years! If anyone in my family is reading this review? You know what I want for the holidays!

2017 Santo Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 08-16-2018
I am always on the look out for a under twenty dollar wine that over deliveries. The Santo Assyrtiko fits the bill! With aromas of stone fruit, lemon zest and a hint sea salt. Light and bright with just the right amount of acid, that leaves the palate fresh and clean. Pop of melon, mineral and smoke from that volcanic soil. Leaves you reaching for the bottle. Vivid, with full, well balanced body and distinctive long finish! Grilled octopus, please!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93

2014 Dominio del Aguila "Picaro" Clarete Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 06-29-2018
I am a big fan of weird and funky wines. This is one of those wines that fits the bill! For me to spend $29.99 for a Rose’, it had better be worth it, After all, I can get some fantastic K&L Rose’s for under $15.00! What does it mean when I say “worth it to me”? The wine should be one that slows me down, allows me to contemplate what is happening in the glass. From the beginning, it is a mixed bag of red and white grapes: Tempranillo, Albillo, Garnacha and Bobal to be exact. 20 months of oak gives it a bit more weight, and there’s a slightly oxidative tone which leads me to smile. red fruit, orange peel, walnuts, hazelnuts, curry, wood spice and I haven’t taken a sip yet. Razor-sharp focus of citrus, tangy cranberry and wild strawberries add up to a refreshing, super-dry, elegant, but fruitful pink summer wine. This is a serious food wine, my friends, ideal with Spanish cheeses, Mediterranean vegetables, Spanish tapas or the ultimate pairing Morcilla !!!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Glinavos "Paleokerisio" Semi-Sparkling Orange Wine Epirus Greece (500ml)
Review Date: 06-28-2018
Orange wine from Greece??? Yes, my friends, this wine is pure pleasure in a glass. Orange color, hence the name. Technically, the color comes from de-stemmed grapes resting in an oak case for 12 days during the fermentation process. Put the glass to your nose and you think you are in for one funky ride. On the contrary, a slight effervescence sparks a balanced sweet cherry fruit tangled with clove spice. The finish is dry with a nice tannic edge, refreshing acidity and bitterness. Great with grilled octopus!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2014 Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 04-13-2018
I seem to be reviewing my share of Cally Cabs as of late. I just really love the Napa Cabernet 2013 and 2014 vintages! The Freemark Abbey is no exception. With a deep, dark hue coating the glass, I know I am in for a treat. Nose pops with spiced plum, currants and a touch of oak. But, those black and blue fruits, I find so inviting on the palate! Dark coco, dried herbs and licorice round out the back end. Seamless tannins and acidity make for a long finish, that I just don't want it to end. Lucky we have quite a few bottles but at this price I know it won't last. Don't take my word for it. Do yourself a favor and pick up a bottle. You won't be disappointed.

Knob Creek K&L Exclusive Single Barrel #5851 Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 03-30-2018
Fred Noe, you done did it again! This Knob Creek Rye is something else! The nose is vanilla, cloves and oaky undertones. The flavor immediately coats the entire mouth, with nutmeg and cinnamon giving way to pepper and vanilla on the front with a hint of walnut and allspice across the middle before finishing with that gripping cinnamon spice and that wonderful Knob Creek burn. It's 115 proof, but you would not know it! Super balanced, this warms you up from all the way down!! Get it while you can.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart

2013 Silverado "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 01-30-2018
On these cool winter nights there is nothing better than a big Napa Cabernet! Silverado reveals itself with plush notes of black fruit, dried herbs and espresso tasting notes. This is not about overblown fruit. It is big, but balanced with the fruit, oak and tannins, all well integrated. Silky smooth and velvety in texture, the classic Staggs Leap District Cab pervades. The balanced acidity makes for a long finish, with flavors that continue to warm the insides of the heart. Light a fire, open the bottle of Silverado and enjoy the magic that only a Napa Cabernet can bring.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
JS 93 W&S 93

2014 Bonny Doon "A Proper Claret" Red Blend
Review Date: 01-23-2018
I love big, rich wines. Even been accused of loving a fruit bomb or two. Bonny Doon always delivers. Let me say that this big wine is rather light on its feet. Alluring nose of of violets, black licorice and graphite but the palate is where it really dances. Spicy red fruit and vanilla spice with a slap of acidity and a smooth dry finish. Proper structure and clarity with a balance of fruit and earth. Slow cooked wild boar sliders should be on the menu with this little surprising showstopper.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2015 Au Bon Climat Santa Barbara County Chardonnay
Review Date: 11-07-2017
Whatever camp you are in California or France, when it comes to Chardonays, the Au Bon Climat delivers a sublime bottle of Chardonnay, delighting with that rare combination of vanilla, crisp apple and toffee. The combination of great weight on the palate with citrus and pineapple,provides a high degree of gratification joining with that really nice pop of acidity and mineral which keeps your mouth zinging as it asks for more. With that spike of tartness and dry finish it would be a quintessential pairing for oyster stuffing. Look forward to bringing that sublime satisfaction to the dinner table.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Tom's Foolery Bottled In Bond Single Barrel #31 Ohio Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 10-23-2017
If I ever review any whiskey that is outside of my beloved Bluegrass state it must mean it's great. The latest bottling from Tom's Foolery is just THAT! These Buckeyes are the first micro outside of Kentucky, and the first micro since the '50s, to release a bonded bourbon. Its nose is pure Ohio Courtland apple, charred toffee, vanilla and cinnamon. Spicy malt and toasted clove on the first sip. Nice warmth (spicy!) on the mid palate really awakens the sinuses!! Spicy cream corn and malted grains continues through the finish. With a cool winter green note perking up at the end. It begs for a fire, on a cool November night.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Shafer "Red Shoulder Ranch" Carneros Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-24-2017
California Chardonnay. Always a polarizing talking point for people who love wine. Shafer "Red Shoulder Ranch" Chardonnay is no exception. But, here is my take. What is wrong with a great glass of wine. This Chardonnay is bursting out of the glass with alluring tropical fruit, lemon peel and Asian pear spice. Nothing wrong with that so far right? I know what your thinking, its nothing but oak on the first sip. This Chardonnay hits you with dazzling acidity and a cool smokey minerality. Didn't see that coming did you? Exquisite creamy texture with a touch of baked apple, once again carried through with persistent acidity for a super long finish. What seamless balance in this wine. I long for some Salmon sashimi as I write up this stunning glass of Chardonnay. From California I might add!

2013 Raymond "Reserve Selection" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-04-2017
Points be damned, if this is not one hell of a Napa Cabernet! This is the perfect steak night wine! The very vibrant nose has the lustrous aromas of violets, fresh blackberries, dried fruits, red currants, which dominate the very first whiff on opening the bottle. Big, round, silky and smooth it slides down way too easy. Toasty notes and a supple minerality add great length to the finish. Fire up the grill but I would get two bottles 'cause the one bottle will be gone before the meat is on the table!

2009 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Grand Cru Champagne
Review Date: 12-31-2015
If you need a party Champagne, look no further. It is here! Elisabeth Goutorbe Champagne is a classic blend of Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and is light, bright and beautifully made. Citrus fruits jump out of the glass, followed by lovely, freshly-baked biscuit flavors. This can be served on its own, or with party nibbles. Amazing with seafood, too.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Antech Blanquette de Limoux Brut Nature
Review Date: 11-27-2015
This is as dry as it gets folks. Zero dosage. Which means outstanding acidity! Perfect for that signature cocktail at your holiday party. Did I mention bone dry and a amazing ability to pair with everything on the holiday menu. Keep a case on hand for all the events on busy holiday calendar.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2010 Bois-Malot, Bordeaux Supérieur
Review Date: 02-23-2015
In 1916 Jules Armand purchased the property located at Valenton St Loubès, a small town 25 km from Bordeaux. A stone's throw from the influence of the two rivers (the Garonne and Dordogne). It's these two rivers that add an early ripening and deeper concentration to the grapes. Great fruit and spice which gives way to a super dry finish. Perfect weekday wine.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Fluteau "Cuvée Réservée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-26-2012
One of the hits for me at our Champagne event was Fluteau! I love the cheesy and toasty notes that come from this champagne. Coming from the wine being left to age on the lees for three years. Notes of citrus and spice in a golden yellow hue. This will make a perfect Holiday wine! At this price you can give it out to all the family. This is a Champagne will are talking about here folks.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Carpano Antica Formula Sweet Vermouth (1L)
Review Date: 07-29-2012
One thing I learned in my twenty years of bar tending is. The better the ingredients, the better the drink. So, if you are making a Manhattan or one of those crazy whiskey drinks from your local mixologist. Keep the Carpano on hand. It make's any cocktail, ten thousand times better! You will not find a better vermouth!
Price: $28.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Scrappy's Grapefruit Bitters (5oz)
Review Date: 04-30-2012
It's citrus time at the Hollywood Farmers Market. There is nothing better on a lazy Sunday than a greyhound! This grapefruit and vodka cocktail is an ideal choice for a summertime brunch. The beauty of this mixed drink is in its simplicity. But, I like to spice mine up with a little Scrappy's Grapefruit bitters. It is that little extra that goes a long way!
Price: Hidden View Price

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-27-2012
This is my kind of Champagne! Toasty, yeasty, and dry. The price speaks for itself! We are so lucky to get great champagne at sparkling wine prices!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 02-26-2012
This my friends is my go to Rose Champagne! Great acidity, intermingled with some bright cherry notes. Balanced minerality which is perfect for some salmon or Friday night sushi!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2006 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-28-2011
Sesta di Sopra delivers! I find every year the quality is superb. One of the best Brunello's on the market. With it's amazing aromas of blackberries, sandalwood and dried flowers. Roasted meats are the way to go!

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 11-25-2011
In our recent staff tasting for sparkling wines. This by far was top of the class! I brought it to start the Thanksgiving Day events. Deligeroy did not disappoint! It went perfect with the root salad!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Deligeroy "La Petite Marquise" Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 02-03-2011
This is well-balanced in the mouth and enhanced by a fresh but subtle finish. It also has tiny little bubbles, which always makes me happy! I love Cabernet Franc for sparkling wine, it has some great body and lovely fruit. For the price, buy a case!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 07-29-2010
For me, one of the best finds at our recent Champagne tasting! It's off-dry, with beautiful fruit and a nice toasty nose. All this from third generation winemaking family whose holdings consist of 15 hectares of Grand Cru vineyards. The winemaking here is all about elegance and finesse and allowing the terroir to speak for itself and it shows.
Price: $34.99 Add To Waiting List
WE 91 WS 90