Best Sellers New Arrivals Local Events Locations Gift Cards My Account

Staff Favorites - Stefanie Juelsgaard

Stefanie Juelsgaard
Stefanie Juelsgaard  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 4 next
2017 Gentilini Robola of Cephalonia Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
Bright, zippy acidity is the backbone and dominating note of this wine. That being said, it's not too light or airy that the acidity overwhelms. This wine has some richness and weight on the palate, which complements the crisp citrus and white peach notes. Wile it is not overly complicated, it has a crazy long finish that would be a great accompaniment to food. Most people will not have every had this varietal, but after tasting it I wonder, why are we not already familiar it?
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Domaine Nerantzi Assyrtiko Serres Greece
Review Date: 11-13-2018
This wine encompasses everything you imagine in a Greek white and more. It is definitely bright, lean, and mineral-driven, but it also has an incredible amount of texture and weight that helps it to linger. It is fresh and crisp, but the unexpected richness gives substance and complexity. This is a fantastic find.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
W&S 94

2015 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-13-2018
This is a fantastic take on a Crianza Rioja, with juicy red fruits and a good firm structure playing nicely against each other. This is a great introduction to Rioja, or for someone wanting a lighter style. It's very approachable, not overly big or broody. This is very high quality wine in this price point and would make an easy choice for a crowd-pleaser at dinner.

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-13-2018
It's crazy to me how much life these wines can have after 13 years in bottle, but this Gran Reserva is just only starting to blossom and show its true characters. So supremely fresh from the bright acidity, this is a fantastic blend of old world savoriness and fresh clean fruits. Señor de Lesmos is always my go-to recommendation for any level of Rioja to customers, but in this case, they are going to have to beat me to it.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Passopisciaro "Passorosso" Etna Rosso Sicilia
Review Date: 11-07-2018
While I wouldn't give this wine to a novice just getting into drinking wine, it is a fantastic choice for someone more experienced looking for something different and absolutely delicious. Focused and dry, this wine reminded me of Grenache in fruit and brightness, but it is much more structured and stern than a Rhone. I liked the balance that this dichotomy produced. Wine adventurers, take note of this one.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2013 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-07-2018
I've come to think of Brunellos as wines that are dark, bug, and brooding, which is why I was surprised and excited to encounter the La Fortuna, which comes across as lighter, fresher, and more red-fruited. Don't get me wrong, I definitely enjoy the darker style of wines, but I love to see the breadth of styles Brunello can offer. This is a fantastic wine for novices of the region as it feels a little more approachable and less tannic than some others on the shelf. Fresh and up-front, this is one I'd be happy to enjoy with grilled meats and heart pastas moving into Fall.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WS 92

2010 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-07-2018
The blend of flavors of leather, dark fruit, wild herbs, and subtle spice is pure magic here. It's nearly impossible to find a wine outside of Rioja, where you can get this level of quality at this price point, with 8 years aging on it to boot! Lesmos has always been a staff favorite at K&L and this vintage is bound to be no exception. This is a classic, Old-World style of Rioja and a great way to introduce yourself to the area with this beautiful Reserva bottling.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 MWC (McPherson Wine Co.) Shiraz/Mourvèdre Victoria
Review Date: 11-07-2018
With a light-bodied mouthfeel and fresh, vibrant red fruits, this may not be the Shiraz you expect from Victoria, Australia. This is a fantastic take on how Shiraz can be made into easy-drinking, lighter style wines if put into the right hands. There is a great drive to this wine, with a linear mineral note running down the middle. Crisp and fruity with notes of cranberry and pomegranate, this is a killer deal at $14. Pair this guy with grilled steak or hearty pasta and you've found the perfect Fall dinner wine you can feel comfortable buying by the case-full.
Top Value!

2017 Mt Beautiful Sauvignon Blanc North Canterbury
Review Date: 11-07-2018
This is a truly delicious Sauvignon Blanc from the under the radar region of North Canterbury. In this region just South of Marlborough, the cool, dry climate produces Savvy's expressing zippy acid, mineral drive from the stony Southern Alps, and juicy citrus fruits. All of Mt. Beautiful's wines are estate grown and certified sustainable, and the complex, elegant flavors are evidence of the care they put in the vineyards. Just a hint of green grass on the nose is the only vegetal note you get with this wine, with the core flavors coming in the form of citrus blossom, wet stone, and passionfruit. This is one of the better Sauvignon Blancs I've had this year and is a screaming deal at under $15.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
W&S 93 WS 90

2017 Clos Henri "Petit Clos" Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 11-07-2018
It's nearly impossible to find a wine made from all organic estate-fruit, from a premier Sancerre-based family at this under $20 price point. Established and run by the famed family that produces Henri Bourgeois wines in Sancerre, Clos Henri showcases the same varietals of Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir with an unmistakable New Zealand style. After having honed their winemaking skills for 10 generations, the Bourgeois family takes techniques from both France and New Zealand to make this elegant, refined Pinot Noir. Pulling from all three soil types on the estate, the "Petit Clos" offers a unique look of the Marlborough terroir. With delicate, savory notes, this Pinot is very understated and sophisticated. There is no big showing of ripe fruit here. Instead herbal notes, with lively acidity and tannin taking the forefront. There is a beautiful integration of all these components to make a wine this long-respected family should be proud of.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Clos Saint-Jean Châteauneuf-du-Pape Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I was fortunate enough to be able to taste this vintage side-by-side with the 2015, just a year younger, and after having both I can attest that this wine is still a baby. The 2016 is showing a little tightly wound right now, but displays fantastic balance and dark fruit underneath. Since I got to taste the previous years wines, I can tell that the 2016 is going to be delicious and incredibly expressive when it loosens up. The old vines do lend great concentration to the wine and a ton of character. Patience will be rewarded with this one.

2016 Domaine Giraud "Tradition" Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-31-2018
The Giraud "Tradition" has long been one of my top picks from Chateauneuf-du-Pape for the elegance and freshness it displays. It's not without its richness, but it displays it incredibly well, and does not come across as hot as some others from the area. The structure is there as well as up-front acidity and they both play off very well against the deep, dark fruit. This is one of the most special bottlings from the region you can get.

2016 Domaine Clos de Sixte Lirac
Review Date: 10-31-2018
This would make a fantastic Thanksgiving wine. It exhibits sweet red fruit, a medium weight body, and a savory note on the finish. I was very pleased with the freshness and vibrancy it displayed and the fine spices give it a lot of character.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 JD 92

2017 Stolpman "Para Maria" Santa Barbara County Red Blend
Review Date: 10-31-2018
I was really excited when I tasted this wine to ind it so expressive, fresh and light-bodied. Then I heard that it was done with 40% carbonic maceration, which obviously helps bring it to another level of freshness. What a genius idea! This bottle has great bright fruit notes and little tannin. I was expecting a heavier, denser red blend from Santa Barbara and was very pleasantly surprised by this one.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92 - 95

2016 Penfolds "Bin 407" Cabernet Sauvignon South Australia
Review Date: 10-31-2018
As the 'Bin 389' is a baby version of the 'Grange', the 'Bin 407' is a baby version of Penfolds iconic Cabernet, 'Bin 707'. Power and depth define this wine, while an incredible amount of refinement and a long finish act as complementing factors. This is a full-bodied wine with plenty of dark fruit, savory herb, and coffee notes. The tannins are for sure present, but smooth, and the French oak adds an elegance American oak cannot. This bottling is undoubtedly Cabernet, though a lusher, more powerful version than you might encounter in Margaret River. The 'Bin 407' is a great way to experience Penfold's highest end Cabernet at 1/6 of the price.

2016 Penfolds "Bin 28 Kalimna" Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 10-31-2018
Always one of our best-selling offerings from Penfolds, the Bin 28 is a classic Shiraz the winery has been producing since 1959. Notes of cherry and raspberry dominate the nose, while the mouthfeel lingers more on dark fruits of plum and blackberry. Spices, both peppery and sweet, are definitely present, which is surprising given the warm vintage. The fine, smooth tannin structure creates a velvety feel and there is a nice line of acid running through the whole thing to keep it fresh and bright. This wine is youthful, yet full-bodied, and a great, inexpensive bottling to enjoy from one of the most prestigious wineries in Australia.

2016 Penfolds "Bin 389" Cabernet-Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 10-31-2018
The Penfolds "Bin 389" is an elegant red from one of the most sought-after producers in Australia. The Shiraz provides a juicy mouthfeel with beautiful lift, while the Cabernet lends length and structure to help balance the dark fruit. Penfolds has struck the perfect balance between the two varietals, creating a wine that is unbelievably smooth with fine tannin and vibrant fruit notes. The American oak complements without adding any unnecessary flavors and the underlying spice and herbs help bring balance and complexity. Though this wine comes off a touch tight initially, it opens up beautifully to reveal lush blackberry notes and soft cocoa. This is a great way to get a part of the 'Grange' for a fraction of the price.

2015 Xanadu Chardonnay Margaret River Western Australia
Review Date: 10-30-2018
For anyone who has shied away from Australian Chardonnay in the past assuming it would be too rich or oaky, this is the wine to change your mind. More on par with a Burgundy, this wine is not lacking in bright, fresh acidity thanks to the halting of malolactic fermentation. Lees stirring and French oak aging give a creamier, more opulent mouthfeel and the crisp citrus notes bring vibrancy and punch. The oak is almost imperceptible and is mainly there to add roundness and structure. Mineral-drive and a long finish remind me of Fixin or Marsannay, but the unique qualities of the Gin Gin clone make it all Margaret River. Coming from Napa or Burgundy, this incredible wine would be twice the price.
Top Value!

2016 Ata Rangi "Crimson" Pinot Noir Martinborough
Review Date: 10-23-2018
Ata Rangi has gained worldwide recognition for their highly complex, unmatched Pinot Noir and their "Crimson" offering certainly has a lot to offer at a fraction of the price as their flagship. The structure and acidity in this wine hit you right away and let you know this wine can definitely be cellared for a decade. That's how much power it has. Soft, juicy red fruits roll past the initial tannin and create a silky, enveloping mouthfeel. Dark berries intermingle with spice and herbs to create a wine that is uniquely Martinborough. It's nearly impossible to find a wine of this caliber in California or Burgundy for this price point.
Top Value!

2015 Nelle Wines Central Coast Syrah
Review Date: 10-23-2018
There is a lot going on in this wine and frankly I was surprised it was only $30 when I tasted the complexity this wine possesses. There is a lot of spice to it and quite a good amount of acid considering how big it is. There are flavors imparted by the oak, but they add softness and richness to this savory and structured wine. This is not a delicate wine and the powerful characters make it all the more interesting.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart
RP 94 WE 92

2016 Angels & Cowboys Sonoma County Proprietary Red Blend
Review Date: 10-23-2018
This wine is incredibly smooth with hints of cinnamon and sweet spice and a fresh, lifted mouthfeel. Low tannins give this wine a silky feel and dark fruits adds juiciness and lushness without a fat, overly ripe feel. This one is sure to be a crowd-pleaser and is a great choice for ushering in the richer foods of Fall.
Price: $19.95 Add To Cart
DC 96

2014 d'Arenberg "The Dead Arm" Shiraz McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 10-17-2018
Any winery that takes the time and man power to foot tread every one of their wines, definitely takes winemaking seriously. Named after the Eutypa fungus that affects some vineyards, the 'Dead Arm' refers to one half of the vine that rots and falls off, while the fruit that lives on the remaining arm grows more concentrated and complex. That effect is very evident in this wine, as it showcases unbelievable power and structure. This is not one of the Shiraz fruit-bombs you may associate with Australia. This fruit comes from cooler-site McLaren Vale and the lift and tannin in the wine certainly showcase it's terroir. D'Arenberg is a highly sought after winery in Australia and after tasting this wine, it's not hard to see why.

2015 Querciabella Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-17-2018
2015 was a warm vintage in Chianti and you will definitely find a broader than normal palate in this wine from the riper fruit, but it certainly does not lack acid or structure. Juicy dark fruit complements the drying tannin and makes this wine one you can drink now or hold onto. This would go perfectly with a steak or cream-based dish.

2016 Fèlsina Chianti Classico
Review Date: 10-17-2018
One of the things I love about Italy is the vintage variations can be pretty stark, and they don't try to alter this by sticking to a pre-fab recipe. While the 2015 Felsina Chianti Classico was rich and supple, the 2016 is markedly different. Dry, spicy, more complex and structured, this is one you can definitely hold onto for a decade or more if you want. There is a nice red and black fruit balance to offset some of that power, and if you are drinking it soon, a little decanting wouldn't hurt.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 RP 92

2017 Abbazia di Novacella Schiava Alto Adige
Review Date: 10-17-2018
What a fantastic wine to drink to usher in Fall. Light bodies and fruit, spicy and aromatic, and little herbal and crunchy on the finish. It seems a little Spätburgunder-like to me. A great interesting and tasty red at a killer price point.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2012 Louis Roederer Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
It's relatively rare for a champagne house of this size to own its own vineyards, but Roederer is adamant that if they declare a vintage wine, it all must come from its own vineyards. The toast nose belies the zippy, high acid palate and the Verzenay fruit truly shines. Great minerality and citrus notes, this is a fantastic party Champagne, as it is sure to please everyone there.

2009 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Dilection" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
Most people would not take the risk of doing a vintage Champagne in the warm year that 2009 was. That's what makes Alexandre Le Brun's wines so fun and interesting, he makes such a small production that he can experiment and create something incredible like this rosé. He gets great concentration in this wine, thank to the addition of 15% still red wine as well as old vines. The 116 year old vines produce fruit with great concentration and length and add incredible complexity. The Chardonnay keeps this wine fresh and lifted and an elegant, medium body Champagne.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2007 Alexandre Le Brun "Cuvée Fascination" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
This is a unique take on Blanc de Blanc and one of the more complex and intriguing ones on our shelves. Grown in very pure chalk, this wine retains a natural freshness and high acidity. The winemakers does a great job of balancing that by aging his Chardonnay in barrel, to round it out and lend some lovely toasty quality. When Bollinger buys he majority of your fruit, it must mean you are going something right as a growers. He is doing something very right as a winemaker as well.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Nature de Solemme" Blanc de Blancs 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
The most crisp and high acid of the three Solemme bottlings, this wine exhibits every characteristic to make it fresh and invigorating. When you combine 100% Chardonnay with no malolactic fermentation and no dosage, the result could be dangerously harsh and to tart for consumption. That is not the case here. The wine is zippy, but in a refreshing, stimulating way and the winemaker manages to hit just the right balance for the Brut Nature style. A great food Champagne, this is one I'd be ecstatic to bring to any dinner party.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

Solemme "Ambre de Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Nature Champagne
Review Date: 10-16-2018
When our Champagne buyer thinks a wine is good enough to bring in hundreds of cases after one sip, I sit up and take notice. It can be scary taking a chance on a new producer, but when you know the wines are that good, it's worth the risk. The Solemme wines fit this description. The care the winemaker puts in is evident through his use of biodynamics, which clearly indicated he cares about his vine quality and health. This particular bottling may have been my favorite of the three, not least of which because it possesses a beautiful rose gold color. With floral notes and bright acidity to bring a fresh, crisp palate, it's made all the more special by being a rare 100% Pinot Meunier bottling.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2014 Ramey "Platt Vineyard" Sonoma Coast Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-16-2018
If you are looking for an elegant, expressive single vineyard Domestic Chardonnay, look no further than this vibrant example from Ramey. A little nutty and briochy from the lees contact are a great counter-balance to the fresh fruit and bright acidity present. I was very pleasantly surprised by the long finish and encompassing mouthfeel. I've always turned to Ramey as a great go-to reliable California Chardonnay, and I'm very pleased to add this one to my recommended list.
Price: Hidden View Price
RP 95 WE 93

2015 Black Slate "Porrera" Priorat
Review Date: 10-16-2018
This is a serious wine with plenty to ponder over for only $16. Very dark fruit dominates and the mouthfeel is soft, but lifted and medium bodied. Priorat is well-known for producing richer, more fruit-forward wines, but this example from one of the cooler towns also brings structure and life. It's pretty rare to be able to do a multi-village comparison from an area like this, but we are fortunate enough to be able to carry a couple examples of this from Priorat. Try this and the 2016 Black Slate "Escala Dei" Vi de la Vila Priorat side by side for a fun tasting.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart
JD 93 RP 91

2015 Greywacke Pinot Noir Marlborough
Review Date: 10-16-2018
Delicious, dark, opulent fruit dominates this take on Marlborough Pinot Noir from former Cloudy Bay winemaker Kevin Judd. Kevin has spent many years in the area and knows how to make a crowd-pleasing Pinot. Silky tannin, notes of Christmas spices, and dark cherry meld together seamlessly in a lush, unctuous manner. The clay soils of the Southern Valleys produce Pinot's of greater heft and weight than other regions in Marlborough and that holds true in this bottling. Although Sauvignon Blanc is the flagship of Greywacke, their Pinot Noir is so special it should not be missed.

Solemme "Terre Solemme" 1er Cru Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Comprised of 55% Pinot Meunier, 25% Pinot Noir, and 20% Chardonnay, the Solemme "Terre Solemme" is one of my favorite new additions to the K&L shelf. It's wonderful to see the move toward biodynamics hit Champagne and I really do believe it makes a difference in the quality of the wine, when the fruit is treated with care and natural products. At 6 g/L dosage it hits the perfect balance between fresh crispness and rounded softness. The premier cru vineyard origins of the fruit don't hurt either.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2011 Michel Arnould "Memoire de Vignes" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
When you come across any wine from 50+ year-old vines from a Grand Cru region, it's pretty much a given that this is going to be a good one. When you throw in a world-class producer like Michel Arnould to make this wine, there should be nothing holding you back from picking up this special bottle. Great concentrated fruit, with nice mineral lift and a little toast on the finish, this bottle shown beautiful balance and poise.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2008 Fallet-Dart Vintage Extra Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-10-2018
It is pretty incredible how 3 g/L of residual sugar dosage can make such a huge difference in the taste of the wine. While the 2008 Fallet-Dart with 7 g/L dosage shows a little richer and more generous, this bottling in lean, fresh, bright, and crisp. Some Extra Brut's are so lean they are too rough on their own, but I don't think that's the case with this bottling. While it does exhibit powerful acid, there is enough fat here to keep it in sippable territory. With food or not, this was a fantastic bottling in a highly lauded vintage from one of my favorite producers.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bagueri Ribolla Gialla Slovenia
Review Date: 10-10-2018
There is a fantastically intriguing nose to this wine that manages to combine honey and saline notes seamlessly. Fresh apricot and other stone fruits shine through, while a line of minerality helps bring zippiness and energy to the wine. With medium acidity and a light body, this makes a fantastic food wine and I can certainly see why they pair it with some cream-based dishes. This will be a lovely white for Fall.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2016 Jeff Carrel "Les Darons" Languedoc Rouge
Review Date: 10-10-2018
Not overly complex or complicated, this wine is a fresh, fruit-forward offering from Languedoc that is sure to appease your dinner guests. Medium bodied with dark fruit and an easy finish make this an appealing wine. Dusky tannin help the balance the black cherry and raspberry character of the Grenache and a fine line of acidity adds freshness and life.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
JD 91

2017 Sigalas Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 10-10-2018
This vintage shows a little richer side of Assyrtiko with notes of orchard fruit and white flowers. A fun contrast to the Gaia Estate version, this rape shows a wide range of styles and flavors, all of which would make fantastic food pairing whites. I can't wait to explore this region and varietal more and have only been impressed by the offerings and flavor profiles so far.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 93

2017 Gaia Estate "Thalassitis" Assyrtiko Santorini Greece
Review Date: 10-10-2018
The rich, nutty nose is the first thing to hit you in this wine, but the underlying palate is quite different with super fresh, bright acidity and citrus character. The high minerality and salinity of this wine undoubtedly are due to the island climate and a slight umami character peeks through in the end. This wine is different from most I've ever had, in a great way. If you are looking for a food-friendly white that diverges from the regular Sancerre or Chardonnay, please try this one.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart
RP 95 WE 90

2013 Andrew Will "Sorella" Horse Heaven Hills Red Blend
Review Date: 10-09-2018
This is a lovely, juicy, approachable take on a Washington Bordeaux blend. Not falling into either the rich, high-alcohol Napa camp, nor the brambly, lean Bordeaux camp, this wine showcases great balance of fruit with herbal and savory character. Lasting just long enough while not being heavy or bitter on the palate, this wine would go perfectly with steak dinner.

2016 Casa Castillo Monastrell Jumilla
Review Date: 10-09-2018
There are a lot of interesting elements to this wine and hard to believe there can be so much complexity for $13! There is a fantastic balance of acid and fruit here and it wouldn't be Monastrell without a kick of structure in the back. The combination of concrete and barrel fermentation help round the sharp edges of this wine without adding any oak taste that would drown out the dark fruit. Fantastic wine!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2012 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino Riserva
Review Date: 10-09-2018
It was love for me at the first scent of this wine. There is such an incredibly life and energy to this wine with rich fruit on the nose, bright acidity on the palate, and vibrant tannins in the back. This is one of the best Brunello's I've had in a while, unsurprising coming from such a consistent and stellar producer.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart
WS 97

2016 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 10-09-2018
Perhaps more a classic take on Rosso di Montalcino, there is not as much rich fruit in this bottling as there was in the last vintage of Baricci. This year shows itself as more herbal and savory and is still quite tight with a good amount of backbone behind it. Baricci has always been one of my favorite Montalcino producers and I will be picking up a few of these to cellar, though with a little decanting I wouldn't hesitate to open one soon either.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva
Review Date: 10-09-2018
There is a lot of wine on offer in this bottling from one of my favorite Italian white producers. Light citrus fruit, saline, and mineral aspects are well-balances by a richer textured, creamier mouthfeel. Super fresh with a long finish and mild honey phenolics make this one I will be recommending to customers again and again.
Top Value!

2015 Framingham Marlborough Pinot Noir
Review Date: 10-03-2018
It's almost impossible to find a wine of this complexity and breadth at this price point from such an incredibly respected producer. This is not a simple, fruity-style Marlborough Pinot. It is deep, with herbal and wood notes, with dark berries dominating the palate. These complex notes do not add extra weight however and the palate elegantly dances and inexplicably remains silky. This is always one I look forward to seeing come off the boat and would make the perfect Fall and Thanksgiving wine.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 91 RP 90

2017 Bodega Chacra "Cincuenta y Cinco" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 09-18-2018
This is truly a complex wine, undoubtedly sue to the older vine age, not often found in Argentina. There is a heafty amount of fine tannin and structure here, though it comes across as power, not bitterness. Darker red fruits are predominant and no hint of oak or vanilla is present, indicating they selected the right type and quality of barrel to round the whole cluster edges, while imparting none of its own flavor. This is a sophisticated Pinot Noir that I believe would be great with grilled meats and veggies.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 97

Jean de La Fontaine "La Flatteuse" Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2018
This is a gorgeous Rosé Champagne, with a medium weight body and a lovely, fresh balance of fruit. Great length and bright acidity give it a "pow" and creates a wine you can't stop thinking about for several minutes after you're done. This may be my new go-to Rosé, prefect by itself or with a multitude of dishes heading into Fall.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

Jean de La Fontaine "L'Éloquente" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-18-2018
While my tastes are edging more toward toasty, rich Champagne than they ever have in the past, I'm always pleased to go back to a wine such as this one that has beautiful freshness and a lighter body. The is a creaminess and fantastic length to the mouthfeel, but there are no oak or caramel notes associated with a longer age time. Not only does it sit a long time on the palate after you've swallowed, there is a great breadth to it as well, not something I expected from the light, zippy nose. Overall, great balance and substance and one I will be reaching for again.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2015 Domaine Belle "Cuvée Louis Belle" Crozes-Hermitage
Review Date: 09-12-2018
I was really impressed by this wine and the layers of flavor it showcased across the palate. It shows very juicy up front with bright red fruits and you get more of the fine tannin in the back end, creating great length. They have managed to create beautiful balance between the fruit and structure, while keeping the body medium, not weighed down. Domaine Belle will become one of my go-to's for Crozes-Hermitage going forward.

Page: 1 2 3 4 next