Staff Favorites - Rachel Vogel

Rachel Vogel

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Cantina Terlano "Terlaner Classico" White Blend Alto Adige
Review Date: 09-17-2018
One of my favorite wines for anyone looking for a merited food pairing. A blend of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay, and Sauvignon Blanc aged in stainless steel that just sees a touch of barrel. The Pinot Bianco gives backbone to the wine. It is filled with savory, herbal characters while the Chardonnay adds deep orchard fruit notes and the Sauvignon chimes in with fresh lemon citrus. It is balanced, textured, fresh and easily pairs with all types of food!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2015 Blason Bruma Bianco Friuli
Review Date: 09-17-2018
We continually have knock-out wines from Blason, from their crowd favorite Pinot Grigio to their boxed Friulano, here is the next to sell out. The Bruma is a blend of Malvasia (not like the sweet ones your are used to) and Friulano with full textural tones form not only being fermented in barrique but aged for 12 months in barrel with lots of lees stirring. Now it may sound like a wine only for those who love domestic Chardonnay, however, it also has a stunning saline backbone and drive of minerality that will make anyone fall in love.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
DC 96

2016 Silvano Follador "Cartizze" Prosecco Superiore Brut Nature
Review Date: 09-17-2018
From a hilly, single vineyard in Valdobbiadene, the Cartizze from Silvano Follador (one of our top selling Prosecco producers) is fragrant and floral on the nose with notes of fresh green apples. The first single vineyard we have carried from this producer, it is similar to its sister wine due to their lack of addition sugar (or dosage) for the second fermentation. It is dry with a beautiful backbone of minerality and that fresh apple carries through on the palate.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Trudon "Emblematis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-14-2018
Emblematis, which can translate as "symbolic", to Trudon expresses the house's "historical style" while featuring 70% Meunier that thrives from the Festigny soils. 60% of the wine is from the difficult yet concentrated vintage of 2012 while the rest of the wine is a reserve blend. The wine is driven with mouthwatering acidity mixed with a finesse of floral undertones and is held on the back palate with chalky minerality. An award winning champagne at an award winning price!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico "Colonia" Gran Selezione
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A powerful Chianti with characteristics that remind me of a high end Super Tuscan. It is bold with deep and concentrated red fruits. The dusty French oak tannins mingle with the almost chewy grape tannins. A gentle acidity delicately holds the wine together while really showcasing those other bold flavors.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart
RP 97 VN 95

2017 Peter Zemmer Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 08-03-2018
At the end of a long day of tasting we popped opened a bottle of this PG and it was exactly what we needed. It was complex but easy to enjoy. The floral aromatics, baking spice and green apple on the nose invited us into a layered palate. The wine had body and texture without losing the steady acidity you dream of in Pinot Grigio. I found a tension of minerality that tied the more nuanced flavors together. The beautiful floral notes lingered on the long and enjoyable finish bringing another element to the wine.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart
DC 95

2017 Torti Pinot Noir Pavia
Review Date: 07-31-2018
Finding a sub $20 Pinot Noir worth any merit is difficult these days, but finding a sub $15 that is undoubtedly enjoyable is near impossible. Torti has taken a grape uncommon in Italy and made it worth while. We took their motto "No Torti, no party" to heart the other night at our staff BBQ and cracked open a bottle or two. It was fresh, lively and great with all the foods and fixings we had before us. It is smooth with juicy red plums and a hidden bit of spice from time in barrique. Easy to enjoy as your next bargain red!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Elvio Cogno Pre-Phyloxera Barbera d'Alba
Review Date: 07-16-2018
I brought this wine to our staff blind tasting last week and was not only able to stump them, I was able to impress them. The wine had some of the distinguishing marks we love in our Barbera, like high, fresh acidity, while having distinct characteristics that could attribute to the native root stock. The fruit was deep and powerful that kept half the staff thinking it was a new world wine while the undertone of savory earth had the other half guessing old world. We could all agree though that it was flavorful, accessible, and dynamic.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2015 Torti Barbera Oltrepo Pavese
Review Date: 07-16-2018
I take the Torti Family's motto to heart- "no Torti, no party!" It speaks to its Barbera which is a go-to if you are looking for a fun, fresh, and food friendly red! The full body and integrated structure make it easy to pair with anything from grilled veggies to a rustic grilled chicken dish. The ripe red plum and cherry character intermix with fresh acidity and a finish that is layered with gentle spice. The bottle will be gone before you know it!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart
JS 90

2015 Nozzole Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 07-10-2018
A classic but discerning nose that is filled with fresh herbs. The glass filled with rosemary and thyme gently mixed with red plums. I was greeted on the palate with lively acidity and that beautiful fruit. While the wine is inviting and easy to enjoy on its own, it is an outstanding dinner pairing!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 94

2002 Piper-Heidsieck "Cuvée Rare" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 07-03-2018
The romance of the Cuvee Rare starts at the beginning of its reign. The first vintage came from the hot '76 vintage where the winemakers made magic by being able to balance the ripe, opulent grapes to give us a generous but balanced wine. While the 2002 vintage is the first of the Cuvee Rare I have been able to get my hands on, the story holds true. The wine is lush with lees texture and ripeness of fruit. Although the lavish wine is filled with texture it is not stagnant or heavy. A crisp apple like acidity is there to balance the longevity of the beautiful palate.

2015 Graci Etna Rosso
Review Date: 06-28-2018
An older, higher elevation vineyard than most entry-level Etna Rossos, and even at $26 this wine shows some aging potential. It is fermented and aged in cement for a clean wine that focus on the region's mineral character and the grape's natural grip. The mid-palate is filled with crushed cherry skins and spice that add to its already complex nature. Whether keeping or drinking, it would a shame not to share this wine, paired with your best Sicilian style dishes!
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WS 91

2016 Planeta Etna Rosso
Review Date: 06-27-2018
While many Etna Rosso wines benefit from long aging, the Planeta is fresh and approachable soon after release. It is more supple filled with sweet cherries and medium structure. It is food friendly and maybe too easy to enjoy. Like drinking a Nebbiolo Langhe while you wait for your Barolos to age, you drink the Planeta while you wait for your single vineyard Etnas to come around!
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2015 Graci "Arcuria" Etna Bianco
Review Date: 06-27-2018
I couldn't find a wind that stands out in the crowd more than the Graci Acuria Bianco from Mt. Etna. Its high elevation and neutral oak use make it beyond nuanced and complex. It is clean with fineness and aromatics of honeysuckle and minerals. As my cohorts have said, this wine could rival some of the best in Burgundy!

2016 Biondi "Pianta" Etna Bianco
Review Date: 06-27-2018
On a steep slope (imagine reaching up to pick your grapes!) from the South East corner of an active volcano grows Carricante and Cataratto. These two grapes come together and create a spicy, intriguing and earth focused wine. It has more skin contact than it's brother wine, the Outis, and has an almost vermouth quality to it. It is refreshing and flavorful with a strong mineral backbone. The fruit is fresh and lively while a biting back palate sets it in place.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2016 Biondi "Outis" Etna Bianco
Review Date: 06-19-2018
From the South East corner of Mt. Etna comes a concentrated and textured white from Biondi. It is ripe and full of flavor with a bit of skin contact for color, texture and character. The nose is filled with honeycomb and green apple skins. It is matched on the palate with great acidity from only seeing stainless steel. It is complex but graceful.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Graci Etna Bianco
Review Date: 06-18-2018
On our tasting sheet, the price for this wine was miss-typed double the price. We all tried it and though it was amazing! The quality of the wine is obvious from smell to sip. Hailing from the Northern slopes of Mt. Etna on older vines, this blend of Carricante and Catarato only sees stainless steel. It is pure and concentrated. The focused minerality sends the palate out long and doesn't end. We were shocked when we found out it was actually only $25.99. The value of this wine is outstanding. It will also get you hooked on Etna Bianco and lead you to the producer's single vineyard that could be aged!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
RP 91 WS 90

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo
Review Date: 06-18-2018
Fratelli Barale was the first Barolo producer I fell in love with when I started at K&L. The Casterello is their single vineyard estate bottling that comes with depth and concentration. The captivating aromatics are filled with a mix of deep floral notes and savory cherry skins. It is structured and bold, but the nuances are not lost in the young age. I will definitely be adding a few bottles to my cellar in hopes that a few of them will make it long term!

2014 Pranzegg "Laurenc" Lagrein
Review Date: 06-18-2018
When I think of the climate of the Alto Adige, an area right near the Alps, I think of cold weather. But the valley where this Lagrein is grown, squeezed between the Alps and the Dolomites, is one of the 3 hottest cities during the Italian summer. This is great for the thick skinned Lagrein grape and great for us! The Pranzegg is filled with classic black and white pepper flavors with concentrated notes of black berries. It is biodynamic and sees lees contact giving ths wine a great texture. The acidity is not lost in the warm climate, but a balance of full bodied flavor really sets the tone for this wine.
Price: $38.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alfio Mozzi Sforzato
Review Date: 06-18-2018
The musical translation for Sforzato (the region in Valtellina from where we are getting this wine) is that a note or chord that is played with particular emphasis or with your entire heart and soul. The Sforzato from Alfio Mozzi is just that. A wine made with heart and soul. The Nebbiolo grapes are often picked a week earlier than others (traditionally due to weather conditions) and then dried on mats for a few months before pressing, just like Amarone. The wine is powerful and deep with savory cherry skin flavors and a rich nose. The Nebbiolo grape has thinner skins than those used in Amarone, so the wine isn't quite as structured leading it to be much more accessible. I couldn't think of anything better than to pair this with grilled sausages or pork chops!
Price: $67.99 Add To Cart

2015 Scerscé "Nettare" Rosso di Valtellina
Review Date: 06-18-2018
Made 100% Nebbiolo that is locally known in parts of Lombardy as "Chiavennasca." It is unlike any red you will find in Piedmont. Being barricaded between the Swiss Alps and the Adda River gives Valtellina a climate perfect for structured Nebbiolo with elegance. The Rosso from Scersce is sourced from the southern most part of the property with the youngest vines. It is spicy, floral and fruity with grit, assertiveness, and a surprising delicacy. It is perfect with fresh and earthy dishes being made this summer.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2012 Alfio Mozzi "Grisone" Sassella
Review Date: 06-18-2018
From the most prestigious region in Valtellina, Lombardy, the Sassella subregion consists of 325 acres of steep slopes with sandy limestone soils. The Grisone from Alfio Mozzi is a hand picked, single vineyard Nebbiolo that is enthusiastic in its aromatics and concentrated on the palate. It spends 18 months in small french oak barrel that balances the snap and tenacity of the wine. The fresh, red fruit is still alive and kicking while mixing with notes of savory black tea and leather. It is light to medium bodied and perfect for your next grilled dinner!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$27.99

2017 Pra "Morandina" Valpolicella Superiore
Review Date: 06-06-2018
Not your average Valpolicella. The Pra starts off with a spicy, smokey nose influenced by notes of crushed red cherries. It is lighter and fresher than most wines in the area, almost relating to a Beaujolais. The crunchy red fruit on the palate balances the black pepper spice while the freshness makes this a perfect red for summer.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Quintodecimo "Exultet" Fiano d'Avellino
Review Date: 06-06-2018
Often seen as the start of the white wines in Campania, this single vinyard Fiano is elegant with long and lean acidity to carry you through. While the more characterizing note of honeycomb slowly showed after a bit of breathing, the wine had a bit more savory, exotic and mineral characteristics that contributed to its polished and refined taste.
Price: Hidden View Price
JS 93 WS 90

2016 Quintodecimo "Jaune d'Arles" Greco di Tufo
Review Date: 06-06-2018
A top producer in Campania that has three single vineyard bottlings for each of the three major white wine grapes of the region. The subregion of Tufo is known for its volcanic soils while the Greco grape is known for its deep color. The combination creates an expressive and aromatic wine with high acidity, tropical fruit character and a perfect ripeness. The wine spends 7 months on its lees with a bit of small barrel contact to balance the high acidity and create a beautiful, medium bodied texture.
Price: Hidden View Price
WE 92

2016 Cantina Valle Isarco "Aristos" Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 06-06-2018
Wedged between two mountain ranges, The Alps and Dolomites, the wine makers at the Catine Valle Isarco are not lacking in quality soil for their wines. The Aristos, from the Greek origin for Aristocrat, is a reserve wine that is bursting with stony minerality that will make your mouth water. Combined with a some large oak barrels and 7 months of lees contact for amazing texture, the wine is unstoppable and well balanced. Lemon zest and Bosc pears add depth and complexity to this already unique wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 97

2017 Pra Soave Classico "Otto"
Review Date: 06-06-2018
My favorite thing about summer is how well it pairs with Italian white wines. The Pra Soave Classico is perfect for those warm summer evenings. 100% Garganega coming from 60 year old vines that are vinified in stainless steel. The expressive lemon and chalk nose is a preview for the bright, tart citrus flavors that linger on the long palate- could you ask for anything more refreshing?
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart
WS 90

2017 Leone de Castris "Five Roses" Rosato
Review Date: 05-22-2018
While you are sipping on your French roses these warm months, don't forget that the Italian rosato should be your new summer fling. The five roses has a beautiful, full nose filled with berries and a hint of bubblegum. It is sweet and a bit tangy on the palate, like a freshly picked white cherry. It has high acidity, medium body and is completely dry. The juicy fruit and fresh acidity make it mouthwatering through the long finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 05-22-2018
With three extra weeks on the vine than the Monacesca, the Mirum has more finness with a soft and elegant nose. White flowers and tropical fruits pop on the nose and compliment the palate's full bodied texture and high acidity. It is still fresh and lively like it's sister wine with just a bit more nuance and minerality on the finish. An absolutely delicious wine that can bridge the gap between chardonnay and sauvignon blanc drinkers.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2016 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica
Review Date: 05-22-2018
The Monacesca competes for my favorite white wine every year not only due to it's uniqueness, but also it's subtle complexities and bold flavors. As always, the verdicchio does not see any oak, but has an extended growing time with a bit of skin contact creating a full bodied, flavorful wine without losing any acidity. It is powerful with notes of sweet citrus and anjou pears. The wine is filled with texture while the bold acidity keeps it driven and juicy.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
WE 90

2013 Castello di Bossi "Berardo" Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-14-2018
A lively, embracing nose greets you and showcases the French oak while hints of espresso are layered under scents of fresh violets, raspberries, and red cherry. Full and ripe red fruit on the palate with driven acidity and chewy tannins. The finish lingers with a savory, umami character intertwined with crushed cherry skins. It is nuanced yet has bold flavors, easy to drink with structure.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2015 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva
Review Date: 05-12-2018
The long awaited 2015 Riserva from Felsina is finally here! We have had the Chianti Classico for a few months now and it quickly became staple at my house. All the nuances and aromatics of the Classico is echoed in the Riserva with a touch more depth of savory Sangiovese character. That dark plum stands out with spice and chewy structure clings to my palate. The acidity keeps that structure in its place. This wine is stunning now but I think it could hang out in your cellar for a bit to really homogenize. However, as I am writing this- the savory nuances still haven't let go!

2015 Cecchi Villa Cerna "Primocolle" Chianti Classico
Review Date: 05-12-2018
A deeper, darker, more brooding fruit character that clings to a gentle spice on the nose. Balance, depth, and intrigue made it hard not to go back for more in our store tasting! Great savory, chewy structure makes me crave some grilled pork loin with bold herbs. Bring this to your next bbq!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JS 92

Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Picked from the top 40 barrels from the strongest vintages, this current Cuvee Paradis is all from the 2007 harvest. An unusually hectic vintage that resulted in fantastic wine. This rose has a clean, raspberry filled nose with lots of lees character. Which makes sense since it spends 11 years on the lees! That tart raspberry character clings to the palate with notes of pink citrus and fresh brioche. It has a beautiful texture and is extremely balance.

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
This recently disgorged wine has some unique characteristics of tart raspberries and barrel spice. It is based on the 2013 vintage, which was a vintage that made Champagne producers a little uneasy. The late flowering meant a late harvest, but the common consensus is that Chardonnay really shined. Luckily the Alfred Gratien rose is made with 50% Chardonnay. It spends four years on the lees before release to add texture and depth to the wine.

2008 Alfred Gratien "Cuvée Paradis" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
The Cuvee Paradis from Alfred Gratien are the top 40 barrels of the strongest vintages. It is almost exclusively Grand Cru fruit with a dabble of Premier Cru Pinot Noir. It showcases the 2008 acidity with amazing vibrancy while showing off the wine maker's personality with the oak spice that really pops on the finish. This is a wine I could easily drink now, but am very excited to see what the future holds for it! Hopefully be a few in my cellar soon!

Alfred Gratien Brut Classique Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
I love getting in new Champagne producers! Gary opens my eyes to what amazing and distinctive wines can come out of one region. To me, each of our grower/producers in Champagne put their heart, soul, and personality into their wines; and Alfred Gratien is no different. All of his wines are barrel fermented without any malolactic fermentation. So to balance the acidity, these wines are aged for a long while on its lees. This Brut spends 5 years while the minimum required is 1.5 years. It is nutty, medium bodied with beautiful richness and bright lemon citrus that keeps it vibrant. Half Chardonnay brings in that citrus character and just a hint of tropical fruit on the palate. While the Pinot Noir and Meunier assist with the depth and complexity.

2010 Fallet-Dart Vintage Brut Champagne
Review Date: 05-08-2018
Last year we all fell in love with the 2008 Fallet-dart, a true example of the vintage. Now the 2010, a sunnier vintage with balanced wines is here to steal your heart. It is the same breakdown as the '08, 70% Chardonnay (mostly from Fallet-dart's personal, and oldest, Clos) and 30% Pinot Noir. The nose in entrancing with sweet citrus and gentle minerality that is mirrored on the richly textured but balanced palate. The acidity is not lost but keeps a juicy freshness on the long finish.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

Fallet-Dart "Clos du Mont" Brut Champagne (2004)
Review Date: 05-08-2018
In my review for the last bottling of the Clos du Mont, I mentioned that it was emailed before I was able to try it. A customer came to ask me questions about the wine and when I read the description Gary had written I fell in love with it before even trying. The last bottle was based on two great vintages, 1999 and 2002, this time is solely 2004. A fantastic vintage that was characterized by the dry winter and spring that brought ripeness and concentration to the grapes. The high amount of chardonnay has kept this wine vibrant, fresh and long on the finish. The barrel fermentation gives the wine it's spice and complexity while the outstanding 13 years on the lees gives nuance and texture you can't imagine. The nose is filled with limestone and each time I try this wine I am blown away by its subtle characters of this unique wine.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart

2015 Arnaldo Caprai Montefalco Rosso
Review Date: 05-01-2018
Montefalco Rosso's are often described as less austere and more approachable than the well known Montefalco Sagrantino. This is mostly due to the fact that the Rosso's are only required to have 10-15% of the thick skinned, high tannin and powerful grape, Sagrantino, but has 60-70% Sangiovese and in the case of the Caprai a bit of Merlot. So yes, it is much more approachable with a juicy mid palate, high tannins, ​but is by no means light or non-expressive. A nuanced and spicy nose with deep purple and red fruits compliments the lingering flavors on the palate and the high, long lived acidity that creates a dynamic and lasting finish.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 RP 90

2016 Ermacora Schioppettino Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 04-17-2018
A grape that was almost destroyed and forgotten began making a comeback when a wine maker's strong passion began to bring it back to life in the '70's. It is wine whose aromatics could easily be confused with Cabernet Franc or even Syrah due to the evident and exciting aromas of freshly ground black pepper corns. From first scent I thought it would make me sneeze! It is paired with a bouquet of fresh red fruits and black berries that carry into the palate. The unyielding acidity and integrated structure make it easy to enjoy while the savory pepper pops on the finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Le Calcinaie Ingredienti Uva (100% Sangiovese)
Review Date: 04-17-2018
What I love about Sangiovese that is aged in large neutral oak barrels verses new French barrique is the vibrancy and true character that the grape can still express. In the Ingredienti, it is completely stainless steel and a few lively characteristics have been highlighted. What you get is a vibrant and fresh nose that exudes beautiful notes of baking spice. It is alive on the palate with unique crunchy fruit and evident tannins. High acidity runs through the wine while a touch of savory, almost soy sauce like character clings to the tip of your tongue. This wine is anything but reserved.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
VN 92

2015 St-Michael-Eppan "Anger" Pinot Grigio Alto Adige
Review Date: 02-26-2018
It is not difficult to find an Italian Pinot Grigio, but it can be difficult to find one that is uncommon and expressive. Michael Eppan has made two outstanding PGs starting with their classic label collection and now with the Anger, named after the vineyard sites. About half of this second tier wine is fermented and aged in large oak barrels. Limestone gravel soil is apparent as it mixes with the herbaceous and expressive citrus character of the wine. The barrel influence gives a gentle texture that intermixes perfectly with the regions high acidity. The complexity of the Anger shows that Pinot Grigio can be so much more than an uncomplicated daily drinker.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cinqueterre "Pergole Sparse" Bianco
Review Date: 02-26-2018
The Cinque Terre is a set of five rustic Italian villages that spread through the Italian Riviera on the coast from Piedmont to Tuscany. This west coast region is called Liguria. To be a Cinque Terre wine, the wine must be 40% of the native grape Bosco, The Pergole Sparse is 70% Bosco, 20% Albarola, and 10% Vermentino. Bosco is a fresh, full bodied grape that can easily oxidize, giving this wine the tiniest sense of orange wine character with much more vibrant acidity and sweet citrus. The Albarola and Vermentino graciously add to the fruit character of the wine bringing an inviting freshness that takes the depth of wine to a longer finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Tenuta Carretta Gavi
Review Date: 02-23-2018
The second vintage of Carretta Gavi that we are carrying. Last years was bright, fresh and lovely. This years just as lively and inviting with a bit more complextity. A small bit of oak introduces a touch of texture to the wine while the bright notes of citrus dance from beginning to end. A little minerality goes a long way in this wine and carries it to a long, fresh finish. Excellent for summing sipping or enjoying it at your bbq!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Reserve" Brut Champagne (1.5L)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
There are many delicious Champagnes at $49, but there are very few in magnum at $49! Baron Fuente ages their magnum over a year longer than their 750s--which are aged twice as long as required--so you are getting a solid 4+ years of lees contact in the bottling. It has the same great richness and toasted brioche that we love from the 750, but being a larger format, that oxygen aging has been delayed. This brings a beautiful freshness and longevity to the wine and really makes the magnums ready for aging!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
W&S 92

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
From one of our best-priced Champagne producers come a bit of a higher-end bottling. The "7" is aptly named for the 7th generation of family winemakers, 7g/l of sugar at the dosage (which is nice and dry!) and 7 years on the lees! (just a reminder, the minimum is only 18 months). The 7 is made with 1/3 each Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Meunier - all estate fruit. The portion of Chardonnay is barrel fermented for a richer mid-palate with a beautiful acidity giving characteristics of lemon preserves spread on warm brioche buns. Absolutely delicious!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart
WE 93

Baron-Fuenté "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
With twice as much aging on the lees then required, the Grand Reserve has a rich toasted nose with scents of brioche and broad inviting earthiness. Mostly Meunier brings a soft elegance and deep fruit character by adding depth and complexity to the wine. A bit of red apple fruit and fresh sweet citrus carry the warm palate from start to finish.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 02-06-2018
The Franck Bonville Blanc de Blanc was the first Champagne I bought on the first night I worked at K&L, and it will always have a special spot in my heart. What makes it so special is the care and quality Olivier Bonville pours into his wines. Based on 2015, the Blanc de Blanc is half reserve wine from all estate fruit. Some time in barrel gives this Chardonnay a creamy, sweet citrus character, like that of a Meyer lemon or pink grapefruit. The chalky soil is not lost in this wine, either. A soft structure of dry white chalk elongates the palate and adds an extra level of complexity. It is a wine that never disappoints.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 WS 90

Baron-Fuente "Grande Réserve" Brut Champagne (375ml)
Review Date: 02-06-2018
Often with smaller Champagne bottles, they are aged one year less on the lees than the 750s since a smaller bottle will age with oxygen a little faster. But since Baron Fuente ages their 750s for twice as long as required, this half bottle is aged 6 months longer than some other Champagne houses. With that oxygen aging, you will get the characteristics you would find in an older bottle of champagne much quicker- a great way to see how your bottle may take form! The Grand Reserve has a rich toasted nose with scents of brioche and broad inviting earthiness. Mostly Meunier brings a soft elegance and deep fruit character by adding depth and complexity to the wine. A bit of crushed red apple fruit and skins with fresh sweet citrus carry the warm palate from start to finish.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JG 90

Page: 1 2 next