Staff Favorites - Heather Vander Wall

Heather Vander Wall
Heather Vander Wall  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service


Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 d'Arce, Côtes de Castillon
Review Date: 10-11-2018
Much as I loved the 2015 vintage of this wine, the 2016 is even better! A little more classically structured, with more restrained red fruit on the palate, this wine is a gorgeous example of the quality that Chateau d'Arce maintains, despite the inexpensive pricing. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great Bordeaux in the $20 range.

2015 Chateau Tour de Mirambeau "Cuvee Passion" Bordeaux Blanc
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This wine is absolutely stunning. The aromatics are brimming with honeysuckle and lemongrass, while the palate rounds these elements out with a creamy texture and soft notes of apricot, peach and nectarine. The close is crisp and focused with citrus-tinged acidity and slight oak tannin. Our friend Charles Neal recommends pairing this with herb-crusted roast chicken, salmon, or mildly spiced Indian cuisine. It has the weight and texture to stand up well to pork in addition to fish and fowl.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$15.99
RP 90 - 92 JS 90

2014 Buglioni Valpolicella Classico Superiore
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It’s traditional in this area to use some Slavonian oak casks for aging, and that’s what they did here. That oak adds a pungent sweet spice but doesn’t overwhelm the wine, which is so vibrant and charming on its own that the end result is stunning. The nose is loaded with black cherry, plum and baking spice. On the palate a sweet berry fruit emerges, contrasted beautifully with light tannin and soft velvety texture. The finish is dry and laden with perfumed clove and nutmeg notes. I would highly recommend pairing this with roasted beef or lamb. It could also be paired with red sauce dishes, which are somewhat difficult due to the natural acidity of tomato.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2017 Kalinda Sonoma County Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 10-08-2018
I can’t give you the details on the 2017 Kalinda Sonoma Coast Sauvignon Blanc lest you discover who made it for us this year, but I can tell you it’s delicious. Overt floral aromas give way to waxy honeycomb and white peach fruit playing against papaya and mango on the palate. The slight grassy edge and sweet pea notes balance out all this tropical fruit beautifully, and the texture manages to be soft and creamy while still finishing with a crisp dry note. I have quite a few more descriptors in my tasting book, but I won’t overwhelm you with adjectives. I’d advise you to pour yourself a glass and simply enjoy!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$10.99

2016 Pine Ridge California Chenin Blanc-Viognier
Review Date: 10-08-2018
Always an excellent choice, the Pine Ridge Chenin Blanc-Viognier is a surprisingly snappy, refreshing, and easy-drinking little wine, with gorgeous aromatics and pleasant fruit, and a dry finish. Perfect for a party, or just a weeknight glass, this wine is a winner every vintage.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

2016 Chateau de la Charriere Chassagne-Montrachet "Les Champs Morjot"
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This is one of the best deals in Chassagne Montrachet in the store. We have worked with Chateau de la Charriere for some time now, and this wine has always been one of my favorites. In the excellent 2016 vintage, it shows beautifully, with classic flinty aromas and pretty yellow pear and honeycrisp apple on the palate. The texture is full and rich, with hazelnut and creamy notes complementing the fruit perfectly.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Conreria d'Scala Dei "Les Brugueres" Blanco Priorat
Review Date: 10-08-2018
An absolutely beautiful wine. For those of you who have never had a white priorat, now is the time. This lovely wine is perfumed with white flower, peach and nectarine. On the palate it is bone dry, but has a fuller, softer body and layers of stone fruit and mineral components. I'd highly recommend this wine to anyone looking for an exciting new white to add to their repertoire.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
RP 91

2016 Vigneti Massa "Derthona" Timorasso
Review Date: 10-08-2018
Timorasso is another one of those delightful and utterly unknown gems of Italian whites. It reminds me slightly of Chenin Blanc, in that you don't have overwhelming fruit or crazy aromatics, but it is more subtle, savory and textural. This wine has delicate aromatics of apple and pear and clean, sweet hay, with a soft, full body (it sees no oak though) and a lingering, almost nutty finish. Fascinating as this wine is on its own, I think it would work well with picnic fare: hard cheeses, dried fruits and cured meats.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2010 Lynch-Bages, Pauillac
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This wine is just perfectly balanced. Although 2010s tend to be tannic and structured, this is a great example of the poise and balance that can be achieved in the vintage, and the amazing aging potential. Even though this was decanted for hours, it still showed very young. I'd love to taste this in about 10 years time. The first elements of savory development are just starting to creep in around the primary fruit, and the hard edges of tannin are just softening, but the overwhelming impression is one of power, structure, balance, and potential.

2009 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
Review Date: 10-08-2018
It's difficult to be original in a review on such an excellent wine from such an excellent vintage, but I did want to say that this wine is all that you'd expect and more. Tasted recently, the wine is just beginning to evolve some lovely savory components. The fruit is still luscious and the tannin silky. Although it certainly has more in store for its life, it was drinking beautifully after being open for several hours. The finish is endless.

2016 Aurore Dezat "Les Chasseignes" Sancerre
Review Date: 10-08-2018
This wine is an excellent new discovery in the Sancerre category. Anyone with an affinity for Sancerre or Loire valley wines generally should absolutely try a bottle. It's focused, taught and mineral, this is quintessential Sancerre, yet the edges are rounded out nicely on the palate and the texture of the body is a bit broader than expected, lingering on with a nice savory quality on the finish. It is everything Sancerre should be, and a little bit more.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Sandhi "Sanford & Benedict Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 09-07-2018
The fruit for this wine comes from all old vines, planted in '71. The concentration and depth of the resultant character comes out in the aromatics of the wine. It's loaded with candied citrus, honeysuckle and tangerine. More aromatic by far than most Chardonnays in the area, the wine is lean on the palate with citrus driven acidity and a lightly creamy texture. The finish and clean and focused, with a lingering close.
Price: $44.95 Add To Cart
RP 95 VN 91

2016 El Lugar "Hilliard Bruce Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 09-07-2018
Another great bottling from El Lugar! This lovely Pinot has very pretty red berry fruit in the nose that continues on into the palate. It's medium bodied with well integrated tannin, and a good marriage of fruit and acidity levels. The sweeter baking spice notes are what set this Pinot apart, but it also has some lovely savory undertones.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2015 Aaron Wines Paso Robles Petite Sirah
Review Date: 09-07-2018
One of my favorite experiences in tasting wine, is when I find a wine that is close to the opposite of my personal palate preference, but is so well made that I just can't argue. Here is that wine. I like my reds light and delicate, and Petit Syrah is anything but that. This masterful blend of Petit Syrah from Westside Paso doesn't pretend to be delicate, but still strikes a beautiful symmetry with a great integration of tannin, new oak and bountiful cassis, plum and huckleberry fruit. The trick with this grape is to manage the tannin and keep it in check--Aaron does an excellent job of that and everything else here.
Price: $39.95 Add To Cart
VN 93

2016 Aaron "Keola" Paso Robles Red Blend
Review Date: 09-07-2018
Many of our wine-savvy customers already know that Paso Robles is a great place for Rhone-style wines, but it's sometimes hard to find a new and exciting producer in the area. Here is one for you: Aaron's "Keola" is a Grenache dominated GSM with a deep, silky and plummy palate. It's very well balanced and almost too easy-drinking. However, its far from boring. There are really great layers of flavor and texture to the wine, it is just so seamless that its hard to argue with.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2017 Aequorea "Spanish Springs Vineyard" San Luis Obispo County Viognier
Review Date: 09-07-2018
I'm not a big fan of this varietal, but here is a wine that is changing my mind. This Viognier is grown in a vineyard right on the coast, with a view of the ocean, and you can tell that it is very much influenced by the place. The wine has pretty floral and white peach aromas, while on the palate it is crisp and clean without being astringent. It is fermented and aged in stainless steel and neutral barrels, and the wine sees no malolactic fermentation. This keeps the profile leaner and more focused than is typical in the varietal.
Price: $29.95 Add To Cart

2015 Cap St-George, St-Georges-St-Emilion
Review Date: 09-03-2018
The aromas of this wine are gorgeous, with deep blue fruit layered in subtle earth and spice notes. On the palate the wine is silky with a fuller body, classic structure and just enough of a savory character showing through the primary fruit to give a hint to it's full potential. I'd say that this wine is one to lay down for a couple years, but will definitely reward a patient collector.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
DC 93

2015 Paxton "AAA" Shiraz-Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
Review Date: 09-03-2018
Beautifully balanced wine! I am always a little shy of Australian Rhone blends, but there is no over-oaked, sweet style here. This is as elegant as they come. What really shines through is the classic red plum notes of Grenache, underscored by the light spice and tangy savory element from the Syrah. I'd highly recommend this wine for those looking for a new example of Australian red blends, or for those just looking for a new favorite versatile red blend.

2016 Fromm "La Strada" Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 09-03-2018
This excellent Sauvignon Blanc is made by one of our favorite New Zealand producers. Fromm does everything with balance and elegance, and their Sauvignon Blanc is no exception! This wine lacks some of the astringent vegetal qualities that often turn people away from New Zealand Sauvignon Blancs, but rather focuses on clean crisp citrus notes with subdued floral undertones, and just the right hint of grassy notes to round out the finish. Overall, I think this is one of the most balanced and elegant Sauvignon Blancs in our New Zealand offerings currently.

2015 Savage "White" Western Cape
Review Date: 09-03-2018
Quite unfortunately, we can't keep this wine in stock as consistently as we'd like, since the supply is rather limited. However, whenever we have it, I'm always blown away by its complexity, depth and unexpectedness. When you see the word 'savage' you may worry that this is some odd "funky" wine, but it's quite the opposite. It's open, floral and crisp with excellent lees-based texture and slight nutty notes that give way to clean honeydew melon. Easily one of my favorite whites to drink all on its own, enjoying each layer of flavor.

2015 Zorzal "Eggo -Tinto de Tiza" Mendoza
Review Date: 09-03-2018
Always one of my favorite wines on the shelf in our South America section! Every year the wine is slightly different, but this vintage is a sheer delight! Not only does it exhibit many of the charming characteristics that draw so many people to Malbec, but it avoids the overly ripe fruit and finds pefect balance in the blend with Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc. A lovely savory element combines with classic acidity and nicely integrated tannin. But the element that captures my attention every time is the texture.Aged in egg-shaped concrete, the wine develops a great mid palate with plenty of smooth texture that is ready for food pairing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 90

2015 Talley "Estate" Arroyo Grande Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-31-2018
Talley never disappoints. Over the last few vintages, I've always been impressed with winemaker Eric's balanced and precise style that represents this beautiful estate so well. This estate bottling is always my favorite, because it encompasses elements of each of the single vineyard sites and showcases them in a beautiful blend. The wine is brimming with orchard fruit and soft creamy texture with just the right hint of nutty notes. Yes, there is oak, but it is seamlessly integrated and highlights rather than masks the quality of the wine. If you are looking for a new favorite Chardonnay, I'd highly recommend trying Talley.

2016 Le Battistelle "Battistelle" Soave Classico
Review Date: 08-31-2018
One of my all-time favorite Italian wines is back in stock with a new vintage! This lovely little Soave is grown on volcanic soils in a very steeply-sloped vineyard. Although it has a nice round character on the palate, it is charged with mineral depth and finishes crisp and clean. It's the perfect wine to keep around the house for almost any occasion. One of my personal favorite weeknight wines.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Le Paradou Vin de Grenache Rouge
Review Date: 08-21-2018
A spectacular example of what the varietal can be all on its own. This wine is grown in the Minervois region and has to be classified as “Vin de France” since it is not the classic blend. This wine is based around the ideas of Plaisir and Convivialité, pleasure and conviviality. It’s designed to drink with the family meal, an afternoon picnic or an evening with a friend. In other words, like our white wine this month, it’s a serious wine made for everyday consumption. Both the Curator White blend and the Paradou Vin de Grenache manage to achieve this difficult proposition with effortless grace. Please enjoy!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$10.99
RP 90

2017 A.A. Badenhorst "Curator" White Blend Swartland
Review Date: 08-21-2018
The antithesis of the cheap bulk wines made in the Swartland. With Adi’s intimate knowledge of old-vine sites across the region, he creates this blend from highly expressive fruit from several of his favorite parcels. In this vintage, the wine is made from dry-farmed parcels of Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay and Viognier. Stylistically, it’s fresh and light with crisp acidity and refreshing orchard fruit. But pay close attention. A great textural element and some exotic spice notes add to the complexity. This qualifies in my book as both highly quaffable, and quite intriguing—exactly the kind of wine I want to be drinking on any given weekday.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$8.99

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 08-21-2018
Blended from several of the different Pinot clones on the estate. Most notably, the Old Block MV6 clone, whose original cuttings were taken from Clos Vougeot, one of Burgundy’s most renowned Grand Cru vineyards. The fruit from these vines is small and concentrated with powerful dark berry flavor. It’s complemented nicely by the Pommard clone Pinot that’s planted across the eastward-facing slope of the Range View Block. That fruit adds a nicely earthy and savory element, with red berry fruit and subtle baking spice. All of the Pinots produced by Helen’s Hill see some French oak, a judicious mix of old and new barrels, to impart a subtle sweet toast character and a great textural element.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99

2013 Robert Goyette Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 08-21-2018
You may know that at K&L we have a bit of a bias towards Bordeaux when it comes to Cabernet, but when Clyde and I tasted this wine together, I saw the expression on his face. It was unmistakable. When someone like Clyde, who has tasted Bordeaux professionally for decades, is this excited about a Cabernet, you know you’ve struck gold.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$24.99

2005 Tullibardine "The Murray" Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-18-2018
Delicate and subtle, this is exactly the type of Scotch that intrigues me. It's very layered and has incredible aromatics, without being imbalanced in any particular way. Be warned, this is not rich, dark or sweet, but rather light, aromatic, layered and fascinating. There is a pretty creaminess to it and some faint suggestions of pastry on the close. I'd highly recommend this for the Scotch drinker that is looking for something understated and not extreme.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart

2015 Ann Albert Wines "Zotovich Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This wine is made by Eric, the winemaker at Talley Vineyards. It's his private label, and reflects both his vast experience making Chardonnay in the area as well as his own stylistic preferences. I love this wine because its a bit more mineral driven and crisp, while still retaining excellent balance and poise. It represents more of the coastal influence in the region. The Zotovich bottling in particular has stunning aromatics.
Price: Hidden View Price

2015 Domaine de la Côte "Memorious" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-06-2018
Domaine de la Cote makes wines from some of the most interesting vineyards in the Santa Rita Hills AVA. This Memorius wine comes from a small vineyard perched atop a steep wind beaten hillside. The vines are planted lower to the ground to help protect the fruit from winds, and the fruit receives much of the cooling influence off the nearby Pacific. The resultant Pinot Noir is more structured and restrained than many of its counterparts in the AVA. The winemaking style complements this by maintaining all the elegance and highlighting the fine aromatics and minerality in the fruit. One of my favorite wines from my recent trip to the area!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 VN 94

2016 Kalinda Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This wine is made by one of my personal favorite producers in Burgundy. I can't tell you who makes it, but suffice to say it has a lot of Puligny-Montrachet quality to it. I think this is absolutely one of the best deals we have in white Burgundy currently. Its lean and mineral with classic flint notes, but with a nice lees-y texture and plenty of creamy lemon curd on the finish. It's pretty phenomenal that we were able to work with this producer to bottle a Kalinda Bourgogne, and I hope you enjoy the results as much as I am.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Luli Santa Lucia Highlands Syrah
Review Date: 08-06-2018
The Luli Syrah is one of the best values in Santa Lucia Highlands wine in the store. With the weighty Pisoni legacy behind this wine, its pedigree is all you could ask for. The Luli project started as a join venture between Jeff Pisoni and sommelier Sara Floyd. The idea was to make phenomenal wine that represents the best of Santa Lucia Highlands AVA at an everyday price point. The result is just that. This Syrah is loaded with soft black fruit, silky texture and subtle spice.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JD 91 VN 90

2016 Belle Glos "Dairyman" Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 08-06-2018
This is Belle Glos' take on Russian River, with fruit coming from the Dairyman vineyard, so called because of the old Dairy farm that used to be in this spot. The fruit from this distinctive vineyard is concentrated and powerful, making a full bodied yet very smooth Pinot loaded with luxurious black fruit that showcases the strength of Russian River. No need to wait for this wine to age! It's designed to drink now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$34.99

2015 Hirsch Zöbing Riesling Kamptal
Review Date: 07-07-2018
Austrian wine usually conjures up pictures of peppery Gruner in the mind, but this is a very different style wine than you might expect. Grown on volcanic soils, this vibrant riesling is chalk full of minerality and not overly floral or fruity. There still is an excellent lime zest, and clean cut apricot fruit profile, but the predominate tone of the wine is stony. I'd highly recommend trying this bottle, whether you are interested in Austrian wine, or are just looking for a good bottle in this price range.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
VN 90 WE 90

2017 Bodegas Puelles Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 07-07-2018
The Puelles Blanco is back with another great vintage! This is a lovely white Rioja, made in a crisp, clean and modern style. The aromatics are full of honeydew, white peach, and floral notes, while the palate has enough weight to add some textural interest. While not overpowering, the acidity is crisp and keeps the wine light on its feet. Easily one of my top choice wines for everyday drinking and versatility in food pairing!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2013 Giovanni Manzone "Castelletto" Barolo
Review Date: 07-07-2018
Although this wine is young yet, it embodies much of what I love in Barolo. On the nose you get the classic red cherry, cedar, clove, tobacco and rose notes, with an added hint of savory olive on the palate. The wine is medium bodied with plenty of structure for aging, and one of the longest finishes I've seen on a wine this year. There's plenty to love here already, and its only going to get better with some bottle age. I'd highly advise laying a case down in your cellar.
Price: $47.99 Add To Cart
VN 95 RP 92

2015 Famille Perrin "Domaine du Clos des Tourelles" Gigondas
Review Date: 07-07-2018
When I tasted this wine in a lineup of other Rhones, I was immediately impressed by how this stood out in the group. Famille Perrin is one of the top producers for a reason! The wine is fairly firm and structured right now, but it has all the elements you should look for to age into an absolutely phenomenal bottle. Grenache is the dominate grape in the blend, and the wine has plenty of that lovely red plum and black cherry character, but it also has a savory quality underlying it from the Cinsault and Mourvedre, as well as the classic pepper spice of Syrah. If you do drink this now, make sure to decant it for a few hours, but I'd advise you to hide it in your cellar for a decade. I can't wait to taste it down the line.

2016 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey 1er Cru "Clos des Myglands" (Monopole)
Review Date: 07-07-2018
Faiveley's Mercurey bottlings have always done well at K&L because of the value for price quality. This vintage of "Clos des Myglands" is no exception! I am beginning to appreciate the high quality of the 2016 vintage. Despite the lower yeilds this year, the fruit quality is of the highest, and Domaine Faiveley know how to showcase the fruit beautifully. This wine has elegant wild strawberry, cherry and clove aromas up front and follows through on the palate with soft, fine grained tannin and fresh acidity to keep things lively. I've no doubt this wine is set to age for the long haul, but it's pretty tempting to drink it right now, it is showing so well!

2017 Tercero Santa Barbara County Mourvèdre Rosé
Review Date: 07-06-2018
In a vintage that was less than stellar for France, we've had a number of domestic rose's stealing the show. This lovely Mourvedre rose from Tercero is one of my favorites of the season. Although somewhat darker in color than its French counterparts, it is still crisp and dry with a fresh finish.

2016 TED by Mount Edward Central Otago Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-06-2018
Some of my favorite Pinots in the world come from Central Otago. This unique area produces very vibrant and ripe Pinot Noir, that always retains an elegant, structured backbone and typically has a unique savory character. That is exactly what you find here, in this new label from Mount Edward. It's classic Central Otago, though perhaps a hair lighter in body and softer in tannin than some of the other wines from Mount Edward. Definitely one of my favorite new Pinots this year!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
JS 93

2016 Maison Henri Boillot Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 07-06-2018
Henri Boillot is consistently head and shoulders above many other Bourgogne level wines on the market. Both the Blanc and the Rouge taste like 1er cru expressions. In 2016 the Boillot Bourgogne Blanc is almost entirely fruit from Meursault and Puligny. You can taste the hazelnut skin quality usually found in Meursault, beautifully balanced against taught acidity, creamy texture, and savory lees quality. Don't be deterred by the "Bourgogne" classification, this is one of the best buys in white burgundy currently.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Idlewild "The Bee-Flora & Fauna" California White Blend
Review Date: 07-06-2018
I'm a big fan of the Idlewild label, and Sam's work in general. This wine is no exception. It's a fun blend of Northern Italian varietals that is at the same time delightful, complex and unexpected. It's dry, but with a very expressive, aromatic nose. The palate is quite textural, with some leesy quality in addition to the peach, apricot and pear fruit. It would be an excellent food wine, but certainly drinks well all on its own.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$16.99
VN 89 - 90

2016 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 07-06-2018
You may know by my reviews that I love white Burgundy, and tend to look only there for my favorite Chardonnay. However, when I tasted this lovely little wine from the Yarra Valley, I was thoroughly impressed. This is well-balanced, Burgundian style Chardonnay, with lovely nutty notes that remind me of Meursault. It also has a unique flinty quality that is often only found in the Puligny area. Needless to say, this is one of my new favorite finds in the white wine world.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$14.99
JH 94

2016 Domaine de la Ganse Vacqueyras
Review Date: 07-06-2018
At K&L we are always looking for new wines to import, particularly from smaller wineries with no presence in the US. This is one such wine from Coralie Onde, which I had the pleasure to taste recently. Its a very elegant expression from Vacqueyras, with elegant red berry aromatics, medium body, fresh acidity and fine grained tannin and a long, elegant finish. I was impressed how well this stood up in a lineup of other Rhones twice the price. This would have to be one of my top five picks in the store currently.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2015 Tongue in Groove "Cabal Vineyard" Pinot Noir Waipara Valley
Review Date: 06-02-2018
Another great vintage from Tongue In Groove's Cabal Vineyard bottling of Pinot Noir. This is a brooding and savory Pinot with luscious dark fruit and earthy clay notes. Already developing beautifully, this wine has fine boned but firm tannin, good acidity cut, and an excellent medium weight on the palate. It shows an intriguing savory olive quality that marries seamlessly with the black plum and cherry notes. Well-integrated and showing perfectly at the moment!

2017 Domaine la Chapelle Saint-Victor Coteaux d'Aix en Provence Rosé
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Every year this is one of the first French rose wines I purchase. The 2017 is elegant as always and leans perhaps more than usual toward a white wine in the expression of its aromatics and flavor profile. Floral, very lightly peachy aromas give way to a crisp refreshing and light palate with hints of strawberry and nectarine. The finish is dry with a lingering sense of stone fruit, cherry, and strawberry.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Poujeaux, Moulis
Review Date: 06-01-2018
My expectations were very high on this wine--they were bound to be given the vintage and that this is one of my favorite Chateaus. I was not disappointed. The wine is big and dense, even for Poujeaux, but it is perfectly balanced. Immediate cassis, violet, cedar aromas great you, then give way to saturated black plum, cigar box, blackberry and blueberry notes on the palate, all underscored with bold tannin and acidity. This will be one for the long haul. I will be excited to check in on this in 10, 15 and 20 years.

2014 Lateral Napa Valley Bordeaux Blend
Review Date: 06-01-2018
If you love right bank Bordeaux, you will love Kathryn Kennedy's "Lateral". Some of you may have tasted the outstanding "Serious" Merlot we had from Kathryn Kennedy earlier this year, and you'll know that Merlot from this producer is anything but boring. The Lateral blends Merlot with Cabernet Franc in a traditional right bank style wine with a California twist. Looking for an elegant Napa wine that is at the same time layered, complex and affordable? This is it.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2015 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 06-01-2018
La Monacesca's "Mirum" bottling has long been one of my favorite white wines of our Italian portfolio. I like a wine that challenges me, and brings something new to the table. This is verdicchio, meaning that its lean and stony with crisp acidity, yet the riserva "Mirum" bottling is also harvested a little later than their other wine, and hence has a full bodied, unctuous weight on the palate. It's an intriguing combination, and one that keeps me coming back for another bottle.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart
VN 91

2017 Ameztoi Getariako Txakolina
Review Date: 06-01-2018
Folks, it's summer time, and hence it's Txakoli time. One of the very best hot weather wines in my opinion, Txakolina is very lightly sparkling, briny, salty and low in acidity. It's grown right on the Basque coastline, and is built for seafood. Ameztoi is one of the top producers, and they never disappoint. Don't hesitate to try their fabulous rose as well!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

Page: 1 2 3 next

More Favorites

Heather Vander Wall is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Heather Vander Wall, click here to join Heather Vander Wall's Personal Sommelier Service.
2017 Vigneti Massa "Terra" (Piccolo Derthona) Timorasso Colli Tortonesi ($17.99)

2016 Domaine Marc Colin Bourgogne Blanc ($26.99)

2016 Domaine Bart Marsannay Rouge ($21.99)

2016 Deovlet Santa Barbara County Chardonnay ($29.95)

2017 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo County Chardonnay ($15.99)

2017 Vincent Paris "Granit 30" Cornas ($29.99)

2016 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino ($24.99)

2005 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Bosconia" Reserva Rioja ($29.99)

2006 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan ($26.99)

2015 Framingham Marlborough Pinot Noir ($14.99)

2015 de Chantegrive Rouge, Graves ($17.99)

2011 Vigneti Massa "Monleale" Barbera ($28.99)

2016 TWR (Te Whare Ra) "Toru" White Field Blend Marlborough ($16.99)

2016 Julien Schaal Riesling Grand Cru "Sommerberg Granite" ($19.99)

2015 Guiraud "Le G" Blanc Bordeaux ($18.99)

2014 Tercero "Camp 4 Vineyard" Santa Ynez Valley Marsanne ($24.99)

2015 Helen's Hill "Hill Top" Syrah Yarra Valley Victoria ($19.99)

2017 Fefiñanes Albariño Rias Baixas ($24.99)

2016 Eric Kent Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir ($22.99)

2016 Lambuena Roble Ribera del Duero ($12.99)

2013 Fratelli Barale "Castellero" Barolo ($39.99)

2015 Valravn "Old Vine" Sonoma County Zinfandel ($19.99)

2016 Domaine des Rémizières Crozes-Hermitage ($15.99)

2014 Amici Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($17.99)

2014 Tenuta Roveglia "Vigne di Catullo" Lugana Riserva ($17.99)

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend ($19.99)