Staff Favorites - Melissa Smith

Melissa Smith
Growing from a Redwood City sales position in 2009, to the company sake buyer in 2011, and then to the Head Sommelier in 2013 my love of wine spreads the gamut from mineral laden Sancerres to California Zinfandels aged over 20 years, Urban wines to classic Bordeaux, and 99% of the spirits that we carry. As a CIA trained chef I spent 15 years in some of the top kitchens in the country until my love of wine won out and I transitioned to the wine industry in 2004 where I began utilizing my skills as an instructor, a writer, and a restaurant consultant after passing the introductory level exam of The Court of Master Sommeliers. In 2010, I developed the first iPhone app for wine pronunciation, the Enotria Guide. In 2011, I became one of the few certified Sake Sommeliers in the country through the Sake Education Council. Outside of K&L I run private and corporate wine and spirits events around the Bay Area, consult on private cellars, and attempt to write professionally.

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>
1995 Latour, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From the Merlot dominated vintage comes this Cabernet wine. Has elegance and more forward than 1995.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2009 Brio de Cantenac Brown, Margaux  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Great second wine that sold out immediately when last brought in.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2011 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best wines from this controversial vintage. Big scores and lots of ripeness in a vintage not known for ripeness.
Drink from 2017 to 2030

2010 Antinori "Solaia" Toscana  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
One of the best ever from this super Tuscan red. Decant two hours before serving in near future.
Drink from 2020 to 2030

2009 du Tertre, Margaux  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Good upfront fruit. Mid-palate? At UGC: Lighter in style here. Sweet and racy. Quite forward. Drink the 1996 and save this value for a few more years. Beautiful Chateau and great tasting red.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This wine comes in and goes out-a delicious red wine which is the second wine of one of our biggest selling Bordeaux.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2010 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Now you have the choice of 2009 or 2010 here. This wine is a bit more structured than the 2009, but with decanting is perfectly paired with a steak.
Drink from 2016 to 2025

2003 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc (375ml)  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Perfect size for one from a ripe and sexy vintage. Old school style meets hot vintage equals delicious.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A perfect wine just like the 2009. Classic 100 point wine for one fourth of the first growth prices.
Drink from 2020 to 2050

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
This is drinking beautifully now and will age gracefully over the next 5-10 years as well. No expense spared by the folks at Amici Wines to make the absolute best wines possible for the price! Dark, rich, supple, juicy, with integrated oak and polished tannins on the finish. This is always a staff favorite!

2012 Krutz Family Cellars "Magnolia Series" Napa Valley Zinfandel  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
A Napa Valley Zinfandel for $19.99 ? Very impressive indeed. This Zinfandel is not for the faint of heart. It's a big boy with a lot of big dark fruit, big spice and a multiple layers of flavor. The wine also has amazing backbone which balances out the lush fruit giving this wine great character. Krutz Family Cellars was started by Patrick Krutz back in 2003. A young man from Jackson, Mississippi who came West to find his dream. He found it in the wine business. I have been a fan of the winery and Patrick for several years. The first wine we brought in from them was a 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon. Over the years, we have brought in many different varietals from many different area of California. Patrick continues to find great fruit sources and the wines continue to get better and better. In 2011, two of Patrick's brothers joined the Company and now it truly is a family affair.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2009 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Fabulous vintage and my favorite property for many years
Drink from 2016 to 2036

2010 McClean X "Simone" Paso Robles Zinfandel  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
I'm not the first person to jump up when someone pours a Paso Robles Zinfandel. However, this wine was a real surprise both in its ripeness and its structure.Dark blue fruit intermingled with hints of red fruit, tobacco, clove and chocolate. The wine is well integrated with great depth and length. This is a Zinfandel several steps ahead of other wines in its price point. Very limited. Get it while you can.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
The Glenmo Tusail has been a decade in the making. This is not some hodgepodge blend of differently aced barrels, this is a whisky that was conceived of 10 years ago, brought to fruition with floor malted barley, and laid to rest, creating a Malt that is truly unique. The Maris Otter barley gives an amazingly nappy texture, delivering notes of vanilla and baking spice in a palate coating luxury. The bourbon barrel aging allows all the complexity of the Scotch to shine without covering it up with pure wood notes. Candied ginger and sweet lemon zest make for a delicious dram.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Lewis Cellars "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon  
Review Date: 3-24-2015
Big, bright and intense Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon with plenty of cedar, vanilla and clove. This is a giant of a wine that can drink early or hold for 3-5 years.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3  4 5  next  >>