Staff Favorites - Jacques Moreira

Jacques Moreira
Jacques Moreira  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
Having been born in Rio de Janeiro into a very proud French/Portuguese family, and living in France and the USA for almost 25 years, gave me the best of all worlds, one very old, and another very new. I’ve always had three different perspectives on everything growing up, three different opportunities to understand the world around me and to try to make sense of it all. From Ipanema Beach, to the bluest of seas in the Côte d'Azur and Nice, to the wonderful Big Sur. Caipirinha and Feijoada, codfish and Vinho Verde, Daube and Bandol, and the always present Rosé, and…beer for those 110 degree summertime days in Rio! I always worked in the food business, in Paris, Nice and San Francisco. While working at Jules Verne in Paris, I decided to devote my career solely to wines and eventually got my Sommelier certification through the International Sommelier Guild.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  next
2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-5-2012
Stunning value for a fantastic Rioja. Very classic, soft spices, incense, raisins. Medium tannins, delicious and ready now, but it will age beautifully still.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

Franck Bonville Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 5-2-2012
Very crispy, clean, lemony with some surprising salinity on the palate. Not at all austere as the “extra-brut” suggests. It would be very good for aperitifs before dinner.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
Review Date: 3-3-2012
From the single most important vintage in history for Chinon wines, this wine is drinking beautifully now. Lighter bodied at this point but still shows nice cranberry and cherry fruit with a flinty mineral thing going on. A must try for the Cabernet Franc lovers. This bottle just flew in from France, straight from the winery, hence such pristine condition
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
Review Date: 12-3-2011
So, it is back! One of the best vintages of Montfaucon. It is a serious wine in a simple Côtes du Rhône disguise. Lots of cherries followed by a touch of that old world barnyard nose that we in the know, just about adore. On the palate it has cocoa, dried herbs, plums and sure, cherries. Excellent buy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 11-5-2011
Without a doubt one of my favorites sparkling rosé wines. Full of citron, wild strawberries, cherries and FUN! I recommend it for an aperitif on Valentine's day, or with the heart shaped box of chocolate! What?! It is not Valentines just yet? Just pretend, your significant other will love it!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fleury Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 9-23-2011
Fascinating nose of caramel, toffee, some cocoa powder and a surprising whiff of pain-au-chocolat and cherries that brought back memories of a breakfast on a back street cafe around the Champs Elysées. A great wine not only for a very elegant apéritif, but also to enjoy with omelets, eggs Benedict, anything salmon, truffles (black and white), lobster and prawns, or even blue or goat cheeses.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 7-3-2011
Showing a dark brickish color that denotes a more developed character. A very elegant nose of sweet coffee, plums and a touch of pepper. Soft tannins, and very much ready to drink. All in all it’s a bargain for what it offers.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 6-14-2011
Quite possibly the perfect aperitif for a great soirée, so crispy and refreshing. It is not austere at all as some might think, being a Brut Nature, just delightfully vibrant. As with food, think all kinds of appetizers, Caesar's Salad, Goat cheese, Eggs Benedict, Caviar, Asian food, and why not... lobsters!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Marie-Leopold" Sec Champagne
Review Date: 6-1-2011
Oh so lovely! I know that the description says "Sec" and that entitles it to be sweeter than you everyday "Brut". But trust me, this is far, far from being sweet! The sweetness comes across more on the mouthfeel than on the palate. Very soft, almost velvety. Incredibly complex. It can be served with a platter of cheese for an elegant end of a candlelight dinner, or as pairing to a spicy Thai soiree. Endless possibilities...
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur 750ml
Review Date: 5-4-2011
I love it to bits! A little drop of its magic will transform a simple bubbly into the most amazing Champagne cocktail. Thumbs up!

2004 Domaine La Roquète Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 12-20-2010
This will probably be the last "best buy" of 2010! This wine is ready to be drunk, full of ripe and very dark fruit, fig confit, cherry, graphite and a touch of bacon fat. Great introduction into the Chateuneuf world!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WS 91 BC 0

2007 Clos des Papes Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 10-11-2010
I know it is pretty easy to recommend a wine with a 99+ rating... Isn't it almost perfection? But I did not only try this amazing wine but poured it for some lucky customers that came to our Big Rhone Tasting a couple of weeks ago! From my point of view, this was probably the very best Chateauneuf I tasted from this vintage. I'm not going to bother you with descriptions, but I will tell you, this wine will be part of the history of the Chateauneuf appellation!

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 8-9-2010
Profound and fun at the same time. Deliciously rich but still delicate, with an explosion of berry fruit. My first choice for a Lobster Bisque, hors d'oeuvre, sushi or to accompany a romantic sunset...
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Domaine de Marcoux Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Review Date: 2-1-2010
The Marcoux has a remarkably elegance to it. Lavender, spices, creme de cassis, truffles. I poured it in our last public tasting, and after decanting, it was just amazing, a fine wine indeed!

Franck Bonville Grand Cru Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-20-2009
If there is such a thing as a Champagne for everyday use, well this has to be it. Not because of the price, but for its quality and poise. Very crispy, citrousy end elegant. Perfect for hors d'oeuvres, seafood, egg dishes, guacamole, goat cheeses, and "fantastic" with caviar!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  next

More Favorites

Jacques Moreira is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Jacques Moreira, click here to join Jacques Moreira's Personal Sommelier Service.
Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne ($74.99)

Ariston Aspasie "Carte Blanche" Brut Champagne ($27.99)

Charles Baur Cremant d'Alsace Brut Rosé ($17.99)

Chartreuse Green 750ml ($49.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($69.99)

Franck Bonville "Belles Voyes" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (1.5L) ($139)

Franck Bonville "Prestige" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($44.99)

2005 Guiraud, Sauternes ($49.99)

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($34.99)

Lillet Blanc (750ml) ($15.99)

Lustau Almacenista Oloroso "Pata de Gallina" (500ml) ($24.99)

Lustau East India Solera ($23.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Cherries (400g) ($15.99)

Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur 750ml ($28.99)

1999 Monbousquet, St-Emilion ($89.99)

Pommery "Brut Royal" Champagne ($32.99)

Ramos Pinto White Port ($13.99)

Ruinart Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($64.99)

2000 Trimbach Pinot Gris Vendages Tardives ($39.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

Domaine de Canton Ginger & Cognac Liqueur 750ml ($29.99)

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($39.99)

Metaxa Ouzo 750ml ($15.99)