Staff Favorites - Mari Keilman

Mari Keilman

Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  next
2007 Michel Arnould Vintage "Carte d'Or" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-13-2013
The 2007 Michel Arnould Vintage “Carte d’Or” Brut Champagne takes it to a whole new level. Yes, this half and half blend of Chardonnay from Oger and Pinot Noir from Verzenay needs time, but the potential for this Champagne is readily evident from the first moment the cork is popped. Upon first smelling the Carte d’Or, aromatics of chalk and wet river stone emerge from the glass but as the Champagne has time to breath, notes of salty brioche, baked butter and honeycomb take shape. On the palate, this Champagne is layered with flavors of dried flowers, acacia, sweet star fruit and bright tropical fruit. What truly makes the Carte d’Or transcendental is the intense palate, precise bead, focused structure and lengthy finish…a spectacularly balanced Champagne!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Collard-Picard "Cuvée Selection" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-13-2013
The NV Collard-Picard "Cuvee Selection" Brut Champagne which is 80% Pinot Meunier & 20% Chardonnay, is loaded with the signature meunier pear and tons of ripe, fresh apple. This meunier-dominant cuvee conveys how powerful and full-bodied Pinot Meunier can be while the introduction of the Mesnil Chardonnay highlights the clean, mineral-driven finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila 750ml
Review Date: 11-8-2013
I'm not much of a tequila drinker and when I do partake it's usually in the form of a margarita, but this tequila is a game changer for me. The Fortaleza is incredibly complex with earth and agave spice notes but is so incredibly balanced that even I can enjoy it neat.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Krug Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 9-3-2013
Krug really doesn't need any extra validation from lil' ol me but I'm going to give it because they're just that great! This Krug rose is truly transcendent. Both sweet and savory at the same time, the Krug rose delivers with beautiful rose petals, sweet orange citrus, toasty lees and intense red fruit.

Launois "Quartz" Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-30-2013
Get it while you can! Our favorite blanc de blancs Mesnil producer is in stock...but only for a short time. Perfect time to start stocking up for your summer festivities!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Deligeroy Crémant de Loire Brut Rosé
Review Date: 2-28-2013
How can you not love a bottle of Bubbles from the Loire Valley that only costs $13 and tastes this good?!?!? Loaded with tons of fresh berry fruit and copious amounts of tiny, delicate bubbles.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne
Review Date: 5-31-2012
I loved this champagne several years ago but it was really hard to get people on board with the outdated yellow label that was a serious hommage to the early 90's. Now that they've updated the label to a sophisticated black and grey label, this champagne is going to fly off the shelves! Hands down, this the best "full-package" champagne for under 30. Equally as beautiful as the outside, the inside of this bottle is full of fresh, clean, refreshing citrus fruit balanced by a friendly pinot meunier based fruitiness that keeps this champagne fun and playful.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Arnould Verzenay "Reserve" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 5-31-2012
Michel Arnould's wines are the most harmonious juxtaposition between tension and balance, broadness and precision, elegance and power. The Verzenay Brut with its elegant texture, refined bead and sweet citrus and wild berry palate, lends perfectly for pairing with an eclectic and diverse menu. The Verzenay Brut has a playful nature with the ripe fruit bouncing off of the bracing acidity.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fleury Brut Rosé Champagne
Review Date: 3-30-2012
Capt Kirk hit the nail on the head..."like drinking sparkling red burgundy"! I love the contrast between the elegant pinot noir berry fruit and that little hint of herbaceousness that transports you to Beaune.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

Launois "Cuvée Reserve" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 1-31-2012
Vintage Launois is one of my favorite champagnes but with the word spreading of just how fantastic their vintage wines are, its sometimes hard to get your hands on one. This is where the Cuvee Reserve steps in as a noteworthy understudy. The Cuvee Reserve has an amazing richness with notes of apple and lemon zest on the palate and a elegant brioche finish.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Henriot "Cuvée des Enchanteleurs" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 10-31-2011
I've always put the Enchanteleurs on my top ten list of tete du cuvees, and its showing at this year's tent event solidified its standing! While the 1995 was the actual vintage being poured, it just proved that the Enchanteleurs is outstanding no matter what. While elegantly sophisticated in its youth, I recommend putting away the 1998 for a few years cause what stuck out the most for the '95 was the beautiful hints of roasted hazelnuts and leesy minerality.

Antech "Brut Nature" Blanquette de Limoux
Review Date: 7-29-2011
So refreshing...so crisp...so clean...so perfect for those al fresco summer dinners. Or maybe a romantic dinner with a plate of oysters is your cup of tea...
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Marie-Leopold" Sec Champagne
Review Date: 3-1-2011
One word: Brie! Talk about the most heavenly of food and wine pairing experiences. Forget the fact that this bottle of bubbles is just a touch off dry. The Marie Leopold paired so perfectly with the brie, the only saving grace for my hips was that the wedge of cheese was quickly devoured. Its my second time taking home a bottle of this fabulous bottle of champagne and I will be taking home a fourth, fifth, sixth...just so long as there is enough brie in this world!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Arnould "Grand Cuvée" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-27-2011
Rich, yet exquisitely balanced, the Michel Arnould Grand Cuvée Brut has a subtle minerality on the nose, the classic bright cherry fruit in the mouth and an elegant, seamless hazelnut finish. Try with some seared sea scallops in a citrus cream reduction.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 12-29-2010
This is the quintessential bottle of bubbles one is required to always have in the fridge. Done in a zippy blanc de blancs style, the Deligeroy Cremant de Loire offers up aromas of sweet lemon and light apricot followed my an aggressive palate of tiny racy bubbles. Perfect for toasting the New Year's!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  next

More Favorites

Mari Keilman is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Mari Keilman, click here to join Mari Keilman's Personal Sommelier Service.
2005 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($109.99)

2004 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon ($134.99)