Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>
Absolut Elyx Single Estate Vodka 1L
Review Date: 5-15-2013
I love it when a brand-oriented whisky customer comes into K&L and I get the chance to talk with them about all of the smaller independents. Nothing feels better than turning a new drinker onto the lesser-known spirits of the world. Almost nothing. There's one thing I actually enjoy even more. I really get a kick when a brand known for bulk production and cheesy gimmickry actually delivers a product that tastes good.I love it when Glenlivet makes a good whisky. I love it when Tanqueray releases a good gin. I love it when gigantic brands show that they're still capable of making something inexpensive, but tasty. Taking a page from the craft spirits movement, Absolut has answered the call for locally-sourced, "handcrafted" (whatever that means these days - in this case I think they're referring to the fact it was manually distilled on a copper still) spirits by offering one of their own. The Elix is made from all-estate (apparently Absolut owns a number of fields in Sweden) grown wheat. It's bottled in a nice package and proofed down to 42.3%, which to me means that they actually tinkered with this thing at various levels to find the one that tasted best, rather than just dropping it down to the defacto 40%. One of the best vodkas I've ever tasted - easily.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Hubert Meyer "Winzenberg" Riesling Grand Cru
Review Date: 3-12-2013
This is one of the biggest slam dunk deals I've tasted in our entire wine inventory. Grand Cru riesling that delivers the goods for $25!!! This wine has numerous layers of fruit that morph as it drifts over the palate. The finish is quite grapey with lush texture. I'm in for as many as I can afford!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Hubert Meyer Cremant d' Alsace
Review Date: 3-12-2013
Wonderfully clean, lithe, and elegant bubbly. Hints of stonefruit dance in now and again. This is a perfect Spring time sipper if there ever was such a thing. Really great wine for the price.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Canard-DuchÍne "Authentic" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-12-2013
This is fabulous bubbly for a great price. The richness and nuttiness of this wine make it easily accessible to the newcomer, but the bready, mineral notes offer the expert some nuance and depth. I'm a big fan - especially for the price!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1980 Glenlochy 31 Year Old K&L Signatory Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 11-9-2012
More than anything, Glenlochy just seems mysterious to me. There's simply not much information about the distillery other than important dates and events. I can't find a descriptor of the house style, or any tasting notes that paint a picture of consistancy. Had the whisky we sampled from the cask of 1980 been simply run of the mill or lackluster, I wouldn't have put much more thought into the distillery. However, the taste we had in Pittlochry was transcendent. It was mindblowing whisky, easily ranking among the best I'd ever had. Before writing this I went back into my tasting book to see what I had scribbled down at the time: Candied nuts, roasted almonds, rich toffee, cotton candy, oils with butter, butterscotch, unbelievably good. Incredible! WOW! To me, there's nothing more exciting than when the whisky from the ghost of history past completely blows you away and exceeds any possible expectations. Sampling single malt from places like Millburn or Ladyburn can be extremely exciting, until you get to the part where you actually taste it. When it's good, however, there's something magical that happens - rarity, quality, and legend combine to create a total and complete whisky experience. I've only ever tasted one Glenlochy single malt whisky and it's one of the top five in my career. While I've tried to delve a bit deeper into what could have produced something so singular and incredible, there's simply not much information available, in my mind only adding to the mystique.
Price: $449.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Capbern Gasqueton, St-EstŤphe
Review Date: 10-4-2012
Maybe as good a deal as anyone is likely to find in this vintage. Made by the same team from Calon Segur, this is a $20 wine built for the long haul. I bought half a case without blinking. Delicious black cherry flavors with minerality to balance it out. Fine tannins. Buy fast.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Adrien Camut 15 Year Old K&L Exclusive Calvados 750ml
Review Date: 6-26-2012
For a more detailed look at Camut please read our blog post from last January when we visited and selected this 15 year expression: http://spiritsjournal.klwines.com/klwinescom-spirits-blog/2012/1/25/france-day-8-camut.html
Price: $115.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Hirsch Straight Bourbon Small Batch Reserve 750ml
Review Date: 6-7-2012
Gotta love this Bourbon. Soft, creamy, banana nose, easy-drinkin' stuff. I remember when I first started working at K&L we used to give this to every person who walked in looking for Bourbon and they loved it! The crazy thing is: I think the new batch is far better than the one we were selling five years ago.
Price: $33.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fleury "Cuveť Robert Fleury" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 3-22-2012
I was in the mood for some bubbles last night, so our Champagne buyer, Gary Westby, suggested that I take home the new Fleury "Cuvee Robert Fleury" Brut Champagne as an accompaniment to my cheese and chutney spread. What a fantastic recommendation! The wine is made from one-third each Chardonnay, Pinot Blanc, and Pinot Noir and it's all barrel-fermented. The richness from the wood is fabulous because it never overpowers the crisp apple fruit present on the palate. I was also quite excited to drink a Champagne with actual Pinot Blanc in it, knowing that the grape is legal to use, but no one actually uses it! The depth of flavor in the Cuvee Robert Fleury is simply stunning - delicate bubbles allow for more of the rich, bready notes to stand out when sipping. The apple notes come and go on the finish. I would have expected to easily pay over $100 for a wine this good. Luckily, I don't have to!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

Talisker 18-year-old Isle of Skye Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-23-2011
Diageo owns more than 20 of the best distilleries in Scotland and is famous for their mind-boggling catalog of single malts. In addition to their incredible line up of regularly available malts like Talisker 10, Lagavulin 16, and Oban 14, they hold back a reserve of special edition whiskies that are only available every few years when there is enough supply on hand. One of those malts is the incredible Talisker 18 Year Old. For the money, there may not be a better whisky value in the entire world. No joke. The delicacy of the fruit, the kiss of sweetness from the oak, and the gentle application of peat smoke are all on display and in perfect harmony with one another. Stonefruits, butterscotch, and campfire smoke all in one poetic burst of flavor. To me personally, it is one of the most perfect single malts I've ever had. Unfortunately, it is only available sporadically and I therefore have to carefully ration my one bottle so that I have enough to get me through until the next release. I'm happy to announce that the time for more Talisker 18 is now and we've bought as much as possible so that we have enough for everyone. This is one of the few single malts that I buy repeatedly, over and over again, because it's really that good and, compared to other 18 year olds, it's an absolute steal. - David Driscoll, K&L Spirits Buyer
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart WA 93 BC 0

Michel Loriot "Authentic" Brut Champagne (previously Cuvee Reserve)
Review Date: 11-11-2010
Nutty richness right off the bat and plenty of acidity to balance it out. We've got another fantastic directly imported Champagne on our hands! At this price, I can see myself drinking Loriot into the new year and beyond. Tasty tasty wine that should appeal to those who like it crisp and those who like a bit more body - which is pretty much everyone!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Bruno Michel "Les Roses" Brut Rosť Champagne
Review Date: 10-31-2009
Wow. Wow, wow, wow, wow wow! WOW! My God. WOW.............wow. This is very good Champagne.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 10-25-2009
This is the bottle that brought me back to Champagne recently. I'm not sure where I had gone, but now I'm back and I'm loving it. This 100% Chardonnay-based wine is rich and shows a bit of barrel aging, while maintaining a crisp and lively palate of bubbles. I could drink it all day long.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

North Shore Gin No. 11
Review Date: 7-29-2009
This is the best gin I have yet tasted and I loooooove gin. Need I say more?
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Brut Rosť Champagne
Review Date: 7-13-2009
This wine is always our answer to the Billecart Salmon, which by the way sells for more than twice as much. This is all about the red Ariston fruit and their champagnes are permanent staff picks. Cherry notes from the pinot noir, crisp and vibrant acidity and brioche flavors swirl together with delicate bubbles. Anyone care for some?
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next  >>