Staff Favorites - David Driscoll

David Driscoll
David Driscoll  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
David Driscoll likes to drink alcohol when he is not working at K&L. His main interests include wine, beer, and distilled spirits. Before he worked here he went to college at a decent school, got a masters degree from an OK school, worked as a waiter and taught elementary school in Chinatown. He decided to get into the wine business after reading a few books about wine and realizing that one cannot seriously learn about wine solely through reading. His career goals include: trying to convince K&L customers that he does know something despite his youthful appearance, and learning everything about everything about every single wine ever made.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>
St. George All Purpose Vodka 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
Again, don't let the vodka moniker fool you: this isn't some BS, grain neutral throwaway. This is an art that Lance and Dave have perfected over at St. George. The all-purpose is actually made from a large proportion of pear distillate to give it a creamy and soft texture. They're not just trying to make a flavorless spirit. They're trying for ethereal beauty. And they've done it. The great vodka from the U.S. is now here.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

St. George California Citrus Vodka 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
While you may think of this as flavored vodka, this is really just orange gin. At least, as far as the process is concerned. Lance and Dave made this incredibly beautiful spirit through multiple macerations of separate varietals of orange, along with individual distillations. The amount of skill and blending is paramount to the finest of ginmakers. It's just that they didn't use juniper. Don't let the vodka moniker make you think this isn't something great. It is.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Uitvlugt 20 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
This is just a shining example of how great column still rum can be if you just leave it alone (don't add sweeteners or coloring agents) and give it time. It's mild and light, but it's not boring or monotonous. The sugar cane flavors are subtle and haunting, and the added richness from the wood just rounds it off perfectly. What a beauty.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Hampden 14 Year Old Faultline K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Jamaica Rum 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
My personal favorite of the three Faultline rums we just brought in, the Hampden is full of pot still goodness (i.e. funky stuff), but never goes over the line. The kiss of sweet vanilla rounds out the finish and really balances everything out. Great, great stuff. I can't stress this little guy enough to our best customers.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1978 Port Dundas 36 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
I'll say it: this is my favorite barrel from the new shipment of casks that just landed. It's just ridiculously awesome, especially for the stupidly cheap price. 36 year old whisky for the price of most 18 year old single malts, and it's full of rich vanilla, decadent caramel, and a long, enveloping finish. It's like sucking on a Werther's Original candy. Incredible stuff, and again: the price. It's just crazy how undervalued grain whisky is right now.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1964 North British 50 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
When was the last time we had 50 year old whisky at any price, let alone less than $1000? Grain whisky is just completely undervalued and appreciated at the moment, so we snapped up this cask of grain whisky for the price of a 20 year old single malt. It's still surprisingly soft and youthful despite five decades in wood, with creamy vanilla and plenty of fruit. The great part is the gift-ability: you can buy this for anyone and they'll love it. 50th b-days, anniversaries, go for it. This is universal stuff.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Tamdhu 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
Another one we almost passed on that really came around after bottling. Lovely Highland whisky with rich fruit and vanilla on the nose and more of that texture right from the initial sip. Delicious.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Laphroaig 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
I love finding mid-range Laphroaig simply because I find I really like the Islay stalwart right between 15-20 years of age. There's more weight and soft, supple texture than the classic 10 year, but the medicinal peat isn't completely eaten up by the oak. This is no-nonsense, no-gimmick Laphroaig. Peaty and complete.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Tobermory 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
I was on the fence with this cask when we tasted it in Scotland, but now that it's here and I've gone back to it, I'm not sure what I was originally thinking. It's awesome whisky; lots of oak spice and sweet vanilla with malty grains and nice texture.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1993 Macallan 21 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
I would've been happy just to get a cask of Macallan 21 that was just good. To get one that's absolutely stellar was like a cherry on top. Soft vanilla, but despite the lack of classic Macallan sherry, there's still plenty of weight and richness. The vintage character is still there, but it's effortless and easy-going. We really lucked out with this one: especially given the price and availability of Macallan right now. You might wanna get one of these ASAP.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Smoky & Peaty Tobermory (Ledaig) 8 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
Those who enjoyed the Ledaig cask we did with the Exclusive Malts will really dig this one. The peat is clean and fresh, the flavors are pronounced and linear. It's Island whisky without the medicinal notes or the oily, dirty smoke. It's just peat and salt and bright, fresh flavor.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Bowmore 12 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
I cannot get enough Bowmore 12 year. This is like the fifth cask of 12 year old Bowmore we've bought in the last few years and it might be the best one yet. It's the most complete with equal levels of peat, vanilla, and supple weight on the palate.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Miltonduff 19 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
Classic Scotch whisky. If you like Glenlivet, or Glenfiddich, but want a little more punch and vivacity, then this is for you. Sweet grains, vanilla, balanced wood integration. Classic. And for a good price.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Caol Ila 5 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
I love this whisky. It's young and fiery with lots of phenolic Islay action, yet with a soft core of round fruit and hints of vanilla on the finish. It's like getting a glimpse at a planet in the early stages of development. If you're a fan of Caol Ila, you can't afford NOT to buy this whisky. It's classic Caol Ila, but at an almost blinding level of brightness.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Craigellachie 18 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Sherry Butt Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
Review Date: 3-3-2015
For those who enjoyed the sherry casks we once were able to secure from Glendronach, this is our current replacement--and it's far less expensive. Lovely richness, cakebread and spice, good weight on the palate. It's a solid 18 year old sherry-aged whisky for an outstanding price.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next  >>