Staff Favorites - Steve Greer

Steve Greer
Steve Greer  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I think I started down the path into the wine world with my first job, at 16, bussing tables in a Chinese restaurant. Blue Nun Riesling was the big seller (this in 1985, so don't laugh). While the Blue Nun Riesling was not an "epiphany" wine, I drank a lot of it. It was a magnum of Robert Sinskey Claret that I shared with friends while watching the 1994 World Cup that got me started reading about wine (Brazil won). My first "wow" wine was that same year, when a customer gave me a glass of 1982 Haut Brion. It was amazing. Next I found pinot noir, specifically a 1994 Whitcraft Bien Nacido, and I was hooked. I knew I wanted to sell wine so I moved from restaurants to wholesale wine sales, working for Metamora in Ohio and Kentucky. But after continued consolidation of distributors and the realization, that in wholesale you wear blinders, tasting only the wines you sell, I knew I wanted to move to the retail side. I would like to say I moved from Cincinnati just for K&L but I left the "Red" state for Los Angeles (a Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals fan in San Francisco just would not do) and I was very lucky to find the K&L store in Hollywood. The rest is history.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  next
Boulevard Brewing Co. "Dark Truth" Imperial Stout, Missouri 12oz
Review Date: 1-8-2013
Wow, these beers are balanced. I was surprised how well this carried its 9.7% ABV with a nice chocolaty, coffee palate. There is a great bite on the finish from the hops and never-ending coffee flavor.
Price: $2.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Tour de By, Médoc
Review Date: 1-8-2013
This wine is somewhat old school, but with a touch more fruit. The nose is a mix of currants, tobacco, a touch of roasted herbs and cedar. The palate shows a bit more ripe fruit—somewhere between bright red berry and plums. There is very nice acidity that gives a touch of tartness on the finish with plenty of tannins to fuel some aging potential.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Moulin La Lagune, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 1-8-2013
Another value-driven wine from the team at La Lagune! This is a little more tannic than the Mademoiselle L, but it has plenty of cassis and plum fruit on the nose as well as spice and floral notes. A richly-textured palate with dark fruit has just enough tannic structure to brace it up. This should age suprisingly well.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Le Bonnat, Graves
Review Date: 12-4-2012
The value wines from the 2009 vintage have been going fast but we luckily have plenty of this. The nose is rich and ripe filled with blackberry and plum. The palate is more layered with a background of spices underneath the ripe plum. The finish is grippy and chewy with more spice and a mineral note.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 I Custodi "Aetneus" Etna Rosso
Review Date: 12-4-2012
This is new for K&L from a winery that Chris Miller was told to visit on his trip to Sicily. The vines from the slopes of Etna are up to 250 years old. Dark black fruit fills the nose giving the impression that the wine will be powerful but an elegance comes through on the palate with layers of leather, orange peel, spice and of course the volcanic minerality. This is a very structured wine so it is best with dinner or a bit of cellaring. This is not to be missed.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2009 La Dauphine, Fronsac (1.5L)
Review Date: 11-27-2012
This estate has become a favorite around K&L and the 09 is one of their best yet. Bitter chocolate and ripe blackberry on the nose and palate. There is an almost creamy texture to the wine with a long finish of black fruit. Drink now over the next 5 years.

2008 Magdelaine, St-Emilion
Review Date: 11-15-2012
This is a great deal for the holidays at only $44.99. On the nose is lots of wood spice, anise, roasted herbs and a bit of earthy funk. The palate is black cherry and dark plum with more herbs as well as a bit of tobacco and bitter chocolate all of which is braced by bright acidity and some tannins. On a side note I had this bottle open for 3 days and it kept drinking.

Amaury Coutelas "Cuvee 1809" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-1-2012
Like an aged Meursault or a fino sherry this Champagne shows bruised apple, olive brine, salinity and chalky minerality with lots of acidity with a great mouthfeel. Damn.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1999 Fugue de Nenin, Pomerol
Review Date: 10-10-2012
For anyone that loved the 2000 Haut Ferrand you will love this wine. Lovely tobacco and plums and prunes with a bit of cedar and potpourri. On the palate is a lush ripe plum with more cedar and a lovely roasted spice that I can't quite pinpoint. The long finish has more of the dried plums (prunes) with earthy aromatic and a savory meaty flavor. I really like this better than the Haut Ferrand and it's cheaper!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1997 Potensac, Médoc
Review Date: 8-1-2012
This wine is beautifully aromatic, filled with forest floor and potpourri. The palate still shows lovely raspberry and blackberry, along with toasted spices and more potpourri. Again, please decant this wine for two-plus hours so the acidity, so prominent on the first pour, becomes a background note. This wine is up there with the 1997 Langoa-Barton.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 Labégorce, Margaux
Review Date: 8-1-2012
Amazingly, I haven’t written about this wine yet. Direct from the château, the wine has been stored and shipped in perfect condition and is showing very well. The nose starts off with some mushroom and barnyard and moves to black tea, spice and mineral. On the palate the fruit takes the stage, showing ripe, dark character along with more spice. The tannins are still evident, but it shows a lovely texture, with lifted acidity on the finish. Lots of life.

2004 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 4-3-2012
Speaking of elegant and old school, the ’04 from Lanessan has arrived. Secondary aromas dominated the wine for the first couple of hours, so please decant this to wake up the fruit. Mushroom dust, earth and gamey aromas preceed cedar and cherry. The elegant texture still showed some acidity, but the tannins are integrated. The past vintages of Lanessan (’97, ’99, ’01) have always been a hit, so don’t miss out on this.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe
Review Date: 4-3-2012
This wine has been under the ownership of the Gasqueton family (Calon-Ségur) for 10 generations, and the excellence of the management team shows. The vineyards lie between Montrose and Phelan-Ségur. It was aged in only 1/3 new oak, and only 10,000 cases were made. The nose is bright and fresh with lovely red currant and spice. The palate shows more ripeness to the red fruit with almost heady aromas and plenty of minerality. This is a lovely wine for only $23!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Moulin Haut Laroque, Fronsac
Review Date: 4-3-2012
Made by Michel Rolland, this displays some modern richness, but at $30 it is a value for its quality. Rich dark fruit dominates the nose with a bit of oak spice. The palate shows plenty of the black fruit, but there is an underlying rocky mineral flavor as well as more spice. The astringent finish is long, dominated by the oak spice. This is a big, modern Bordeaux.

2009 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
Review Date: 3-1-2012
The nose is filled with perfume, floral notes, incense and cassis. The layered palate is rich cassis, spice, cedar and mineral. The richness of the wine keeps the tannins in check while the acidity brightens the wine on the finish. This wine is stunning!

Page:  prev  1  2 3  4  next

More Favorites

Steve Greer is also a fan of the following items. To become a fan of Steve Greer, click here to join Steve Greer's Personal Sommelier Service.
Suze Gentian Liqueur 1L ($27.99)

Kina L'Avion D'Or Aperitif 750ml ($32.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Reposado Tequila 750ml ($54.99)

Tequila Fortaleza Anejo Tequila 750ml ($74.99)

Ocho Plata Tequila 750ml ($44.99)

Cana Brava Panama Rum 1L ($24.99)

2010 Montirius "Garrigues" Vacqueyras ($19.99)

St. George Terroir Mt. Tam Gin 750ml ($30.99)

Citadelle French Gin 750ml ($19.99)

2000 Domaine d'Ognoas K&L Exclusive Vintage Bas-Armagnac 750ml ($55.99)

Adrien Camut 15 Year Old K&L Exclusive Calvados 750ml ($115.99)

2010 Hedges "CMS Red" Columbia Valley Red Blend ($12.99)

Averna Amaro Siciliano 750ml ($29.99)

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box) ($39.99)

Russell's Reserve 6 Year Old Small Batch Rye 90 Proof 750ml (3 bottle limit per customer) ($34.99)

Pierre Paillard Grand Cru Brut Rosé Champagne ($49.99)

Michel Dervin Brut Champagne ($32.99)

Fleury "Cuveé Robert Fleury" Brut Champagne ($36.99)

Franck Bonville Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne ($39.99)

Berry Bros & Rudd No. 3 London Dry Gin 750ml ($34.99)

Seikyo "Omachi" Junmai Ginjo Sake 720ml ($29.99)

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne ($34.99)

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne ($59.99)

François Pinon Vouvray Brut Non Dosé ($21.99)