Staff Favorites - Sarah Covey

Sarah Covey

Reviews

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next
2010 Brewer-Clifton Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 3-19-2013
This is the perfect introduction to the wines of Brewer Clifton. Apple, tropical fruit, rich and yummy. Medium acidity makes this wine super easy to drink! Stock up!
Top Value!

2010 Brewer-Clifton "Mt. Carmel Vineyard" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 3-19-2013
The fruit in the Mt. Carmel is from slightly older vines, so this wine has a concentrated richness and broadness on the palate which makes it worth lingering over. Apple, pear, buttery depth with medium plus acidity and great balance. Stem inclusion in fermentation lends interesting texture and structure to the wine.

2010 Brewer-Clifton "Gnesa" Sta. Rita Hills Chardonnay
Review Date: 3-19-2013
Now I'm not usually a person who drinks Chardonnay (nothing against it, it's just not really my cup of tea), but the "Gnesa" is one I could absolutely enjoy multiple glasses of! I had it on a hot day, sitting in the vineyard in Santa Rita Hills, enjoying a turkey & cheese sandwich with all the fixin's, and the Gnesa was SINGING! Pretty apple, pear, spice, mineral with medium plus acidity and a long, lingering finish. Absolutely delicious!

2010 Qupe "Sawyer Lindquist Vineyard" Edna Valley Grenache
Review Date: 3-18-2013
Red cherry, raspberry, pepper, spice, mineral with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. This wine is from the Demeter certified Biodynamic Sawyer Linquist vineyard in Edna Valley. A distinct, varietally correct, delicious Grenache. Awesome.

2011 Qupe Santa Ynez Valley Marsanne
Review Date: 3-17-2013
There is 21% Roussanne in this wine, which creates a good balance here. Pear, apple, citrus with tiny hints of toast. Medium plus acidity and sooooo drinkable!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Palmina Santa Barbara County Pinot Grigio
Review Date: 3-17-2013
Winemaker Steve Clifton has created a really special Pinot Grigio with the 2012 vintage. All stainless steel, with a cold ferment using only Epernay yeast, and unusual use of lees stirring lends a baked bread character to this lovely wine. Lime zest, toast, citrus, mineral with medium plus acidity and a surprising richness. Not your Grandma's Pinot Grigio!Gorgeous.
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Palmina Santa Barbara County Malvasia Bianca
Review Date: 3-17-2013
Astonishing is the word that came to mind upon first inhale of the aroma of this beautiful Malvasia Bianca. Intensely aromatic and delivering onto the palate with lychee, apricot, citrus, white flowers and a fresh minerality. This wine has a fantastic zesty acidity will make you keep reaching to for your glass. Stunning & delicious!

2010 Gain Bay Lake County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 2-18-2013
Red cherry, black plum, medium plus acidity and easy tannins- juicy, friendly and very drinkable! If you love a great Cabernet value, look to Lake County, just north of Napa- at $16.99, you really can't go wrong! Buy by the case for parties!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Marques de Legarda Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 1-13-2013
Absolutely stunning Gran Reserva Rioja from a fabulous vintage. Stewed red cherry, hints of earth, warm saddle leather with wonderful acidity and fine, well-integrated tannins. This is a must for lovers of Rioja, but particularly for lovers of older wine. Gorgeous!
Top Value!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Jean-Louis Denois Cremant de Limoux
Review Date: 12-24-2012
Oooh deliciousness for $14.99! Crispy apple, toasty biscuit, and lovely minerality here! Perfect for holiday parties- stock up!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fleury "Carte Rouge" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 12-8-2012
Every time I try this wine, I wonder why I don't drink more of it! Apple, toast and mineral make this champagne from our friends at Fleury perfectly balanced and well-suited to food. Grown organically and biodynamically, the care that is taken with each bottle will shine through. Perfect gift or party bubbly for the holidays!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BH 90 BC 0

1998 Bodegas Casa Juan Seņor de Lesmos Gran Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-8-2012
This is a gorgeous wine! Moving gracefully into its secondary characteristics, with stewed cherry, hints of leather and earth. Still had medium plus acid and fine tannins, leading me to believe this puppy will continue to age well for at least another 5-10 years. Drink it now after decanting, and you will not be diasppointed!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 11-24-2012
This has been my recent number one go-to champagne: I had a bottle with a friend at dinner, and then 2 days later had another to start a party, and I am buying a third tonight just because! Pretty spiced apple, white flowers, and citrus, with medium acid & a fine bubble structure. Very pleasant and quite friendly for such a complex wine. A lot of fun as a conversation starter at a cocktail party!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Deligeroy Cremant de Loire Brut
Review Date: 9-28-2012
What a screaming deal at $11.99! This bubbly from the Loire Valley will delight you with its refreshingly pleasant acidity, fine bubble structure, and hints of pear, apple and minerals. Chenin Blanc, Chardonnay & Cabernet Franc. When I first brought this wine home, I admittedly had intended to just mix it with my Mathilde Cassis for a Kir Royale, but I wanted to give the wine its proper due and poured a glass out straight first. A wonderful surprise met me, and I never did add that cassis.... the wine somehow disappeared too quickly! Perfect for holiday entertaining!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Cocchi Aperitivo Americano 750ml
Review Date: 7-10-2012
Oooooh if you love Lillet Blanc but want something a little sweeter as an aperitif, try the Cocchi Americano! Mandarin orange, lemon, hints of white flowers with a sweet finish.... delicious on the rocks on a hot afternoon!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1  2  3 4  5  next