Staff Favorites - Scott Beckerley

Scott Beckerley
Scott Beckerley  | Send Email  |   Subscribe to My Sommelier Service
I wear a number of “hats,” so to speak (covers my bald head well). I am an assistant manager at the SF store. I also manage the SF tasting bar and work sales as well. Working the sales floor allows me to explore different vineyards and regions. Luckily, there are opportunities at K&L to bounce around a lot. I’ve developed a preference for wines that are drier, more tart and more complex. Fruit bombs are not my thing like they were when I was, ahem, younger. I definitely prefer more terrior and wines that are “earthy,” particularly with some age on them. My advice? Trust yourself and try to keep track of what you have had that you like. Don’t let anyone tell you what you are supposed to like. Everyone has a different palate and that’s what makes this business interesting.


Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next
2012 Fossil Point Edna Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 1-29-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This lively, bright, pinot noir has a lot to offer for the price. It has a floral nose of strawberries and fresh-picked raspberries. Fleshier in the mouth, with cherry and strawberry fruit. Nice bit of light oak that adds just enough interest to the finish.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2011 Happy Canyon "K&L-Doug Margerum Cuvee" Happy Canyon Red Wine
Review Date: 1-29-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is indeed a happy wine! Bright red fruits, with just a hint of oak to add complexity. This wine is easy drinking and low tannin, so for those of you who are looking for a pleasant sipping wine, this is it!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $14.99
BC 0

2012 Château de la Charrière Bourgogne Hautes-Côtes-de Beaune Domaine Yves Girardin
Review Date: 1-29-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is such a solid and affordable red Burgundy! It is medium to rich in the mouth with dark fruits mid-palate and zippy acidity on the finish. I am already a fan of this vineyard and this little gem just keeps me loving the Charriere Burgundy's even more.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Pascual Toso Malbec Maipú
Review Date: 1-29-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This excellent little everyday malbec is supple and soft with dark red fruits and traditional cedar spice and game bird notes. Supple enough to enjoy by itself and complex enough to compliment nearly any meal.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Limerick Lane Russian River Valley Zinfandel
Review Date: 1-28-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I rarely write up Zinfandel because I generally find them to be too jammy and sweet. Last week, January 22nd to be precise, we had a mini-ZAP tasting in our SF store. Limerick Lane was one of the wineries present and it was one of the best Zinfandels that I have had in a number of years. It has a richness to it, yes, with red plum and blackberry fruit, nice hints of spice and just a touch of cocoa. It is deep and rich but, with great character, nuance and fineness. It holds your interest. A few other jaded co-workers also expressed their positive views of the Limerick Lane wines that evening. So, I can pretty safely say that this is pretty much a wine for everyone! P.S. From past experience, this wine ages extremely well!
Drink from 2015 to 2023

2013 Oustric Picpoul de Pinet
Review Date: 1-27-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This bright little "lip stinger" wine is much more than just clean citrus fruit, saline and minerals. It also has a touch of white stone fruits and white flowers in the nose. Refreshing, clean and yet delicate and, well, pretty. For those of you who like your Gruner Veltliner and Albarino, you should consider this little bargain!
Top Value!
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Olema Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This bottling from Amici Cellars was hugely popular with the 2011 vintage. Well, it only gets better with the 2012 vintage! Deep and rich, with dark red fruits, cassis and mocha notes. Lush on the palate, with bright oak and roasted nuts. Another winner from Amici Cellars!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The Ariston family are some of my favorite winemakers who produce some of the best small-estate champagnes that we carry. This blanc de blanc is no exception. It carries their reputation for excellent quality at an affordable price. This is a creamy, rich style of blanc de blanc with a rich mousse and lemon meringue flavors. Fleshy, without being heavy, it has a long, subtle finish of apple and pear fruit. A great way to start a party or meal!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
I have long been a fan of this winery and the 2012 is no exception. In fact, it is one of the best releases in recent memory. Mostly sangiovese (90%) with 10% colorino, it is dominated by black cherry fruit, fresh herbs and chewy tannins. This is a wonderful chianti for those of you who prefer the traditional style.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Viña Eguía Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This surprisingly weighty release has gobs of black cherries and red plums with herbs and cedar. It also has nice, spicy undertones of pepper and minerals. Wonderful floral nose of crushed violets. A great value, as well!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Like the previous vintages of this wine, the 2014 is a fun, affordable and easy drinking wine without the raisins/prune character in similar wines. A little French oak for added flavors and low tannins make this a perfect party wine. Consistently listed as a "Best Buy" by the Wine Enthusiast.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
Review Date: 1-26-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This is an excellent, fun sauvignon blanc that comes in at a very affordable price. It is a crisp, clean style with loads of minerality and fresh lime, grapefruit and meyer lemon fruit. No grassiness, just pure, clean sauvignon blanc that begs for shellfish or crab.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 1-22-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This review is for the latest release, a blend of 20% 1999 vintage, 20% 2000 vintage and 60% 2002 vintage. A blend of 50% chardonnay and 50% pinot noir with a clean nose of green apples, lime and minerals. Lush and full on the palate with toasted hazelnut and almond notes. It has a very nice finish that linger and lingers! The best one that I have tasted since the 1996 blend.

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
Review Date: 1-8-2015
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
We just had the opportunity to taste this latest release of Banshee Pinot Noir today (6 January) and though I liked the 2012 version of this wine, I think that I prefer the 2013. As with the previous vintage, this one has bright red fruits, rhubarb and pine notes, where the 2012 had black fruits; in the mid-palate, the 2013 stays bright and clean with a long finish of generous acidity. Being a fan of Burgundy, this works for me! This is a wonderful, affordable Pinot Noir with excellent quality and character that will pair very well with chicken and fattier fishes such as salmon. A real winner, this.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 9-22-2014
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Very pretty nose of red cassis, dark cherry, cream and light earth. Unfined and unfiltered, yet, not blocky or chunky. Bright cherries on the palate, with notes of spice and earth. Excellent acidity on the finish that adds grace and balance. A very substantial, and delicious, effort.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next