Staff Favorites - Jim Barr

Jim Barr

Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  next
2005 Miguel Merino Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 7-30-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
What an amazingly wonderful wine that is a cross between old school Rioja and new worldish richness. Medium deep ruby in color (it’s still has that youthful appearance), the rich, lush bouquet offers tons of fruit with a vibrant anise to blackberry fruit tinge and a Burgundian game-like background note. Broad, viscous, silky, deeply flavored, and complex in the mouth, this Gem offers immediate drinkability, yet incredible structure and depth to allow it to be cellared another five to ten years. Rusty has informed me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for the next five to then years. 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2023

2012 Kalinda Rheingau Riesling Qba
Review Date: 7-10-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Lush aromas of jasmine to white peach underscored by a wet river stone to slate-like minerality define the very serious bouquet of this lovely wine that was created by our German Wine Buyer, Eric Story [his third such creation in three years}, and is not quite a Tröcken nor a Halb-Tröcken, but somewhere in between those styles. Incredible structure and depth of character on the palate, this Gem is off-dry, yet refreshing and bright due to its excellent acid levels and presentation of superb Riesling fruit. According to Rusty, this very serious Gem is one of the best buys in the store and he has informed me that we need at least several cases of this wonderful wine. 11.5% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $8.99
BC 0

1996 Clement Pichon, Haut Médoc
Review Date: 6-27-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
A blend of Cabernet Sauvignon (60%), Merlot (30%) and Cabernet Franc (10%), this nicely aged, matured Cru Bourgeois Bordaeaux came directly to us from the library cellar of the chateau. In its opulent, distinctive bouquet, you will be treated to blackberry, mocha, cedary to antiqueish components, which carry over well into its complex, lush, silky mouthfeel. Sophisticated, elegant and well-integrated, this Gem finishes with a long, warm, and intricate finish. Rusty has informed me that this Gem will definitely be one of our house reds for the month. 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2018
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Gigault "Cuvée Viva" Premières, Blaye Côtes de Bordeaux
Review Date: 5-30-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Medium-deep ruby in color, the bouquet offers up tons of black cherry to currants-like fruit notes with mocha to roasted coffee bean undertones, and a hint of slate-like minerality. All of this carries over nicely to a complex, broad, viscous wine in the mouth. Rusty has informed me that this will be one of our every day house wine in five to ten years For those of you who are hung up on points from the wine gods, The Wine Spectator gave this 89 points, Parker gave it 90 points, and Suckling gave it 92 points. 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2018 to 2025

2009 La Fleur Calon, Montagne St-Emilion
Review Date: 5-30-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Medium deep ruby in color, the nose shows lush plumy to blueberry notes with just a hint of wet stone minerality. With its soft, round, integrated entry, this Gem, which is mostly Merlot, offers up immediate drinkability and completeness, with a long, warm finish. Dusty has informed me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for the month. 14.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2016
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Launois Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
Review Date: 5-14-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Produced from an old vine, mid-slope South facing vineyard, this powerful wine provides tons of opulent yeasty, nutty characteristics on the nose that transcend its impressively complex, rich, lush, and deep flavors with incredible structure and a finish that defines Champagnes that are three to four times this price. The Bean has informed me that, without a question, we need to have a case of this Gem in our cellar, now! 12.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2020
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 2-21-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
In a so-so vintage, Lanessan has created a wonderfully balanced wine that is soft and round in the mouth with blackberry to currant-like fruit, with portabella and earthy notes, and a clean, warm finish. This Gem will be one of our house reds for the month, according to Rusty. 13.0%
Drink from 2013 to 2016
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2003 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 2-21-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
The 2003 vintage was an incredibly warm vintage that resulted in certain grapes becoming a bit too ripe and, as a result, producing rather fat style wines. This Lanessan is not that, and if one discription has to be used, it is power. Deeply colored, this Gem shows a ripe, rich, focused cassis to current fruit note with mocha undertones on the nose, that leads to a broad, viscous, complex, almost creamy mouthfeel. It is long and luscious, and will be our house red, according to Rusty for the next three to six years. 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 2-21-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Between this vintage and the 1997, I can’t make up my mind as to which one I absolutely like the best. The problem, here, is that I love this Bordeaux vintage. It is a classic great vintage to me. But the 1997 is so superb to drink now, it is hard for me to decide. Read my description of the 1997 and apply it to this Gem. Rusty has indicated that this production will be one of our house reds for however long it is around. 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2016
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1998 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc
Review Date: 2-21-2013
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This production is medium ruby in color, with aromas of currants and cherry-like tones, and creamy, cedary notes. In the mouth, this Gem is soft, integrated, fleshy, and long. Nice wine for near-term consumption. Rusty has made this one of our house reds for the month.13.0% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2018
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
From my favorite Rioja producer, this stunning, complex, high-profiled “Reserva” offers all the elements that I look for in a great wine: an opulent bouquet, abundant structure and depth, exceptional mid-range, focus, a broad and powerful fruit presentation, and a finish that is satisfyingly long and warm. Medium deep ruby in color, the nose is loaded with an anise spiciness in concert with currant and cassis-like fruit characteristics, with undercurrents of game and mild toasty notes. All of these remarkable features carry over to its extraordinary set of flavors and overall presentation. This Gem will age easily for another ten to fifteen years, but you will find it difficult to keep your hands off of it for the near term once you taste it. Rusty has anointed this wonderful Gem as one of our house reds for however long it is around and has ordered me to buy cases of it for our cellar. 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2028
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2008 Marques de Legarda Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 12-26-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Produced mostly from Tempranillo, this lovely, well-balanced, harmonious Rioja from the oldest bodega in that wine producing region provides a highly perfumed nose of cranberries and mulberries, with distinctive undertones of violets, cedar, citrus, and a dusty minerality. Medium-full in body, this complex Gem shows excellent integration of very fine, silky tannins with superb structure and depth of character. Its long, fleshy finish seems to last forever. This Gem, according to Rusty, will be one of our house reds for the month and for the next three to six years.13.5% ABV
Drink from 2013 to 2020
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2011 Bodegas Casa Juan Señor de Lesmos "Cuarteto" Rioja
Review Date: 12-4-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
And yet another wonderful wine from this estate. Absolutely delicious! Opulent aromas of mocha, plums, anise, cassis, unlit cigar, and blackberry characteristics abound in the nose . Broad, rich, viscous, creamy, complex, great mid-range, integrated, fleshy, and long. Rusty has also designated this Gem as one of our house reds for however long it is available 13.0% ABV
Drink from 2011 to 2020
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Kalinda Redwood Valley Sauvignon Blanc
Review Date: 12-4-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
Produced for us by Chance Creek Vineyards from “Estate” fruit, this lovely, newly released SB, which has 10% Viognier blended in, offers pronounced aromas of casaba melon with back notes of white pepper , honeysuckle, and jasmine that carry through on the palate. In the mouth, this Gem is surprisingly rich and lush, yet well structured with a mouthwatering, fleshy finish. The Bean wants this non-oaked Gem to be one of our house whites for however long it is around. 13.5% ABV
Drink from 2012 to 2015
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Bodegas Puelles Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 7-31-2012
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
This has to be one of my favorite Riojas that we have available. Medium deep ruby in color, the perfume of this lovely Gem is loaded with currants and cassis tones that carry over nicely to its complex, silky mouthfeel. Although drinking well now, you will be able age this Rioja another four to eight years, easily. Rusty has informed me that this Gem will be one of our house reds for however it is around. (Jim Barr)
Drink from 2012 to 2020
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart RP 89 BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  next