Staff Favorites - Mike Parres

Mike Parres

Reviews

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next
2009 La Velona Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 2-6-2015
I gave this two stars: A beautifully layered, expressive wine bursting with sweet, ripe strawberries and black cherries intermingled with subtle earth and toasted oak notes, minerals and a hint of dark chocolate on the finish; round and ripe tannins and a long aftertaste. Decant for about an hour.
Price: $32.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

Club Price: $29.99
WS 92 RP 91 JS 90

2012 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
Review Date: 1-31-2015
Medium-bodied, it is characterized by fruity notes (cherry and raspberry) and hints of spices and herbs,sort of like a cross between Beaujolais and Bourgeuil. It is mouthwatering and savory. I like to give this a slight chill and pair it with grilled poultry or just sip it on the porch with some salami and salty cheese.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Pinot Nero
Review Date: 1-21-2015
This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air around you. Medium to full-bodied, richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate, like duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 1-21-2015
Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus. There are notes of ripe apples and pears, with minerals on the front palate, and it's very rich and creamy on the mid-palate; great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
Review Date: 1-21-2015
This is our seventieth of bringing Ermacora to you, and way back in 1998 our price on the P.G. was $11.99! We love beating that euro down! And one of K&L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a great wine for you to start the evening off with some Pecorino, and it will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Terre da Vino "La Luna e I Falò" Barbera d'Asti Superiore
Review Date: 1-21-2015
This is classic Barbera with dark ripe black cherries and plum, full-bodied with some minerals and dust on the very long and well integrated finish. I would let this open for an hour or so and serve with a grilled Portobello mushroom or burgers and some great friends.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Poggio al Tufo "Rompicollo" Toscana
Review Date: 1-21-2015
It is just the kind of wine you want when you sit down with a little bread and cheese or when you open something to drink while cooking dinner. Rich and complex, Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon. Super Tuscan & Super Price !

2013 Villa Pillo Sangiovese Toscana (3L Bag-in-a-Box) (cannot ship)
Review Date: 12-29-2014
The nose is classic ripe cherries and strawberries and a hint of cocoa powder. On the palate of this medium-bodied wine, you will find the fruit described above, with a touch of minerals and soft tannins, which gives this wine a very lush feel to the palate and an incredible long finish. Turn down the heat in your house; this will keep you warm on chilly winter evenings!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Valle dell'Acate "Il Frappato" Vittoria
Review Date: 12-26-2014
Made from grapes known also as Frappato di Vittoria, this wine is fragrant, fresh and bursting out, intense notes of cherries, blackberry and raspberry. The palate impression is bright and fresh, light but persistent; with small black and red fruits coating the mouth. Wonderful with all cheeses, it is equally at home when served with fish. Give a slight chill.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mossio Dolcetto d'Alba "Piano Delli Perdoni"
Review Date: 11-26-2014
Wow!!! This definitely gets THREE Stars from me, what a mouthful of wine. The elegant perfumes will entice you to want to jump into the glass; medium to full-bodied and very supple with overripe cherries, blackberries, bitter-sweet chocolate and lots on minerals with soft tannins. This wine has such great structure it will stand the test of time; the big problem will be keeping enough around to age it. Thinking risotto dishes or a grilled Portobello mushroom, but honestly I am actually drinking this one with some dried cheese & salami.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 La Massa "Giorgio Primo" Toscana
Review Date: 11-25-2014
Full-bodied, with well-integrated tannins and a long, balanced, dark chocolate-tinged finish. Lots of toasted oak and ripe fruit and loads of black fruit, gamy with some hints of vanilla, Giorgio Primo comes from winemaker Giampaolo Motta.

2012 Filippi "Castelcerino" Soave Colli Scaligeri
Review Date: 11-19-2014
WOW! That's what several of us were saying at a staff tasting where this Soave was the first wine we tasted. Pure and fresh, this is a delicious dry white wine. Soave is one of Italy's most popular white wines, probably because the good ones like this are so smooth, light, and easy to drink. This wine comes from an area just east of Valpolicella and the grape is Garganega. A great sipper for your holiday brunches.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Figata Spritz
Review Date: 11-11-2014
If you ever been to Europe and had a pre-dinner cocktail called a spritz, we have it here already to go. Pour, add ice and an orange slice and you are done. This is a great holiday party sipper, only eight percent alcohol, so you can have a nice big glass. Buy a few, this bottle empties quickly.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Terre da Vino "La Casa in Collina" Barbaresco
Review Date: 11-9-2014
Grab it while you can. Ripe and laced with tobacco and gravel flavors as well as leather and tar. Would drink now and over the couple of years.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Saracco Moscato d'Asti
Review Date: 11-5-2014
Mr. Saracco is the toast of the US rappers who sip his Moscato d’Asti at parties and name-check it in their lyrics. Indeed, hip hoppers’ vocal endorsement is credited as being one of the reasons why producers are popping their corks at the growing popularity of this sparkling wine. Since Kanye West’s mention of Moscato d’Asti in the song “Make Her Feel Good” sales have been spiralling upwards. Moscato d’Asti is, like Champagne, from a controlled appellation of origin. Made from Muscat Blanc grapes grown exclusively in Asti, Alessandria and Cuneo, it proudly traces its heritage back to Roman times when it was called Moscatellum. The alcohol content remains low, typically at 5% ABV. This is a great wine to serve for all your spring parties.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  prev  1 2  3  4  5  next