Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>
1997 Laphroaig 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  We all know Laphroaig is a love or hate proposition and this, my friends, is proper Laphroaig. Aged in a hogshead for 16 years, the nose starts exactly where you'd hope -PEAT! The massive smoke is not one dimensional however, moving from sooty embers to oceany briny and back again. One the palate, the sweet malt balances the intense peat nicely with the slightly lower ABV making it shockingly easy to consume. This reminds me of somewhere between the old 15 year and the current 10 year cask strength. A stupendous offering that we're absolutely lucky to have.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1996 Tobermory 18 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  BOOOOOOOOOM! This is definitely my favorite Tobermory to date. This fun and funky little distillery from the gorgeous Isle of Mull, is considered very high quality. That said, the distillery offering, their 15-year-old, sells at close to $140. This is several years older and from one single cask, but also has even more character than the standard offering. Perhaps it's the fact the half the time the little distillery on Mull is devoted to creating peated whisky, but this definitely has a phenolic background note which makes it very intriguing at first glance. While the distillery is officially in the highlands, this bottling is the epitome of an "Island" whisky. It has a certain sense of place that is just unexplainable. Fruit, salt, malt, and the tiniest hint of smoke - pure joy! The finish has this fabulous earthy gravel note that slowly merges into a dark fudge quality. Probably the most unexpected of this years offerings and the obvious contender for sleeper hit of the year.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1990 Girvan 24 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This is single grain and from the same distillery that recently released a 25-year-old version at nearly five times the price. This is ULTRA easygoing whisky. Not for your big peat heads, this is the stuff you give to the guy that loves high-end blends or just easy drinking. Maybe not the most complex whisky on offer this year, but certainly one of the easiest we have right now. The nose is low aroma, with subtle yellow fruit aromas. Hints of vanilla and fresh cut wood continue on to the palate where the sweet grain takes over. Won't scratch the itch for some of the malt guys, but will make all the normal drinkers in the world VERY happy.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1964 North British 50 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Just think about what 50 years in a barrel does to a whisky. This was luckily coming from a large hogshead considering we got nearly 120 bottles out of the cask. With the amount of expected evaporation that means that possibly as much as 80% of this whisky evaporated over the course of its five decades of maturation. The resulting whisky is surprisingly light on its feet without a bitterness or a sense of being "too old." The nose is one of the closest to bourbon I've seen in Scotch. It reminds me of an old school wheater of the highest order. The exotic wood, deep vanilla, and melted brown sugar don't translate over to the palate, which is oily and surprisingly lifted. The creamy texture is what really takes over on the palate, framed by subtle sweet grain and a dark caramel note on the finish. More stupendously drinkable whisky that despite the high price remains an incredible value by any measure.
Price: $249.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  We all know the Dr. Bill can do no wrong and this fabulous new offering from Glenmo's Private Edition line is no exception. I love it when instead of getting super experimental (think Ardbeg Space Whisky) the guys at Glenmo kind of go back the other way. Producing whisky by hand from heirloom varieties of barley is not a first for the modern whisky industry, but Dr. Bill has done it in such a thoughtful and delicious way, you're almost glad he didn't do it first. We absolutely loved the Bere Barley from Bruichladdich a couple of years ago and this takes the idea of barley varietals one step further by including an in house malting scheme. The result is something utterly unique and perhaps wildly authentic. This feels like old school whisky (although retaining Glenmo's classic elegance) and has a depth and soul hard to come by in modern releases. The high protein variety of barley producers far less alcohol (less starch), but much more character than the spring varietals typically used. Robust and round, with tons a fruit and small but persistent spicy quality. We've got a decent supply right now, but like all the Private Editions we'll have people asking about this one for years to come (not to mention it's likely to take home some serious awards later in the year).
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Cantina Valle Isarco Lagrein
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Fairly dark red-purple in color with aromas and flavors of blackberries, black plums and tea leaf. It is medium-weight and savory on the palate. I drink this wine with grilled meats, stews, sausages....very versatile. Great value.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSF (11 year & 6 months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  We all know that these Four Roses Single Barrels can be off the chain, but this one is just a whole different thing. We're talking about ULTRA rich nose of maple and spice. Subtle dusty earth tones build around that base moving toward the darker chocolate and flambéed fruit. On the palate, the surprising dryness is refreshing with that lovely gravelly earthiness and a strong peppery spice. Watch out!!!
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Cantina Valle Isarco Pinot Nero/Blauburgunder
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Südtiroler Blauburgunder or Alto Adige Pinot Nero, the wine is fantastic. Like a cool mountain lake, with fine acidity and focus and layers of cool red fruits. Chill it slightly and serve with wild mushroom pasta dishes or trout.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Four Roses K&L Exclusive OBSK (9 year & 8 Months) Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  I tend to lean toward the older offerings from Four Roses when we get the single barrels as they tend to have additional concentration and power that's not seen in the under 10-year-old stuff. My rule of thumb has officially been thrown out the window (it was a terrible one anyway, considering I'm always talking about how older doesn't always equal better), because this little OBSK is just singing on every level. I'm glad we didn't wait one more day before dumping this baby, it's got everything I want in a high rye bourbon. Sweet candy and savory spice on the nose. Behind those powerful aromas, a deep dark woodsy thing that reminds me of old glories from the 60s and 70s. The palate is a constant struggle between the dusty spice and the sweet vanilla-laden oak. Whoa, it's a big boy! Absolutely delicious!
Price: $66.99 Add To Cart BC 0

West County Cider "Reine de Pomme" Cider, Massachusetts 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This dry cider is deep gold, has a fruity, appealing "apple juice" aroma, and virtually no funky/earthy aromas, desirable though they may be to hard cider fans. But make no mistake, it is dry, dry, chalky dry on the finish. Bottled Champagne-style, it's got a high degree of effervescence. If you like fresh apple aromas but want to move to something more austere and serious than big-brand ciders, check this out.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lagavulin Distiller's Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This stuff is so overtly awesome it's hard not recommend it even to people who adamantly hate peat smoke. Something about putting that sweet syrupy sherry note on top of the oily robust spirit that we get from Lagavulin is so satisfying, I see why every other distiller in the world is trying to emulate it. Of course, nothing is like Lagavulin so where others fail miserably, the Lagavulin Distillers Edition is a triumph. Massive, oily, all encompassing - this is whisky you'll need to savor slowly. It borders on dessert level sweetness, but all that oil and smoke keeps it in range. As always, there is a limited supply of this whisky and once it's gone we'll have to wait for the new release.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Louis XIII de Remy Martin Grande Champagne Cognac 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Louis XIII is all about history and authenticity. It's absolutely silly the time and expertise that goes into creating this special blend. It's the ultimate luxury experience and a window into the History of Cognac. This special cognac represents a continuity between the first bottling many decades ago. Want to actually taste the cognac that Charles De Gaul opened at the end of WWII - this is the stuff. With a minimum age of 40 years, none of the 4 master blenders has actually tasted their final blend, but they have compared them to older bottlings to make sure that the quality remains identical through out each bottling. The gorgeous hand blown crystal just adds to the majesty. Truly decadent and totally worth every penny.
Price: $3,299.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1978 Port Dundas 36 Year Old Sovereign K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Grain Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This is an enigmatic whisky from an equally mysterious distillery. The whisky needs some time, it needs you to take a step back and take some time with it. Big powerful vanilla nose (almost like a roasted vanilla). The palate has tons of phenol (it's not peat) but definitely some dark earthy flavors. There's also tons of fresh exotic botanicals in there (ginseng, orris, ginger, meadowsweet?) and then those dark dense phenolic flavors coming back. Diesel oil, roasted chestnuts, burning coal. Massively weird and totally special.
Price: $149.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Mortlach 7 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This fun and educational little monster whisky is the sort that makes geeks giddy and noobs cringe. I seriously heard two different groups at the Scotch Club tasting of this product proclaim that it was fabulous, while the other announced that they didn't get it at all. It's naked young Mortlach in all its malty splendor. If you're looking for something sweet and soft this is not it. It does have mounds of vanilla fudge (cake frosting), yellow flowers, snappy malty spark. Linear and structured. Takes water pretty well, but quickly looses intensity after a few drops.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Caol Ila 5 Year Old Hepburn's Choice K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  This young Caol Ila has gone over well with some of the more serious drinkers that frequent our spirits department. Like a briny wave crashing over your head, the Caol Ila is as fresh and vibrant as any Islay you've ever had. Definitely with the lemony briny and maybe the slightest hint of kippers, the smoky is clean and billowing. Takes water nicely, but beware of the high ABV!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Lagoon Hill Sauvignon Blanc Martinborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/25/2015 | Send Email
  Exceptional value thanks to our importer direct deal. Single vineyard, organically farmed, Martinborough Sauvignon Blanc. A super easy drinking style with juicy ripe citrus, passionfruit, fresh cut herbs and wet stone. Round juicy texture and refreshing ripe acidity. Such a great summer wine, stock up now while it lasts at this crazy good price!
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price WE 90 BC 0

2012 Vincent Girardin St-Aubin 1er Cru "Murgers Dent de Chien"
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  This rich and delicious Saint Aubin comes from one of my favorite vineyards in Burgundy. It is located just over the hill from Chevalier Montrachet, and cheek by jowl with Puligny-Montrachet Champs Gain 1er Cru. If this said Puligny 1er Cru on the label it would sell for twice the price. This is rich and focused, long on the palate and quite delicious. Don't miss it!
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Hirsch "San Andreas Fault" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  I have been waiting a long time for this wine to be released, and of course, it wasn't in vain. Bright red fruit with layers of rose petals, cinnamon, forest floor and herbs. Acidity is nicely integrated and the tannins are apparent. After a couple of hours in a decanter, the wine opens up beautifully and shows incredibly. If you're patient, several years in your cellar will be even better.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Napa Cellars Napa Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  The former 2nd label of Romabauer, this wine continues in that rich, ripe style with hints of oak. If a bigger Chardonnay is what you like, this wine over-delivers.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Flowers Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  A beautiful vintage for the Flowers Sonoma Coast. Light bodied with a candied red fruit, cola, forest floor and a hint of cinnamon. The wine has integrated acid and great length.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WE 91 BC 0

2012 Butternut Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  The name says it all. For a great value California Chardonnay, this is your bottle.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Rochioli "Estate" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  Rochioli has been a Russian River Valley legend for many years. Originally bought in 1953 by Joe Rochioli Sr., the 135 acres ranch at that time was called Fenton Acres. Originally planted to many of the jug wine varietals like French Colombard and Napa Gamay. Joe Sr and Joe Jr planted Cabernet Sauvignon and Sauvignon Blanc in 1959. The Sauvignon Blanc was successful and the original plantings still produce grapes today. The Cabernet Sauvignon didn't work very well and Joe Jr decided to plant Pinot Noir in 1968. Shortly after, Chardonnay was planted and as they say, "The rest is history". The first Rochioli wine was released in 1987 and from day one has been known for great wines. Today, third generation Tom Rochioli is the winemaker and continues the work that his Grandfather and Father did before him.

2001 d'Escurac, Medoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Toasty aromas and a very fruity palate impression. Super value. Very elegant wine from one of my favorite ready to drink vintages. Enjoy with a rack of lamb.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Salle de Poujeaux, Moulis
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Toasting, oaky aromas. After decanting the wine opens up to a red fruit forward beauty.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This property has been neglected by us in the past-our mistake. The 2005 has great terroir on the nose and palate. Plenty of structure for the cellar and a sweet middle fruit.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2000 d'Issan, Margaux
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Elegant property and full bodied red with that Margaux underlying elegance. Red fruits here.
Drink from 2015 to 2020

2001 Latour, Pauillac
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of our favorite vintages and Latour made a great one. If you can’t afford the new releases, try this one. Elegance mixed with power.
Drink from 2016 to 2030

2000 Latour-Martillac, Pessac-Léognan (1.5L)
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A sleeper wine that we neglected in its youth. I do not like the label, but inside the bottle it is exceptional.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

1996 Latour, Pauillac
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A classic Latour from a classic Cabernet vintage. So sweet and yet so powerful. For that special event, I recommend this one.
Drink from 2015 to 2030

1990 Ducru-Beaucaillou, St-Julien
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Great vintage. Super wine that is mature and priced less than the current vintages.
Drink from 2015 to 2025
Price: $189.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1995 Latour, Pauillac
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  From the Merlot dominated vintage comes this Cabernet wine. Has elegance and more forward than 1995.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2009 Brio de Cantenac Brown, Margaux
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Great second wine that sold out immediately when last brought in.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

2011 Léoville-Las Cases, St-Julien
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of the best wines from this controversial vintage. Big scores and lots of ripeness in a vintage not known for ripeness.
Drink from 2017 to 2030

2010 Antinori "Solaia" Toscana
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of the best ever from this super Tuscan red. Decant two hours before serving in near future.
Drink from 2020 to 2030

2009 du Tertre, Margaux
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Good upfront fruit. Mid-palate? At UGC: Lighter in style here. Sweet and racy. Quite forward. Drink the 1996 and save this value for a few more years. Beautiful Chateau and great tasting red.
Drink from 2015 to 2025

2009 Les Allées de Cantemerle, Haut-Médoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This wine comes in and goes out-a delicious red wine which is the second wine of one of our biggest selling Bordeaux.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2010 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Now you have the choice of 2009 or 2010 here. This wine is a bit more structured than the 2009, but with decanting is perfectly paired with a steak.
Drink from 2016 to 2025

2003 Lanessan, Haut-Médoc (375ml)
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Perfect size for one from a ripe and sexy vintage. Old school style meets hot vintage equals delicious.
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Pontet-Canet, Pauillac
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A perfect wine just like the 2009. Classic 100 point wine for one fourth of the first growth prices.
Drink from 2020 to 2050

2010 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Brunick | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  This is drinking beautifully now and will age gracefully over the next 5-10 years as well. No expense spared by the folks at Amici Wines to make the absolute best wines possible for the price! Dark, rich, supple, juicy, with integrated oak and polished tannins on the finish. This is always a staff favorite!

2012 Krutz Family Cellars "Magnolia Series" Napa Valley Zinfandel
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  A Napa Valley Zinfandel for $19.99 ? Very impressive indeed. This Zinfandel is not for the faint of heart. It's a big boy with a lot of big dark fruit, big spice and a multiple layers of flavor. The wine also has amazing backbone which balances out the lush fruit giving this wine great character. Krutz Family Cellars was started by Patrick Krutz back in 2003. A young man from Jackson, Mississippi who came West to find his dream. He found it in the wine business. I have been a fan of the winery and Patrick for several years. The first wine we brought in from them was a 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon. Over the years, we have brought in many different varietals from many different area of California. Patrick continues to find great fruit sources and the wines continue to get better and better. In 2011, two of Patrick's brothers joined the Company and now it truly is a family affair.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2009 Pichon-Lalande, Pauillac
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Fabulous vintage and my favorite property for many years
Drink from 2016 to 2036

2010 McClean X "Simone" Paso Robles Zinfandel
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  I'm not the first person to jump up when someone pours a Paso Robles Zinfandel. However, this wine was a real surprise both in its ripeness and its structure.Dark blue fruit intermingled with hints of red fruit, tobacco, clove and chocolate. The wine is well integrated with great depth and length. This is a Zinfandel several steps ahead of other wines in its price point. Very limited. Get it while you can.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

Glenmorangie Túsail Limited Edition Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  The Glenmo Tusail has been a decade in the making. This is not some hodgepodge blend of differently aced barrels, this is a whisky that was conceived of 10 years ago, brought to fruition with floor malted barley, and laid to rest, creating a Malt that is truly unique. The Maris Otter barley gives an amazingly nappy texture, delivering notes of vanilla and baking spice in a palate coating luxury. The bourbon barrel aging allows all the complexity of the Scotch to shine without covering it up with pure wood notes. Candied ginger and sweet lemon zest make for a delicious dram.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Lewis Cellars "Reserve" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  Big, bright and intense Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon with plenty of cedar, vanilla and clove. This is a giant of a wine that can drink early or hold for 3-5 years.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Glenfiddich 12 year old Signature Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  A Classic Malt in every aspect of the term. Clean and bright, a touch of honeysuckle, a kiss of vanilla sweetness, this malt has a little bit of something for everyone. A soft entry gives an easy going feel, on the palate dried fruits, honey and heather give added complexity, the finish is composed and not harsh in any way. A staple.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart WE 93 BC 0

Santa Teresa 1796 Ron Antiguo de Solera Rum, Venezuela 750ml
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  A demandingly decadent Rum, full of dark hued flavors of maple and brown sugar. The Santa Teresa is a wonderfully balanced rum with years of solera aging to create a spirit that is past the complexity of a single age statement. A nose of maple cake and burnt sugar. Vanilla cream runs throughout adding a beautifully sweet crescendo to a long and lush finish.

2011 Raymond Fabre Crozes-Hermitage
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  It's Wednesday night, right, so maybe you're in the mood for a big juicy bacon, mushroom and swiss burger to go along with that latest big juicy action flick, Spiderman vs. Speedoman or Ironman Finally Rusts 7, but what wine do you pour? Something with rich, mouthwatering flavor and just enough sinew to compete with the endless earth-shattering explosions onscreen. Since I track the Northern Rhone like a drone and just opened this Crozes-Hermitage, well....it's a medium-built, savory Syrah with impressive aromas and notes of bright cherry-red fruit, garrigue and licorice, with a welcome tinge of pepper and minerality on the solid finish. So bring on the monster cheeseburger and silly spandex superheroes, this supertasty red wine can handle 'em, and with no special effects needed.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1976 Couly Dutheil "Baronnie Madeleine" Chinon
 By: Eric Story | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  I can’t believe how well this wine is holding up! Unlike me, this 1976er is aging gracefully and with class. Such sweet fruit on the nose with touches of tobacco, strawberry and earth.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Château Musar Rouge Bekaa Valley
 By: Eric Story | Review Date: 3/24/2015 | Send Email
  The wines from Musar continue to fascinate me again and again. I find this wine absolutely intriguing. It truly has the ability to make you think and ponder about how much we don’t know. Young now with lots of life ahead of it.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart RP 92 BC 0

Page:   prev  1 2  3   next  >>