Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:  <<   prev 7  8  9   next  >>
2012 Plumpjack "Estate" Oakville Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  Rich and concentrated with intense black and blue fruits surrounded by layers of cedar, vanilla,chocolate and a touch of raspberry. This is a great effort from one of Oakville's finest. I would drink young but it will hold for 4-6 years.

1981 Lopez de Heredia "Viña Tondonia" Gran Reserva Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  A classic wine from the uber classic 1981 Rioja vintage (perhaps the dark horse for vintage of the decade), this is wonderful, traditional, long aged Gran Reserva Rioja. Lopez de Heredia owns a wonderful, old, sizable vineyard in Viña Tondonia, harvests the fruit by hand, ferments in huge oak vats, and then racks their wine to very old oak barrels for a deep slumber. For their gran reservas, the wines are bottled by hand, finished with a very high quality Catalan cork, hard sealing wax, and allowed to rest for years in their perfectly stable, cool, humid, riverside cellar. Their '81s are a rare treat, and will likely become increasingly difficult to find these days.

2010 Silver Oak Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  The well priced Alexander Valley from silver oak is a bright velvety wine with generous notes of tobacco,coffee and cassis. Enjoy now to 2020.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 La Rioja Alta "904" Gran Reserva Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  Many folks are very much aware of the La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" bottling. In contrast to the Ardanza, the "904" contains Tempranillo and Graciano (no Garnacha) and is every bit as traditional with aging in used American oak barrels for 48 months, racking twice a year, and then further aging in bottle. The wine always has a sumptuous, velvety texture, with more bass notes in place of Ardanza's higher toned, red fruited profile, and a lovely, meaty savor to the wine. In a vintage as strong as 2004, La Rioja Alta's "904" will surely make for old bones, and only get better and better for those disciplined few who have the will power to lay off their bottles for a while!

2005 La Rioja Alta "Viña Ardanza" Reserva Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  This is another strong vintage of Ardanza to follow their very good 2004 and classic 2001 bottlings. What is the bottle I most often recommend to those looking for a classic Rioja? The wine I am most likely to order at a restaurant upon touching down in Madrid, heading in the rental car and hitting the wine road? The wine that should you see older vintages is most likely to impress you with it's gorgeous aromatics and fruit? Yes, Viña Ardanza. Very tough to go wrong with this one!

2010 Silver Oak Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  The 2010 Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon is a blend of 84% Cabernet Sauvignon, 13% Merlot, 2% Petit Verdot and 1% Cabernet Franc. The wine goes to 100% new American oak barrels for aging. The wine is ready to drink but will hold for 3-8 years. Silver Oak fans will not be disappointed.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Santa Ema Cabernet Sauvignon Reserve Maipo Valley
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  This is impressive juice! Santa Ema, long known for producing a satisfying, slightly toasty, American oak driven style of value Cab, appears to have changed tack. Here we have an elegant Cabernet, with lovely aromas of currants, wild blueberries, both just on the point of ripeness, similar to that piece of fruit that is just ripe enough to have not lost its delicious, bright, tanginess. A fresh, juicy palate shows a surprisingly light touch, with silky tannins and loads of drinkability. 13.5% ABV. What an impressive Cabernet from this venerable producer!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2005 Marques de Murrieta "Castillo Ygay" Gran Reserva Especial Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  The 2005 Ygay gran reserva, same as the 2004 bottling, is great. This gran reserva is marked by a healthy proportion of Mazuelo (around 7%) which thrives in this slightly warmer, drier, more Mediterranean influenced area just outside of Logroño. Ygay is a proven ager, with its rich red fruited profile often outshining other top bodegas' gran reservas (their 1978 comes to mind....)

FEW K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  FEW is becoming a force in the craft spirits world. This little whiskey is one of the best of the craft bourbons I've had yet. The wee cask, yielding only 60 bottles at 58.75% abv, REALLY loves air. We've got something really special here. While it pours initially with a strong woodsiness, just a bit of air in the glass and that completely changes. Strongly concentrated,with powerful spice and exotic wood. The palate has the tiniest tinge of fresh oak with the sweet grains powering up from behind. Definitely one of my favorite small cask bourbons to date. Almost gone by the way.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Whistle Pig 10 Year Old Straight Rye Whiskey 750ml (ships as 1.5L)
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  Whistle Pig has become an industry leader in the rye resurgence. Maybe the first distillery to release a Canadian Straight Rye as a craft style brand. Now they're growing rye, having it contract distilled, and stocking their warehouses with farm to barrel rye whiskey of the highest order. Why they don't highlight how and where they get this wonderful whiskey is their marketing departments problem. My main concern is how it tastes. Brimming with rye spice, the 100 proof WP always keeps you on your toes. Not soft or overly sweet, it's one of these that really hits the balance between intensity of flavor and textural complexity. The overlying theme is bold dry rye flavors. Behind the earthy rye, some sweet floral and exotic herbal tones. A great example of why Canada (via Vermont?) is still the Rye capital of the Whisk(e)y world.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart WE 96 BC 0

2008 Pauillac de Latour, Pauillac
 By: Clyde Beffa Jr. | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  Our fourth vintage to sell of this outstanding third wine from Chateau Latour. After twenty years of begging the property to sell the Pauillac, here it is and the 2008 vintage is quite good and priced well under the 2009. Powerful red fruit aromas with some cassis. The palate impression is powerful with some tannins to settle out. perfect acid balance-cellar it five years minimum. You can buy 2 bottles of latour or a case of this beauty. -Clyde beffa
Drink from 2020 to 2025
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Zaca Mesa Santa Ynez Valley Syrah
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  A lush blueberry pie combined with hints of smoked meat, cinnamon,vanilla and cedar. There is a lot of wine here for the price and like the Andrew Murray Syrah we e-mailed a month or so ago, not to be missed.
Price: Hidden View Price WE 92 BC 0

2013 Domaine Renaud Mâcon-Charnay
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  This bottling of the Charnay is everything you want and expect it to be in comparison to the Solutre; full bodied with more ripe chardonnay fruit and beautiful high-tone floral notes.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Laphroaig 10 year old Original Cask Strength Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  Poll the people of Islay regarding their favorite whisky to drink, I'll argue that this one would be in the running for top billing. The truth of the matter is that Laphroaig's CS offering remains one of the single most impressive regular releases on the market. Laphroaig is nothing if not consistent in terms of quality and this release is no slouch. Massively powerful aromas on nose are not actually totally dominated by iodine and peat, but instead lead by powerful vanilla and sweet oak. ON the palate is where the powerful spirit shows through. Briny and textural, it can be mistaken for no other. With water the sweet oak on the nose gives way to more ocean water, white pepper, and some industrial grade smoke. You should rely on this whisky as it will always deliver.

2012 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  Beautiful, classic Grenache aromatics of sweet raspberry and strawberry, this spanish red is an astonishing surprise for only $7.99.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1992 Clynelish K&L Exclusive 21 Year Old Cadenhead Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  I truly find this whisky utterly wild. I'm a big time sucker for Clynelish because well, it's almost always delicious and right in my preferred style range. It's not because it tends to have the most powerful bouquet or the most intense flavors, but instead because they're is so little out there that tastes quite like it. Classic Clynelish on display here, not obfuscated by sherry or too much oak. The nose is subtle but massively complex, showing candied green apples (not quite jolly rancher), light herbal aromas, and an underlying creaminess that kind of reminds me of cake frosting. The palate shows a bright lifted sweetness that is completely balanced even at full strength. With water this gets a bit steely. Bring in more powerful aromas almost reminding me of the best Alsatian Riesling. More orange peel and pepper. A stunningly easy yet complex drink.
Price: $139.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Sapience Brut Champagne
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Phenomenal wine. Hard to put into words. Has such a haunting presence and energy on the palate. Rich yet focused, toasty yet finely honed and mineral intensive. A truly great bottle of Champagne. This crushes the big brands in quality and complexity.
Price: $189.00 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Lovely wine. Bright, fresh, excellent combination of chalky, zestiness and nutty, toasty lees quality. The texture is fine and really drawn out on the palate. I am a fan of Aspasie's "entry level" Carte Blanche...but this is a cut above and worth the small increase in outlay.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Vincent Gaudry "Mélodie de Vieilles Vignes" Sancerre (last of vintage)
 By: Eric Story | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  I’m a huge fan of Gaudry Sancerre in general. But this one is special. Fantastic old vine concentration and depth of fruit really makes this stand out. The balance of mineral and savory fruit flavors, for me, very thought provoking and inspiring.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
 By: Eric Story | Review Date: 2/17/2015 | Send Email
  Having a wine of this quality in a liter sized bottle makes me happy. A refreshing yet stylized crispy white that makes you feel like you can drink it all day long and never get tired of it. Fantastic house white and for any occasion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

The Durand Corkscrew for Removal of Old Corks with Confidence
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I thought I did not need a single additional wine gadget, but this one took me by surprise. It is the single best invention I have ever seen for opening old bottles of wine with long and fragile corks! It is a combination of an Ah-So style opener and a worm. Between them they reliably work together to grab the cork, and remove it intact. It is handmade in the U.S., from a design by Mark Taylor, and named to honor sommelier Yves Durand. It is not cheap. But if you are opening a priceless old bottle, it is well worth it to have an intact cork come out of that cherished wine bottle. I have one personally, and swear by it for old Bordeaux, Burgundy or California wines! Nothing is perfect, and no one bats 1000, but this device comes as close as I have encountered. There is a reason we have sold 100s of these, even at this price. If you open priceless old bottles, you can hardly afford to be without it.
Price: $124.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Jeff Cohn Cellars "So Serine" Rockpile Syrah
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  Urban winemaker Jeff Cohn has put out some great 2012 wines. Always the bigger, full powered style, this Rockpile Syrah will punch you in the mouth with the fruit, then bring you down with layers of flavor not often found in big boys like this.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Lyeth Sonoma County Meritage
 By: Patrick Cu | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  Lyeth has been making wines since the early 1980s. The 2012 Sonoma County Meritage continues their streak of success in offering low-priced, good values. The Merlot is dominant in this year's blend, giving more blueberry and plum notes. On the palate are flavors of blackberry fruit, cedar, and chocolate. It's medium to full bodied and quite the treat for $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Josef Leitz Rüdesheimer Riesling Trocken
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  The Rudesheimer trocken shows the finesse and complexity of the GG wines Leitz produces for under $20. The nose expresses elegant notes of lemon oil and orange blossom, while the palate shows notes of Meyer lemon, savory salinity, slatey minerality and bright, crisp acidity the cuts right through any fatty food and pairs perfectly with seafood. I love these wines, they represent exceptional quality dry Riesling for such a steal!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Petite Sirah
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Looking for a full-throttle red wine that won’t break the bank? Your search has ended, the 2012 Spellbound Petite Sirah is just what you’re looking for. This wine is loaded with an intoxicating nose of macerated blackberries, licorice and melted chocolate notes that seamlessly flows into a richly textured palate of blackberry liqueur, crème de cassis, mocha and hints of chocolate. Pair this big boy with filet mignon, Kobe beef or any other cut of rich red meat.
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2019
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Hécula" Monastrell Yecla
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another ridiculous value from Bodegas Castano, the 2012 Hecula is a screaming value! Bright and zesty with spicy notes and a touch of white pepper, this wine has wonderful flavors of red fruit, licorice, hints of bitter chocolate with subtle pepper and mineral notes. A terrific value, this wine is the perfect everyday drinker that can go seamlessly go from an aperitif wine to meal-worthy with almost any fare and not miss a beat.
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2018
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2012 Bodegas Castaño "Hécula" Monastrell Yecla
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  Lotsa wine for $9.99. This perennial best buy is on its "A" game in 2012, a vintage that was especially successful in southeastern Spain for its climatically even nature, not quite as hot as usual. This Monastrell leads with licorice and black pepper, some dark fruit aromas, and then shows loads of blue and dark fruits on the palate, some smoky/toasty qualities as well, and a clear underpinning of calcareous driven minerality. Its bigger brother Solanera may be all gone, but this is equally tasty and again, under $10. One to buy in quantity.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart RP 91 BC 0

2011 Tassi Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  Pure, unadulterated Sangiovese. Herbaceous expressions of rosemary and sage, sultry fruit like dark plum, black currant and cherry, coupled with leather, meat and organic earth make for a incredibly elegant and complex rosso that will transport you to Italy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2011 Maison Angelot Mondeuse Bugey
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  This Mondeuse has so much character and complexity! I absolutely love the beautiful aromatics of bramble, bark and herbs intertwined with great fruits like crunchy cranberry and bright cherry. The wine is quite light in body with tons of acidity, medium tannin, minerality and bright red fruits.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Walter Hansel "The Meadows" Russian River Valley Chardonnay
 By: Dulcinea Gonzalez | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  Here's an American crowd pleaser -- indulgent without being overbearing, and at a price point that doesn't break the bank. A touch of smoke, creamy mouthfeel, nice structure and lemony goodness makes this the perfect pairing for bacon wrapped scallops or a simple roast chicken.

2012 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  One of the best deals going in domestic Cabernet Sauvignon! First and foremost, Von Strasser's Rudy is balanced. The acidity and tannins are poised just right to set off the dark fruit flavors accented with pencil shavings and mint. The cherry on top is that it comes in at an eminently fair price, too!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This bright little gem of a rioja has dark red fruits with touches of cedar and blood orange. It still does retain some of the characteristics of the region, light saddle leather notes with fine spices and a good balance of acidity. An excellent price makes it even more attractive!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Lately, we have been lucky enough to pick up Brunello at very affordable prices. This little gem comes from a small family-owned vineyard and incorporates fleshy fruit with tannin and traditional spice, eucalyptus and menthol. It has a nice long finish and will last for a number of years in the cellar, as well. Robert Parker also gave it 90 points!

2012 Jeff Cohn Cellars "Botticelli Vineyard" Rockpile Zinfandel
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  Urban winemaker Jeff Cohn has put out some great 2012 wines. Always the bigger, full powered style, this Rockpile Zinfandel will punch you in the mouth with the fruit than bring you down with layers of flavor not often found in big boys like this.
Price: $41.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Joseph Jewell Russian River Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  I first brought in the Joseph Jewell wines back in the 2009 vintage. I always thought the wine was well made and our customers have always enjoyed them. The 2012 Russian River has reached new heights for the winery. A very feminine style of Russian River Pinot Noir with lovely cherry fruit, baking spice and just a hint of vanilla and cedar. Earthy notes show nicely throughout the mouth and the generous acidity weaves well through the lovely ripe fruit. Adrian and Micah have added another notch on their belt with this one.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart W&S 95 BC 0

2012 Textbook Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  The Textbook wines are made by Jonathan and Susan Pey, owners of several wine labels such as Pey Marin, Forager and Spicerack. Textbook wines focus on the Napa Valley with Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Chardonnay on offer. The 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon is made up of St. Helena, Oak Knoll and Oakville fruit. The wine spent 16 months in barrel, a small percentage in new wood. The wines consistently over-perform for the price point and have generated a great following at K&L.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2012 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  How does a winery make a wine of such beauty and balance for only $ 19.99? Rudy Von Strasser can. A nice balance of Diamond Mountain structure and acidity with valley floor ripeness just kissed with a touch of wood.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  Great vintage for Puelles! Crisp acidity, bright, red fruits, and good tannin. Opened this the other day and was impressed with it's development, though I think this wine has the structure to age well over the next five years. I would love to try this with Paella!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 L'Ecole No. 41 " Luminesce" Seven Hills Vineyard Walla Walla White Wine
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  'Luminesce'....sometimes even a wine's name can conjure glowing memories. As a kid growing up on the outskirts of Nashville, I will never forget my first sighting of hundreds of fireflies twinkling in the dusk of a warm midsummer's eve. Like tiny circuits on again, off again, now you see them, now you don't, they filled the air with magic, wonder and enchantment. This truly incandescent blend of Washington state cool-harvested Semillon and Sauvignon Blanc from the famed Seven Hills Vineyard was liquid, luminous sunlight in a bottle. Whole-cluster pressed fruit was given a slow primary fermentation on neutral oak followed by partial malolactic, and then spent four months napping on the lees. Fragrant and lively with luxurious aromas of citrus blossom and honeysuckle, interplayed with a core of crisp kiwi, passionfruit and green papaya frolicking on the palate, this beauty is a delightful, delicious treasure of a wine by any measure, and the perfect complement to fine poultry or seafood dishes.
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

Louis Bouillot Cremant de Bourgogne "Perle d'Aurore" Brut Rosé
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 2/16/2015 | Send Email
  This delightful sparkling rosé wine comes from Burgundy. It is made of 80% Pinot Noir and 20% Gamay Noir. The charming eye of the swan color comes from the addition of Pinot Noir to the wine when the lees are disgorged, following the traditional fermentation in the individual bottle, in the Champagne method. On the palate it is very rich and fruity but just off-dry on the finish. The mousse is explosive, with a very creamy palate impression. It shows just a hint of the earthiness of a Pinot Noir from Burgundy. This charming rosé, has been a perennial best-seller for K&L, and if you taste it, you will see why.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Delas "St-Esprit" Côtes du Rhône
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/15/2015 | Send Email
  Delas St. Esprit is synonymous with "House Red" in my world. What more could you ask for, classically Rhone-flavored wine with spice, tobacco and black fruit flavors. And it's only $10?? You can't go wrong.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Maison Angelot Mondeuse Bugey
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/15/2015 | Send Email
  One of my favorite new reds in the store, this Mondeuse is handled all carbonically, similar to a Beaujolais. It has bright red fruit notes of strawberries and cherries. Tons of spice too, like cinnamon and allspice. No oak here, the grapes just give off these flavors on their own and that's what makes them special. The wine is more medium bodied and has bright acid, almost mouth watering. You'll want a little food here and I think a roast duck or chicken with a little fruit glaze would make an ideal pairing. Add some roasted root vegetables like parsnips and carrots to bring the flavors full circle. A terrific everyday red with something special to say.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine de Bila Haut "Les Vignes de Bila-Haut" Côtes-du-Roussillon Villages
 By: Keith Mabry | Review Date: 2/15/2015 | Send Email
  Another triumphant value from Michel Chapoutier's property in the Roussillon. This terrific wine comes from the multitude of terroirs in the Roussillon but is primarily from schist, limestone-clay and gneiss. The "Les Vignes" has blueberries and currants on the nose with layers of spice, fig paste and cocoa powder progressing on the palate and into the finish. Drink this hearty little wine now or for several years to come. It should evolve quite nicely in the bottle. Serve with some nice stews. I had it with some incredible pork cheeks still on the bone but a lamb or pork shank would do the trick nicely.

2009 Peyrabon, Haut-Médoc
 By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 2/15/2015 | Send Email
  The new vintage of Peyrabon is a ripe, voluptuous Cabernet-based blend from Haut-Medoc, just outside of Pauillac. Deep, dark plums and spiced blackberries lead the way while anise, tobacco, baking spices, and sweet tannins round things out. Although there is aging potential here, this is ready for consumption tonight with marbled steak or duck in a Port-cherry gastrique.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie Blanc de Blancs Brut Champagne
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 2/15/2015 | Send Email
  I just threw our family's first baby shower for my brother and sister-in-law, and this was the Champagne of choice to celebrate the new little life on the way! I love this Champagne for its easy and yet elegant personality. Apple, cream, citrus, and mineral with the stunning golden wine visible through the clear glass. It looks gorgeous on ice at a party, and its accesibility make it a total win for Champagne neophytes and connoiseurs alike!
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 2/14/2015 | Send Email
  Without reservation, without equivocation, without fear of contradiction I can genuinely say that the Von Strasser "Rudy" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon is one of the best $20 Cabs on our shelves. This is the second label from the Von Strasser winery in Calistoga. Their top Cabs sell for $50 and $80 respectively. At a mere $19.99 the "Rudy" offers plenty of sweet fruit balanced by tart acidity with notes of fresh picked raspberry and bing cherry. A deft use of oak lends a little spice. Fine tannins frame the finish. Really shows off the strength of this 2012 vintage. We opened a bottle with dinner last night "just to taste" and ended up drinking it to the dregs. If you are looking for a great bottle of California Cabernet that you can enjoy tonight without paying a fortune, look no further.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Campo Viejo Tempranillo Rioja
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 2/14/2015 | Send Email
  This wine consists of 100% Tempranillo, aged for four months in oak barrels. While the fruit is red plum and dark cherry, the overall palate impression is balanced and very clearly Rioja. 2011 was a solid vintage in Rioja, less structured than the 2009 and 2010 preceding it, but with juicy fruit and loads of drinkability.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 2/14/2015 | Send Email
  Here is a wine that packs a wallop and lots of bang for your buck all in one! Give this Brunello about an hour to open up and stand back, on the palate you will find strawberries and black cherries, a little bitter coco and some toasty oak & vanilla, fine tannins and a hint of Montalcino dust on the long finish.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $26.99
WE 91 JS 90 BC 0

2012 Rutherford Ranch "Rhiannon" Red Blend
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 2/13/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Holy Smokes! There’s a lot going on here, right from the start this wine begins with a surprisingly complex nose for $10.99, aromas of candied red fruits, red licorice, pencil lead and baking spice prevail against a palate of cherry, menthol, licorice and marzipan. A classic field blend reminiscent of the blends of yesteryear this blend of Petite Sirah, Syrah and Barbera is flat-out delicious and challenges pretty much every other wine we have in stock at the $11 and under price point for the title of “Best Value”.
Top Value! Drink from 2015 to 2017
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Jefferson's Ocean Voyage #4 Aged at Sea Very Small Batch Bourbon 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 2/13/2015 | Send Email
  This is by far the best Ocean release I've yet tasted. I'm not sure if it's the additional time at sea or simply they're getting better at blending this unusual product once it returns to port. The rarity of the release is not the only reason to grab a bottle, it really does benefit from the abnormal aging technique. It's not particularly more or less saline than the others, but the depth is on the next level here. Powerful dense woodsy flavors meld perfectly with the subtle salty taffy sweetness. Candied orange peel and baking spice continue as it opens in the glass. The aromatic complexity is mimicked on the palate where the sweet oak and salt soften the powerful spice. Looks like Jefferson has found something special with this ocean line. What we got is all we'll get.
Price: $82.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:  <<   prev 7  8  9   next  >>